Smit backs Burger for Bok captaincy
10 Jan 2012
John Smit says Schalk Burger should be the next Springbok captain.
Smit, who led the Boks in 83 Tests, said discussions about his successor date back to 2008. Smit, now with Saracens, claimed Burger ticked all the boxes to fill the void left after his retirement from Test rugby.
‘There might be a young player who performs well and is awarded the captaincy, but my money is on Schalk,’ Smit, speaking at the official opening of the Saracens Field of Dreams in Kayamandi, Stellenbosch, said.
‘He has the most experience and is the one who commands the most respect among the Boks. It will be the smoothest transition.He is a hard worker, tough as nails and he understands people.’
Keo.co.za understands that former Springbok forward coach Gert Smal is favourite to be named head coach. In this event, there is a strong possibility that Burger will be named captain. Smal coached the flanker with Western Province and the Stormers and has regularly spoken of his admiration for him as a player and leader.
The decision on the coach will be announced on 27 January, but Smit refused to be drawn on the issue. ‘I’m sure the decision has been made already,’ he said. ‘The South African Rugby Union [Saru] were smart in not making the announcement yet as they have been criticised for impulsive decisions in the past.’
He did, however, offer that the vision of the next man in charge would be decisive in the appointment of the captain. ‘It depends on the sort of leader he wants,’ Smit said. ‘He may want to do something different with the Boks.’

212 Comments
10 Jan 2012, 08:24 am
Fat boy dragon cappie.
10 Jan 2012, 08:28 am
Burger is a natural leader, like Smit. It’s the logical choice.
10 Jan 2012, 08:29 am
Well Burger certainly leads from the front – give him a chance
10 Jan 2012, 08:43 am
The Fat Boys Club continues.
Smit the Godfather has just nominated his successor, now it’s up to the Stellies Mafia spawn to rise to the challenge.
10 Jan 2012, 08:51 am
@Transformation-4:
at least the EC mafia had nothing to do with it.
10 Jan 2012, 08:53 am
‘He has the most experience and is the one who commands the most respect among the Boks. It will be the smoothest transition.He is a hard worker, tough as nails and he understands people.’
I fail to see any negtatives in this sentence with regard to selecting a Bok captain.
Who else is more qualified and experienced?
10 Jan 2012, 08:56 am
@John Galt-6: Juan Smith, end of, hell anybody but bonehead.
10 Jan 2012, 09:03 am
JS was a great captain and will spot a good replacement a mile away.
Thank you JS for still being of service to Springbok rugby.
10 Jan 2012, 09:09 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-8: smitty will be involved in bok rugby for a looooong time to come.
whatta man.
meanwhile, the kings cabal will ontinue to champion mediocrity whilst clamouring for an “equitable” share of the resources.
like all losers do.
10 Jan 2012, 09:09 am
booo!
booo!
booo!
booo!
10 Jan 2012, 09:14 am
@rangerman-9:
He is gonna be either a Bok coach or a selector at some stage,you heard it from me first.
In the meantime he can just continue to inspire Bok players with his legacy and the way he has behaved on and off the field.
He surely is a great rolemodel.
10 Jan 2012, 09:18 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-11: yup, a tall poppy indeed.
smitty you legend!
10 Jan 2012, 09:20 am
@rangerman-9: yes “equity” is for losers and “greed is good”, monopoly rules the world.
you sound like you were in Bloem on Sunday
10 Jan 2012, 09:21 am
John Smit knows what he is talking about. I agree Schalk Burger is the first choice Bok captain to lead us to the next World Cup.
10 Jan 2012, 09:23 am
Schalk may lead by exmple and be a well spoken man, but he falls a bit short when it comes to being diplomatic and handing out credit or compliments.
Sure, everyone hates losing but he wears it on his sleeve.
That being said, for the time being he’s assured of his spot. There’s no use in having a passanger like Smit who’s everything you want in a captain, other that a good rugby player.
10 Jan 2012, 09:24 am
@rangerman-12:
gwanty and the rest are like kiwis with their “tall poppy syndrome” who always wants to cut down a achiever.
All is not well in Paradise,Adam Thompson’s flat was broken into and his 2 rwc final jerseys stolen.
Easy come,easy go it seems…
10 Jan 2012, 09:28 am
@Transformation-13:
how about some good old fashioned hard work?
10 Jan 2012, 09:30 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-16: smit is a world cup winning captain, and thank goodness for that BUT he over-stayed his welcome driven by EGO and not the love of Bok rugby at heart. His personal quest to be the “first captain to defend the RWC” took precedence over the Springboks being “the first team to defend RWC”!
for that he is an unadulterated doos!
10 Jan 2012, 09:32 am
@rangerman-17:
yes, the Lions & GLRU have been “working hard” for the past decade tl tl tl
10 Jan 2012, 09:40 am
I wish Keo.co.za could elaborate on this comment :
Keo.co.za understands that former Springbok forward coach Gert Smal is favourite to be named head coach.
How and why do they understand this? Who are the other possible candidates?
10 Jan 2012, 09:41 am
Agreed that he’s the most likely successor.
We’ll see who the coach names.
Most likely will only be announced later this season in any event.
10 Jan 2012, 09:42 am
@Jeez-20: At least they haven’t reported it as fact yet.
10 Jan 2012, 09:44 am
Schalk for captain, for sure.
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-11:
dude… first? c’mon…
10 Jan 2012, 09:49 am
the end is near people, the end is near!…
prepare yourselves for armageddon…
10 Jan 2012, 09:50 am
@stormersboy-22: Then they shouldnt say anything, a few weeks ago they were ranting on about AC being the favorite !
Id like to hear some extra info when they report what ‘they understand’ otherwise its just speculation and bad reporting
10 Jan 2012, 09:54 am
@Jeez-25: Given past errors they don’t seem to let the fear of being wrong get in the way of penning their latest scoop.
10 Jan 2012, 10:02 am
@stormersboy-26: True. I dont think they really know anything. For all we know GS is just being brought in as assistant coach-forward coach, with AC or HM as head coach! Id guess that Gert is being appointed, but not necessarily as head coach. WIth his role as assistant, he might have a role extra role in terms of transformation with the development of forwards. I guess they will announce the head coach and his assistants on the 27th? Contacting him and negotiating with him, could be seen as him being the favorite i guess, but surely other people have been talked to too.
10 Jan 2012, 10:05 am
Schalk or Juan for Bok captain.
Smit was the right man to lead us after the disaster of the 2003 world cup and circus of the Straeuli regime. A strong, articulate, thinking leader to guide a new young and inexperienced squad with a lot of raw talent.
This time its different (or so it looks to me from my armchair). We have experienced players in key positions (Bismark, Bekker, Brussow, Smith, Burger, Hougaard, F Steyn, Fourie, etc etc)
Schalk and Juan are guys who lead from the front. Either one works for me.
10 Jan 2012, 10:08 am
schalk not my choice.
but who else?
must be someone who commands starting spot on merit
we all living with the outcome of a useless fat plonker who was kept on for his so called master captaincy skills
en kyk hoe lyk ons nou
10 Jan 2012, 10:12 am
@grant10-29: If it wasn’t John it would have been Victor,
So the same boat either way.
10 Jan 2012, 10:13 am
I’m sure Smitty has been in contact with Smal regarding the captaincy issue anyway. Rassie off to England??? Rumour has it…
10 Jan 2012, 10:14 am
I like the idea of Juan starting with bekker at lock. With Juan at lock, Brussouw, Schalk and Alberts should make up a intimidating back 3. That gives them the option to sub schalk in the second half if needs be. Jeez just think about it.
Beast
BIsmark
Jannie
Bekker
Juan
Schalk
Brussouw
Thats a mean *** forward back. With Bismark ans Juan you basically have 5 loosies, without losing any power.
10 Jan 2012, 10:20 am
Jannie is the only weak link in that pack
10 Jan 2012, 10:20 am
@stormersboy-30: if it was Victor we would have had Bissy starting
and what a difference that could have made
10 Jan 2012, 10:23 am
@Jeez-32: That’s not a half kak idea. He’s run out at lock for the ‘State before, and done well there. He’s tall enough, and is a great line-out option. Hmmm…
10 Jan 2012, 10:24 am
@grant10-34: To the captaincy succession question?
10 Jan 2012, 10:27 am
@grant10-34: Jip, but schalk could keep brussouw out or even alberts. Put Juan at lock then you can sub Burger whenever you like. They should kill the idea that the captain needs to be on the field all the time. They should give the vice cap more responsibility. Even it out a bit…No captain should ever again be allowed to influence the team setup the way Smitty did.
10 Jan 2012, 10:30 am
@>^..^< katman-35: Yeah, i really hope they consider it. Hes definitely a good lock and has the power of bakkies. It could have a huge affect on the bench too. Gives the team a hell of a lot of options.
10 Jan 2012, 10:33 am
Having Juan at lock, gives you a permanent care taker captain if schalk is subbed. Or when he is subbed it doesnt influence or disrupt the back 3. And if he gets subbed and a flank gets subbed you boost the pack with a fresh lock and flank after basically having 5 loosies (Bismark included) on the field for about 60min
10 Jan 2012, 10:40 am
@Transformation-19: well the lions would still smak the kuk ot of ep/thekings/the amspears during that period so i guess as slack as they were, your lot were simply sacker.
and that goes for cc as well
10 Jan 2012, 10:42 am
if you were going to pick a loossie at lock I’d be inclined to go for Alberts. He’s more in the 4 mould for me personally.
10 Jan 2012, 10:43 am
Lambie should be named next bok captain, he can win three WC’s as captain. And him being as steady as Carter will ensure that he always deserves his spot in the team.
10 Jan 2012, 10:44 am
so has the rassie thread been canned?
fu k this site has more glitches than windows vista.
its s h i t in fact.
10 Jan 2012, 10:45 am
I agree, but I like that monster at 8
10 Jan 2012, 10:46 am
@stormersboy-36: not sure about future bok cappie to be honest.
10 Jan 2012, 10:46 am
@Mr Black-42:
that should get transie foaming again.
he does suffer so from “small town south african everything overseas is so much better” syndrome doesnt he?
10 Jan 2012, 10:47 am
@stormersboy-36: not sure about future bok cappie to be honest.@Jeez-37: wise words
10 Jan 2012, 10:50 am
@rangerman-46:
Mr Slick will be on my back about that one for sure.
10 Jan 2012, 10:52 am
I think this is a good choice, he is respected internationally and he does lead from the front, a bit of a hothead at times but rugby is not for sissies, and i heard he is very charming and likable.
10 Jan 2012, 10:52 am
Is there loving in your eyes all the way.
If I listened to your lies would you say
I’m a man (a man) without conviction,
I’m a man (a man) who doesn’t know
how to sell (to sell) a contradiction.
You come and go, you come and go.
Karma karma karma karma karma chameleon,
you come and go, you come and go.
Loving would be easy if your colors were like my dreams,
red gold and green, red gold and green.
10 Jan 2012, 10:53 am
pity Luke not playing superrugby…..
he may have been a great cappie if he could get back to top form
10 Jan 2012, 10:53 am
@Mr Black-42: That sounds good, and should bring the Sharks haters out in full force
10 Jan 2012, 10:57 am
@grant10-51: I doubt very much he is respected by his peers after the comment about wanting to puke on the Springbok jersey and it would be very hypercritical on his part if that were to happen. One minute koching and the next minute leading in the jersey that mad him so ill.
10 Jan 2012, 10:57 am
@Mr Black-48: haha, mr slick?
he wishes.
@grant10-51: he is not playing because he is fatter than ricky.
funny thing is that he sharks could have asked for him on loan but i suspect they would rather put big ears back on the field.
anyway, daddys making sure his lack of big time rugby doesnt hit the bak account too hard by all accounts.
10 Jan 2012, 10:59 am
a luke ust just sommer prove everyone wrong b playing outstanding rugga and geting offers from all and sundry.
good luck to the lad.
10 Jan 2012, 11:00 am
@stormersboy-41:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=brcvS87dUnI
Youd like this guy as your number one 8thman. A lock shouldnt wonder around in the backline. Id rather have Juan at lock.
10 Jan 2012, 11:01 am
@grant10-51:
hahaha!
why has no one offered him a contract?
10 Jan 2012, 11:03 am
@Treehugger-53:
Agree, Luke is a Cancer in any team environment. He is old news anyway.
10 Jan 2012, 11:06 am
@grant10-51: now there’s a turbo reverse of a career.
10 Jan 2012, 11:12 am
@Mr Black-58:
He didn’t seem to have that effect at Bath.
10 Jan 2012, 11:13 am
life has many twists and turns
very few things are definite.
I suggest the next couple of weeks may have a few interesting twists still
10 Jan 2012, 11:21 am
@grant10-61: We still have to hear where Fransie Steyn is going…….
10 Jan 2012, 11:23 am
“‘He has the most experience and is the one who commands the most respect among the Boks. It will be the smoothest transition.He is a hard worker, tough as nails and he understands people.’”
…and in 2015 he’ll be over the hill but still command a place in the Bok side for the RWC because he is the captain or will the new coach have more ballas than PdV and drop him in two years time if he cannot make the side on playing ability alone?
Njaa, look at somebody else to captain the side.
10 Jan 2012, 11:25 am
@grant10-61:
Do you also write for the daytime soapies?
10 Jan 2012, 11:26 am
@nama1-63: there is no player that can be guaranteed to make the side in 2 years time.
10 Jan 2012, 11:30 am
@David-64:

like sands through the hour glass…
10 Jan 2012, 11:30 am
I don’t think Schalk should be Stormers captain and I say this as a Stormers fan.
Look up “Brain Explosion” in the dictionary and you’ll find a picture of Schalk there.
10 Jan 2012, 11:31 am
A happy 2012 for all of you. May you dreams come true and may you teams win some trophies.
We’ll (Stormers) wiil probably at least win the Plascon Velvet Cup.
A belated happy birthday to you, Puma. Hope you had a good birthday and a wonderful festive season.
Getting closer to the 60′s are we, Puma?
10 Jan 2012, 11:32 am
@David-60:
He did every where else, so lets call that an exception to the rule.
10 Jan 2012, 11:32 am
Schalk Burger was one of the best Boks at the RWC so logical choice, J Smith is a bit too quiet!! It’s a shame Burger wasn’t captian for the RWC with BIssie playing!! The Boks missed a great chance of making history!!
10 Jan 2012, 11:34 am
Jeez – Willem Alberts was twice the player Spies was at the RWC. Things have got to change his year for the Boks!!
10 Jan 2012, 11:41 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-66:
Exactly.
@Mr Black-69:
His only problem was his political stance, which would be considered quite normal outside SA.
10 Jan 2012, 12:12 pm
@stormersboy-62: yes
hope we get some decent news
it is overdue
10 Jan 2012, 12:14 pm
@David-64: lol
days of our lives
10 Jan 2012, 12:21 pm
was banging a Saffa air hostess a few years back and she told me Burger tried to pick her up in a Cape Town bar one night, said he was as thick as two planks, her words not mine
10 Jan 2012, 12:22 pm
@trupisero-65:
The new coach will identify a group of core players that he would build his team around. That is the way most coaches do it. JW did it, PdV did it, Deans did it, Henry did it and the new coach will do it as well. Amongst these group of core players will be the captain.
Changes may take place outside of this group over the next 2 – 4 years but it will only be because of injuries that a coach will drop his preferred player/s. See Juan Smith and Bakkies (injured)…. Habana, Smit, FdP (lack of form).
So if Schalk is appointed as captain, he may well find him in the same position 2015 that JS found him in this year. Not being able to deliver on the field the way he used to but still making the side because he is the captain and at the same time keeping a better player on the bench.
Some players that can be guaranteed a place in the Bok side for the next two years (at least), barring injuries will most probably include:
Beast
Bismarck
Andries Bekker
Heinrich Brussow
Burger
Hougaardt
Just my opinion of cause.
10 Jan 2012, 12:32 pm
@NZINCHINA-75:
Most of the SAA hostesses are actually men.
10 Jan 2012, 12:36 pm
@nama1-76:
I’d add FS to that list if he’s back in SA. More realistically, though, I think JdeV will also be retained as a senior amongst the backs.
10 Jan 2012, 12:36 pm
@NZINCHINA-75: Yeah right. More like you were thinking of the Saffa hostess as you were rubbing one out in the cattle class toilet at 30 000 feet. The singles mile high club.
10 Jan 2012, 12:38 pm
@nama1-76: I’d agree with that…glad you don’t have Spies in that group!
10 Jan 2012, 12:41 pm
@Mr Black-48: we should have another “fae to face” meeting soon so you can assess how slick i am now
10 Jan 2012, 12:42 pm
@trupisero-80: If Burger is thick then Spies doesn’t know he is alive
10 Jan 2012, 12:42 pm
@rangerman-54: don’t hate, congratulate son
10 Jan 2012, 12:45 pm
@NZINCHINA-75: pathetic…now you have even copied Fern hahahaha
10 Jan 2012, 12:45 pm
@>^..^< katman-79:

he sounds like a guy who’s done a whole lot of masturbating in his life.
could he ever bang babes.
10 Jan 2012, 12:46 pm
@Jeez-39:
Rather give Juan the role that Andre Venter/Danie played…a reserve spot where he covers for the 5/7 positions.
Groom a younger lock with Bekker to get him ready for 2015. Juan has no chance in hell to last until then.Doubt if he will last this season. Just too many serious injuries the last few years and with his age being in the 30′s already…
Mosterd did OK during the 3N this year. Maybe with more chances, he can do even better.
10 Jan 2012, 12:48 pm
@NZINCHINA-75: according to bryce_@nama1-63: according to bryce_in_oz schalk is this uber genius who aced his matric with distinctions and cummed his viticulture degree, is minting it playing rugby and stands to inherit a wine farm.
but you’ll have to believe bryce_in_oz though.
10 Jan 2012, 12:55 pm
@rangerman-55: The Sharks have suffered a serious injury setback ahead of the 2012 Super Rugby season with the news that Conrad Hoffmann has torn a pectoral muscle.
The former WP utility halfback has suffered from numerous disruptive injuries over the course of his career and ended up missing out on the latter half of last year’s campaign thanks to a dislocated elbow. This latest injury will require surgery to correct and could see Hoffmann out for 6 months or more.
With Ross Cronje having left to join the Lions, the Sharks now look to be forced to utilise Fred Michalak as scrumhalf backup to Charl McLeod, with uncapped Cobus Reinach the only other 9 in the squad
10 Jan 2012, 12:57 pm
@David-78:
Yeah, we need one or two more senior back line Boks going forward. I guess his name will come up with that of JPP, Aplon and Lambie. Even though you can’t regard Lambie as a senior yet, he does have the experience of a RWC behind him. Also, his age and versatility will probably count in his favor.
@trupisero-80:
Spies!!!
NEVER!!! NEVER!!! NEVER!!!
Let him captain the Bulls. One of the best jokes coming out of Pretoria.
10 Jan 2012, 12:58 pm
Chilliboy has always been earmarked as the next captain. He would make an ideal candidate and set up the platform for radical change in terms of transformation. But can he set up to the plate and comand a starting position as hooker for the Bulls 2012 campaign. (Bissy “King of Impact” will have to warm the bench again).
The question is, when will the new coach announce his captain. Will it be during the Superugby competition or at the start of the tests against England.
10 Jan 2012, 13:10 pm
NZChina is of course 100% correct.
There are doer’s and thinkers in this world.
And I doer think Schulk is a doer.
Leave the Captaincy to someone less remote.
10 Jan 2012, 13:14 pm
“Smit backs Burger for Bok Captaincy”.
A more appropriate Thread Heading might be:
Lardarse backs The Gouger.
10 Jan 2012, 13:16 pm
Or perhaps.
Barney backs the Rubble.
10 Jan 2012, 13:16 pm
@cane-91: agree
10 Jan 2012, 13:22 pm
All jokes aside……………………………..
“Smit, who led the Boks in 83 Tests…………………………….”
That is an awesome achievement.
Beyond awesome…….
Stellar.
beyond stellar even.
Has any human being on the planet, Captained an International Rugby Team anywhere near this milestone.
10 Jan 2012, 13:23 pm
@cane-92:
the pots are not allowed to comment on the kettles.
we’ve been over this already.
10 Jan 2012, 13:24 pm
@grant10-94:
Thank You Grantie……………
However ………………………..at a rough guess…………………I think you will not agree with my post 95.
10 Jan 2012, 13:25 pm
@Jeraldjay-90:
Chilliboy was overlooked as Bulls captain. Would be surprised if he were to be become captain of the Boks.
Another hooker conundrum looming in the next four years with both Bissie and Chilliboy vying for the position in the Bok team. It would be most interesting to see how Chilliboy goes this season now that he has ended the season without any injuries and with enough time to rest (no EOYT).
I suppose he’ll be the no. 1 hooker at the Bulls with G. Botha gone. That is if the Bulls don’t decide to convert one of their flankers into a hooker and let Chilliboy warm the bench.
Steggies perhaps?
10 Jan 2012, 13:25 pm
1. Burger – Cap
2. Becker – Vice Cap
10 Jan 2012, 13:30 pm
have always been and remain a very big fan of the Incredible Schalk…
IMO… he and Juan Smith are the only two realistic choices as bok captain going forward… would have no prob with Juan being given the nod… but with all his injuries continuity would be a problem…
so my choice would be schalk every time…
the guys who suggest he shouldn’t be in the team, let alone captain it… are simply trying top be controversial for the sake of controversy or are following provincial agendas…
schalk simply commands respect from all players… saffa and foreign… and the only disrespect he gets is from fans… who have never had to face him on a rugby field… and would never have the courage to face him off it and dis him like they do on this blog…
@seamus-99:
bekker is probably even worse than burger wrt his mental state when things are going tighter than a nuns two cracks, in some games.
@seamus-99:
Why not Dr Jannie du Plessis.
10 Jan 2012, 13:32 pm
NZ is full of “butter” chicks.
Nice personalities and ocassionaly bodies “butter” face is k ak!
10 Jan 2012, 13:34 pm
@>^..^< katman-79:
He likes to cry when he is m astrurbating,says it is a real “tearjerker”.
10 Jan 2012, 13:35 pm
@ufo-100:
” I have always been and remain a very big fan of the Incredible Schalk…”"
It is one thing to be fan of Schulk…………………………………………it is quite another thing to hand the Bok Captainancy to this near moron.
10 Jan 2012, 13:37 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-103:
Just when I thought you might have been growing up.
10 Jan 2012, 13:38 pm
@nama1-98:
Chilliboy should have been the Bulls captain IMO. But the Bulls would never make such a drastic decision.
We both know that if he is fully fit for the start of the series against the Poms he will make the squad and if he had a great season being selected captain is not that far fetched, especially with the new coach most likely being caucasian.
10 Jan 2012, 13:39 pm
@cane-106:
All the best for 2012 my brother.
10 Jan 2012, 13:44 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-108:
May 2012 bring you happiness Fernly.
10 Jan 2012, 13:48 pm
@cane-109:
Got plenty of that,will settle for the Sharks winning the CC and the Super 15 and the Bokke getting a decent coach and less political interference.
10 Jan 2012, 13:51 pm
@cane-105:
so you know the guy…? you’ve chatted to him…? discussed rugby, wine, life and universe with him…? and came to an informed personal opinion…? based on first-hand experience…?
thought not…
whether schalk is a moron may open to speculation…
unfortunately the same cannot be said for you…
it’s easy to call someone a moron on an anonymous blog… but none of you mice would have the courage to call him that to his face…
nor would any of you be able to debate the issue with him to and prove it…
10 Jan 2012, 13:51 pm
@nama1-86:
JUAN SMITH AT LOCK
That is if you believe working towards a 4 year plan is the way to go. In the next 4 years SAs young locks will get enough superrugby experience, by then youll know exactly who the next best locks are. As for getting the meanest and most intimidating team to dominate every game at present, id pick Juan at Lock. IF a younger guy proves to be any better id pick him and bench Juan as a 7/5 replacement.
10 Jan 2012, 13:57 pm
@ufo-111:
true, and you’re absolutely right.
i do however think he’s a bit doffish in his onfield demeanour at times too often. no different that say perhaps steggies or louw or bekker or flip or bissy or…..
10 Jan 2012, 14:03 pm
One thing I dont want to comment on is captaincy, but Burger did lose the plot in the Orlando final and in a couple of other pressure games.
The Bulls have some promising leaders with great playing talent coming through, such as Arno Botha and William Small Smith, but who knows if they will make the Bok team in future.
Juan Smith is a possibility and I like the lock idea, but will you have a settled lock combo with him and Bekker on the injury list on more occassions than not.
Other settled young players are Bismark, Brussow, Spies, Hougaard and Lambie and of all those players I would think Lambie has the potential as a captain.
Some believe that your captain should be in the forward pack, but that did not stop Hastings, Sella, Carling, etc to be great leaders.
10 Jan 2012, 14:04 pm
@Jeez-112:
I like your Juan Smith as lock theory. As loose forward he adds great value at the back of the lineout and has performed at lock for the Cheetahs. The Boks also lack experienced depth at lock so I’m with you.
My best case scenario would be Chilliboy as captain but he needs to have an excellent 2012 season with the Bulls and quite frankly Bissy deserves he spot in the starting line-up.
A fit Juan Smith would be my second choice ahead of Schalk.
I’ve said this before that Schalk is unmatched in terms of workrate and defence in world rugby. but his 1st receiver crash ball “attacking” rugby really piss es me off.
10 Jan 2012, 14:05 pm
@Jeraldjay-107:
Yes, he will make the squad but will he perform well enough to replace Bissie in the starting team? In other words, will he be able to consistently outplay Bissie in the S15 this year as he did at junior level and will our fellow rugby followers give him the credit if he indeed does so and the be appointed Bok captain?
I would not like for him to be made captain just because we have a white coach (if one is appointed) in order to keep the politicians happy and pretend that we are busy with transformation in rugby. He has had enough pressure on his young shoulders in his short senior career just to prove to some that he is good enough to play provincial rugby, let alone playing (and captaining) at international level.
10 Jan 2012, 14:05 pm
@ufo-111:
True ……………………………..Should I ever meet Schulk,…………………………. I will be on my most polite and courteous behaviour.
And I do hope he will be on his.
The fact that we are both Morons should help.
10 Jan 2012, 14:07 pm
@cane-105:
hehehehehehe
10 Jan 2012, 14:11 pm
@nama1-116:
Good post.
10 Jan 2012, 14:11 pm
@cane-117:
10 Jan 2012, 14:12 pm
If Alberts, Burger and Brussow wants to become a great loose froward combo then either Burger or Alberts (my money is on Alberts) need to work on their lineout play. Smal will not pick a pack with only a few lineout options as mauls and phase play from lineouts will be a key strength. In the past we had Bakkies, Matfield, Smith and Spies as options. Smith, Bekker, Alberts and Burger fails in comparison.
I think Matfield should really work with Spies on his lineout game. If Spies becomes a good leader, combined with a lineout specialist then it can make up for his lack of other skills. I think it is the only way Spies will keep the critics at bay, as I am also one of them.
10 Jan 2012, 14:13 pm
@Jeez-112:
Most coaches, if not all, work towards a 4 year plan with mini goals in between. Just listen when the new coaches are appointed for the various countries.
You, and I, may not like it, but that is just the way things work now.
Re Juan Smith, let’s see if he lasts through the S15 first.
10 Jan 2012, 14:20 pm
i think Schalk has reinvented himself as a blind sider…..and the highlight of wc to me was how well he and brussow dovetailed on occassion…..whether I would make him captain is another issue…
10 Jan 2012, 14:22 pm
Katman @ 79 indeed.
Tall tales indeed. Everybody knows SAA cabin crew use their nether regions for smuggling narcotics.
Anyway our man in china was probably slipping his noodle to one of the Air China hostesses.
They aren’t so fussy.
A gwailo is a gwailo.
10 Jan 2012, 14:28 pm
Some plank suggested Juan Smith as captain. Next to Andre Pretorius he spends more time being injured than playing.
10 Jan 2012, 14:33 pm
whoever next cappie is i just hope he is there on form and merit.
No need to appoint these bloody omes as cappies for all 4 years, etc….ridiculous….
1 series at a bloody time
10 Jan 2012, 14:34 pm
omes is okes
10 Jan 2012, 14:34 pm
@Horings-121:
Schalk can do his bit in the line outs.
You are now comparing a line out combination in their prime with a possible combination that is only starting out now. Not fair.
PS: Any of you Bloemfontein okes can help me out with or recommend a place to stay for my Kovsie child?
10 Jan 2012, 14:36 pm
@grant10-123: but schalk has ALWAYS wanted the Stormers 6 jersey! he has prized it from the grubby hands of luke & Flo! now with weak competition for it in the form of kitshoff, carr etc he is king opensider.
10 Jan 2012, 14:40 pm
Anyway I doubt anyone who has ever met the great man would ever call him a moron.
He will be the next bok skipper.
10 Jan 2012, 14:42 pm
dumb knuts
no surprise
the best option was right under the Fatboys nose
and he missed it.
Bismarck sunk.
Gouger annointed.
dumb knuts.
no surprise.
10 Jan 2012, 14:44 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-130: Hi G.
i see you’re back from Bloem…
@nama1 I think you are wrong. Matfield, Bakkies, Juan Smith and Spies all played major roles in their provincial teams’ linout from the start of their career. Smith played lock for Jake’s U21s, while Spies, Matfield and Bakkies were always used in the lineouts. Schalk is not a primary jumper at the Stormers and the Sharks would rather use either Deysel, Kankowski or Daniels than using Alberts. I do not think you can compare the two combinations on any level. Combine this with Bismark’s lineout problems then we are getting a coach who will be unable to select a pack that will play to his strenghts.
SA Rugby is in a tailspin…………………………..
Coach-less,
Captain-less,
Useless.
Go on make my day…………………………….. Punks.
Make Burger your sacrificial lamb.
10 Jan 2012, 14:45 pm
PdV said Spies is a future cappie if he gets the nod.
10 Jan 2012, 14:45 pm
@Transformation-129: yes….has caused some real issues with Luke and then flo…..
If schalk is honest with himself he will acknowledge he is a blindsider now….as I always believed he was…..Brussow…Flo…steggies …far better options as opensider.
Juan Smith and schalk need to compete for the 7 jersey….Wont be easy for schalk as Juan also playing week out and week in with the brussel sprout….but not sure J Smith will be his old self….J Smiths advantage is he is a brilliant lineout exponent….schalk not really so
10 Jan 2012, 14:47 pm
Bloem is lovely at this time of year transie.
The apres ski is peerless.
@the artist formerly known as gunther-130: i also think he will be next cappie
@the artist formerly known as gunther-130:
indeed…
Happy New Year gents.
Where Schalk will play is arguably more important than whether or not he wears the captain’s armband.
If he plays 6, it will be 4 more long years.
Now – is he necessarily the best 7 or 8 in the country?
10 Jan 2012, 14:48 pm
till later
10 Jan 2012, 14:49 pm
@grant10-136: I think Smith is the better counterrucker and Burger the better defender.
Play Juan at 7 and Burger at 8.
But they won’t.
@willievz-140: indeed…
@the artist formerly known as gunther-124: Hola Goenta. I trust your holidays were happy and mostly injury free.
10 Jan 2012, 14:51 pm
@grant10-123: Were they really that effective as a combo at ruck time?
Considering the amount of front foot ball we had – an effective counterrucking combo would have negated the Pocock tactics successfully, regardless of the ref.
Schalk, as good as we was at the WC, does not tick all the boxes for a 7. But he is certainly a better 7 than a 6.
10 Jan 2012, 14:56 pm
@cane-134:
Lets hope they do pick him as captain.
10 Jan 2012, 14:58 pm
@willievz-145:
If you rewatch the semi fianl where we blew Aus of the park you’ll see how to successfully negate Pocock, coaching at its very best from Sir Graham.
10 Jan 2012, 14:59 pm
Bon dia katters.
Indeed they were apart from a brief spell on the bench I played the full 80 minutes. I’m easing my way back like a cabinet minister who has just felt the condom break. Hostilities start in earnest next week.
I trust santa was good to you and yours?
10 Jan 2012, 15:03 pm
@Horings-114: To play the best blind side flank in the world at lock is nonsense
10 Jan 2012, 15:04 pm
Ja, some days I’d happily swap my family for Santa and his crew.
10 Jan 2012, 15:06 pm
@cane-134: don’t YAP too loud punk…you’ve got former cop “boofhead” Hansen at the helm, assisted by “achieved zilch but get moered to a record score by bulls in a final” Foster
10 Jan 2012, 15:07 pm
@Transformation-129:
when schalk sulks he usually gets what he wants.
10 Jan 2012, 15:08 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-137: happy 100
10 Jan 2012, 15:08 pm
@willievz-140:
I think Schalk can establish himself as the best 7 if his performances in the WC if one looks at his performances in the RWC. Unfortunately i don’t think he’ll play there for Stormers.
I wonder if Naka will rotate Ashley and Juan at 7 after Ashley’s sterling performances at 7 during the latter part of the S15 last year? He actually looked better at 7 than at 8.
10 Jan 2012, 15:16 pm
Transie I actually passed over bloem at 30 000 feet on sunday.
I tried to time my no 2 flush but there was a crosswind and I may have hit gwede instead.
Still, them’s the breaks.
On the plus side I can tell you the pool is 27 degrees.
10 Jan 2012, 15:18 pm
@nama1-154: Cheetahs have a good loose trio, with an extra or 2.
Devon
Ashley
Juan
Heinrich
Great to have 3 on the park and one on the bench rotating
Is Kabamba still up there, do you know?
10 Jan 2012, 15:22 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-155: same here, landed in PE at about 19:30. i was too pre-occupied with a certain zulu female flight attendant to be timing flushes though i must admit
10 Jan 2012, 15:24 pm
@stew-149: Well I do not think South Africa has got a lot of talent in the enforcer lock position. Bulls have vd Merwe. Lions will get Roodt, Stormers used Lobberts and Elstadt in that position, etc. We will therefore have to come up with a plan and I think Smith is the best bet. Compare that to our loosie talent then each Province has a pretty good looseforward trio.
It is a pity that we might go that route, because if the Lions played a Currie Cup Final in 2005 with their current team against the Bulls they would not have picked Franco vd Merwe and Wikus as their locks. Bakkies, Danie and Matfield is just too big a threat.
10 Jan 2012, 15:26 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-155:
gwede..?..
thats unfortunate
he’s the lesser of two evils
10 Jan 2012, 15:28 pm
@stormersboy-156:
Don’t know if Kabamba is still there S’boy.
Cheetahs always seem to have good, quality loose forwards and good props even though they are best known for their adventurous, running rugby by their back line.
Strange that, isn’t it?
10 Jan 2012, 15:28 pm
@Transformation-157:
did you rub one off like china does?
10 Jan 2012, 15:30 pm
Stormersboy
Katemba is back in philly.
10 Jan 2012, 15:32 pm
@Horings-158:
Maybe one of the franchises should try and lure back the other v/d Merwe. The one who played for WP before he went overseas to study.
Francois, I think. He was way better than his boet.
10 Jan 2012, 15:34 pm
@Horings-158:
the way franks hit flip in that tackle, i still get shudders thinknig about it.
bakkies he aint.
10 Jan 2012, 15:35 pm
Transie did you show her your noodle like our buddy in china?
10 Jan 2012, 15:38 pm
Jackie Selebi still critical – dept
2012-01-10 14:21
Johannesburg – Convicted former police commissioner Jackie Selebi is still sick, but in a stable condition at the Steve Biko Academic Hospital in Pretoria, the correctional services department said on Tuesday.
Department spokesperson Zacharia Modise said Selebi remained in a critical condition.
(news24)
—————————————————————————————————————-
Guess his release on medical parole is imminent.
Oh dear!
10 Jan 2012, 15:40 pm
@Horings-158:
a tad illegal cos he didnt use his arms and there was a bit of shoulder in there of course, but mostly it was flip’s face knocking into his head that caused the damage.
still, it wasn’t nice.
10 Jan 2012, 15:42 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-161: no, i was just passing off the time…
10 Jan 2012, 15:44 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-165: nah, we were discussing nuclear physics and she proved to me she can crush a grape with her melons.
10 Jan 2012, 15:46 pm
How is your mate John Block doing nama?
When does he go on trial?
10 Jan 2012, 15:47 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-162: Yeah we’ve been getting his early morning rants for a couple of days now.
The more things change the more they stay the same.
10 Jan 2012, 15:48 pm
@willievz-145: Hey Willie. Your argument of rucking and counter-rucking is valid, but the precursor to this should really be whether the contact points were dominated. Dominating the contact points makes helluva difference to the attacking players clearing at a ruck. The Bok attack was flawed in that they didn’t attack the correct areas in the defensive line. It’s almost as if very little thought was given to analysing individual players in favour of doing opposition team analysis.
You have to maximise Schalks ability because it might be a form thing and next year he might not be as good. I’d keep him at blindside for now. He’ll have to outperform all other blind-side loosies for the groen trui.
10 Jan 2012, 15:51 pm
@Transformation-169:
yes but can she turn it into wine..?..
10 Jan 2012, 16:03 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-170: Again I ask, why do you call him my mate?
The N. Cape is very big.. It is not as if everybody knows everybody, like in Arniston, you know!
I don’t know when he goes on trial. I’ll see on the telly, the same time you do, I guess.
10 Jan 2012, 16:04 pm
another kiwi on the sauce?
Force dump their naughty Kiwi import
Published: Tuesday, 10. January, 2012
The Western Force have dumped their New Zealand import Willie Ripia, despite a full year remaining on his contract, because of a “serious breach of team protocols”.
The Force denied that the breach involved any member of the public and said it was an “internal incident”, without giving any details of what transpired.
In a statement issued on Tuesday the Force said Ripia will not be part of their squad in 2012, after the club agreed to accept the player’s “resignation”.
“The club has investigated a serious breach of team protocols by the New Zealand-born flyhalf and following a meeting this [Tuesday] morning with senior management, Ripia offered his resignation later in the day,” the statement said.
“The club wishes to stress that the matter relates to an internal incident at the club and does not involve any member of the public or public property.”
Head Coach Richard Graham said he will review his options over the coming days before making any decisions on the possible recruitment of another playmaker to the club.
The 26-year-old playmaker was born in Murupara, New Zealand, and attended Rotorua Boys’ High School.
Ripia started his Super Rugby career at the Highlanders, before moving to the Hurricanes in 2008 – where he played 29 times for the Wellington-based franchise.
He also played for Taranaki in the NPC.
Ripia has played for New Zealand at Under-19 and Under-21 levels, and also for New Zealand Maori.
In August 2010 he has declared his intention to play for Australia, when he qualifies on residency, after he signed a two-year contract at the Western Force.
He played just seven matches for them last year, after suffering from a mystery foot injury and then a calf muscle problem.
Ripia’s loss could be a huge blow to the Force’s prospects.
Having already lost mercurial Wallaby James O’Connor to the Melbourne Rebels in controversial circumstances last year and now Ripia, coach Richard Graham will be desperate to find a quality replacement.
However, he has just over a month to the start of the season and the Perth-based outfit said they will speak to the Australian Rugby Union about the possibility of signing another overseas player.
“In the short term we will utilise our playing stocks and review our options once we have further clarity about recruitment from the ARU,” Graham said.
His resignation could open the door to former Australian Sevens player James Stannard – who began his domestic career at flyhalf, converted to scrumhalf when he first joined the Force, but was a revelation when he stepped in at No.10 for Ripia at the end of last season.
The only other playmakers on the Force books are Ben Seymour, 21, who signed this year from the Waratahs academy and who has no Super Rugby experience, and extended squad member Kyle Godwin, 19, who is still not fully recovered from a shoulder injury that kept him out of rugby last year.
10 Jan 2012, 16:06 pm
@Transformation-175: the stormers should get willkie ripia and assuage their flyhalf problems
10 Jan 2012, 16:07 pm
Sorry nama man I thought you were chums.
He is certainly a candidate for medical parole.
Its true though we are one big family in arnies.
Bruvvas from other muvvas.
10 Jan 2012, 16:14 pm
@Transformation-176: Hell no. It will be a bit of a Ripia off. He’s just not good enough. Will be on par with what’s available right now.
10 Jan 2012, 16:14 pm
@Transformation-176:
it would depend on just what the ffcuk he did.
the keewee are a different kind of shed tool when it comes to behavioural problems and drinking.
10 Jan 2012, 16:20 pm
@Transformation-176:
oh dear, it would seem he was guilty of the worst of sins.
he stole money from his teamates wallets to feed a gambling problem he has.
go figure.
10 Jan 2012, 16:24 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-180: WHAT? where did u get that?
10 Jan 2012, 16:25 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-177:
“He is certainly a candidate for medical parole.”
The new punishment for breaking the law:
“I hereby sentence you to medical parole until you reach the end of your days on this earth. Court adjourned”
However, you need to be high up in the political rankings.
10 Jan 2012, 16:26 pm
@Transformation-181:
http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/sport/western-force-star-willie-ripia-caught-in-theft-scandal/story-e6frg7o6-1226241244658
10 Jan 2012, 16:27 pm
@Transformation-181: It’s on the wires. Google his name under news.
He was caught after tapes showed him to be the culprit after a series of incidents where team members had had cash stolen from their wallets and kit bags.
10 Jan 2012, 16:28 pm
@Transformation-181:
he was cleaning out their wallets and kitbags over a period of months.
when confronted as a suspect denied it outright.
http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-union/union-news/ripia-quits-after-thefts-from-team-exposed-20120110-1ptt9.html
10 Jan 2012, 16:31 pm
Top-six spot in reach of Cheetahs in Super season, says Fourie
The Cheetahs hope to register their best season yet this year, with their goal being a top-six finish
Published: 2012/01/10 07:21:24 AM
AFTER lingering at the bottom end of the log since their introduction into Super Rugby in 2006 as an independent franchise, the Cheetahs hope to register their best season yet this year, with their goal being a top-six finish.
While this may be a challenge, given their limited number of national players and the fact they will be without the services of two stars — scrumhalf Sarel Pretorius, who signed a contract with the Waratahs, and fullback Riaan Viljoen, who joined the Sharks — assistant coach Hawies Fourie was excited yesterday about the season ahead.
So determined were the coaches to get the season off to a good start that they agreed to four warm-up matches to build momentum and decide on the best combinations before their campaign begins on February 25, when they cross paths with the Lions in Johannesburg.
The team will face the Southern Kings in Port Elizabeth in their first warm-up game, followed by clashes against the Lions and Stormers on January 31 and February 4 respectively as part of the Neo Africa series, with their last clash being against the Bulls in Polokwane on February 11.
Interestingly, the Cheetahs replaced the Sharks in the Neo Africa Tri-series after the Durban-based side decided to withdraw from the tournament.
Looking ahead at the Super Rugby series, Fourie said: “It is important for us to start the season on a high note because usually we only find our form and settle on our best player combinations midway through the tournament.
“So hopefully with all the warm-up games scheduled we will be well prepared when the series starts. Our goal this season is to finish in the top six for a playoff place.”
Asked whether four warm-up clashes would not be too taxing on the players ahead of what will be the longest Super Rugby series in the history of the tournament, Fourie said: “The season is very long this year so we will not give the same players a run in every match.
“We also have a big squad as the Griquas players form part of our franchise, so hopefully all the players will have participated in two matches when the season begins.
“Fortunately a lot of the young players have already played Super Rugby, because of the string of injuries we had last season, and know what to expect, which we hope will be an added bonus.”
While Fourie said virtually the entire squad should be fit for their season-opening match against the Lions — barring injuries suffered in the next few weeks — he was uncertain about whether their inspirational captain, Springbok flank Juan Smith, and prop Coenie Oosthuizen — who toured with the Springboks on the away leg of the Tri-Nations last year — would be available for selection for the opening rounds.
“At this stage there is a 50% chance Juan and Coenie will be fit to participate in the early rounds of the series. Juan has started running after having surgery to his Achilles last year, but it is hard to say when he will be ready to take to the field. Coenie, meanwhile, had surgery to his neck last year, so he will have to wait for the green light from the specialist before he can take contact again.”
Despite this, Fourie remained positive about the season, especially with the players returning from their festive season break in good shape.
“We have started training and things are looking positive,” he said. “Most of the players returned from their holidays in the same or better condition than they were in before the break, which is encouraging.
“So hopefully that will set us in good stead.”
KwaZulu-Natal Rugby Union CEO Brian van Zyl yesterday defended the Sharks’ decision to turn down the invitation to play in the Neo Africa series, and said the warm-up matches they had scheduled were sufficient. The Sharks — who were one of two South African franchises to qualify for a playoff place last season — will face Boland in Durban on February 10 and the Southern Kings in Port Elizabeth on February 17 in their only warm-up games.
“We were obligated to play against the Southern Kings and we wanted our other clash to be a home fixture,” Van Zyl said.
“We believe those games are enough to prepare for the tournament. In addition to that the season is long this year, so if we participated in the Neo Africa series it would have meant that the players would have to be away from home for an extra week, so we decided against it.”
10 Jan 2012, 16:32 pm
@stormersboy-184: YHOOOOOOO!!!!! terrible
10 Jan 2012, 16:38 pm
@stormersboy-184: Eish, that’s about as swak as you get.
10 Jan 2012, 16:57 pm
@Transformation-187: @>^..^< katman-188: Ja. Kuk sleg.
I guess his career is about over now. Not sure who else will have him.
Although the Kiwis have forgiven a whole bunch of nonsense from some of their players over the past year or so,
I guess it comes down to how good he is.
If he’s not required they’ll stand “on principle” and let people know that this isn’t acceptable.
If he’s required for plans they’ll work with him to get him into a treatment for this terrible addiction (after all, it’s the addiction to blame, not him
)
Since he’s declared his intentions previously to try and qualify to play for Australia, I’d say he’s pretty farked.
10 Jan 2012, 17:00 pm
@stormersboy-189:
no, not reallly farked.
he could find a place in league probably.
10 Jan 2012, 17:02 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-190: I’d forgotten that bunch of reprobates.
They’ll have him in a heartbeat. He’d fit in perfectly.
10 Jan 2012, 17:06 pm
@Transformation-186:
Sharks and Stormers to battle for a top six spot.
Cheetahs ending around 8-10.
Lions and Bulls to fight it out with the Rebels and Canes for the last four spots on the log. (12-15)
10 Jan 2012, 17:08 pm
@stormersboy-191:
yip, they’ll brin him in on probation with a bit of ‘counselling’ and everyone will just watch their wallets, but bring him in they will.
10 Jan 2012, 17:11 pm
@stormersboy-191:
10 Jan 2012, 18:14 pm
@pompies2-172: Hello Pompies. Very valid point you make, during the whole RWC11 our backline was very ineffective at attacking the correct points in the defensive line, partly due to passing inaccuracy and not attacking the immediate defender’s weaker shoulder.
Having said that, the amount of 5+ phases we strung together in that QF vis-a-vis the Aussies suggests that we did dominate the contact point to some extent, despite a weak attacking strategy. This suggests that, in theory at least, we should have had the upper hand (or shoulder!!) come ruck time. But we didn’t.
10 Jan 2012, 19:02 pm
@willievz-195: Burger is the problem… anyone still yet unable to open their shut fast eyes.. Burger is NO creative play maker making all the running meters and getting nowhere fast..
Who is YET to realize the fundamental FAIL at the WC rested around 3 or 4 positions
1. John Smit should not have been run on hooker Bismark should have started
2. Burger should not have been first receiver and mid field play making general 70% of every play. Burger spilled the ball that gifted the Aussie try, and Burger lost the ball under Aussie posts when in possession
3. Fourie du Preez should not have been run on scrum half, Hougaard should have started
4. Alberts should have started ahead of Spies who should have played off bench.
5. Brussow was largely ineffective.. running on injured… Louw should have started the 1/4 final and Burger would not have spilled the ball that resulted in Horwills try.
And Boks would have cake walked the 1/4 final and likely the WC..
10 Jan 2012, 20:07 pm
@ashampoopaloo-196: exactly right….
10 Jan 2012, 20:40 pm
@ashampoopaloo-196: will you Saffas just get over the bridge…you lost the 1/4 final because you were not up to scratch against an Aussie side that really should not have won but did. Just admit it…YOU BLEW IT…and whether or not you made the Final you still would have got beaten….the best Team won the Cup and so say all of us … end of story…it is now 2012….4 more years boyz..
10 Jan 2012, 20:43 pm
@willievz-195: yep I agree with you there my man…weak attacking Boks backline is your problem…hopefully you guys get it together this year and show us what you can do…otherwise it will be same old, same old…but I do worry about your El Presidente….if he is indicative of how South Africa has fallen then the whole country is doomed….hope you guys can retrieve it…still I look forward to good old scraps between the AB’s and Boks and the Wallies.
10 Jan 2012, 20:50 pm
@ashampoopaloo-196:
burger was the only one willing to be first reciever and did it over and over. this would’ve been pdv/senior players telling burger the game plan. burger would’ve just put his head down and accepted the role. sure he made mistakes but with a work load as huge as his, he’s allowed to make mistakes. burgers contribution and defence was immense in that game. he’s not the most creative ball carrier but he does what needs to be done, the quick one off the ruck to cross the adv line. burgers also been working on his passing game, still in development stages but he’s getting better.
fully agree with your other points accept for spies. waste of space and i cant figure out why he gets so much game time. spies doesnt hit rucks or clear mauls. lazy and hangs around waiting for the ball instead of doing his job and going in and securing it
10 Jan 2012, 20:51 pm
@ashampoopaloo-196: howzit Skop/G10. All the best boys. Time we met for another soda at Forries hey what? Rassie, Rassie, Rassie, what gives? England?
10 Jan 2012, 20:58 pm
@JohnPaul-199: well JP you have a point. But so in a way doth Skop. Burger did gift that try but **** happens. Brussouw’s early injury and ultimate exit caused huge problems, all not helped by an abysmal and inept match officials’ performance. All the Kiwis I spoke to(and that be many) agreed. BUT we lost. That’s what the record says.
10 Jan 2012, 21:13 pm
@TASSIES-202: yeah bryce had a terrible game, but at least he was consistently bad for both sides.
isnt it good that the boks didnt win the WC? can u imagine another 4 years with PDV at the helm?
10 Jan 2012, 21:31 pm
@man1a-203: well I hadn’t considered that risk. When the Boks play I want them to win. Regardless(of the consequences).
10 Jan 2012, 22:07 pm
@TASSIES-204: yeah was a bummer really. but could’ve been worse.
i blame the boks senior players for taking over the running of the team. PDV tried to introduce expansive rugby but was railroaded by the seniors which effectively stopped any new talent or ideas being introduced.
come WC time it was the same old boks with the same old gameplan. a gameplan that had effectively been countered in 2010 (after boks dominated 2009). it would’ve been nice to see what PDV would’ve introduced. i dont think PDV’s a great coach but he might’ve offered something new.
SA will always have the players to field a world class side but they havent done any evolving in the past 8 years.
11 Jan 2012, 02:07 am
@nama1-192:
A wistful thinking?
But don’t bet your house and the family’s bonds on it
11 Jan 2012, 03:55 am
To all those ostriches who think that Smit, Matfield, du Preez, etc.cost us the world cup, the responsibility lies squarely with the coach whose team selections were woeful, whose strategies were outdated and whose innovation was non-existent. Any coach with one, let alone two ballas,and any understanding of how the game is being played would haved done what every rugby fan in the country could see was required,picked the team on form and adapted our play to the new realities.
11 Jan 2012, 07:46 am
@stormer in a teacup-207: agreed
11 Jan 2012, 13:31 pm
Amen! The only thing that would make Burger a more complete leader is if he applied his trade in Pretoria!
11 Jan 2012, 23:57 pm
@stormer in a teacup-207: so the senior players throwing out PdV’s play book and going back to the kicking game had nothing to do with it?
12 Jan 2012, 02:43 am
@stormer in a teacup-207: Agreed. If you have the right selections you CAN win a rigged RWC.
12 Jan 2012, 03:12 am
@j59-211: rigged? lol u so funny