Steenkamp sidelined

Gurthrö Steenkamp has suffered a hip injury and will miss Toulouse’s next European Cup clash.

The Springbok prop has played just 40 minutes for his new French club since joining after the World Cup. The Toulouse management has confirmed that Steenkamp has sustained a serious hip injury, and will miss Friday’s match against Harlequins.

Meanwhile, other Toulouse front-rankers like former Bok prop Daan Human and Johnston Falefa are also unavailable because of injury.

90 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Fookin hell finally! I haven’t been able to log in for about 2 days. What’s going on? Anyone else had the same problem?

• 52.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Keo had serious Gremlins in the system. Thought I was banned and was trying to figure out what I posted.
    Kept on getting the “invalid username” prompt after entering my password.

• 53.Michael: Reply to this comment

About time! Thought I was banned after my go at fuzzy-haired Vrede yesterday :-)

• 54.Michael: Reply to this comment

What, no Adi in the squad? Damn!

• 55.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon-51: @Michael-53: @Jeraldjay-52: you all are bloody paranoid tl tl tl

banned, on keo? please

• 56.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Dirty money includes fecal matter
    Sapa | 08 December, 2011 11:25

If you get your hands on some money, wash them. Because all money is dirty — very dirty, say the experts.
    Take a close look at coins: Some are tarnished, some are bright and shiny — but almost certainly any coin has passed through hundreds of hands before it got to you.

A coin issued in 2005, for example, has been in circulation for six years now. It has probably been passed between hundreds of people: beggars and millionaires, bankers and drug dealers, supermarket tills and vending machines.

Consider also the findings of a Global Hygiene Council survey in 2009, which estimated that 60 percent of South Africans do not wash their hands after going to the toilet or handling pets.

Theoretically, therefore, six of the last 10 people to handle that coin in your pocket could have left traces of faecal matter and accompanying germs on it.

Even if a coin has been sterilised at some point, “there is no such thing as a clean surface,” says Wits microbiology expert Prof Vincent Gray, who is also affiliated to the SA Society for Microbiology.

Press a coin between your fingers. It feels a bit sticky — why?

“Dirty fingers rub off on coins. Lipids (oils), amino acids (the building blocks of proteins), as well as bacteria, coat the surface of the coin and form a layer — like a skin,” Gray said.

Bacteria join to the lipids, dead skin cells and each other to form a living biomass or living biofilm, often seen accumulated in the recesses of a coin.

These oils and amino acids provide nutrients for bacteria, enabling them to survive and multiply on the coin’s surface. Also, if a coin is kept in your pocket, your body heat can act as an incubator for the surface germs and accelerate the rate at which they multiply.

Bacteria are also surprisingly durable: they can survive for weeks, even months, on a surface, Gray said.

Common bacteria that could be lurking on your change include various staphylococcal species, E. coli, corynebacteria, and propionibacterium.

Less common pathogenic bacteria may also be transferred to the coin through handling. These include mycobacterium tuberculosis (tuberculosis), salmonella, pathogenic strains of E. coli and vibrio cholerae (cholera) to name only a few.

“Bacteria are very abundant and account for a huge proportion of the world’s living biomass,” Gray said.

Viruses — like those that cause human infections such as hepatitis, herpes or influenza — can also be present on money, but are not likely to survive for long outside a host, he said. Viruses tend to die when exposed to ultraviolet radiation, like sunlight, and therefore have limited survivability.

Bank notes, as well as coins, can carry some surprising nasties.

A study by the Institute of Public Health in Bangladesh analysed bank notes and found bacteria associated with a variety of throat, skin and bone diseases.

Igumbor et al (2007) conducted a study for the University of Venda, which found that banknotes of lower denomination (R10 and R20) had a higher concentration of germs on average than higher value notes.

The study, entitled “Microbiological analysis of banknotes circulating in the Venda region of Limpopo province”, suggested this was because smaller notes circulate more quickly.

A British study conducted by Mass Spec Analytical found that 80 percent of bank notes were contaminated by drugs — especially cocaine. This figure rose to 99 percent in London bank notes.

It was hypothesised that this high rate of contamination might be caused by money counting machines, which spread traces of the drug to other notes.

But there are many other surfaces humans come into contact with on a daily basis that are even more likely to spread germs.

“Think of light switches, communal telephones, door handles and fridge doors… just think of how dirty white computer keyboards get,” Gray said.

While it is theoretically possible to become sick from the germs spread via money, they are unlikely to affect people with healthy immune systems.

“Most of us have latent infections, but if the immune system is compromised, non-pathogenic infections can become pathogenic [sickness causing],” Gray said.

Exposure to small amounts of germs can actually be beneficial, he explained, as a healthy immune system is usually capable of adapting to otherwise harmful bacterial strains by building the body’s natural resistance.

Nonetheless, if you get your hands on some money, it is advisable to wash them.

• 57.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

1. Harris???
    2. Liebenberg
    3. Blaauw
    4. Elstadt
    5. Bekker
    6. Burger
    7. Kolisi
    8. Vermuelen
    9. Duvenhage
    10. Grant??
    11. Habana
    12. JDV
    13. JDJ
    14. Aplon
    15. Pieterson

• 58.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Holy moly, I see Virender Sehwag has made the highest ever ODI score. He smacked 219 off only 149 balls against the Windies. Now that’s gonna take some beating.

• 59.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-58: Chris Gayle in the right mood could come close.
    Sehwag always backs himself. To him its, “why play defensively when the ball is there to be hit”.
    Windies also has a below par attack.

• 60.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-59: I think the previous best was Tendulkar’s 200 against us. 219 in an ODI will probably stand for a while.

• 61.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-60:
    After Australia scored 434 at the Wanderers, I think it was Ian Chappel who said “This score will not be beaten for years to come” during the lunchtime break….

• 62.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Michael-53: think Vrede polluted the site. was also unable to come give him kak.

• 63.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Q: What’s the worst thing you can hear when
    you’re having *** with Willie Nelson?

A: “I’m not Willie Nelson.”

• 64.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-63:

Have you recovered from the experience ??

• 65.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-49:
    oh i see
    hahahaha :lol:
    silly me

• 66.grant10: Reply to this comment

vokkit
    I thought I was banned too!

Thought they did an audit and my 1000s of anti plod posts got me banned…

never thought I would say this….ever….but damn I missed you wa nkers

• 67.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@grant10-66:

Don’t push it !!! :)

• 68.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-66: hehehehe all you okes worried about being banned :D

• 69.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-63: ho ho ho. That’s worth re-telling.

• 70.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-69:

speaking of ho ho ho I see the president of the poodle appreciation society is on parole.

all he wants for christmas are his two front teeth…

• 71.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-68: eish i am not gonna make it this weekend unfortunately man.

• 72.Michael: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-62: Him and his perpetually-on-order jet ski are too easy.

@grant10-66: Soppy :-)

• 73.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-71: darn it…well i’ll just drink with Tac & Rossoneri then and enjoy the fun.

• 74.cab: Reply to this comment

but wtf is grant doin out the tub?

parp parp.

• 75.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Thought i had been banned as well,guilty by association to Stormersboy and Gunther lol. Then tried with my phone late last night and they said they cleaning up the site.

• 76.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@cab-74: :lol:

• 77.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-76: he isnt out the tub, juswugby is just holding the computer above the lilac secented bubbles whilst gwanty hammers away at the keyboard.

• 78.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-77: Hi Rangerman, i had dealing with a blesbok today, was slightly intimate with the poor creature.

• 79.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-78: hi hugs.

slightly intimate?

beautiful yummy blesbok.

• 80.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

:lol: she had been stuck in a swamp overnight after giving birth, long story but the intimate part involves a stuck afterbirth/uterus…..didnt quite know at the time.

Cool it on the yummy..::mrgreen:… am a vegetarian now….:roll:

• 81.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-80: haha, well done Hugs!

havent eaten wildsvleis in a long time actually so Mrs Blessie is safe.

for now :lol:

• 82.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I am NEVER banned.

• 83.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-82: thank goodness, you keep us grounded Dawnie.

• 84.Dawn: Reply to this comment

TRANS!!!!!!

Yo drinking with Tac??????

Please update me!

• 85.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-47: @Transformation-49: Yes!! Correct transie I was referring to my girlfriend! I am not as old as you fossils on this site! lol

• 86.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-82: I hope that you never get banned. You bring grace to the blog!

• 87.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-84:
    is that ‘you drinking with tac?’ or is it ‘yo! drinking with tac?’
    please update me?

@Sasuke-85:
    a slip of the cerebral disk on my part, sir.
    and very brave on your part to call your better half ‘my baby’ on a blog forum… some guys are old school and would frown on that… unmanly show of emotion… :grin:

• 88.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-87: lol! says the guy with “i love you bakkies” in his nic?

you must be new school.

• 89.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-87: lol I am comfortable showing my emotion!

@rangerman-88: lol

• 90.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-88:
    breaking new ground guy, breaking new ground… :grin:

@Sasuke-89:

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.