Hansen named ABs coach
16 Dec 2011
The New Zealand Rugby Union has contracted Steve Hansen as the head coach of the All Blacks until the end of 2013.
Hansen was expected to succeed Henry, so Friday’s announcement came as no surprise. Hansen has served as an assistant coach to Henry at the All Blacks for the past eight years, and so his elevation to the top job was seen by many as a natural progression.
On the point of assistants, Hansen’s sidekicks will only be named at a later date. On Friday, Hansen said he will only need one assistant instead of the traditional two. The others involved in the All Blacks management in 2012 will be specialist coaches.
The decision by the NZRU to appoint Hansen was unanimous.

85 Comments
16 Dec 2011, 08:03 am
Those nasty cheating sheepshaggers with their crappy club grounds and cheating refs, who gives a ****
16 Dec 2011, 08:11 am
1. mens, womans, u20 and 7′s world champions we got it all, you got nothing loser except excuses and don’t talk shite you care
16 Dec 2011, 08:17 am
@maximus1-1:
Agghhh these are the ones i love.
A loser that cant handle his team was pathetic at the RWC yet blames
everyone else under the sun.
Has not yet realised this RWC was where SA actually had to play top teams to get to the final.
Unlike 2007 dream run, these posters like Maximus expects every good team to fall over
before SA gets to play them, like 2007.
Enjoy the next 4 years, cos we will like the last 10
16 Dec 2011, 08:41 am
@maximus1-1:
You do dude!
16 Dec 2011, 08:58 am
Good luck Steve!
For the Bok sake, I hope you are not as good as Henry!
16 Dec 2011, 08:59 am
Congratulations Steve. Always a tough time to take over a team – when riding the crest of the wave.
16 Dec 2011, 10:49 am
No one appears to have recognized that he is only contracted until 2013, this is a clear statement that he needs to produce the goods or he will not be the coach for very long.
SARU should take a leaf out of their Kiwi counterpart’s book and do the same, there should be no such thing as a four year ticket!
16 Dec 2011, 10:58 am
@motomouse-7: good observation. In my opinion Hansen is like Coetzee; a good number 2 but not a number 1.
16 Dec 2011, 11:19 am
Is this guy just keeping the seat occupied until Deans becomes available? I don’t really think he is All Black head coach quality. But thats great for everyone else, until then!
16 Dec 2011, 11:42 am
This is VERY good news for the Boks! We all remember Hansen’s “achievements” as forwards coach in 2009 and how Henry had to take over to right the sinking ship.
Hansen also shot his mouth off to try and belittle Victor and then Vic just went ahead and owned the AB lineout that day.
Lets hope SARU dont make a similar STUPID selection and the next 4 years could be good ones!
16 Dec 2011, 11:42 am
@maximus1-1: I love you man
16 Dec 2011, 11:45 am
@Hurricane-3: You can feel VERY lucky that your team didnt have to play the Boks! ABs wouldve been OUT!
Imagine – a French vs SA final in NZ? Wouldve caused no end of psychological scars to the Kiwis.
We had to hear for 4 years how SA didnt deserve the 2007 title because we didnt play any of the top teams – well now I will say the same to the Kiwis.
A New Zealand ref made sure that the ABS would not have to face the Boks. How convenient. And then the Abs could only scraaape to a 1 point victory? When you had the ref ignoring every transgression and McCaw more on the French side of the ruck than Dusatoir was!
16 Dec 2011, 12:05 pm
@bokfan1-12:
“Imagine – a French vs SA final in NZ……….”
It could happen in Fantasy Land.
or, in the mind of some deluded demented soul.
16 Dec 2011, 12:10 pm
@cane-13: It wouldve been the final buddy, if there was any semblence of decent reffing in the QF.
Although I will also say that the Boks shouldve looked for more drop-kicks and penalties in the last 10 mins.
But I admire their spirit in wanting to score tries in the build up to playing in the Semi.
Anyway – NZ now has 2 soft WC victories – both won in NZ.
SA has a very hard-won home victory and one overseas.
Lets see what happens
16 Dec 2011, 12:22 pm
@bokfan1-14:
Come on bokke,
Come on.
Your bunch were actually beaten by Wales in a Pool Game. (Only poor officiating saved the Bokkes).
As for France, they were worthy Finalists. Lucky to be there, yes………………………. but worthy just the same. And we beat them twice.
16 Dec 2011, 12:43 pm
@cane-15: Come Caney! Beaten by Wales? Look at the scoreboard mate – a 1 point win – exactly the same margin as the ABs victory in the final (over a team they had beaten in the pool stages, and had lost to Tonga).
Stats and results can be used to prove anything mate.
I totally agree with you that France were worthy Finalists! In fact I found my opinion in the minority as most people complained that a team that lost 2 pool games could still make the final.
My point is that RWC 2011 was the Boks’ version of the ABs 2007 campaign. Cruelly stolen from them by very poor refereeing, coupled with the wrong decisions made in the last quarter of the game.
It shouldve been the Boks in Semis, and the Boks wouldve beaten the ABs.
16 Dec 2011, 13:04 pm
2@NZINCHINA you forgot to mention that we are also the current rugby league world champs (back to back) and were also the ONLY unbeaten team at the 2010 Fifa world cup. We have also just dumped Aus in test cricket. NZ ROCKS!!!!!
16 Dec 2011, 13:06 pm
well done ‘boofhead’ hansen. from being a cop to All Black head honcho is great progress.
can’t wait for the juicy soundbites “if kevvy said he didn’t do it then he didn’t do it” or “richie knows the rules better than most of these referees”
all the best stevie
16 Dec 2011, 13:09 pm
Well done Hansen and Ian foster this ought to be good! Let’s retain the cup, keep it in the cabinet for four more years!
16 Dec 2011, 13:15 pm
@Delki-17: the “unbeaten team” mantra is the biggest load rubbish & celebration of mediocrity ever in sport. the All Whites didn’t WIN any of their games & left after the 1st round like teams who lost all their games. when you start ‘celebrating’ draws then you’re sliding fast to nowhere
16 Dec 2011, 13:49 pm
@Transformation-20: Shame Tranise, let him have his 15 mins. They forget SA has had a few years of winning lots of things in various sports and we know it doesnt last forever or mean anything.
Look at 2009 – SA won EVERYTHING.
16 Dec 2011, 13:53 pm
@Transformation-20:
Nonetheless Transie,
NZ were the only unbeaten team at the last soccer WC.
A huge achievement for the worlds 68th ranked Team.
We were very proud of Our Boys.
16 Dec 2011, 14:02 pm
he doesn’t give a ****… sothefuckwhat???
16 Dec 2011, 14:04 pm
@bokfan1-16:
That Welsh kick went between the posts bokfanny.
Okes got lucky………………………………………………….lucky enough to meet Oz in the QF.
16 Dec 2011, 14:05 pm
@cane-22: your team DREW all their matches. who comes to a knockout tournament to not win?
16 Dec 2011, 14:07 pm
@cane-24:
jirrrrrrrrrrre… that’s embarrassing dude.
16 Dec 2011, 14:09 pm
It is rumoured that the man Hanson wants as his #2 is John Kirwan.
Currently Head Coach of the Cherry Blossoms and former Coach of Italy.
I hope it works out.
16 Dec 2011, 14:14 pm
@Gtown-26:
I embarrass myself everytime I log on here Gtown.
I’m even comfortable doing so.
i genuinely don’t give a ****.
16 Dec 2011, 14:45 pm
@bokfan1-21:
no you didn’t you got beaten by 2 english club sides and at least one of the NH teams rolled you, you finshed 09 as the 2nd ranked team in the world
16 Dec 2011, 15:39 pm
@NZINCHINA-29: All true China, as I remember it was Ireland that beat us.
I meant tournaments, not just matches, but I take your point.
I do also remember the Baa Baas team full of Saffas beating the ABs to make it 4/4 for the SA players.
@cane-24: Possibly it did Cane, personally when it happened, I thought it had. I wish it HAD gone thru & the Boks had France’s route to the final.
A Bok v AB final wouldve been epic – woudnt it?
Even more epic wouldve been when the Boks beat the ABs and lifted the trophy on NZ soil.
Alas, it was not to be this time (well done to IRB and Bryce Lawrence for setting that one up)
But hopefully in the future it will happen
16 Dec 2011, 17:01 pm
@NZINCHINA-29: you must be desperate. who cares if the NZ A team that competes in the pacific islands comps wins or loses? liecester & saracens played a “Springbok XV” made up of peripheral players & some wildcard picks by the coaches.
but hey let me not get in the way of a good yarn
16 Dec 2011, 18:31 pm
cane – one thing is for sure the ABs will never win the RWC again outside of New Zealand. The whole tournament was geared towards you guys winning, from some very biased ref decisions(made the forward pass RWC 2007 look like nothing) to darn right getting way with murder!!! The French only had the forward pass last RWC however this RWC the ABs were disgustingly offside and infringing ALOT!!
17 Dec 2011, 00:59 am
Shame the all black glory supporters and *** creepers are on here talking bull again, in 2007 the springboks will have beaten the all blacks in the world cup, this world cup was so fixed, Bryce Lawrence should be investigated for match fixing. Who gives a **** about netball , nobody cares. All Black victory in 1987, all they had to do was beat Zimbabwe and Japan, the greatest rugby playing in the world with the likes of carel du plessis, Michael du Plessis, Naas Botha, Danie Gerber made Grant Fox look like a bunch of chimps when the cavaliers toured and yes the supporters would say, only six or 7 cavalier players were in the all balck winning team of 1987, who cares, Springboks were still better.
Oh well last the time a really soft and fixed world cup will be played there, ah damn not even shedding a tear.
17 Dec 2011, 02:14 am
@Transformation-31:
I support the world champions why would I be desparate?
@maximus1-33:
That was 20 years ago when you were in nappies, focus on the future and see if you can avoid the wooden spoon next year and maybe move up one notch in the world rankings to third.
17 Dec 2011, 05:54 am
The board has put aside all the hypothetical scenarios, and have based their decision on what they perceive to be in the best interest of New Zealand rugby. I support this decision. The appointment of Hansen’s assistants will be innovative and again we will lead the world in fresh ideas, new thinking and a strategy that will see the AB’s accomplish what no other team is ever likely to do. That is to win back to back RWC titles.
17 Dec 2011, 10:35 am
@NZINCHINA-34: your earlier comment betrays your ‘desperado’ status mate
17 Dec 2011, 11:59 am
NZ should thank the referees for WC, I spoke to kiwi friend of mine and even he admitted the WC victory was hollow and a farce. IRB would never let another country have won.
17 Dec 2011, 12:07 pm
Who remembers that old **** who admitted the crusaders are racist and only pick a certain number of non white players (which was confirmed, never has their been more than 5 non white players in the squad).
17 Dec 2011, 12:09 pm
Did you guys know that France got fined for moving 5 meters closer to the haka in the final?
All blacks are wankers of note.
17 Dec 2011, 12:12 pm
Did you know All blacks gives away almost 3 times the amount of penalties than the average team before getting yellow carded?
Referees loves the kiwi’s
17 Dec 2011, 12:14 pm
Did you know during the WC there was more hoerre in wellington than their was policeman?
Kiwis love their hoerre.
17 Dec 2011, 12:18 pm
Did you know that out of ALL the super 15 franchises (except the Cheetahs) the kiwi coaches are paid the least amount of money and has minimum benefits?
Those stingy sheepshaggers.
17 Dec 2011, 12:23 pm
Did you know 70% of NZ woman admits being abused by their partners?
Rugby + beer = slap that woman
17 Dec 2011, 12:45 pm
Did you know based on percentage more people immigrate from NZ than SA?
NZ = sheep, beer, bruised woman, rugby
17 Dec 2011, 12:49 pm
Did you know NZ only started using sheep for wool and meat in the late 90′s?
Sheepshaggers
17 Dec 2011, 15:01 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_-45:
Have you ever been to New Zeeland?
17 Dec 2011, 15:17 pm
@Robzim-46:
He’s never left Pretoria.
17 Dec 2011, 15:37 pm
I’ve not been to NZ and I have never left pretoria because I’ve never been there either.
From Cape Town, the place were we do not give our woman a beat down
17 Dec 2011, 15:46 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_-48:
where you don’t beat your woman or win rugby trophies sounds like a nice place
17 Dec 2011, 15:51 pm
You’re a smart guy sounds lovely…
Cape Town is often referred to as one of the high-risk areas in the world with a murder rate on par with that of Rio de Janeiro according to the United Nations.
A more current account is found in Foreign Policy’s “Listing of the Murder Capitals of the World”: With a population of roughly 3.5 mio residents in Cape Town the murder ratio is around 62 murders for every 100,000 persons in 2008. This means there are around six murders happening per day in the Mother City
17 Dec 2011, 15:55 pm
We love our rugby in cape town: schools, varsity, club, vodacom cup, currie cup, super rugby and test match rugby. Unlike NZ, us Safa’s enjoy the game of rugby and not just the all blacks. We have more spectators at Varsity games than super rugby games in NZ
17 Dec 2011, 15:59 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_-51:
Ever been car jacked on the way back from one of those sold out under 5′s games?
17 Dec 2011, 16:03 pm
You started so i’ll finish;
One of the most dangerous areas of Cape Town is Nyanga, where there is an unemployment rate of about 70%, as well as a huge breakout of HIV/AIDS amongst its residents.
17 Dec 2011, 16:06 pm
Nyanga is a rural area, a lot of all black supporters there
17 Dec 2011, 16:07 pm
You should stick to rugby ever country has big problems including mine.
17 Dec 2011, 16:08 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_-54:
Do you not live there?
17 Dec 2011, 16:11 pm
Stop trying to get my address, I’m not a sheep
17 Dec 2011, 16:33 pm
Now I know why you live in Cape town;
Johannesburg is the most dangerous city in the world. As a result of its high crime rate, the CBD of the city, the Hillbrow district has now been taken by the criminals, being the new CBD in the most luxurious suburb of Johannesburg, Sandton City. Tourists are suppossed to never visit Johannesburg… The few policemen in Johannesburg are paid by criminals to not arrest them, and also remembering that South Africa is the country with the highest rates of rapes, carjacking and assaults per capita. The second highest rate of murders, after Colombia.
17 Dec 2011, 16:41 pm
You should stick to rugby ever country has its problems.
17 Dec 2011, 16:46 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_-57: chap, you’re an embarassment.
17 Dec 2011, 22:02 pm
Gtaland is a way better as than coach than Hanson or Henson or is it Handsup?
This chap struggled when he was coaching on his own, fact
He has foot in mouth disease – fact
He was kicked by Henry in 2008/9 – fact
But then agaim the ABs do not need a great coach as they do not have any:
Provincialism
Politics
Government control
Quotas
You basically need a caretaker/manager
17 Dec 2011, 22:03 pm
@Transformation-60: Speaking for everyone or yourself
18 Dec 2011, 01:53 am
@JL1-61:
Hanson will still be good enough to clean up your boys again next year.
18 Dec 2011, 02:15 am
@bokfan1-12:
lol Did you just use the word IMAGINE??
Ok my turn
IMAGINE if the Boks were as good as the supporters say they are.
IMAGINE if the Bok were not the Ozzies *******
IMAGINE if the Boks had 100% of the ball in the QF, they may have drawn with OZ.
@NoRugbyGuru_0_-45:
Strange.
We stared exporting lamb and wool in the 1880s.
My great great grandfather use to have a sheep farm. in the 1940s he use to sell meat to NZ super markets only, never exported. So it seem your facts are either made up or….. they are made up.
PLease do not try and make out you know something about a country when you have never even been there.
18 Dec 2011, 02:17 am
@NZINCHINA-63:
Thats a fact
18 Dec 2011, 02:31 am
@NoRugbyGuru_0_-43:
You must live in a box.
70% is so incorrect its not funny. You have doubled the percentage to make it look good for you. Like its a joke women being abused. I know the figure, lets say my wife works in a place that studies and knows the percentage of reported abuse.
Now you seem to have opened up a can of worms. Below was taken from a stude in 2011. It makes for some disturbing reading, especially for someone like you that seems so blnd or does not care whats happening in your own backyard.
It is estimated that a woman born in South Africa has a greater chance of being raped than learning how to read. One in three of the 4,000 women questioned by the Community of Information, Empowerment and Transparency said they had been raped in the past year.A survey conducted among 1,500 schoolchildren in the Soweto township, a quarter of all the boys interviewed said that ‘jackrolling’, a term for gang rape, was fun. More than 25% of South African men questioned in a survey admitted to raping someone; of those, nearly half said they had raped more than one person, according to a new study conducted by the Medical Research Council (MRC). It is estimated that 500,000 rapes are committed annually in South Africa. A 2010 study led by the government-funded Medical Research Foundation says that in Gauteng province, home to South Africa’s most populous city of Johannesburg, more than 37 percent of men said they had raped a woman. Nearly 7 percent of the 487 men surveyed said they had participated in a gang rape.
South Africa has some of the highest incidences of child and baby rape in the world with more than 67,000 cases of rape and sexual assaults against children reported in 2000. Welfare groups believe that the number of unreported incidents could be up to 10 times that number. The largest increase in attacks was against children under seven. A number of high-profile baby rapes since 2001 (including the fact that they required extensive reconstructive surgery to rebuild urinary, genital, abdominal, or tracheal systems) increased the need to address the problem socially and legally. In 2001, a 9-month-old baby was raped by six men, aged between 24 and 66, after the infant had been left unattended by her teenage mother. A 4-year-old girl died after being raped by her father. A 14-month-old girl was raped by her two uncles. In February 2002, an 8-month-old infant was reportedly gang raped by four men. One has been charged. The infant has required extensive reconstructive surgery. The 8-month-old infant’s injuries were so extensive, increased attention on prosecution has occurred. A common myth holds that sexual intercourse with a virgin will cure a man of HIV or AIDS. Child abusers are often relatives of their victims – even their fathers and providers. According to researcher Suzanne Leclerc-Madlala, the myth that is not confined to South Africa. ?Fellow AIDS researchers in Zambia, Zimbabwe and Nigeria have told me that the myth also exists in these countries and that it is being blamed for the high rate of sexual abuse against young children.?
The sad reality is that rape statistics for South Africa in particular have gone up instead of down over the past 5 years. This is on trend with the rest of the world. But is this a trend we want to see grow ? In South Africa in 2006 there were close 55 000 reported rape cases. There are an estimated 450 000 rape cases that go unreported. Here is some more statistical information on rape worldwide.
So NoRugbyGuru, i understand NZ is not perfect and yes we do have a problem with abuse as most countries, but unlike you we admit it is a problem.
Instead of making up false statements about other countries, do some research on your own and try and fix it.
18 Dec 2011, 11:42 am
@Hurricane-66:
careful mate, some bloggers here will label you racist for writing stuff like that!
18 Dec 2011, 13:08 pm
@charo-67:
Hurricane is anything but racist.
Quite the reverse in reality.
He would never have researched these figures and stats had he met a 1000 Saffa’s on the Streets of Christchurch or Wainuiomata.
But some of these Muppits on Keo…………………………………..they bring out the worst in us.
It is nothing personal…………………………………………..just a reaction.
18 Dec 2011, 13:50 pm
@charo-67:
Hmmm, i thought it had nothing to do with race.
@cane-68:
Oh yes, deep research.
Actually its a report that was bought out in the beginning of the year.
Not trying to prove anything here as most understand we live in a meesed up world in most places but Rugbyguru seems to be a bit blind as to what is actually happening. It seems he brings in our percentages of women bashing etc like its a contest.
Nothing about bashing or rapes or anything like that is a joke.
18 Dec 2011, 21:26 pm
i can never understand the angst people have vs nz, and vice versa, all because of rugby
its only a game yet all these other stats about socio-economic issues are being brought into it.
this is a rugby site, discuss rugby. dont convolute it with bs that has nothing to do with the beautiful game.
nz and sa are tru lovers of rugby yet the fighting on this site is the bitterest between our 2 nations. both teams bring great rivalry and bring out the best in each other.
the global game would be that much less vibrant if either team were to disapear. sure argue with your conterparts but remember you can only truly play your great games against a great side.
the history of the boks and ab’s has produced many many great games
18 Dec 2011, 21:42 pm
@man1a-70:
Fair post mate,.
And you are correct.
But if someone is going to spew incorrect things about my country then i will do my best to prove them incorrect.
Its what Kiwis and South Africans do. No one talks smak about our countries so we enter into an offense stance and attack that person.
Rugbyguru just posted a heap of incorrect facts about NZ and the chances are some of these guys on here would believe it. I proved a few poits were incorrect and he just made these things up, hope he wasnt trying to be funny as that too was a failure.
I merely posted a report as to what is happening around this blind bat Guru.
Seen as he is so worried about women abuse as we all should, lets hope he goes out into his community and help.
18 Dec 2011, 22:39 pm
@Hurricane-71: yeah i know cane. it gets to me as well. i dont reply to those anymore. not because i’m a bigger person but i find it p!sses them off more if i ignore them.
i love bok rugby almost as much as the AB’s. have lots of saffa mates in nz who talk smack but its never as offensive as here. jus sometimes i really cringe at the level people stoop to and it detracts from the intelligent blogs posted by other rational saffa’s. i enjoy understanding the psyche of the honoured enemy.
its just the classClowns trolling for attention that p!ss me off.
19 Dec 2011, 14:37 pm
Let’s see how Blacks and Boks will play under new coaches and whether Blacks will maintain their standard having big gorilla finally off their backs. And whether Aussie young pups will develop into big doggie dogs.
Interesting times ahead.
And vamos Pumas!
20 Dec 2011, 10:47 am
Nah, its because theyre lobotomized loser cnuts with a superiority complex who believe the World owes them something. We dont.
20 Dec 2011, 20:55 pm
@Nils-73: agree looking forward to the Puma’s playn 4nations
21 Dec 2011, 03:31 am
I see all the muppets have their di cks out for measuring………..
Bunch of doos’s
21 Dec 2011, 03:34 am
@man1a-72:
open the other eye dude………….your countrymen also post a load of cr ap here which also detracts from the decent bloggers from NZ……….works both ways
21 Dec 2011, 21:42 pm
@whatever-77: hey i didnt say that the trolling dik heads belonged to any nation. wheres the one eyed ness?
21 Dec 2011, 23:06 pm
@man1a-78:
“jus sometimes i really cringe at the level people stoop to and it detracts from the intelligent blogs posted by other rational saffa’s.”
Re -read your own words doos!
21 Dec 2011, 23:23 pm
@whatever-79: fk hed,learn to read
22 Dec 2011, 01:51 am
@man1a-80:
Keewee edhkasion?
22 Dec 2011, 21:43 pm
@whatever-76:
And who might that be?
2 Jan 2012, 05:33 am
@NoRugbyGuru_0_-51: Because, pilgrim, to maximise the global TV rugby audiences in the Africa/Europe time zone (and whose presence before their TVs pays the big bills — and not just the ******-nut money of gate-takings) all NZ games happen at night. Night. In midwinter. When it’s generally wet and cold and you’ve eaten your dinner and had a bath already and then going downtown to pay hefty bucks watch rugby just isn’t as clever an idea as it might seem if it was sunny mild daylight and only 3pm.
Plus, more people live in Joburg than in the whole on NZ.
2 Jan 2012, 05:34 am
minkeynut-money?
2 Jan 2012, 05:44 am
@NoRugbyGuru_0_-44: You can’t “immigrate from”. You “emigrate from” and you “immigrate to”.