Blitzboks fall at last hurdle
10 Dec 2011
GARETH DUNCAN, reporting from the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, watched the Blitzboks concede a last-minute try in a 31-26 Cup final defeat to New Zealand on day two of the PE Sevens.
The inaugural PE Sevens finished in 20 minutes of madness.
Ahead and during this fixture, the crowd created a magical atmosphere – something that was missing throughout the weekend’s festivities. The St Georges band arrived late during the day and their presence ignited an electric mood around the park, especially with the large All Blacks club who sat themselves in the seats below them. It was a fitting stage for the Blitzboks and New Zealand, who were clearly the two best teams at the tournament.
For New Zealand, it was their eighth consecutive Cup final appearance while it was only the hosts’ third in their history, having previously won one and lost one – both to the former. And on this occasion, the Kiwis went on to win their ninth South African leg Cup title thanks to Tomasi Cama, who scored and converted a try in the last move of the game.
It was a close contest in the first half, which ended 17-14 at the break in the Kiwis’ favour. DJ Forbes led from the front and powered over for the opening try, which was cancelled out by Bernado Botha’s finish. The hosts were then dealt a blow when Boom Prinsloo was yellow-carded for a professional foul at the breakdown.
From a defending scrum, the Blitzboks crumbled and Cama capitalized to dive over for his first five-pointer. Once South Africa returned to seven men, Botha went on to score his fourth try of the tournament – but New Zealand held a slender half-time lead after Frank Halai crossed the chalk.
The Blitzboks dominated the early parts of the second half, surging into a 26-17 lead with Steven Hunt and Cecil Afrika running over from close range. But defensive lapses at the death saw Halai and Cama complete their braces, the latter score a controversial one as a few South African players believed they were tripped during the final play. But Australian referee Anthony Moyes waved play on as Cama broke South African hearts.
The day’s results sees Fiji and New Zealand share the World Series table lead with 51 log points each. The Fijians performed badly on day two, which ended with a 48-0 thrashing from Wales in the Plate final. The Blitzboks find themselves third on the table with 48 log points while England (47) and France (38) trail closely behind.
Earlier in the day, the Springbok Sevens downed Samoa 12-7 in the Cup semi-final.
It was a physical clash and one the hosts handled well as they kept the game tight and capitalised on favourable field position. They spent most of the first half in Samoa’s 22m area, and they finished two scoring opportunities to take a 12-0 half-time lead. A Branco du Preez side step and break opened the scoring while Botha showed great power out wide to finish in the corner. Samoa ended the half with six men when Afa Aiono was sin-binned for striking Kyle Brown with the forearm.
After the second stanza restart, South Africa placed a greater emphasis on restricting the Pacific Islanders – which they did to great effect. Samoa struggled to break into the hosts’ red zone but managed to score a late try through Paul Perez. The Blitzboks, however, still did enough for a place in the Cup final
In their first match of the day, Cecil Afrika scored two crucial tries in the Springbok Sevens’ 26-12 win over France in the Cup quarter-final.
Coming off a 19-5 Cup defeat to the French in the same fixture at the Dubai Sevens last weekend, the Blitzboks ended on top on this occasion thanks to their hometown playmaker. But it didn’t come easy, as an attacking error saw Terry Bouhraoua put the opposition 5-0 ahead.
An Afrika run set up Boom Prinsloo minutes later while the former also dotted down after sniping a gap. But Renaud Delmas finished off a late attack, which capitalised on the hosts’ shaky rearguard. The half-time score read 12-12.
The Blitzboks produced a strong second half showing to seal their place in the top four. Brilliant stepping from Afrika saw the speedster grab his 70th World Series try while Botha finished off proceedings after chasing down a Du Preez chip.
Blitzboks’ fixtures, day two:
Cup quarter-final: South Africa 26 France 12
Cup semi-final: South Africa 12 Samoa 0
Cup final: South Africa 26 New Zealand 31

1,234 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 … 25 » Show All
11 Dec 2011, 04:43 am
@poppa69-398: You are the funny part, fool… You can obfuscate as much as you like… Its you who is shown up as the fool up the creek without a paddle…
11 Dec 2011, 04:47 am
@Heavens Game-401: so which part of that is funny HG?
cmon, youve been cracking jokes about it all, now tell me..
which part is funny… and remember, you brought my mum into this thread, not me..
gutless coward..
11 Dec 2011, 04:49 am
@poppa69-402: I am cracking jokes about you… Pooper, you are the funny one… Mum on thread or not, numbnut sheepshagger….
You the only coward here… Why? You’re a Kiwi… its in your nature…
11 Dec 2011, 04:52 am
@Heavens Game-403: changing the subject again huh? why dont you just apologise and we’ll move on from this? because you cant admit that your comment was over the top, I have admitted that some of my comments on this blog have been out of line, but you wont…
fair enough…
11 Dec 2011, 04:52 am
@Heavens Game-403:
•343.Heavens Game:
11 Dec 2011, 03:09 am
@NZINCHINA-342: Nope… No China for me… Not partial to them slinky eyes… No matter how much they fall at my feet as a blond, blue-eyed Aryan
•70.Heavens Game:
10 Dec 2011, 13:56 pm
@Hurricane-68: Yeah, its a pity they didn’t make it permanent with you farken duplicitous little maori serpents
Boy oh boy and yet you call us cowards.
11 Dec 2011, 04:55 am
@poppa69-404: Okay, I apologise for implying you are a numbnut… But I can never apologise for intimating you are a yellow cur of a howling mutt, running skedaddling away from this blonde, blue eyed chap… Why? Because it is the truth….
11 Dec 2011, 04:56 am
@Hurricane-405: Yes… I call you cowards… And what you gonna do about it, eh Hurricunt?
There no Paddy refs in real life to cheat as in rugby, eh?
11 Dec 2011, 04:59 am
@Heavens Game-406:
Why do you keep saying blonde blue eyed?
Is it suppose to make you better?
By saying that are you trying to intimadate us brown people?
11 Dec 2011, 05:01 am
@Heavens Game-407:
hahaha.
You are right there is no ref here and lucky you we are only on a blog as i know face to face, you would be very different.
So again, you call us cowards?
11 Dec 2011, 05:01 am
@Heavens Game-406: whose running?
dont worry HG, I’ll extend the same courtesy others here have to me, and forgive you for your comment about my mum… you obviously havent the kahunas to admit you were wrong, or the sincerity…
so in actual fact I am the much bigger man than you, I can admit my mistakes and have done so often…
I sincerely hope none of your family ever suffer such a terrible illness, and that you personally do not have to spend 9 years helplessly watching them do so..
to think you think I bring my mother on this blog “repeatedly” as some sort of sympathy vote is a rather sad indictment on your true character..
I actually pity you HG, I really do…
11 Dec 2011, 05:03 am
@Hurricane-408: Nope, it just affirms my purity… You should know that… Now bow down you yellow haka/macarena dancing cur
11 Dec 2011, 05:04 am
@poppa69-410: Go big boy… Boo farken hoo… You bring tears to mine own eyes… Sniff sniff… lol
11 Dec 2011, 05:06 am
@Heavens Game-411:
Purity?
What are you trying to say here?
11 Dec 2011, 05:06 am
@Hurricane-409: Ja, if you saw me face to face you would bow down in deference… And you know its true you running dog of a sheepshagger…
11 Dec 2011, 05:07 am
@Hurricane-413: It means come get some, chicken liver….
11 Dec 2011, 05:11 am
PrickBoks lose, at home, to the Worlds Greatest Team in History
again
schweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet
11 Dec 2011, 05:12 am
@Heavens Game-414:
I am a kiwi, i would have thought by the amount of times us Kiwis have beaten you at most sports your would actually click that we bow down to no one.
It does not matter how much money you have. We are better than you in sports.
And looking at you comments we are alot better as people.
@Heavens Game-415:
this is a laugh.
You want me to find you? lol
Sorry but i am not going to get into i am tougher than you argument, i will leave it to you and your bunny friends.
11 Dec 2011, 05:15 am
@Hurricane-417: You bunny friends?? And your mum too… lol
Come now….
11 Dec 2011, 05:17 am
@PrickBoks going South-416: Yes the world’s greatest team… with more than a little help from a ref… as usual…. I mean for fcksakes, Piri KFC Weepu was your matchwinner… lol
11 Dec 2011, 05:18 am
@Heavens Game-418:
Oh no not my Mum you poopoo pants
11 Dec 2011, 05:19 am
Am over and out… Great fun for this blonde blue eyed chap to shag sheepshaggers all night long… Time for Beddy byes now though….
11 Dec 2011, 05:20 am
@Heavens Game-419:
Yep and yet you havnt got a match winner.
Piri is alot better than your star FDP. As shown this year on many occasions.
So heres a clue, find a match winner and you could stand on the 2nd place podium, not 8 places back.
11 Dec 2011, 05:21 am
Cheers Hurricunt, Pooper-sniff,sniff,sympathy 69 and Pri.ck. Outthere
11 Dec 2011, 05:22 am
@Heavens Game-423:
cya poopoo pant, piss britches
11 Dec 2011, 05:23 am
our fourth choice flyhalf won that match, not Piri.
191.wooden spoon:
10 Dec 2011, 17:41 pm Lekker booing of the Cape Spanish. I hope the Boks stuff the NZders in the final and watch them all reach for the green and gold jerseys and flags hidden in their bags. Scum.
lekker lekker lekker
Oi Oi Oi
@Hurricane-422: Ja, if Piri Pir Chicken Weepu was your matchwinner, it shows truly how much refs were needed for you poor fools to do it the second time in 24 yrs…
Nope, just not credible… It was the Froggies World Cup…
11 Dec 2011, 05:24 am
@PrickBoks going South-426: Lekker lekker… Oi oi oi… and your Mum loved every moment, ne?
11 Dec 2011, 05:30 am
@Heavens Game-428: have you lost a parent HG? serious question…
11 Dec 2011, 05:31 am
@Heavens Game-427:
Thought you had gone.
Check out the IRB website.
You seem very confused.
You mean the French team that lost to Tonga, it was their RWC?
lol Unlkie 2007 SA had to play some teams in the top 5 ranked. Tghis was the problem hence your fall at the 3rd to last hurdle.
Invest in a match winner, as well as a coach.
Stop blaming the world for your own rubbish.
11 Dec 2011, 05:32 am
@poppa69-429:
Only thing he has lost is a set of nuts.
Old coward and racist fool.
11 Dec 2011, 05:36 am
@Hurricane-431: quite simply he never had any to begin with…
11 Dec 2011, 05:59 am
@Sheriff-273: Proper order restored. NZ crush the yarpies yet again and dance on their shattered dreams, shouting hallelujah! That’s the correct way.
11 Dec 2011, 06:01 am
The Blitzedboks are aptly named.
11 Dec 2011, 09:21 am
Oh my hat.
This is the worst brawl I’ve ever read on Keo.
11 Dec 2011, 09:32 am
HG you gotta tone down your hatred for anyone not blonde white and aryan.
11 Dec 2011, 09:33 am
@Dawn-435: Nah….was it new years day 2007? That was a lot more fun with greater number of participants
11 Dec 2011, 09:35 am
@Dawn-436: He got noone to fight with on RT.
11 Dec 2011, 10:14 am
Disgusting
11 Dec 2011, 10:24 am
Every time I come here to read about rugby I leave feeling embarrassed to be a South African. Keo, what a wonderful environment you’ve created with this website
(It doesn’t help having a-hole kiwis trying to wind everyone up, but still, no excuse)
11 Dec 2011, 10:27 am
HG
You one seriously farked up oke…
serioiusly mate…
you need to do some serious introspection…..you just not farken right in the head bud.
11 Dec 2011, 10:49 am
@grant10-441: Thats a tad rich coming from the local loon.
11 Dec 2011, 10:51 am
Not exactly fair just singling out HG
11 Dec 2011, 10:54 am
@Treehugger-443: Every dog needs a tree. Today HG’s the tree
11 Dec 2011, 11:08 am
@Dawn-439:
Have I been missing something……..
11 Dec 2011, 11:10 am
@Heavens Game-Pigsy.428:
Hey Pigsy,
Good day for the Cape Crusaders yesterday.
11 Dec 2011, 11:15 am
I see Saracens had a great win yesterday,
…
Schalk Brits back at 2
and guess who not in the 22 squad?
11 Dec 2011, 11:16 am
Cane don’t start again please.
It was ugly enough.
11 Dec 2011, 11:18 am
@cane-446: congrats kiwis
broke my bloody hear
11 Dec 2011, 11:19 am
heart
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 … 25 » Show All