Cash-strapped Lions tighten belts
18 Dec 2011
The Golden Lions Rugby Union insists it will be able to pay its players despite having ‘financial difficulties’.
GLRU deputy president Altmann Allers told the Sunday Times that the union is in ‘the process of huge restructuring’ and that ‘people have been retrenched’, but dismissed reports that player salaries would not be paid this month.
‘I wonder if the rumours will go away when the players get paid this week?’ Allers countered. ‘It is true that we are going through some financial difficulties but the players’ salaries will not be affected. I don’t know if it is a misunderstanding or if someone misinterpreted the situation, but we are going to meet our obligations in 2012 and beyond. We are in financial difficulty but that is exactly why we are cutting back.
‘There are a number of players whose contracts we didn’t renew,’ he added, careful not to go into specifics. ‘We are in negotiations to terminate [the contracts of] 13 others.’
Allers estimates the union will have 40 to 45 senior contracted players in 2012, 30 fewer than last season.

919 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 » Show All
22 Dec 2011, 12:37 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-800:
With the weather in Cape Town today resembling that of Mud Island, I’m going to be sauntering off to Belthazar’s for some prime rump.
I’m just worried I won’t be able to find a space, what with all the temporary visitors who can’t be at the beach today…
22 Dec 2011, 12:44 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-800: does braaivleis still taste the same?..
[b]Yip. Saffa shops import *** Namib steak and make a mean boerie.[/b]
what about the sunset..?. surely it cant be like an african sunset.. can it, can it..?..
[b]It certainly isn’t. in fact the sky sits significantly lower to your head. That being said you get some amazing sunsets. If we could post pics here i would.[/b]
and most dangerously of all…what about the rugby..?..is it hard?..is it uncompromising?.. does it give you an electric thrill all through your body?.. [b]dude, it’s all about the superrugby, and bokke!! same same[/b]
sjoe! hellbells!..
i’m amazed your still alive man… be careful, you could just drop dead at any moment…
[b]thanks for the concern
[/b]
We’ll be in SA in March for 3 weeks. Ouma, Oupa, (my Side) and Nana and Grampa (her side) are paying for us to come out. Can’t afford tickets to SA any more… £3000 for the 4 of us…
22 Dec 2011, 12:44 pm
wow the bulls captain courageous puts out a fire, saves a dear old gran AND her six kittens in one go…
http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/Spies-helps-extinguish-fire-20111221
beware sa franchises…beware…
22 Dec 2011, 12:45 pm
aw cr@p, the bold code didn’t work…
22 Dec 2011, 12:47 pm
@Gtown-802: *** = t i t
22 Dec 2011, 12:57 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-803:
He should have left Port Alfred to burn.
22 Dec 2011, 12:59 pm
Happy holidays everyone, stay safe wherever you find yourself!
22 Dec 2011, 13:04 pm
@WP Till I Die-801:
well do enjoy, hope you get a table.
@Gtown-802:

ok then, sounds all good to me
do yourself a favour and download toto’s i bless the rains down in africa and play it on your mp3 as you come in to land at o.r tambo/cape town international.
try not to cry in front of the wife & kids if you do…
22 Dec 2011, 13:05 pm
@WP Till I Die-806:
lmfao
22 Dec 2011, 13:11 pm
Jinne
First time I come across a cowardly scaredy-cat Shark!
22 Dec 2011, 13:14 pm
@WP Till I Die-801:
Bloody debauchery
Is that rump steak or ladies’ prime rump
22 Dec 2011, 13:17 pm
I love the way our racial protocol expert in china stays schtum when his new buddy capo calls someone a white *****.
Clearly the silly season is in full swing.
22 Dec 2011, 13:20 pm
@NZINCHINA-791:
“it was bred into you over generations”
????????
and you call white saffas bigoted?
hahahahahahaha
if you must know, i am the son of a very liberal english immigrant.
can only imagine your miserable life in a cramped apartment in some remote town in china is the reason for all this pent up hatred
22 Dec 2011, 13:20 pm
Ah the talk of christmas lunch and food always interesting. I am braaing 2kg of fillet for Christmas. @WP Till I Die-801: Is Belthazar and Balducci connected somehow?
22 Dec 2011, 13:23 pm
@Dawn-811:
Prime rump steak.
The ladies portion.
With a glass of the house dread.
22 Dec 2011, 13:24 pm
Quake Cooper at it again!
Police have arrested a man who broke into the family home of cricketer Ed Cowan, a day after he was named as a potential opener for Australia in the first test against India at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.
Police said Thursday the man barricaded himself inside a bedroom at the home and held police at bay for more than four hours, saying he had a gun, before they stormed the home and arrested him.
There was no immediate confirmation whether Cowan, who was in Melbourne with the rest of the Australian team, still lives at the house in the suburb of Darling Point in eastern Sydney.
Police Superintendent Jason Joyce said it was a difficult situation for police because “he (the man) did make threats at the time.”
22 Dec 2011, 13:29 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-815:
Everyone is ignoring me today.
First the Great White Coward, now WPTID.
Feckers.
22 Dec 2011, 13:29 pm
@Dawn-811:
@WP Till I Die-801:
i think you should spread the christman cheer and take dawn along
@Sasuke-814:
never like fillet on a braai…too tricky cos it can dry out easliy
best you make it bloody
22 Dec 2011, 13:30 pm
always been a bit partial to a ladies rump myself…
22 Dec 2011, 13:32 pm
@Sasuke-814:
actually its got very little blood relative to other cuts i suppose so just go rare is what i mean.
22 Dec 2011, 13:36 pm
@Dawn-817:
Wptid probably has his eye on the new temp in private banking.
A quick lunch for two and he will be t-boning her fillet at the Cullinan.
22 Dec 2011, 13:36 pm
Rude!
22 Dec 2011, 13:38 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-821:
Yes. Very private banking.
Pay -by-the-hour hotel on Greenmarket Square.
Slag daai rump.
22 Dec 2011, 13:38 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-820: Yessir i will be making it rarer than a fit flyhalf at the Stormers.
22 Dec 2011, 13:39 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-821: lol
@Dawn-823: lol when last did i heard the word slag!
22 Dec 2011, 13:46 pm
@Dawn-823:
The tudor????
22 Dec 2011, 13:49 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-826:
Pay-by-the-hour, no questions asked.
22 Dec 2011, 13:49 pm
@Dawn-797:
Wanna see it?
22 Dec 2011, 13:50 pm
@Groot Wit Haai-828:
Big bek
22 Dec 2011, 13:54 pm
@Dawn-829:
If it goes off don’t blame me. The larger weapons can be dangerous when handled by women.
22 Dec 2011, 13:57 pm
@Groot Wit Haai-830:
Don’t keep yourself premature.
Women can handle any big weapons.
22 Dec 2011, 13:59 pm
@grant10-819:
just remember to chew properly before you swallow…
22 Dec 2011, 14:02 pm
@Sasuke-824:
that is rare
i like it
22 Dec 2011, 14:05 pm
“slag daai rump”
fok!
nou’s ek honger…
22 Dec 2011, 14:06 pm
@Dawn-831:
I like a woman that isn’t afraid of bigger weapons.
22 Dec 2011, 14:10 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-834: Me too.
22 Dec 2011, 14:12 pm
just cant get my head around craig… i really cant…:
http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/Joubert-reflects-on-RWC-final-20111221
22 Dec 2011, 14:21 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-837: Those marginal decisions helped the All Blacks in the last 10 mins.
22 Dec 2011, 14:22 pm
poppa if you’re out there (alive i hope) and do sneak a peak every so often then ithis is for you:
http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/Few-RWC-gains-for-NZ-businesses-20111221
clock this down to it being the ‘best world cup ever’..no?
22 Dec 2011, 14:25 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-839: I am sure it did benefit them some way or another….they are just too dumb to see a blessing right infront of them.
22 Dec 2011, 14:30 pm
@Sasuke-836:
@Sasuke-838:
“marginal decisions”… you’re too kind sir…
22 Dec 2011, 14:54 pm
@WP Till I Die-806: Oi. Watchit…
22 Dec 2011, 15:07 pm
Just made home made hamburgers for the family. Grilled with some Jimmy’s sauce.
Great stuff!
I feel a nap coming on……
22 Dec 2011, 15:16 pm
@stormersboy-843: Sounds great!
22 Dec 2011, 15:39 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-839:
It was a great world cup, what the whole world already knew became official.
22 Dec 2011, 15:50 pm
@794 Fuckadilly. Who mentioned December 25? Not me numbnuts. If there was ever a blogger who pretended to know so much about what everyone else knows, but actually knows fukkall himself it is you. Stupid is as stupid does all right and you just keep on doing it. Happy Solstice Boxing day. A poultice made of St Johns Wort and old Joan Baez records should see that scrotum swelling come down in time for Aztec New Year.
22 Dec 2011, 15:54 pm
a 3g signal for the first time ever, and this place is like a cemetary
22 Dec 2011, 16:03 pm
Eish you Cape town people and directions, how do you manage to get lost on a straight road 8km from my house
22 Dec 2011, 16:10 pm
@NZINCHINA-845:
look, chain yanking aside, it was a great wc no doubt and well done to nz for hosting it. whether it was the ‘best ever’ is an all together other story though and pretty much open to discussion.
22 Dec 2011, 16:10 pm
@Treehugger-848: There’s no mountain for reference. It’s like going to JHB. Bloody nightmare!
Maybe they heard you were making your favourite veg stew
Pages: « 1 … 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 » Show All