Leading SA’s rugby revolution

What do Francois Hougaard, Bismarck du Plessis, Gio Aplon, Johann Sadie, Andries Bekker, Pat Lambie and Juan de Jongh all have in common?

They all have the X factor, something that sets them apart from the rest.

If the Springboks are to achieve consistent success against the world champion All Blacks over the next four years, they will have to change their conservative mindset and play an expansive game when the situation demands it.

These seven players can lead South Africa’s rugby revolution and take our game to the next level.

Click here to subscribe to print edition

Click here to subscribe to digital edition

– Many junior players have failed to make the transition to senior rugby over the years because of flaws in the Baby Boks set-up, but the situation seems to be improving

– Why rugby is ripe for a global rebel league

SA Rugby magazine reveals how Solly Tyibilika wasn’t the only black player to be mismanaged over the past four years and how South Africa has regressed with regard to transformation at the highest levels

– Saracens flyhalf Derick Hougaard on suffering from depression, the ‘soul destroying’ experience of Kamp Staaldraad, and his desire to force his way back into Bok contention

England’s shambolic World Cup campaign left Martin Johnson with no choice but to resign

Victor Matfield speaks to SA Rugby magazine about his post-retirement plans, why players should be treated like adults, and his second-row partnership with Bakkies Botha

– Your ultimate guide to the 2012 Super Rugby season: Everything you need to know about the 15 teams

770 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 1116 » Show All

• 201.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-199: I understand ;)

Enjoy! Lets hope he stays in for a while!

• 202.Dawn: Reply to this comment

This format is so skittish.

Don’t really like it, am a test person meself.

• 203.Dawn: Reply to this comment

40 in 28 balls ok so far.

• 204.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

If he stays in he’ll put up a monster score. He’s a game winner for his team, not many like him.

• 205.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Gale gone. Game is still on!

• 206.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Gone but not forgotten!

• 207.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Happy New Year. May 2012 bring much joy, happiness and prosperity for all.

• 208.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-191:
    you drink too much over the festive season… i hope you dont drive as well..?..

@Dawn-197:
    no, theres been a problem with the site’s login, everytime i tried i got a blank screen.

• 209.Groot Wit Haai: Reply to this comment

Seems like skopskyt spend Christmas and new years by herself again…

• 210.Michael: Reply to this comment

Finally able to log on again…
    Skoppy, the answer to your question is that Jan 1 as the start of a new year ultimately derives from the Romans. They held elections for new consuls on Jan 1 and Julius Caesar moved the start of his new year when he instituted his revised calendar. The date of 25 Dec as Christmas was decided upon after Pope Pontius and became offical in the reign of Constantine.
    You’re the reason people should get a proper education.

Oh, Happy New Year all :-)

• 211.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Exactly what I said

Both Xmas and New Year are two fat funk fictitious pagan excuses to get motherless out of sinc with reality

There is absolutely nothing sacrosanct or auspicious about either of these Romanticized superstitions or figments of superimposed imaginations during either of these commercially driven extravagantly extrapolated bullshit stories.

Pope Gregory and Julian designed the haphazard Roman calendars supposedly starting on Jan 1st which has no correlated relevance to any new beginning of any cycle in nature. The Earth switches its elliptical path with the Sun at the solstices on Dec. 21st or else June 21st and reaches points of equilibrium at the equinoxes on March 21st or September 21st.

If Julian or Gregory had attributed any common scientific sense toward their respective cockamammie coerced calendar designs they would have started the calendar at one of these natural points of transition which at least would tie in with Earths path around the Sun.

The other cockamammie excuse called Xmas is the biggest hoax bullshit story going having being sold by the converted pagan rulers to their new found adopted religious duped masses when converting to Christianity under Emperor Constantine when Pope Pontius perpetrated his convenient cover up of the culmination of a 4 day long pagan solstice festival and combining it with the so called birth of the long dead savior, the biggest hoax ever to be perpetuated over the past 1700 or so years.

And so the hoax continues, neither of these fictional dates of fake authenticity have any real bearing or meaning to human alignment with either God or nature, and the only poor idiots being duped are these paganism induced heathens who perpetuate these cockamammie excuses to get conveniently motherless befok dronk, year after duped deluded year.

Call me a wet blanket all you like but if you seriously need an excuse to get motherlessly out of sinc with reality at least try and make it a reasonably accurate one.

• 212.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo-211: skop get over yourself…live & let live.

there are pilgrims in India who “religiously” go to a certain river to onstensibly cleanse themselves. let people do what suits them, life is arduous enough for some to constantly be pelted with useless & often didactic verbal barrages.

a joyous & hopefully blessed new year to all on keo.

go bokke!

• 213.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

I guess the age old adage still holds true

When in Rome do as the Romans do

Seems nothing much has changed in the past 2500 – 3000 years we still celebrating the sun birth festival of Mithras ( Xmas ) as well as the fertility festival of Roman adopted Egyptian goddess Istar around spring equinox ( Easter ) and conveniently confusing it with the Cristos birth and death and keeping the pagans ritualistic alignment with human superstitions alive and well in this 21st Century.

Perhaps the more accurate cyclic calendar of the Mayans may yet have the last laugh after all..,

Hail Horatius , Glory to the new born King, Halleluljah.

• 214.Michael: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo-211: Er no, I was answering your question and pointing out that your statements in the post I replied to are wrong.
    Pope Pontius (230 – 235AD) reigned before Constantine (306-337).

Please get your facts straight. Last from me on this.

Chill. It’s a festive season, ol ducky :-)

• 215.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-208: Actually boet, I’ve had very little to drink over this festive season. If I’m at someone else’s house or driving anywhere then it’s been strictly appletizer for me. Just no margin in taking any risks.

If I’m at home then I’ll have a glass or two, but for the most I’ve been pretty restrained.

@ashampoopaloo-211: It doesn’t matter whether it’s correct or not, calendar-wise.

The latest credible research puts a likely date of birth for ***** as approximately June in 2 BC.

That’s not the point. It’s a symbol. Hopefully it’s a time for people to be with their families, enjoy each others company and hopefully reflect a bit on their blessings, and make amends where appropriate.

To commemorate and celebrate the birth of someone sent by G od to save mankind, if you are that way inclined (which I am).

You, of course, are happy to make of it what you will.

• 216.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I never get motherlessy out of sync with reality. If some people choose to do so, it’s their choice.

Who the hell are we to say otherwise.

• 217.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-212:
    man, that is one dirty ****** river…

@stormersboy-215:
    oh, thats interesting because your new year’s wish list reads like you do drink a lot.. :grin:
    but ja sure hey, the springboks taking the 4 nations with heyneke at the helm is top of my list… so here’s to hoping we all get what we want.

• 218.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

****** = ffukken

• 219.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-217: Ja I picked up on the gist of your post ;)

A guy can dream can’t he??

It is a wish list after all…..

• 220.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-219:

maybe (whispers…) ‘if you build it they will come’..(whisper, echoes, whisper…)

• 221.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-219: hi M…hope u having a great vacation. mine is fabulous and i’m wrapping it up shortly though, you know the work of a business development officer is never done! ;)

i’ll holiday on a yacht off the amalfi coast after delivering the nuclear power plant.

• 222.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Happy New Year Everyone
    Hope all the Keo bloggers have a great 2012
    And goooooooo Stormers and Bokke

• 223.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

oh well I guess it may be socially acceptable to get conveniently and determinedly debauched in the name of some fantastical demagoguery of a supposed saints fake birthday… any old excuse will do while living under delusions of superstitious Romanticized folklore that these dates we so reverently hold so dear mean absolutely fanny f’all in Gods circus of whirling worlds suspended by sound and light in the symphonies of the spheres

now they wanna tell me it ain’t really the year of ‘our Lord’ 2012 because he wasn’t born in December on 0 AD but in June of 2 BC… when it was likely a little cold for shepherds to be watching their flocks by night in the midwinter skies of June or for any bright star to be clearly visible in the east…

So if they not quit sure who or what it is they are worshiping on Dec 25th or on Jan 1st … which neither dates are either the birth of the savior nor the beginning of the year.. then what in God’s name is all this outa sight debauchery in aid of around this so called season of Romanticized paganism festivities?

A good old snort and a night on the town to commemorate nothing relevant to anyone… actually.. what else?

• 224.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

So mid June represents high summer on the plains outside of Bethlehem .. perhaps that is a little closer to the truth… though no one truly knows, and likely ever will… so what?… a good excuse to get embroiled in traditional superstition with some high jinx antics around the imbibing of some intoxicating beverage or few… why not?? after all it has been ordained and condoned by the most high priests of the order of the Pagan worshiping Papal officers in the conditioned fantasized creation in Rome..

• 225.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-221: Hey fella, nice to hear. We are having a very cool holliday, in between the beach house and home, catching up with family, feasting (occasionally) and also going on outings with the kids.

Special time.

The yacht thing sounds like a good plan ;)

A new Dynamic after all……. :D

• 226.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo-224:
    you really should just focus on the important stuff skop, and leave all the rest behind:
    the springboks, a beautiful woman, great food and good drink…

I close my eyes
    only for a moment
    and the moment’s gone
    all my dreams
    pass before my eyes a curiosity
    dust in the wind
    all we are is dust in the wind

Same old song
    just a drop of water
    in the endless sea
    all we do
    crumbles to the ground
    though we refuse to see
    dust in the wind

Now, don’t hang on
    nothing lasts forever
    but the earth and sky
    it slips away

And all your money
    won’t another minute buy

Dust in the wind
    dust in the wind
    everything is dust in the wind

• 227.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo-223: skop, i don’t hear you gaaning aan about muslims who go on pilgrimaga in mecca just to walk around some stone or whatever it is the people there find sacred.

keep to what you know & believe in.

nobody likes a know-it-all.

• 228.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

one mans tradition and superstition don’t equate nor does it negate another’s

after all all men are supposedly born equal in the eyes of the ‘Lord’

so like all religions and all traditions, they are in fact all fake… all of them without exception.. each and every one of these traditions and superstitions and religions orchestrated and ordained and created by man are fake.. each and every one without fail…

all it takes is just a little clarity of thought… just a little bit of non traditional non superstitious eye opening to realize that all such religious observances and traditions are all exactly and equally fake.. without a shred of true genuine authenticity to share among them… not a single one.

• 229.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

If one looks on the internet today which is the current assumed relevant authentication of useless information you will find perhaps more days attributed to JC’s birthday than anyone else… which basically means nobody, not even the Pope nor the Cardinals nor the high priests in Moscow or Athens or Syria or Egypt know when JC was born… not a single one..

Some say 6 BC in April.. others say 7 BC in May.., others say June in 2 BC, . others say the Jewish month of Tishri September / October around 4 BC … and then a few blind mice still believe Mithra’s sun god birthday of Dec. 25th is the authenticated birth day of reckoning yet…

Not even the gospels according Mark, Matthew, Luke or John.. nor the prophecies of Isiah nor the written works of the historian Josephus nor the letters to the Romans by Paul or the treatises to the Greeks or the writings of Timothy or Phillip or the Coptic clues in Alexandria.. give the actual birth day or year of the savior of mankind…

So it shows when men are that duped and deluded to worship a so called birthday of ‘They know not Who’ and keep it as a traditional day to worship or celebrate something they know not what .. that all man made religion, superstition and tradition is by no means an excuse to get motherless outa sight debauched drunk.. and neither is Caesar’s fictitious beginning of the calendar year a reason for any so called season of dubious denial driven debilitation..

• 230.rangerman: Reply to this comment

Who cares bud?

Ser?ously.

G?ve yourself a poethklap loser.

Happy new year to the rest of you.

SHAAAAAARKS!

• 231.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-230: Or as Ashwin Willemse says…:

Saaaaaaaarks! :D

• 232.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

even you got question marks springing up all over the place… if ever there was a denial driven loser it gotta be you… Sharks my farken foot … another reason to drown your debilitated head in dubious deluded drunken stupor…

don’t you know the difference between a sea cockroach and a sea slug that you eat in pitiful abandon.. you should join the survivor circus they eat those slimy yucky slithering things there to stay in the pitiful race before they are executed out to extinction…

• 233.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

a loser in my estimation is somebody who cannot or will not see reality from fiction.. that is my definition of a loser… which basically makes the bulk majority of these beer swilling flesh eating cockroach cannibal debilitated sea slug guzzlers and traditional Roman festivity worshiping morons the ultimate losers in creation… how little do they know what a true loser truly is…

• 234.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

i think the aims should not be to deride those ‘people of faith’ repeatedly at every opportunity, but rather to just protect your liberties and freedoms as a non believer from the people of faith… because, usually… they are the one’s mounting irrational and arbitrary attacks on those who do not subscribe to their beliefs, no matter how absurd they may be.

• 235.cab: Reply to this comment

yessus i’m still farken out my tree, what day of the week is it?

Old King Cole was a merry old soul
    And a merry old soul was he;
    He called for his pipe, and he called for his bowl
    And he called for his fiddlers three.

• 236.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

yep that’s me old King Cole.. the merry old soul… how’d you guess ‘lil lord Fauntleroy?

Old Mother Hubbard went and told you I’m sure..

Its Sunday you moron… the day the Sun is worshiped in ancient Roman tradition… Sunday.. some say its the Sabbath while others say its the Romans pagan day off… others say its the day after Saturday.. which is supposedly the real authentic Sabbath.. and others say its 2 days after Friday… which is somebody else’s Holy worshiping Sabbath day where no wine woman or song is to be entertained or imbibed

Don’t you know one day of the week from the next.. or you just as dilly wool over the scientific eyes confused as them traditional superstition believer’s?

• 237.cab: Reply to this comment

yep, i dont really care, one excuse is as good as another to get trollied…kind of like they did back in the 60s when popping psychadelics of hoe? or u say one barbiturate better than another, kind of like religions?

• 238.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

its like that old saying ‘different strokes for different folks’

you gotta choose your highs and lows according your psychologically deprived and conditioned intelligentsia laden deficiencies allow… You must be a prime candidate for a good double dose of Uncle Timothy Leary’s prime Xmas brew.to wake you right out of that dumb debilitated toxic stupor you got so bogged down in…

But then Getafix ain’t around no more to whisk up a brew made especially for you…

Perhaps some of Old Don Juan’s mescalito.. it may snap you out of your debilitated delusion… seeing all that non compos mentis intake of dead duck famous grouse alcoholic down syndrome inducing fermented hops and wheat and barley garbage has seriously damaged you beyond much hope for repair…

having highlighted the alternative approaches to motherless intoxicated induced delusion… it can clearly be defined even by the scientific decree of the high priests that alcohol brings you down… while other substances such as magic mushrooms and herbs actually lift one up… I am of the school which don’t buy either defused states of mental delusion… so as far as I’m concerned total abstinence from all manner of mind or body altering substance or intoxicant is to be avoided… most especially that sickening socially acceptable depraved drug of humanity they have elevated into a derelict intoxicated art form called alcohol

• 239.cab: Reply to this comment

What is wrong with pure hedonism?

if u aint hurting anyone else, just wtf is so bad bout a bit of debauchery ekse?

• 240.cab: Reply to this comment

LMAO – uncle timothy’ xmas brew, u are fkd in the piesang, no doubts, one crazy fkn little oompaloompa.

• 241.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo-238:
    ‘total abstinence from all manner of mind or body altering substance or intoxicant’ is to be adhered to and all intake of such mind affecting substance should be avoided… always..

But obviously just like flesh eating… this is one rung of the ladder too steep or too arduous a task even for superstitiously weaned and materialistically enshrined pseudo scientists such as you..

• 242.carol: Reply to this comment

Evening Keolings

New Years Greetings…

Skop, I have partaken one glass of white wine this evening! How does this rate on the ‘Debauch Ometer’ ?

• 243.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

wanna be a hedonist … go ahead… only dumb schmuck idiot you are hurting and affecting is yourself… none other…

• 244.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Its just like kissing

One kiss… two kisses…. the next thing you know you got twins…

same with one glass of wine… next its two glasses and before you know it the bottle is cased and the whiskey jar is open… and you land up in somebody’s bed who you dunno from Adam or Peter or Paul… or Mary…

• 245.cab: Reply to this comment

i cant obey rules like that, cant obey any rules let alone ridiculous ones, we have basic needs, meat, beer and mtwetwai…wtf kind of existence u lot wanna make this anyhow? god gerd waars my perd.

@carol-242:
    evening carol

• 246.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Oh for goodness sake we are not all in drunken deluded ffuckin stupors!!!!!!!!

• 247.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

you drive on the left side of the road or the right side…??

you make love to Elizabeth Taylor or Richard Burton ??

intake of barbiturates and weed and cocaine and mescalin is verboten … how come this sickening depraved social deprived so called ‘norm’ of mindless intoxicated stupor where they have taken this sickening deficiency inducing drug called alcohol and made it into some romanticized f’ng stupefied mindless acceptable art form and screwed up elevated social alcoholic deprivation is not ??

You dunno rules from reality… your so called rules are so fck’d up the pole, same as your screwed up sense of morality and normality or sanity… you so far gone off the rails of reality you simply don’t know which rules are real and which are fake.. dumb deluded hedonist pseudo scientific whack job nutty professor of romanticized hedonism..

• 248.cab: Reply to this comment

And when they were up, they were up,
    And when they were down, they were down,
    And when they were only half-way up,
    They were neither up nor down.

fauntleroy signing off for his tiffin and port.

• 249.carol: Reply to this comment

@cab-245:
    Evening Cab, sorry called away! :-)

• 250.whatever: Reply to this comment

A new year, but the same old dooos’s singing the same old songs…….aaaah well
    happy new year !

Here’s to a better one for the green and gold!

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 1116 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.