Cash-strapped Lions tighten belts

The Golden Lions Rugby Union insists it will be able to pay its players despite having ‘financial difficulties’.

GLRU deputy president Altmann Allers told the Sunday Times that the union is in ‘the process of huge restructuring’ and that ‘people have been retrenched’, but dismissed reports that player salaries would not be paid this month.

‘I wonder if the rumours will go away when the players get paid this week?’ Allers countered. ‘It is true that we are going through some financial difficulties but the players’ salaries will not be affected. I don’t know if it is a misunderstanding or if someone misinterpreted the situation, but we are going to meet our obligations in 2012 and beyond. We are in financial difficulty but that is exactly why we are cutting back.

‘There are a number of players whose contracts we didn’t renew,’ he added, careful not to go into specifics. ‘We are in negotiations to terminate [the contracts of] 13 others.’

Allers estimates the union will have 40 to 45 senior contracted players in 2012, 30 fewer than last season.

919 Comments

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 1519 » Show All

• 451.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-449:
    oh how i wish that were true….

• 452.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Looking at this from the Franco-SA Rugby alliance POV, I actually wouldn’t be surprised if Paddy gets his Don’t Come Monday medal very soon…

• 453.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-444:

Huggsy some people just thrive on other people’s misery.

We may just have to terms with our buddy in china being one of those okes.

In his defence they do a magnificent Labrador Rossini in NK. If you are a lover of canines that’s pretty hard to turn down.

I believe Capo is banned from North Korea.

Nobody fcuks with Papa Kims dinner.

• 454.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-451: It is true, I tell you.

Hoskins may actually have finally grown some ballas and shown his hand.

We may have seen a Tricolore / Green and Gold rugby revolution.

Don’t be surprised to see a good few games between Boks and France in the next few years.

Maybe a few warm ups for Super Rugby with Toulouse, Perpignan, Biarritz wouldn’t go amiss either.

Schweet.

• 455.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-438: Ahem… Sharks actually won something just last year…

Yes, Stormers have won their pre-season trophy AND that HOLY GRAIL – the SA Conference Champs….

But the Sharks have actually won something that counts to the rest of SA outside the Gaylord Freedom Fighting bubble under the Mountain… Just ask the Lions how much that real trophy called the Currie Cup means…

• 456.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-418: Beyootiful… It brings tears to mine own eyes after Stormersaderboy’s exercise in Tendersure “objective” number crunching yesterday…

Tears of Joy…

And laughter…

Hehehehe… Schweet!

• 457.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@charo-435: Nail on Head! There is that beyootiful feeling you get when backstabbing a backstabber…. Hoskens must be loving it.

• 458.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-453: You know, talking about Capo reminds me of the interesting cuisine that the slinkyslanties can think up. Specifically the flambe’d bo.bbejan brain… Normally one of these pr.imates is secured near the customer, topside of kop removed exposing grey matter and voila flambe’…. I reckon Capo may have been an unfortunate escapee…

• 459.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-455: @Heavens Game-456: Sweet like a lemon.

• 460.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-459: Yes.

• 461.Sasori: Reply to this comment

Whats up swamp Donkeys…. :)

Anyone see that Cecil Afrika try against France…I thought I was looking at Christian Cullen there for a second!

Give that man a bells and a Super Rugby contract.

• 462.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-454:lol i knew you’d like this :-)

@Heavens Game-456: hahaha @ “Tendersure number crunching” hey don’t knock our baby…let’s see who’ll be laughing all the way to the south of france when the trillion rand nuclear power plant procurement commences :-) schweeeeet

• 463.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-459: i had lunch with the chief QS at jo’burg city municipality today & quizzed him a bit about their procurement systems…seems like they having a wee issues.

will get more details when we link up in port st johns on the 26th.

• 464.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sasori-461: that was a BEAUT for sure! we went NUTS in the stands :mrgreen:

• 465.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Seems Eddie Jones is the new coach for Japan.

• 466.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Whatafeckingday

• 467.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@ dawn…. you as well ? have hot bath with glass of wine and a ciggie, oh put some nice smellies in the bath as well.

• 468.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-467: is gunther snorkeling in your bubble bath? ;)

• 469.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@ Transie lolololol crazy man :mrgreen: :roll:

• 470.Sasori: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-464: I only saw it yesterday on the highlights of the day 2 play on rugbydump….seriously last time I had goose bumps watching a try by a saffa like that was Brent Russel scoring some pearlers against Aus a few years back :D

• 471.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Tree I need that! Why isn’t work winding down. Its getting worse!

• 472.Sasori: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-471: I feel your pain. Keo is a break from the grind of work – and there’s no brawling happening on here atm! What, am I now supposed to actually work -_-

Where the Gunther vs youknowwho show when I need it :D

• 473.David: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-463:
    As someone who’s done business with government at national, provincial, and municipal level in Gauteng in IT, “a few wee problems” is a gross understatement. It isn’t just corruption, but a general lack of understanding of the tools they’re acquiring.

• 474.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Naah. It’s skop vs HG and katman!

• 475.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

its all of them, they can mostly be very entertaining and stimulating.

• 476.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-448:

Thousands of people visited SA when it was an oppressive/murdering regime did that mean they supported the government or its policies, obviously plenty around here did though I’m going for a quick look my 1000 Euro’s wont be putting anybody through finishing school in Europe but perhaps the billions of dollars in aid the yanks have pumped in may have, some prefer CNN i’d rather check out the real thing.

• 477.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-453:

you’re tryng too hard mate

• 478.man1a: Reply to this comment

@Sasori-461: cecil afrika is a freak. tackles, chips n chases, has speed to burn.
    tear up his 7′s contract (of course with a bonus for early termination) and get him immediately into superrugby.
    audacious and can sense a gap before it appears. hope he can play a position other than wing. would really like to see what he has to offer in 15′s

• 479.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Sasori-461: @man1a-478: If he does get a superugby contract he should go to the cheetahs. They will utilise him the best out of all the Franchises in S.A

• 480.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@man1a-478: I think he needs to spend 1 more season playing 7′s just to hone his skills. I hope he tackles like Robert Ebersohn after he came out of 7′s.

• 481.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Ohlala… That Gold guy has it in for SA rugby…he thinks PdV deserves another chance as Bok coach :roll:

• 482.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-477:

I’m just happy that we’re still mates.

• 483.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-482:

Xmas is coming.

• 484.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-481: yeah, just saw gary punting pete too…lekker msl this oke :mrgreen:

• 485.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-484: where did you see that Transie?

• 486.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Gary is a good fella.

He is just being nice to divot because he knows he has more chance of making a rhino pregnant than he does of wearing the green blazer again.

• 487.grant10: Reply to this comment

If Goldis backing PDV it is because Gold wants another crack as assistant Bok coach……

Seems AC outof the running so Golds chances of coaching Stormers gone…..now he is throwing the PDV dice…..
    For me….all 3 of the Stooges tainted…..best they stay far away from Bok and Stormer / WP Rugby….

• 488.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

does anybody know where ricky is?

http://www.iol.co.za/news/back-page/hunt-on-for-armed-croissant-robber-1.1201877

• 489.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-481:
    where do you get this info?

• 490.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-484:
    msl?

• 491.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-488:

Apparently he thought he was robbing a bank.

When one of the employees reasoned with him he said – shut up and give me the dough.

I hope he has a freezer.

• 492.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-491:
    i guess some guys could kill for a croissant :grin:
    silly frenchies…

• 493.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@…489.. saw him saying it on the news this morning. Really punting him, giving some stats how he has never lost against England and i think he said something about winning 4 in a row against kiwis. Pity he didnt say bout losing 2 Scotland, think that was a first as well.

• 494.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-493:
    ok, thanks.
    its a mixed bag for him really. yes, they did some good things but, yes, they also did some bad. at the end of the day mediocre is unacceptable and to top it off they did preside over the loss of the grail.
    so, no thanks to him and divvy… they should just move along.

• 495.mvk: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-491: ag shurrup you fekkin pink tutu wearing f aggot.you and your daddy still fighting over pink frilly panties?

• 496.mvk: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-476: absolutely.some on here like gunther the f aggot and his pink frilly panty wearing father definitely supported the actions of their apartheid government and probably still hope that those great days of pushing blackies down staircases returns.

• 497.Michael: Reply to this comment

OY! Calling someone a f aggot is way out of order and helluva nasty. Don’t be a bloody homophobic p-rick, doos.

• 498.mvk: Reply to this comment

@Michael-497: in africa we don’t take kindly to gunther and his father’s kind…get it!

• 499.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-485: he was on E-tv this morning outside Newlands…as Tree said he cited all of pete’s ‘achievements’ and said ‘whether one is a fan of pete or not you can’t take away his success’ over the past 4 years”

thet asked him about coaching the Stormers & he said “no, i’m not going to be coaching the stormers, i haven’t spoken to anyone at wp/stormed about working with them, i’ve got opportunities lined up for me but not stormers.”

• 500.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-490: msl should be MAL.

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 1519 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.