Leading SA’s rugby revolution

What do Francois Hougaard, Bismarck du Plessis, Gio Aplon, Johann Sadie, Andries Bekker, Pat Lambie and Juan de Jongh all have in common?

They all have the X factor, something that sets them apart from the rest.

If the Springboks are to achieve consistent success against the world champion All Blacks over the next four years, they will have to change their conservative mindset and play an expansive game when the situation demands it.

These seven players can lead South Africa’s rugby revolution and take our game to the next level.

Click here to subscribe to print edition

Click here to subscribe to digital edition

– Many junior players have failed to make the transition to senior rugby over the years because of flaws in the Baby Boks set-up, but the situation seems to be improving

– Why rugby is ripe for a global rebel league

SA Rugby magazine reveals how Solly Tyibilika wasn’t the only black player to be mismanaged over the past four years and how South Africa has regressed with regard to transformation at the highest levels

– Saracens flyhalf Derick Hougaard on suffering from depression, the ‘soul destroying’ experience of Kamp Staaldraad, and his desire to force his way back into Bok contention

England’s shambolic World Cup campaign left Martin Johnson with no choice but to resign

Victor Matfield speaks to SA Rugby magazine about his post-retirement plans, why players should be treated like adults, and his second-row partnership with Bakkies Botha

– Your ultimate guide to the 2012 Super Rugby season: Everything you need to know about the 15 teams

770 Comments

Pages: « 16 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 » Show All

• 601.rangerman: Reply to this comment

600 dont be sensitive now bud, lets celebrate the worlds diversity.

• 602.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-597:

Now that we lost Panty and Poppa is in padded cell recovering from meltdown, NZChina is fighting alone.

Give him some leeway!

• 603.rangerman: Reply to this comment

599 so you admit the first one?

• 604.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Bod-594:

now that’s a scary idea… he’d show the bulls how to play running rugby…

a very scary thought for the rest of us…!

• 605.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-602: i am Dawnie, i am.

i am being gentle because i can recognise a soul reaching out for acceptance.

i just dont know why he wants to fight all the time?

maybe he likes us?

• 606.Bod: Reply to this comment

Lets start a new China trend here

What happened to Panty? I wasnt aware that baled as well..

• 607.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-605:

What’s not to like.

We cool like that.

• 608.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-601:

Apologies for the 598 was on my phone and the reply button doesn’t seem to work, you guys celebrate diversity a little differently to me but no problem.
    Catch any bugs today, i’m back home for a months holiday with the family next month and will be dusting off the dive gear and taking the plunge after a long break can’t wait.

• 609.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Bod-606:

He departed at the very top.

• 610.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-607: zactly!

@NZINCHINA-608: nah, no bugs bud. closed season at the moment here unfortunately because every time i dive i see masses of them lol.

but the speargun has been working overtime.
    still looking for my first king mackerel of the season though.

• 611.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@ufo-604:
    just like he showed japan and italy?
    because that would be a very scary thought indeed.

@NZINCHINA-609:
    of a tall building maybe…

• 612.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-610:

ha thats always the way, I doubt i’ll be quicker enough to land many this time around out of practice, never got into the spear fishing I couldn’t swim fast enough

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-611:

Panty took the flak for 4 odd years and then rode off into the sunset with the biggest prize safely tucked away a very happy man

• 613.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Holy mackerel what kind of holidays do this Keo team enjoy? They make the Financial Services sector look hard done by.

• 614.ufo: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-611:

just like nick mallet showed with italy yet every one wants mallet to be the bok coach…? :shock:

it’s easy to be selective in our criteria and cherry pick the stats/records that suite our own preferences hey…? it’s easy to go the predictable route and choose someone who has a record just because he had the best players at his disposal…

but mallet didn’t do much more for italy than kirwan did… does graham henry’s record mean he would make japan or italy world champions…? i doubt it…

sometimes you have to look at what someone achieves with limited resources and extrapolate that over what he or she may achieve with the best resources…

risky…? yes… that way you have to put up or shut up… your choice and therefore your own expertise would be shown up and your whole reputation is on the line…

most officials who select the coaches are too damn scared to make a bold decision and do something innovative and upbeat… they’d all rather make the expected safe choice and simply produce more of the same old same old…

which is precisely what we’re gonna get… mark my words…

heck… even most bloggers here are not prepared to step out of tried and tested comfort zones… most would rather go with a guy simply because he has done it before and they have that as a fall back for failure… then they justify their choices by hailing every achievement great and small while completely ignoring everything else…

strange species are humans…?? :wink:

• 615.ufo: Reply to this comment

I actually enjoyed Black Panther… even though we knocked heads more than a couple of times…

hope he’s doing well whatever he’s doing… and basking in the glory of being a rugby world champion supporter:lol:

i thought his last couple of posts were very gracious and would welcome him back no problem… a worthy adversary IMO and someone i’d chuck back a beer or four with any day…

• 616.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

yes, he was actually a nice bloke most times whereas poppa was the opposite.
    if anyone behaves like they blog then it would not surprise me if poppa actually has gone off the top of a tall building.

• 617.Dawn: Reply to this comment

These kiwis are a bunch of prima donnas

OOOOO (back of hand resting on forehead) I can’t take this Keo.co.za anymore!

• 618.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@ufo-614:
    the problem with this reasoning is that the argument can just as easily be turned on its head if one postulates the very opposite thereof.

namely, would a poor to medium skilled coach achieve results when tested in two seperate instances involving a team with limited resources in the one and a team possesing the best resources in the other?

results under one set of conditions wont neccesarily prove anything in regard to the other set of conditions. he may perform dismally under the limited resources test and then achieve mediocre to reasonable success under the best resource test, in spite of himself, (the assumption being that he’s a poorly skilled coach obviously) due the inherent resource advantages available to him.

an obvious real life example of this is the eponymous mr peter de villiers imo.
    the trick is to be able to spot the qualities and characteristics (or however else it can be ascribed or defined) in various individuals and be able to say that yes this guy is probably going to prove a good coach under these test conditions, namely: he performs reasonably in the first and then outstandingly in the second of test conditions.

or that, no, he will prove to be a poor coach under these conditions by performing poorly to reasonably in the first and then reasonably, with some success, in the second set of tests.

mallet has clearly proved to be a guy who can perform poorly to reasonably in the first and then reasonably to outstandingly in the second.
    kirwan seems to me a guy who would prove to be similar to pdivvy in that he would achieve reasonable to mediocre success in the second set of conditions, in spite of himslf, due to the stated advantage of superior resources available to him.

• 619.ufo: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-618:

of course the “the argument can just as easily be turned on its head if one postulates the very opposite thereof” :wink:

it all just comes down to opinions and preferences… as i’ve said all along… all i’d really like to see is al the candidates being judged on the same criteria… and not cherry picking the best of one and worst of the other…

however i don’t agree with your opinion that kirwan would prove to be another pdivvy…

again… the stats or record says one thing and simply to rely on that i believe limits the possibilities… everything about kirwan is about exciting running rugby… until we get someone like him or carel involved all we’re gonna get is the same old dour skop an jag bliksem em rugby we’ve had for so long now…

some say we shouldn’t romanticize rugby… but every bok supporter would like to see the ‘romantic’ running game being played by the boks running rings around all comers and scoring spectacular tries… whether they will admit it on keo or not doesn’t change anything… we all would like the boks to play that total running game…

IMO… none of the speculated possible appointments will deliver that kind of rugby… whatever their win ratio are… the type of rugby they have coached is the type of rugby they will coach… we are just gonna get more of what we’ve had before and the win loss ratio now in favor of the all blacks is just gonna keep widening in their favour…

if we do things the way we’ve always done… we’re gonna get the same results we’ve always got… sure we’ll get excited about beating the ABs every now and then… sure we’ll be excited about beating them more than any other team… but the fact remains they are gonna keep beating us way more than we are gonna beat them…

the only coach we’ve had since readmission who got the boks playing great total rugby got fired because he was too straight to play the politics…

us saffas are our own worst enemies… we want to play great rugby and dominate the world… but we’re simply not prepared to take the chance and be innovative and do what needs to be done to get the sort of rugby and results we all want…

so we’ll collectively punt the same old mentality and try and dominate through physicality, passion and grit which will win the odd game here and there but until we fully subscribe to, buy into and are courageous enough to incorporate intelligence and skill into our long-term game plan we’re simply gonna be acting in a more bruising version of ground hog day…

all i’m saying is that if we want different results… we need to do something different…. we need to choose a different sort of coach…

but i know we won’t…

• 620.ufo: Reply to this comment

anyway… cool chatting bud…

outta here for now…

i can hear the sirens of the long-post police in the distance…

• 621.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ufo-619: wayne smith TRUMPS kirwan in every aspect of coaching – brand of rugby + win ratios.

amazinng how even hansen overlooked the apparently dynamic kirwan for the dour in forster :roll:

but hey it’s just opinions & preferences. ;)

• 622.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@ufo-619:

i suppose a fairytale occurence for proving their relative merits as great or poor coaches would be if by some miracle of opportuniy kirwan gets to coach the boks and pdivvy then gets to coach japan or italy.

this would see them both tried under the two sets of test conditions and we would then be able to lay at least some ‘scientific’ truths to rest.

pdivvy:
    limited resource team = (untested as of yet)
    high resource team = mediocre to reasonable result

kirwan:
    limited resource team = poor to dismal (with hints of reasonable) result
    high resource team = (untested as of yet)

• 623.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-621:
    now that makes so much more sense. wayne smith is a guy you could throw money at and make a call on him probably being a good to great coach, before the fact.

at this rate i’d even place carlos ahead of kirwan. at least if we graphed their career trajectories then carlos, for the saime point in time, must place much higher than kirwan has.

• 624.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@ufo-620:

• 625.New Bok Coach: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-608:

Are your waters as cold as your weather…and Grumpy Henry’s smile?

• 626.New Bok Coach: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-616:

Poopal69 was immature and that is something one cannot argue against…it’s a waste of time and effort.

• 627.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@New Bok Coach-626:
    i often wondered if it was more a case of his mental state than it was a reflection of his emotional maturity. he really flipped between moods from very high to very low a lot of the time.

• 628.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Howzit and a happy happy year of the Lion to you all.

• 629.New Bok Coach: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-627:

I am still convinced he’s a 16 year old….or is perhaps slightly retarded?

• 630.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Yo katman!

It’s the year of the Dragon … Have a good one anyway!

• 631.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-612:
    so you communist b astard
    why do you raise your kids there and not in nz which is a democracry and utopia?

• 632.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

how apartheid hit the dirt
    SABC 2

Biko got murdered.

That was the beginning of the end for the Botha regime. Thereafter it was a one way ticket to democracy.
    In 1977 Pik Botha defiantly declared ‘we will not accept one man one vote, not now not ever’

7 years later SA holds first free democratic elections

• 633.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

correction

17 years later SA holds first free democratic elections

• 634.carol: Reply to this comment

Same old headings…. Yawnn

Surely Ryan could take his laptop on holiday and post something new every day….It is what junior reporters do, unless Keo refuses to pay overtime!! ;-)

• 635.New Bok Coach: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo-633:

….and in a few days the ANC trough will be full of the noises of grunting and snorting as the portly ones tuck into their R400 million food and booze.

There will be much snorting and grunting in the trough and the illiterates from each African country will gather together to slap one another on their portly backs to celebrate and laugh of the millions being stolen by each Banana Republic.

What a day to rejoice. Another Proudly South African moment.

• 636.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@ufo-619:
    The Wallaby teams of the early to mid eighties which included Mark Ella, Campo,Micheal Hawker, Roger Gould, Tony Grigg, Glenn Ella etc ran rings around the Ab backline ,at times making them look slow and inept. This was the impetus for the Abs and NZ Rugby in general to up their game and improve on ball skills, speed and backline patterns to match the Aussies running game.Another improvement was to integrate forwards within this running game philosophy.FORWARDS have to learn to pass the ball both ways.
    A slightly later addition was the adaptation of some League skills, the ability to off load and release the ball in the tackle. double rounds etc.
    To play the running game you need confidence but more importantly you need your forwards to win their ball.

• 637.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Newcastle 3 Manchester United 0

schweeeeeeeeeet

• 638.Transformation: Reply to this comment

kallis calls out his critics!

“You don’t become a bad player
    overnight,” Kallis said after the day’s play. “It’s crazy to see stuff like that (writing him off) getting written, that you’re old and you can’t do this or that. Come on, seriously.?”

• 639.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

sounds like this fool at 635 above would prefer to hearken back to those dark seedy despicable inhumane days before 1994 where one illegitimate and uncivilized minority sector of society usurped and forcibly enshrined illegitimate rights and practiced intolerable inhumane practices over an indigenous majority out of outright fear and intolerance and in the name of some despicable religiously enshrined policy committing absolutely the worst possible atrocities against broader sectors of humanity…, and then in the very next breath try convince you what an avid lover of rugby he is which highlights exactly what is still so horrendously wrong and far from normal some sectors of the rugby loving public we harbour yet in this country.

Its no wonder rugby here remains so far entrenched in the dark dismal archaic reaches of human consciousness, too afraid to climb out from its sordid inhumane uncivilized pitiful past, and then they wonder how long yet will it still take to ever become normal.

• 640.cab: Reply to this comment

i’m just amazed ET was boning his gardener, who would’ve guessed?

u cant make **** like that up.

• 641.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

come Kallis couple more ducks like those you so lavishly portrayed in Durban and imagine if the early catch yesterday behind the wicket would have stuck, even he himself would be doubting his own longevity in this skittish excuse of a dragged out sporting pastime

• 642.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

which **** made up where?

• 643.cab: Reply to this comment

eugene terreblanche, head of the AWB, found humping a black fella nogal.

dat sum funny ****.

• 644.cab: Reply to this comment

biggest racist macho-man around, meanwhile he into bumlovin’ back at the ranch.

you could not make that up in a million years, only in SA.

• 645.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

okey dokey that et.., I was thinking you referring the other displaced extra terrestrial sometimes seen hovering around here

Yip guess u can try take the lord out the manor but you can’t take the piggy out the trough when gets caught with broekies down

• 646.cab: Reply to this comment

lol, fkn wierd, these okes must be well and truly cooked.

no the other ET is into his tannies, and loves his cricket apparently.

tho no way d’oliviera as good as pollock or richards, that should get him flapping.

• 647.cab: Reply to this comment

watched a show on d’oliviera, pretty pisspoor by all concerned, actually terrible, but i’m sorry Pollock and Richards were genius’ of the game on a different level. Like a sampras or federer at the peak of their powers.

• 648.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Yip those two Pollack and Richards were class apart even players like Kallis need to go some distance to tie their skittle sticks boot laces

That was some side back then Pollack, Richards, Peter Pollack, Barlow, etc took Aussie apart them days

• 649.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Richards, Barlow, Pollack, Irving, Bacher, Lance, Lindsay, Pollack, Procter etc

Would smack this current Proteas side out the ground for six every day of the week and twice on Sundays and would likely smack every other skittle sticks side out the ground just as easy

All it needed was D’Oliviera to make it complete to be the all time classic skittle sticks super SA hall of fame side of outright unequal supremacy.

• 650.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@New Bok Coach-625:

A little chilly at times but nothing a wetsuit won’t sort out, Sir Graham will be smiling for the rest of his life.

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-631:

The model in China these days is more socialist/capitalist because one lives in a country it doesn’t mean they subcribe to the political leaning or policies of that country otherwise you’d be a racist who supported blacks being murdered. I reckon your grandpa never pissed in the same toilet as a black man.

Pages: « 16 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.