Leading SA’s rugby revolution

What do Francois Hougaard, Bismarck du Plessis, Gio Aplon, Johann Sadie, Andries Bekker, Pat Lambie and Juan de Jongh all have in common?

They all have the X factor, something that sets them apart from the rest.

If the Springboks are to achieve consistent success against the world champion All Blacks over the next four years, they will have to change their conservative mindset and play an expansive game when the situation demands it.

These seven players can lead South Africa’s rugby revolution and take our game to the next level.

Click here to subscribe to print edition

Click here to subscribe to digital edition

– Many junior players have failed to make the transition to senior rugby over the years because of flaws in the Baby Boks set-up, but the situation seems to be improving

– Why rugby is ripe for a global rebel league

SA Rugby magazine reveals how Solly Tyibilika wasn’t the only black player to be mismanaged over the past four years and how South Africa has regressed with regard to transformation at the highest levels

– Saracens flyhalf Derick Hougaard on suffering from depression, the ‘soul destroying’ experience of Kamp Staaldraad, and his desire to force his way back into Bok contention

England’s shambolic World Cup campaign left Martin Johnson with no choice but to resign

Victor Matfield speaks to SA Rugby magazine about his post-retirement plans, why players should be treated like adults, and his second-row partnership with Bakkies Botha

– Your ultimate guide to the 2012 Super Rugby season: Everything you need to know about the 15 teams

770 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1116 » Show All

• 101.rangerman: Reply to this comment

Stup?d blackberry p?ece of sh?t

• 102.rangerman: Reply to this comment

Lmao a s s ?stants ?s moderated.

Fuckenpathet?c.

• 103.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Sigh.

Irritability.

I’m on blackberry and it works fine!

• 104.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Who is this Marchant slab of beef?

• 105.grant10: Reply to this comment

21 year old from titans…..hardly played 1 st class crficket and nails 7 on debut….

• 106.rangerman: Reply to this comment

Lol Dawn.

Must be me then.

• 107.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

93 you’d better start winning soon then because you’re a long long way behind now

• 108.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Shocking discipline from Proteas!!!

First Morne not being able to get the basics right, now the batsmen playing loose shots and throwing away their wickets.

Send Morne to his franchise to sort this problem out. He will cost us games soon. Well done Merchant – well deserved. Philander back and Morne out. Jacques also better start scoring or he will be out soon too. Can’t see Kirsten tolerating mediocrity.

• 109.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

106 for 5.

Folding like a pack of cards. Ill discipline and poor shot selection. We could follow-on too. The inconsistency is there for all to see! Eish. :lol:

• 110.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

SA cricketers busy doing what they do best – choking.

Verrrry typical, Kirsten will have to work extremely hard on the soft underbelly of SA cricket.

• 111.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon-110:

Spot on Stirrer.

• 112.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

118 for 6. Still need 21 – else we follow on. The batsmen left. :shock:

• 113.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

219 runs behind our last remaining recognised batsman goes for a reversed sweep and gets out…

Senseless.

Stupid.

Prince what were you thinking?…

The follow on is looking likely. Embarrassing.

• 114.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

When last did Prince make any runs? Anyone?

• 115.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts-108: morne morkel is pants at the moment and should be dropped but oh no, watch him get multiple opportunities @ the top instead of going back to his franchise to get his act together.

philander, de lange making him look rubbish @ the mo.

• 116.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

119 for 8. Another wicket drops.

CHCHCHCHCHCHCHCHCOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOKKKKKE.

• 117.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Morkel is ****. Philander and De Lange have really shown him up.

• 118.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Lol at Tahir being a number 10 batsman…

• 119.Transformation: Reply to this comment

sri lanka look to have our number again @ kingsmead…must be the curry.

• 120.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Kingsmead Curry Curse.

• 121.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-119: @wooden spoon-120:

LOL!!! Just hope Kirsten doesn’t become like our rugby coach and keep the players who continuously fail. Morkel is the weak link in our bowling arsenal – the worst fielder and now should be batting as Jack.

• 122.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Eina! Tahir hit on his bowling hand. The SL making this pitch look like a green mamba…

• 123.Roar my Lions .... Currie Cup Champions 2011: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-119:

Debben is a home ground for them, with all the local support … just like PE is home ground to the ABs with all those CapeSaders there :wink:

• 124.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon-114:

I think he is making more runs than Rudolph. It was a poor shot, but you can’t just blame him. Most just gave their wickets away. I think they thought they just needed to turn up for the game, something which is happening a lot lately.

• 125.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Imran gone – stumped too

• 126.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Day two the best batting day for test cricket! Really!!!! :lol:

• 127.Roar my Lions .... Currie Cup Champions 2011: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts-124: Prince is a farken used up has-been, and has been for years. Morkel too is a has-been of note but the biggest has-been of all is Rudolph … why oh why was Peterson dropped for this useless koplak schmuck.

• 128.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-123: hey PE ain’t no AB home ground…Bokke have never lost to them. Newlands on the other hand :roll: 19-0 nuff said…

no wonder that plonker toby titus is b!tching..SARU knows what they’re doing…gave them the Argies test tl tl tl ;)

• 129.Captain Jack: Reply to this comment

Anybody know what happened to Lukas Van Biljoen

• 130.Transformation: Reply to this comment

dale steyn making a stand…hope i don’t put the mockers on him…

• 131.Roar my Lions .... Currie Cup Champions 2011: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-128: Aaaaah I forget, you moered about 169 of them CapeSaders recently during the 7′s :wink:

@Captain Jack-129: who cares, I don’t … don’t care a damn about yesterday’s heroes and today’s has-beens. Said it before and will say it again.

• 132.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-127:

There are a few players knocking on the door. Riley Roussouw is one, the other is Stiaan Van Zyl and then the one scoring so many runs, Morne Van Wyk.

We have been bowled out for 168 which is really poor on this pitch and the lowest ever against SL. Something like 47 all out will be needed again – and it aint going to happen. Steyn showed that the wicket was just fine.

• 133.Roar my Lions .... Currie Cup Champions 2011: Reply to this comment

Why is it that their spinner can pick up 4 wickets but the local Pakkistani only 1 wicket?

Piss poor session …. I’m out rather going to the gym.

• 134.Transformation: Reply to this comment

well bowled sri lanka…now they’ve returned the favour after being blitzed for 180 all out by philander, steyn

• 135.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-134:

For sure Transie! Over confidence and arrogance with this side really irks me at times. It is going to be 1-1 all after this test.

• 136.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Didn’t Biff say we were not going to take our foot off the pedal? Hmmm – heard that before too.

• 137.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Don’t see us coming back from this one.

We got ourselves out. Playing to balls we should have left.

Could be interesting from here though. We should have bowled them out earlier but let them off the hook.

Morkel no balls.

No brains more like.

That goes for quite a few of the batsmen too,

• 138.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-137:

Howzit Bud! Couldn’t have said it better.

• 139.IAAS: Reply to this comment

Cricket is all about judging each ball on its merits. And you underestimate the opposition at your peril. Everyone in the Proteas set-up is talking about adopting the killer instinct. That’s ok when you win a test in 3 days.
    I know it’s early days in Gary Kisten’s tenure but we also need to see a fighting spirit starting to develop in the Proteas. You start seeing how players behave when the chips are down. Round about now would be a good place to start.

• 140.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts-138: Hey Bill let’s hope that tomorrow brings a huge bowling and fielding performance from the Proteas.

Although I’m not counting on it… :)

• 141.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-140:

It’s not often you see Dale go through an innings without taking a wicket. It won’t happen again tomorrow. Marchant seems to be the man of the moment. But big performances are needed from Tahir and Morkel.

• 142.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Proteas got same fat boy syndrome as Bokke start culling from the top you quickly see this team turn around. Kallis should be first to go start with the untouchables that’s the way to fix a team that thinks they’re entitled.

Pity the f’ng Boks didn’t get the message in time, if Smit, FdP and Spies would have been dropped in time Boks would have sailed through the WC quarters.

• 143.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@IAAS-141: I was very surprised. Well done to Marchant, although I’m not all that impressed with him, he reminds me a bit of Morkel. Which sounds like an odd thing to say but ja…

• 144.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Top of the table clash in the Uk premiership starting: Quins vs Saracens

I guess any port in a storm….

• 145.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-144: Britz is electric with ball in hand, but first lineout he throws long, misses his jumpers, Quinns pounce and run the ball upfield, Saracens concede the penalty off the ruck and it’s 3 points to Quinns. Nick Evans does not miss much.

• 146.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Owen Farrel is 4 from 4 in this game.

Good looking player for sure.

Barrit also having a great game.

• 147.Roar my Lions .... Currie Cup Champions 2011: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-144:

82,000 Poms watching this match at the stadium … and to think some thick sharkie varkie was bragging about the 35,000 that turned up to watch the saders slaughter them… saying it was the biggest crowd outside of test matches.

• 148.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-147: Yes, quite a crowd.

Last week i watched the Heinecken Cup game between Leinster and Bath and that was the 2nd biggest HK turnout (44 000) I was quite surprised.

• 149.Roar my Lions .... Currie Cup Champions 2011: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-148: the Poms love their domestic competition. I read that their total weekly attendance is around 250, 000 people.

• 150.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-149: Given the weather these okes have it;s actually quite impressive!

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1116 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.