Cash-strapped Lions tighten belts
18 Dec 2011
The Golden Lions Rugby Union insists it will be able to pay its players despite having ‘financial difficulties’.
GLRU deputy president Altmann Allers told the Sunday Times that the union is in ‘the process of huge restructuring’ and that ‘people have been retrenched’, but dismissed reports that player salaries would not be paid this month.
‘I wonder if the rumours will go away when the players get paid this week?’ Allers countered. ‘It is true that we are going through some financial difficulties but the players’ salaries will not be affected. I don’t know if it is a misunderstanding or if someone misinterpreted the situation, but we are going to meet our obligations in 2012 and beyond. We are in financial difficulty but that is exactly why we are cutting back.
‘There are a number of players whose contracts we didn’t renew,’ he added, careful not to go into specifics. ‘We are in negotiations to terminate [the contracts of] 13 others.’
Allers estimates the union will have 40 to 45 senior contracted players in 2012, 30 fewer than last season.

919 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 … 19 » Show All
21 Dec 2011, 14:56 pm
b ab oons
21 Dec 2011, 14:59 pm
guys, I brought some xmas troll food.
mvk is a very nice troll and should only be fed the best troll food.
so there you go, it’s gold label troll-o super 1. only the best for the best.
more importantly, happy dayz y’all! enjoy…
We’re gonna put 2 ducks and a ham in the one weber, and strap the mini spit on the other weber and spit 2 lamb legs. that’s all in the engish winter, too!! lekker
peace
Gtown (which stands for Grahamstown, my birthplace
)
21 Dec 2011, 15:06 pm
stupid boy, get yr facts right, it was m-nk-y.
21 Dec 2011, 15:11 pm
@Treehugger-603: no,it was ba boon you fekkin racist prick.after you have been exposed as a racist you have lost all credibility on this website.
21 Dec 2011, 15:17 pm
@Gtown-602: safe
21 Dec 2011, 15:22 pm
Really,
and yr opinion about anything is valued.
21 Dec 2011, 15:28 pm
@mvk-604:
The sad lonely people come out to play on keo the closer it gets to christmas.
21 Dec 2011, 15:28 pm
@Gtown-602:
21 Dec 2011, 15:30 pm
@mvk-598: But you are a bo.bbejan, Capo… :capeflatssmiley:
21 Dec 2011, 15:40 pm
@Heavens Game-609:
A big fat lonely simian looking for a mate.
Hoohoohooheeeeheehee.
21 Dec 2011, 15:56 pm
@Gtown-602: cheers Gtown, enjoy!
@mvk-604: bobbej aan.
in fact i think your new name should be jan (die bobbojan)
21 Dec 2011, 15:58 pm
The new SA how is that different from the old one?
@Great White Shark-607: you are are nothing but a piece of ************* who proudly confessed on this website that you enjoyed torturing black people as a police commander of a hit squad during the apartheid years.you have even less credibility than treehugger so piss off you pink swine.
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-608:
I am just wondering who in their right minds would brag about hailing from Grahamstown??
21 Dec 2011, 15:59 pm
@NZINCHINA-612:
China
For once you make sense…
21 Dec 2011, 16:00 pm
@mvk-613:
Is that true?
21 Dec 2011, 16:02 pm
@NZINCHINA-612: not really when you have murderers like great white shark still running around as if nothing has happened.rubbish like him,rangerman and others really deserved something worse than the freedom they currently enjoys……south africa would have been the better for it.
21 Dec 2011, 16:04 pm
Wonder if there is any one from SA not on his chitlist.
Ok am going 2 stop playing with you now, my only pathetic excuse 4 doing it in the first place is i was very hot and bored.
21 Dec 2011, 16:05 pm
@NZINCHINA-616: he was a riot squad commander…..the most murderous apartheid police unit.
21 Dec 2011, 16:07 pm
Great white you actually said you enjoyed torturing people?
21 Dec 2011, 16:10 pm
you can ask skoppie as well about his torturing boasts.
21 Dec 2011, 16:11 pm
@Great White Shark-610: Well done, Great White Sharkie, I think you have made Capo your biyatch… One post and its done. Masterful
21 Dec 2011, 16:13 pm
@mvk-613: Hey, whatever GWS (Mr GWS to you, btw) might have “bragged” about is his story, but nothing beats your Poodle whacking conquest stories, cuzzie… Hellsteeth
21 Dec 2011, 16:16 pm
@NZINCHINA-612: Its like Chinese, Japanese, Pekingese… All the same… You should know…
21 Dec 2011, 16:18 pm
lol, u actually believe what comes out this guy. He is possibly the vilest specimen 2 ever grace these boards. You make up yr own mind.
21 Dec 2011, 16:18 pm
@Treehugger-618: Take it as a compliment Tree…
21 Dec 2011, 16:19 pm
@Treehugger-625: Nearly as vile as Poppa in shizo-psychotic breakdown mode…
21 Dec 2011, 16:21 pm
@Bod-614: You go to Rhodes, boet?
didn’t think so…
21 Dec 2011, 16:21 pm
@Treehugger-625: you condone the practice of torturing black people you low life white english b i t ch.?
21 Dec 2011, 16:24 pm
@NZINCHINA-620: Dude, please… do not listen to it.
@Heavens Game-624:
It would appear that SA hasn’t changed at all, bragging about torturing people and you have no problem with that because you were all for it and still are.
@Treehugger-625:
Can you blame him though?
@Gtown-628:
Nah… I went to proper varsity in a proper town
21 Dec 2011, 16:25 pm
@mvk-629: heeere trolly troll… got a treat for yooouuu… best there is!
@mvk-629: Its Madam Tree to you… You forgotten your kisshen manners?
Say after me, “Ma…dam”…
And a “Yes, baas” wouldn’t go amiss afterward…
@Gtown-630:
GWS can nip it in the bud right now if its not true.
21 Dec 2011, 16:26 pm
@NZINCHINA-631:
One comment of sense…. and now its back to the old China
Yegads
21 Dec 2011, 16:26 pm
Keo 1 crazy blog site….insanity rules…..
working damn hard ….who said Dec is a slow down? Fark me!!
Not complaining though….
21 Dec 2011, 16:27 pm
@NZINCHINA-631: Torturing sheepshaggers ain’t the same as torturing “people”, yeah?
Sheez, whats this world coming to… PC everywhere… Pfft, now sheepshaggers want to become “people”… Whateverthefck next?
21 Dec 2011, 16:30 pm
@Bod-632: ja ja ja… no better varsity SA. believe it! might not be the biggest, but if you take the per head for staff and students, there are more papers published and better results percentages than anywhere else in our lovely land. That being said growing up there was another story altogether!! 14 – 18??? not fun. thank vok for my Cape Town getaways every holiday…
@NZINCHINA-631: sweeping statements don’t mean anything, buddy. try again…
21 Dec 2011, 16:31 pm
@NZINCHINA-631: two white males got released for killing a black homeless man and torturing his friend in 2001.they served 3 years of a 12 year sentence and got released on the recommendation of a mostly white parole board whose decision was made legal by a white judge.when the black prison minister tried to to stop this release white people in this country exploded on social sites attacking this black minister and the anc government.this is the sick mind of white saffas my friend.
21 Dec 2011, 16:32 pm
@Heavens Game-638:
fair enough but you didn’t have a problem with black people being tortured during the apartheid years did you, be honest now?
21 Dec 2011, 16:33 pm
@NZINCHINA-620: Are you being faux-righteous, my little sheepshagging Pakeha?
What’s torture? Mmmm, must ask them Chinamen the next time I meet with one… Heard them slinkyslanties are quite accomplished…
21 Dec 2011, 16:34 pm
come on great white shark!come on out and tell us you never were a riot squad commander tasked with torturing black political activists and innocent women and children.
21 Dec 2011, 16:36 pm
@Gtown-639:
Ok…. at least Rhodes taught you the art of picking up on trollers and how not to take the bait
Still, I am sure GTown is a million yarns better than anywhere on that Mud Island you find yourself in now… enjoy the feast!
21 Dec 2011, 16:36 pm
@NZINCHINA-641: Fck off with whats “fair” or not… What the fck gives you the right to moralise? Antipodeans have quite an interesting torturous history themselves, hey?
Best you try your utmost not referring to antipodean hypocrisy… Before the tears start flowing, okay?
21 Dec 2011, 16:37 pm
@Heavens Game-642:
Nope just asking a question.
21 Dec 2011, 16:39 pm
@Heavens Game-645:
All that is true, was just wondering what your personal stance was if you don’t want to answer fair enough, yip NZ did some pretty bad things in 1830 as well.
21 Dec 2011, 16:39 pm
@NZINCHINA-641: he is from zimbabwe and there might be a possibility that his family might have engaged in war crimes against blacks there during the fight for zim independence.we should also remember that the apartheid government dispatched hit squads over to rhodesia as it was known then in order to help ian smith and the white minority when mugabe started to gain the upperhand in the war.
21 Dec 2011, 16:40 pm
@mvk-640: Fairy Tales… Would do Hans Christian Andersen proud… Come now Capo, what would you know as a pimply little white CT chebab
21 Dec 2011, 16:40 pm
Have to run, good night all.
Pages: « 1 … 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 … 19 » Show All