Kaino crowned king of Kiwis

Jerome Kaino has been named New Zealand’s Player of the year while Bryce Lawrence has been awarded the country’s best referee prize.

Kaino was heavily-tipped to win the IRB Player of the Year accolade following his consistent performances for the All Blacks, but was eventually beaten to the award by France captain Thierry Dusautoir, On Thursday, Kaino received some consolation in the form of the Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year trophy.

The Super Rugby Player of the Year award went to Wyatt Crockett, who was a shock omission from the All Blacks’ World Cup squad. Predictably, the All Blacks won Team of the Year and mentor Graham Henry was named Coach of the Year.

Despite his consistently poor showing in the World Cup quarterfinal game between Australia and South Africa, as well as the shocker in the Super Rugby play-off match between the Crusaders and the Sharks, Bryce Lawrence was acknowledged as New Zealand’s Referee of the Year.