Leading SA’s rugby revolution

What do Francois Hougaard, Bismarck du Plessis, Gio Aplon, Johann Sadie, Andries Bekker, Pat Lambie and Juan de Jongh all have in common?

They all have the X factor, something that sets them apart from the rest.

If the Springboks are to achieve consistent success against the world champion All Blacks over the next four years, they will have to change their conservative mindset and play an expansive game when the situation demands it.

These seven players can lead South Africa’s rugby revolution and take our game to the next level.

Click here to subscribe to print edition

Click here to subscribe to digital edition

– Many junior players have failed to make the transition to senior rugby over the years because of flaws in the Baby Boks set-up, but the situation seems to be improving

– Why rugby is ripe for a global rebel league

SA Rugby magazine reveals how Solly Tyibilika wasn’t the only black player to be mismanaged over the past four years and how South Africa has regressed with regard to transformation at the highest levels

– Saracens flyhalf Derick Hougaard on suffering from depression, the ‘soul destroying’ experience of Kamp Staaldraad, and his desire to force his way back into Bok contention

England’s shambolic World Cup campaign left Martin Johnson with no choice but to resign

Victor Matfield speaks to SA Rugby magazine about his post-retirement plans, why players should be treated like adults, and his second-row partnership with Bakkies Botha

– Your ultimate guide to the 2012 Super Rugby season: Everything you need to know about the 15 teams

770 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 1116 » Show All

• 151.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Brad Barrit man of the match. well played

• 152.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

15 Jaco Taute
    14 Gio Aplon
    13 Juan De Jongh
    12 Patrick Lambie
    11 HABANA!!!!
    10 Elton Jantjes
    9 Francois Hougaard
    8 Duane Vermeulen
    7 Schalk Burger
    6 Heinrich Brussouw
    5 Andries Bekker (capt)
    4 Jean Deysel
    3 Jannie Du Plessis
    2 Bismark Du Plessis
    1 Tendai Mtawarira

16 Adriaan Strauss
    17 CJ Van Der Linde
    18 Juandre Kruger
    19 Joshua Strauss
    20 Sarel Pretorius
    21 Peter Grant
    22 Johaan Sadie

23 Chillyboy Ralepelle
    24 Coenie Oosthuzyen
    25 Willem Alberts
    26 Derrick Minnie
    27 Conrad Hoffman
    28 Robert Ebersohn
    29 Lwazi Mvovo
    30 Gerrard Van Den Heever

• 153.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Talking about a revolution, yeah,

well you know,
    we all wanna change the world.

• 154.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-152: when ratel gets injured who replaces him, schalk?

• 155.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-152: This your team for next year?

If we were to get serious I’d go with

15: Lambie
    14. Aplon
    13. Jaque
    12. Fransie
    11. Brian
    10 Elton
    9. Hougaard
    8. Alberts
    7. Schalk
    6. Ratel
    5. The tower of Power
    4. Flip
    3. Jannie
    2. Bissie
    1. Beast

16 Chilli
    17. Duanne
    18. Kruger
    19. Coenie
    20. Taute
    21. JDJ
    22. Duvenhage

• 156.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-155: The Tower of Power lol, Bekker ?

• 157.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-156: That’s the one!! See? Everyone knows what I mean :)

• 158.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-157: hahahaha no wild guess and you being a Stormer.

• 159.Groot Wit Haai: Reply to this comment

Without an innovative and astute Bok coach those players might as well be playing with lead boots.

• 160.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Groot Wit Haai-159: SARU should get Wayne Smith!

finish & klaar

• 161.Transformation: Reply to this comment

barritt has one good game in a lackluster aviva premiership next thing “he should be playing for boks” when in essence he can’t crack it past the likes of shontayne hape, ricki flutey, manu tuilagi, tindall & flood. :roll: no amount of hype will elevate him past that competition in england.

• 162.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-161: Who’s hyping him?

• 163.grant10: Reply to this comment

82000 spectators

make super 15 rather Mickey the Mouse in cpmparison

• 164.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

I have always rated Brad Barrit, think he was a big loss to the Sharks.

• 165.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-164: Yes, very good player.

Not sure if he’d have made the bok team though, but certainly a loss to the Sharks.

I liked him at 10 actually.

Thought he had all the makings of a good playmaking flyhalf.

You’d need another goal kicker in the team but that’s not unusual.

• 166.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Think i have only seen him play center at the Sharks.

• 167.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-162: check keo’z tweet.

• 168.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-166: He played 10 for them for a while too. The backline looked particularly good then IMO.

He is a centre normally though. But any good 12 should be able to slot into that flyhalf role if required, often happens in the thick of a game.

You chilling today?

• 169.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-167: Oh. Keo. Why didn’t you say so. ;)

That changes everything :D

• 170.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Think i have only seen him play center at the Sharks.@stormersboy-168: Thankfully yes, guests left this morning, so have my life back and then new arrivals on Friday morning, am taking strain.

• 171.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-170: Hahaha do they know you guys are vegetarian?

I should try that on my relatives.

They’ll be out the door in no time at all.

Never to return.

Must try it sometime….

• 172.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Mad the most enormous blabsy on Thursday, bought my self one of those expensive thingies you stick onto side of laptop for the internet cos the other one gave so much trouble, Put the card in and think yippeeeeeee, alas didnt work, started freaking out and on the phone with vodacom for ages trying to get it to work and thinking this is the second dud one.

Go to mall yesterday, they check it out and say it works fine, I think nono let the guy put it in my laptop and make it work, he does so and it works like a bomb. He takes the card out and i say hang on which way have you got the card in and he shows me :roll: :oops: I had been putting the card in the wrong way, BUT… in the other thingie thats the way the card went in, I thank him very nicely and he says thats ok you very blond !!!!!!!!!!! WTF…..but had to laugh as he said it very nicely. Didnt tell the hub about that said the guys said there was some little software glitch, would never have heard the end of it from every one.

So now i get 3g and all that jazz when signal is strong.

• 173.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-171: They braai’d everyday and wouldnt be surprised if there wasnt a bit of alcohol poisoning, made them eat outside, didnt faze them one bit as thats what they do anyway, dogs were happy lol.

• 174.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-172: haha well now you know.

3g kicks butt when you have good signal.

• 175.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-170:his experience @ 10 is negligible.

he played flyhalf in 2006 when butch was injured…t’was in the currie cup though he shared the duties with frans steyn.

• 176.Roar my Lions .... Currie Cup Champions 2011: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-172:

eish :razz:

• 177.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Roar my Lions ?. Currie Cup Champions 2011-176: You see thats why i didnt say anything. Only female, house full of men, can you imagine :roll:

• 178.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-173: that’s what us men do. We braai,

• 179.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

No rugby so will punt one of my causes: Sea Shepherd expects to be rammed by Japanese Whalers…..http://www.digitaljournal.com/article/316772 …….this will be one most of you are familiar with and wont freak you out. Baby steps in converting you to the cause.

• 180.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-179: Those okes are mal. All for a great cause though.

• 181.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-155: Good team but Flip doesn’t cut the mustard. He’s produced nothing of any value in a Springbok jersey. I’d sooner take my chances with Juandre Kruger.

• 182.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-180: Did you see the dog butchery i put up ? with the guy next to it in a cage, people are so unaware and the dogs being tied up to stand as humans and being used for target practice in Peruvian army, and the animal sexual abuser that has now got a 10 year jail sentence and has to be registered as a s*x offender in the USA, that sentence was given because of all the petitions to the court, normally it was just a slap on the wrist and a fine.

• 183.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Yetirat-181: Yes it was a difficult one for me. Juandre is a better 5 IMO.

Maybe the ex Sharkie Mostert, but the 4 position is a bit thin in SA.

@Treehugger-182: Yes i was shocked.

• 184.grant10: Reply to this comment

our cricker selectors need to show some teeth now….this is plain and simple unacceptable…

• 185.grant10: Reply to this comment

this is another team on the decline…..just as boks were in 2010 and 2011….

• 186.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Is this keo site working, testing testing 123……..

• 187.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

ok … I am experiencing a slight problem, after submitting comment I get a blank page, so then a reload and it says duplicate comment….. so i have to backspace and then reload to see comment……this could be the new usb stick modem thingie… who knows.

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE !!!!!!!!!

Please drive carefully and be safe.

• 188.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

boo

So Pope Pontus orchestrated Xmas and Popes Gregory and Justin organized new year, both fictitious man made excuses to get outa sight besotted motherless

Who woulda thought all the new world lemmings woulda bought it but buy it big time they did.

So 25th Dec now represents the Lords birthday and 1st Jan is new year of ‘our Lord’ 2012

Orchestrated by who exactly, anyone got a random clear sighted cockamammie clue?

• 189.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Happy New Year everyone. Be safe.

• 190.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Glory Glory Hallelulja, Glory Glory Hallelulja, Glory Glory Hallelulja, the saints go marching on.

• 191.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Hahaha Happy New Year everyone!

May:

The Stormers win the Super Rugby Comp
    The Boks win the Tri-Quad nations
    Frans Steyn sign with WPRU
    Brok finally be recognised for the great player that he is ;)

It’s not too much to ask is it??

be safe y’all.

And lets be a little kinder to each other this year.

I will if you will.

• 192.Dawn: Reply to this comment

To each his or her own, Skop.

Stop being such a fecking wet blanket.

• 193.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-192: Happy New Year Dawnie!

Hope it’s a good one.

Go well, go Shell.

• 194.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Happy new year SB!

SS2 chris gayle playing 20 20 in australia.

That rasta sure follows the dollars!

• 195.Dawn: Reply to this comment

The coolest man in cricket.

Wanna meet him!

• 196.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Something called the Big Bash League!

• 197.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Am gonna get this thread going.

Keolings too quiet.

No new year wishes no nothing!

• 198.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-194: Thanks Dawn. Watching as we speak.

He’s a very exciting player for sure!

• 199.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Well. To me he just a tad more than exciting lol!

Nudge nudge wink wink

• 200.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Iree aint the word!

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 1116 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.