Leading SA’s rugby revolution
26 Dec 2011
What do Francois Hougaard, Bismarck du Plessis, Gio Aplon, Johann Sadie, Andries Bekker, Pat Lambie and Juan de Jongh all have in common?
They all have the X factor, something that sets them apart from the rest.
If the Springboks are to achieve consistent success against the world champion All Blacks over the next four years, they will have to change their conservative mindset and play an expansive game when the situation demands it.
These seven players can lead South Africa’s rugby revolution and take our game to the next level.
Click here to subscribe to print edition
Click here to subscribe to digital edition
– Many junior players have failed to make the transition to senior rugby over the years because of flaws in the Baby Boks set-up, but the situation seems to be improving
– Why rugby is ripe for a global rebel league
– SA Rugby magazine reveals how Solly Tyibilika wasn’t the only black player to be mismanaged over the past four years and how South Africa has regressed with regard to transformation at the highest levels
– Saracens flyhalf Derick Hougaard on suffering from depression, the ‘soul destroying’ experience of Kamp Staaldraad, and his desire to force his way back into Bok contention
– England’s shambolic World Cup campaign left Martin Johnson with no choice but to resign
– Victor Matfield speaks to SA Rugby magazine about his post-retirement plans, why players should be treated like adults, and his second-row partnership with Bakkies Botha
– Your ultimate guide to the 2012 Super Rugby season: Everything you need to know about the 15 teams

770 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 … 16 » Show All
3 Jan 2012, 11:52 am
Harris suits a conservative style.Imran is more likely to get you wickets. Webneed to be more aggressive. AB should be left to concentrate on his batting.
3 Jan 2012, 11:53 am
@mshiniwami-395:
True Msh,
NZ is an Exporter.
3 Jan 2012, 11:59 am
@Mish. Too true. A few other qualities, such as not being insane, are also required.
3 Jan 2012, 11:59 am
The problem with Kallis is with hid head … when he was a bles kop his batting was top notch … but since the hair implants it has affected his balance big time, and now it is as hot as hell under that helmet ….. Kallis, shave it off man, go bald.
3 Jan 2012, 12:03 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-404:
In other words, do like you do?
3 Jan 2012, 12:04 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-389:
he is nursing a snapped achilles tendon.
it was torn clean in two.
he tied it back together in a knot.
the knot is very tight.
toulon wil get good mileage out of him.
@Bad Santa cane-397:
3 Jan 2012, 12:04 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-404: lol…jacque the rug!
3 Jan 2012, 12:06 pm
@Dawn-405: there is nothing wrong asking for a no. 1 shave when it is summer.
3 Jan 2012, 12:08 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011-389:
here are the good people of toulon come to see the wonderment that is bakkies botha in their droves:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Org9QRUitaM
3 Jan 2012, 12:12 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-409: One of my favourite players of the last 10 years.
A great IMO.
3 Jan 2012, 12:12 pm
@hendrikp-371:
I wasn’t slagging SA I was stating the facts many international coaches would not go to SA because of its crime rate, it seems to have hit a nerve because it true. Its far safer in China than SA and NZ i’ve spent time in all three, you can’t slag the President but very unlikely your wife will get raped or you’ll get carjacked.
3 Jan 2012, 12:16 pm
Sanni Bin Williams is becoming a hit in the Muslim world. They wanna put him on the Top 500 Muslims wall. Soon they’ll be dictating what he should wear and how long he should grow his beard.
I am curious to see how fast he can run in a dress and flipflops.
3 Jan 2012, 12:17 pm
@Groot Wit Haai-412:
He’s a world champion muslim.
3 Jan 2012, 12:17 pm
@NZINCHINA-411: safer from who, the Yakuza or the Chinese govt?
3 Jan 2012, 12:18 pm
alviro shoving it up his detractors…
go boytie
3 Jan 2012, 12:19 pm
@Transformation-400: haha, compliments of the season transie!
what was poppas latest meltdown?
and who did the molesting this time, Heavens Game?
eish that poor guy just cant get enough.
nzinachinagirl is certainly struggling with his superiority complex of late, he needs to see doctor wingmybell and get it sorted sharpish!
@NZINCHINA-411:
That’s why our wings run so fast…ever outrun the cops carrying a flat screen television and desktop computer boet…dis baie moeilik.
Magtag
@Transformation-415: i would have dropped Rudolf and Prince, but there you go,
Glad for Al.
3 Jan 2012, 12:20 pm
@Transformation-414:
The yakuza are Japanese so aren’t much of a problem in China, I doubt the Chinese government would carjack you.
3 Jan 2012, 12:20 pm
@mshiniwami-395:
@Transformation-400:
he has been a real chop lately.
3 Jan 2012, 12:22 pm
Smith has made his usual 0-20 odd runs. Just a few days ago he was predicting that 2012 would be a good year for Proteas cricket and all that.
3 Jan 2012, 12:23 pm
@NZINCHINA-411: many international coaches would not go to nz because its in the arse end of nowhere.
lovely place, lovely people (except you ya do o s
) but you cant argue with geography.
3 Jan 2012, 12:25 pm
so will rudolph the mediocre man get his marching orders?
@rangerman-416: jakes & alviro putting on a show here!
@rangerman-423:
The South Africans are willing to go to Oz and Europe but I don’t see anyone heading off to New Zealand to coach or play.
They just can’t pay enough.
3 Jan 2012, 12:26 pm
guys whats the batting scorecard pls?
who is out?
3 Jan 2012, 12:28 pm
@Transformation-415:
Ngiyabonga sbali. nawe ngiyathemba uwuhlukanise kahle unyaka wafika uphelele. Okuhle kuphela engikufisela khona kulonyaka omusha, Singaziyeke lezinja lana.
Lol
3 Jan 2012, 12:28 pm
@stormersboy-410:
absolutely, no doubt about it.
if he manages himself and is well managed in turn we could easily get another 3, 4 or 5 years out of him.
3 Jan 2012, 12:30 pm
@Transformation-425: alviros chance is looooong overdue imo.
prince must take a hike, rudolph too.
@Groot Wit Haai-426: well we certanly wont pay our coaches to coach their sides, we already subsidise their game enough.
but lets be honest, they are a great rugby nation.
3 Jan 2012, 12:32 pm
ooh, jakes is in a bad mood i see.
3 Jan 2012, 12:33 pm
SA cricket is a joke from Majola, to the Smith cabal, to Kirsten/Donald not changing jacksh*t etc
Was at Kingsmead Test,first time i went to a cricket game and they dished up nonsense.No wonder i never went to one before.I know the game,follow sporadically-same sh*t always.
3 Jan 2012, 12:35 pm
@mshiniwami-432: howzit mshini
ja i went as well but seriously bud, it gets a lot better than that.
kingsmead has been a letdown for the last few years, i dunno if these okes are hungover or what?
3 Jan 2012, 12:36 pm
ok, laters all!
3 Jan 2012, 12:36 pm
@rangerman-423:
NZ …………………………………..the Village at the end of the World,
that kicks your arsse’s.
3 Jan 2012, 12:40 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-429:
I watched that link you posted.
If Bakkies smiled, his face would crack.
3 Jan 2012, 12:41 pm
426 very few of them would make it thats probably why
3 Jan 2012, 12:44 pm
@NZINCHINA-437:
All the best to you and double trouble for 2012 China.
3 Jan 2012, 12:44 pm
@cane-436:
He doesn’t care. He “loves” Bakkies in a manly way, you know, the way men love other men.
Like in a sort of admiring way.
3 Jan 2012, 12:45 pm
@cane-436:
smiling is not allowed by the bakkies
he really generated a buzz though and i just loved all the girl groupies taking pics of him, unlike some of the ladies around here who seem to think him unflattering.
3 Jan 2012, 12:46 pm
@cane-438:
Did you just wish him double trouble?
3 Jan 2012, 12:46 pm
yes you know who you are…
3 Jan 2012, 12:47 pm
Thank dog I’m not a “girl groupie”
3 Jan 2012, 12:48 pm
@Dawn-439:
Hi Babe.
Happy New Year.
3 Jan 2012, 12:49 pm
Yappy Hew Near to you too.
3 Jan 2012, 12:50 pm
@Dawn-441:
China knows what I mean.
His Double Trouble are bundles of joy.
3 Jan 2012, 12:51 pm
i would let my girlfriend be a ‘groupie’…
3 Jan 2012, 12:52 pm
and i would be proud…
3 Jan 2012, 12:52 pm
@cane-446:
Oh yes he has twins
Forgot!
3 Jan 2012, 12:54 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-447:
She would have to be OK with you being in love with Bakkies!
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 … 16 » Show All