Cash-strapped Lions tighten belts
18 Dec 2011
The Golden Lions Rugby Union insists it will be able to pay its players despite having ‘financial difficulties’.
GLRU deputy president Altmann Allers told the Sunday Times that the union is in ‘the process of huge restructuring’ and that ‘people have been retrenched’, but dismissed reports that player salaries would not be paid this month.
‘I wonder if the rumours will go away when the players get paid this week?’ Allers countered. ‘It is true that we are going through some financial difficulties but the players’ salaries will not be affected. I don’t know if it is a misunderstanding or if someone misinterpreted the situation, but we are going to meet our obligations in 2012 and beyond. We are in financial difficulty but that is exactly why we are cutting back.
‘There are a number of players whose contracts we didn’t renew,’ he added, careful not to go into specifics. ‘We are in negotiations to terminate [the contracts of] 13 others.’
Allers estimates the union will have 40 to 45 senior contracted players in 2012, 30 fewer than last season.

919 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 19 » Show All
19 Dec 2011, 16:21 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-197: SA rugby needs the Bulls to come right again.
19 Dec 2011, 16:21 pm
@Heavens Game-196: Actually on the management front you will get no argument from me.
Tobie is to good management what Imelda Marcos was to frugality.
19 Dec 2011, 16:22 pm
@stormersboy-195: hahahahaha lliar !!!!!! you hate veggies.
19 Dec 2011, 16:22 pm
@Heavens Game-200: So, about those “facts” you have been repeatedly asked to provide…?
19 Dec 2011, 16:23 pm
@stormersboy-202: Tobie and Straeuli would make a good twin joke act.
19 Dec 2011, 16:23 pm
@Michael-199: Except at the Union that signed Pearl Rose…
Farken rather Skullet than Pearl any day of the week… But then again judging from your, ahem, “knowledge”, you probably think Pearl is a tighthead prop…
19 Dec 2011, 16:25 pm
@Heavens Game-206: He was flown over as cover simply because he had a visa already. He was originally signed as a promising youngster before he moved to the Lions.
Of course you are aware of all this but don’t let facts continue getting in the way of your fantasies…
@stormersboy-202: Hehehe… Talking about profligacy long live Kim Jong IL…
@Treehugger-203: That’s how much I appreciated your support!
Actually I lie. I’m not going to eat any extra veggies tonight..
It’s braai time.
Unless potato bake counts as veggies???
They do, don’t they?
@Heavens Game-206: Now, about those facts stormersboy asked you to provide, skullet-lover?
19 Dec 2011, 16:26 pm
@stormersboy-209: Enjoy the braai. I’m getting out of the British weather soon… Can’t wait.
19 Dec 2011, 16:26 pm
@Michael-207: Excuses… excuses… Skullet was also short term cover… But then again I am adapting to my audience. lol
19 Dec 2011, 16:28 pm
@Michael-210: The facts are spelt out in earlier posts… Just take my word for it… The explanations might be too complicated otherwise… (Hehehe…)
19 Dec 2011, 16:28 pm
@Heavens Game-212: Facts… And Goode was brought in for the remainder of the campaign, not as emergency cover simply because he had a visa. Goode was your starting flyhalf.
Facts, not conjecture boetjie. Learn the difference and come up for some supper afterwards kiddo.
19 Dec 2011, 16:29 pm
@Heavens Game-213: You didn’t provide the numbers asked for except in your delusions.
19 Dec 2011, 16:29 pm
@Heavens Game-208: Yeah long live the dynasty.
I’m hoping for a bit more backbone from his boy. None of this “feint manoeuvrings” here and “feint manoeuvrings” there….
Grow a pair son.
Poke the tiger.
I’m purchasing shares in a US based construction firm that specializes in “reconstruction of conflict damaged infrastructure” in anticipation as we speak.
19 Dec 2011, 16:30 pm
@Michael-211: I will!
19 Dec 2011, 16:33 pm
@stormersboy-209: my least favorite veggie, cept in potato salad. Enjoy your braai, have family coming on the 24th and they all ask the same question “what meat shall we bring” no body seems to believe we vegetarian, I think cos of hubby.
19 Dec 2011, 16:34 pm
@Michael-214: The Banana Boys had Pienaar at flyhalf and Rory at scrummy. Someone, in a move only the Sharks can comprehend, Skullet replace Pienaar who in turn bumped Rory out of the starting line-up. There was no need for a Skullet.
19 Dec 2011, 16:34 pm
@Treehugger-218: Haha Nice to have the family around.
Mostly.
19 Dec 2011, 16:35 pm
Can i get sued for calling a g.ay guy and drama queen and emphasize on queen i said to him ???? his partner reckons they going to sue me, I told him to knock himself out.
19 Dec 2011, 16:35 pm
@stormersboy-217: Lucky. Wish I was back home for a hot Christmas again.
Anyways, I’m outta here. Bored with baiting HG – like shooting a dead fish on a fishmonger’s counter – and off home to start packing
19 Dec 2011, 16:36 pm
@Michael-214: Hehe… Pipe down now… Before that foefie valve oversqueaks and maybe breaks….
19 Dec 2011, 16:37 pm
@Michael-201:
for the bulls to come right again, a hero (bakkies 2.0) must rise…
and by extension for the springboks, a reconditioned bakkies (version 1.9.05) must in the mean time be retrofitted and take to the field to calm the evil kiwi waters while a rightful heir is groomed over the next two seasons.
and yes, a matfield 2.0 is a close second…
19 Dec 2011, 16:40 pm
@stormersboy-216: Yup, the only problem is, is that the Tiger is going to be poked as a coming-of-age prove himself ceremony… China has been waiting for this for years…
North Korea picks a fight with the South… Japan gets itchy and militarises…
Bob’s your Uncle… No US firm welcome in the neighbourhood though…
19 Dec 2011, 16:40 pm
@Treehugger-221: LOL.
de minimis non curat lex
19 Dec 2011, 16:41 pm
@stormersboy-220: I am not to family orientated, you can choose your friends but not family.
19 Dec 2011, 16:44 pm
@Treehugger-221: Ja, you got to be careful of taking the Michael with Moffies in the age of PC…
19 Dec 2011, 16:44 pm
@Heavens Game-225: The Chinese will not come to NK’s aid this time. They are as sick as the rest of the world of his nonsensical sabre rattling. It’s been too bad for business.
Imagine what it must feel like to have bob as your neighbor, with a nuclear capability?
No, the Chinese will be very happy to see the end of that country.
A bit of “lebensraum” if you will……
19 Dec 2011, 16:53 pm
@stormersboy-216:
honestly, i dont think the americans will go poking anywhere that the chinese dont want them too. they’ve already fought a war over that patch of turf. set a number of records that havn’t been broken before or since.
- longest continual retreat in kilometers of an american army in the field.
- quickest retreat measured in time of an american army in the field.
among others.
19 Dec 2011, 16:57 pm
@stormersboy-229: Nope… China have Stealth Bomber, Aircraft carrier, Cyberwarfare programs and increasing defence spend as proportion of GDP for the specific purposes of stamping their mark once and for all on Asia and “protecting their interests” everywhere… While the US withdraws from everywhere, China will be advancing… Trigger Point Korea… Then Taiwan… A little bit of offshore Angola here and Mozambique there (yes, mozambique – huge recent offshore discoveries)…. And in between their Japanese bete noir…
Yup, the great game is being played big time… Banking Turmoil, Arab Spring, Euro collapse, now N Korea… Russian realignment…
Buy your torches, gaslamps and tinned food with a couple of swiss army knives too… And then go camp on higher ground…
19 Dec 2011, 16:57 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-230: Maybe. They will back the South Koreans if it came to something, but I doubt it.
19 Dec 2011, 16:59 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-230: Yeah… Not many movies made about the Korean War, eh?
19 Dec 2011, 16:59 pm
Okay, over and out for now…
19 Dec 2011, 17:00 pm
@Heavens Game-231: All that reverse engineering and stolen blueprints.
They are the new superpower for sure, but they rely on the US to buy their products so I’m sure at this stage they won’t butt heads.
But I have a bug out kit all ready just in case…..
19 Dec 2011, 17:01 pm
@Heavens Game-233: MASH??
19 Dec 2011, 17:16 pm
@stormersboy-229:
@stormersboy-232:
ja, more or less i disagree completely.
the chinese will never allow the americans or anyone else for that matter to build up any sort of military capability anywhere in nk under any circumstances ever imo.
they’re already at odds wrt sea borders & us activity in central asia.
they’ve openly accused the us of attempting to encircle them.
there has been a low level conflict of sorts taking place between these two powers for a number of years already as they jockey for position as world powers.
consider the hainan incident when the chinks made the us president apologise in writing for the spy plane incident which occured.
or the us bombing of the chinese embassy.
or the chinese downing of a high orbit satellite.
theres lots more if you sift the information filters.
@Heavens Game-233:
exactly.
a propaganda tool is a necessary thing.
@Heavens Game-231:
the russians are not out of the game either, not by a long shot.
interesting times…interesting times…
19 Dec 2011, 17:16 pm
@Michael-205:
Tobie Titus and Averil have nothing to do with running the business at the Stormers/WP franchise, that’s Rob Wagner domain
They are running the WP Union which is in charge of all the rest: embazzeling here, stealing there but have no say nor control of the big business
Strauli at the other hand is The Man at the Sharks on all business and personnel affairs
19 Dec 2011, 17:18 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-237: Maybe.
Speculation all.
The Chinese will push things as far as they think they can and still get away with it.
That’s for sure.
Masters of brinkmanship.
19 Dec 2011, 17:19 pm
Anyway, a good day’s debate with all.
Fire lighting time.
Adios all.
19 Dec 2011, 17:22 pm
@stormersboy-240:
cheers…
19 Dec 2011, 17:30 pm
Think both China and Russia both will become even more involved with NK……… new very young leader, easy to manipulate, maybe infighting with the generals, then there is the US camped in SK which China cannot like, jeepers they even freaking cos US is going to have a military base in Australia.
19 Dec 2011, 17:37 pm
OMG !!!!!!!
STORMERSBOY HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR STORMERBOY HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU
19 Dec 2011, 17:45 pm
@Treehugger-242:
yip, interesting times, interesting times…
now if only they’d focus on their rugby
19 Dec 2011, 19:43 pm
@Treehugger-243: LOL Thanks Hugsy!
19 Dec 2011, 19:58 pm
talking world war III Armageddon blues all over again.. yippedee do..dah dey
exciting times they say… world banking infrastructure on the brink of collapse and the big breek super duper powers wanna rattle sabers all year long
and then they still wanna know how or why the Mayans could see it coming all those picturesque years ago in their astrological charts…
But better you don’t ask any scientist cause he gonna ask you how come it ain’t visible in his DNA or God Particle measuring machine
19 Dec 2011, 20:16 pm
Sagittarius is a good enough sign to be born under … after all if you willing to take HG’s word for it God himself is born under the sign of Sagittarius…. poor God he decided to visit planet earth to save some lost forlorn sheep out their obtuse misery and they couldn’t recognize him.. and strung him up on a crucifix ….same as they still can’t.. though they somehow think they could or would or should.. if ever he made himself illegibly human again?
Wonder what the scientists highfalutin theory would go around that…?
Long as its more ham, pork, and turkey on the BBQ come heathen pagan ritual hark the herald of the solstice day.. who the fck would actually care to consider their far fetched verdict anyway…
19 Dec 2011, 20:27 pm
@ashampoopaloo-246: Put your money where your mouth is, Mr Phonypants. If you’re so convinced the “Mayans” got it right, and that it’s all over now, baby blue, then sell your bakkie, sell your business, sell your house and pitch your tent up on Table Mountain to watch the spectacle unfold. Or why even sell? Just give it away. Or are you perhaps just a bit too scientifically inclined for that kind of commitment? You big old fake hippy bogus tralala bulshitter.
19 Dec 2011, 20:30 pm
Or maybe He was a Capricorn.. or no perhaps I think the Xtians say he was a Pisces.. that’s why they got fishies painted on their bumper stickers … or was it not Virgo … or Aries or Taurus …
nobody even knows when God was born.. even if you ask the Pope he couldn’t tell you.. yet in less than six days from now the world is gonna go gagga celebrating his supposed birthday.. which they still dunno when it actually was..
beautiful day dreams for human beings …if they ain’t got a reason to go gagga they’ll create one. and sing around the maypole or the totem pole for a feast made in heaven..
19 Dec 2011, 20:32 pm
I sense a brawl in the force
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 19 » Show All