Cash-strapped Lions tighten belts
18 Dec 2011
The Golden Lions Rugby Union insists it will be able to pay its players despite having ‘financial difficulties’.
GLRU deputy president Altmann Allers told the Sunday Times that the union is in ‘the process of huge restructuring’ and that ‘people have been retrenched’, but dismissed reports that player salaries would not be paid this month.
‘I wonder if the rumours will go away when the players get paid this week?’ Allers countered. ‘It is true that we are going through some financial difficulties but the players’ salaries will not be affected. I don’t know if it is a misunderstanding or if someone misinterpreted the situation, but we are going to meet our obligations in 2012 and beyond. We are in financial difficulty but that is exactly why we are cutting back.
‘There are a number of players whose contracts we didn’t renew,’ he added, careful not to go into specifics. ‘We are in negotiations to terminate [the contracts of] 13 others.’
Allers estimates the union will have 40 to 45 senior contracted players in 2012, 30 fewer than last season.

919 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 … 19 » Show All
21 Dec 2011, 11:01 am
Its that strange time of year again.
The wee man and his bunch of merry men have clearly packed up for an early xmas and left the site to the mercy of their subjects.
Papa Noel has even got to guntertjie, who is now mates with China and its all becoming far too nice and far too do-gooderish
Thank God mvk still remains for amusement
21 Dec 2011, 11:04 am
@Transformation-499:
Gold was the person responsible for creating the “Rush Defence” but since then has added no further value to rugby.
21 Dec 2011, 11:09 am
@Bod-501:
The wee guy may have headed for the beach,
but Santa is still watching.
And some of you Japies have been particularly naughty this year.
So only put up a small stocking christmas eve.
Ho ho ho.
21 Dec 2011, 11:12 am
Heavans Game, Gunther and Bod…………………………………………………………Don’t bother with a stocking of any friggen kind.
bad boys get no toys.
21 Dec 2011, 11:13 am
Tis a wonder time of the year.
21 Dec 2011, 11:14 am
@Transformation-500:
oh i see.
21 Dec 2011, 11:16 am
@Transformation-499: just glad about the Stormers / WP comments……
I certainly dont want him as Boss man at ewlands…..
That entire FBC must move along !
21 Dec 2011, 11:17 am
@Santa cane-503:
i wished for heyneke to get the the job and for the boks to moer the all blacks six love next year as my christmas presents…do you think i’ll get em santa?..do you…
oh i’ve been such a good boy, really i have…
21 Dec 2011, 11:19 am
@Bod-501: hey boderick…how did you feel seeing barca DEMOLISH santos 4 – 0 and becoming the BEST football club in the world?
fiorentino perez must be fuming, along with every madrista alive.
21 Dec 2011, 11:20 am
Peri Weepu took Bill (The Webb Ellis Cup), to the Chatham Islands this week.
Now that boy is gunna get a sack full of goodies on the 25th.
(Chatham Islands {Pop 605…………………………. 606 when Peri was there.)
21 Dec 2011, 11:23 am
@Santa cane-503:
Santa Cane aka chokerman aka Ihaveanidentitycrisis
I cant believe you included me amongst the riff raff of HG and Guntertjie. I even got an xmas card from Pops last week!
I trust all is well in Waikenai. Sister Bod is sunning it out in SA for the festive season
21 Dec 2011, 11:26 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-508:
Tis the season to be jolly Bakkies.
But lets all try to keep our feet firmly on the friggen ground……………………… okay.
I’ll give you the Protea’s 2-0 over the Black Caps in the up coming Cricket Test Series.
Best I can do.
21 Dec 2011, 11:28 am
@Bod-511:
I wish you, your Sister, and all of Yours, a truely great family Christmas Bod.
It will be very special to all be together.
21 Dec 2011, 11:35 am
@Transformation-509:
Yip… “world club champs” amongst some really stiff competition
I reckon the Levante 3rd side would have had a real crack at the “might” of Santos and would have at least made sure that that prat Neymar was hospitalised during the game
21 Dec 2011, 11:44 am
@Santa cane-513:
Ok Caner. I am only going to say this once, I am going to whisper it and you are the only Kiwi I will ever say this to….. so keep it between us…. capiche?
On second thoughts, let me do it in Spanish to try and rescue a bit of my reputation
Feliz navidades en tu y su familia y espero tiene un 2012 espectaculor! Tranquilo amigo…
21 Dec 2011, 11:44 am
@Bod-514: 19yr old Neymar is a phenom! he is the Israel Dagg of football!
21 Dec 2011, 11:48 am
@Bod-515:
Okay put out a big stocking.
21 Dec 2011, 11:52 am
@Santa cane-512:

dammit santa!…i’ll take it but i warn you… i’ll sell my soul to the devil for the rest..
21 Dec 2011, 11:55 am
@Transformation-516:
Its his haircut that irritatestheshit outta me.
I dont know what it is with these Spanish/Portuguese chicos and their stupid haircuts. I would love to open up a good old fashioned barber shop in downtown Valencia. The one with the red candystripe columns and only one choice of styling…. the good ol No 1 blade.
21 Dec 2011, 11:59 am
@Santa cane-517:
Thanks bud
I know you will need a fairly large stocking for your xmas wishes…
21 Dec 2011, 12:04 pm
@Bod-519: hahaha you saw how dani alves was when he joined the catalans from sevilla, same crazy haircuts…now he jisy cuts it short,no flash.
imagine andres iniesta with that hairdo
neymar is like francois hougaard when it comes to haircuts
21 Dec 2011, 12:04 pm
All Capo wants for Christmas is his two front teeth.
His two front teeth
His two front teeth.
21 Dec 2011, 12:05 pm
except for well known racists like hg,gunther,rangerman,hondo,bod,katman,kobuskitty,sharkslover….super blacks like transformation and brainless idiots like dawn,au revoir,skoppie i wish all the bloggers on keo a great christmas.
21 Dec 2011, 12:07 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-522: howdy mr f aggot.you dumped your father in the hole wearing his pink frilly panties or did you keep ity all for yourself?
21 Dec 2011, 12:08 pm
My favourite Christmas Carol……………………………The Little Drummer Boy.
My favourite Christmas Movie……………Bad Santa. (that Oke reminds me of me).
21 Dec 2011, 12:12 pm
@mvk-524:
Is your mom doing her 2 for 1 Xmas spitroast special this year?
Have you found out who your old man is yet?
21 Dec 2011, 12:14 pm
Now behave Children……………………………………..
21 Dec 2011, 12:16 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-526: have you asked your mother,the cheap 20 rand tart ,why she drove your daddy to wearing pink frilly panties?
21 Dec 2011, 12:17 pm
@Transformation-521:
The new one here is the “Mohawk”. Every second chico under 23 years has it. That stupid one that has a number one back and sides, yet the top hair is spared and all gelled up into the shape of an Andorran mountain peak.
Its the type of haircut I imagine mvk walks around with…
21 Dec 2011, 12:17 pm
525@ santa cane…is bad santa really that enjoyable, hub watched it last year and told me it was really funny, i dont watch xmasy movies so hvnt seen it.
21 Dec 2011, 12:20 pm
gunthie’s daddy loved peanut butter so much…he overdosed on it!!hehehehehe
21 Dec 2011, 12:22 pm
@mvk-523:
gosh, what makes me a ‘brainless idiot’?
oh well anyway, have a merry christmas all the same…
21 Dec 2011, 12:24 pm
@Treehugger-530:
It’s crude, really crude Treelover.
Whatever you do …………………………do not let any child in your care. watch this movie.
And don’t watch this movie with your parents……………………………you, or they, may be embarassed.
Other than that, it’s fabulous irony and fun.
Billy Bob Thornton…………………………………is awesome as Santa.
Best Christmas Movie ever.
21 Dec 2011, 12:25 pm
@Santa cane-527:
true…its the season to be jolly after all…
21 Dec 2011, 12:28 pm
@Santa cane-527:
Spare the rod spoil the Capo.
His favorite christmas song is How much is that Doggie in the Window.
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-534:
What will the Bakkies household have for Christmas lunch????????
Boerwors and Biltong washed down with Castle Ale and Nederberg?
lol no wonder hub enjoyed it, will watch if its on again, dont do children so no problem there.
21 Dec 2011, 12:33 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-535:
Tis the time to reach out Gunna,
a time to embrace.
21 Dec 2011, 12:39 pm
gunthies mommy only wants a good few black bananas for christmas.have to admire a woman that drove her husband and gunthies father to wearing pink frilly panties.
21 Dec 2011, 12:42 pm
@mvk-539:
You are not helping the Christmas spirit here mvk.
try a little harder.
21 Dec 2011, 12:43 pm
@Santa cane-536:
i will admit i actually really, really do love boerewors.. and really, really do love biltong…
i dont know how skop can do it as a man, to go without meat
am not a big fan of wine but do love a beer.
windhoek, castle and/or grolsch (a dutch friend got me onto it)
and, when i can get my hands on some, zambezi beer
its made up in zimbabwe and i became fond of it on holiday, was pissed on it while fishing on the zambezi (incredible country really) and watched a dumb foreigner almost get taken by crocs… cant remember his nationality but he wasn’t kiwi.
21 Dec 2011, 12:43 pm
@Santa cane-540: sorry bad santa…..will try my best.
21 Dec 2011, 12:48 pm
To all bloggers and their families – have a happy and peaceful Christmas, one and all.
21 Dec 2011, 12:49 pm
@Santa cane-536:
to tell you the truth i find christmas lunch to be an overrated show, personally.
******’sakes just fire up a weber and stick some meat on it.. there really is nothing in world as satisfying as a braai.
i could do it every day of my life, honest
21 Dec 2011, 12:51 pm
@mvk-539: Capo, how you my little teflon coated toilet escapee… Fark, my last dump nearly tore me a new one… Was that you?
Must have been… It was farken technicolour and the whiff was worse than a prawn left in sunshine for a couple of days.
21 Dec 2011, 12:55 pm
@Santa cane-504: Sheep torchlight in the post SantaKarnt… you know…? those rubbery reverse warthog things decorated appropriately with merino wool to give a distinct Kiwi flavour… A couple of blue pills come free, to help your old Humphrey along too…
21 Dec 2011, 12:59 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-544:
My sentiments exactly.
But some kind of effort is expected by the wider family, by tradition……………………………..so we do it.
21 Dec 2011, 13:01 pm
@Bod-511: Mike Greenaway’s Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance…?
21 Dec 2011, 13:02 pm
@Heavens Game-546:
You cannot beat a good bit of lamb on christmas day HG.
May you age in hell.
21 Dec 2011, 13:04 pm
I’ll pop in from time to time when the opportunity presents, but on the whole we’ve exhausted all the topics so we are just talking k uk here these days.
But with that all being said, i wish everyone a blessed, peaceful, and happy Christmas and New Year and look forward to sparring with all of you in the new year.
New Super Rugby, Tri Nations, CC, VC even Varsity Cup.
Frans Steyn coming to WP (did I say that aloud????) You heard it here first
As Lou Reed said: The future’s so bright……….
Ho ho ho ho ho
Peace on Earth and all that.
Cheers all.
Pages: « 1 … 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 … 19 » Show All