Steenkamp sidelined

Gurthrö Steenkamp has suffered a hip injury and will miss Toulouse’s next European Cup clash.

The Springbok prop has played just 40 minutes for his new French club since joining after the World Cup. The Toulouse management has confirmed that Steenkamp has sustained a serious hip injury, and will miss Friday’s match against Harlequins.

Meanwhile, other Toulouse front-rankers like former Bok prop Daan Human and Johnston Falefa are also unavailable because of injury.

90 Comments

• 1.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

good man gurthro.
    pity for his team that he’s had injury problems so often lately.

even when injured he’s a dragon….

• 2.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Story of his career. Hope he gets better soon.

• 3.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

My Bok team for next year

1. Guthro
    2. Bismarck
    3. Jannie
    4. Flip
    5. Bekker
    6. Brussouw
    7. Juan Smith
    8. Burger ( C )
    9. Hougaard
    10. Elton Jantjies
    11. Mvovo
    12. F.Steyn
    13. JdJ
    14. JPP
    15. Lambie

16. Chiliboy
    17. Beast
    18. Juandre Kruger
    19. Alberts
    20. Dewaldt Duvenage
    21. Sadie
    22. Aplon

23. Adriaan Strauss
    24. CJ
    25. Elstadt
    26. Spies
    27. Vermaak
    28. Goosen
    29. JDV
    30. Habana

• 4.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-3: Good team. I may change a player here and there for a bench player, but you’ve got it pretty much spot on IMO.

• 5.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-4: Where would you change? I kept players like CJ, Spies, JDV, Habana in the squad for their experience. You cant just throw away 50+ caps like that. Over the 2012 and 2013 they can be released and replaced by players like WP Nel, Coenie Oosthuizen, Pat Cilliers, Ashley Johnson, Duane Vermeulen, Josh Strauss, Jean Deysel, Paul Jordaan, william Small Smith, Wandile Mjekvu, Gerhard van den Heever, Jaco Taute.

• 6.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-5: True. I’d be inclined to swap Aplon for Mvovo in the starting line-up and ditch Gurthro for Beast. In my opinion Mvo still has to work on some aspects of his game, like his defence before I’d cap him as a regular. I have a sneaking suspicion that if Mapoe stays fit and had a good year in Super Rugby next year he’ll force Mvovo out of the running as he has a better all-round game IMO.

I’m not a fan of capping overseas players unless they are absolute stand-outs in their position and there isn’t a decent alternative. That’s why i wouldn’t put Jaque Fourie in either.

If you are picking overseas based players then JF would play in my team.

• 7.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-6: True about Mvovo. Yes i forgot about Mapoe. Yes i tried my best not to pick overseas based players with the exception of Frans Steyn (but he is maybe coming back next June so wont be an overseas player for long). Yes Jaque Fourie would have to prove himself if he wants to play for the Boks. At the moment JdJ and Sadie is ahead of him in the pecking order. I might improve in Japan (look at Grant when he came back he was much quicker and the accuracy of his goal kicks was top notch.)

• 8.ET.: Reply to this comment

” Only lies behind Majola’s tears ”

December 8 2011 at 11:28am

The sad, sorry headline says it all, day after day after effin day.

All one needs do is change the situation and the name and you have another ANC inspired corruption case.
    It matters not whether it is Giddy Sam or Gerry Majola, the end result is alwaays the same.

They have learnt very well from their previous masters of corruption like McIntosh or Bacher and many more from the previous corrupt set.

• 9.ET.: Reply to this comment

For the record the headlined story of 7 Dec. is summarised as follows:

{{ Hopefully the power of public opinion will mean that CSA will take up our recommendations and implement that.” – Judge Chris Nicholson, December 7, 2011

That’s what it’s come down to now, hasn’t it? The power of public opinion.

It was my biggest concern with Judge Nicholson’s Committee – it doesn’t have the power to do anything. Heck even the judge – a charming gentleman – lamented the absence of “cross-examination” of those called before the committee.

You see it’s not a court case, no one can be punished or jailed. All Nicholson can do is make recommendations, like KPMG did, like Advocate Azhar Bham did and Advocate Paul Pretorious did. Recommendations that Cricket SA did not implement.

All that has happened is the Legal and Governance expert that came on board after the Khan Commission – an internal inquiry – that in listening to the deliberations before Nicholson, has been shown to be increasingly more laughable – as some of us said at the time – before being shouted down by the man now holding the position of “acting” president of CSA.

The organisation won’t be obliged to adhere to the recommendations Nicholson will make next year – they can ignore them like they did other advice they’ve received since the scandal was first uncovered.

Frankly, I didn’t buy Gerald Majola’s tears on Tuesday just as I don’t buy the CSA Board’s innocent “we’re good cricket folk line”. This controversy has been very long in the making and they had the power to prevent this fallout.

In the court of public opinion they’re all guilty, including Mtutuzeli Nyoka, who far too easily listened to his CEO — at least Nyoka has had the good grace to apologise.

It will be, as Judge Nicholson said, the public who will be the strongest force in seeing that his recommendations are implemented. After all, it was the massive public outcry that forced the Sports Minister into appointing Nicholson in the first place following CSA’s farcical handling of this situation.

Given what’s taken place before Nicholson these past few weeks, it seems very unlikely the public will accept Majola returning to his position as CEO or that the Board can continue to head up the sport in this country.

Dynamic, new, honest leadership will be required. A restructuring of the organisation is essential. Sounder business acumen is needed.

Putting cricket first, ahead of bonuses and remuneration is required. The public surely demands it. }}

Truly it just amazingly a continuation of CRY THE BELOVED COUNTRY and its forgotten and despised and denied and insulted population.

• 10.ET.: Reply to this comment

” You see it’s not a court case, no one can be punished or jailed. All Nicholson can do is make recommendations, like KPMG did, like Advocate Azhar Bham did and Advocate Paul Pretorious did. Recommendations that Cricket SA did not implement. ”

HOW STUNNING!

So thhe economic rape can continue with impunity?

Are they asking for the recent happenings oof much of North Africa to be visited on South Africa?

• 11.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ET.-10: “Are they asking for the recent happenings oof much of North Africa to be visited on South Africa?” you can’t revolt or protest through googleskype while sitting in an air-conditioned laboratory in Philly. :D

• 12.charo: Reply to this comment

has everybody been banned?

• 13.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Who’s banned now.

• 14.charo: Reply to this comment

looked like gunther was banned after giving ryan some chit yesterday.
    but he made a miraculous comeback – within minutes in fact.

just that this place is sooooo dead at the moment.

think it was that issue about witous not protesting or rioting or something.

• 15.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@charo-14: ja dead dead

• 16.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@charo-12: @Dawn-13: Stormersboy just mailed me now he says he cant log in something about “invalid registration” maybe that has happened to a few of us on here.

• 17.Upho: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-16:

yes… i had that error too… but then it came right… why i dunno…???

seeing that keo is so slow today… the staffers not the site… here is the stormers training squad… from news24

Gio Aplon
    Reuben Johannes
    Donovan Armandt
    Rohan Kitshoff
    Andries Bekker
    Steven Kitshoff
    Wicus Blaauw
    Berton Klaasen
    Tom Botha
    Siya Kolisi
    Marcel Brache
    Nick Koster
    Schalk Burger
    Adrian Kritzinger
    Nizaam Carr
    Deon Carstens
    Clement Lewis
    Demetri Catrakilis
    Tiaan Liebenberg
    Kurt Coleman
    Hilton Lobberts
    Bolla Conradie
    Frans Malherbe
    Juan de Jongh
    Scarra Ntubeni
    Jean de Villiers
    Joe Pietersen
    JP du Plessis
    Danie Poolman
    Dewaldt Duvenage
    Quinn Roux
    Rynhardt Elstadt
    Louis Schreuder
    Eben Etzebeth
    De Kock Steenkamp
    Nick Fenton-Wells
    Tim Swiel
    Schalk Ferreira
    Ricky Schroeder
    Deon Fourie
    Gary van Aswegen
    Burton Francis
    Gerhard van den Heever
    Peter Grant
    Hein van der Merwe
    Nic Groom
    Michael van der Spuy
    Bryan Habana
    Willem van Wyk
    Brok Harris
    Allister Vermaak
    Yaya Hartzenberg
    Duane Vermeulen

• 18.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Upho-17: Ha thanks i was looking for this the other day.

• 19.Upho: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-18:

cool bud…

• 20.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Upho-17: Wow that is a truck load of flyhalfs! is Peter Grant in Cape Town?

• 21.Upho: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-20:

no… he’s still in japan… only joining the squad well into the s15…

• 22.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@charo-14: Ryan won’t tolerate any mocking of his jetski dream. That much is clear.

• 23.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-16: i got the same “invalid registration” on my mobile but i can post fine on the PC.

• 24.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-20:
    sometimes…. i think rassie is in the matrix…

• 25.Upho: Reply to this comment

did anyone watch the racing metro stade francais game the other day…??? only saw part of it and frans steyn didn’t seem to be playing…

does anyone know why…? is he injured or something…?

• 26.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Upho-25: He is injured. Coming back next month.

• 27.Upho: Reply to this comment

thanks man… do you know what was injured…?

• 28.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Upho-27: Shoulder from the Samoan game remember.

• 29.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-22: lol

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-24: lol

• 30.Upho: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-28:

still…? oh wow…!

• 31.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

there’s also a new toolbar/widget/search bar thingy that runs across the top of the page.
    the thing is… i dont like it.. it just unnecessarily reduces the amount of the page that is on display by a little more than i would like.
    at the least they could have done the ugrade with an option to minimise or close the damn thing.

• 32.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Upho-25: injured from the world cup, only recovering now.

• 33.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Upho-30: Yip seems like it was quite bad. What are the chances that he wont return home and rather find another overseas club to bankroll his salary?

• 34.Upho: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-32:

yeah… thanks man… thought he’d already recovered from that… obviously quite a serious injury… hope it’s not one of those that plagues a player the rest of his career…

• 35.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-31: Ja hey its quite irritating.

• 36.Upho: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-31:

a toolbar…?

is that where the jerks hang out for a dop…? :wink:

• 37.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Upho-34: Usually those shoulder injuries are like that but heres hoping he recovers fully.

• 38.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Upho-36: lol

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-31: what can we search for?

• 39.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-35:
    tell me about it..fok!

@Upho-36:
    ‘a toolbar’.?..
    i can picture granty in a corner playing the piano and singing billy joel cover songs hehehe

• 40.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-39: lol for granty. Outta here people leaving work early to attend Stellenbosch Graduation. My baby getting capped! Safe guys…i hope the others come back soon.

• 41.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-38:
    i suppose it would give us transie’s ‘cut n pasting of previous posts from old threads’ skill.
    i’m guessing thats what it allows us to search the website for?

• 42.Upho: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-37:

let’s hope… especially that he’s joining the stormers…!!

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-39:

Now Grant at the bar is a friend of mine
    He gets me my drinks for free
    And he’s quick with a joke and he’ll light up your smoke
    But there’s some place that he’d rather be

• 43.Upho: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-40:

cheers bud

• 44.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Upho-34: @Sasuke-37: FdP was clearly sub-par when he returned from surgery but hey, pdv had already made promises.

• 45.Upho: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-31:

actually… i’m so dof i didn’t even notice the new toolbar… !! :shock:

• 46.Upho: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-44:

apparently so…

wonder why he kept some and not others…??

• 47.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-40:
    cheers and congrats on the kid, its a big day, another hurdle cleared, and you must undersandably be super proud.

• 48.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Upho-45:
    i see what you did there hehe

but seriously, thats too bad cos once you know its there it just get irritating.

• 49.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-47: did you consider that by baby he could be referring to his girlfriend/wife? :D

• 50.Upho: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-48:

now that you’ve brought it to attention… yeah… it is irritating…

• 51.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Fookin hell finally! I haven’t been able to log in for about 2 days. What’s going on? Anyone else had the same problem?

• 52.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Keo had serious Gremlins in the system. Thought I was banned and was trying to figure out what I posted.
    Kept on getting the “invalid username” prompt after entering my password.

• 53.Michael: Reply to this comment

About time! Thought I was banned after my go at fuzzy-haired Vrede yesterday :-)

• 54.Michael: Reply to this comment

What, no Adi in the squad? Damn!

• 55.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon-51: @Michael-53: @Jeraldjay-52: you all are bloody paranoid tl tl tl

banned, on keo? please

• 56.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Dirty money includes fecal matter
    Sapa | 08 December, 2011 11:25

If you get your hands on some money, wash them. Because all money is dirty — very dirty, say the experts.
    Take a close look at coins: Some are tarnished, some are bright and shiny — but almost certainly any coin has passed through hundreds of hands before it got to you.

A coin issued in 2005, for example, has been in circulation for six years now. It has probably been passed between hundreds of people: beggars and millionaires, bankers and drug dealers, supermarket tills and vending machines.

Consider also the findings of a Global Hygiene Council survey in 2009, which estimated that 60 percent of South Africans do not wash their hands after going to the toilet or handling pets.

Theoretically, therefore, six of the last 10 people to handle that coin in your pocket could have left traces of faecal matter and accompanying germs on it.

Even if a coin has been sterilised at some point, “there is no such thing as a clean surface,” says Wits microbiology expert Prof Vincent Gray, who is also affiliated to the SA Society for Microbiology.

Press a coin between your fingers. It feels a bit sticky — why?

“Dirty fingers rub off on coins. Lipids (oils), amino acids (the building blocks of proteins), as well as bacteria, coat the surface of the coin and form a layer — like a skin,” Gray said.

Bacteria join to the lipids, dead skin cells and each other to form a living biomass or living biofilm, often seen accumulated in the recesses of a coin.

These oils and amino acids provide nutrients for bacteria, enabling them to survive and multiply on the coin’s surface. Also, if a coin is kept in your pocket, your body heat can act as an incubator for the surface germs and accelerate the rate at which they multiply.

Bacteria are also surprisingly durable: they can survive for weeks, even months, on a surface, Gray said.

Common bacteria that could be lurking on your change include various staphylococcal species, E. coli, corynebacteria, and propionibacterium.

Less common pathogenic bacteria may also be transferred to the coin through handling. These include mycobacterium tuberculosis (tuberculosis), salmonella, pathogenic strains of E. coli and vibrio cholerae (cholera) to name only a few.

“Bacteria are very abundant and account for a huge proportion of the world’s living biomass,” Gray said.

Viruses — like those that cause human infections such as hepatitis, herpes or influenza — can also be present on money, but are not likely to survive for long outside a host, he said. Viruses tend to die when exposed to ultraviolet radiation, like sunlight, and therefore have limited survivability.

Bank notes, as well as coins, can carry some surprising nasties.

A study by the Institute of Public Health in Bangladesh analysed bank notes and found bacteria associated with a variety of throat, skin and bone diseases.

Igumbor et al (2007) conducted a study for the University of Venda, which found that banknotes of lower denomination (R10 and R20) had a higher concentration of germs on average than higher value notes.

The study, entitled “Microbiological analysis of banknotes circulating in the Venda region of Limpopo province”, suggested this was because smaller notes circulate more quickly.

A British study conducted by Mass Spec Analytical found that 80 percent of bank notes were contaminated by drugs — especially cocaine. This figure rose to 99 percent in London bank notes.

It was hypothesised that this high rate of contamination might be caused by money counting machines, which spread traces of the drug to other notes.

But there are many other surfaces humans come into contact with on a daily basis that are even more likely to spread germs.

“Think of light switches, communal telephones, door handles and fridge doors… just think of how dirty white computer keyboards get,” Gray said.

While it is theoretically possible to become sick from the germs spread via money, they are unlikely to affect people with healthy immune systems.

“Most of us have latent infections, but if the immune system is compromised, non-pathogenic infections can become pathogenic [sickness causing],” Gray said.

Exposure to small amounts of germs can actually be beneficial, he explained, as a healthy immune system is usually capable of adapting to otherwise harmful bacterial strains by building the body’s natural resistance.

Nonetheless, if you get your hands on some money, it is advisable to wash them.

• 57.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

1. Harris???
    2. Liebenberg
    3. Blaauw
    4. Elstadt
    5. Bekker
    6. Burger
    7. Kolisi
    8. Vermuelen
    9. Duvenhage
    10. Grant??
    11. Habana
    12. JDV
    13. JDJ
    14. Aplon
    15. Pieterson

• 58.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Holy moly, I see Virender Sehwag has made the highest ever ODI score. He smacked 219 off only 149 balls against the Windies. Now that’s gonna take some beating.

• 59.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-58: Chris Gayle in the right mood could come close.
    Sehwag always backs himself. To him its, “why play defensively when the ball is there to be hit”.
    Windies also has a below par attack.

• 60.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-59: I think the previous best was Tendulkar’s 200 against us. 219 in an ODI will probably stand for a while.

• 61.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-60:
    After Australia scored 434 at the Wanderers, I think it was Ian Chappel who said “This score will not be beaten for years to come” during the lunchtime break….

• 62.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Michael-53: think Vrede polluted the site. was also unable to come give him kak.

• 63.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Q: What’s the worst thing you can hear when
    you’re having *** with Willie Nelson?

A: “I’m not Willie Nelson.”

• 64.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-63:

Have you recovered from the experience ??

• 65.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-49:
    oh i see
    hahahaha :lol:
    silly me

• 66.grant10: Reply to this comment

vokkit
    I thought I was banned too!

Thought they did an audit and my 1000s of anti plod posts got me banned…

never thought I would say this….ever….but damn I missed you wa nkers

• 67.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@grant10-66:

Don’t push it !!! :)

• 68.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-66: hehehehe all you okes worried about being banned :D

• 69.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-63: ho ho ho. That’s worth re-telling.

• 70.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-69:

speaking of ho ho ho I see the president of the poodle appreciation society is on parole.

all he wants for christmas are his two front teeth…

• 71.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-68: eish i am not gonna make it this weekend unfortunately man.

• 72.Michael: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-62: Him and his perpetually-on-order jet ski are too easy.

@grant10-66: Soppy :-)

• 73.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-71: darn it…well i’ll just drink with Tac & Rossoneri then and enjoy the fun.

• 74.cab: Reply to this comment

but wtf is grant doin out the tub?

parp parp.

• 75.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Thought i had been banned as well,guilty by association to Stormersboy and Gunther lol. Then tried with my phone late last night and they said they cleaning up the site.

• 76.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@cab-74: :lol:

• 77.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-76: he isnt out the tub, juswugby is just holding the computer above the lilac secented bubbles whilst gwanty hammers away at the keyboard.

• 78.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-77: Hi Rangerman, i had dealing with a blesbok today, was slightly intimate with the poor creature.

• 79.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-78: hi hugs.

slightly intimate?

beautiful yummy blesbok.

• 80.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

:lol: she had been stuck in a swamp overnight after giving birth, long story but the intimate part involves a stuck afterbirth/uterus…..didnt quite know at the time.

Cool it on the yummy..::mrgreen:… am a vegetarian now….:roll:

• 81.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-80: haha, well done Hugs!

havent eaten wildsvleis in a long time actually so Mrs Blessie is safe.

for now :lol:

• 82.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I am NEVER banned.

• 83.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-82: thank goodness, you keep us grounded Dawnie.

• 84.Dawn: Reply to this comment

TRANS!!!!!!

Yo drinking with Tac??????

Please update me!

• 85.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-47: @Transformation-49: Yes!! Correct transie I was referring to my girlfriend! I am not as old as you fossils on this site! lol

• 86.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-82: I hope that you never get banned. You bring grace to the blog!

• 87.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-84:
    is that ‘you drinking with tac?’ or is it ‘yo! drinking with tac?’
    please update me?

@Sasuke-85:
    a slip of the cerebral disk on my part, sir.
    and very brave on your part to call your better half ‘my baby’ on a blog forum… some guys are old school and would frown on that… unmanly show of emotion… :grin:

• 88.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-87: lol! says the guy with “i love you bakkies” in his nic?

you must be new school.

• 89.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-87: lol I am comfortable showing my emotion!

@rangerman-88: lol

• 90.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-88:
    breaking new ground guy, breaking new ground… :grin:

@Sasuke-89:

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.