Leading SA’s rugby revolution
26 Dec 2011
What do Francois Hougaard, Bismarck du Plessis, Gio Aplon, Johann Sadie, Andries Bekker, Pat Lambie and Juan de Jongh all have in common?
They all have the X factor, something that sets them apart from the rest.
If the Springboks are to achieve consistent success against the world champion All Blacks over the next four years, they will have to change their conservative mindset and play an expansive game when the situation demands it.
These seven players can lead South Africa’s rugby revolution and take our game to the next level.
Click here to subscribe to print edition
Click here to subscribe to digital edition
– Many junior players have failed to make the transition to senior rugby over the years because of flaws in the Baby Boks set-up, but the situation seems to be improving
– Why rugby is ripe for a global rebel league
– SA Rugby magazine reveals how Solly Tyibilika wasn’t the only black player to be mismanaged over the past four years and how South Africa has regressed with regard to transformation at the highest levels
– Saracens flyhalf Derick Hougaard on suffering from depression, the ‘soul destroying’ experience of Kamp Staaldraad, and his desire to force his way back into Bok contention
– England’s shambolic World Cup campaign left Martin Johnson with no choice but to resign
– Victor Matfield speaks to SA Rugby magazine about his post-retirement plans, why players should be treated like adults, and his second-row partnership with Bakkies Botha
– Your ultimate guide to the 2012 Super Rugby season: Everything you need to know about the 15 teams

770 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 … 16 » Show All
2 Jan 2012, 01:27 am
FINALLY able to log in after a few days left out in the cold…
I see skop was still able to log in and post his usual drivel though…
Wht the special treatment to our senile geriatric club?
2 Jan 2012, 02:22 am
Yay finally back up.
Got John Smit book for Christmas. Excellent read. Would recommend it.
@Rhys7-152:
Bud, you post a new fantasy team every week.
How about discussing the pros & cons of certain players you’d like to see in there.
I mean you want Lambie as a 12… a position that favors the stronger runners who can get over the gain-line. We can all agree Frans could be the best 12 in world rugby…. If you aren’t in favor of overseas players, then why include Sarel Pretorius?
Jean Deysel at 4 makes me cringe, and Willem Alberts is a heck of a lot better then Josh Strauss.
2 Jan 2012, 02:24 am
@hendrikp-252: has John Smit released a new book?
2 Jan 2012, 02:26 am
How come a select few (Skop, Transformation, Dawn and Cab etc) seemed unaffected by the recent logging in issues?…
i.e. the question is, why were some people affected and some not?
2 Jan 2012, 02:33 am
@wooden spoon-253:
Not new… but a good read nonetheless.
2 Jan 2012, 02:35 am
@wooden spoon-254:
Maybe different settings that don’t require them to login each time re-open their browser?
2 Jan 2012, 06:18 am
@hendrikp-256: don’t worry about spooner, ever the eternal conspiracy theorist.
2 Jan 2012, 06:51 am
@hendrikp-256: i see Ted’s been knighted. the kiwis are going to be ‘unplayable’ as grant would say.
Graham Henry’s masterminding
of the All Blacks’ World Cup
success not only laid a 24-year
demon to rest but has also earned
him a knighthood in the New
Year’s Honours list.
Sir Graham, as he will now be
known, has been rewarded for a
38-year coaching career at all
levels of the game by becoming a
Knight Companion of the New
Zealand Order of Merit.
He started as a first XV coach at
Auckland Grammar and Kelston
Boys’ High, moved on to
successful stints with Auckland
and the Blues before moving up to
international level with Wales,
between 1998 and 2002, and the
British and Irish Lions in 2001.
But undoubtedly the pinnacle of
his career came in charge of the
All Blacks.
Henry won 88 of his 103 Tests in
charge – an unrivalled winning
percentage of 85.4 percent – and
ensured the All Blacks were
regular winners of the Bledisloe Cup and Tri Nations along with Grand Slam triumphs.
2 Jan 2012, 06:57 am
@hendrikp-255: Got Victor’s book, Tim Noakes’ book & Bear Gryls’ book for Christmas. Started Victor’s one. I’ll post the verdict in a day or so.
2 Jan 2012, 07:11 am
Happy New Year to everyone.
And it’s going to be the year of the Stormers.
I can feel it in my water.
2 Jan 2012, 07:39 am
@Transformation-258:
All the best for 2012, transie.
The thing that jumps out there is the 85.4% success rate and that over an 8 year period with the AB’s.
2 Jan 2012, 07:46 am
@IAAS-260: Fo’ Sho” !
2 Jan 2012, 08:01 am
I don’t know what skoppy believes in but it sure makes him,sour,bitter and compassionless.
am not interested in what he has at all.
2 Jan 2012, 08:03 am
@stormersboy-262:
How you doing? All the best to you for 2012.
Hope the weather is decent in CT – down there from next week.
2 Jan 2012, 08:03 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-263:
I you were a Bokke supporter you’d be sour and bitter as well….
2 Jan 2012, 08:07 am
@IAAS-264: Compliments to you too!
We’ve been having nice weather, the odd windy day, the odd overcast/rainy day like today but it’s been mostly great weather.
You’ll catch the exodus of holiday makers perfectly.
2 Jan 2012, 08:08 am
@NZINCHINA-265:
I am but my life does not just revovolve around rugby
2 Jan 2012, 08:10 am
@NZINCHINA-265:
If I were living in China and when talking my wife back home to NZ she has a good chance of facing blatant harrasment and racism because she is asian I would most propably be.
2 Jan 2012, 08:11 am
Spot the Bokke?
http://www.smh.com.au/photogallery/rugby-union/union-news/rugbyheavens-team-of-the-year-20111228-1pc0r.html
2 Jan 2012, 08:12 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-268:
a new year and you’re still lame
2 Jan 2012, 08:13 am
@NZINCHINA-265: What a difference 4 months make for you Kiwis though……..
2 Jan 2012, 08:14 am
@NZINCHINA-270:
Like I care what you think.
Rather lame and lots of very nice oppurtunities than be stuck in china.
2 Jan 2012, 08:15 am
@stormersboy-271:
all the best for 2012.
very sad when a rigged wc means so much…
2 Jan 2012, 08:16 am
@stormersboy-271:
Ha that one was for Fern, even when we weren’t winning world cups we had a bit to smile about
2 Jan 2012, 08:17 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-272:
fark we aren’t going to hear about your wondeful life for another farking year are we, yes yes you own your own home and have a good job well done mate you’re a ******* hero
2 Jan 2012, 08:17 am
“f ucking”
2 Jan 2012, 08:20 am
@NZINCHINA-275:
properties,plural
did you have a spitroasted poodle for your new years feast?
Just skip my posts if you don’t want to read about me.Simple.
This is not china,you do have a choice.
2 Jan 2012, 09:02 am
@NZINCHINA-274: Well 2 a piece to the 3 SH teams seems pretty fair to me…..
1 to the NH.
Watching Bath vs London Irish and the Toulon game yesterday I understand why.
2 Jan 2012, 09:11 am
Good morning you hedonistic alcohol-ridden deluded dumbfuck schmucks
2 Jan 2012, 09:16 am
Lol!
“Erotic videos give boost to rugby players”
(On the pitch)!
2 Jan 2012, 09:19 am
@Dawn-279: Morning madam.
2 Jan 2012, 09:39 am
Madam?
2 Jan 2012, 09:42 am
OK I’ll live with it.
Morning Sir.
2 Jan 2012, 09:43 am
@Dawn-282: I call lots of people that.
I guess mademoiselle may have been more appropriate
2 Jan 2012, 10:13 am
@IAAS-260:
you ‘feel it in your water’..?.. is that like a menstrual ovular thing?
@NZINCHINA-265:
you support a bunch of low cheats who cant win without a fix, china.
you’re better off being bitter and sour.
do something about it… fix your rugby..
2 Jan 2012, 10:18 am
@IAAS-261: thanks bud, likewise to you & yours.
yeah Ted’s win ratio puts a lot international coaches to shame.
2 Jan 2012, 10:46 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-273:
More so when it earned a Knighthood,
2 Jan 2012, 10:56 am
how come jake & smit didn’t get knighted? or a japies excluded from the queen’s grandiose pats on the back for the former colonies?
2 Jan 2012, 11:46 am
plod knighted?
Good heavens !
2 Jan 2012, 11:57 am
@grant10-289: hehe happy new year boet.
2 Jan 2012, 12:12 pm
@grant10-289: Gentlemen, a little bit of worldly education for you: Elizabeth is the queen of a number of countries and in that role she grants knighthoods. So for example if she knights a New Zealander, she does so in the capacity of monarch of that country. South Africa is a republic, ruled by Zulu. The queen no longer has the capacity to recognise the achievements of the citizens of South Africa.
2 Jan 2012, 12:17 pm
@stormersboy-278:
Yip very fair
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-285:
We are the world champions in rugby at every level that counts, i’m very happy buddy I doubt you can say the same.
2 Jan 2012, 12:17 pm
When is Gert Smal going to be announced as new coach? Anyone know…
2 Jan 2012, 12:18 pm
Arise, dame Dawn.
(Is that what they call a lady knight?)
2 Jan 2012, 12:21 pm
@NZINCHINA-292:
that’s too bad.
you could’ve been great but you threw it away.
2 Jan 2012, 12:26 pm
I’m all for jousting and swordfighting nad such.
2 Jan 2012, 12:42 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-295:
mens/womans/U 20/7′s we got it all, you’ll get your shot at the title in a few years time but first you must start winning some silverware and winning away from home
2 Jan 2012, 12:49 pm
Happy New Year Everyone!
2 Jan 2012, 13:09 pm
Bloggers seem to have lost what little sense of humour they had.
2 Jan 2012, 13:12 pm
@Bill Reyts-293:
27th, but I am not so sure its a done deal.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 … 16 » Show All