Sharks snub Tri-Series

The Sharks have declined an invitation to play the Stormers and the Lions in a pre-season Tri-Series at Newlands at the end of January.

The Durban-based franchise has competed in the tournament in recent years, but said a long upcoming Super Rugby campaign meant it wasn’t ideal to play tough warm-up matches beforehand.

‘We will play Boland and the EP Kings over two weekends early in February,’ Sharks assistant coach Hugh Reece-Edwards told The Witness newspaper. ‘Playing in the Newlands triangular involved playing two games [against the Lions and the Stormers] in four days at the end of this month.

‘We think it will be more beneficial to our planning and preparation to spread the games over two weekends, particularly this early in the season and with a long year ahead of us.

‘I believe the Cheetahs are taking our place in Cape Town,’ he added.

The Sharks kick off their 2012 Super Rugby season with a match against the Bulls at Loftus on 24 February.

348 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All

• 51.ufo: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-45:

Hey PA… trust you’re well…

Despite all the hassles in Cape Town…

My prediction will be the Stormers to lead the SA conference again…

This is hardly a big or brave prediction as I’m a lifelong WP supporter, I’ll always back them to be the best…

(whether they deliver or not… well… that’s another story)

If AC remains as coach I think we’ll build on and from last year… if there are disruptions caused by AC becoming Bok coach… well… I guess anything could happen then…

My pick for the sa conference…

Stormers
    Bulls
    Sharks
    Lions
    Cheetahs

• 52.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-48: Plus they are probably sick and tired of getting their as ses handed to them by the Stormers each pre-season.

That would be my guess…. :D

• 53.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

• 54.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Good on the Sharks for pulling out,this little circus of a tournament is beneath them.Let the minnows play amongst themselves.

• 55.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@ufo-51:

It is not a happy camp, guys are not playing for each other any more. I fear the Stormers will implode badly today.

Sharks have the best pack in SA and possibly in the competition. Their backline is not flash but solid – my only concern with them is who they pick as captain.

Bulls are my wildcard pick. I think we will see an exciting brand of rugby from them – and although inexperienced at Super Rugby level, they have some good depth in their ranks who are now quite experience at CC level.

If Pierre and Wynand can pull the players together and form a tight unit, they will upset quite a lot of teams I reckon.

• 56.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-55:

Today = this season…

• 57.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-49: hey bugger off! :D

• 58.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@ufo-50:

Wrong again.

You say, and I quote:

“Stormers first week bye put them behind the 8 ball at the start of last season… and i think proves that getting off to a running start is more advantageous than trying to ‘build’ into the season”

Yet they topped the SA conference?

Makes no sense.

Each to their own, rather respect that the Sharks have a choice on how to prepare for their pre-season, and they might feel that playing in the plascon cup did not bring them any super rugby success in the last two years, so why would it this year?

Try something different i say.

• 59.ufo: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-55:

always respect your opinion and input… but will still back the stormers…

foolish i know… :lol:

@Mr Black-49:

clam down bud.. hardly in poor taste…

just following up on tactius’ post at #4… and speculation last week when grant10 broke this news… when a couple of other posters intimated they knew it was about the cash…

so just adding my tuppence…

anyway outta here…

work calls…

• 60.HHS: Reply to this comment

Stormers will probably take this trophy again.
    This series reminds me of a game that was played last year (15 Oct 2011).
    Made all the supporters wet and got them all pumped up just to be properly klapped 2 weeks later.

@ufo-51: I predict the Stormers to be at the bottom half of the SA Conf this year. I think the Sharks are SA’s best bet, back line still a concern tough.

• 61.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-58:

no not wrong bud…

they had a slow start… a quicker start may have seen them do even better…

wind it it now…

and have a good one… :wink:

• 62.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-57:

Couldn’t resist to take a swipe.

Did it connect? :wink:

• 63.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-55: sharks have had the makings of the “best pack” for a whil now but without any guile and a gameplan that goes beyond crashballing, i don’t see any improvement to championship status.

Plumtree, Grant Bashford, Hugh Reece-Edwards are clueless, every pre-season they make the same noises about the sharks giving the ball more air and next thing they go buy donkeys like meyer bosman or marius joubert.

• 64.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@ufo-61:

Enjoy work buddy, i forgive you. :lol:

• 65.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-62: not a chance, i’m to slick for ya :D

• 66.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-63:

Agree wrt the coaches.

Sometimes i’m shocked when seeing what they are up to. We need a decent SA coach at the Sharks.

• 67.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-65:

Come on Transie, i know you better than you think. I’ve seen you face to face, and you are only internet slick. :lol:

• 68.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-55:

They may yet implode today still.

• 69.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Ok cheers, chat later.

Go Sharks!!!!!

• 70.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-68:

That true.

• 71.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-67: you’ve seen me face to face, bwahahahahahaha :D

• 72.RL: Reply to this comment

How is it that the guppies have the “best pack” in the competition when they have no decent locks? Let’s face it, Skeate in general play has the hands of a soccer player and his buddy Hargreaves the psychicallity of a netballer.

No they will be much weaker without Sykes and Mostert and their engine will be pap.

• 73.Dawn: Reply to this comment

My engine is pap.

• 74.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-73: you need a tune up? ;)

• 75.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-74:

Lol!

Pap tyres!

Battery flat!

• 76.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@RL-72:

We have decent locks Rooi Luis.

Not good, just decent.

• 77.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

bulls, and lions looking the better more exciting prospects with new energy and new ideas and combo’s, cheetahs too thin on the ground but will try manfully though not enough depth where it matters, sharks and stormers same old same old conservative krapp going round in circles one season to the next.

sharks got the forwards, but bulls will bully them with their youngsters coming through and lions may do same as the did to them in the cc… Sharks got good backup in Coetsee and Alberts at back row and a decent front row but poor second row….Stormers going to have a rough season they have hardly invested any new ideas or players and the couple good ones they had they let go to bulls… still thinking they can trade on Burger, Jdv, Habana, Fourie (flown the nest), Grant with a pap broek front row and a skittle stick 2nd row enforcer in Bekker who gets chopped down at the knees before game 6… Stormers going to have a rough season this year. Also because their captancy succession planning has been downright diabolical and going to blow up in their face.

Bulls the team to watch with Lions maybe carrying their cc form through in spite of their lack of depth. Stormers and Sharks mid table between 4th and 7th… Cheetahs bringing up the rear.. Lions might struggle like before and struggle to tour with their lack of real depth where it counts at front row and second row.

• 78.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

if you’d have listened to my ou doos music collection I put up for you, you’d be full of life today… too bad too sad… never mind just find someone who’s turning and you will come around.

• 79.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Etsebeth and Elstadt better stand UP !!!

• 80.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo-79: did you check trevor noah’s 6 min stand up spot?

• 81.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo-77:

Good and sound annalysis.

WRT the Lions i have 2 points.

1. CC and Super rugby miles apart in quality

2. Depth is crucial in such a long tournament.

Clever coaches is needed to rotate without weakening the team to much, and chose when to play the top players at the right time. Very difficult prospect.

• 82.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

All the best to everyone in 2012!!!

Looking forward to Superugby. Cannot predict who will top the SA Conference, but just hope that SA teams don’t end up at the bottom (Cheetahs & Lions), like every season before.
    Stormers IMO are the favourites to top the conference. Have few weakness (tight five and depth at centre) but have experience in key positions that will pull them through, especially on the overseas leg.

• 83.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo-79: no need to rush Etsebeth.

• 84.RL: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-81: who is going to be the guppy captain? Can’t seriously expect Daniels to lead the guppies – he who cannot fetch will weaken the pack some more.

• 85.RL: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-83: big need to get him in as Bekker is a walking sick note leaving ex flankers like Elstad and Lobberts there in the light 5 engine to do all the work.

• 86.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-83:
    knowing acsie, they will do something stupid.

• 87.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-45: EISH !!!!!!!! Dont say that, every one is going to say the Sharks are bragging about their team again like last year, when in fact last year All Sharks supporters didnt think our team was going to do to well at the beginning of the season.

• 88.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-81: the Sharks only managed a drw with the Lions in the 2nd match of super rugby where the Lions led most of the game and were a blocked drop goal away from victory, then in the currie cup the Lions moered y’all.

• 89.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@RL-84: Dont know if i am to keen on Daniels as Captain, but who else is there.

• 90.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-88: The Lions had an exceptional season.

• 91.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

2012 will be an interesting Superugby season because the season will run for 15 weeks to 2 June after which there will be a three-week break for in-bound tours to Australia, New Zealand and South Africa.

Aus play Scotland then 2 tests vs Wales
    Blacks play 3 tests against Ireland (hope the Irish can win one game)
    Boks play 3 tests against the Poms (3-0)

The season will resume on the weekend of 29 and 30 June with the a further three rounds before the playoffs. The bulk of these matches will be local derbies.

• 92.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@RL-84: Keegan is kakker fetcher than Stegmann.

• 93.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

If I was the Sharks I’d play Alberts at nr.4 lock, cause their locks are a pair of girls.

That would bolster the only weakness in their pack.

• 94.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

I see the Sharks want to limit their 2012 season record against the Lions to a respectable 0 from 4.

• 95.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-94:

Hi Katman.

Do you know if the Lions are getting any of the gate money from this series?

• 96.RL: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-89: make Alberts the captain.

• 97.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-95: Howzit Tac.

I don’t know. But I went to the Newlands Wall & All trophy 2 years ago, and they weren’t exactly raking in the cash there. Fair turn-out, but not staggering, and the tickets were dirt cheap. Not sure if this has changed.

• 98.RL: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-95: doesn’t matter – the match will be broadcast on tv :cool:

• 99.John Galt: Reply to this comment

The Sharks success this year depends on how they structure their backline.

If they insist on playing Joubert at centre this year or Odwa on the wing, the backline wont get going and they’ll struggle against everyone.

Its also key, in my opinion to start Lambie at 10 and Viljoen at 15.
    With Lambie at 10 and a decent 13, Bosman will get back his form of 2010. His defence and distribution have always been his strong point, bar last year where he had a geriatric on his outside.

@Tacitus-93:

While I agree with your ‘pair of girls’ analogy, I dont agree with putting Alberts at 4. He is the perfect 7 right now, strong ball carrier and massive in the tackle. I think playing him at 4 will only limit his abilities.
    I reckon they should keep Deysel at 4, turn him into a Brad Thorne type lock. He is limited in the skill department anyway so to have him putting his head down and hitting rucks all day would be great for the Sharks.

• 100.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@RL-98:
    Do you know what time and when?

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.