Smal the frontrunner for Bok post
15 Dec 2011
Gert Smal is the favourite for the Springbok coaching position although Allister Coetzee and Heyneke Meyer are also on the shortlist.
The appointment will only be confirmed on 27 January 2012, but according to a reliable source, Smal is expected to pip Coetzee and Meyer for the job.
Smal has enjoyed success as a coach in South Africa, coaching Western Province to the Currie Cup title in 2000 and 2001, and also serving as the forwards coach during Jake White’s World Cup-winning tenure. For the past four years he has coached the Ireland forwards and was integral to the Emerald Greens’ 2009 Six Nations triumph.
While Meyer has also enjoyed great success with the Bulls, firstly as a hands-on coach and then as a director of rugby, it is Smal’s record with transformation that may reportedly secure him the post.
Smal was responsible for nurturing numerous players of colour while he was at WP, and in 2008 he drafted a transformation proposal to Saru detailing the development of black forwards in the Eastern Cape region.
Peter de Villiers, whose term as Bok coach will expire at the end of 2011, struggled to transform the Boks despite his earlier intentions. This is best illustrated by the make-up of White and De Villiers’s respective World Cup teams.
White picked just two players of colour in the match 22 for the 2007 World Cup final in France while De Villiers picked the same two players (Bryan Habana and JP Pietersen) and just two more (Gurthro Steenkamp and Gio Aplon) in the 22 that played Australia in the 2011 quarter-final in New Zealand.

260 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 » Show All
15 Dec 2011, 12:09 pm
Personally I am not wild about Smal getting the job.
What has he actually achieved as a head coach? 2 Currie Cups…. wow! Fck…. even the Lions can win a CC!!
And now he is making waves at international level. Forward coach of the mighty Ireland who have recently simply conquered the world… whoopie!
I say stay in Ireland and let my fond memories of him remain as delivering the best punch I have even seen on a rugby field…. just ask Gary Knight!
15 Dec 2011, 12:09 pm
@Michael-44:
Wrong. It should be pronounced Smal, doesn’t matter what language it’s in.
It’s like saying the correct way to pronounce Botha in english is ‘boofaaa”
15 Dec 2011, 12:10 pm
@cane-24:
You always make sense after a session with your uncle…
15 Dec 2011, 12:10 pm
@Taahirah-46:
@Michael-47:
Generally you complain when you lose, i’m expecting the AB’s to take out the rugby championship next year and continue thier dominance between WC’s, we won’t be whinging.
15 Dec 2011, 12:12 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-41:
The sooner they announce Hansen as coach, the happier I am.
It’s a weak appointment to keep people happy. He’s only got one direction to go, and that’s down.
15 Dec 2011, 12:12 pm
@hendrikp-37:
Meyer would be Coach,
but he would be (only one) of 3 Selectors.
Bulls domination of the Boks should not be a problem.
He has also not been Coach of the Bulls for a couple of years now, so should not owe anyone a free lunch.
Worse choices could be made.
Myself, I would like to see someone out of left-field take over.
Fresh and vibrant with new ideas.
Someone beholding to no one.
If this person exists.
Nick Mal…………………………………………………..no that would be crazy.
15 Dec 2011, 12:14 pm
Going to be painful having to listen to Gert Smal’s name being pronounced “Girt Small”
15 Dec 2011, 12:14 pm
@hendrikp-55:
Keep who happy?
15 Dec 2011, 12:16 pm
rather Smal than AC OR HEYNEKE.
The thought of Spies captaining Boks has me heading to the Intensive Care Unit….
15 Dec 2011, 12:17 pm
Is the assistant coaches also on the shortlist or is that choosen after the head coach is choosen?
@hendrikp-55:
i think its been so mentally draining for them that they would never have been capable of choosing better.
very much like andy robinson after clive woodward.
@cane-56:
The selectors role is a waste, head coach still decides who is there and who isn’t.
Meyer is a good coach, don’t get me wrong, but you have to understand the provincialism in SA to appreciate why he may not be the best choice.
Besides that I’d like to see some continuity with the provinces coaching. If we get better at that level, the Springboks will also be better off. That’s why I wouldn’t take Allister Coetzee.
15 Dec 2011, 12:18 pm
@hendrikp-40:
Thank You Hennie.
15 Dec 2011, 12:18 pm
@grant10-59: lol
15 Dec 2011, 12:19 pm
@NZINCHINA-54: Yeah like we have never heard Kiwi Super 12/14 whinging with travel playing 3 matches in SA.
@hendrikp-57: Yikes re first name. Yes there are many many English SAs who pronounce Smal as Small.
Smal
no free lunches
no FAT BOYS CLUB
No cappies for 4 years…
asseblief ou boet
@grant10-59: ROFLAMO
Morning!
15 Dec 2011, 12:20 pm
@NZINCHINA-58:
Senior All Blacks, and others involved with the team.
Not to mention the uproar from some in NZ if a WC winning assistant coach didn’t get the job.
@hendrikp-62: Ja makes sense.
I would like them to also think outside the box regarding the assistant coaches. Pick young, innovative coaches who have potential.
and rather AC at Stormers than that Gary Gold 3 stooge plonker.
thank you kindly…
15 Dec 2011, 12:21 pm
@Michael-67: good day Sir
15 Dec 2011, 12:22 pm
@grant10-66: Cappies? Captain?
@Michael-65:
True! I hope Mexted and co. get it right though
@Michael-32: hey, don’t take subliminal shots grant10!!
15 Dec 2011, 12:23 pm
@grant10-66: I think the coach and captain should be instated for two years and then reviewed.
15 Dec 2011, 12:24 pm
@grant10-66: Smal went along with no fetcher with jake. he was there for 49-0
15 Dec 2011, 12:24 pm
@Michael-44:
no that is wrong and this time its a fact.
smal can only ever be pronounced as ‘smull’ whether in english or in afrikaans.
an english person trying to pronounce it would be allowed to screw it up and veer from the proper pronounciation but it should still stay close to ‘smull’ and not sound like ‘small’
the same for james small whether in english or afrikaans it should sound like ‘small’
15 Dec 2011, 12:25 pm
@Sasuke-69:
Yeah not sure what to do about assistant coaches.
I think you need someone with a track record… otherwise what’s the point as the players would then be able to pretty much coach themselves if they had the same or even more knowledge?
There would be lots of candidates for assistant coaches, I just hope they choose ones with a thorough understand and a few years experience in that role. Who that might be I don’t know. We don’t have many suitable backs coaches in SA either.
15 Dec 2011, 12:30 pm
@hendrikp-78:
Not Robbie Fleck, Grant Bashford or Pieter Rossouw, PLEASE!
Who is the Cheetahs backline coach? They went bloody well in the Super 15… struggled a bit on defense I guess.
15 Dec 2011, 12:31 pm
@hendrikp-68:
We shall see next year, we’ll get the usual chest beating around here pre season and then the wheels will fall off, no excuses this time though.
15 Dec 2011, 12:34 pm
@hendrikp-79:
Ah Hawies Fourie.
Don’t know much about him, but could be a reasonably good choice as Assistant coach? What do others think?
15 Dec 2011, 12:35 pm
@hendrikp-78:
in this regard i say go offshore.
daars niks fout met n uitlander as assistent nie. todd louden het goed gedoen by die bulle.
and thats my point… heyneke meyer had the foresight to bring that guy in as a backline coach. heyneke meyer has a knack for surrounding himself with good people, very much like woodward.
15 Dec 2011, 12:38 pm
@hendrikp-81: He will provide fresh impetus and he seems like one of those innovative coaches.
Some people have spoken of Paul Treu being a potential backline coach but I dont know about that.
15 Dec 2011, 12:39 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-82:
Woodward took 3,000 support staff with him to NZ in 05′ including his PR man who completely fucked up the PR, they were embarassed on and off the pitch
15 Dec 2011, 12:41 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-82:
Wouldn’t mind them looking offshore either.
Probably more likely with Smal as coach as well.
Of the current lot of backline coaches with SA provinces though, I’m thinking Hawies would be the best choice.
Fleckie should be pretty close to getting fired and Pieter Rossouw hasn’t really had the opportunity to prove anything as of yet. Bashford isn’t up to it either.
15 Dec 2011, 12:43 pm
@NZINCHINA-84:
woodward gave new zealand a hiding in new zealand in 2002.
same for sa and oz that year if i remember correctly.
no man, he was good when he was good.
15 Dec 2011, 12:44 pm
What about Spencer as a backline coach?
15 Dec 2011, 12:45 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-86: True he had a great support team.
15 Dec 2011, 12:46 pm
My Bokke Coaching/Management and Selection panel would be:
Cab……………………….(Forwards Coach) ……..No Bully Shiit. Just results.
Skoppie…………….(Backs Coach)……………This man invented the word ELUSIVE.
Katman ……………….(Head Coach)…………..At least when the Boks lose, the After-match Press Conference will still be a blast.
Press Officers………………….JC and Ryan………Better in the tent pissing out, than out of the tent, pissing in.
Team Masseuse/Physio…………………………….Dawn………..(someone has to rub the Okes up the wrong way).
Selectors……………………………………David, Pissant, Transie.
As for Lilly,
Lilly Oh Lilly
Pictures of Lilly…………………………………………….Official Photographer.
Chester Williams as backline coach?
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-86:
no hiding two points I think from memory, they did however put the Bokke to the sword at Twickers, sure he was good at times but for a lot of his coaching he was soundly beaten, funny i’ve never heard you praise GH despite him having the best record in coaching by a country mile
15 Dec 2011, 12:47 pm
@cane-89: lol
15 Dec 2011, 12:52 pm
@Sasuke-87:
No thanks
I’ve always wondered about the reasoning in making a player into a coach who really made his reputation on individual brilliance rather then operating well under an established game-plan.
15 Dec 2011, 12:54 pm
@cane-89:
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-86:
“woodward gave new zealand a hiding in new zealand in 2002″.
Since when has 13-15 been a hiding?
@hendrikp-85:
agreed on hawies and that rossouw needs more time.
fleck, with the kind of backs he has, i can only assume is subject to acsie’s (allister coetzee and rassie) overall dictates… or is just really kuk.
@Sasuke-87:
have thought that too. i think mitchell’s getting all the credit and perhaps carlos deserves more. however, its only the cc so lets see how it goes in the s15.
@Sasuke-88:
china’s way off the mark there, for sure.
15 Dec 2011, 12:55 pm
@Transformation-76: he has seen the light with that o brien chap….
15 Dec 2011, 12:57 pm
@cane-95: Wheneva another team beats the All Blacks its a hiding because they rarely lose! lol
15 Dec 2011, 12:58 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-96: Acsie! lol
15 Dec 2011, 12:59 pm
@Sasuke-92:
You get the Newly created SARU Position of:
Officer in Charge of Provincial Harmony.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 » Show All