Matfield joins Bulls as consultant
5 Dec 2011
The Bulls have signed former Springbok lock Victor Matfield as a lineout consultant for the 2012 Super Rugby season.
The Bulls have confirmed that Matfield will work alongside the coaching staff, focusing on lineouts and general forward play.
‘Victor has been the backbone of the Bulls for many seasons and to have his continued presence in the team, although unfortunately not as a player anymore, is a real bonus for us,’ said Bulls director of rugby Heyneke Meyer.
‘He is generally rated as the finest lineout analyst in the game and we are proud and honoured to have him around.’
Matfield will also work as an analyst for Supersport next year.
‘I am very keen to get stuck in [on television] and will give it a full go, but it is no secret that I want to become involved in coaching too. This will afford me the opportunity to do both, something that I am very pleased about,’ Matfield said.

157 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All
6 Dec 2011, 08:06 am
I agree with Garth….first VM, nect Plod……then its the Boks being run by the F B C ….again.
Call me paranoid……
But them Fat Boys love the gravy train
6 Dec 2011, 08:09 am
the wallabies are hungry… be afraid methinks…
http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/Wallabies-target-NZs-spot-20111204
6 Dec 2011, 08:14 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-49:
Why the dig at the Stormers and at Schalk (who can certainly earn much more should he go overseas)?
Did Matfield not go and chase money France a few years ago and returned tail between the legs when he realised that life is not so rosy and comfy in Toulon as in Pretoria?
Every man has his price and that goes for Victor, Bakkies, Fourie du preez and the whole kraal of bulls.
6 Dec 2011, 08:32 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-53:
matfield took a sabbatical and he did not return tail between the legs, he came back because his wife could not adjust.
and no, i do not believe every man has a price, i don not believe that at all.
but yes, there was no need for me to laud vic or the systems at the bulls by way of having a dig at the stormers. i do apologise.
6 Dec 2011, 08:33 am
Victor has been coaching the boks for the last 4 years.
I think its fair to say that he has served his apprenticeship.
Now he is working his way up the ranks.
6 Dec 2011, 08:40 am
@Gunther(gunther)-55: If that were true then he should pssoff for the toss they served up over the lats 4 years.
6 Dec 2011, 08:43 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-54:
Its cool , no probs
I wonder whether Vic has aspirations to become a head coach at the top level..
There is this school of thought that truely brilliant playerslike Vic hardly ever make good coaches. I read that Peter Roebuck once asked Viv Richards how one can explain to a young player to play spin- After thinking about it for a while Richards answered: ” uhhh, get you foot as close to the ball as possible and hit it as hard as you can”.
I hope Victor will be able to explain the intricacies of lineout play a bit better than that
6 Dec 2011, 08:48 am
@Gunther(gunther)-55: Exactly. Him and Barney.
The next Sonny and Cher of the coaching world.
6 Dec 2011, 08:54 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-57:
Can’t use Victor Matfield and Sir Vivian Richards in the same sentence.
6 Dec 2011, 08:59 am
die hulp afrigters is net so belangrik as die hoof afrigters, dalk sal HM vir brendan venter wel nader trek.
6 Dec 2011, 09:01 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-58:
Or maybe the next Laurel and Hardy with Barney as Oliver Hardy
6 Dec 2011, 09:06 am
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-59:
You are probably right.
Viv once got voted as the third best cricketer ever behind Bradman and Sobers.
Not sure where Vic will end in a similar poll for rugby players.
Gareth Edwards was voted the all time number one rugby player I think.
6 Dec 2011, 09:07 am
luister manne n konsultant is nie nood wendig n afrigter nie, die bulle het klaar afrigters op alle vlakke aangestel. Vic se insette sal baie waardevol by die bulle wees, dink net al die jong slotte by die bulle gaan ongelooflik baie leer. miskien moet SARFU hom op hulle pay roll kry sodat hy insette by al die akademies kan lewer. sy kennis van sy eie spel en die spel van bakkies is waardevol en moet oorgdra word
6 Dec 2011, 09:11 am
So when is Big Vic and Pistol Pete going to coach Boland?
6 Dec 2011, 09:12 am
@garth(garth)-56:
Garf.
He was the forwards coach.
Would you like me to draw you a picture?
6 Dec 2011, 09:14 am
@Gunther(gunther)-65:
Don’t confuse the lad… he’s got G10′s proxy so all must be well…
6 Dec 2011, 09:15 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-54:
vic het net n 6 mnde kontrak gehad (ek dink)
6 Dec 2011, 09:15 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-62:
5 cricketers of the century Bradman, Sobers, Hobbs, Richards and Warne.
Don’t know whether they elected the 5 rugby union players of the century. Surely Frik Du Preez and Colin Meads would crack the nod.
6 Dec 2011, 09:16 am
interesting!
The chances of Rassie Erasmus being involved in the Springbok coaching announcement, which is now scheduled for 27 January, appear to have diminished with confirmation that the director of rugby role we have been speculating about is not quite what we thought it was.
Erasmus had been linked in some reports since the World Cup with a new position that will be created by the South African Rugby Union in 2012. With his technical abilities and his proven record as a director of rugby at Western Province, Erasmus, who did wonders as Peter de Villiers’s technical adviser in 2011, was considered the perfect candidate to take on a role similar to that being filled by Rob Andrew at England.
However, Saru officials have made it known that the position they have been talking about is not the same as director of rugby. It is not on the same level, and while some coaching ability and knowledge may be a pre-requisite, the new position is going to be more of an administrative one.
The Springbok coach will not be answerable to the person who is appointed, and neither will there be much, if any input, from the appointee into the running of the Springbok team. It doesn’t sound like a job tailored for Erasmus. And that means that unless Erasmus decides he is prepared to take on the role of head coach again, something he has time and again said he is reluctant to do, he is not a candidate to play a significant role in plotting the Springbok way forward in 2012.
Indeed, it is now looking more and more probable that the new Springbok coach will not be coming from within the ranks of the Super Rugby franchises. With the official rubber stamp only being applied to the next Springbok appointment at the end of next month at a special Saru General Council meeting, it would be impractical to engage a Super Rugby coach who is contracted for the Sanzar competition which starts just four weeks later.
All of the candidates who are currently Super Rugby coaches are contracted long term, and that would mean the franchises would have to be prepared to release the appointed coach from contract at a critical stage of the build-up to Super Rugby. Given that they had already pleaded with Saru before the World Cup to move the process along so that it doesn’t extend into next year, it is unlikely they will be amenable to a request to look for a new coach less than a month before the competition starts.
So if the announcement will be made on 27 January, with the council only meeting to discuss the appointment a day before that, it suggests the chances of someone like Stormers coach Allister Coetzee, still punted as a favourite in some circles, have lengthened considerably.
Instead it appears to confirm the information that I have been picking up, which is that the new coach won’t be a current Super Rugby employee.
Gert Smal, currently assistant coach of Ireland, is the name that is getting more and more airplay among those sources that can reasonably be regarded as reliable. It isn’t a secret that Smal was the Saru chosen alternative when they were thinking of sacking Peter de Villiers after the 2010 Tri-Nations.
But Smal does have a contract with Ireland and it might take some time to get him out of that, which could mean that the incumbent coach, De Villiers, will be offered a short-term extension into 2012. While it is unlikely that Saru would appoint De Villiers long term, and it is understood they are looking for a complete clean-out, the England series that starts the international season takes place in the middle of the Super Rugby season.
With the first England test due to be played just one week after a round of Super Rugby derbies, that leaves absolutely no time for any new coach to introduce anything meaningful. Wouldn’t it make sense for the Boks to go into that six-day build-up to such an important series at least with the stability of having the coach they are used to?
The new man who will take charge of the next four-year cycle can then be eased in when it is less frenetic, though it is hard to say when that will be given that the new four-team southern hemisphere competition kicks off almost immediately after the conclusion of Super Rugby.
Either way, unless a Super Rugby coach and his current employers are busy negotiating with Saru behind the scenes, which appears unlikely as we would probably have heard about it, it is starting to look as though the next four-year cycle will be yet another where the Springbok coach is not appointed on the basis of Super Rugby results.
6 Dec 2011, 09:21 am
@BuckT(BuckTrendy)-69: PdV is the fromtrunner
6 Dec 2011, 09:23 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-57:
my impression of matfield has always been more of keen intellect and player than one of an oafish player with a learnt smarts.
i think he he would do well.
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-59:
i know hey… victor matfield is far more intelligent as a sportsman in addition to being talented sporting wise.
6 Dec 2011, 09:24 am
it will be HM,
6 Dec 2011, 09:26 am
@BuckT(BuckTrendy)-69: i’m happy with these developments, i don’t get why ac & rassie are sommer now a “combo” deal. if rassie wants the job to be Bok coach he must stick his neck out and take it and not try to engineer a behind-the-scenes overseer role where he escapes criticism but is first to lap up credit.
6 Dec 2011, 09:31 am
Ritchie is a moaning byiatch.
Christchurch – All Blacks captain Richie McCaw has admitted he was “surprised” the International Rugby Board did not cite French player Aurelien Rougerie for the infamous eye gouge in the Rugby World Cup final.
Speaking for the first time about the incident, McCaw said the final against the French got “filthy” when he was eye-gouged.
“The French are worse when they are scared … They were as bad as they have been and were going for the eyes,” he said.
“My eye was a bit sore for a while and I was struggling to see for a bit. I was surprised they didn’t cite him.”
Rougerie escaped being cited for foul play in October’s final, despite new video evidence showing the France centre had a case to answer. No action could be taken because the new evidence came outside the required 36 hours after the match. The IRB will now look at extending the citing window after reviewing the footage.
6 Dec 2011, 09:35 am
@vasteses(vasteses)-67:
dis presies my punt. dit was n sabbatical.
groot verskil tussen a man wat n sabbatical vat vir n kort tydjie en n ontroubare huurling.
6 Dec 2011, 09:41 am
Not so sure about Smal.
If I recall his preferences correctly, he will probably have Schalk Burger as captain, Andries Bekker as vice captain, and Brok Harris as his key front row man.
With Tiaan Liebenberg as first choice hooker, and Nick Koster as an impact player on the bench.
Dewald Duvenage will be the new Bok stalwart at 9, and the Bok flyhalf position will be a toss up between Peter Grant and Dmitir Kakibroekiestinkies.
6 Dec 2011, 09:41 am
Just imagine the top heading was ” Matfield joins Brumbies as lineout consultant “. Sure that would have caused a stir. Not sure if he ll be a success as a consultant / coach, only time will tell. There are argumants for both sides. But this is the way I see it. Heyneke Meyer, Rassie Erasmus, Allister Coetzee, Gert Smal are amongst the names being touted as Bok coach. Matfield has spent the better part of his career with these men,amongst others coaching him. Unless he was a complete dimwit, he must have absorbed alot of what was being said. Think there is or should be alot of intellectual capacity in that head, and just glad for the time being it s still in SA…
6 Dec 2011, 09:42 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-75:
ek dink mense maak te veel van JF se vertrek na Japan, ja dit lyk sleg dat hy so hop van een plek na n ander maar 2mil, hy sal n aap wees as hy dit nie van nie. ek dink ook daar is ander dinge nie lekker in die WEEPEE nie. hulle het darem n klomp goeie manne verloor die ergste natuurlik FLO. die bulle het ook n klomp verloor maar ons weet dat dit tyd was. hulle maak hulle nou reg vir n nuwe era.
6 Dec 2011, 09:44 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-76:
hallo Tac
ek dink dit gaan HM wees.
6 Dec 2011, 09:45 am
@vasteses(vasteses)-79:
Weet nie so mooi nie. Dis SARU van wie ons hier praat. Soos ek hulle ken, is selfs Chester Williams nie uitgesluit nie.
gert Smal ?
Mixed emotions
@grant10(grant10)-81:
He will stack the team with your pooftas, so that should tilt the “mix” of emtions towards the positive site, what.
6 Dec 2011, 09:47 am
@BuckT(BuckTrendy)-69:
it will be heyneke meyer.
which means robbie deans will lose his job as oz coach (he needs to beat the boks and all blacks but that wont happen now).
the new all black coach will go through a baptism of fire and may not survive this.
the springboks are back on tpo of world rguby.
6 Dec 2011, 09:48 am
@Gunther(gunther)-74:
Eye gouge is an eye gouge.
Has to be stopped really dont you think, or are you all for the odd gouge here and there?
Or is it that a Kiwi has said it and thats a moan?
If a Brussow copped an eye gouge i wonder what you would be saying?
6 Dec 2011, 09:48 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-73:
acsie…?.. remember?..
6 Dec 2011, 09:51 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-82: those ‘ poofters ‘ moer you lot on a regular basis…..so pipe down
I just hope , if it is Smal, that he bullets M Steyn and Spies.
6 Dec 2011, 09:51 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-80:
kyk ek wil nie he dit moet hy wees nie , hy moet eerder by die bulle bly, maar het voëltjie hier in George **** fluit. maar nou ja selfde voëltjie het laas ook gesê. hy het die job, wat hy wel toe gekry het maar weer verloor het agv SARFU .
6 Dec 2011, 09:52 am
**** is h o o r
6 Dec 2011, 09:52 am
@grant10(grant10)-86:
You in a combative mood today/
Sloshing water over the edge ofthe tub in agitation.
6 Dec 2011, 09:54 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-84:
ek stem saam met jou , n oog vir n oog
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-84:
settle down poppet.
Ritchie has just got a new phone and has put Paddy O’B's number on it yet.
I’,m sure there will be a full commission of enquiry in the new year with possible UN sanctions against france to follow.
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-83: with spies at 8and M Steyn at 10?
Maak die laager toe broerders
6 Dec 2011, 09:57 am
@grant10(grant10)-92:
ja speis sal dalk op 8 wees maar hy sal nie bok kapgtein wees nie al is HM die afrigtr
6 Dec 2011, 09:58 am
@vasteses(vasteses)-90:
Glad you agree with me.
@Gunther(gunther)-91:
Soooooo eye gouging not a problem with you?
6 Dec 2011, 09:58 am
One would think Vic’s command of English would preclude him from a Supersport job. But one would have to then consider that they also hired the likes of Naas and Joost, so the bar could hardly be lower.
6 Dec 2011, 10:01 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-94:
so Cane, not to dwel on bygons, but seriously was Bryce named best Ref in NZ just to stick it ti SA or do you guys realy think he is the best you got, if so world rugby are in serios trouble
6 Dec 2011, 10:03 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-95: If its better than HM’s then he has nothing to worry about.
6 Dec 2011, 10:04 am
@vasteses(vasteses)-96: Thats the question.
6 Dec 2011, 10:08 am
@vasteses(vasteses)-96:
Dont know about Bryce being the best, all i know is i didnt vote so you asking the wrong person.
Just cos NZRU votes him as the best ref does not mean the NZ public agree. Its like me saying you agree with what SARU does.
Personally, Bryce had a **** tournament, wasnt just the SA OZ game but in the others he reffed as well.
He admits it.
But didnt he ref the Wales VS SA game as well?
That went goo didnt it?
But he wasnt the only person in the QF that made SA lose.
SA didnt help themselves as well
6 Dec 2011, 10:08 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-97:
ek geen nie om of die afrigter net fanagalo kan praat nie solank hy die regte ou is vir die regte redes
,@Sasuke(Sasuke)-98:
ek dink ons weet die antwoord.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All