Smit backs Burger for Bok captaincy
10 Jan 2012
John Smit says Schalk Burger should be the next Springbok captain.
Smit, who led the Boks in 83 Tests, said discussions about his successor date back to 2008. Smit, now with Saracens, claimed Burger ticked all the boxes to fill the void left after his retirement from Test rugby.
‘There might be a young player who performs well and is awarded the captaincy, but my money is on Schalk,’ Smit, speaking at the official opening of the Saracens Field of Dreams in Kayamandi, Stellenbosch, said.
‘He has the most experience and is the one who commands the most respect among the Boks. It will be the smoothest transition.He is a hard worker, tough as nails and he understands people.’
Keo.co.za understands that former Springbok forward coach Gert Smal is favourite to be named head coach. In this event, there is a strong possibility that Burger will be named captain. Smal coached the flanker with Western Province and the Stormers and has regularly spoken of his admiration for him as a player and leader.
The decision on the coach will be announced on 27 January, but Smit refused to be drawn on the issue. ‘I’m sure the decision has been made already,’ he said. ‘The South African Rugby Union [Saru] were smart in not making the announcement yet as they have been criticised for impulsive decisions in the past.’
He did, however, offer that the vision of the next man in charge would be decisive in the appointment of the captain. ‘It depends on the sort of leader he wants,’ Smit said. ‘He may want to do something different with the Boks.’

212 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All
10 Jan 2012, 08:24 am
Fat boy dragon cappie.
10 Jan 2012, 08:28 am
Burger is a natural leader, like Smit. It’s the logical choice.
10 Jan 2012, 08:29 am
Well Burger certainly leads from the front – give him a chance
10 Jan 2012, 08:43 am
The Fat Boys Club continues.
Smit the Godfather has just nominated his successor, now it’s up to the Stellies Mafia spawn to rise to the challenge.
10 Jan 2012, 08:51 am
@Transformation-4:
at least the EC mafia had nothing to do with it.
10 Jan 2012, 08:53 am
‘He has the most experience and is the one who commands the most respect among the Boks. It will be the smoothest transition.He is a hard worker, tough as nails and he understands people.’
I fail to see any negtatives in this sentence with regard to selecting a Bok captain.
Who else is more qualified and experienced?
10 Jan 2012, 08:56 am
@John Galt-6: Juan Smith, end of, hell anybody but bonehead.
10 Jan 2012, 09:03 am
JS was a great captain and will spot a good replacement a mile away.
Thank you JS for still being of service to Springbok rugby.
10 Jan 2012, 09:09 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-8: smitty will be involved in bok rugby for a looooong time to come.
whatta man.
meanwhile, the kings cabal will ontinue to champion mediocrity whilst clamouring for an “equitable” share of the resources.
like all losers do.
10 Jan 2012, 09:09 am
booo!
booo!
booo!
booo!
10 Jan 2012, 09:14 am
@rangerman-9:
He is gonna be either a Bok coach or a selector at some stage,you heard it from me first.
In the meantime he can just continue to inspire Bok players with his legacy and the way he has behaved on and off the field.
He surely is a great rolemodel.
10 Jan 2012, 09:18 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-11: yup, a tall poppy indeed.
smitty you legend!
10 Jan 2012, 09:20 am
@rangerman-9: yes “equity” is for losers and “greed is good”, monopoly rules the world.
you sound like you were in Bloem on Sunday
10 Jan 2012, 09:21 am
John Smit knows what he is talking about. I agree Schalk Burger is the first choice Bok captain to lead us to the next World Cup.
10 Jan 2012, 09:23 am
Schalk may lead by exmple and be a well spoken man, but he falls a bit short when it comes to being diplomatic and handing out credit or compliments.
Sure, everyone hates losing but he wears it on his sleeve.
That being said, for the time being he’s assured of his spot. There’s no use in having a passanger like Smit who’s everything you want in a captain, other that a good rugby player.
10 Jan 2012, 09:24 am
@rangerman-12:
gwanty and the rest are like kiwis with their “tall poppy syndrome” who always wants to cut down a achiever.
All is not well in Paradise,Adam Thompson’s flat was broken into and his 2 rwc final jerseys stolen.
Easy come,easy go it seems…
10 Jan 2012, 09:28 am
@Transformation-13:
how about some good old fashioned hard work?
10 Jan 2012, 09:30 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-16: smit is a world cup winning captain, and thank goodness for that BUT he over-stayed his welcome driven by EGO and not the love of Bok rugby at heart. His personal quest to be the “first captain to defend the RWC” took precedence over the Springboks being “the first team to defend RWC”!
for that he is an unadulterated doos!
10 Jan 2012, 09:32 am
@rangerman-17:
yes, the Lions & GLRU have been “working hard” for the past decade tl tl tl
10 Jan 2012, 09:40 am
I wish Keo.co.za could elaborate on this comment :
Keo.co.za understands that former Springbok forward coach Gert Smal is favourite to be named head coach.
How and why do they understand this? Who are the other possible candidates?
10 Jan 2012, 09:41 am
Agreed that he’s the most likely successor.
We’ll see who the coach names.
Most likely will only be announced later this season in any event.
10 Jan 2012, 09:42 am
@Jeez-20: At least they haven’t reported it as fact yet.
10 Jan 2012, 09:44 am
Schalk for captain, for sure.
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-11:
dude… first? c’mon…
10 Jan 2012, 09:49 am
the end is near people, the end is near!…
prepare yourselves for armageddon…
10 Jan 2012, 09:50 am
@stormersboy-22: Then they shouldnt say anything, a few weeks ago they were ranting on about AC being the favorite !
Id like to hear some extra info when they report what ‘they understand’ otherwise its just speculation and bad reporting
10 Jan 2012, 09:54 am
@Jeez-25: Given past errors they don’t seem to let the fear of being wrong get in the way of penning their latest scoop.
10 Jan 2012, 10:02 am
@stormersboy-26: True. I dont think they really know anything. For all we know GS is just being brought in as assistant coach-forward coach, with AC or HM as head coach! Id guess that Gert is being appointed, but not necessarily as head coach. WIth his role as assistant, he might have a role extra role in terms of transformation with the development of forwards. I guess they will announce the head coach and his assistants on the 27th? Contacting him and negotiating with him, could be seen as him being the favorite i guess, but surely other people have been talked to too.
10 Jan 2012, 10:05 am
Schalk or Juan for Bok captain.
Smit was the right man to lead us after the disaster of the 2003 world cup and circus of the Straeuli regime. A strong, articulate, thinking leader to guide a new young and inexperienced squad with a lot of raw talent.
This time its different (or so it looks to me from my armchair). We have experienced players in key positions (Bismark, Bekker, Brussow, Smith, Burger, Hougaard, F Steyn, Fourie, etc etc)
Schalk and Juan are guys who lead from the front. Either one works for me.
10 Jan 2012, 10:08 am
schalk not my choice.
but who else?
must be someone who commands starting spot on merit
we all living with the outcome of a useless fat plonker who was kept on for his so called master captaincy skills
en kyk hoe lyk ons nou
10 Jan 2012, 10:12 am
@grant10-29: If it wasn’t John it would have been Victor,
So the same boat either way.
10 Jan 2012, 10:13 am
I’m sure Smitty has been in contact with Smal regarding the captaincy issue anyway. Rassie off to England??? Rumour has it…
10 Jan 2012, 10:14 am
I like the idea of Juan starting with bekker at lock. With Juan at lock, Brussouw, Schalk and Alberts should make up a intimidating back 3. That gives them the option to sub schalk in the second half if needs be. Jeez just think about it.
Beast
BIsmark
Jannie
Bekker
Juan
Schalk
Brussouw
Thats a mean *** forward back. With Bismark ans Juan you basically have 5 loosies, without losing any power.
10 Jan 2012, 10:20 am
Jannie is the only weak link in that pack
10 Jan 2012, 10:20 am
@stormersboy-30: if it was Victor we would have had Bissy starting
and what a difference that could have made
10 Jan 2012, 10:23 am
@Jeez-32: That’s not a half kak idea. He’s run out at lock for the ‘State before, and done well there. He’s tall enough, and is a great line-out option. Hmmm…
10 Jan 2012, 10:24 am
@grant10-34: To the captaincy succession question?
10 Jan 2012, 10:27 am
@grant10-34: Jip, but schalk could keep brussouw out or even alberts. Put Juan at lock then you can sub Burger whenever you like. They should kill the idea that the captain needs to be on the field all the time. They should give the vice cap more responsibility. Even it out a bit…No captain should ever again be allowed to influence the team setup the way Smitty did.
10 Jan 2012, 10:30 am
@>^..^< katman-35: Yeah, i really hope they consider it. Hes definitely a good lock and has the power of bakkies. It could have a huge affect on the bench too. Gives the team a hell of a lot of options.
10 Jan 2012, 10:33 am
Having Juan at lock, gives you a permanent care taker captain if schalk is subbed. Or when he is subbed it doesnt influence or disrupt the back 3. And if he gets subbed and a flank gets subbed you boost the pack with a fresh lock and flank after basically having 5 loosies (Bismark included) on the field for about 60min
10 Jan 2012, 10:40 am
@Transformation-19: well the lions would still smak the kuk ot of ep/thekings/the amspears during that period so i guess as slack as they were, your lot were simply sacker.
and that goes for cc as well
10 Jan 2012, 10:42 am
if you were going to pick a loossie at lock I’d be inclined to go for Alberts. He’s more in the 4 mould for me personally.
10 Jan 2012, 10:43 am
Lambie should be named next bok captain, he can win three WC’s as captain. And him being as steady as Carter will ensure that he always deserves his spot in the team.
10 Jan 2012, 10:44 am
so has the rassie thread been canned?
fu k this site has more glitches than windows vista.
its s h i t in fact.
10 Jan 2012, 10:45 am
I agree, but I like that monster at 8
10 Jan 2012, 10:46 am
@stormersboy-36: not sure about future bok cappie to be honest.
10 Jan 2012, 10:46 am
@Mr Black-42:
that should get transie foaming again.
he does suffer so from “small town south african everything overseas is so much better” syndrome doesnt he?
10 Jan 2012, 10:47 am
@stormersboy-36: not sure about future bok cappie to be honest.@Jeez-37: wise words
10 Jan 2012, 10:50 am
@rangerman-46:
Mr Slick will be on my back about that one for sure.
10 Jan 2012, 10:52 am
I think this is a good choice, he is respected internationally and he does lead from the front, a bit of a hothead at times but rugby is not for sissies, and i heard he is very charming and likable.
10 Jan 2012, 10:52 am
Is there loving in your eyes all the way.
If I listened to your lies would you say
I’m a man (a man) without conviction,
I’m a man (a man) who doesn’t know
how to sell (to sell) a contradiction.
You come and go, you come and go.
Karma karma karma karma karma chameleon,
you come and go, you come and go.
Loving would be easy if your colors were like my dreams,
red gold and green, red gold and green.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All