Erasmus quits Province post
10 Jan 2012
WP senior professional coach Rassie Erasmus has resigned and will explore other coaching options.
The news of Erasmus’s resignation broke on Monday night. Die Burger reported that the Cape coaching guru had already informed his employers of his decision to leave, and that Erasmus has been offered coaching jobs at clubs in England and France.
On Tuesday, Erasmus himself confirmed that he would be leaving Western Province and the Stormers at the end of January.
‘The pieces are in place at Province,’ he said via a statement. ‘Over the past few seasons we have put the structures in place and they are working well.
‘The management team and player base is settled and there are now a fantastic bunch of youngsters pushing the older guys hard. The squad is very close to taking that final step and winning silverware.
‘My job is largely done here and there is no doubt in my mind that Allister [Coetzee], Matt [Proudfoot], Fleckie [Robbie Fleck] and the rest of the management and players have got what it takes to get there.’
Erasmus admitted that he has been offered other coaching opportunities.
‘There are a number of new opportunities that have surfaced at a higher level and I am currently considering my options. Each is an exciting and massive new challenge, and that is a big attraction to me at this stage of my career.
‘In the interim I have offered to continue to assist at Province whenever required. I have enjoyed my time here in the Cape immensely and feel that I have contributed to facilitating building the structures that have taken us to the brink of success.
‘I have no doubt that that success is but a tiny step away now and I leave Province satisfied with the strides made. I am grateful to Province for the opportunity and Newlands, the Stormers, WP and the Faithful will always have a special place in my heart.’
It has been suggested that Erasmus’s decision to leave came as a shock to his WP bosses, but managing director Rob Wagner moved to dispel the rumours. According to Wagner, the union was waiting for the right time to announce his departure.
‘Rassie has made a huge contribution at WP. We are obviously very sorry to see him go, but understand his desire for new challenges.
‘Rassie has been very good in keeping us informed of his decision and we have been waiting for the return of our senior players and team management before making the announcement. We understand that he is a big loss but we are also confident that the structures, players, coaching and management staff and the plans in place at all levels in the Province, are strong enough to allow us to make that final jump and secure the silverware that we are all working towards.’
Having served as technical advisor to the Boks in 2007 and again for the duration of the 2011 World Cup, Erasmus was mentioned as a candidate for the head coaching post in 2012. However, it’s since emerged that Gert Smal is the favourite to succeed Peter de Villiers.
The new Bok coach will be officially appointed on 27 January. If Erasmus doesn’t take up a post overseas at a club or Test nation, he could possibly join the Bok coaching team again.

240 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All
10 Jan 2012, 07:48 am
No wonder the Sharks dont want to play with the stormers in the plascon cup, to much drama in cape town.
10 Jan 2012, 07:50 am
@ufo-49: same Nokia as Skop uses?
10 Jan 2012, 07:52 am
@trupisero-50:
i’ve never heard this before but it really is very interesting…
it it explains more than just why the youngsters are quitting… it would also explain how out of touch the wp management are with the reality of professional rugby in the 21st century… something pissant has been highlighting for years now…
hope it’s something upon which he, or someone else, can elucidate…
10 Jan 2012, 08:02 am
I see Smittie has said that Schalk should be the new bok captain.
10 Jan 2012, 08:08 am
Rassie is not gunning for the Bok job, can tell you that much.
10 Jan 2012, 08:14 am
@PissAnt-55: then its a case of jumping ship?
10 Jan 2012, 08:14 am
so in a very short period of time wp /tormers have lost
rassie
f louw
j forie
whitehead
sadie
cj vd linde
jj engelbrecht
l cronje
a fondse
a van zyl
interesting indeed
10 Jan 2012, 08:15 am
@PissAnt-55: have you any insight into the pay structures at WP compared to the other unions as mentioned above, and possible reason for so many promising youngsters to hit the bricks?
10 Jan 2012, 08:16 am
if Rassie not in Bok mix…..then what the hell is going on in wp rugby?
I am not a fan of the ac / rassie axis, as is well known, but the timing of this is atrocious…..
something stinks in wp rugby
10 Jan 2012, 08:19 am
Boudjellal was fuming after his side’s narrow loss in Clermont on Sunday and vented his frustration with some controversial comments aimed at referee Christophe Berdos.
“I had my first refereeing sodomy in the [2010] semi-final against Clermont. I’ve just had my second tonight,” he told journalists after the 25-19 loss at Stade Marcel Michelin.
“It appeared to hurt the first time but it was just as bad this time. We will review the images not on Youtube but on YouPorn. Clermont are a great team. They did not need it.”
10 Jan 2012, 08:19 am
Rassie, come to the Sharks, we will make a place for you. Then Strauli can go to the stormers. Looks like wp needs a camp staaldraad.
10 Jan 2012, 08:21 am
@trupisero-58:
WP is top heavy and have some money issues from what I know. Their seniors earn a **** lot which leaves them with very little for everyone else.
10 Jan 2012, 08:22 am
@grant10-59:
Hate to say I told you so.
10 Jan 2012, 08:25 am
to leave a great job like WP D.O.R must mean either Rassie is being lined up for a very senior spot with Boks….
or there is huge kak inside WP….
Simple
10 Jan 2012, 08:27 am
@PissAnt-63: yip.
the Saracens fiasco had me in total despair….this has me reaching for the Prozac.
I am farken gobsmacked……state of shock ….really.
10 Jan 2012, 08:28 am
@grant10-65:
Well I said before perhaps WP needs to hit rock bottom before they get their **** in order – they are not far off now.
10 Jan 2012, 08:31 am
I reckon Rassie knows a sinking ship when he sees one. I reckon he’s jumped overboard and is heading for a piece of flotsam (or is it jetsam?) with a little more buoyancy. I reckon he’s going back to Bloemfontein and his rooftop disco lights.
Naka for WP?
10 Jan 2012, 08:31 am
@PissAnt-62: are they as broke as the Lions? Maybe getting rid of the dead wood would help, I estimate the culling of about 30 players will do the trick.
10 Jan 2012, 08:32 am
@PissAnt-66: yes….this is a low point for me…..I just cannot believe what has has transpired over the last few months….rock bottom now…..how Wagner and Titus are still there defies belief.
10 Jan 2012, 08:35 am
Jinne extraball cracks me up!
10 Jan 2012, 08:38 am
@RL-68:
Lions situation is not as unique as most would think…
10 Jan 2012, 08:40 am
wp should make a move on Mitchell….
10 Jan 2012, 08:40 am
Speaking of unique – Jorrie Muller has been appointed Leopards assistant coach.
10 Jan 2012, 08:42 am
@PissAnt-73: the greatest springbok ever – lol
10 Jan 2012, 08:43 am
The moment Erasmus had his name linked to Bok rugby he was tainted.
He is a very intelligent chap as looking for career prospects overseas will only do his reputation good. Perhaps in time people will forget that he once associated with de Villiers and forgive him for being a part of the funniest and also the saddest time in Springbok history.
10 Jan 2012, 08:43 am
@grant10-72: Find your own coaching staff poacher !
10 Jan 2012, 08:45 am
fark this is seriously not cool
farkit
10 Jan 2012, 08:47 am
@PissAnt-73: one of the culling victims at the Lions … he the Lions 7′s coach. Glad to see the back of him.
10 Jan 2012, 08:50 am
Circus by the sea?
More like sinking ship on the high seas.
One or two injuries to key players and this Stormers side could have a shocker.
10 Jan 2012, 08:51 am
@grant10-72: with the money saved now on Rassie and Mossie rather make a move on the entire guppy front row and Juandre Kruger … more bang for your bucks.
10 Jan 2012, 08:52 am
then Mitchell can bring Taute , Spencer , Minnie and Elton with him
10 Jan 2012, 08:57 am
@RL-80: ja
that could also work
but we need a standout 10
and I like elton
10 Jan 2012, 08:58 am
As DOR, I understand part of Rassies job was overseeing the development of younger players. Seeing that they’re being let go as fast as they come through the ranks, I can understand him p*ssed enough to leave.
10 Jan 2012, 08:59 am
@grant10-81: jy soek nou vir kak, ne.
10 Jan 2012, 09:01 am
Never been a huge fan of Rassie, but again I think him leaving is treating the symptoms rather than the disease at WP.
@John Galt-79: going to have a shocker anyway John…of that I have no doubt whatsoever
@David-83:
**** Muir is looking for a job, he knows how to spot talent. Only thing is he is more expensive than Rassie but knows how to play running rugby. Get Tightass to go for him.
10 Jan 2012, 09:02 am
@HHS-84: lol
jammer boet spog net
10 Jan 2012, 09:03 am
@grant10-81: And then the tooth fairy can come in at night and give you a ******** and make a you a nice cup of Milo.
10 Jan 2012, 09:03 am
Pissant…
You say rassie is not gunning for the bok job…?
while, as always, i accept your word and opinion… your choice of words are a bit ambiguous…
he may not be ‘gunning’ for the job… but… as far as you know… would he turn it down if offered a position as head coach or one of the coaching positions… or would he accept it… if offered…
a big difference between ‘not gunning’ for it… and simply not wanting it and refusing it outright if offered…
please can you be a bit more clear in your assessment for the sake of my simple brain…
cheers bud…
10 Jan 2012, 09:04 am
@RL-87: are you befark in your head!!!!!!
Muir??
se moer !
10 Jan 2012, 09:06 am
I think WeePee (they have gone nowhere with him) will be better off without him. Now if Staaldraad could leave the sharks I would be ecstatic.
10 Jan 2012, 09:06 am
hmmmm.
circus by the sea?
all the centers gone, light five, coaching crisis, no cash blah blah blah.
and we wereridiculed by gwantie for having no 10?
oh the wheel turns.
how sweet it is.
10 Jan 2012, 09:10 am
Perhaps Rassie is returning to the place of his birth?! Coaching the Kings perhaps?
Hey. It did take longer than I expected, but we did say he’ll do the same to WP as he’s done with FS. He’s a loose cannon.
Prediction: Brendan Venter to come in to ‘save the day’.
@rangerman-93:
Ja nee sy bek was lekker groot.
I am sure gwanty the drama queen will enjoy this drama in his life.He thrives on it.
@RL-87: Smoking the good stuff – i wouldnt let muir coach my kids primary school side
10 Jan 2012, 09:13 am
six love grant… six love…
10 Jan 2012, 09:14 am
phew.
so all that spending, turning the stormers into the most mercenary side in south african history, has come to naught?
no return on investment it seems.
will they be able to hang onto some of their “stars” for much longer?
habs the abs can stay, he bleeds them like an abbatoir worker
duane? lets see but he is a vrystaater at heart.
gio? old old old.
jdv. pap pap pap.
jdj? quality, he will probably end up at the sharks anyway.
uhmmmmm lets not mention the pack shall we?
10 Jan 2012, 09:14 am
Hmmm… perhaps it’s a case of WP setting him loose to get a few bucks to make a big purchase.
10 Jan 2012, 09:15 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-97: @Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-95: all over ROver, GOODnight nurse, FARK CAPS!
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All