Smit backs Burger for Bok captaincy
10 Jan 2012
John Smit says Schalk Burger should be the next Springbok captain.
Smit, who led the Boks in 83 Tests, said discussions about his successor date back to 2008. Smit, now with Saracens, claimed Burger ticked all the boxes to fill the void left after his retirement from Test rugby.
‘There might be a young player who performs well and is awarded the captaincy, but my money is on Schalk,’ Smit, speaking at the official opening of the Saracens Field of Dreams in Kayamandi, Stellenbosch, said.
‘He has the most experience and is the one who commands the most respect among the Boks. It will be the smoothest transition.He is a hard worker, tough as nails and he understands people.’
Keo.co.za understands that former Springbok forward coach Gert Smal is favourite to be named head coach. In this event, there is a strong possibility that Burger will be named captain. Smal coached the flanker with Western Province and the Stormers and has regularly spoken of his admiration for him as a player and leader.
The decision on the coach will be announced on 27 January, but Smit refused to be drawn on the issue. ‘I’m sure the decision has been made already,’ he said. ‘The South African Rugby Union [Saru] were smart in not making the announcement yet as they have been criticised for impulsive decisions in the past.’
He did, however, offer that the vision of the next man in charge would be decisive in the appointment of the captain. ‘It depends on the sort of leader he wants,’ Smit said. ‘He may want to do something different with the Boks.’

212 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All
10 Jan 2012, 13:30 pm
@seamus-99:
bekker is probably even worse than burger wrt his mental state when things are going tighter than a nuns two cracks, in some games.
10 Jan 2012, 13:30 pm
@seamus-99:
Why not Dr Jannie du Plessis.
10 Jan 2012, 13:32 pm
NZ is full of “butter” chicks.
Nice personalities and ocassionaly bodies “butter” face is k ak!
10 Jan 2012, 13:34 pm
@>^..^< katman-79:
He likes to cry when he is m astrurbating,says it is a real “tearjerker”.
10 Jan 2012, 13:35 pm
@ufo-100:
” I have always been and remain a very big fan of the Incredible Schalk…”"
It is one thing to be fan of Schulk…………………………………………it is quite another thing to hand the Bok Captainancy to this near moron.
10 Jan 2012, 13:37 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-103:
Just when I thought you might have been growing up.
10 Jan 2012, 13:38 pm
@nama1-98:
Chilliboy should have been the Bulls captain IMO. But the Bulls would never make such a drastic decision.
We both know that if he is fully fit for the start of the series against the Poms he will make the squad and if he had a great season being selected captain is not that far fetched, especially with the new coach most likely being caucasian.
10 Jan 2012, 13:39 pm
@cane-106:
All the best for 2012 my brother.
10 Jan 2012, 13:44 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-108:
May 2012 bring you happiness Fernly.
10 Jan 2012, 13:48 pm
@cane-109:
Got plenty of that,will settle for the Sharks winning the CC and the Super 15 and the Bokke getting a decent coach and less political interference.
10 Jan 2012, 13:51 pm
@cane-105:
so you know the guy…? you’ve chatted to him…? discussed rugby, wine, life and universe with him…? and came to an informed personal opinion…? based on first-hand experience…?
thought not…
whether schalk is a moron may open to speculation…
unfortunately the same cannot be said for you…
it’s easy to call someone a moron on an anonymous blog… but none of you mice would have the courage to call him that to his face…
nor would any of you be able to debate the issue with him to and prove it…
10 Jan 2012, 13:51 pm
@nama1-86:
JUAN SMITH AT LOCK
That is if you believe working towards a 4 year plan is the way to go. In the next 4 years SAs young locks will get enough superrugby experience, by then youll know exactly who the next best locks are. As for getting the meanest and most intimidating team to dominate every game at present, id pick Juan at Lock. IF a younger guy proves to be any better id pick him and bench Juan as a 7/5 replacement.
10 Jan 2012, 13:57 pm
@ufo-111:
true, and you’re absolutely right.
i do however think he’s a bit doffish in his onfield demeanour at times too often. no different that say perhaps steggies or louw or bekker or flip or bissy or…..
10 Jan 2012, 14:03 pm
One thing I dont want to comment on is captaincy, but Burger did lose the plot in the Orlando final and in a couple of other pressure games.
The Bulls have some promising leaders with great playing talent coming through, such as Arno Botha and William Small Smith, but who knows if they will make the Bok team in future.
Juan Smith is a possibility and I like the lock idea, but will you have a settled lock combo with him and Bekker on the injury list on more occassions than not.
Other settled young players are Bismark, Brussow, Spies, Hougaard and Lambie and of all those players I would think Lambie has the potential as a captain.
Some believe that your captain should be in the forward pack, but that did not stop Hastings, Sella, Carling, etc to be great leaders.
10 Jan 2012, 14:04 pm
@Jeez-112:
I like your Juan Smith as lock theory. As loose forward he adds great value at the back of the lineout and has performed at lock for the Cheetahs. The Boks also lack experienced depth at lock so I’m with you.
My best case scenario would be Chilliboy as captain but he needs to have an excellent 2012 season with the Bulls and quite frankly Bissy deserves he spot in the starting line-up.
A fit Juan Smith would be my second choice ahead of Schalk.
I’ve said this before that Schalk is unmatched in terms of workrate and defence in world rugby. but his 1st receiver crash ball “attacking” rugby really piss es me off.
10 Jan 2012, 14:05 pm
@Jeraldjay-107:
Yes, he will make the squad but will he perform well enough to replace Bissie in the starting team? In other words, will he be able to consistently outplay Bissie in the S15 this year as he did at junior level and will our fellow rugby followers give him the credit if he indeed does so and the be appointed Bok captain?
I would not like for him to be made captain just because we have a white coach (if one is appointed) in order to keep the politicians happy and pretend that we are busy with transformation in rugby. He has had enough pressure on his young shoulders in his short senior career just to prove to some that he is good enough to play provincial rugby, let alone playing (and captaining) at international level.
10 Jan 2012, 14:05 pm
@ufo-111:
True ……………………………..Should I ever meet Schulk,…………………………. I will be on my most polite and courteous behaviour.
And I do hope he will be on his.
The fact that we are both Morons should help.
10 Jan 2012, 14:07 pm
@cane-105:
hehehehehehe
10 Jan 2012, 14:11 pm
@nama1-116:
Good post.
10 Jan 2012, 14:11 pm
@cane-117:
10 Jan 2012, 14:12 pm
If Alberts, Burger and Brussow wants to become a great loose froward combo then either Burger or Alberts (my money is on Alberts) need to work on their lineout play. Smal will not pick a pack with only a few lineout options as mauls and phase play from lineouts will be a key strength. In the past we had Bakkies, Matfield, Smith and Spies as options. Smith, Bekker, Alberts and Burger fails in comparison.
I think Matfield should really work with Spies on his lineout game. If Spies becomes a good leader, combined with a lineout specialist then it can make up for his lack of other skills. I think it is the only way Spies will keep the critics at bay, as I am also one of them.
10 Jan 2012, 14:13 pm
@Jeez-112:
Most coaches, if not all, work towards a 4 year plan with mini goals in between. Just listen when the new coaches are appointed for the various countries.
You, and I, may not like it, but that is just the way things work now.
Re Juan Smith, let’s see if he lasts through the S15 first.
10 Jan 2012, 14:20 pm
i think Schalk has reinvented himself as a blind sider…..and the highlight of wc to me was how well he and brussow dovetailed on occassion…..whether I would make him captain is another issue…
10 Jan 2012, 14:22 pm
Katman @ 79 indeed.
Tall tales indeed. Everybody knows SAA cabin crew use their nether regions for smuggling narcotics.
Anyway our man in china was probably slipping his noodle to one of the Air China hostesses.
They aren’t so fussy.
A gwailo is a gwailo.
10 Jan 2012, 14:28 pm
Some plank suggested Juan Smith as captain. Next to Andre Pretorius he spends more time being injured than playing.
10 Jan 2012, 14:33 pm
whoever next cappie is i just hope he is there on form and merit.
No need to appoint these bloody omes as cappies for all 4 years, etc….ridiculous….
1 series at a bloody time
10 Jan 2012, 14:34 pm
omes is okes
10 Jan 2012, 14:34 pm
@Horings-121:
Schalk can do his bit in the line outs.
You are now comparing a line out combination in their prime with a possible combination that is only starting out now. Not fair.
PS: Any of you Bloemfontein okes can help me out with or recommend a place to stay for my Kovsie child?
10 Jan 2012, 14:36 pm
@grant10-123: but schalk has ALWAYS wanted the Stormers 6 jersey! he has prized it from the grubby hands of luke & Flo! now with weak competition for it in the form of kitshoff, carr etc he is king opensider.
10 Jan 2012, 14:40 pm
Anyway I doubt anyone who has ever met the great man would ever call him a moron.
He will be the next bok skipper.
10 Jan 2012, 14:42 pm
dumb knuts
no surprise
the best option was right under the Fatboys nose
and he missed it.
Bismarck sunk.
Gouger annointed.
dumb knuts.
no surprise.
10 Jan 2012, 14:44 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-130: Hi G.
i see you’re back from Bloem…
@nama1 I think you are wrong. Matfield, Bakkies, Juan Smith and Spies all played major roles in their provincial teams’ linout from the start of their career. Smith played lock for Jake’s U21s, while Spies, Matfield and Bakkies were always used in the lineouts. Schalk is not a primary jumper at the Stormers and the Sharks would rather use either Deysel, Kankowski or Daniels than using Alberts. I do not think you can compare the two combinations on any level. Combine this with Bismark’s lineout problems then we are getting a coach who will be unable to select a pack that will play to his strenghts.
SA Rugby is in a tailspin…………………………..
Coach-less,
Captain-less,
Useless.
Go on make my day…………………………….. Punks.
Make Burger your sacrificial lamb.
10 Jan 2012, 14:45 pm
PdV said Spies is a future cappie if he gets the nod.
10 Jan 2012, 14:45 pm
@Transformation-129: yes….has caused some real issues with Luke and then flo…..
If schalk is honest with himself he will acknowledge he is a blindsider now….as I always believed he was…..Brussow…Flo…steggies …far better options as opensider.
Juan Smith and schalk need to compete for the 7 jersey….Wont be easy for schalk as Juan also playing week out and week in with the brussel sprout….but not sure J Smith will be his old self….J Smiths advantage is he is a brilliant lineout exponent….schalk not really so
10 Jan 2012, 14:47 pm
Bloem is lovely at this time of year transie.
The apres ski is peerless.
@the artist formerly known as gunther-130: i also think he will be next cappie
@the artist formerly known as gunther-130:
indeed…
Happy New Year gents.
Where Schalk will play is arguably more important than whether or not he wears the captain’s armband.
If he plays 6, it will be 4 more long years.
Now – is he necessarily the best 7 or 8 in the country?
10 Jan 2012, 14:48 pm
till later
10 Jan 2012, 14:49 pm
@grant10-136: I think Smith is the better counterrucker and Burger the better defender.
Play Juan at 7 and Burger at 8.
But they won’t.
@willievz-140: indeed…
@the artist formerly known as gunther-124: Hola Goenta. I trust your holidays were happy and mostly injury free.
10 Jan 2012, 14:51 pm
@grant10-123: Were they really that effective as a combo at ruck time?
Considering the amount of front foot ball we had – an effective counterrucking combo would have negated the Pocock tactics successfully, regardless of the ref.
Schalk, as good as we was at the WC, does not tick all the boxes for a 7. But he is certainly a better 7 than a 6.
10 Jan 2012, 14:56 pm
@cane-134:
Lets hope they do pick him as captain.
10 Jan 2012, 14:58 pm
@willievz-145:
If you rewatch the semi fianl where we blew Aus of the park you’ll see how to successfully negate Pocock, coaching at its very best from Sir Graham.
10 Jan 2012, 14:59 pm
Bon dia katters.
Indeed they were apart from a brief spell on the bench I played the full 80 minutes. I’m easing my way back like a cabinet minister who has just felt the condom break. Hostilities start in earnest next week.
I trust santa was good to you and yours?
10 Jan 2012, 15:03 pm
@Horings-114: To play the best blind side flank in the world at lock is nonsense
10 Jan 2012, 15:04 pm
Ja, some days I’d happily swap my family for Santa and his crew.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All