Smal the frontrunner for Bok post

Gert Smal is the favourite for the Springbok coaching position although Allister Coetzee and Heyneke Meyer are also on the shortlist.

The appointment will only be confirmed on 27 January 2012, but according to a reliable source, Smal is expected to pip Coetzee and Meyer for the job.

Smal has enjoyed success as a coach in South Africa, coaching Western Province to the Currie Cup title in 2000 and 2001, and also serving as the forwards coach during Jake White’s World Cup-winning tenure. For the past four years he has coached the Ireland forwards and was integral to the Emerald Greens’ 2009 Six Nations triumph.

While Meyer has also enjoyed great success with the Bulls, firstly as a hands-on coach and then as a director of rugby, it is Smal’s record with transformation that may reportedly secure him the post.

Smal was responsible for nurturing numerous players of colour while he was at WP, and in 2008 he drafted a transformation proposal to Saru detailing the development of black forwards in the Eastern Cape region.

Peter de Villiers, whose term as Bok coach will expire at the end of 2011, struggled to transform the Boks despite his earlier intentions. This is best illustrated by the make-up of White and De Villiers’s respective World Cup teams.

White picked just two players of colour in the match 22 for the 2007 World Cup final in France while De Villiers picked the same two players (Bryan Habana and JP Pietersen) and just two more (Gurthro Steenkamp and Gio Aplon) in the 22 that played Australia in the 2011 quarter-final in New Zealand.

260 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

• 151.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Michael-146:

Pretty close to what our first-choice starting line-up will look like, give and take injuries:

1 Deon Carstens
    2 Tiaan Liebenberg
    3 Brok Harris
    4 Rynhardt Elstadt
    5 Andries Bekker
    6 Schalk Burger (c)
    7 Nick Koster
    8 Duane Vermeulen
    9 Dewaldt Duvenage
    10 Peter Grant (Gary van Aswegen first up)
    11 Bryan Habana
    12 Jean de Villiers
    13 Juan de Jongh
    14 Gerhard van den Heever
    15 Gio Aplon

Disclaimer: Nowhere do I say I wouldn’t go in without a fetcher. Just predicting the way they will go. I’d take a long hard look at Reuben Johannes.

• 152.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@grant10-148:

who knows who’d select where?

remember he started with anton leanard for many years.

one thing is for sure, our 1-8 will be right on the fcking ball for a change and not relying on individual brilliance to save us ala Snor.

@Michael-146:

stormers look weaker than last year. bekker is way overrated, as flat track a bully as they come. Same with Dejong. All kak really.

• 153.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-152:

Obviously you’re from Pretoria.

• 154.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-153:

nope, from cape town.

but i realized very quickly years ago that the stormers were pish.

• 155.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-141:
    if you say so hendrik, if you say so.
    i have heard this sort of talk about the stormers for as long as they have been the stormers, honestly.

which actually brings to mind one certain mr gert smal…?…how bout that..?…

• 156.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

oh and koster, I’m yet to see anything that comes close to justifying the hype.

• 157.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-154:

Don’t see how Bekker is overrated… Takes a crazy amount of line-out ball, excellent ball-carrier… a bit of a cheap shot really.

Also very harsh on de Jongh given his lack of game-time and that he’s actually been a pretty dangerous ball-in-hand when on the field.

• 158.Hondo: Reply to this comment

What did we learn from this thread?
    1. That AC & HM are STILL candidates despite ruling themselves out earlier?
    So who is bluffing here? ;)
    2. The main criterion for the appointment will be how many players of colour will the new coach pick?
    3. No Performance Clause will be required, for sure it has not been required from AC, Terue or Pdv

So much fun awaits us :)

• 159.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Michael-150:

• 160.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-157:

please, whenever Bekker is put under pressure at the lineout he gets all flakey and starts shouting and blaming everyone except himself. Definately not altogether mentally yet.

and Dejong?

Come on,seriously, the bloke never passes, on the odd occassion it’s aimed at the floor and then that silly step thing he’s got doesn’t even fool props anymore.

Seriously?

• 161.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-158:

There should be 8 players in contention IMO – I exclude Lwazi Mvovo & Bjorn Basson :D (and Mapoe who’s had some injury problems).

Forwards: Beast Mtawarira, Chiliboy Ralepelle & Ashley Johnson
    Backs: Elton Jantjies, Juan de Jongh, Bryan Habana, JP Pietersen & Gio Aplon

• 162.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-160:

I’ll leave it at that. You’ve obviously got your own ideas :)

The other teams must be really really bad then to go 1 from 8 against them, considering how terrible they are.

• 163.grant10: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-151: bud….that team gets done 6 love at the breakdown…..I am telling you now we go in without a Kitshoff or a fenton wells at fetcher its all over rover….goodnite nurse…..6 love 6 love…listen to an oke that knowws a little bit …

@Brigadier Van Zyl-152: brig….you on the double klippies and diet pepsei again……?

Because vokkit you rekking the bek big time!

• 164.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@grant10-163:

Hey grant, are you in twitter?

You aren’t the ‘grantwp’ guy are you?

Like I said, it’s not the team I’d pick.

• 165.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Smal is an excellent forwards coach but the fact is, after 4 years in Ireland he has no offer in Europe.
    He inherited a sound Stormers team from Allan Solomons, but had little to show past 2001 season, and that was 10 years ago already.
    Prediction: Just a smoke screen article to create impression that there is a competition in selection at SARU,
    It will be AC who will have no Performance clause

• 166.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-161:
    I am all for it, frankly
    Rather go flat out for a sheer entertainment than having a heart break due to unsubstantiated expectations, let the Boks go the Bafana way!
    Dannie Gerber said it years ago

• 167.grant10: Reply to this comment

15 taute
    14 jpp
    13 jdj

12 f steyn
    11 Habanero
    10 Jantjes
    9 hougaard
    8 vermeulen
    7 schalk
    6 brussow
    5 A Bekker
    4 vokken probleem
    3 jannie
    2 bissy
    1 beast

bobs your aunt

• 168.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@grant10-163:

steggies will slice and dice you at the breakdown.

6-luv

• 169.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-168:

Steggies at a breakdown?

I figured by his performance in Australasia that he runs around creating holes in his own defense and missing as many covering tackles as possible.

• 170.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-169:

…something you rekon all to easy with at newlands?

• 171.grant10: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-164: not me

• 172.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@grant10-167:

No Lambie I see :)

Sadie will be there. Wait and see!

So are you Grant Lange?

• 173.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@grant10-171:

Ah ok. Cheers.

• 174.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-152: Nah our front-line starting 15 is stronger than last year.

• 175.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-168: ja….i know that….like minnie did in cc semi….but farken AC dont see it for what it is…..ac like jake in that regard

• 176.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-170:

At Newlands we’ve got Schalk making 3 tackles in the space of 20 seconds.

At Loftus you’re more likely to see Stegmann miss 3 tackles in the space of 20 seconds.

• 177.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

1.A.Boer
    2.chilli
    3.kruger
    4.flip
    5.juandre
    6.steggies
    7.potgieter
    8.spies
    9.hougaard
    10.morne
    11.Basson
    12.Wynand
    13.Sadie
    14. Engelbrecht
    15.Kirchener

….that’s very probably how the Bulls will start the season. Very settled. After that, it’s open season for the young okes to start banging down the doors of selection.

• 178.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Wish i could give an informed opinion but i cant, only thing i can say is he surely cant be worse than our last coach.

• 179.Michael: Reply to this comment

@grant10-167: I like the look though I prefer Lambie at fullback.

Smal as coach. He has the CV, the attitude, the intelligence and is well respected internationally. He knows running rugby well, as a player and coach (except under White).

• 180.grant10: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-172: no bud

• 181.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-177: hahahahahaha. And you say Stormers have a problem at 6,7 and 8. Bwahahahahahahaha

And poor Sadie will never see the ball with Shampoo by his side wanting to know how silky smooth his hair is.

• 182.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-176:

and yet, one has 2 superrugby medals and a CC.

And the other does not.

So guess who’s who?

• 183.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Michael-179: rather gert than ac or heyneke…..i would be happy with him…

• 184.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@grant10-180:

Good. I was going to ask you if you got smacked with the ugly stick as a child.

Haha, no, thats horrible.

But I would have.

• 185.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Michael-179: lambie damn good player….but hell i like taute…attacks like a kiwi!!

• 186.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-182:

The one who missed all those tackles and didn’t play for the 1st-string Bok side?

• 187.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-182:

The one who embarrassed himself in Australasia maybe?

Made me wish Corne Krige was still around the way Stegmann ran around cluelessly.

• 188.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Michael-174:

what kak.

stormers are without Jaque Fourie and Frans Louw. So a weaker starting 15 and with the loss of sadie and whitehead, I’d say a weaker 22 as well.

@Michael-181:

Come now, last time habana scored a superrugby try he was still at the bulls. Jean DeVilliers, for all the hype, does fokol for the stormers backs and then dejong has never passed either.

bulls backrowers are proven superrugby winners, not pretenders.

• 189.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-186:

no, that would be frans louw the year before,ne?

as if skulk has ever eye gouged anybody yet? ne?

• 190.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-188:

I hope you don’t seriously think Habana’s last SR try was when he was at the Bulls?

• 191.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

and the truth of it is, the team I’m really looking forward to watching are the cheetahs.

who the hell is playing for them next season? Which new bunch of no-name brands are going to give the sharks a fat klap?

• 192.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-189:

Louw is average, but still 10x the openside Stegmann is.

It just shows you how well-drilled that Bulls team was, that they could get on with having players like Werner Kruger & Stegmann in their line-up and still win.

• 193.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-190:

nope, I’m sure he’s scored one or two for the stormers, even one against the bulls in the super final.

you know

the one where he was on the losing side?

• 194.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-191:

Willie le Roux perhaps?

They got r@ped by the Bulls the past couple of seasons, meaning no juniors.

• 195.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-193:

You’re making no sense, but okay.

• 196.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-182: One has a WC medal and the other won’t be anywhere near the Bok side again unless Meyer is appointed.

• 197.grant10: Reply to this comment

bulls and shaks se moer….its the lions i am kakking myself for

• 198.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Grant: Taute, Lambie, Jantjies and Pieterson competing :-) Fantastic.

@The Kolonel: JdJ played fantastically when JdV was unavailable in 2010. He will do so again in Fourie’s place. Losing Louw is a blow but someone else will step up; I have no doubt. We are strengthened at prop and with the arrival back of Joe. The Stormers are stronger. Take off your Bully glasses dude and see the sunlight :-) You wait and see. You guys are just scared of the Stormers and afraid you won’t make the semis again.

• 199.Michael: Reply to this comment

@grant10-197: Yup

• 200.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Michael-196:

Ouch, good work.

One has a IRB Player of the Year award.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.