Leading SA’s rugby revolution
26 Dec 2011
What do Francois Hougaard, Bismarck du Plessis, Gio Aplon, Johann Sadie, Andries Bekker, Pat Lambie and Juan de Jongh all have in common?
They all have the X factor, something that sets them apart from the rest.
If the Springboks are to achieve consistent success against the world champion All Blacks over the next four years, they will have to change their conservative mindset and play an expansive game when the situation demands it.
These seven players can lead South Africa’s rugby revolution and take our game to the next level.
Click here to subscribe to print edition
Click here to subscribe to digital edition
– Many junior players have failed to make the transition to senior rugby over the years because of flaws in the Baby Boks set-up, but the situation seems to be improving
– Why rugby is ripe for a global rebel league
– SA Rugby magazine reveals how Solly Tyibilika wasn’t the only black player to be mismanaged over the past four years and how South Africa has regressed with regard to transformation at the highest levels
– Saracens flyhalf Derick Hougaard on suffering from depression, the ‘soul destroying’ experience of Kamp Staaldraad, and his desire to force his way back into Bok contention
– England’s shambolic World Cup campaign left Martin Johnson with no choice but to resign
– Victor Matfield speaks to SA Rugby magazine about his post-retirement plans, why players should be treated like adults, and his second-row partnership with Bakkies Botha
– Your ultimate guide to the 2012 Super Rugby season: Everything you need to know about the 15 teams

770 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 » Show All
5 Jan 2012, 07:27 am
@NZINCHINA-650:
But beware the dark side. Anger, fear, aggression. The dark side of the Force are they. Easily they flow, quick to join you in a fight. If once you start down the dark path, forever will it dominate your destiny. Consume you it will…
– yoda
come back china, come back….you must fight it or it will destroy you…
5 Jan 2012, 07:48 am
@ashampoopaloo-633:
One of the most mal bits of graffiti from the Nazi era that I saw in a subway in Rondebosch, 1979:
“Vorster was a lesbian at Koffiefontein”
I immediately headed for the Pig & Whistle and ordered a flaggon of Tas
5 Jan 2012, 08:17 am
sharks withdraw from Neo Africa series of preseason friendlies at Newlands..
Replaced by Cheetahs
5 Jan 2012, 08:25 am
hey grant…
any reasons given…?
5 Jan 2012, 08:26 am
@grant10-653: lol
Can’t stand the heat
Cheetahs will be more entertaining anyway.
5 Jan 2012, 08:38 am
@grant10-653:
Good move. Can’t afford to risk injuries when the Super Series is just around the corner.
It’s not like no. 12′s grow on trees at The Sharks these days.
5 Jan 2012, 08:48 am
Leading SA’s rugby revolution? I don’t think so. 1 is a sicknote, 1 is on the wrong side of 30, 1 a complete rookie and 2 dont know which their best positions are/neither do their coaches.
5 Jan 2012, 08:49 am
@grant10-653:
Good move by sharks.
Playing those teams to much, familiarity is a problem. Rather play some warm up games against second rate teams like EP.
5 Jan 2012, 08:54 am
650 was just applying his logic, prefer to talk rugby though will catch my first live super game in a long time next month so very happy always nice to return to the garden of eden
5 Jan 2012, 09:04 am
Feck me I’m post-festive season exwasted.
5 Jan 2012, 09:10 am
@Mr Black-658:
is the logic that; to beat the best you must play the worst..?..
sharks honing their killer instincts…but bunny rabbits don’t bite back.
i dont know which is worse;
that the sharks don’t want to play the stormers
or that the stormers cant even get the sharks to play them..?..
5 Jan 2012, 09:12 am
@Dawn-660:
Morning.
What has happened to Gunther? Has he done a Poppa/Panther tail between the legs type of exit?
5 Jan 2012, 09:19 am
@NZINCHINA-659:
excellent!
try to fight the trolling urge and keep the confrontational exchanges (when they do occur, whether sterted or in response) clean and above the belt. this way everybody can, like the special olympics, be a winner…
5 Jan 2012, 09:33 am
662 BP left at the top of his game Bill secured.
5 Jan 2012, 09:37 am
663 no trolling from me just the facts
5 Jan 2012, 09:41 am
oh dear, tourism operators have taken a dim view on the benefits of the ‘best world cup ever’…
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/business/news/article.cfm?c_id=3&objectid=10776880
5 Jan 2012, 10:00 am
@NZINCHINA-665:
no china, you troll but you just dont know it.
5 Jan 2012, 10:17 am
Come On Super rugby!
Bokkerol happens this time of the year except for the Proteas beating helpless subcontinent teams into their peutjie!
5 Jan 2012, 10:21 am
fudge mabeta out of super 15 season
5 Jan 2012, 10:22 am
Tahir key today
5 Jan 2012, 10:23 am
What a brilliant batting display by Clarke this morning!
and SA are stuck fat bag Greame Smith!
Just a pity the “fighter; terrier; warrior”, Mark Boucher didnt bat otherwise it wouldve been his last!
Merchant de Lange will aslo have to wait at least for another year after Morkel got that wicket
5 Jan 2012, 10:24 am
And Happy New Year to all!
and happy second New year to some!
5 Jan 2012, 10:25 am
my gut feeling
sharks and bulls to really struggle this super 15
5 Jan 2012, 10:25 am
@grant10-670:
Bowled well before close
5 Jan 2012, 10:27 am
@grant10-673:
Cheetahs and Bulls…..
5 Jan 2012, 10:29 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-661: so the coward guppies pulled the tail between their legs and bolted … who are the bullies playing their warm up matches against … the Falcons?
5 Jan 2012, 10:29 am
@Mighty Horua-674: Tahir can make a massive statement over next couple of days….
5 Jan 2012, 10:30 am
Did Province/Stormers aquired any props? Otherwise it semifinal vs Crusaders all over again for the whole season…Luckily all the NZ (except Saders) and OZ (except Tahs) scrummaging are k@k
5 Jan 2012, 10:30 am
@grant10-669:
very irresponsible if it was his fault because of drinking or something like that.
hope they dock his wages in that case.
if not then too bad.
5 Jan 2012, 10:32 am
@grant10-677:
Hope so… There is def enough runs on the board to attack
Hopefully Fat Bag Smith wont go all defensive!
5 Jan 2012, 10:34 am
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-676:
funnily enough the kings and then those pesky cheetahs.
5 Jan 2012, 10:36 am
@grant10-677:
Stormers found a fetcher yet?
or they gonna stick with that Namibian
5 Jan 2012, 10:38 am
Sydney – Wallabies star Quade Cooper has been banned from a popular southeast Queensland pub after an alleged altercation with a female patron.
According to the Stuff.co.nz website, Cooper, 23, has been banned from visiting the Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel for six months, the Seven Network reported.
Cooper was reportedly evicted along with Reds’ team-mates after an altercation with a woman at the bar.
The rugby star’s split with former girlfriend, swimmer Stephanie Rice, was made public last week. Publican Michael Jackson said the hotel had one rule for everyone when it came to behaviour. “It doesn’t matter who you are (or) how much money you’re going to spend here,” he said.
“If you play up, it’s not on and you won’t be back.”
The Reds issued a statement saying Cooper’s alleged actions didn’t warrant official disciplinary action.
5 Jan 2012, 10:48 am
@grant10-653: the Sharks are taking all pre-cautions after ludik cut himself at the gym last week.
5 Jan 2012, 10:48 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-679:
No big loss. Fudge is only a Vodacom cup quality player and would not have featured in Super rugby anyway … now the bullies will just have to look to their u21 locks for superrugby standby.
5 Jan 2012, 10:54 am
@grant10-673: Lol.
My gut feeling
Stormers to revert to type.
Bottom to mid table.
5 Jan 2012, 10:56 am
@Transformation-684:
Their excuse for pulling out is “financially” motivated … according to the press release they want to play warm up matches at Mr Price park cause they are hard up for cash …. it seems that Moses Madiba is causing problems for them, not being able to cash in on football and concerts anymore is hurting the bottom line.
Yip a few weeks 55,000 soccer mad Zulu’s were sitting in luxury at Moses, not in that death trap guppy tank.
5 Jan 2012, 11:00 am
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-685:
yes, but my concern is in regard to his behaviour. this may have been a bob skinstad type drunken night out accident which may have been partly his doing.
its just conjecture on my part.
5 Jan 2012, 11:04 am
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-687: what concerts are in Debben, bhangra?
5 Jan 2012, 11:05 am
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-685:
you must remember its not the first time he’s been involved in an incident like this.
he reversed into a traffic cop a few years ago (for which john mametsa got goed gemoer after trying to intervene) and i’m pretty sure he was plastered when it happened..no?..
5 Jan 2012, 11:08 am
@Transformation-689: Bollywood concerts? At Moses?
5 Jan 2012, 11:17 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-690: Eish, I do remember Mametsa getting moered by a Cop some time back, Fudge was involved, hell man.
5 Jan 2012, 11:32 am
666 I didn’t think stating that SA are 4th in the world and have no silverware was trolling sometimes the truth hurts my friend
5 Jan 2012, 11:34 am
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-692:
my point exactly.
5 Jan 2012, 11:38 am
Forget all this talk about S15 when is the next Bok coach being announced?
5 Jan 2012, 11:40 am
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-687:
Good financial descision as usual by the Sharks.
Why travel 1500km to play warm ups if you can play them at home?
No brainer imo.
5 Jan 2012, 11:50 am
@NZINCHINA-693:
wow! you are just an ironic contradiction in posted terms, aren’t you…
or is it some kind of keewee double entendre deeper meaning paradoxical observational statement which is going right over my head..?.. i just dont know..?..
5 Jan 2012, 11:52 am
@Mr Black-696: the Plascon cup is being televised, good exposure for team sponsors …. there will barely be 200 people at Mr Price watching the guppy warmup match.
5 Jan 2012, 11:58 am
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-698:
There is enough time for exposure when the real tournie starts. And make that 201 spectators, i’m also going.
5 Jan 2012, 11:58 am
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-698: hopefully the lions make enough to pay for a whole superrugby players salary.
Pages: « 1 … 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 » Show All