Flo blows hot and cold for Bath
12 Dec 2011
GARETH DUNCAN looks at the Saffas who performed in the European Cup last weekend.
It’s been a rollercoaster ride over the last two years for former Stormers flanker Francois Louw. In South Africa, he had two impressive Super Rugby seasons with the Stormers and went on to make his Springbok debut in 2010. However, despite some Man-of-the-Match displays in the initial Tests, he was dropped by Bok coach Peter de Villiers after the 2010 Tri-Nations. This led to his departure to Bath following this year’s Super Rugby competition. It all ended well for the player known as Flo, as he was the surprise pick in the Springboks World Cup squad.
For his new English club, Louw made his debut in Bath’s 46-13 LV Cup win over Worcester Warriors, in which he scored a try and was named Man of the Match. Respectable performances thereafter saw Louw named captain of Bath’s European Cup home match against hooker Richardt Strauss and loosehead prop Heinke van der Merwe’s Leinster on Sunday, in retired England skipper Lewis Moody’s injury absence.
It was a great 70 minutes for Louw, whose highlight was making a crucial steal at the breakdown which created the play that led to Matt Banahan’s second half try. Bath, who also had scrumhalf Michael Claassens in their run-on side, were holding on to a 13-12 lead heading into the final 10 minutes of the match, but two late three-pointers by Irish flyhalf Jonny Sexton sealed the win for the visitors. Louw conceded the last of those penalties and was sent to the sin bin in a disappointing finish to his first high profile game as captain.
Bath now travel to Dublin next weekend and will aim to pick up an important away win to keep their play-off qualification hopes alive.
In other results, No 8 Ernst Joubert scored a try in Saracens’ 31-26 win over Ospreys, which takes them to the top of Pool 5. Hooker Schalk Brits, who made his return from a three-match ban, tighthead prop Matt Stevens and lock Mouritz Botha also featured in the starting line-up.
Front rowers Wian du Preez and BJ Botha fronted Munster’s 17-14 away triumph over Scarlets to take the Irish club’s unbeaten European Cup run to three matches. Former Sharks captain Stefan Terblance made his debut for Ulster off the bench in their 31-10 home win over Aironi. Lock Johann Muller, No 8 Pedrie Wannenburg and replacement flanker Robbie Diack also turned out for the victors.
SA-born Italian lock Corniel van Zyl dotted down for a crucial try in Treviso’s famous 30-26 victory over Biarritz. Former Sharks and Lions scrumhalf Rory Kockott helped Castres to a 41-22 win over Northampton Saints, who were without tighthead prop Brian Mujati, while hooker Gary Botha started in Toulouse’s 21-10 victory over English Premiership log leaders Harlequins.

92 Comments
12 Dec 2011, 09:44 am
Flo is a no go show, bro.
12 Dec 2011, 09:58 am
Why watch the saffa’s who play for their adopted countries Matt Stevens, Corniel Van Zyl, etc.?
12 Dec 2011, 10:24 am
@Sasuke-2: If you got a top job overseas, would you want your mom to stop calling you?
Rugby is a professional sport. Any player would take the opportunity to play Test rugby. But those players are still Saffas, no matter what.
12 Dec 2011, 10:26 am
Watched the game. Flo’s a good player for sure.
We could have used him this season for sure!
12 Dec 2011, 11:00 am
@Gareth-3:
mother knows best.
@stormersboy-4:
ver seker
12 Dec 2011, 11:06 am
where is gwantie?
i want to ask him if flo is to blame like smitty?
12 Dec 2011, 11:16 am
Flo is and will always be a liability.
Never quick enough around the field to be an elite openside anyway.
I for one am hoping for a better rounded player in Reuben Johannes. Something like Brussow… who wouldn’t have thrown a game away like this by having a meltdown.
Sure it would’ve been nice having Flo around for depth, but the paycheck he would’ve been demanding, I wouldn’t even consider paying him.
12 Dec 2011, 11:27 am
Robbie Diack – now there’s a name I haven’t heard in a while.
12 Dec 2011, 11:39 am
@hendrikp-7:
Open side, shmopen side
Flo was the best Bath player on the field, the Ref was a terrible rookie who made up the last penalty, did you watched it?
12 Dec 2011, 11:47 am
@Hondo-9:
Agree, I watched the game , Flo was outstanding !!
!@rangerman-6: Stick to diving ……………….you know fark all about rugby !!!
12 Dec 2011, 11:51 am
Gary Botha is impressive currently, for now he keeps France’s 1st choice hooker Servant on the bench, it also seemed that Toulouse bought a dud car in Steenkamp, yet another hip injury which was said to be a hand injurie originally
The Duos of BJ, Wim Du Preez and that of Heineke v.d M, Strauss are propping Munster and Leinster to a good Heineken Cup start
Mujati got his back side shoved up badly last week agains Leicester, he will seemed in a desperate need of a crash training regime
12 Dec 2011, 11:54 am
@Yetirat-8:
Yeah ex Michaelhouse boy was earmarked to play for Ireland when he first landed on irish shores….Emergence of O’Brien and rest of impressive loose trio put paid to that…
12 Dec 2011, 11:57 am
Flo will be tragically missed by Stormers…farkit Rassie!
Sarries win when plod not in 22 man squad….LOL
12 Dec 2011, 11:58 am
@justrugby-10:
The ref had that Ex Auckland Blues FH hitting Hipkis with a head butt to the chin ala Brian Lima right in front of him and did nothing, I figured he robbed Bath of at least 10 points
Flo’s work rate and efficiency were outstanding, Bath are better off with him in place of Watson
12 Dec 2011, 12:00 pm
@hendrikp-7:
Dont think he is so much a liability than being not utilised adequate.He should play blindside exclusively and his decent abilities at breakdown pilfering will be a added plus as a BLINDSIDE. But he isnt good enough as a openside EXCLUSIVELY.
12 Dec 2011, 12:01 pm
@Hondo-14:
I’m sure they would love to have both Flo and Luke !!f
12 Dec 2011, 12:01 pm
@Hondo-9:
That’s what I have to hear every time Flo gets carded.
Unlike Brussow he doesn’t keep himself out of trouble, and he’s not nearly as precise.
We’re in the same boat as Australia, and probably New Zealand (for the next year at least) in that, if we lose our fetcher, we’re in trouble.
Brussow – irreplaceable.
Pocock – irreplaceable.
McCaw – irreplaceable.
12 Dec 2011, 12:04 pm
Flo worked beautifully in tendem with Schalk when they played left right flank…..
Great player imo.
Would have been my Stormers cappie
12 Dec 2011, 12:05 pm
@mshiniwami-15:
I agree with that completely actually. Posted it a month or two ago that he should be on the blindside, and blindside only.
They need to utilize him more as a ball-carrier as well… sort of like they use Schalk now, because he’s not precise enough in deciding when to stand back and act as a defender, and when he does go into the rucks he’s 10x (maybe not that much but you get the point) more likely then Brussow to concede a penalty.
12 Dec 2011, 12:13 pm
@Gareth-3: Yes Gareth that is good and well I applaud them for making it overseas but isnt this saffa overseas thing suppose to highlight talent overseas that the Boks can use? Maybe my thinking is wrong maybe this thread is just to celebrate all things saffa and not to find potentially useful springboks.
12 Dec 2011, 12:13 pm
@hendrikp-7:
Pure bollocks.
In yesterdays game, he conceded 2 penalties, the first was a judgement error, and the 2nd he was actually not even involved in the ruck. He was standing 2 metres away. The ref blew the penalty and somehow mistook him for the player who actually infringed. The only reason Bath were even in that up until that point was because of Flo. He was huge…
And you talk about yellow cards? I think that’s the first yellow I remember him getting… sure he’s had a couple, but it very seldom happens. He is quality, a brilliant player.
12 Dec 2011, 12:15 pm
@Dazzler-21:
We’ll just forget the bag full of yellow cards he’s had the last couple of seasons.
Wouldn’t bet against him and De Wet Barry trying to set a career record for who can get the most.
12 Dec 2011, 12:19 pm
@hendrikp-22:
You got the stats to back that up or are you just guessing?
12 Dec 2011, 12:22 pm
Hendrik…..you talk absolue twaddle, seriously….
For an oke who posts 100s of posts all over cyber space you seriously talk a load of bollocks….farkit …
12 Dec 2011, 12:30 pm
@hendrikp-22:
“We’ll just forget the bag full of yellow cards he’s had the last couple of seasons.”
So seeing as you dont want to back your statements up, I thought I’d check it out quick…
In 2010, Flo got a whopping ZERO yellow cards in the S14, 0, nothing, nil. In the 2011 S15, he got 2 yellow cards, but so did James O’ Beiber…
So this “bag full of yellow cards he’s had the last couple of seasons” equates to 2 yellow cards. 1 per season in other words. Not bad for someone who played as his teams fetcher.
I trust we wont hear any more from you on this subject…
12 Dec 2011, 12:33 pm
@grant10-24:
12 Dec 2011, 12:39 pm
@Dazzler-25:
Meh I’ll have a look at it later, but besides that it doesn’t take away from the fact that he’s got a problem with his indiscipline.
An interesting stat for you…
The only flanker to concede more penalties then Francois Louw in Super Rugby 2011 was… wait for it… Deon Stegmann.
Francois Louw conceded 22 penalties.
Deon Stegmann conceded 27 penalties.
But yes, he’s an angel and I obviously don’t even have a clue what I’m talking about.
12 Dec 2011, 12:44 pm
@hendrikp-27: you 1 farken ignoramus of note…..
I see quite a few bloggers bleat on here but mate you the emptiest vessel of them all….
and some of them are farken useless…
but you take the cake….wost is you actually think you know this game….in fact you know less than farkall…
12 Dec 2011, 12:47 pm
@Sasuke-20: I don’t think there are any other rugby sites doing this European Saffa focus. The fact that we have so many Saffas playing their rugby in Europe makes this thread topical, especially when the SH is turned off during the festive period.
The aim is to give all South African-born players who impress or who make an impact some exposure. Even if they are currently representing their adoptive nation on the Test scene.
12 Dec 2011, 12:48 pm
@grant10-28:
From the guy who tells me that he’d rather have the Bishops 4th XV openside flanker starting in the 6 jersey for the Stormers, rather then realize that whichever openside (fetcher, whatever you want to call it) you may play there would be ineffective and rather move one of your loosies into the openside jersey…
The way you carry on tells me everything I need to know about you bud.
I’m not going to get involved in the swearing and name calling. I’m above that, and I think it’s pathetic.
Thanks for staying on topic though.
12 Dec 2011, 12:51 pm
Why no news on Frans Steyn? The mercenary and his agent are playing games again!
Last week Steyn was on the phone to his agent saying “show me the money Gerrie”
That’s rignt Gerrie Mguire Swartz and his toyboy are at it again ….. just glad the Lions showed them the bird.
12 Dec 2011, 12:54 pm
@grant10-28:
granty… you’re going to the dark side boet… you must fight it… the force is powerfull, and unpredictable on the dark side… it will destroy you…
come back…
12 Dec 2011, 12:55 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-31: my head says he will stay in France
Heart wants him at stormers….
12 Dec 2011, 12:56 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-32: that Lightie makes me a bit befark….that Hendrik oke thinks heknows the game but dont know his fatars from his elbow
Plonker that he is
12 Dec 2011, 12:59 pm
@grant10-34:
Like I told you…
When you realize that you aren’t born an openside, and that it’s more useful having a good player on the field who can make his tackles & play a good all-round game, rather then stick a useless player in who couldn’t even make Namibia’s starting XV into the side… then we can talk.
Unfortunately I don’t think you have the brain capacity to process that sort of thing.
12 Dec 2011, 13:01 pm
@grant10-33: he is way too expensive, not even the Bulls can afford him …. next Bok coach to show all buitenlanders the bird.
12 Dec 2011, 13:03 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-36: i thought maybe with JF,…..Fondse….A VAN ZYL…..SADIE…..JJ…….WHITEHEAD ALL going we may have had some bucks……
fark we can do with some good news here in CT…
12 Dec 2011, 13:04 pm
@hendrikp-35: bud……
an opensider in no n negotiable……
schalk is not the oke….go ask Minnie….
12 Dec 2011, 13:10 pm
@grant10-38:
What makes an openside?
Is it non-negotiable when the guy you want in there is ineffective?
You need to come to terms with the fact that Kitshoff isn’t the answer.
The sooner the better.
12 Dec 2011, 13:14 pm
@Gareth-29: Fair enough. When you going on leave buddy?
12 Dec 2011, 13:16 pm
@hendrikp-39: give him a chance you plonker……
12 Dec 2011, 13:18 pm
@hendrikp-39: who do you suggest play openside (6) for the stormers if not kitshoff?
12 Dec 2011, 13:21 pm
@Sasuke-42:
I can’t say whether or not Reuben Johannes would be a good choice or not because I haven’t seen him play… the Stormers coaches do seem to think highly of him though.
I think it’s a terrible situation to be in, not having an effective openside flanker, so they’ll just have to make do with their best 3 loose-forwards (being Burger, Vermeulen & Kitshoff), unless of course Johannes comes through with flying colours, in which case I’ll be happy.
12 Dec 2011, 13:23 pm
kitshoff is gonna do great…!
12 Dec 2011, 13:25 pm
@hendrikp-43: I think Kitshoff would have to do for now. He actually had a good World Cup for Nambia made a few decent steals. He has also been around for a while being loaned out to Griquas (we will see if this loaning out strategy of Rassie works). Johannes I havent seen much of but he is extremely green give another 2 years before he cracks the Stormers 1st team. How old is he?
12 Dec 2011, 13:26 pm
@hendrikp-43:
Whoops I meant Burger, Vermeulen & Koster.
12 Dec 2011, 13:27 pm
@Sasuke-45:
He was in his final year of WP U21′s this year, I think.
A year older then Kolisi & Carr.
12 Dec 2011, 13:28 pm
@Upho-44:
can’t find the stats now… but in the pool stages of the world cup kitshoff had the second highest numbers of turnovers of all players in all teams…
when you consider he was playing for namibia… against sa and wales… and the PIs… against guys like burger, flo, brussow, warburton etc…
that’s not too shabby…
think his tackle count was right up there too…
@Upho-44: He should….he has two quality flanks next to him in the form of Burger and Vermeulen. He wouldnt have to do much tackling and running with the ball with those two next to him so he can just focus on getting to the breakdown first and either stealing or slowing down opposition ball.
@hendrikp-39:
he should perhaps at least be given the opportunity to try and fail.
just a few games maybe with a replacement on the bench if things go pear shaped.
12 Dec 2011, 13:29 pm
I’m not really interested in these overseas based players …. I’m more disturbed by that article on Josh Strauss ………………………. what kind of Lion looks after pets and what kind of Lion plays the drums … in a chick band called Annie Avenue.
Ffs Josh, you are the Lion king and we can’t allow certain “weaknesses” to show.
12 Dec 2011, 13:31 pm
@Sasuke-49:
yeah… i rate the guy… he has a very similar build and low centre of gravity like brussow… and yes… with those two guys should prove effective…
is duane fixed…? does anybody know if he’s fit and practicing…?
12 Dec 2011, 13:32 pm
@hendrikp-47: Oh i thought he was younger than them. I would like to have a look at him before deciding if he is ready for superugby. Hopefully he gets gametime in the pre-season warm up games.
12 Dec 2011, 13:34 pm
@Upho-52: I have seen him at Virgin Active here in Durbanville a few months ago….so he is keeping fit. yeah hopefully he is ready for action. He had a knee injury right?
12 Dec 2011, 13:34 pm
@Sasuke-49:
What a waste that would be!
An openside who doesn’t have to tackle, is too short to be useful at line-outs, can’t carry the ball, and spends all game running around trying to get at least 1 turn-over (even the very best average about 1 every 2 games in Super Rugby).
How about a concerted effort from the entire team to throw numbers into the breakdown… or better judging when to do that, and when to stand back.
12 Dec 2011, 13:35 pm
@Sasuke-54:
thanks bud… cool…
yeah… crocked his knee… looked damn painful…!
12 Dec 2011, 13:37 pm
Some of the comments about Flo on here are terrible? A liablity? How?
He was a star player in a bath team and was a good leader as captain…
He gave away one penatly away on the bath 5m line… which was a honest mistake
The yellow card was a terrible call… he made a tackle and was on the floor and got up while the scrum half was making a break off of the next ruck and made a reaction by putting his arm out but he never even grabbed the player… even the irish commentator couldnt see the yellow card
12 Dec 2011, 13:40 pm
@Sasuke-53:
Ja no he’s been around for a bit.
I know a good fetcher is a sought after skill, but it doesn’t make a player indispensable. Many of the players mentioned aren’t good enough players, they’re merely being talked up because they play openside.
If Kitshoff proves me wrong, I’ll be happy. I want to see the Stormers play the sort of rugby that can win the Super 15, and they’d be more effective at doing that with a genuine fetcher.
But not with one who can’t cut it.
It’s like telling me Deon Stegmann would be at 6 for the Boks ahead of Juan Smith, if it were a straight pick between the two.
Not in a billion years. Stegmann can’t even do what he’s in the team for properly, not to mention the things he doesn’t (such as ball-carrying, line-outs etc.)
12 Dec 2011, 13:42 pm
@Rhys7-57:
I apologize, I didn’t see the incident, but the impression I get with Flo is that he is a liability with his poor discipline.
12 Dec 2011, 13:42 pm
@hendrikp-55: I am not saying he doesnt have to do those things dont be daft. I am saying Schalk will be making his usual 2-3 tackles per 5 phase and Duane will be driving the opposition back behind the advantage line giving Kitshoff great time to get stuck in at the breakdown. With Schalk and Duane also very effective ball carriers who make great metres with ball in hand Kitshoff wouldnt have to go in to secure the ball thus freeing him up to either carry or link with the backs.
It will be a similar dynamic to last year when Burger and Duane made most of the tackles and Flo was there to make the steal after the tackle was made.
12 Dec 2011, 13:45 pm
@hendrikp-59:
you’re being way harsh here… two yellows in two years…? all ‘fetchers’ gives away penalties…
poor discipline…?
can you give us a bunch of examples where he’s lost his rag as you suggested earlier…?
he’s a tough nut… but hardly goes around ‘losing it’ or throwing his toys out…
12 Dec 2011, 13:48 pm
@Upho-61:
He concedes penalties at crucial times, often penalties which could’ve been avoided.
That resulted in him conceding the 2nd most penalties of any player in Super Rugby.
Just an opinion, one you’re welcome to differ with
Anyway, it’s close to 1am here.
All have a great day, including you grant.
12 Dec 2011, 13:50 pm
@hendrikp-62:
of course… it’s all just opinion… and would be pretty damn boring if we all had the same one…
12 Dec 2011, 13:51 pm
Thats a tough one……..A loose trio of 6. Juan Smith 7. Burger 8. Alberts VS 6. Stegmann 7. Juan Smith 8. Burger
??????
The former is extremely slow for a loose trio while the latter has a fetcher who can get in and disrupt things at the breakdown while the big flankers take time to get to the breakdown.
12 Dec 2011, 13:54 pm
@hendrikp-62: Cool guy get some rest.
12 Dec 2011, 14:05 pm
@hendrikp-62:
I agree with you Hendrikp, FLouw is a penalty machine. I got so frustrated with him during the Super rugby for giving away stupid penalties. He’s a hybrid… he’s not good enough to play either blindside or openside at the highest level as far as I’m concerned, but he’s a useful player to have on the bench.
However, do some research before you go blabbering off that he conceded the most yellow cards over the last two seasons.
I’m not a regular poster on this site, but I visit it at least twice a day and I actually get annoyed by some of the posters here. They think they know everything about the game but can’t even get past their Blue goggles.
12 Dec 2011, 14:11 pm
@pakslae-66:
i know hey, the stormers supporters can be outrageous some times…
12 Dec 2011, 14:21 pm
@Sasuke-64: Stegmann shouldn’t be allowed anywhere near a bok jersey.
12 Dec 2011, 14:22 pm
Flo is OK to GOOD at S15 and Currie Cup level. That is it though. He’s not Springbok material and I certainly won’t be shedding a tear whilst he’s away from the Stormers and Province. If you consider that fetching is his entire raison d’etre on that field and you take into account the number of penalties he gives away and what little else he does contribute, he’s certainly a long way from indispensable.
12 Dec 2011, 14:31 pm
@Yetirat-69: Mitch rates Minnie as good enough to play test rugby …. other players who he rates as test players are Jantjies, Taute and for some reason JC Janse v Rensburg.
It is true.
12 Dec 2011, 14:36 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-70:
it is also true,
that mitch did not rate jantjes good enough to play test rugby just the other day…
life… they say… is a cycle…
we grow, we wither, like grapes on the vine.
12 Dec 2011, 14:41 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-71: “Like sands through the hourglass” as Transie might say…
12 Dec 2011, 14:45 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-70: I’d like to see Taute and Jantjies have a go and would probably go with Strauss ahead of Minnie. Taute just needs to tidy up one or two areas of his game but he definitely looks like Springbok material at the moment. Jantjies has had the time now to develop himself physically and psychologically and is a bit more experienced. All of them would need to be slowly blooded in though. A 10/12/13 combo of Jantjies, F Steyn and De Jongh could be very interesting in the years ahead.
12 Dec 2011, 14:59 pm
@hendrikp-59:
Always deal with the facts, trust your eyes only, Flo’s useful output was double of that of Simon Taylor and the other loosie together, his rucking and defence impressive too.
The Ref was hell bent to get Leinster through, although that crook isn’t at the same league of Honest Jonker and Craig Joubert the ‘Magicians’ or Bryce Lawrence for that matter, he did the damage.
12 Dec 2011, 15:00 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-71: well lover of Bakkies, you fib …. Mitch didn’t want Jantjies anywhere near the Bok circus in 2010 EOYT because he felt he needed to concentrate on conditioning, but you already knew that.
12 Dec 2011, 15:01 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-70:
Minnie…maybe,SA is very short at openside especially…After Brussow its night & day. Stegmann,Flo,Minnie to fight it out but no real standout amongst those 3.Minnie had a good Currie Cup,jury still out-S15 next Test.
Taute very good prospect,as yetirat mentioned he still has a couple things to correct therefore test rugby not ready yet.But definitely looks like Bok material of the future.
Jantjes is 21 with 2 seasons of top flight rugby behind him with about 75% of games as a starter in that period.Also has been in Bok set up & conditioning MUCH improved.He is Bok 10 in waiting with Lambie & in about 12-18 months Goosen will be knocking on the door as well.
12 Dec 2011, 15:08 pm
@stormersboy-72:
hehe so are the days of our lives…
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-75:
maybe i did maybe i did not…
so josh has cats, plaits his hair and sings backing vocals in a girl band called annie avanue you say huh?..sjoe!…
as the zimmerman so elequently stated… the times they sure are a’changin…
12 Dec 2011, 15:09 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-75:
Yeah he did,he was vindicated on that one about Jantjies….But there must have been some good experiences Jantjies took from being in Bok environment at 20 which will stand him in good stead in future as he looks to be front runner to be Bok 10 post RWC
Mitchell has also made his mistakes…Such as playing 19/20 year Regan King in Ab tour of 2002…After a handful of games with many pundits having their doubts on his readiness mentally & physically to be a internationally…King proceeded to dropping off the radar then signed for llanelli Scarlets a few years later. 1 test cap for NZ,waste.
Big Season ahead for Lions in elongated Superrugby…even longer than last year. Squad will be tested..
12 Dec 2011, 15:14 pm
@Hondo-74:
Simon Taylor is effectively useless now,the once hailed “wunderkind” of Scottish rugby-their Joe van Niekerk is now playing at about 40% his ability so Flo is bound to be better then Taylor & whoever other bloke was.Taylor now a handicap especially looking at what he once was.
12 Dec 2011, 15:35 pm
@mshiniwami-78: yes vindicated indeed, I sense that Mitch has learnt from his mistakes and was trying to shield Jantjies from Divvys inexperience …. as for Regan King, never heard of him before.
12 Dec 2011, 15:39 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-77: it is all true, :sadly:
12 Dec 2011, 16:53 pm
Absolute rubbish! FLO is a quality player and will be missed in the S15, hes game play is very similar to Pocock but not as good on the ground.
I’m worried about the stormers, they always seem to sign has beens or players that make minimum difference and fark off after one or two years, like:
Tony brown
Habana
CJ
Deon carstens
Mendez
That other ARG prop (guiza or something)
Chris Jack
JP Joubert
That aussie flyhalf for CC semi
12 Dec 2011, 17:36 pm
stormers squad 2012 not nearly as powerful as 2011
12 Dec 2011, 17:47 pm
F LOUW
J FOURIE
A VAN ZYL
CJ VD LINDE
J SADIE
JJ ENGELBRECHT
WHITEHEAD
ALL GONE…..
12 Dec 2011, 17:49 pm
I have a feeling Lions may just sneak SA Conference in 2012
12 Dec 2011, 18:04 pm
@grant10-84:
Where have all the good men gone
And where are all the gods?
Where’s the street-wise Hercules
To fight the rising odds?
Isn’t there a white knight upon a fiery steed?
Late at night I toss and turn and dream
of what I need
I need a hero
I’m holding out for a hero ’til the end of the night
He’s gotta be strong
And he’s gotta be fast
And he’s gotta be fresh from the fight
I need a hero
I’m holding out for a hero ’til the morning light
He’s gotta be sure
And it’s gotta be soon
And he’s gotta be larger than life
12 Dec 2011, 18:07 pm
go on granty, i know you have the single somewhere on vinyl or tape…put it on… pump the volume right up and just let yourself go…
13 Dec 2011, 01:28 am
I think its worth noting that there was a couple more South Africans in action during the Heineken Cup this weekend. Jauqe Cronje, Betnard le Roux, Francois vd merwe and Johannes Cronje for Racing Metro. Ethienne Reynecke and Brett Wilkinson for Connacht. Paul Bosch and Drickus Hancke for Montpellier and Naas Oliver for Aironi.
13 Dec 2011, 09:26 am
@Dazzler-25: Sjoe , thats what you call “maak toe sy bek” lol
13 Dec 2011, 09:30 am
@Sasuke-42: Nizaam Carr seems a decent fetcher.
13 Dec 2011, 09:35 am
@hendrikp-55: Thats called rugby league buddy.
On the flanker issue , I actually really really like the youngsters at WP , only concern might be there are ALL young. In a perfect world Flo , Vermeulen (but he is also young) and Burger would have assisted the youngsters like Carr , Kollisi , Kitchskoff and the Kid (Koster)
Having said that a few years ago WP played 2 very young flankers with a senior backrower , they were Aitken , Skinstad and Krige. Our loosies remind me a lot of them nowadays.
13 Dec 2011, 10:25 am
@Honey badger-88: Yes there were. But we only only publish the players who were topical over the weekend. Or we’ll have the same names week in and week out.