The Lions’ unlikely hero
5 Dec 2011
Josh Strauss has become a cult figure in Joburg but he very nearly fell into rugby obscurity.
Had it not been for Alan Zondagh, Sharks fans might have been spared the frustration inflicted on them by Strauss in the Currie Cup final, and he might instead have been attending to our furry friends in their hours of need. Before he was spotted playing club rugby by the former Western Province coach, the Strauss life plan was directed towards saving animal lives as a vet.
In the latest SA Rugby magazine, on sale this week, we reveal how Zondagh helped Strauss to play for Boland, and how his impressive performances for Maties in the Varsity Cup resulted in a trial at the Lions.
Strauss also reflects on the Lions’ triumphant Currie Cup campaign and looks ahead to next year’s Super Rugby tournament.
Click here to subscribe to print edition
Click here to subscribe to digital edition
– SA Rugby magazine reveals how the Lions went from Super Rugby chumps in 2010 to Currie Cup champs in 2011
– John Mitchell on transforming the Lions, living in South Africa, preparing for Super Rugby, and the Springbok coaching job
– The Sharks started to develop a new team dynamic during the 2011 Currie Cup
– Heyneke Meyer’s wants the Bulls to become the world’s best domestic side again. We reveal his master plan
– Boland Kavaliers coach Eugene Eloff on winning the Currie Cup First Division, losing half of his side afterwards, and Saru’s decision to have six teams in the Premier Division
– SA Rugby magazine assesses the candidates who will be vying for the Springbok flyhalf jersey next year
– In an extract from his new autobiography, Butch James reveals how he was promised the Springbok No 10 jersey at the World Cup only to fall behind Morne Steyn in the pecking order
– Graham Henry finally has his inner peace – and his World Cup. Now he can get on with the rest of his life
– From zero to hero, jeers to cheers, agony to ecstasy, no one has a better handle on the fickle world of international rugby than World Cup winner Stephen Donald
– Thierry Dusautoir is an inspirational leader and officially the best rugby player on the planet
– The inaugural Rugby Championship will kick off on 18 August next year, two weeks after the Super Rugby final
– Francois Louw speaks to SA Rugby magazine about his new life in Bath, the recent World Cup campaign and why he hasn’t given up on playing for the Boks
– The Springbok Sevens went into the 2011-12 World Series with a settled squad

398 Comments
5 Dec 2011, 06:27 am
bwahahaha @ Butch! dragons don’t cry
5 Dec 2011, 06:50 am
i see they even did the sarugby letters in red in ode to josh.
who would’ve thought the day would come when a lion would grace the cover of a sports mag… i better check that mayan calendar again…
also, it would seem monsieur strauss has a little penchant for beards…
5 Dec 2011, 06:57 am
who on earth promised butch the #10 jersey?
and did he expect the promise to be kept even though his personal form did not warrant it but the guy he fell behinds’ form did?
5 Dec 2011, 07:02 am
A Lions heavy issue….. this must be a first?
5 Dec 2011, 07:19 am
Finally. A cover I like.
5 Dec 2011, 07:34 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-5:
he doesn’t look so good in this pic though.
i mean whats up with the absent light / dark shadow bit? why hide him from cover page glory? as well the seeming absence of any teeny bit of photoshop justice.
i suspect a conspiracy.
5 Dec 2011, 07:54 am
Good morning all.
Butch promised the 10 jumper? Musta been the tooth fairy…
5 Dec 2011, 07:59 am
MMMM
promises of jerseys?
Sickens me that
and it was a hallmark pf PDV and Plods last 4 years
all those promises
5 Dec 2011, 08:00 am
@Staal(Staal)-7:
More,hoe gaan dit?
5 Dec 2011, 08:01 am
Wow finally a fresh new cover featuring a non-bok
5 Dec 2011, 08:16 am
@grant10(grant10)-8: in the heat of the night.
5 Dec 2011, 08:41 am
also, i’ve noticed lately a lot of articles on how ‘heyneke’s so happy to be at the bulls and has a master plan..at the bulls…and wont be leaving.. the bulls’..?…
its as if somebody’s trying to drum a message across that heyneke’s not available for national duty, no?
its shamefull really when you start to use media manipulation in the media to further agendas…?…reality becomes distorted.. i pray we are not becoming like the americans in this regard.
5 Dec 2011, 08:50 am
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-4: I may just buy this issue, it is sure to be better than last months failure that they sold to unsuspecting victims.
5 Dec 2011, 08:51 am
ROAR!
5 Dec 2011, 08:53 am
Looks like the first worthwhile issue in years.
5 Dec 2011, 08:54 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-10: Imagine that, the magazine is called SARugby, not BokRugby ….. refreshing not having a cover featuring bonehead Burger.
5 Dec 2011, 08:55 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-6: The shadow helps create the right mood and gives us a good area to place the coverlines.
5 Dec 2011, 08:58 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-15: Buy it and let us know how it goes.
i expect the salient points on my desk by Wednesday.
Although I doubt it will take you that long.
5 Dec 2011, 09:01 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-18: The good folk at the Cape Times have deemed me suitably deserving of free delivered copies for almost 3 weeks now. About time keo’s bunch did the same. I am what you call an influencer.
5 Dec 2011, 09:06 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-19: Don’t be so cheap. Sure you can afford R199 for 12 issues.
5 Dec 2011, 09:09 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-19: No doubt HSM have some unsold copies lying around.
I’ve never been one for buying mags.
My neighbour is a big subscriber.
He thinks those pesky neighbourhood teenagers keep stealing them.
5 Dec 2011, 09:10 am
@Simon(Simon)-20: Is that what you pay?
5 Dec 2011, 09:15 am
@Simon(Simon)-17:
oh i see.
i understand the coverlines bit but i dont think i like the moody look you guys were going for here. of course it does suggest all sort of undertones and stuff like that so i get that too.
5 Dec 2011, 09:15 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-22: Why would I pay for a mag I work on?
5 Dec 2011, 09:20 am
I thought There was a good reason why Butch left Bath,
At least the blame for the Quarter Final failure fell squarely on Morne Styen and FdP combo, spare your tears for Butch: he is a big boy who should have known better than to believe someone like PdV.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-18:
‘salient points’
@Simon(Simon)-24: So they pay partly in kind?
Like the old “dop” system?
Shocking.
I’m calling Carte Blanche.
Derek Watts won’t stand for this!
Don’t worry bro. We’re behind you all the way.
Amandla!
5 Dec 2011, 09:22 am
Can someone please shed some light on this ? “The inaugural Rugby Championship will kick off on 18 August next year, two weeks after the Super Rugby final” ? Is this the expanded Trinations with Argentina in it ? Please dont say so it is please , cos I had some romantic vision of a comp called the 4 nations……
5 Dec 2011, 09:24 am
Who cares about shadows and photoshop twaddle.
Finally it ain’t skulk.
5 Dec 2011, 09:26 am
And what man puts “I luv you bakkies botha” in nic
@Dawn(Dawn)-29: I see the burgers are making headlines in mainstream media these days.
Moving up in the world.
@Simon(Simon)-24: Easy, buttercup, don’t get prissy with me. I’m just trying to determine exactly where the freebie line sits.
5 Dec 2011, 09:27 am
And the red picks up nicely on the Christmas theme.
5 Dec 2011, 09:27 am
@sparticus(sparticus)-28: That it is.
4 nations.
5 Dec 2011, 09:29 am
It’s a real man for once.
5 Dec 2011, 09:30 am
@Simon(Simon)-24:
do you guys to some extent or the other, conciously or otherwise, seek to ‘manufacture consent’ and use your power in the media to subliminally subvert the social group into accepting the shadowy and secret, yet well known and understood, cape based rugby illuminati’s agendas?
it goes without saying, that your answer will reveal a great deal.
also, is keo a manchurian?
again, please note, your answer will reveal a great deal…
5 Dec 2011, 09:31 am
Simon in a brawling mood today.
5 Dec 2011, 09:32 am
“Iloveyoubakkiesbotha” whatthehellyoutalkingabout!!!!!!!
5 Dec 2011, 09:35 am
Iloveyouybakkiesbotha,
Last time I looked josh played for the lions where is cape-based agenda
5 Dec 2011, 09:35 am
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-16: Exactly my sentiments. Burger has like a gazillion covers…..seems about right he is a legend of the game. I would of liked to see Basson get a cover after his record breaking season.
5 Dec 2011, 09:36 am
@Simon(Simon)-24: To double the sales.
5 Dec 2011, 09:37 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-30:
there isn’t a man alive who doesn’t love bakkies botha.
who doesn’t love him for the manly man he is.
even those filthy kiwis deep down somewhere in their truest hearts, revere, respect and love him..for the manly man he is.
josh strauss wishes every night of his life he could be like bakkies….
5 Dec 2011, 09:37 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-33: that settles it ……… I’m buying this edition today! It is red and it features my Lions.
5 Dec 2011, 09:38 am
Buttercup.
Snigger
5 Dec 2011, 09:38 am
All we need now is black player on cover and everyone will be happy.
5 Dec 2011, 09:39 am
The Flyhalf battle will be interesting next year. My money is on Elton Jantjies being the Bok 1st choice 10 next year.
5 Dec 2011, 09:40 am
Iloveyoubakkiesbotha
Real women love josh more than bakkies
5 Dec 2011, 09:40 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-45: Damn skippy
5 Dec 2011, 09:42 am
Iloveyoubakkiesbotha has been subliminally illuminatied.
5 Dec 2011, 09:44 am
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-43: Better get in fast before they are all gone.
5 Dec 2011, 09:44 am
I have increased sales by one RL
Simon please send my free copy.
5 Dec 2011, 09:45 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-38:
a manchurian candidate is an individual of one country who is captured by another country and then brainwashed into becoming an agent for that country.
the manchurian agent is then reinserted into his ‘home country’ and at critical moments is activated by a remote command in order to act out his brainwashed orders.
i put nothing past the nzru and its subsidiary the nz government.
@Dawn(Dawn)-39:
i am referring to the constant article suggesting that heyneke does not want the job and is soooo focussed on the bulls. this smacks of some kind of suggestive persuassion, don’t you think?
5 Dec 2011, 09:47 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-51:
let’s wait until bergieboy’s money order clears before we pop the pongracz.
5 Dec 2011, 09:48 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-52: Josh is our manchurian.
When he’s fully developed as a player we will snap our fingers and he will come back to Cape Town.
5 Dec 2011, 09:48 am
IloveyouBakkiesbotha
What does the french bit mean of your nic?
5 Dec 2011, 09:49 am
I know what a manchurian is, iloveyoubakkiesbotha!
5 Dec 2011, 09:50 am
Refreshing cover,Josh Strauss should be a decebt read.
Next how about a Gio Aplon cover illustrating his life story,rugby struggles from being labelled undersized,to shipped off to 7′s then to the patheon of SA rugby the Springbok,how he never gave up.
Or maybe a cover with Ndungane twins back to back to each other and their remarkable story from Eastern Cape to the Big time.
Or Willem Alberts cover,from his less than successful junior stint at Bulls,injury ravaged early days at Lions,rise from nowhere chance given by Eugene Eloff then his controversial move to Sharks leading to him being possibly the best ball carrying loosie on the planet.
Not another Spies issue esp cos he is captain of Bulls nw,or Schalk “bok captain in waiting” blah blah.
Even a Juan Smith cover would be welcomed!
5 Dec 2011, 09:51 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-46: i am with you on that!
@Simon(Simon)-24:
do you think you could perhaps put the following poll up, i would be quite greatfull?
poll question:
to all the real women out there, please answer this question:
who do you love more, bakkies or josh?
Gunther.
HM keohane is rolling in zar
He pays his minions well
5 Dec 2011, 09:53 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-52: There was a very good movie about that – they got a brainwashed army oke to be vice president of the USA ….
5 Dec 2011, 09:53 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-55: Goodbye something something goodbye
5 Dec 2011, 09:54 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-55:
goodbye all blacks…
5 Dec 2011, 09:54 am
Iloveyoubakkiesbotha
It would appear that real men love Bakkies, and us girls love Josh.
5 Dec 2011, 09:57 am
You guys are weird.
In love with Bakkies.
Ja simon The Manchurian Candidate. Denzel was in it.
5 Dec 2011, 09:57 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-63: oh i see
5 Dec 2011, 09:59 am
@Simon(Simon)-61:
you are skirting two solid questions, simon.
remember, even not answering a question reveals a lot.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-54:
i’m pretty certain josh strauss will never play for the stormers, unless its an end of career mercenary move.
5 Dec 2011, 09:59 am
Anyone know where I can find the soundtrack to The Lincoln Lawyer.
No-one has it! Only amazon, and I have to pay in dollars!
5 Dec 2011, 10:00 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-65: @Simon(Simon)-61: The original one starred Frank Sinatra.
And Janet Leigh. She of the ‘shower scene” in Psycho.
5 Dec 2011, 10:02 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-67: That’s why he’s a perfect plant.
Iloveyoubakkiesbotha
Simon is off to dry cleaners to get his hooded robe, in order to consult with the “others” so he may wisely answer your questions.
@Dawn(Dawn)-64:
agreed.
that was my point all along, as i know it as a certified fact that without a doubt every man in the world loves bakkies botha.
but you have got me intrigued to know whether the ladies would go for josh over bakkies….?..
5 Dec 2011, 10:03 am
Stormersboy how old are you
5 Dec 2011, 10:08 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-73: LOL.
Old school.
But I moisturise.
Simple, iloveyoubakkiesbotha.
Bakkies is ugly, josh is a beaut.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-74: LOL
5 Dec 2011, 10:09 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-71:
some questions can never be asked….
nomis, fi uoy era gnidaer siht, od ton eb demralla.
5 Dec 2011, 10:10 am
Do all the men here love bakkies botha?
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-59: dude we addressed this some time back ……….. it is not cool for a guy to love Bakkies …. admire him, follow him, respect him is okay, but love ….. no man it is just a bit brokeback.
Con10tion.
I see what you did there.
5 Dec 2011, 10:11 am
i llahs tiaw rof a ngis.
5 Dec 2011, 10:12 am
It is a sweeping generalisation to say that “every man in the world loves bakkies botha”.
5 Dec 2011, 10:12 am
Dear Rugby Gods,
May we have all our high-profile flyhalves playing 10 throughout the 2012 SR season.
Pat Lambie being my main concern.
5 Dec 2011, 10:13 am
@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-80: You chive?
5 Dec 2011, 10:14 am
Jinne kiezphat you a bit slow today!
5 Dec 2011, 10:15 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-78: Only if it gets cold enough.
5 Dec 2011, 10:16 am
Hendrik
We talking kuk today. Please save rugby for next year.
BTW do you love bakkies botha?
5 Dec 2011, 10:17 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-73: PS you know the movie(s) are actually based on a book, don’t you?
5 Dec 2011, 10:17 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-83: He convinced at the World Cup that he is a very good fullback and with Frans Steyn playing 12 we need a solid fullback with a decent boot.
Bok backline for 2012
9. Hougaard
10. Elton Jantjies
11. Mvovo
12. F.Steyn
13. Jaque Fourie (if he is up to standard if not then JdJ or Sadie)
14. JPP
15. Lambie
This will also ensure that we dont need to pick a 10 on the bench because Pat can cover that.
5 Dec 2011, 10:19 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-88: What movie(s)? Manchurian Candidate? That will be a great read.
5 Dec 2011, 10:20 am
Stormersboy!
A book? Wazzat??
Do you love bakkiesbotha?
5 Dec 2011, 10:22 am
i’ve watched strauss win us a varsity cup, even though i must admit he was not the most recognised player, and now a CC for my beloved Lions, how can I not luv this guy. JS for Springbok captain, JS for President!!!
5 Dec 2011, 10:23 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-89:
I agree… but I don’t agree that playing 10 & 15 would hurt him.
10 for the Sharks.
15 for the Boks.
5 Dec 2011, 10:23 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-90: Richard Condon.
Great Novelist. Wrote some other stuff that made it into movies too. Prizzi’s Honour for example.
@Dawn(Dawn)-91: See post 86
5 Dec 2011, 10:24 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-75:
gosh, bakkies is not ugly.
sure josh has a pretty boy kind of look going but to make the jump to ‘bakkies is ugly’ is a bit harsh.
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-79:
when i was a laaitie i once lost a fight and went home crying, on the way into the house i told my father about it through my tears.
my father, in no time at all, proceeded to give me a moerse hiding and then told me to go back and fight the boy again, but that when i came back this time i was not to cry, win or lose…i did go back and fight the other boy and i lost again, but i never cried again…
so in answer to any concerns you may have, i know that is code and i understand you. it is not and never will be cool for men to say i love you to anyone, even their women and children, let alone to another man… that is what makes us men.
5 Dec 2011, 10:25 am
The nic with all the numbers.
You can’t say JS. You must be specific.
Otherwise everyone think john smit.
BTW do you love bakkies botha?
5 Dec 2011, 10:26 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-89:
I also think Jaque Fourie kissed his Springbok jersey goodbye.
Would’ve been a sure thing had he kept playing in Europe rather.
5 Dec 2011, 10:27 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-93: That could work. In Fact whoever is the form 10 in the S15 should play 10 for the Boks as simple as that.
5 Dec 2011, 10:27 am
Iloveyoubakkiesbotha.
One word.
Therapy.
5 Dec 2011, 10:28 am
@14261774(14261774)-92:
We definitely talking kuk today.
5 Dec 2011, 10:28 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-96: lol same thing I thought too. I think that is his Stellenbosch University student number. lol
5 Dec 2011, 10:29 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-97: Yip agree.
5 Dec 2011, 10:30 am
So men can’t say I love you to their women and children but they can say Iloveyoubakkiesbotha???????
5 Dec 2011, 10:32 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-98:
Amen to that.
I’m thinking something along that Carlos Spencer versus Tony Brown versus Andrew Mehrtens type thing could work for us.
People will argue Lambie shouldn’t be moved around, but he wouldn’t be at his franchise team (if he were to play 10) and playing for the Springboks is a case of the best options on the field, so if he’s not the best 10, but the best 15, he fits in and plays. Doesn’t get to make demands, which I seriously doubt he would given his good attitude up till now!
It’s not like Ruan Pienaar who got to play everywhere except his preferred position of 9. Or Francois Steyn who played everywhere but only wanted to be an inside back. Lambie is happy playing either 10 or 15, so we’re good
5 Dec 2011, 10:33 am
And that makes them real men?
Boy m I learning today!
5 Dec 2011, 10:33 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-96: I luv Josh Strauss the way I luv my sister, it means alot, but not in that way. Josh vs Bakkies. Josh: Paul Roos, Maties, Knows his red wine, a Vet, and wins CC for lions. Bakkies from Secunda, three favourite thing is his farm, bakkie and dog, and he played for the bulls. Josh wins by a mile!
5 Dec 2011, 10:34 am
ok fair enough.
thats 3 for josh and 1 for bakkies so far.
5 Dec 2011, 10:34 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-94: Sounds good…will look out for it.
5 Dec 2011, 10:35 am
Hendrik!
Do you love bakkies botha.
5 Dec 2011, 10:36 am
I hate gingers.
But I love you Schalk Burger.
5 Dec 2011, 10:37 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-104: Yes we have a wide variety of 10′s coming through….each with their own specific strength. Yes that could work in the Bok set up.
5 Dec 2011, 10:37 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-109:
Talks a bit slow for my liking!
But the way he headbutted that cheating son of a b17ch Jimmy Coward…
I love you Bakkies Botha.
Josh Strauss is but a rookie.
5 Dec 2011, 10:39 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-111:
I’m also predicting Juandre Kruger will be our bench-lock…
And that Nick Koster will have a breakthrough season. Statistically he’s the best ‘ball-in-hand’ loose forward in Super Rugby, but I think extra game time will mean bigger impression… meaning potentially a Springbok jersey.
5 Dec 2011, 10:40 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-101: Can’t be. the first 2 letters are your first year, like 95……
Or in my case. 8-something………
5 Dec 2011, 10:40 am
Just read on Sharksworld that Wandile Mjekevu is training with the Sharks this morning, only on a trial basis.
Thought he had a contract with the Lions but obviously not. Now really hope it works out well and Sharks offer him a contract. He has some awesome speed. Also only turns 21 in a few months. So would be a brilliant buy getting the Young Baby Bok at the Sharks.
5 Dec 2011, 10:42 am
I give up.
Men love bakkies botha over women because of some childhood brawling.
There is no hope!
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-113: He is very promising, but I’m reluctant to over-hype players.
He needs to work on retaining possession in the tackle. Gets turned over a great deal.
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-113: Yes i would go for Kruger or Elstadt but I think Kruger is more experienced and more versatile so he would be a great bench player. You think Koster is going to get extended game time? I am not sure buddy.
5 Dec 2011, 10:44 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-116: We don’t really love him.
Not any more.
We’ve moved on.
It was special while it lasted.
But nothing is forever.
5 Dec 2011, 10:45 am
Puma
Do you love bakkies botha?
5 Dec 2011, 10:45 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-114: lol it looks like one. My girlfriend started in 2007 and hers starts with a 15.
5 Dec 2011, 10:46 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-104: Why do you say Lambie would not be at his franchise team if he had to play at 10? Explain?
Cause he was our best fh last year and AGAIN in this years Super14. We got Freddie late in the series. I think Pat will be Sharks starting fh in the S15 cause Freddie wants to go back to France. Also I personally think Pat is a better fh than Freddie. Sure he is a very good fb as well. He does enjoy playing both positions, but I would like to see him back at fh at the Sharks which I think he will be in the S15. Freddie can sit on the bench and cover fh and sh.
5 Dec 2011, 10:47 am
@Puma(Puma)-115:
Think the Sharks would use him at centre?
Their other 12 & 13 options being: Meyer Bosman, Tim Whitehead, Paul Jordaan & Marius Joubert. And part-timers Jacques-Louis Potgieter & Patrick Lambie.
He might be a good fit after Marius Joubert leaves… unless they see him as a winger.
Also noted Tshotsho Mbovane hasn’t been included in the Stormers training group.
1 Deon Carstens / Steven Kitshoff / Wicus Blaauw / Schalk Ferreira / Hein van der Merwe / Alistair Vermaak
2 Deon Fourie / Tiaan Liebenberg / Scarra Ntubeni / Clemon Lewis
3 Brok Harris / Frans Malherbe / Tom Botha
4 Rynhardt Elstadt / Quinn Roux / Hilton Lobberts / Donovan Armand
5 Andries Bekker / Eben Etzebeth / De Kock Steenkamp
6 Schalk Burger / Reuben Johannes / Rohan Kitshoff / Nick Fenton-Wells
7 Duane Vermeulen / Siya Kolisi / Yaya Hartzenberg
8 Nick Koster / Nizaam Carr
9 Dewaldt Duvenage / Louis Schreuder / Nic Groom / Bolla Conradie / Ricky Schroeder
10 Peter Grant / Gary van Aswegen / Elgar Watts / Timo Swiel / Burton Francis / Demetri Catrakilis / Kurt Coleman / William van Wyk
11 Bryan Habana
12 Jean de Villiers / Michael van der Spuy / Berton Klaasen / Adrian Kritzinger
13 Juan de Jongh / Adrian Jacobs / JP du Plessis
14 Gerhard van den Heever / Danie Poolman
15 Gio Aplon / Joe Pietersen / Marcel Brache
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-121: Sheesh.
I feel old now.
Lank old.
I’m off to moisturise.
@Puma(Puma)-115:
Have been calling this for MONTHS now.
Well done to the Sharks for making a move for Mjekevu who is still only 20.Excellent potential,must be played in his preferred position of 13.Hopefully he is offered a contract
Lions went to sleep on this boy…
@Dawn(Dawn)-120: hahahaha. No why?
5 Dec 2011, 10:48 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-119:
it was beautifull.
will there ever be another?…
5 Dec 2011, 10:48 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-101:
can’t be,
they keep stellies studen numbers short.
so that the hairy backs can remember them.
5 Dec 2011, 10:49 am
@Simon(Simon)-61: The Manchurian Candidate?
5 Dec 2011, 10:49 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-123: Think that is exactly where he would play if we signed Mjekevu at outside centre. Heck he is fast. So really hope we offer him a contract.
5 Dec 2011, 10:50 am
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-129: Sorry, bit late on the take there.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-117:
He needs a big bit of refining yes but like you say very promising.
With the amount of time given to players like Koster etc to “mature”,I think Mjekevu can also fall into that category.
@Puma(Puma)-122:
I meant he wouldn’t be moved around at the Sharks the entire time…
If they invested in him as a 10, you’d expect him to play there 99.9% of the time…
Not that he would leave the Sharks
The grammar might be a bit off…
5 Dec 2011, 10:52 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-123: Also read on sw that we have Morgan Newman on a trial basis training with the Sharks from today.
5 Dec 2011, 10:52 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-85:
Its Monday. And I’m only on my second flat white.
There’s still too much blood in my caffeine system.
5 Dec 2011, 10:53 am
@Gunther(gunther)-128: lol that must be the old system. 14261774 says himself that he is a Matie!
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-123:
Yep hope Sharks play him at 13…. I would give Jordaan & Mjekevu 12 and 13 jesreys respectively during superrugby at specific periods.
Those 2 could be superstars.
Sharks do the right THING!!!
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-133: Okay got it….hehe.
5 Dec 2011, 10:54 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-124: double layer!
5 Dec 2011, 10:54 am
Can someone tell Keo that real men do not ‘LOL’.
Also talking about your kids and how hot the women are in Cape Town in the same tweet is a little disturbing.
Maybe its just me.
5 Dec 2011, 10:55 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-137: That would be an awesome combo. 2 strong running centres.
5 Dec 2011, 10:56 am
Wonder if Simon loves bakkies botha.
5 Dec 2011, 10:56 am
@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-140: lol
5 Dec 2011, 10:57 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-141:
Yes & they will ONLY get BETTER. Size wise as well they will fill out.They are both only 19 & 20 respectively.
5 Dec 2011, 10:58 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-132:
i hate to say this but, sadly i dont think koster’s ever going to be more than he was as a schoolboy in terms of the hype around him and his performances over time.
he has the makings of an even more tragic case of going from schoolboy wonder to nowhere than big joe did.
i hope i am wrong.
5 Dec 2011, 10:58 am
@Puma(Puma)-134:
Glad to see the Sharks trying to solve their centre problems!! Encouraging to know that Plumtree can spot a weakness.
5 Dec 2011, 11:00 am
bakkies 2
josh 3
neutrals 2
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-132: Agreed. he also shows good promise.
Time will tell I guess.
Kiezphat. Keohane is on the hunt.
Recently divorced.
5 Dec 2011, 11:02 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-137: Morning Mshini,
Agree buddy. If we had that centre combo would be awesome.
Hope Sharks sign Mjekevu. He is young as well would be a awesome buy. He as actually born in Durbs too.
Please Sharks do the right thing and give Mjekevu a contract.
5 Dec 2011, 11:03 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-143:
WHY I OUGHTTA!
5 Dec 2011, 11:04 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-146: Yes very encouraging that we are looking to sort out our centre problems.
Now probably need another lock too. Pity we lost Mostert this year.
5 Dec 2011, 11:05 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-145:
Be wrong! Be wrong!
I would agree that he needs to find some mongrel… but give him the ball in a little bit of space and he’s gone!
I’ve still got hope.
5 Dec 2011, 11:05 am
@Puma(Puma)-134: Morgan Newman is one of those guys who’s star rose meteorically and then just faded. I hope he can regain his mojo, if so the Sharks could be making one of the best value buys of the season.
5 Dec 2011, 11:07 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-149:
I was aware of this.
Maybe its me picturing him on the hunt.
Popped collar. Hipster shades. White slacks.
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-145:
Big Joe was a superstar,he just didnt achieve his full potential in terms of an elongated career in international rugby where one becomes a legend.Not in club rugby in South of France.He made some bad decisions-development wise,socially and career wise.But he was a special player even at international level.
Koster has had a lot of problems injury wise.Only in last 12-15 months has he been able to play consistently and is making progress.Too early to say he is done.
Mjekevu has the goods,wasnt played at all in this yrs S15 nor CC. But played back to back SA u20 campaigns were he was one of the best wingers in tournament BOTH years.Has put on weight as well.
@Puma(Puma)-152:
Need to invest in Jandre Marais!
Jandre Marais, Alistair Hargreaves, Ross Skeate, Anton Bresler & Pieter Steph du Toit is a very good set of locks I think!!
If not Marais as their enforcer, then they should try steal Ruan Venter from the Lions.
5 Dec 2011, 11:08 am
@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-155:
platform shoes.
saturday night fever blister.
5 Dec 2011, 11:08 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-125: Only saw this your post now Mshini. I hope we sign him too.
5 Dec 2011, 11:09 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-156:
If some are to be believed, Joe was more interested in the girls and so forth rather then being the best player he can be…
Was out at the clubs pretty much every night.
Could all be lies though
5 Dec 2011, 11:10 am
@Puma(Puma)-150:
Morning bud,
Yeah hopefully they do the right thing.(Didnt know he was born in Dbn)
5 Dec 2011, 11:11 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-157: Would be good, but feel we missed something letting Mostert go. He was playing superb at the time too.
Agents greed I think. They are onto players like bloody flies for commission. Mosterst must have rued the fact he signed before the wc. Cause had he not I think he would have been in the squad.
Will the new Bok Coach select overseas based players? I have a feeling they will not this time.
5 Dec 2011, 11:13 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-160:
Naturally gifted athlete was Big Joe.So he got away with average conditioning & less that satisfactory professional conduct(career wise) as a player for a long time.
Always catches up.
5 Dec 2011, 11:13 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-161: I never knew he was born in Durbs either buddy. Just read that on sharksworld.
Feeling great that we could finally sort out our centre problems and he is young as well. We need to be looking at the youth now. Him and Jordaan like you said would be bloody great there.
Now for another Lock. Think we will be needing to look there as well.
5 Dec 2011, 11:15 am
@Puma(Puma)-162:
I also think that if Mostert had not signed before being capped as a Springbok, he probably would’ve stayed in South Africa.
The contract he got from a bankrupt Stade Francais wouldn’t have been anything special, and I think he was getting fed up with limited game-time, and figured his chances of playing for the Boks were diminishing.
There is no way he’ll be let go from a 3-year contract though. No SA side will buy him out of it.
If he’d stayed, he would’ve made a helluva good option in the Bok squad.
5 Dec 2011, 11:15 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-154: Well he is in training with the Sharks this morning. Think they will have a good look at him in the next two weeks.
5 Dec 2011, 11:16 am
@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-155: You chive?
5 Dec 2011, 11:17 am
@Gunther(gunther)-158:
“Whats happening, baby? Can I get you a drink? How about a signed copy of Monty? No no, signed by me, not Percy.”
5 Dec 2011, 11:18 am
@Puma(Puma)-162:
Mostert was at union for 2 years and was hardly given gametime by Plumtree.
during S15 this year he was nowhere until there was a lock crisis.Then he stepped up and played well in last 4 games.
Then he got selected for boks-was always highly rated by de Villiers
So by time he got gametime which he hadnt received,he had signed overseas deal.Sykes was also undecided at time about leaving Sharks.
Agents are to blame for a lot of things but this time Mostert’s agent looked out for his best interest-where he would get payed 7 get gametime.He isnt kid anymore as well,27/28 years old-Mostert
5 Dec 2011, 11:18 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-165:
He’s also unlikely to be chosen as an overseas player…
I can’t see them doing that for a player with only 2 Springbok caps.
A fine option, but Elstadt & vd Merwe playing in SA means they will be given preference.
5 Dec 2011, 11:20 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-167:
I don’t know what that means.
5 Dec 2011, 11:21 am
For all Josh’s (sudden..) legions of fans…
This is just for you…
from an old vaudeville song from jonks ago… that my grandmother used to sing… but i’m sure will make you feel all warm n fuzzy inside…
“Joshua, Joshua,
Oh by Gosh you are…
Why don’t you call and see Mama,
She’ll be so very pleased to know
That all your fans they love you so.
Joshua, Joshua,
Oh by Gosh you are…
Sweeter than lemon squash you are.
Yes, my Gosh you are,
Joshu-oshu-you are.”
All the Lion’s fans need to learn this and sing it to josh in the coke can…
5 Dec 2011, 11:21 am
@Puma(Puma)-164:
Yeah youth is the way to go,even guys like Williams from u21′s is very good.Even Bulls have gone with youth with Sadie,Frans Venter as next generation midfield.
Lock is very thin…dont know who they will get to plug up that department
5 Dec 2011, 11:23 am
@Puma(Puma)-166: Good luck to them both.
Ironically i was hoping that he’d be training back home rather than with you guys.
Such is life.
@Puma(Puma)-166: Lionel Mapoe also trained with the Sharks for a couple of mornings, and we all know how that one ended.
Sharks should lose Straeuli and Plum and appoint PdV
5 Dec 2011, 11:25 am
@Puma(Puma)-166:
Newman is a facilitator type midfielder.best attribute is his ability to put players into space,has great hands,great passer of the ball.Rest of his game is average,with a good running centre outside him-can be very useful.much like Wayne Julies was.
5 Dec 2011, 11:27 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-175:
yeah but Lions have gone to sleep on Mjekevu
I said it a couple weeks ago,Draconian Mitch doesnt rate him….Playing likes of Deon van Rensburg ahead of him was testament enough.
5 Dec 2011, 11:27 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-149:
shame.
i hope it all works out for him.
now i feel bad for saying he might be a manchurian.
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-153:
do you mean for the stormers mostly or the springboks as well?
to tell you the truth his position either at flank or eigth has no shortage of takers and some of the competitors are way better imo.
he could be a wing or a midfielder maybe? there are openings in these positions at the stormers and the springboks.
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-156:
agreed. he had a few memorable games at international level. but still never quite as deserving of all the schoolboy ‘straight into the springboks’ setup type of hype as he got imo.
regarding mjekevu, the lions probably didn’t have the money to keep him around but either way this shuld be good for his development i hope.
5 Dec 2011, 11:28 am
@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-171: cool dont worry about it.
5 Dec 2011, 11:29 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-178: Ja Deon van Rensburg is average.
5 Dec 2011, 11:31 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-177: That is exactly on point regarding Newman’s play. Decent player.
5 Dec 2011, 11:37 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-179:
We’re going back to the stage where we need things happening close to the scrum…
It’s great having mongrel all over the forwards, but you need a ‘home-run hitter’ in there as well. It’s not a case of leave the attacking rugby to the backs…
Koster will come right! He’ll be what we wanted Spies & Kankowski to be, because he’s got a better build.
He’s more sturdy then Spies (who has chicken legs, all the muscle is in the upper body), and all-round a bigger stronger player then Kankowski.
Just needs to find his mojo.
5 Dec 2011, 11:39 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-178:
Reckon Mitchell will continue with Deon Van Rensburg on the wing?
You’d think the smart move now would be Killian on the left, and Mapoe on the right.
Will also be interesting to see who he has as midfield partner for Doppies. Guessing his options being Hollenbach & Murray – can’t quite see Fountain & Boshoff forcing their way in.
5 Dec 2011, 11:44 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-68: try here Dawn
http://www.takealot.com/music/lincoln-lawyer-osc,9379929
5 Dec 2011, 11:45 am
who saw the USA’s try against the blitz bokke, where the guy drops the ball in front of the ref?
5 Dec 2011, 11:45 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-169:Sorry to answer late. Just got a little busy. Now have a bit of time to blog.
Yes pity Mostert never got enough game time. I think his injury he had at the time also reason he never played much. Think he is only 26 Mshini. Still young as a lock. For now we need another lock for S15.
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-177: Just good that they are trying these players out.
5 Dec 2011, 11:47 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-184:
Dont know regarding van Rensburg,but seems to be a Mitchell favourite.Would like to see Mapoe play more at 13,played really well there when he was fit during Currie Cup.but he is equally adept on the wing.
Murray injury prone,dont see him being at Lions for long.He will make his way overseas soon me thinks.Hollenbach & the rest are journeymen.
Going to be a huge Test in squad depth for Lions in an elongated S15 season…
5 Dec 2011, 11:48 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-175: Mapoe had a contract still with Cheetahs at the time. Seems Mjekevu does not have a contract with Lions. So for now I hope it all works out that he gets a offer from the Sharks.
He is Durbs born.. So we get one back……….hehe.
5 Dec 2011, 11:49 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-183: and more importantly, he as a rugby brain, far more valuable than any pumped up physique
5 Dec 2011, 11:51 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-174: I hope it works out well with both as well. Thanks buddy.
5 Dec 2011, 11:53 am
That Stef-du toit is going to be an awesome player!! Haven’t seen a lock with his workrate before!!
5 Dec 2011, 11:59 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-178: Mshini,
As Freddie has made it known he wants to go back to France in June, so he has to play scrummie for now or on the bench.
How do you rate these backs for Sharks next year:
9 – Freddie / McLeod / Hoffman (Don’t rate Hoffman for now, might need game time)
10 – Lambie
11 – Mvovo
12 – Jordaan
13 – Mjekevu
14 – JPP
15 – Viljoen
Looks a whole lot better than we had this year.
5 Dec 2011, 12:12 pm
@Puma(Puma)-193:
Bit unlikely hey!?
Would be a bit too much of ‘out with the old, in with the new’. Jordaan & Mjekevu would be good fringe players IMO.
9 Charl McLeod / 20 Carel Hoffmann
10 Patrick Lambie / 21 Frederic Michalak
11 Lwazi Mvovo
12 Meyer Bosman
13 Tim Whitehead / 22 ****** *******
14 JP Pietersen
15 Riaan Viljoen
Something like that maybe?
Have to say I’m a fan of the rotating bench for younger players.
Instead of doing what the Sharks did with Carel Hoffmann for example, rotate your younger players out off the bench every week so they get game-time at VC level.
Province did it with Groom & Schreuder for large pats of the Currie Cup. I pray they’d do the same with some others… something like:
16 Liebenberg & Ntubeni
17 Kitshoff & Malherbe
18 Roux & Etzebeth
19 Kolisi & Carr
20 Schreuder & Groom
21 van Aswegen & Swiel
22 (JP) du Plessis & Jacobs
5 Dec 2011, 12:15 pm
Carlos Spencer, the Lions Assistant Coach, had a Boxing Bout in NZ over the weekend, against Awen Guttenbiel, a former Rugby League Pro.
Worth a look, link below.
http://youtu.be/OW0yLr2GsJM
5 Dec 2011, 12:15 pm
@Puma(Puma)-193:
There is plenty potential there mate.The midfield will struggle to gel at beginning and on defense BUT the more they play together the BETTER.in a couple of years they could be outstanding. Both Jordaan & Mjekevu are GENUINE line breaking threats with freakish speed and awesome feet to boot. The less I see of Bosman,JLP,Joubert-the better.
The core of that backline is young as well
Lambie 21
Mvovo-25
Jordaan-19
Mjekevu 20
JP-25
Viljoen-28
5 Dec 2011, 12:18 pm
Mshini and Hendrik P
Sharks look very thin at lock, which is why I think coaches were trying Deysel at 4 (to some success) during Currie Cup.
But shifting Deysel to the second row leaves Sharks thin re loose forward depth (now compounded with Adonga moving to Bulls.
4) Deysel, Marais
5) Hargreaves, Skeate, Bresler
6) Daniel, Botes, Kleynhans
7) Alberts
8) Kankowski, Coetzee
Sharks need a serious enforcer 4 lock and one or two more loosie options.
Also, Michalak has intimated he’d like to return to France to take another crack at the national side.
So Lambie and Potgieter will defs be the 10 options, with Viljoen and Ludik at 15.
Surely?
5 Dec 2011, 12:20 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-194: Meyer Bosman never impressed me much this past season. Might need more game time but I like what I have seen of Jordaan and Mjekevu.
Hoffman needs plenty game time. He really never lived up to expectations this year. I would start Freddie at scrummie this year. He as great there for Sharks in CC 2008. With Lambie at fh, Jordaan inside centere and outside centre Mjekevu.
Though knowing Plum we will have Bosman at 12 and probably Whitehead at 13.
5 Dec 2011, 12:20 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-196:
Always nice to see younger players given opportunities…
But if you stick too many of them in at once, you’re headed for a downward spiral.
Experience really does count in some cases. It projects confidence, a know-how & they bounce back better from disappointment.
The Jordaan & Mjekevu combination would be PERFECT for the Sharks U-21′s in 2012.
5 Dec 2011, 12:24 pm
That Stormers training squad looks very impressive to me.
I can’t understand the hysterical moaning by some poster/s on this site.
It’s mystifying to me that someone would criticise their favoured team so harshly.
I’m not saying one shouldn’t criticise or comment or analyse.
But when opinions seem to be based on such high emotion and hysteria as opposed to looking at the facts.
The Stormers have a healthy squad.
Yes, Louw, Sadie, Engelbrecht and now Jacques Fourie have gone.
And Peter Grant may well be gone for longer at some point soon.
But look at that depth.
And look at the youngsters coming through.
It’s ironic that hysterical posters who called for some experienced Bok players’ heads cite the need for experience when I bring up the youngsters in the Stormers squad.
But I don’t subscribe to the opinion that Rassie and Coetzee are managing their youngsters badly.
Look at how Elstadt, Kisthoff and Malherbe came through.
I have confidence that Ntubeni, Roux, Etsebeth, Johannes, Kolisi, Carr, Groom, Van Aswegen, Swiel, Brache, Du Plessis will all make some sort of promising impact.
And the likes of Francis and Pieterson may well be very welcome additions indeed.
5 Dec 2011, 12:25 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-196: Agree bud. I am a believer or more game time together the better players get.
Won’t bother me if Jordaan and Mjekevu take a bit of time to gel, they will be unbelievable (imo) once playing together the whole season.
That backline is young which I like. We will have years with them.
5 Dec 2011, 12:27 pm
@cane(cane)-195:
not bad considering the other guy looks bigger and with a longer reach.
why the draw though?
does the clip not show the bits where spencers getting worked over more because it requires a lot to draw a fight after having knocked down your opponent?
perhpas he was penalised points for striking after the referees intervention?
failing that then i suspect a ffucking conspiracy just because the guys helping saffas get back to the top…kiwis will do their bit to push him down…
5 Dec 2011, 12:27 pm
@puff(puff)-200: Very well said!
5 Dec 2011, 12:30 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-202:
A lot of the results are questionable each year…
Spencer probably should’ve won.
And Monty Betham is a real w@nk. Genuinely despise that guy.
5 Dec 2011, 12:33 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-199:
Mjekevu & Jordaan should play senior rugby not u21′s AGAIN.
Yes Im with you that it wouldnt be to their best interest to stick them from the start thus periodically giving a chance as subs,2/3 starts,some Currie Cup rugby much in the same fashion. But they should always be involved with senior squad.
Likes of barritt & Murray were brought through the same way by Muir and were premier centre pairing in SA in 2007 as 20 year olds.Until Sharks decided to mess all of Steyn,barritt,Murray,Vulindlu around to keep likes of Terblanche,Swanepoel then buy Joubert,Bosman etc
Experience….tired of that word after what SA/Boks has gone through last 2 years
5 Dec 2011, 12:34 pm
@puff(puff)-200:
The stormers training squad looks impressive every year my magic dragon.
5 Dec 2011, 12:38 pm
@puff(puff)-200: Exactly. This is why I don’t want Coetzee and Rassie to be lost to the Boks. They have unfinished business.
5 Dec 2011, 12:39 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-206:
Difference now is that they have some of the premier young talents in SA unlike yesteryear where they had a overbloated squad with plenty of hasbeens or middle aged journeymen.
Likes of Kisthoff,Ntubeni,Malherbe,Etsebeth,Johannes,Carr,Kolisi,Koster,Groom,Shreuder,JP du Plessis,Mbovane
That is THE strongest youth set up in the country talent wise.
Thats the major difference.
5 Dec 2011, 12:40 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-203:
Thanks.
It really is a very well-balanced and exciting training squad.
1) Blaauw, Kitshoff
2) Fourie, Liebenberg, Ntubeni
3) Harris, Malherbe, Carstens
4) Elstadt, Lobberts, Roux
5) Bekker, Steenkamp, Etsebeth
6) Kithoff, Johannes, Fenton-Wells
7) Burger, Kolisi, Harzenberg
8) Vermeulen, Koster, Carr
9) Duvenhage, Groom, Conradie, Schreuder
10) Grant, Van Aswegen, Francis, Catrikilis
11) Habana, Coleman
12) De Villiers, Brache, Van Der Spuy
13) De Jongh, Du Plessis, Klaasen (and possibly Jacobs)
14) Van Den Heever, Poolman
15) Aplon, Pieterson, Swiel
For sure, Louw, Sadie, Engelbrecht and Fourie would make it even stronger.
But there’s impressive depth across all positions.
And a lot of the younger players were brought through well during this year’s S15 and Currie Cup.
5 Dec 2011, 12:40 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-205:
Fair call. Just saying that, if your players aren’t performing, there needs to be calm heads and some reflection on whether it would actually be in the team & the youngsters best interest to throw them in the deep end.
Some cases, sure.
And I do think Jordaan & Mjekevu are ready for senior rugby.
But do I think if the Sharks want to make a push for the SR semi-finals that they’d be the correct choices?
Heck no. Give them some time off the bench or separate starts.
5 Dec 2011, 12:41 pm
stormers look good on papaer….
But…analyse squad carefully…..
We have issues at openside….Kitshoff has to shape or we in trouble….
We are suspect at 3…….Brock gets overplayed …..
We do not really have a standout proven 10….Grant s boot is an issue and Gary Van Aswegen always injured…..then it is a drop down to youngsters…..
What happens if JDV and JDJ get hurt?
It is all very well not wanting to be critical but one has the right to be critical…..
Stormers are ,imo, undoubtedly a lot weaker than they were last year…..
Sadie….JF and F Louw are not small losses….
5 Dec 2011, 12:42 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-208:
Exactly!
5 Dec 2011, 12:44 pm
@puff(puff)-209:
You missed a lot of names that have been included.
1 Deon Carstens / Steven Kitshoff / Wicus Blaauw / Schalk Ferreira / Hein van der Merwe / Alistair Vermaak
2 Deon Fourie / Tiaan Liebenberg / Scarra Ntubeni / Clemon Lewis
3 Brok Harris / Frans Malherbe / Tom Botha
4 Rynhardt Elstadt / Quinn Roux / Hilton Lobberts / Donovan Armand
5 Andries Bekker / Eben Etzebeth / De Kock Steenkamp
6 Schalk Burger / Reuben Johannes / Rohan Kitshoff / Nick Fenton-Wells
7 Duane Vermeulen / Siya Kolisi / Yaya Hartzenberg
8 Nick Koster / Nizaam Carr
9 Dewaldt Duvenage / Louis Schreuder / Nic Groom / Bolla Conradie / Ricky Schroeder
10 Peter Grant / Gary van Aswegen / Elgar Watts / Timo Swiel / Burton Francis / Demetri Catrakilis / Kurt Coleman / William van Wyk
11 Bryan Habana
12 Jean de Villiers / Michael van der Spuy / Berton Klaasen / Adrian Kritzinger
13 Juan de Jongh / Adrian Jacobs / JP du Plessis
14 Gerhard van den Heever / Danie Poolman
15 Gio Aplon / Joe Pietersen / Marcel Brache
JC Kritzinger & Heinrich Steyl out until the Currie Cup.
5 Dec 2011, 12:45 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-204:
i looked up the fight out of interest.
the monty guy looks way out of his depth against cameron.
they should never have been drawn to fight each other.
but ja, that cheap shot just smacks of despicable character.
5 Dec 2011, 12:46 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-208:
well lets see, throw in a couple of injuries early in the competition youngsters in the deepend in key positions and you have the the annual snuff movie that is the stormers.
but ja, maybe this year will be different.
certainly look like the best sa team on paper.
happily the game isplayed on grass.
5 Dec 2011, 12:47 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-205: Agree with you Mshini. Jordaan and if we sign Mjekevu they have to be playing in S15 not U21′s again. Just look when Lambie got a chance at 19 last year how it turned out for him. He was a Springbok and off to the world cup the very next year.
Time to believe in the youngsters and give them a chance. We will never know what we have until we give the youngsters a chance. Lambie’s chance only came from a player being injured. Just pleased he grabbed that chance with both hands to show Plum what he had in him.
5 Dec 2011, 12:49 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-207:

que survivor’s eye of the tiger…
5 Dec 2011, 12:49 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-213: i see you still have scahlk as opensider….
other super 15 teams will just love you
5 Dec 2011, 12:51 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-214:
Betham talks it up. He wanted the fight no doubt, and has been vocal in saying he wants to be a professional boxer.
They all like taking the p1ss out of Shane Cameron after he got knocked out by Tua, but end of the day Tua spent his career fighting in Vegas. If he’d marketed himself better he might’ve even had a shot at going all the way, and Cameron took him on.
If it were a serious fight, Cameron would’ve knocked him out in the first 3 rounds, no doubt.
5 Dec 2011, 12:51 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-213:
I condensed it as I feel my listing will be closer to the pool of players used in the S15.
5 Dec 2011, 12:52 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-213:
But the extra names in the expanded squad helps to reinforce my stance.
5 Dec 2011, 12:52 pm
@grant10(grant10)-218:
Grant, grant, grant.
I put him in the position he’s likely to play.
Not because I want to see it happen.
5 Dec 2011, 12:53 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-210:
Sharks WONT make a push for SR title with likes of Joubert,Bosman,JLP in midfield. They are patch up specialists,polyfillers.
Sharks have arguably one of the best pack in the S15-Beast,Bismark,Jannie,Deysel,Alberts,Daniel,Kankowski.
but the deficiencies in backline wont allow a sustainable challenge.There will be lucky to sneak into top then get smashed in away quarters just like this year.
5 Dec 2011, 12:54 pm
@grant10(grant10)-218:
I expect this to be Stormers starting loose trio.
6) Kitshoff
7) Burger
8) Vermeulen
with Koster on the bench.
5 Dec 2011, 12:57 pm
@cane(cane)-195: That looks like it might have been a pretty decent fight. Better than anything Sunni Bin has produced.
5 Dec 2011, 12:58 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-222: who says he is likely to play there?
Insane choice…….
5 Dec 2011, 12:58 pm
@puff(puff)-220:
I see!
In that case I can’t see them using Hartzenberg. Also unlikely to sign Francis (I thought he had a contract with Boland, but apparently not. He’s just trying to impress for a contract).
And if they play either Coleman (you’ve got him on the wing btw) or Catrakilis I’m pinning my hopes elsewhere!
Can form a nice WP U-21 team for 2012 out of there though… without those who would then be called up for Currie Cup duty of course.
Something like this I’m imagining:
1 Steven Kitshoff
2 Scarra Ntubeni
3 Frans Malherbe
4 Wilhelm van der Sluys
5 Eben Etzebeth
6 Beyers de Villiers
7 Siya Kolisi
8 Nizaam Carr
9 Ricky Schroeder
10 Timo Swiel
11 Devon Williams
12 Michael van der Spuy
13 JP du Plessis
14 Tshotsho Mbovane
15 Craig Barry
16 Renier Marais
17 Justin Ackerman
18 Gerbrandt Grobler
19 Cobus Nel / Rayn Smid
20 Gerhard Jordaan
21 Dillyn Leyds
22 Kobus van Wyk / Patrick Howard
5 Dec 2011, 12:59 pm
@puff(puff)-224: I can live with that
5 Dec 2011, 13:00 pm
@grant10(grant10)-226:
If they don’t play him there, I’ll be happy but surprised.
But my prediction… he’ll spend the majority of the SR campaign at openside, or again playing left-and-right with any of Vermeulen, Koster or Kolisi.
5 Dec 2011, 13:01 pm
@grant10(grant10)-211:
The fact that an average prop like Brock gets overplayed tells you all you need to know about the Stormers
5 Dec 2011, 13:03 pm
@puff(puff)-224:
If they thought that highly of Kitshoff, answer me this…
Why wasn’t he called up to the Currie Cup side after returning from the World Cup? He should’ve been back in there before the Springboks even returned, with Namibia falling out earlier.
I can’t recall an injury. He was on the bench in every game in fact.
That’s why I don’t think they see him as their best and starting openside.
5 Dec 2011, 13:03 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-225:
sunny bin only fights halaal boxers.
served up by the MJC
5 Dec 2011, 13:04 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-230:
Malherbe and Carstens will be able to allow Harris to rest more.
Brok is under-rated.
He spills the odd ball in open play but his scrummaging is actually pretty good.
It’s Blaauw who seems to have a few technical deficiencies in his game.
But young Kithoff is a powerhouse and a star in the making.
5 Dec 2011, 13:04 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-230:
Just wait until we get our next Cobus Visagie.
Then you’re all in deep sh17.
5 Dec 2011, 13:05 pm
@puff(puff)-209: That’s a great training squad. In fact, when it comes to training, they might be the best there is.
In the words of Kenny Powers, “I play a real sport. I don’t try to be the best at exercise.”
5 Dec 2011, 13:06 pm
@puff(puff)-224: @grant10(grant10)-228: Yes agreed that is a great loose trio. Just hope Kitshoff can cut it. Burger and Vermeulen to handle the rough stuff Kitshoff just needs to ensure he is first at the breakdown.
5 Dec 2011, 13:06 pm
@puff(puff)-233:
If Harris would stop playing scrumhalf, and flyhalf…. well that would be a good start.
5 Dec 2011, 13:07 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-227:
I added a few names merely to illustrate the depth.
But it will be cut down to about 36 players.
And I’m sure Harzenberg and Coleman won’t be in the top 36, but will be looked at in the event of injury if necessary.
Don’t be surprised if Francis is offered a contract.
Grant’s potential unavailability at the start of the season and Van Aswegen’s penchant for breaking down physically may prompt the decision makers to rope in a flyhalf with S15 experience.
Francis has that, albeit getting limited game time at the Bulls and the Lions.
In fact, I wouldn’t be surprised if Francis is included in the 22 for the first few games if Grant isn’t back.
5 Dec 2011, 13:07 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-230: yip
we have 100 loosies…..and only 2 inexperienced opensiders…..
CJ will be a revelation at Lions ….watch Mitchell get him into the best condition ever….
5 Dec 2011, 13:09 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-237:
Heh.
Now that’s a fair comment.
5 Dec 2011, 13:09 pm
@puff(puff)-233: Deon Cartens always performed well at 1
but struggled at 3
5 Dec 2011, 13:11 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-206: THIS time will be different!
5 Dec 2011, 13:11 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-229:
dont forget his cameos at first and second receiver.
5 Dec 2011, 13:14 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-232: Or at least his sponsors, Orion Cold Storage, assured him they were halaal.
5 Dec 2011, 13:16 pm
On Rohan Kitshoff.
I’d love to see the Stormers give the openside jersey to one of Kitshoff, Fenton-Wells or Johannes. Not my job to decide who the best option is, and I don’t know either… but they need to put an OPENSIDE at openside. Please!
I just can’t see it though. Like I said, when Namibia returned from the World Cup, they didn’t bring Kitshoff back into the squad, and Fenton-Wells dropped out of the squad the weekend after Kitshoff’s return with Burger taking his place in the 22.
They played Burger at openside, which suggests they will do so in SR as well. Nothing has convinced me that they’ll play any of the other options there.
5 Dec 2011, 13:17 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-245:
Anyone saying Kitshoff will be at openside… that’s just wishful thinking.
Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.
5 Dec 2011, 13:19 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-242:
Carstens can only do a better job than CJ did during his stint at the Stormers.
Your supreme confidence in Mitchell being able to get the best out of CJ has been noted, and I do hope you are right, for the sake of the player and for the sake of SA rugby (which needs as many capable and experienced tightheads as it can get).
But a little more confidence from your side in the Stormers youngsters such as Malherbe at 3, and Kithoff and Johannes (very highly rated) at openside will be nice to see.
Remember when Rassie introduced a very young Brussow and a very green Vermeulen at the Cheetahs?
Rassie is a great talent spotter and, from what I can see, these youngsters are being well prepared.
Look at Elstadt as an example.
He has come through in awesome fashion!
5 Dec 2011, 13:21 pm
@puff(puff)-247:
Sorry stormersboy
Post was meant for Grant10
5 Dec 2011, 13:23 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-242:
inshallah.
alhimdiallah.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-244:
norty.
5 Dec 2011, 13:23 pm
@puff(puff)-247:
To be fair Vermeulen had a HUGE reputation when he was still with the Pumas.
He was of course playing openside and there were a lot of people saying he was better then Keegan Daniel and so forth (they came about at around the same time).
Rassie only had to sign him up, and that was that.
5 Dec 2011, 13:26 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-250:
You’re a Cheetahs supporter, right?
Any indications given re the Cheetah’s training squad?
Would be keen to see the names.
5 Dec 2011, 13:27 pm
@puff(puff)-251:
I’m a WP supporter… but, here you go:
Cheetahs – 52-man provisional squad
1 Coenie Oosthuizen / Marcel van der Merwe / Janro van Niekerk
2 Adriaan Strauss / PW van Vuuren / Ryno Barnes / Hercu Liebenberg
3 WP Nel / Lourens Adriaanse / Trevor Nyakane / Eugene Butterworth
4 Francois Uys / Andries Ferreira / George Earl / Ockie van Zyl / JC Astle
5 Waltie Vermeulen / Izak van der Westhuizen / Martin Muller
6 Heinrich Brussow / Johan Wessels
7 Juan Smith / Ashley Johnson / Justin Downey / Lappies Labuschagne / Philip van der Walt
8 Davon Raubenheimer / Leon Karemaker
9 Piet van Zyl / Tewis de Bruyn / Marnus Hugo / Jacques Coetzee
10 (Johan Goosen) / Sias Ebersohn / Marnitz Boshoff
11 Cameron Jacobs / Rocco Jansen / Dusty Noble
12 Andries Strauss / Philip Snyman / Barry Geel / Matt Rosslee
13 Robert Ebersohn / Wilmaure Louw / Jean Stemmet
14 Rayno Benjamin / Riaan Smit / Philip Burger
15 Willie le Roux / Hennie Daniller / Rudi Vogt / Nico Scheepers
5 Dec 2011, 13:27 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-223: calm down man, do you really believe that Plum, he who does not rate youngsters is going to drop MJ and Bosman ……… then select rookie centres.
Get real now …. and FYI Mjekevu is not yet on the guppy books.
Now don’t get me wrong, I’m happy for Mjekevu …. and to correct you it is not that Mitch does not rate the boy, as you say. It is more like Mitch sees him as a troublemaker as he has recently cut more than 20 players who fall in the category of, has-been, loafer, average, poor, never will be and troublemaker.
To me Mjekevu falls into the category of troublemaker, his attitude does not make him a good team player so he too was cut along with 20 other players. Good luck to the guppies.
5 Dec 2011, 13:29 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-253:
Trouble-maker?
Must be pretty easy being head boy at King Edward VII then.
5 Dec 2011, 13:31 pm
Do you have the full list of players still in Lions den?
@Gunther(gunther)-249: Going to the Cricket this Friday??
I’m buying tickets this arvie
North stand i think.
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-252:
Shot.
Is this official, or did you thumb-suck it?
5 Dec 2011, 13:33 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-252:
Whoops, I put Johan Goosen in (caps) as one of my new (or guys who haven’t seen much game-time) players to potentially pick up for Fantasy Rugby.
Juandre Kruger, Johann Sadie & Hurricanes prop Reggie Goodes being the others.
FYI everybody: Reggie Goodes is a South African prop from Pretoria. Played at centre for the Bulls U-13 Craven Week side, before moving to Wellington and playing prop at Wellington College. Now might even be a starter by the time the S15 starts.
5 Dec 2011, 13:33 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-252:
No Kabamba Floors or Pieter Myburgh?
I think the Aadrianse props will be making a significant impact on SA rugby shortly.
5 Dec 2011, 13:34 pm
@puff(puff)-257:
-_- I didn’t know who some of them were until I saw this squad… so it’s official.
Eugene Butterworth was the only name that wasn’t announced, but they mentioned he was called up later on, so I presume he’s still there.
5 Dec 2011, 13:35 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-250:
Vermuelen actually had been let go by the Lions & Farns Ludeke who thought he wasnt good enough,Too flash.was at Lions for u19
Went to Pumas & put on a bit of weight and moved to blindside
But was still a experimental exercise for Rassie as Pumas have produced some very good loosies(Dlulane,Pierre Uys,Gerhard Vosloo,Dries Schalkwyk) over the years-a few of them failed to make step up when they moved from union
5 Dec 2011, 13:36 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-256:
I’ll see if the mood takes me.
My titans aren’t playing
maybe a quick shaprener or two in the members stand.
Am also considering a cheeking soujourn to Arnies to keep the peasants in check.
so much of decisions
5 Dec 2011, 13:37 pm
@puff(puff)-259:
Was surprised for a long time that we didn’t hold onto either of the Adriaanse brothers. But not much we can do about it now.
Pieter Myburgh was on a short-term contract, and they decided not to keep him on I believe.
And Kabamba Floors is gone. Can’t remember where, maybe the Kings?
Not quite sure what they’re going to do at lock. If there is one position from the 5 SA teams that is wide open, it is the 5 jersey for the Cheetahs.
5 Dec 2011, 13:38 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-254: well see how he gets along as the lowest form of guppy …. he does not like taking orders from anyone, otherwise he would not have been head boy.
@puff(puff)-255: only the 22 that won the Currie cup. They are all contracted and safe ….. Mitch has been doing major cutting from the squad, 21 victims and counting that are no longer Lions.
5 Dec 2011, 13:43 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-264:
May I ask where you got this information?
At the same time I’d hate to see the Lions go the Straueli route of only having yes-men.
5 Dec 2011, 13:51 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-265: Lions are looking to have a lean mean squad, it pointless having 50+ professionals on your books if you are not going to use them, like the bullies
I suspect a senior squad of around 35-40 players is what Mitch is working towards.
5 Dec 2011, 13:53 pm
Troublemaker? Shifting goalposts now 7 making up new categories for reasoning of questionable man management skills from Draconian Mitch…rich..
What troublemaking are you talking about? mjekevu has been committed to lions since a schoolboy,stated so many times during his shot career. He has gone back to junior rugby & put on weight as asked by Lions & Muir in 2010.He was 1.91m 78kgs in 2010,in 2011 he is 1.91m 91 kgs,hasnt lost his speed neither. thats a man who wants to succeed.2 years in a row SA u20′s and a superb talent,
Hope youre not making up stories about “trouble making” blah blah to denigrate a young player’s name to defend a coach who THROUGHOUT his professional stint as coach has had tumultous relations with players,management,media etc and shown himself to be a “loskop” more times than not.
Anyone with a strong personality & sense of worth in their abilities seems to be classed a “troublemaker” by Mitch & his ilk. Mate rugby like life one has to work with a number of different personalities to make it work especially with one so talented/gifted….man management
5 Dec 2011, 13:56 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-264:
I cannot believe a supposedly top union would only have 22 players on their books prior to the start of the S 15.
In fact:
1) Van Rensburg, Aadrianse
2) Maku, Bezuidenhout, [Marutlulle?]
3) Cilliers, Van Der Linde, [Buys, Geldenhuys?]
4) Van Heerden, Roodt
5) Van Der Merwe, Snyman
6) Minnie, Grobelaar, Kriel
7) Rhodes, [Van Schalkwyk ?]
8) Strauss, Whitely, [Wheeler?]
9) Bondesio, new Australian recruit
10) Jantjies, James
11) Killian, Boshoff
12) Hollenbach, La Grange
13) Murray, Des Fountain
14) Mapoe, Van Rensburg
15) Taute, Kamana
More than 22…
5 Dec 2011, 13:57 pm
@puff(puff)-268:
Oh, and that young 10 – is it Cronje?
Who else remains/has been drafted in?
5 Dec 2011, 13:57 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-266:
Fair enough, but he’s probably below that 35-40 mark at the moment in terms of how many players are currently in contention for a starting spot.
You’d think he’d be releasing players like Dries van Schalkwyk, Edgar Marutlulle and so forth…
Not a young guy who’s made a reasonable impression.
John Mitchell may be the hero now, but he will soon be the villain.
5 Dec 2011, 13:59 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-258: where do you play fantasy rugga?
5 Dec 2011, 13:59 pm
@puff(puff)-268:
- Callie Visagie was signed as a hooker.
- Johan Snyman has gone to the EP Kings.
- Ross & Guy Cronje have been signed. Ross a scrumhalf, Guy a flyhalf.
- Think they’ve included Hein Cronje in the mean time.
5 Dec 2011, 14:01 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-271:
http://superrugbyfantasy.foxsports.com.au
I only started during the World Cup, where I did pretty badly… but this time I’m doing my preparation
5 Dec 2011, 14:02 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-272:
Yes, that’s right – the Cronje brothers have signed!
I remember now.
At least Lions have a bit more depth at scrumhalf, thank goodness.
Seriously, Snyman has left?
So Mitchell has gotten rid of David Bulbring, Dawid De Villiers, George Earle and Johann Snyman???
And contracted Hendrik Roodt?
Wow – weird.
5 Dec 2011, 14:02 pm
I wonder whether the Sharks will snap up Dawid De Villiers?
5 Dec 2011, 14:03 pm
@puff(puff)-268: all of those players are safe, Snyman was cut.
At 9 not sure about that Aussie as we have Cronje and Moolman as cover. Kriel is another I’m not sure about, the rest look safe.
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-267:
We will see, either Mitch was the troublemaker or Mjekevu.
5 Dec 2011, 14:03 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-219:
“If he’d marketed himself better he might’ve even had a shot at going all the way”
He had a few title shots Lennox being one of them… and held plenty of lower promo world titles KO’ing plenty along the way… Cameron had nothing to be ashamed of…
5 Dec 2011, 14:06 pm
@puff(puff)-274:
Yeah something tells me Michael Rhodes will be playing a lot at lock…
Won’t be long before Ruan Venter & Ruan Botha start looking elsewhere as well.
5 Dec 2011, 14:08 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-277:
I realize that, but the reputation he has in NZ now is “that guy that got smashed by Tua”.
The Dominion Post was talking about it ending his career unless he knocked out Betham…
Seems that here Cameron is just one of those guys everybody loves to hate.
5 Dec 2011, 14:08 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-265:
no, it seems as though mitchell is mellowing with time and aquiring a more complete skill set/ability coaching wise. i dont think he goes in for the complete ja broer routine as much, anymore.
also, carlos spencer looks like more of a man than just an arse kissing yes man to me.
5 Dec 2011, 14:09 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-273: Ok cool. When does registration for S15 open? I also heard about some guys playing on TestRugby.com or something like that.
5 Dec 2011, 14:15 pm
Lions getting rid of dead weight and priming themselves….i like i like. Will it come back to bite them if they get a few injuries? Their youth talent doesnt seem that good.
5 Dec 2011, 14:18 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-278: why would they when the only locks ahead of them is Wikus, vd Merwe, Roodt and Greef …. they will get game time superrugby, count on it.
5 Dec 2011, 14:18 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-281:
I have no idea. FoxSports does run it really well though.
I’ll try to remember to let you know when it opens.
5 Dec 2011, 14:20 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-284: Ok cool thanks bud.
5 Dec 2011, 14:20 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-283:
Greeff?
Wasn’t he behind Quinn Roux, Eben Etzebeth, Reniel Hugo & Wilhelm van der Sluys at WP U-21′s?
And he’s going to be in the Lions 22?
Damn.
5 Dec 2011, 14:23 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-283:
Whoops I read that wrong.
I see… I’m not so sure though. The Lions have been signing and then sending locks on their way for years.
Gordon Gilfillan another that comes to mind.
Something about Jo’burg and locks.
5 Dec 2011, 14:23 pm
Thank you, BuckT, for finding my cd!
Am going shopping.
Scuse moi.
5 Dec 2011, 14:26 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-286: yes the varsity cup lock that the WP did not want or rate ….. I don’t mind the WP did not rate the man on the cover of this months SARuyby magazine either
5 Dec 2011, 14:28 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-286: btw some of those names mentioned are behind Ruan Botha and Ruan Venter, it is true.
5 Dec 2011, 14:29 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-276:
By your assertion a player like Victor Matfield would have been cut by Mitchell had he been a junior in his set up….(known to have a big personality throughout career & is probably the best lock of his generation at the very least)
Draconian Mitch
5 Dec 2011, 14:30 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-262: maybe a good spit roasting of a young local is in order……
Got my tickets.
5 Dec 2011, 14:31 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-289:
One good CC season doesn’t mean that much.
Otherwise Pietie Ferreira would be one of the greats.
5 Dec 2011, 14:32 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-289:
Yeah the same way the Lions didnt rate Duanne Vermuelen,Jean Deysel…..Never offered them senior contracts
5 Dec 2011, 14:33 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-291: Matfield was a naughty boy, remember JW sending him home after pulling his ears. Mitch is just old school, if you want a no nonsense hardarse coach Mitch is your man, if you want a psychologist Divvy or AC is your coach.
5 Dec 2011, 14:35 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-294:
Jean Deysel?
I thought he just left because he got a better deal with the Sharks.
Surely the Lions offered him something!
I don’t think he’s all that good anyway though. Has no variation in his game. Has that Pierre Spies thing about him about not ‘feeling’ the game.
5 Dec 2011, 14:41 pm
The only loose forward the Lions genuinely regret losing in recent years is Willem Alberts. The rest are all much of a muchness, and wouldn’t have held a starting place in the current Lions team anyway.
5 Dec 2011, 14:48 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-295:
Divvy, a psychologist?! Help!
A self-proclaimed religious guru, maybe…
5 Dec 2011, 14:54 pm
that naughty boy won 3 super titles, 2 tri nations, , 3 c/cups, 1 wc, 1 b/i lions series and a legion of admirers both male and female the world over.
5 Dec 2011, 14:56 pm
Mshini, plum is just as old school and hardarse as Mitch …. just ask Barrit, Murray, Pienaar and Steyn.
Good luck to him and Mjekevu
5 Dec 2011, 14:57 pm
perhaps the lions could do themselves a few favours to tolerate a few stoute kabouters here and there…
5 Dec 2011, 14:58 pm
That hardarse coach sh*t does have its ceiling and Mitch has been there and gone beyond-past & present.
Has nothing to do with “psychologist etc rugby is not a subset of the army or security forces etc A multifaceted approach is required especially with professionalism on hyper drive. Mitch ALWAYS leaves under acrimonious circumstances-in every job barring maybe England fwds coach job but when he left they went on to be world champs….
Dilute the issue all you want,fact is fact, Mitch’s past coaching stints with the same Draconian mindset end all in the same fashion….
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-296:
Deysel is better than anything the Lions have. He was once of the only players to come away with reputation improved from disastrious 3N away leg last year amongst poor company.And no Lions didnt offer him a contract-he came to Sharks on a trial-played for Natal Duikers(Sharks 3rd’s basically) and made his way to Superrugby squad in less than 6 months then Springbok.
5 Dec 2011, 14:59 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-292:
Ahh.
I have debentures.
Which means they can never deny me a ticket.
I also enjoy droit de seigneur over the young wenches serving the slop that passes for catering there.
However outside the gates amongst the sick and mentally infirm I highly recommend the sausage lady. she is a peach.
ask for the gunther.
10 inches (circumference).
5 Dec 2011, 15:01 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-303: Seriously? They can’t refuse a ticket to anyone with false teeth? Wtf is that all about?
5 Dec 2011, 15:03 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-303: He he he
Don’t be so modest.
5 Dec 2011, 15:06 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-304:
5 Dec 2011, 15:07 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-304:
some sort of affirmative action plan.
if its free its for me.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-305:
I rock a size 13 adidas.
5 Dec 2011, 15:10 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-297:
Jean Deysel is a Springbok & would play ahead of Strauss as a blindside. Alberts is a better 8 than Strauss.
5 Dec 2011, 15:15 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-308:
Correct.
But I’d put Deysel behind Juan Smith, Willem Alberts, Schalk Burger, Duane Vermeulen and Ashley Johnson as a 7/8.
Definitely behind the first 3 at least… but Duane I reckon is better rounded. Runs better support lines and so forth.
And Ashley Johnson is a hell of a ball carrier. He’d be one of our biggest weapons if he didn’t miss so many tackles.
5 Dec 2011, 15:16 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-308: With all due respect, that’s rubbish. Deysel was a mid-week Springbok. And there is no way in hell that he would currently start ahead of Strauss, at 7 or 8. Anyone who has watched any Lions games this year would know that.
And I’ve already acknowledged that Alberts was a big loss. If we had managed to keep him, a loose trio of Minnie, Strauss and Alberts would have been world class.
But Deysel is decidedly next-rung.
5 Dec 2011, 15:16 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-308:
Warren Whiteley is also the best player not in their presumed starting-XV.
We really do have a lot of very good loose-forwards in SA.
5 Dec 2011, 15:18 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-310:
You rate winners of a Currie Cup that resembled the Vodacom Cup far more highly then you should.
Just saying.
5 Dec 2011, 15:20 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-303: 10 inch circumference? I’d pipe down a bit if I were hung like a burger patty.
5 Dec 2011, 15:20 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-310:
he’s a dodgy rung at that,
he keeps snapping.
5 Dec 2011, 15:21 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-308: Deysel is in the category as Kankowski and Daniels, the category of players who should never have worn a Bok jersey.
5 Dec 2011, 15:22 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-312: Strauss is the front page lead of the SA Rugby article this thread is about. He’s probably rated (by me and thousands of others) for a reason.
Just saying.
5 Dec 2011, 15:24 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-315:
Deysel did rather well when playing for the Boks I thought! Was pleasantly surprised.
But maintaining that form, I can’t see it. He’s at best a battering ram who has no feel for the game. Not overly athletic and so forth either.
He’s in the same category as MANY other players that shouldn’t have worn a Bok jersey. I wouldn’t even know where to start!
I’d back Marcell Coetzee over him long-term!
5 Dec 2011, 15:26 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-316:
Fair enough mate.
And I’ve seen some pretty good performances from him in Super Rugby.
But not good enough to convince me we can take on the Australasian teams with him.
He’s more energy then precision. Like a poor mans Schalk Burger, although not as much of the kamikaze style either.
5 Dec 2011, 15:27 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-317: I’d start Coetzee ahead of Deysel too. He has one ingredient that Deysel lacks …… pace!
5 Dec 2011, 15:30 pm
And Re: Derick Minnie.
2nd best openside in SA? Probably.
But the gap between Brussow and Minnie is HUGE.
And therefore if anything happened to Brussow, I’d either call in the ‘middle-man’ Francois Louw, or forget about an openside flanker until we find one that can play at test level.
The only Lions players that should be there-abouts (regarding Springbok selection) are CJ van der Linde, Elton Jantjies & Jaco Taute.
Guys like JC Janse van Rensburg, Franco van der Merwe, Doppies la Grange & Lionel Mapoe being very unlucky though.
5 Dec 2011, 15:32 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-316:
With all due respect thats rubbish reasoning to say the least. Derrick Houggard has been on the cover of SA Rugby mag & many dont rate his abilities. So I guess if Davon Raubenheimer was to get front page of SA rugby mag he would be best thing since sliced bread?(Strauss is in the Raubenheimer category at present-good enough for midweek dirttracker team but NOT test team)
Deysel was Test capped in 2009 ALREADY. so he wasnt just a dirttracker midweek type.
One good Currie campaign with much of it diluted doesnt make you are world class player(Minnie,Strauss)…Ask Bevin Fortuin
5 Dec 2011, 15:41 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-321:
It can make you a good player, but not a world class one. You got that spot on.
Some players have rare talent, which means they can be highly thought of and tipped for higher honors even while playing CC rugby.
A guy like Johan Goosen being a prime example. Not many can kick the ball like he can, and he showed himself to be balanced in other facets as well… which means he’s a very likely future Springbok.
But what does Josh Strauss bring that we don’t get from better athletes? Is he a great ball-carrier? No. Is he a BIG target at the back of the line-out like Juan Smith (and Kanko for the Sharks). No. Does he have a huge workrate on defense? No.
All Strauss has on his side is that he played in a well balanced team, which meant he looked alright.
If it were Nick Koster, or Ryan Kankowski in his shoes we’d be hearing the same thing.
5 Dec 2011, 15:42 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-321: So you’re saying that if Deysel were to suddenly become available to the Lions, they’d pick him over Strauss?
Because that’s essentially what you’re implying. And that’s complete and utter rubbish. Drop Mitchell an email and ask him. See what he says.
Strauss, as a player and as a leader, means far more to that team than Deysel ever could.
5 Dec 2011, 15:46 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-309:
Agree totally.
Especially on Johnson,seemed disinterested in CC this year after missing out on WC selection
Awesome ball carrier,must round off his game.But he has improved from yesteryear,must continue to do so
5 Dec 2011, 15:55 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-323:
Mate I couldnt care less what Draconian Mitch thinks, he who selects Boksburg has beens or never will be’s ahead of talents like Mjekevu along with his dubious managerial style-im alright with him.. Leadership capablities,senior player blah blah he has 1 year experience as a captain in senior rugby and now everyone must bow down because the Lions won something?Strauss is the same player that was dropped at times during the lions s15 campaign due to his deficiency in tackle efficiency-became real cappie when Doppies got injured.
Easy with the hype, Strauss must try put together a couple of seasons of top notch form in CC AND more importnaly Superrugby.Then one can speak of him in Bok reckoning otherwise its Pierre Uys type stuff.
He got a SA rugby mag cover, more due to the NEED of media to push Lions revival-to sell publication to long suffering faithful.
its alright.
5 Dec 2011, 15:55 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-320: ja
you would forget about an opesider….
because you got no farken brains
5 Dec 2011, 15:57 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-325: that ‘ Draconian Mitchell’ will in all likelihood have you shedding lots more tears…..
I suggest a bit of respect
5 Dec 2011, 15:58 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-323:
I’m backing Johnson or Koster to be the fifth Springbok loose-forward in 2012.
And then some others would say Pierre Spies, Jean Deysel, Josh Strauss or Duane Vermeulen. Depends on who you talk to really.
But those are my two I think will put up big numbers in Super rugby.
5 Dec 2011, 16:00 pm
@grant10(grant10)-326:
Grant,
You’re a real w@nk you know that.
I never realised having an openside flanker was as crucial to winning a rugby game as scoring points.
I never realised that a player was born as an opensider, and that you can’t instruct a player to perform certain tasks, rather then giving the jersey to someone incapable of playing at that level.
5 Dec 2011, 16:02 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-325: This Mjekevu thing has really made a deep impression with you, hasn’t it? Why are you on such a crusade for the chap? Is he your son? You have no idea what the dynamic was, what the reasons were for not selecting him etc. But it’s enough for you to label the most exciting, progressive coach in the country “draconian”? Nee man, sometimes your agenda sticks out like a tatty petticoat.
5 Dec 2011, 16:05 pm
A man who wants to save animals, come to the SHARKSSSSSSSSSS oh bearded one and then you would be near perfect.
5 Dec 2011, 16:06 pm
so mitchell and meyer are both “draconian”.
It must be something in the water on the highveldt.
5 Dec 2011, 16:07 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-329:
Actually, let me put it this way.
The biggest embarrassment for Springbok rugby this year… Not John Smit, our former WC winning captain who is our most capped player ever.
It was Deon Stegmann. His performances in Australasia were pathetic. Never seen anyone so out of their depth at that level.
And you demand that only opensiders get selected, no matter how far out of their depth they are.
You’re okay with Stegmann-like performances.
You really must like coming on here b1tch1ng and moaning. Otherwise you’d see the solution. Don’t select guys that aren’t up to it.
5 Dec 2011, 16:07 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-328: Both those guys are good, but I reckon Johnson as a far better chance than Koster, who needs to add a tight aspect to his game. Right now he doesn’t have enough mongrel. Ditto for that youngster, Kolisi – he’s great to watch with ball in hand, but he needs to become a tough guy too, in the Juan Smith mold.
A couple of Bulls loosies are worth watching (Botha, Stander), as is that Coetzee chap from the Sharks. And Lappies from the Free State. But these are all longer term prospects. If we had to pick a Bok squad now, I think Johnson, Strauss and possibly Vermeulen would be the candidates for the last vacancy.
5 Dec 2011, 16:08 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-325: do you think that Mjekevu has worked to improve his weaknesses, poor handling skills and poor defense? Knowing his weaknesses will you still start him at 13 ahead of oupa MJ or journeyman Whitehead?
5 Dec 2011, 16:12 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-331: I save animals too and I go green whenever possible …… but I will never ever become a guppy!
5 Dec 2011, 16:14 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-334: Agreed. koster is still too young to really measure.
5 Dec 2011, 16:26 pm
Oh Simon, where are you ….. youhoooooo.
I’ve have been looking for the Josh cover and can’t find it anywhere …. still selling bonehead Burger issues … that’s not cool.
5 Dec 2011, 16:27 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-317: quite right! Deysel in a one-trick pony – BASH IT up all day long! has no finesse whatsoever and if the opposition match him physically or tackling technique is super he is a nonentity. plus he leaks a LOT of penalties when he dives over rucks or in goes head first.
5 Dec 2011, 16:29 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-333:
Steggies attended more rucks than ANY bok in those two games, so pipe down!
5 Dec 2011, 16:30 pm
“a poor man’s schalk burger”…?….sshitbeans…i hear some crazy things every day… but that is right up there…
5 Dec 2011, 16:34 pm
just please Rassie / ac dont play Schalk at openside again.
Thank you
5 Dec 2011, 16:37 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-330:
Not my son,not related,not my friend etc
I have watched him from his age group days at KES,his under age group performances,his senior performances etc. he is a special kind of player the kind SA rarely embraced,great feet,great speed,balanced runner. I have seen players in NZ and OZ who have special attacking skills be moulded & coached the other aspects such as defense,attitude in physicality(the so called “mongrel” trait) etc BUT one CANT COACH what they have in abundance-skill,speed.balance. SA must be the only nation where we chose box cut yes men who do bare minimum-polyfillers safety on defense instead of embracing the game and attacking gainline.
Mitch the most “exciting” progressive coach in SA…Thats not much to write about in the company of the dour Plumtree,Pine Pienaar,Drotske & AC. And even still worse is how people want to swipe his dubious past record of management under the carpet. progressive indeed.
@grant10(grant10)-327:
Yeah thats what the Force & Waikato thought as well. I suppose he showed those organisations a lot of respect with his actions dealing with management,sponsors,players etc as well?
Give that respect angle a rest
5 Dec 2011, 16:38 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-340:
So he understands at least one aspect of being an openside!
Unfortunately he doesn’t compete for the ball, misses heaps of tackles that resulted in tries, doesn’t carry the ball, adds no value in the line-outs. Heck he might as well not have been on the field. At least then someone else could’ve attempted those tackles he missed, or closed those gaping holes.
@grant10(grant10)-342:
Like I told you… what are the suggestions that they would do that!
As soon as he came back from World Cup duty, he went straight into the 6 jersey.
Before him it was Pieter Louw.
They’re not going to suddenly give it to someone they didn’t deem good enough during the Currie Cup.
5 Dec 2011, 16:38 pm
ja i must agree with the deysel commentators here.
the guy is great for the sharks as a ball carrier as i believe this frees kanko up to do the running but as a bok? there are better around.
i am happy to have him and alberts at the sharks but young marcel may just cause a bit of a selection headache this year imo.
but i am also going to have to agree with mshini and say that josh must perform for a superrugby season before he is built up to being the next big thing.
5 Dec 2011, 16:40 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-335:
he has worked on his condition as they asked 1,91m 91 kgs
he has worked on his defense which improved especially from his 2010 season,he is still devastating with any space given to him
I would play him ahead of Mj everyday and TWICE on a Sunday. Whitehead & him to battle it out but would give Whitehead inside lane as he has more experience in midfield at Superrugby level
5 Dec 2011, 16:41 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-345:
“josh must perform for a superrugby season before he is built up to being the next big thing”
you could say the same about mitchell.
true..true…
5 Dec 2011, 16:43 pm
glad to hear mjekevu is going to get a shot at the sharks too.
i didnt realise that he was so young but what better place than the sharks to be as a young un?
i mean simply look at all the youngsters who have made their bok debuts as practically babes in arms whilst at the sharks of late?:
ruan
frans
bizness
lambie
mvovo
kanko
beast
etc etc etc
the sharks and the bulls are the backbone of successful bok teams these days so wandile will surely hit the ground running.
5 Dec 2011, 16:44 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-347: thankyou thankyou.
said the same thing about lambie who is clearly the real deal after his wc showing IMO.
5 Dec 2011, 16:49 pm
i watched that Wandile oke play at n13 against WPu 21s at newlands…..bloody good player
5 Dec 2011, 16:49 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-347: And I’ve said that very thing.
5 Dec 2011, 16:50 pm
“Backbone of successful Bok teams”.
Ag no man.
That is half the problem. Players are favored because their captains had too much of an input, while better players from other provinces were missing out. ESPECIALLY Bulls players were preferred to much better players from elsewhere.
Didn’t Doc Craven say something along the lines of, when WP is strong, the Boks are strong?
Hopefully we can find a balance now that Big Vic and the Blue Bulls era is coming to an end.
The same guys who told Francois Steyn to p155-off because they wanted their buddy Johan Roets ahead of him.
5 Dec 2011, 16:53 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-336: ::mrgreen: I can be very persuasive if I put my mind to it.
5 Dec 2011, 17:02 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-352: doc craven said a lot of things, the blaady racist.
5 Dec 2011, 17:06 pm
SAPA
Johannesburg – Former Springbok and Bulls legend Victor Matfield will join the Bulls on a consultancy basis for the 2012 Super Rugby season.
Matfield will be used as a specialist coach, concentrating on line-outs and general forward play on a weekly basis.
The most capped lock in Springbok rugby starts a new career in sports broadcasting but has been given permission to assist the Bulls as a consultant.
“This is great news for us,” the Bulls’ head of rugby, Heyneke Meyer said.
“Victor has been the backbone of the Bulls for many seasons and to have his continued presence in the team, although unfortunately not as a player anymore, is a real bonus for us.
“He is generally rated as the finest line-out analyst in the game and we are proud and honoured to have him around.”
Matfield was also very excited about the opportunity.
“I am very keen to get stuck in [on television] and will give it a full go, but it is no secret that I want to become involved in coaching too. This will afford me the opportunity to do both, something that I am very pleased about.”
5 Dec 2011, 17:08 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-354:
I don’t believe it. From what I’ve read he was the opposite.
And I’ve heard that him and Rob Louw were about the only friends poor Errol Tobias had when he became a Bok.
Even if he were, that was the way things were back then. Don’t break down a legend because of issues with SA society at the time.
5 Dec 2011, 17:08 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-352: Doc Craven said that at a time when he was poaching Natal kids and others from all over the country, using stellenbosch as a recruitment academy for wp (who benefitted from having stellies included in wp instead of boland).
those days are over mate.
its natal and the bulls these days.
5 Dec 2011, 17:11 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-354:
Also, in America they don’t label every president or historical figure pre-1970′s as a blaady racist.
To be honest, I’m sick of hearing about it whenever it’s an Afrikaner.
Playing victim by calling others racist is becoming tiresome… really.
And SA is never going to get ahead with that attitude.
5 Dec 2011, 17:12 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-354: ag lets not shall we?
did you see me old mucker jackie selebi is finish and klaar?
5 Dec 2011, 17:14 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-357:
Meh. Go check who has produced the most Springboks, even since 1992.
You’ll find the vast majority of the top 10 schools are based in Western Province.
The tide has only recently, very recently changed.
But it’s turning again.
I’ll just be happy when the best 22 players are selected. Forget about what Province they play for!
And might be time for a salary cap as well to prevent that sort of thing.
5 Dec 2011, 17:14 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-351:

there’s lots of proving to be done then…love it…
5 Dec 2011, 17:17 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-356: yesses, blaady bigot he was…there are things happening today in SA and if one falls goes along with them they are indeed complicit in perpetuating whatever injustice is at play. a lot of people of integrity stood up against the tyranny of the past, he was it’s posterboy…can’t runaway from it dude.
5 Dec 2011, 17:20 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-358: who is “playing voctim”? i’m recalling part of the legacy of the man you’re talking about but you’d rather i sugarcoated it..not a chance
you can get gatvol all you want, it’s all historical fact.
5 Dec 2011, 17:22 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-359: “if the scorpions have a warrant out for me i will stand on top of Sandton City and they can arrest me”
“who do you think i am, bribed with on R50 000″ – jackie selebi
5 Dec 2011, 17:23 pm
one man’s terrorist is another man’s freedom fighter…
5 Dec 2011, 17:23 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-363:
How was he its poster boy? Help me get a better understanding of where you’re coming from…
5 Dec 2011, 17:25 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-366: go do your own research. i’m off to the gym.
5 Dec 2011, 17:26 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-359:
@Transformation(Transformation)-364:
shame, the old boys had a bit of heart trouble since the appeal was lost.
its never easy when one is innocently guilty… just ask gerald…
5 Dec 2011, 17:31 pm
I still like the cover.
5 Dec 2011, 17:42 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-369:
i know… i know…
it has grown on me as the day has progressed but still i must admit that my feelings for him will never come close to the feelings i have for bakkies.
bakkies was my first and only love…
i hope i will find love again…
5 Dec 2011, 17:53 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-364: haha, jackie did a schabir but no one cares cause he was thabos mate.
****** fat fraud.
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-368: haha, “i’m too sick to go to jail”.
its pathetic. they should just hang him for high treason and for the hundreds of thousands that died whilst he was police chief.
fukim.
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-360: no no no man. the “vast majority” of successful schools are not in the cape.
the ec, freestate and even natal have many fine rugby schools buddy.
check it.
5 Dec 2011, 17:54 pm
in the same way that,
zeus loved ganymede
apollo loved hyacinthus
and,
achilles loved patroclus…
just straight manly man love….its a thing….
5 Dec 2011, 17:59 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-371:
i think his point is that historically the vast majority of springboks have come from wp. but that may come down to saru headquarter bias, imo.
wp 234
lions 138
bull 89
cheetahs 69
sharks 67
5 Dec 2011, 17:59 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-371:
Since 1992 only 2 schools have hit double figures for Springboks.
Grey College with 19. And Paarl Gymnasium with 10.
In third was Bishops with 6, and Paul Roos (with 5) is tied for 3rd with Affies and Monument.
That’s 3 of the top 6 right there.
If I went back all the way… only 8 schools have hit double figures, and 6 of them are WP schools.
So you were saying?
5 Dec 2011, 18:02 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-373:
Bias or not, that’s how it stands.
Can’t say Sharks & Bulls have produced the most, when clearly they haven’t.
WP & Free State are the Springbok nurseries. FACT.
5 Dec 2011, 18:03 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-373:
i dont think ‘vast majority’ is quite the correct words there.
but i do mean a large majority of players have come from wp.
5 Dec 2011, 18:05 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-375:
Grey College to be more precise.
Where would the Sharks even be without being able to draw on the most talented players from Grey College!
Even the Bulls are getting in on the act after years of poaching talented players from WP schools. Let’s not forget that Morne Steyn went to Sand du Plessis in Bloemfontein… not Affies or one of those. And Derick Hougaard went to Boland Landbou.
5 Dec 2011, 18:08 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-377:
Come to think of it…
Flip van der Merwe – Grey College
Juandre Kruger – Paul Roos
Deon Stegmann – Grey College
Francois Hougaard – Paul Roos
Morne Steyn – Sand du Plessis
Francois Venter – Grey College
Johann Sadie – Paarl Gymnasium
And that’s only the ones who’re probably starters.
5 Dec 2011, 18:14 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-378:
More like a combined Cheetahs & WP 2nd-XV…
Their positions on the CC & Super 15 logs in 2011 reflect that!
5 Dec 2011, 18:15 pm
Who else of you guys has manly love for bakkies botha???
5 Dec 2011, 18:18 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-378:
Whoops I forgot about Wilhelm Steenkamp & Rossouw de Klerk. Jurgen Visser also.
Damn those Bulls really do love poaching WP players don’t they. Must not be very good at rugby up there.
5 Dec 2011, 18:54 pm
Thought not!
5 Dec 2011, 19:48 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-377: i did not talk about nurseries herndrik.
i said strong bulls and sharks teams were the backbone of the boks.
where the laddies went to school does not come into it especially since grey bloem poaches more talent than all the superrugby franchises combined.
its simple really, bulls and sharks. leaders.
wp.pretenders.
dont shoot the messenger eh?
5 Dec 2011, 19:49 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-381:
The Bulls poached Lobert too once upon a time
But they sent him back with compliments,,,
Someone wrote here few months ago that WP/Stormers let go Sadie, JJ @ Cronje with a sigh of relief, I thought he went overboard but the speed with which AC pounced to snap Jacobs made it a certainty that there is a future for only one kind of players in WP.
Departure of Whitefield and JF might support that notion
5 Dec 2011, 19:59 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-384: who is whitefield?
so you think JF is leaving because AC only hires cullarts but you think that AC is defo the next bok coach but you think that nevertheless white players are jumping ship because AC only hires cullarts?
your time to you is clearly not worth saving.
5 Dec 2011, 20:10 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-371:clint eastwood & morgan freeman have teamed up again and are set to release another EPIC blockbuster, this time on the life of jackie selebi aptly titled ‘Convictus’
5 Dec 2011, 20:12 pm
Ranger do you love baKkies botha?
5 Dec 2011, 20:17 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-386:
who will play Agliotti??
I was thinking Jennifer Aniston’s dad. (Google it)
5 Dec 2011, 20:19 pm
Anyway off to Gym.
Weekend’s pennance.
5 Dec 2011, 20:20 pm
That guy from the soaps?
5 Dec 2011, 20:36 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-386:
haha!
5 Dec 2011, 20:39 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-387: i do Dawn.
not as passionately as our frenchie friend though.
its hard to explain i suppose but there has to be a certain acknowleged beauty in the sight of bakkies smashing a pom out of a ruck or making a kiwi want to cry.
the eye of the beholder i guess.
5 Dec 2011, 20:40 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-388: @stormersboy(stormersboy)-388: i know who he is..viktor kiriakoas from days of our lives… good pick
5 Dec 2011, 21:27 pm
Good grief!
5 Dec 2011, 21:32 pm
All this manly love is completely confusing me
6 Dec 2011, 08:27 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-393: viktor kiriakoas?
Dude, Less with the soapies OK?
I don’t want to have to talk to you about this again.
6 Dec 2011, 09:16 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-396: lol
7 Dec 2011, 19:16 pm
Good issue. Thank guys.