Jacobs turns down Stormers

Adi Jacobs has declined an invitation to join the Stormers’ training squad and won’t play for the Cape franchise in 2012.

After Jacobs was released from his Sharks contract, he moved to the Western Cape with the hope of representing the Stormers or Boland. Coach Allister Coetzee said at the time that Jacobs would be welcome to trial at the franchise, and given the Stormers had lost Jaque Fourie, Tim Whitehead and Johann Sadie, they could have used another experienced centre.

But on Friday, Coetzee told Die Burger that Jacobs had declined an invitation to train with the Cape team, and so has not been included in the initial training squad.

Coetzee will name a reduced squad of approximately 40 players following their training camp in Hermanus in January.

89 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

• 1.Puma: Reply to this comment

Hope Adi gets a offer from a overseas club.

Go make some big cash Adi you deserve it.

• 2.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

looks like the stormers were hoping to get him cheap, cheap…

• 3.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Why no article about the Lions imminent financial collapse?

According to Tank Lanning, the Lions only have money to pay their players up to December. And apparently all of the players are looking for other jobs now.

Or was this discussed under some other thread in the last couple of days?

• 4.Simon: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-3: Because it’s a load of ****.

• 5.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-3: Lions deny it. Tank won’t name his “reliable source”. No one doubts they are making losses, maybe a bit of exaggeration on Tank’s part.

• 6.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

If the Kings could actually win a Division 1 title there would be more pressure on the Lions.

• 7.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Tank is not a journalist’s foreskin. Anyone who takes his “reporting” at face value deserves the disillusionment that’s no doubt in store.

• 8.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Simon-4:

Oh, ok.

But I still don’t get what disqualified it from being an article on this site then…

• 9.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

It seems the Lions imminent financial collapse is about as likely as Butch being a certain starter in the Bok World Cup team.

Not worthy article material for this blog. Oh wait…

• 10.Upho: Reply to this comment

@Puma-1:

hey puma…

hope you’re well bud… sorry about a week or so ago… when you posted to me but I had already left for a meeting… :oops: wasn’t ignoring you…

i agree with you… adi does deserve a good ‘retirement’ package… he’s been loyal to the sharks… to a fault even…

@>^..^< katman-7:

he wasn’t a prop’s foreskin either… :wink:

he’s always punted as an “ex-wp prop”… but for the life of me i just can’t remember him or his name in terms of province rugby EVER…

does anyone know if and when he actually played for province…? and how many times he played…???

• 11.the peanut gallery: Reply to this comment

what I want to know is, who the **** is actually going to buy butch james’s book? i mean, what can he have to say that is actually of any interest?

• 12.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Upho-10:

Hehe.

Yeah. I’ve always taken Tank’s credentials paragraph on News24 as a bit of a personal insult. Because I tend to think I’m reasonably knowledgeable about SA rugby, but for the life of me I can not remember ever hearing about Tank Lanning prior to his face popping up on News24 as rugby columnist.

And yet he is apparently this legendary WP prop.

It’s been bothering me for a couple of years now. How could I have missed his entire career?

• 13.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@the peanut gallery-11:

Search me. I hope they didn’t use expensive paper.

• 14.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-7:

That reminds me.

President Zuma, as part of his Climate Change charm offensive visits a synagogue in Durbs to check on their recycling initiative.

The father of the nation sees a pile of empty kosher wine bottles and asks the rabbi what they do with them.

The rabbi replies – when we have enough we send them odd to recycling and we get new ones in return.

The pres then sees a alarge bin full of melted down candles as asks the rabbie what they do with them.

The rabbi replies – when we have enough we send them to recycling and they send us some new candles in return.

The pres then sees a large box marked foreskins that is empty and asks the rabbie what happened to the foreskins.

The rabbi replies that once they had enough foreskins they sent them off for recycling and they were sent a President in return.

• 15.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-14:

Hey. Watch out with jokes like that. You’re probably on the NIA software tracking list now. As a potential enemy of the state.

• 16.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Upho-10:

he played a few times in the early nineties.

then got injured.

• 17.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-14:

Today it’s just a sneering joke. Tomorrow, you might spill a drink on the man.

Gotta root these threats out early, before they escalate, you see.

• 18.Upho: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-16:

thanks gunther…

must have been literally only a few times… cause i just don’t remember him… did you ever see him play…?

what’s this with your nic change…? and someone posting the other day about your resilience or not keeping a good man down or something like that…??

what have i missed…?

• 19.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Golf fence

A little old lady was walking down the street dragging two large plastic garbage bags behind her. One of the bags was ripped and every once

in a while a $20 fell out onto the sidewalk.

Noticing this, a policeman stopped her, and said, “Ma’am, there are $20

bills falling out of that bag.”

“Oh, really? Darn it!” said the little old lady. “I’d better go back and see if I can find them. Thanks for telling me officer.”

Well, now, not so fast,” said the cop. Where did you get all that money? You didn’t steal it, did you?”

“Oh, no, no”, said the old lady. “You see, my back yard is right next to a golf course.

A lot of golfers come and pee through a knot hole in my fence, right into my flower garden. It used to really tick me off. Kills the flowers, you know. Then I thought, ‘why not make the best of it?

So, now, I stand behind the fence by the knot hole, real quiet, with my hedge clippers. Every time some guy sticks his thing through my fence, I surprise him, grab hold of it and say, ‘O.K., buddy! Give me $20, or off it comes.’

“Well, that seems only fair,” said the cop, laughing. “OK. Good luck! Oh, by the way, what’s in the other bag?”

“Not everybody pays.”

• 20.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-8: @Tacitus-9: LOL Give that man a Bells!

• 21.the peanut gallery: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-13: he might have some interesting chapters though, like “the illustrated guide to the late shoulder charge” and “stiff arm tackles for dummies”.

• 22.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

@the peanut gallery-11: @Tacitus-13:

I’ll probably get it as a Christmas present from my sister.

Last year I got Herschelle’s book.

Still haven’t read it.

• 23.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-17:

I wouldn’t waste my dop like that.

@Upho-18:

I knew him at UCT he was a decent prospect but had a career ending injury at the age of 22 or so.

• 24.the peanut gallery: Reply to this comment

@Kietzphat-22: ya, it’s in the same xmas present category as undies and socks.

• 25.the peanut gallery: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-23: that oke that spilled his dop on jz was probably drinking bells or j&b. if it was blue label they wouldn’t have arrested him.

• 26.Upho: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-12:

pretty much my take on it too…

and, exactly like you, the first time I recall ever hearing of him was on news24 and that intro para…

• 27.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Kietzphat-22: Neither has Hershel.

• 28.Upho: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-23:

oh okay… pity for him… (seriously)

is he over his injury…? maybe stormers could use him now…?? :wink:

• 29.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Upho-28: I was thinking the same thing.

• 30.Upho: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-29:

• 31.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-19:

An Englishman, Irishman and a Scotsman play a r ound of golf with.

Because they are so cheap they take their wives with them to caddy.

On the first , the Englishman’s wife bends over to tee up her husband’s ball only to display a magnificent blonde bush.

My word, says the Pom, you aren’t wearing any knickers.

That’s because you are so cheap I don’t have money for any she replies.

Well, here is a fiver go and sort yourself out he says.

Next up the Irishman’s wife bends down to tee her hasbands ball up only to display a gleaming dark brown bush.

Begorrah says Paddy you aren’t wearing any panties.

That’s because you are so cheap I have no money for them she replies.

Well for the love of Mary here’s a fiver go and buy some immediately he says.

Next the Scotsman’s wife bends down to tee her husband’s ball up only to display a rampant ginger minge.

Why are you nae wearing any panties woman exclaims the Scot.

Because you are too cheap to buy me any replies his wife furiously.

Well don’t just stand there, the Scot says, her’s a comb go tidy yourself up a bit.

• 32.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

Hi guys, I’m back on my own blog for now after my stint with Vodacom. So feel free to check out my new post called Wake Up Call where I talk about why the Stormers need to change their mindsets should they want to progress. Feedback welcomed and appreciated :) http:// wp.me/p1diZW-3z (don’t forget to remove the space)

• 33.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

@the peanut gallery-24:

I’m hoping she at least chooses Victor’s book this year.

@stormersboy-27:

• 34.Upho: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah-32:

hey sarah… long time…?

trust you’re well… will check it out…

• 35.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Tank graduated from UCT in Social Science, majoring in Economics, with a post-graduate diploma in Marketing Management, this former Ikeys student and first team star is no stranger to the media, as he is the editor of one of SA’s leading sport news source – Sport24.
    Rugby, as one would expect, has always been Tank’s first love.
    After many happy amateur years at UCT, he made his Western Province debut in the late 1990s; however, a serious neck injury cut short a promising first-class rugby career.
    “It was difficult having to deal with that, but I’ve been fortunate enough to be involved (with rugby) on the media side,” says Tank, who describes himself as a “once diabolic student, with nothing but rugby and a good old beer on my mind”.
    Tank has made peace with his past and his present, however, adding in conversation with varsitycup.co.za: “I love writing, enjoy the commercial side of things and generally love my job.”
    He started as a picture researcher and marketing novice in the sports and lifestyle publishing industry, followed by heading up their sports photo agency, before starting the online division. Later he became part of the Touchline Media family before switching across to sport24.co.za. Lanning covered his media bases through a Media and Management course he completed from Stellenbosch Business School, as well as a ‘Publishing on the Web’ course at Stanford University in California.

Source: wwwdotvarsitycupdotcodotza

• 36.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@Upho-34: definitely! The SA Rugby mag’s fan page keeps me updated on all the news so I haven’t logged on in a while

• 37.Upho: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah-32:

good article…

good luck with the blog…!

• 38.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@Upho-37: thanks man!

• 39.Upho: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-35:

thanks rob…!!

interesting stuff… great for him that he’s succeeded despite that setback… good on him…!

• 40.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-35: There was something else about being part of the “Cheerful Chubies” club, which does stuff like triathlons just for the beer afterwards,

I like his attitude.

• 41.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Upho-10: No problems ufo. How you doing buddy? Hope well.

Yeah I really hope Adi picks up a nice contract with a overseas club. The way to go in your last years of playing rugby. Need to earn as much as you can.

He was very loyal to the Sharks. So wishing him all the best,

• 42.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Upho-39:

I also do not remember him as a rugby player but ,yes, he seems to be doing well and has also covered the basis with a few nice qualifications.

@stormersboy-40:

Lol, yes, some of those chubies have astonished me- like Rob Kempson who completed the Cape Epic- i think he finished second last and spent about 8 hours in the saddle each day suffering like hell but he did it.

Enjoy the cricket- hope the south easter does not pump like yesterday afternoon.

• 43.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-42: Thanks boet. I hope so too.

The wind just helps to keep the beer cold ;)

• 44.Upho: Reply to this comment

@Puma-41:

cool buddy…

always well… the grass is greener on my side of the fence…!! :wink:

no rugby is really starting to get boring now… shows you how spoilt we’ve become… rugby used to last a few months in winter… now it is virtually year round and despite rugby overload during the world cup… am really keen to see the s15 start again…

how do you see the sharks doing this season…?

• 45.XV: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-14: keep your jokes to yourself mate. They are not even funny.

• 46.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-40:

he also does a mean popcorn trick.

• 47.charo: Reply to this comment

@XV-45:

the old ones are the best ones.

• 48.Upho: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-46:

well…??

out with it…

• 49.Upho: Reply to this comment

@charo-47:

hey charo… how you doing bud..?

• 50.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Upho-48:

not here.

we might upset number XV.

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.