Leading SA’s rugby revolution
26 Dec 2011
What do Francois Hougaard, Bismarck du Plessis, Gio Aplon, Johann Sadie, Andries Bekker, Pat Lambie and Juan de Jongh all have in common?
They all have the X factor, something that sets them apart from the rest.
If the Springboks are to achieve consistent success against the world champion All Blacks over the next four years, they will have to change their conservative mindset and play an expansive game when the situation demands it.
These seven players can lead South Africa’s rugby revolution and take our game to the next level.
Click here to subscribe to print edition
Click here to subscribe to digital edition
– Many junior players have failed to make the transition to senior rugby over the years because of flaws in the Baby Boks set-up, but the situation seems to be improving
– Why rugby is ripe for a global rebel league
– SA Rugby magazine reveals how Solly Tyibilika wasn’t the only black player to be mismanaged over the past four years and how South Africa has regressed with regard to transformation at the highest levels
– Saracens flyhalf Derick Hougaard on suffering from depression, the ‘soul destroying’ experience of Kamp Staaldraad, and his desire to force his way back into Bok contention
– England’s shambolic World Cup campaign left Martin Johnson with no choice but to resign
– Victor Matfield speaks to SA Rugby magazine about his post-retirement plans, why players should be treated like adults, and his second-row partnership with Bakkies Botha
– Your ultimate guide to the 2012 Super Rugby season: Everything you need to know about the 15 teams

770 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 … 16 » Show All
2 Jan 2012, 13:18 pm
@NZINCHINA-297:
by all means, keep it.
i would never enjoy titles or trophies won on the low.
i prefer trophies deservedly earned… great feeling… nothing like it…
2 Jan 2012, 13:25 pm
@Bill Reyts-293: @PissAnt-300: i’m not sure about this gert smal character…
if he gets the job then so be it but he should know we want to win & want to win NOW!
2 Jan 2012, 13:27 pm
@Transformation-302:
Last time WP won the Currie Cup he was in charge…
2 Jan 2012, 13:37 pm
@PissAnt-303: that was MORE than a decade ago & it was the currie cup for crying out loud…
plum has won that comp twice in recent years, it doesn’t make a him an international head coach.
2 Jan 2012, 13:56 pm
@Transformation-304:
and these are the palookas heyneke meyer does not even get rated against..?..
boggles the mind really.
2 Jan 2012, 14:00 pm
how many cc’s has heyneke won?
2 Jan 2012, 14:01 pm
don’t answer it… the question’s rhetorical…
2 Jan 2012, 14:09 pm
@Transformation-304:
Since WP (when the Currie Cup at least had most of their Boks on display for the most part) he has moved on to international coaching (test rugby). He has 8 years experience at test level.
He has also drafted a proposal in 2008 to develop black rugby players (specifically forwards) which was subsequently ignored by SA Rugby at the time.
He is respected as one of the best forwards coaches in world rugby at test level not only locally, but in European rugby where there is a massive emphasis on forward play – hence Ireland (who has won a couple of titles in the last 4 years) more than keen to sign him on again after the RWC.
He is familiar with the Springbok setup and SA Rugby’s inner workings, has the most experience as coach at test level of any current SA coaches (we will not appoint a foreigner) and is respected by his players and peers – and of course, he wore the Green and Gold as a player.
If Steve Hansen is good enough for the All Blacks, I see no reason why Gert cannot take charge of the Boks.
2 Jan 2012, 14:10 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-305:
Heyneke does not want the job as coach.
2 Jan 2012, 14:53 pm
@PissAnt-308: Gert Smal… who thinks that black leadership is naturally inferior.. but I suppose so do you. Gert Smal is best kept away from leadership in SA rugby. The man is pure Nazi. He should feel free to write up training manuals and sell them to SARU.
2 Jan 2012, 15:02 pm
@PissAnt-309: Heyneke Meyer does not want to compete with PDV’s legacy. Being seen to be inferior to a black man is a white man’s worst nightmare in SA. I am sure you understand it. I see that you have started your own site to exclude competition and create an illusion of supremacy. How is it going with your site??
2 Jan 2012, 15:05 pm
@youknowwho-310:
“…thinks that black leadership is naturally inferior…” Why do you say that?
2 Jan 2012, 15:05 pm
@PissAnt-309:
yes, i know that is what everyone is saying but how do you know its true?
honestly, think it through…
who wouldn’t want such a job? (yes you can discount all the political, cultural, afrikaans, english, racial, agenda driven, ja-broer, self serving, trnsformational **** as well as the simple stresses of high expectations to deliver success all the time… the point still stands)
he has wanted it in the past and i am sure he would want it today but only if he in turn was wanted for the job, and was given the power and environment in which to succeed.
unless you have a very credible source who has heard it from many horses mouths that he does not, then i will continue to believe.
gert smal will just deliver more of the mediocre same, i am convinced of this.
2 Jan 2012, 15:09 pm
@Melchizedek-312: He seemingly said that he will not work under a black coach… While this has not been confirmed it has also not been denied. He did however work under an Irish coach recently so it not that he does not like the No2 or 3 position… in coaching
2 Jan 2012, 15:32 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-313:
So then who do you think should be coach, knowing that Heyneke doesn’t want the job?
2 Jan 2012, 15:56 pm
@youknowwho-314: If that’s true (and this is the first I’ve heard of it), I’d imagine it’d be an immediate disqualifier. You can’t have an avowed racist as a national coach.
Besides, I’m not sure how one would prefer Smal over AC. I think AC is as qualified for the job as any coach in this country. It’d be interesting to see how Meyer would do as Bok coach. He appears to me to be the type of coach who needs time to build a squad, and we know that time is not a luxury afforded to Bok coaches. However, he seems to have the respect of the local and intl rugby fraternity, is a visionary and technically adept. But I intuit that the issue with HM is that he feels that he needs to be guaranteed the job. He isn’t ambitious (hungry) enough for the job or is so proud to believe that he should be given the job on a silver platter. Neither of the two qualities r good for an aspiring Bok coach in my books.
2 Jan 2012, 16:08 pm
@Bill Reyts-315:
no, i do not know with certainty that hm does not want the job. that was my point all along as people keep saying this but no one knows it with certainty.
anyway, barring hm then i would go for any of the following candidates:
1. mallet
well i guess they’re probably the only two credible candidates then.
smal will prove to be mediocre i fear, because thats just what he is (he’s had his chance to conquer the coaching world).
ludeke will probably not be allowed to leave the bulls just yet.
john mitchell has only won one cc so is probably no more qualified than rassie, he needs to prove himself in sr..
acsie (allister and rassie) really are starting to show an emporers clothing so have to prove themselves in sr as well.
perhaps an outsider would be woodward but he too has only just a wc, like white, and no sustained success.
white is pretty much obligated by the looks of things.
no, i think the only credible options are meyer and mallet.
2 Jan 2012, 16:23 pm
@Melchizedek-316: Spot on about HM believing that he is entitled to not only get the job but to fkup until he can build a reasonable winning record comparable to PDV.. even if it takes him 5 years.
2 Jan 2012, 16:30 pm
@Melchizedek-316:
why shouldn’t the best man for the job be guaranteed the job?
what competitive organisation desiring of success doesn’t (at least you’d think they wouldn’t) operate with such a mindset?
but of course, for all the reasons of our history we end up with the pieter de villiers’ of the world….a lucky stooge who came along at a lucky time (i’ve got nothing against him personally, just stating the facts) and who said inspirational things like ‘go out there and do your best, boys’.. ‘show them what you’ve got, guys’… ‘play the situation in fron of you’.. and so on..
a guy who had of course inherited his entire squad, systems and setup from his predecessor and who in his time there, as well his capacity, added nothing whatsoever to the springbok sporting organisation. its a bit like a rich kid coming into a business inheritance, he may in his turn buy or sell one or two companies and do so successfully but for the most part he’s just there because of his predecessor and cannot in his own way achieve sustained success and grow the business he was left, let alone grow it at all if he started from scratch (yes, this is not always the rule but in his case it is).
2 Jan 2012, 16:33 pm
(at least you’d think they wouldn’t) = (at least you’d think they would)
2 Jan 2012, 16:34 pm
give it back to Pdv he deserves it most
Graham Henry failed at the quarters in 2007,. And now he has a knighthood having been cheated out of one encounter with France and then 4 years later cheated through to claim a WC against same France who must be the perennial brides maids always getting cheated out of legitimate wins.
So if Graham Henry can fluke a knighthood with a little help from the IRB, Pdv who was cheated out of a quarter final encounter could do the same.
Besides now there’s no more albatross of John Smit or FdP hanging around his neck he can make decisions and run the team according his own deductions. If Henry needed an extra 4 years to fluke it at the death who’s to say Pdv can’t do the same or better yet win it convincingly and legitimately next time around.
2 Jan 2012, 16:37 pm
@youknowwho-314:
Seemingly…
Still dealing in what-if’s and maybe’s I see.
Conjecture, hearsay, rumours… Oh sorry, I just checked the site I am on – no matter.
2 Jan 2012, 16:44 pm
Off to dinner, cheers.
2 Jan 2012, 17:13 pm
@PissAnt-322: uhmmmm, OK.. When we start digging dirt, you never know what we may find down there
2 Jan 2012, 20:03 pm
All this hanahana!
Just wait till 27th
2 Jan 2012, 21:24 pm
Somebody needs to explain to me the mind set of a person that comes onto a rugby site, doesnt actually have any interest in the game, contributes sweet F all cept to try and cause racial disharmony in most of the comments they put out there, and not even factual.
” He seemingly said that he will not work under a black coach…” would love to know where that comment was seemingly made.
” Spot on about HM believing that he is entitled to not only get the job ” so you know the man well then. Running people down and saying things bad things about them does not make it true.
2 Jan 2012, 21:41 pm
@Treehugger-326:
He is just a racist doos troll…………..ignor him
2 Jan 2012, 22:05 pm
@Treehugger-326:
Check the label – this particular site does not really attract the rugby concious (alone). It’s a bit like the news24 comments.
2 Jan 2012, 23:13 pm
@PissAnt-328:
news24 comments..?..
ok
i will have a look
2 Jan 2012, 23:23 pm
@ashampoopaloo-321:
really skop? really?
do you honestly believe that pieter de villiers is in any way comparable to graham henry?
graham may have fluked a win at the death with a little help from his friends (eight years later) but still, at the end of the day he managed to cheat his way to a lot of titles inbetween before he got there… which is a lot more than i can say for pdivvy…
3 Jan 2012, 00:43 am
well lets put it this way
I’d rather have a charismatic PdV running the side than a dour and dismal Gert Smal plodding his way through 4 more years of trials and error
PdV got his timing wrong.. taking the boks after they fluked a 2007 WC against nobody in particular, unless you regard 7th ranked England as worthy competitors in 2007, had him basically on a hiding to nothing because he got saddled with somebody else’s team and had to cow tail to the likes and dislikes of all and sundry surrounding him, starting with John Smit and his band of know it all’s ..
So PdV never really got to run the Bok side the way he had set out to.. his hands got firmly tied behind his back by those he entrusted with the fake legacy he inherited.. John Smit set out to get a back to back win at the WC and this alone derailed PdV’s chances.. in the end it was never about the coach and all about the famous players who had been fostered onto him…
Mark Keohane and Rian Oberholtzer can almost take direct responsibility for influencing the decision to go fetch a disgruntled over the hill Smit from Clermont and foster him and his entire JW backtrack thinking rugby philosophy onto PdV..
Now with Gert Smal will be much of the same chicken arsed conservative rearguard action cowardice that rules SA rugby for another semester of dour dismal non eventful rugby…
Oh Boy gee wiz I can hardly wait for this exciting non eventful rugby to unfold… another 4 years of outright boredom… what a load of reverse gear krap
3 Jan 2012, 01:16 am
Henry got lucky.. and now he gets knighted
Graham Henry was no ways this awe inspiring coach and no better than PdV ultimately, France had his number all ends up in the final and Craig Joubert baled the AB’s out of the most famous loss in their history… no such knighthood had the match been blown fairly… as rigged as it got so is the fine edge between success and failure.. Had Bryce Lawrence and Craig Joubert reffed those two knife edge games with a modicum of fair following of the rules Boks would have met AB’s in semi’s and who knows maybe met France in the final… which non of it turned out that way due to sentimental setups by the caucuses running the show behind the scenes..
Henry had the luxury of a decent team of people propping him up like Smith and Hansen with Richie McCaw running proceedings on the pitch and the artistry and capacity of a Dan Carter as back line general with some deft skills through his core of players for most of his 85 % tenure as AB coach.
The Boks lost their way when they went and relied on the garbage philosophy set out by Smit & Co from as early as 2008 with the kick chase krap that basically derailed the entire momentum of the side from as early *** 2009 and they never really got out of that dwindling spiral as ong as Smit ran on as starting hooker and captain… There were times when Boks were right on top of their game but these times were few and far between and mostly when Smit was nowhere to be seen.. same with FdP who became a liability in the end and hardly the genius asset he was hailed to be by his peers and all the scribes that wrote him up to be an untouchable…
Finally it came down to Rassie Erasmus creating another misnomer of a strategy by orchestrating this new brain wave that Schalk Burger was to be the fulcrum ball carrier chief cook and bottle washer mid field general who got second phase ball at first receiver every time… and this basically stuffed the Boks through the groin in the build up and through to the eventual exit at the WC… Burger being the one responsible for directly coughing it up for Horwill’s try and again losing it on the Australian try line up against the post when in possession, not being able to secure or recycle go forward ball… being the hero that failed ultimately to cross the advantage line when it counted… Down to a failed Rassie Erasmus strategy that did not work…
In the final analysis PdV ultimately handed his entire campaign strategy to those who could not produce when it mattered.. Rassie, Muir, Gold, Smit, FdP and Spies with Burger being the go to guy who could not go to get anything… couldn’t breech the advantage line as often as he tried.. and lost ball in possession at vital situations too often to be effective…
Too many noneffective contributors in areas that mattered.. Smit should have been gone.. so too FdP and Burger should not have been the mid field battering ram that failed dismally in the ploy of a ball carrying general…
JdV should have been captain or at least vice if Matfield ran the team… and Burger should have been reduced to the tackle demon he is famed for, not a non effective ball carrying link man.. Hougaard should have been run on scrumhalf and Bismark run on hooker with Alberts run on No.8 and everything would have turned out decidedly differently.
3 Jan 2012, 04:00 am
@ashampoopaloo-332:
Yer Henry got lucky 85% of the time, PDV isn’t qualified to wipe Sir Grahams backside.
3 Jan 2012, 04:32 am
@Transformation-160:
I listened to Wayne Smith on Radio Sports here in Nz mid December and he spoke quite openly about job opportunities he wanted to explore in the future, whilst he did not mention specific countries or rugby teams. He wanted to coach an International side that had the goods to compete and win at the highest level. At the moment he is aware he possesses all of the Abs intellectual property so he would have to bide his time and wait for the right opportunity to throw his hat in the ring, but if I were SARU I would be thinking seriously about securing his signature in 2013.
3 Jan 2012, 04:54 am
@ashampoopaloo-332:
Through all your contradictions I worked out from your post that GH is a sly lucky cat and Pdiv is a p ussy
3 Jan 2012, 07:19 am
@Te Rangatira-334:
No thanks. Imagine what you would’ve thought of him if Trinh-duc hadn’t missed that penalty… the margins at test level are so narrow… and we don’t need a foreigner in a position where we have plenty of very good candidates.
@Te Rangatira-335:
Ignore him. Trying to reason with that p0eph0l will get you nowhere.
3 Jan 2012, 07:43 am
mallet
mitchell
all the rest are simply not in the same class…..
in my opinion.
3 Jan 2012, 08:29 am
@hendrikp-336:
I think you’ll find most international coaches wouldn’t consider SA because of the potential dangers to their families etc with your crime rate, lets be honest Mitchell was very very lucky not to be killed,
3 Jan 2012, 08:38 am
@NZINCHINA-338:
Listen up you communist p ig.
You will not tell people what to post
This is not china we have freedom of speech.
Even if I do not like a lot of people’s rantings here yhey do have freedom of speech.
You think we are unhappy because we did not win the rwc,how small is your world…
3 Jan 2012, 08:43 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-339:
Mitchell was very close to being a death notice why would anybody put their family through that for a few rand.
3 Jan 2012, 08:54 am
@NZINCHINA-340:
Ask him,he did not leave afterwards.
Why would any person raise their kids in a communist country with gross human atrocities?
Why not raise them in NZ?
3 Jan 2012, 09:10 am
@NZINCHINA-340:
Isolated case. These things happen in NZ as well. Just the other day a radio journalist in Wellington central was murdered by two teenagers on the same street I walk every day.
Yes, SA has a very high murder rate, but I’d be more concerned about the high road toll considering the large number of those murders are between people that know each other.
3 Jan 2012, 09:11 am
@ashampoopaloo-331:
@ashampoopaloo-332:
sorry skop, i would have replied to these posts last night but i got motherless and passed out.
3 Jan 2012, 09:12 am
IAAS when you come to CT next week I will buy you a drink at FIremans
3 Jan 2012, 09:17 am
@Te Rangatira-335:
@NZINCHINA-338:
really china?
i could post endless numbers of articles on murders, serious assaults, rapes and so forth that take place in nz.
in fact i think i will, to follow:
3 Jan 2012, 09:20 am
@NZINCHINA-338:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10776485
even a tad of racism:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10775559
child abuse:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10774679
*** abuse:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10775058
3 Jan 2012, 09:24 am
@NZINCHINA-338:
stabbing:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10768661
child abuse:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10774933
child *** abuse:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10772953
random blue murder:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10772797
stabbing assault:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10776485
3 Jan 2012, 09:27 am
@NZINCHINA-340:
more of the same:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10772544
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10775912
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10776209
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10776185
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sexual-assault/news/article.cfm?c_id=1500916&objectid=10775775
3 Jan 2012, 09:34 am
@NZINCHINA-338:
rape:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sexual-assault/news/article.cfm?c_id=1500916&objectid=10776129
loony gunman goes postal:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/crime/news/article.cfm?c_id=30&objectid=10773836
guy goes to a rave, goes depraved, result – murder:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/crime/news/article.cfm?c_id=30&objectid=10773758
axe wielding home invaders:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/crime/news/article.cfm?c_id=30&objectid=10776406
a mass murderer blast from the past:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10773569
sniveling rat breaks into christchurch quake homes:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/crime/news/article.cfm?c_id=30&objectid=10776355
3 Jan 2012, 09:41 am
@NZINCHINA-338:
murder:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10772931
murder:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10772023
afirmative shopping:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/theft/news/article.cfm?c_id=344&objectid=10775531
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/theft/news/article.cfm?c_id=344&objectid=10775700
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/theft/news/article.cfm?c_id=344&objectid=10773848
drugs:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/theft/news/article.cfm?c_id=344&objectid=10775184
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 … 16 » Show All