Erasmus quits Province post

WP senior professional coach Rassie Erasmus has resigned and will explore other coaching options.

The news of Erasmus’s resignation broke on Monday night. Die Burger reported that the Cape coaching guru had already informed his employers of his decision to leave, and that Erasmus has been offered coaching jobs at clubs in England and France.

On Tuesday, Erasmus himself confirmed that he would be leaving Western Province and the Stormers at the end of January.

‘The pieces are in place at Province,’ he said via a statement. ‘Over the past few seasons we have put the structures in place and they are working well.

‘The management team and player base is settled and there are now a fantastic bunch of youngsters pushing the older guys hard. The squad is very close to taking that final step and winning silverware.

‘My job is largely done here and there is no doubt in my mind that Allister [Coetzee], Matt [Proudfoot], Fleckie [Robbie Fleck] and the rest of the management and players have got what it takes to get there.’

Erasmus admitted that he has been offered other coaching opportunities.

‘There are a number of new opportunities that have surfaced at a higher level and I am currently considering my options. Each is an exciting and massive new challenge, and that is a big attraction to me at this stage of my career.

‘In the interim I have offered to continue to assist at Province whenever required. I have enjoyed my time here in the Cape immensely and feel that I have contributed to facilitating building the structures that have taken us to the brink of success.

‘I have no doubt that that success is but a tiny step away now and I leave Province satisfied with the strides made. I am grateful to Province for the opportunity and Newlands, the Stormers, WP and the Faithful will always have a special place in my heart.’

It has been suggested that Erasmus’s decision to leave came as a shock to his WP bosses, but managing director Rob Wagner moved to dispel the rumours. According to Wagner, the union was waiting for the right time to announce his departure.

‘Rassie has made a huge contribution at WP. We are obviously very sorry to see him go, but understand his desire for new challenges.

‘Rassie has been very good in keeping us informed of his decision and we have been waiting for the return of our senior players and team management before making the announcement. We understand that he is a big loss but we are also confident that the structures, players, coaching and management staff and the plans in place at all levels in the Province, are strong enough to allow us to make that final jump and secure the silverware that we are all working towards.’

Having served as technical advisor to the Boks in 2007 and again for the duration of the 2011 World Cup, Erasmus was mentioned as a candidate for the head coaching post in 2012. However, it’s since emerged that Gert Smal is the favourite to succeed Peter de Villiers.

The new Bok coach will be officially appointed on 27 January. If Erasmus doesn’t take up a post overseas at a club or Test nation, he could possibly join the Bok coaching team again.

240 Comments

• 1.RL: Reply to this comment

Now this dragon is smoking!

• 2.RL: Reply to this comment

So according to some Rich writer, AC is clueless without Rassie there sitting in the back ground ready to hold his hand …. oh dear how will AC survive.

• 3.puff: Reply to this comment

What the f?
    Can this be for any other reason besides the Bok job?
    Resigning just before S15 season?
    Not a good sign.

• 4.puff: Reply to this comment

Gert Smal
    Rassie Erasmus
    David Campese

I’d take that as a coaching troika for the Boks.

• 5.puff: Reply to this comment

@puff-3:

For the Stormers, I mean.
    Duh.

• 6.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Hmmm…

Rassie as left field Bok coach announcement or going over to help Mallet in England???

• 7.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@puff-3:

Hate to repeat myself, but I said WP rugby is in disarray at the moment…

• 8.puff: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-6:

Rassie to replace new Bok coach Gert Smal as Ireland asst coach.
    This is fun!

• 9.RL: Reply to this comment

@puff-4: not good at all – I liked having him around ******** up with talent identification and not delivering any trophies.

Damn that Tobie Tightass getting rid of our greatest ally at the Stormers.

• 10.puff: Reply to this comment

What’s next?
    Peter Grant stays in Japan?
    Andries Bekker gets another long-term injury?
    Habana signs for Toulon?

• 11.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

All the wrong okes resigning (leaving) WP Rugby – how about Titus, Wagner & Co?

• 12.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

I am out, will see what I can dig up tomorrow. Something stinks.

• 13.man1a: Reply to this comment

whats rassie like as a coach? is it possible that he’ll get the boks job? if so is a good or bad thing?

• 14.puff: Reply to this comment

If Rassie does get Bok post then you can bet both Juan Smith and Schalk Burger will be his team leaders, which means he’ll find space in the pack for both of them. And he won’t leave out Brussow either.

1. Mtawarira
    2. Du Plessis
    3. Du Plessis
    4. Smith
    5. Bekker
    6. Brussow
    7. Burger
    8. Alberts

Oh yeah!

• 15.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-11: Rassie is employable elsewhere. Not everyone has that option ;)

• 16.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

BTW Keo i scooped you by almost 1 hour.

Again.

• 17.puff: Reply to this comment

You okes seen new French coach’s squad for 6 nations?
    Looks imposing.
    He’s kept the stalwarts who played in RWC final but also brought back Nyanga, Beauxis and Malzieu.
    Who knows? Maybe Michalak, Chabal and Basteraud will get a look in at some point too.

• 18.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

oh won’t you help me sing these songs of freedom
    cos all I ever had are redemption songs

let em spread their wings and fly like a blue bird in the sky
    time they learned how to flap where angels fear to tread.

Rassie and AC weren’t hitting it off anyway was a marriage made in hegemony

Pissant you wanna pull some your king making strings.. organize a slot in that disjointed WP fallout shelter and I fix their aching dreams one time sharp shoot just like A.B.C – 1,2,3 – doh, re , me

• 19.RL: Reply to this comment

@puff-17: man how is it that Basteraud is able to run without falling over – I saw this prop playing for Toulon the other night and was quite impressed until the commentators said his name.

• 20.puff: Reply to this comment

@RL-19:
    So much talent squandered by French coaching staff over last four years.
    Absolutely no continuity to build team confidence.
    Chabal, Jauzion, Michalak et al – international careers put on hold or destroyed because of coaching eccentricities.
    Imagine what France could have achieved with more clarity and continuity.
    The majority of their players will start to get a bit long in the tooth from now but they have had and continue to have amazing depth.
    They just need a sane and balanced coach.

• 21.Train: Reply to this comment

Rassie to be part of the A coaching team working for Nick’s as assistant with England.

Boks to get a B team, comprising Smal (never won anything as the boss) and some other high quality losers (Coetzee etc)

• 22.man1a: Reply to this comment

@puff-20: hmph. chabal was one dimensional. great at carting up the ball but useless in the other lock core roles like jumping, mauling, clearing out rucks. sure he’s dynamic and carries the ball up really well but its the dirty work of the tight5 thats more important. i’d still have him in the team but he’d be a bence player

michalak, too un predicatible and inconsistent. though given the chance and mentored correctly could’ve worked on that. did have a lot of offer.

but yeah france seriously need to get their **** together. they’ve been underperforming for years and have had loads of talent waste away on the shelf.

• 23.BULLET: Reply to this comment

@Puff 20,
    same could be said for the Boks

• 24.garth: Reply to this comment

@puff-14: I like the idea of Smith at 4. More intelligent than Bakkies, but still all the grunt.

• 25.mvk: Reply to this comment

Good riddance to bad free state rubbish.now we just need to send ac back to pe.

• 26.XV: Reply to this comment

WP rugby is a joke. I pity the players…..but without quality management and coaching they will continue to underachieve.

• 27.ET.: Reply to this comment

The two most earth -shatttering stories of this day in the ‘Republic’ highlights worryingly the emphatic existence of RACISM/APARTHEID to those of you fakes who so cllaim thhat non-racism and democracy reigns?

Where is this non-racism that so many of you liars claim exist and flourishes when you read the headings of these 2 stories?

1. ‘Whites only’ campsite to be investigated
    January 9 2012 at 11:18am

2. Rev’s ‘kill whites’ tweet a shocker.

• 28.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

AC gets bok job…. Rassie ends up long term England coach…

WP this season could lose…

Johaan Sadie
    JJ Engelbrecht
    Rassie Erasmus
    Alistair Coetzee
    Tim Whitehead
    Jaque Fourie
    Conrad Janjtes
    Adriaan Fondse
    Anton Van Zyl
    Francois Louw

and many more

Huge turnaround gona happen in the Cape and maybe eventually some silverware will come our way!

• 29.ET.: Reply to this comment

Just witness some of the ‘love’ some and many DA supporters would have us believe rules the noormal S.African day:

Scamp, wrote
    11:14pm on 9 January 2012
    Remember Blood River. You declare war on us whites and we will destroy you.

Crusader, wrote
    10:58pm on 9 January 2012
    And callng them pale faced ******* makes you just as bad

Anonymous, wrote
    11:18pm on 9 January 2012

All you descedants of ****** settlers, we shall not allow you to bully us in our land… it’s your madness to have left your cold Europe and come settle here uninvited. We shall respond by spilling blood out of your veins… Africa is a Blackman’s natural habitat, here you must respect us; else your blood shall spill or you would wish to leave as fast as you came here to harass us.

Crusader, wrote
    10:36pm on 9 January 2012
    some of you say whites must leave the country or be kille to end racism….Does anyone else see the lack of logic here? arent they being racist? Luckily, the majority of white and blacks in this beautifull country WANTS to live in harmony. its only a minority that is fuelling the racist fires. i say we get rid of them instead, regardless of their colour

Anonymous, wrote
    10:48pm on 9 January 2012 It is an extremely unfortunate fact that probably in excess of 70% of the population would have been more than happy to wait far in excess of an hour to sit down and eat at that restaurant, if only they could afford it. Please don’t abuse your education and good fortune by continuing something that we spent 300 years proving does not work, and never will. This you do in the name of religion, where were you when the lights went on, you chop?

camp, wrote
    11:32pm on 9 January 2012
    Why don’t you take the white man’s suit off, get out of the white man’s car and leave the white man’s restaurant and go and dress in animal skins and eat what savages eat under a tree in the bush…no waiting !

Anonymous, wrote
    10:29pm on 9 January 2012

Umshini Wami! Good reverend, man of God, when can we start killing these pale-face white ******* roaming in our land? My bazooka is ready – one Boer, one bullet!

CAN YOU FAKERS NOW ALL FEEL THE LOVE AND PEACE YOU LIE ABOUT?
    And there are yet 270 such posts on that topic and by tomorrow it will be beyond 400 posts.

Wake up as you LIES are staring you in the face and making you the laughing stock of the world.
    The above are not even the most vile comments from both sides of the divide.

• 30.ET.: Reply to this comment

If you cannot put principle ABOVE profit then you cannot be for non-racism.

How manmy previously enfranchised can, in fact, place principle above profit.

And if profit is the name of your game then you most certainly have to LIE and CHEAT to attain it.

• 31.kwas: Reply to this comment

@ET.-27: Cry me a river, poephol.

• 32.jondood: Reply to this comment

@ET.-30:

Interesting view on ……..rugby.

• 33.jondood: Reply to this comment

@kwas-31:

Nou het jy kak gemaak!!!

• 34.kwas: Reply to this comment

@puff-10: Habana signs for Toulon and Grant stays in Japan? Like winning the Lotto and getting laid on the same day. Heaven.

• 35.man1a: Reply to this comment

@ET.-29: isnt this a wee bit generalising? u saying that all saffa’s, black and white polarise to either argument? over simplified

• 36.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@ET.-27:

Must be a bad day for the Whites :)

1-0

• 37.ufo: Reply to this comment

Not the end of the world… more like the dawning of a new day…!

Exciting times for WP & Bok rugby…

So many people say AC is so conservative… But when we see the exciting running rugby he coached in the CC while Rassie was away for over 3 months… Perhaps being freed of having to coach from Rassie’s playbook is just the tonic WP needs…

Yes yes… we stuffed up the final when the Boks and Rassie came back… but up until then we’d played exciting rugby with a very young and injury depleted squad…

So not the worst news in the world to wake up to…

• 38.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@ufo-37:

Spoken like a gentleman. Good luck to you, Rassie. And success to to AC. No hard feelings.

• 39.grant10: Reply to this comment

interesting news.

very intersting indeed.

• 40.HHS: Reply to this comment

K@k timing tough…

• 41.ShaunSwindon: Reply to this comment

Rassie to be named Bok head coach come end January :(

• 42.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Seemed reasonable to me
    AC to the Boks, PdV to the Stormers, so Rassie is out
    Not sure about Smal being the leading candidate, makes no sense, all things considered

• 43.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Jinx2-38:

Thanks J2…

Yeah, exactly… think too many of us take all this way too personally… it’s just a game… and it’s not even any of us playing it…!! :lol:

@HHS-40:

the timing of this… and any other resignations are forced by the timing of the bok announcement on 27/1… as many here commented when saru announced the date… it was always gonna mess with the s15 plans of the guys involved…

because of this i expect rassie will be a permanent member of the bok coaching team… i don’t think head coach… but one of the team in the technical analyst role that he seems to thrive on…

• 44.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@ufo-37: that would be the semi sweetheart…

• 45.trupisero: Reply to this comment

the timing is interesting considering the announcement of bok coach at the end of Jan.

I hear that a lot of youngsters leave WP as their pay structure is somewhat different to other unions. Junior players would get something like R4k for a game, whilst the bulls and sharks would pay something like R10k.

For the old guard this is not a problem as they are on nice fat contracts, but for the youngsters that obviously makes a difference.

Anyone know a bit more on this?

• 46.ufo: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-44:

yeah yeah… :roll:

trupi – 1
    ufo – 0

• 47.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Eina ! starting the year like this ? So that means something is wrong down in the cape. This is realy bad news, building , starting over again , building. Maybe it’s time for province management to retire. Don’t think these guys have a clue what to do anymore. Maybe this has also got something to do with the hineken cup game that is not going to be played in cape town anymore. Maybe Rassie was not happy at province. But not a good start for province.

• 48.ufo: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-45:

if that is the case it would explain a helluva lot about why WP can’t seem to hang onto our young talent…

they also better get with the program me and up the pay-scales…

will be seriously interesting to see what… and if… anyone can add to this…

• 49.ufo: Reply to this comment

program me = programme… damn predictive text speaks yankee…

• 50.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@ufo-46: lol…

@ufo-48: heard this from my boet in law who has a very close relative being one of the youngsters on the team.

Perhaps Pismier can help out a bit more here.

• 51.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

No wonder the Sharks dont want to play with the stormers in the plascon cup, to much drama in cape town. :lol:

• 52.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@ufo-49: same Nokia as Skop uses? :)

• 53.ufo: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-50:

i’ve never heard this before but it really is very interesting…

it it explains more than just why the youngsters are quitting… it would also explain how out of touch the wp management are with the reality of professional rugby in the 21st century… something pissant has been highlighting for years now…

hope it’s something upon which he, or someone else, can elucidate…

• 54.trupisero: Reply to this comment

I see Smittie has said that Schalk should be the new bok captain.

• 55.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Rassie is not gunning for the Bok job, can tell you that much.

• 56.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-55: then its a case of jumping ship?

• 57.grant10: Reply to this comment

so in a very short period of time wp /tormers have lost

rassie

f louw

j forie

whitehead

sadie

cj vd linde

jj engelbrecht

l cronje

a fondse

a van zyl

interesting indeed

• 58.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-55: have you any insight into the pay structures at WP compared to the other unions as mentioned above, and possible reason for so many promising youngsters to hit the bricks?

• 59.grant10: Reply to this comment

if Rassie not in Bok mix…..then what the hell is going on in wp rugby?

I am not a fan of the ac / rassie axis, as is well known, but the timing of this is atrocious…..

something stinks in wp rugby

• 60.trupisero: Reply to this comment

Boudjellal was fuming after his side’s narrow loss in Clermont on Sunday and vented his frustration with some controversial comments aimed at referee Christophe Berdos.

“I had my first refereeing sodomy in the [2010] semi-final against Clermont. I’ve just had my second tonight,” he told journalists after the 25-19 loss at Stade Marcel Michelin.

“It appeared to hurt the first time but it was just as bad this time. We will review the images not on Youtube but on YouPorn. Clermont are a great team. They did not need it.”

• 61.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Rassie, come to the Sharks, we will make a place for you. Then Strauli can go to the stormers. Looks like wp needs a camp staaldraad.

• 62.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-58:

WP is top heavy and have some money issues from what I know. Their seniors earn a **** lot which leaves them with very little for everyone else.

• 63.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@grant10-59:

Hate to say I told you so.

• 64.grant10: Reply to this comment

to leave a great job like WP D.O.R must mean either Rassie is being lined up for a very senior spot with Boks….

or there is huge kak inside WP….

Simple

• 65.grant10: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-63: yip.

the Saracens fiasco had me in total despair….this has me reaching for the Prozac.

I am farken gobsmacked……state of shock ….really.

• 66.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@grant10-65:

Well I said before perhaps WP needs to hit rock bottom before they get their **** in order – they are not far off now.

• 67.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

I reckon Rassie knows a sinking ship when he sees one. I reckon he’s jumped overboard and is heading for a piece of flotsam (or is it jetsam?) with a little more buoyancy. I reckon he’s going back to Bloemfontein and his rooftop disco lights.

Naka for WP?

• 68.RL: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-62: are they as broke as the Lions? Maybe getting rid of the dead wood would help, I estimate the culling of about 30 players will do the trick. :razz:

• 69.grant10: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-66: yes….this is a low point for me…..I just cannot believe what has has transpired over the last few months….rock bottom now…..how Wagner and Titus are still there defies belief.

• 70.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Jinne extraball cracks me up!

• 71.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@RL-68:

Lions situation is not as unique as most would think…

• 72.grant10: Reply to this comment

wp should make a move on Mitchell….

• 73.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Speaking of unique – Jorrie Muller has been appointed Leopards assistant coach.

• 74.stew: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-73: the greatest springbok ever – lol

• 75.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

The moment Erasmus had his name linked to Bok rugby he was tainted.

He is a very intelligent chap as looking for career prospects overseas will only do his reputation good. Perhaps in time people will forget that he once associated with de Villiers and forgive him for being a part of the funniest and also the saddest time in Springbok history.

• 76.stew: Reply to this comment

@grant10-72: Find your own coaching staff poacher !

• 77.grant10: Reply to this comment

fark this is seriously not cool

farkit

• 78.RL: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-73: one of the culling victims at the Lions … he the Lions 7′s coach. Glad to see the back of him.

• 79.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Circus by the sea?

More like sinking ship on the high seas.

One or two injuries to key players and this Stormers side could have a shocker.

• 80.RL: Reply to this comment

@grant10-72: with the money saved now on Rassie and Mossie rather make a move on the entire guppy front row and Juandre Kruger … more bang for your bucks.

• 81.grant10: Reply to this comment

then Mitchell can bring Taute , Spencer , Minnie and Elton with him

• 82.grant10: Reply to this comment

@RL-80: ja

that could also work

but we need a standout 10

and I like elton

• 83.David: Reply to this comment

As DOR, I understand part of Rassies job was overseeing the development of younger players. Seeing that they’re being let go as fast as they come through the ranks, I can understand him p*ssed enough to leave.

• 84.HHS: Reply to this comment

@grant10-81: jy soek nou vir kak, ne.

• 85.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Never been a huge fan of Rassie, but again I think him leaving is treating the symptoms rather than the disease at WP.

• 86.grant10: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-79: going to have a shocker anyway John…of that I have no doubt whatsoever

• 87.RL: Reply to this comment

@David-83:

**** Muir is looking for a job, he knows how to spot talent. Only thing is he is more expensive than Rassie but knows how to play running rugby. Get Tightass to go for him.

• 88.grant10: Reply to this comment

@HHS-84: lol

jammer boet spog net

• 89.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@grant10-81: And then the tooth fairy can come in at night and give you a ******** and make a you a nice cup of Milo.

• 90.ufo: Reply to this comment

Pissant…

You say rassie is not gunning for the bok job…?

while, as always, i accept your word and opinion… your choice of words are a bit ambiguous…

he may not be ‘gunning’ for the job… but… as far as you know… would he turn it down if offered a position as head coach or one of the coaching positions… or would he accept it… if offered…

a big difference between ‘not gunning’ for it… and simply not wanting it and refusing it outright if offered…

please can you be a bit more clear in your assessment for the sake of my simple brain…

cheers bud…

• 91.grant10: Reply to this comment

@RL-87: are you befark in your head!!!!!!

Muir??

se moer !

• 92.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

I think WeePee (they have gone nowhere with him) will be better off without him. Now if Staaldraad could leave the sharks I would be ecstatic.

• 93.rangerman: Reply to this comment

hmmmm.

circus by the sea?

all the centers gone, light five, coaching crisis, no cash blah blah blah.

and we wereridiculed by gwantie for having no 10? :lol:

oh the wheel turns.

how sweet it is.

• 94.Bouts: Reply to this comment

Perhaps Rassie is returning to the place of his birth?! Coaching the Kings perhaps?

Hey. It did take longer than I expected, but we did say he’ll do the same to WP as he’s done with FS. He’s a loose cannon.

Prediction: Brendan Venter to come in to ‘save the day’.

• 95.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-93:
    Ja nee sy bek was lekker groot.
    I am sure gwanty the drama queen will enjoy this drama in his life.He thrives on it.

• 96.stew: Reply to this comment

@RL-87: Smoking the good stuff – i wouldnt let muir coach my kids primary school side

• 97.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

six love grant… six love…

• 98.rangerman: Reply to this comment

phew.

so all that spending, turning the stormers into the most mercenary side in south african history, has come to naught?

no return on investment it seems.

will they be able to hang onto some of their “stars” for much longer?

habs the abs can stay, he bleeds them like an abbatoir worker
    duane? lets see but he is a vrystaater at heart.
    gio? old old old.
    jdv. pap pap pap.
    jdj? quality, he will probably end up at the sharks anyway.
    uhmmmmm lets not mention the pack shall we?

• 99.Bouts: Reply to this comment

Hmmm… perhaps it’s a case of WP setting him loose to get a few bucks to make a big purchase.

• 100.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-97: @Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-95: all over ROver, GOODnight nurse, FARK CAPS!

• 101.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Bouts-99: another one?

sheesh, wp must be the biggest importer of develoed talent in sa surely?

• 102.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@Bouts-99:
    96% of players who move down to the cape finds out it is a graveyard for their carreers.

• 103.RL: Reply to this comment

@stew-96: the funny thing is Muir probably trained your kids rugby coach at his IRASA. So in a way he is teaching your kids. :wink:

• 104.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-98: Yeah! Agreed!

I remember when he left the Free State screaming. He complained about FS not giving him free reigns to purchase all the players he wanted, but they rather wanted him to mainly focus on local players. Can’t remember his exact words, but he said something about how he can buy cups if he’s given some money… and that the Stormers offered him an open cheque-book.

Must be seriously embarrassing for him. Nothing. He thought he was great after he won the Currie Cup in his first season with FS… ignoring the fact that he inhereted a strong team who already played in the CC final the previous season.

• 105.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

I am sure gwanty will still go and watch every game as he is a diehard fan,not one of these fair weather fans.

• 106.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-102: come now lets not be so harsh?

luke went down there “to be in a team that could win tropies” and……..uhm….anyway, i doubt bryan will complain about missing out on superrugby titles with the bulls to live in the shadow of the mountain surely?

• 107.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-105: But he wears his Namibia jersey underneath, just in case things don’t go so well.

• 108.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@ufo-90:

Rassie is heading overseas.

And for all intent and purposes, Bok coaching job has been finalised.

• 109.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Bouts-104: ja, look at all the talent they bought?

they practically gutted the lions:

mujati
    brits
    ricky
    van zyl
    big joe
    jaque foure
    etc etc etc

and FS
    tiaan
    duane
    lionel cronje
    and many many many more

but sadly the gamble didnt pay off. and meanwhile, all the quality young uns have jumped ship?

its a shocker really

• 110.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

But hey, SA Rugby might want to keep him in SA so he could well be roped into some role.

• 111.RL: Reply to this comment

@Bouts-104: the States are doing well without him – I am sad that he is leaving the Cape – he was a mighty fine ally and part of the problem there. :sad:

• 112.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-107: :lol:

@PissAnt-108: aha. so the troika of AC and Rassie didnt get the job?

well theyve won fokkol after spending 620 million dollars on the foreign legion so i guess its fair enough.

• 113.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-106:
    Not being harsh,I sad 96% and not 99%.
    @>^..^< katman-107:
    He will prob buy a all black jersey this year…

• 114.RL: Reply to this comment

It was fun larfing at WePees expense.

I’m out till later.

• 115.grant10: Reply to this comment

rassie heading overseas thursday….rumours are he may be linking up with Mallet at England job.

• 116.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ag i am just trying to wind you stormersfans up guys.

i dont wish you anything bad and would like you to beat the australasian teams please.

thanks.

• 117.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-109: We will never forget the 12 months in which WP plundered and pillaged those brave soldiers from our ranks, leaving Loffie with little choice but to field the likes of Jorrie Muller. Long may their woes continue. And may Rassie be replaced by a Chester-Fester tag team.

• 118.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-107:

• 119.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-116:
    Schadenfreude:-)

• 120.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Just saw from Rassie’s statement he has opportunities at ‘higher levels’ – who knows I might have it completely wrong but I don’t think so – he is heading out of SA.

• 121.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-120: Rassie for Bok coach… wts

• 122.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

So if Rassie is heading out of SA, does that mean he’s taking over Gert’s job in Ireland??

• 123.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-121:

If that is the case, this must rank as one of the worst PR jobs in history.

• 124.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-123: bad PR on whose part?

• 125.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

first signs of the apocalypse if you ask me…

2012…its a thing…

• 126.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-124:

Why not just wait until the 27th?

• 127.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-125:

The end is nigh.

Let’s have a braai.

We’ll drink Hunters dry.

Turn our faces to the sky

And breathe a bigh sigh.

At least i won’t have to wear a tie.

• 128.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-127:
    Have a bean and lentil curry and a Lemon Twist handy for skoppy.

• 129.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

Compliments of the season everyone. So Rassie leaves WP. Heineke has stated that he is committed to the Bulls, Alister has said he is committed to WP, and honestly, if they are making announcements on the 27th, it would really be unfair to those unions to lose them just before the season starts. I guess Gert and Rassie appear to be shaping up to be the front runners. Although Gert would be getting ready for 6 nations. I have a funny feeling Rassie has got this job.

• 130.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-128: Don’t be a naai.

• 131.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri-129: Morning Ros.

Hope you had a good festive season

I got a copy of Tim Noakes’ book for Christmas. I’ll let you have it after I’m finished if you like.

• 132.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-126:you mean it would be bad PR if the Oirish announced that they’re releasing Smal from his contract now?

• 133.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-130:
    OK,some soya sausages to braai.
    He can explain to you all how the end will come and can also explain the finer fkdilly detail.

• 134.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Meyer bok coach, Rassie assistant.

• 135.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-127:
    certainly an apocalypse in the making for province by the look of things.

• 136.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-132:

Well it would make the date of the 27th a bit insignificant don’t you think?

• 137.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-133: LOL

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-135: I dunno.

They’ll be there or thereabouts.

They still, as in the past few seasons, are one or two players short of a champion winning side.

• 138.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-131: :) funny guy!

• 139.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-133:
    the devil is in his detail.

@wallabie.-134:
    oh for the gods to look so kindly upon us…

• 140.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

gwanty is gonna go on prozac,mix that with a couple of pink drinks on gameday and we are gonna see some very funny posts from a raging drama queen.

• 141.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-136: so how is this development bad PR? rassie make a clean break with WP so they can start looking for a new DOR – Gary Gold, SARU prep Rassie on what they envision and thrash out assistants etc. point to the bad PR part pls.

• 142.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-140:
    typing away with his right hand whilst the back of his left hand is firmly pushed against his forehead.

• 143.RL: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-131: send it to Tackler, he’d appreciate it more :grin:

• 144.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Cape Town – Forgotten former Springbok centre Jorrie Muller has been appointed as the Leopards’ assistant coach for the 2012 season.

• 145.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-141:

If you can’t see it I cannot really hope to explain it to you – but consider this.

Rassie resigns from his post as DOR at WP/Stormers rugby a month out from the start of Super Rugby with no clear indication where he is going to, or why he has resigned.

Questions are suddenly being asked about what the hell is going on at WP Rugby, and why the Director of Rugby walks out a month before the most important provincial competition in world rugby (as is currently the case).

Rumours start surfacing of unhappiness between Rassie and WP Rugby admin/fellow coaches and even players (as is currently happening on Twitter).

Players are at a loss for why their head of coaching quits a month before Super Rugby and for what reasons.

Fans are at a loss of just what the hell is happening in WP Rugby since Rassie less than a month ago publicly stated (when asked on Bok coach position) that he is committed to WP Rugby until the end of 2012.

Confusion, rumours, chaos.

Scenario 2:

27 January Rassie is announced as the new Bok coach. WP Rugby release a statement officially releasing him from his contract wishing him the best in his new career.

AN Other steps in as Rassie’s successor at WP Rugby immediately as all negotiations and contracts have been negotiated and signed weeks before.

Transition is simple, without panic and most importantly, accepted by all involved.

Yes?

• 146.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

While the boat is taking on water, we might pick up a few bargains as they look to save themselves and it’s each man for himself. Kevin de Klerk should pass the hat around and see what we can come up with to put in a package deal offer for Bekker, de Jongh and that young redhead prop. You never know…

• 147.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-145: ok, i see. bad PR on WP’s part for sure. Toby Titus & Wagner should be on the horn with their media guy to quell the rumour mill then.

• 148.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-146: In the words of achmed the dead terrorist…:

“I keeeeel you….”

• 149.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-147:

Like all things WP the damage has been done I am afraid.

Rassie is heading overseas though – no Bok job for him – I believe he is flying out later this week in fact.

• 150.RL: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-145:

Scenario 3:

AC announces his immediate resignation from WP rugby, one day after losing the Plascon cup to the Lions. He says big things are waiting for him. Later he is announced as the new Bok coach reporting directly to the DoR of SA Rugby, Rassie.

Meanwhile back at the Stormers camp, Gold steps in as head coach, Flekkie resigns in disgust, Chester steps in to close the loop …. Proudfeet consoles himself by entering a baking competition.

Burger assumes control of the Stormers coaching staff …. JC is distraught and jumps off the top of brokeback mountain.

• 151.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@RL-150:

You know you should have your cereal with milk hey? :)

• 152.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-148: Hey, it’s a buyer’s market.

• 153.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-152: It might be.

• 154.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

The death of acsie!

• 155.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-154:

Did I disappoint you or let you down?
    Should I be feeling guilty or let the judges frown?
    ‘Cause I saw the end before we’d begun,
    Yes I saw you were blinded and I knew I had won.
    So I took what’s mine by eternal right.
    Took your soul out into the night.
    It may be over but it won’t stop there,
    I am here for you if you’d only care.
    You touched my heart you touched my soul.
    You changed my life and all my goals.
    And love is blind and that I knew when,
    My heart was blinded by you.
    I’ve kissed your lips and held your hand.
    Shared your dreams and shared your bed.
    I know you well, I know your smell.
    I’ve been addicted to you.

Goodbye my lover.
    Goodbye my friend.
    You have been the one.
    You have been the one for me.

Goodbye my lover.
    Goodbye my friend.
    You have been the one.
    You have been the one for me.

• 156.David: Reply to this comment

Seeing that England job won’t be decided until after the 6N, I can’t see Rassie leaving on spec. More likely, he’s a straight swop for Gert as part of Irelands condition to let Smal go.

• 157.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-155:

Is that wat you sang to Bakkies when he left for France? :lol:

• 158.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

@RL-150:

Scenario 4 (left field but possible)

Jake White has convinced the Brumbies management to throw large amounts of cash at Rassie to get him in as a technical adviser.

• 159.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-157:

• 160.David: Reply to this comment

@Kietzphat-158:
    Didn’t the PR say something about him moving to a “higher” level? :lol:

• 161.race of tan: Reply to this comment

David – Higer Level, is Rassie runnign for President of the country then?

• 162.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@David-160: That could include applying to become kit manager at the Lions.

• 163.David: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-162:
    Can they afford kit? :lol:

• 164.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@David-163: They already have kit. But they need someone to wash and iron.

• 165.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-131: Hehehehehehe. Keep it! I might burn your Christmas present. :lol:

• 166.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri-165: K.

But don’t say i never asked OK?

• 167.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Everybody in Hillbrow is on a “higher” level.

• 168.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-166: Cool.

When does the Plascon Cup start anyone?

• 169.Bod: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-144:

Thats one hell of a potent appointment.. All hail the mighty Leopards!! (My home town team)

Now all we need is for him to drag his elder brother Doppies along with him as water boy and wither the rest…

• 170.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri-168: In a couple of weeks.

@Bod-169: Good things come to those who wait. :)

• 171.David: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-164:
    Can’t you find someone in your domestic competition?

• 172.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri-168:
    27 jan

• 173.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@David-171: Ha ha. That’s a great concept for a local reality TV show. The Domestic Competition. With a strapline: “Maid in South Africa”.

• 174.David: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-173:

• 175.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Very depressing news.

Wp Rugby vrot at the top. Time for Wagner , Titus and Theo Wakefield to go.

• 176.seamus: Reply to this comment

(The sound of water circling a drain)

• 177.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie-175:

And now, the end is near;
    And so I face the final curtain.
    My friend, I’ll say it clear,
    I’ll state my case, of which I’m certain.

I’ve lived a life that’s full.
    I’ve traveled each and every highway;
    But more, much more than this,
    I did it my way.

• 178.nama1: Reply to this comment

What has Rassie really achieved in the four years that he has been at the helm of coaching at WP/Stormers….apart from coaching the players a kak brand of rugby?

The timing may be off but…good riddance, I say.

• 179.ufo: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-108:

thanks PA… been OOO (out of office)

• 180.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@ufo-179:

All good buddy!

• 181.Stormer: Reply to this comment

This is the end of WP rugby! Wakefield will make WP the quota meca of SA rugby and province will drop to the B Section to make way for EP Kings! … bye bye Province, we like to see you again!

• 182.Guns: Reply to this comment

@grant10-115:
    Well that is a big loss to SA Rugby.

If ur rumours are right though Rassie may be doing a very smart thing for his own career, go get some fresh experience with Mallet in the NHem come back later and apply for Bok Head coach in next 3-4 years, with a bigger back of tricks and Experience..

• 183.Guns: Reply to this comment

Quite worrying if he hooks up with Mallet with the next RWC being in Eng they may actually get some were again..

• 184.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@nama1-178: “In the interim I have offered to continue to assist at Province whenever required. I have enjoyed my time here in the Cape immensely and feel that I have contributed to facilitating building the structures that have taken us to the brink of success.

“I have no doubt that that success is but a tiny step away now and I leave Province satisfied with the strides made.”

• 185.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-184:
    So if the next DOR comes in and WP/Stormers start to win Cups of significance (CC/Super rugby), we must give all the credit to Rassie because he “contributed to facilitating building the structures that have taken us to the brink of success.”

• 186.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Stormer-181:
    Boland moered EP in their final last year. Did you see the make-up of that Boland team?

• 187.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@nama1-186: no. why do you ask?

i recall demas, conradie, watts just from the top of me head

• 188.Horings: Reply to this comment

With all this going on, I think there is an opportunity for the rest of the SA teams. Sharks do not look great, although you never know with them. Bulls can go either way, but they will probably fight it out with the bottom teams this year. Lions or Cheetahs cantake the SA conference if they have some luck in their season. For instance, if the Cheetahs can keep Coenie, Strauss, Smith, Brussow and Goosen fit throughout the season they can really go all the way to the playoffs. Makes me think of the year the Cats played in the semis, although they lost 64-0 against the Brumbies in Canberra. I think there will be a huge gap between the Crusaders, Reds, Blues and the rest.

• 189.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Horings-188: It will really affect my fantasy rugby strategy. You must invest in what you know quite well and possibly better than the rest, but if none of those possibilities are good investments what then?

• 190.grant10: Reply to this comment

mallet leaves Newlands…

Rassie

smal

Look at all top players leaving in droves…

enough to make me break my new years resolution and go on an almighty farken massive turbo booster rant

but farkem

i wont

bly liewer tjoepstil

• 191.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Rassie to be appointed new springbok assistent coach with Gert head coach.

• 192.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@grant10-190:
    a massive turbo booster rant like a reverse turbo booster rant..?..

• 193.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-187:
    Stormer made this statement at p.181: “This is the end of WP rugby! Wakefield will make WP the quota meca of SA rugby and province will drop to the B Section to make way for EP Kings! … bye bye Province, we like to see you again!”

The Boland team was 50% or more Coloured (quotas by Stormer’s definition) and they really beat the **** out of EP in that final.

• 194.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Andre_WP-191:
    Two forwards as head and assistant coaches?

Gert still needs to repay Carel for bringing him into the coaching fold at senior level.

Gert and Carel as head coach and assistant respectively and let them continue where they left of in 1997 against Aus before the were unfairly dismissed by Louis.

• 195.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@nama1-194:

Carel won’t get involved again.

If Gert does get the job, expect one slaptjips from Bulls country to be a surprise call up to the Bok squad I reckon.

• 196.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Rassie has been offered something but nobody is saying what… very possibly same position he occupied under PdV i.e. technical director for Boks

Now the speculation is rife around who else is in the mix

Gert Smal – Head Coach
    Rassie Erasmus – Techie asst.
    Pieter Roussouw – Backline asst.
    Jacques Nienaber – Defense strategist

Don’t need a forwards specialist unless its Balie Swart – scrum doctor because between GS, RE and BS you got enough forward strategic thinking without another cook in the mix to spoil the broth.

• 197.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Less warra warra more ching ching

• 198.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Hakuna Matata

• 199.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo-196:

Rassie is seeing some folks in Europe – he is not getting involved with the Boks

• 200.IAAS: Reply to this comment

The sooner SARU make the bloody announcement of Bok coach, the better. Why the delay? Oh, because that’s when the scheduled board meeting takes place. Stuff that.

If Rassie is to be part of the Bok coaching set-up, then that places the frachise The Stormers at a disadvantage as far as a successsion plan is concerned. But then again, with SARU’s unprofessionalism, this will be the last of their worries.

We could see a bit of a domino affect here. I don’t see Rassie’s resignation being the last high profile one.

• 201.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@IAAS-200:

Rassie’s resignation has nothing to do with SARU (for once) – this is all WP Rugby.

• 202.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-201:

Howzit bud! Things not looking good in the Cape hey! A really sad state of affairs. Just when we think things are getting better, they are actually getting worse…

• 203.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

If Rassie is going to France or Ireland, no skin off anyone’s nose, much better for him and better for all concerned he is largely ineffective in the role he was designated to manage and between him and AC Stormers are pretty much in a whirlpool not knowing if they spinning clockwise or anti clockwise.. at least with one less maverick pulling skeef they got some chance of stabilizing and getting some kind of clarity into their strategic thinking.

I as yet have not seen one iota of real power thinking influence under Rassie.. many maverick type ideas but more bluster and promise and less result or reward. In short Rassie still got some growing to do as a real deal coach and better he go get his lessons and his growth curve realigned someplace else where he can pick up real experience in a real hard knocks environment of trial and error.. not here where he ain’t produced all that much as of yet.

• 204.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

The AB’s made their new coach known quickly, yet we hanna hanna around which cannot be good for any of the players, let alone us the supporters. Super Rugby starts soon, yet no coach yet. Don’t know what the state secret is…

• 205.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-201:

You’ve been saying this for a while. Very symtomatic, this news.

@Bill Reyts-202:

Howzit, mate. Look on the bright side.

I think there’s a bright side. Maybe. :D

• 206.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts-202:

This **** with WP Rugby has been brewing for a while.

Gert Smal, Mallet and Rassie (unofficially) have all left because of the amateur politicking of WP Rugby administration where clubs rule the roost and the boys in charge are more concerned to please clubs than sort out rugby issues within WP Rugby so they can continue in their cushy jobs.

Rassie will get a job in Europe and make a great name for himself. Gert will probably be the next Bok coach and Mallet will more than just likely be the next England coach.

Now ask yourself how WP Rugby managed to alienate 3 coaches of this calibre in less than a decade…

The answer – coaches (and DOR’s) may have changed – but the administration has basically stayed the same throughout this period.

Now where is the problem?

• 207.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

SARU don’t know who the next coach is.. they are no where near to making any decision midst all the cloak and dagger type speculations…

They probably have a round robin vote on the matter around time of appointment like last time where the candidates draw equal amount of votes and then on a re vote the one with the short straw gets kicked out the back door…

• 208.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Where’s extraball.

I need a good laugh.

• 209.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@IAAS-205:

I have seen this for a while now but I am lucky enough to see more than the average fan on the street.

I cannot say I am unhappy at the moment as dire as this situation is and has been – because for once I reckon most fans will now see where the **** starts with WP.

• 210.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I am a Lion

• 211.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@IAAS-205:

Howzit buddy! Which side is that? :lol:

@PissAnt-206:

Yeah it is tough on us the supporters. Have been seeing things going from bad to worse so it isn’t really a surprise. Yeah I think it is a done deal that Gert is coach, but not sure what Rassie will be doing. I hear people saying England as assistant to Mallet… You have to feel for the players though…

• 212.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-210:

Hi Dawn! Yeah not a bad idea…

• 213.Dawn: Reply to this comment

My second team

• 214.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Thought you were jumping ship! We are suckers for punishment…

• 215.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-209:

It is always the guy stating the obvious who gets hammered, but I will state it anyway.

The pattern here isn’t difficult to see.

Who are the guys elected by these “clubs” in the Western Cape who now run WP rugby? The Wakefields and Tightasses of this world.

Who are the “clubs” who have been running Eastern Province rugby into oblivion for the last decade and a half?

Get the picture?

These ex SARU people are all pumped up with idealogical fervour, but they can’t run a pissup in a brewery.

• 216.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-215:

Tac we have amateurs running rugby in 90% of unions in SA Rugby – not all of them ex SARU members but all amateurs and all as you mentioned, cannot organise a piss-up in a brewery.

• 217.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-201:

Yes PA. Rassie is a gem of a person. He built up a very strong rugby culture amongst the younger WP systems. He was an astounding mentor to these players. I observed it myself. He doesn’t like politics, and that is about all the fat cats in upper management at WP are obsessed with. Rassie deserves respect. He will go on to great things, and the boys he nurtured will stand by his legacy.

• 218.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

I am out for 1/2 hour ladies and gents.

• 219.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Jinx2-217:

Sad thing is these WP administrators will badmouth everyone to gain the favour of the clubs that keeps them in power – including their own coaches.

I mean wasn’t it Wakefield that mentioned a couple of months ago WP Rugby is too white? (player wise)

This guy was a team manager in WP once – why not open his mouth then?

They are no different from government in election year.

• 220.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-219:

In fact I think I read somewhere Wakefield has been involved in WP rugby for almost 16 years or more?

Gives you an idea of the ‘quality’ of people running rugby in WP…

• 221.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Sad sad sad!

• 222.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Does wakefield get paid

• 223.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

He takes his salary in pick n pay vouchers.

• 224.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Gunther!

How sweet it is to have you back.

• 225.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

How sweet it is to be back with you my angel.

• 226.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-225:

Welcome back! Were you away? :lol:

• 227.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts-226: grunter that was one hellava long-weekend boet. You come back to get a rest?

• 228.blueboy: Reply to this comment

Happy New Year to all my fellow bulls compadres and may it be a good one for the players and fans of the bulls,although it is the end of an era a new one begins abd i am looking forward to see this new team playing,if heyeneke can get this team playing good rugby the trophies will come back to loftus.Happy new year to all the non-bulls fans out there and good luck to all your teams,as long as the bulls finish first i do not care who comes second.

• 229.petoors: Reply to this comment

Another upstanding and “honorable” kiwi rugby player :

New Zealand rugby player Willie Ripia is reported to have quit Australian Super Rugby side the Western Forcer are being caught stealing from his teammates.

The former Taranaki, Hurricanes and New Zealand Maori first-five eighth was captured on CCTV taking money from the changing rooms at the Force’s Mount Claremont headquarters.

Management was said to be considering whether to sack or suspend Ripia before the player offered his resignation.

Players are reported to have complained to management for months about money going missing.

Ripia had allegedly been suspected of taking the cash but denied any involvement.

But when he was told about the CCTV footage the 26-year-old confessed.

It is believed Ripia has had counseling arranged by the club to tackle a gambling issue.

It is believed none of the players whose money was taken are pressing charges.
    The loss of Ripia will come as a major blow ahead of the new Super Rugby season.

• 230.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-216:
    SARU and WP Rugby were running well when Louis Luyt was the CEO
    It still ran reasonably well with Riaan Oberholtzer in charge
    When a guy name Van Rooyan came on, things started crumbling
    That trend hasn’t stopped with Hoskins, just that the increased revenues from TV contracts and devaluation of the Rand helped to paint situation prettier.
    Reality is, players and coaches in SA today using their performance at 1st Class Rugby as a springboard for bailing out overseas,
    simple

• 231.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

oh well oh well whats new in the SA rugby related zoo its still a black white thing as it ever shall be forever and a day forever more

• 232.Transformation: Reply to this comment

yes Tacitus, it was the ‘clubs’ (read blacks & coloureds) who ran the GLRU to the ground, who elected the likes of manie reyneke & authorised d-ick muir’s million rand contract for doing sweet bugger-all!

It was the same ‘clubs’ that ran SWD to the ground and instructed Stag Cronje to do a shady as f-uck deal with BUNKER Capital.

:roll:

• 233.ufo: Reply to this comment

Those who suggest this is a racial thing are revealing their own narrow perspectives and taking the easy, lazy way out…

Greed and corruption fly no racial flags… and are found in all business, social, racial and cultural circles in south africa…

The problem is… as pissant says… wall to wall amateurism, rampant ego driven greed and agendas… with non-existant checks and balances… and zero accountability…

The guilty reflect all colours of the rainbow nation

• 234.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-215: you still havent had your Damascus Road yet have you ?

Wake up man!

• 235.stew: Reply to this comment

SA rugby always reverts to the ‘ racism factor” – get over it , if somebody is doing a shiiiiite job , then they are doing a shiiiiiiiiiite job

• 236.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

when you think about it, the way in which saru and the provincial unions seem to lurch through things from one day to the next… its become just like sa football and the way in which safa and bafana do their banana republic comedy routine.

two sides of the same coin.

• 237.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-236: SARU is a banana republic Kaapse Klopse routine. :D

• 238.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-237:
    yip, toby actually looks like he could be a helluva klops… dancing his way into the stadium…

• 239.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-232: Tac is a real punk a$$ b1tch. Tries to sugarcoat the k@k he speaks. Man up Tac and say it like it is.

PA, I’m slightly dissappointed in your sweeping statement re the ex SARU guys. FYI, i think Tobie Titus and Wakefield are a bunch of drunkards posing as administrators, but at the same time, non-white clubs fee more comfortable nominating the devil they know, rather than the one they don’t.

All the discuccions above talk about Wakefield and Titus, but very little is mentioned about the business arm of WP Rugby, which is headed by Rob Wagner.

• 240.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-215:
    Bloody dark people. Moering up everything the white people built up over the years.

Bedamn those people.

Why I always maintain that a guy like Hondo is 5 times the man some of you will ever be. At least he does not try to hide behind semantics.

@pompies2-239:
    Wakefield and Titus have really overstayed their welcome. They should go. The sooner, the better.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.