Disgraced Ripia leaves Force
11 Jan 2012
Willie Ripia has quit the Force after allegedly being caught stealing from his team-mates.
Ripia, who has previously undergone counselling for a gambling problem, was reportedly caught on CCTV taking money from players’ wallets and bags at the team’s Perth headquarters. The 26-year-old flyhalf offered his resignation on Tuesday when confronted with the footage.
In a statement the Force said: ‘The club wishes to stress that the matter relates to an internal incident at the club and does not involve any member of the public or public property.’
With James O’Connor switching to the Rebels, the Force now have a shortage of pivots, with Australia sevens star James Stannard likely to fill the berth.

85 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
11 Jan 2012, 09:53 am
@Transformation-41: It’s an automatic defense mechanism. The reality is that we all make mistakes, say things we regret, have underlying notions inherited from our parents etc. ie we’re human. The difference is, in australia and NZ (both countries i’ve lived in) when the mistakes are made people think about it, evaluate their actions go “yeah ur right, that wasn’t right, sorry”, end of story. and thats why race relations are more advanced in those places to a larger extent. in SA when u point something out to someone that may be deemed offensive they immediately finger point at everyone but themselves….lets blame julius, anc youth league, the crime i experienced the other day, affirmative action blah blah blah=, lets blame anyone but me because i don’t have to apologize for making a mistake because the scum of south africa give me an excuse to say what i want. And what scares me is that a new generation of south africans are being raised by these people.
11 Jan 2012, 09:55 am
@NZINCHINA-47:
your humility is an inspiration…
truly…
11 Jan 2012, 09:55 am
@ufo-44:
couldn’t have said it better myself 8)
i think hg alludes to this every now and then
11 Jan 2012, 09:57 am
@charo-53:
if HG said it it must be true he’s a top bloke
11 Jan 2012, 10:02 am
@flanka-15: calling someone a “youth league memebr” is a new SA insult.
it infers that you’re loud, uneducated, parochial, prone to corrupt tendencies, dishonest & probably racist – basically the inverse of a former National Party member hehehe
11 Jan 2012, 10:07 am
Before the WC final last year HG posted for 7 straight days 15 hours a day over and over and over and over again the same post , yip old HG he’s onto something alright.
@charo-53:
yeah… and the funny thing is that in trying to give me a dressing down nzinchina addresses me as ‘son’… thereby reinforcing the perception that he and some other new zealanders on keo are extremely patronizing about saffas and south africa…
oh the irony…
even when trying to admit our faults… this particular kiwi couldn’t resist putting (another) one over us…
@flanka-51: top post.
11 Jan 2012, 10:11 am
I remember a few years back, there was a WP Cricketer (won’t mention the players name) that was frequently stealing fellow teammates money from their wallets (before CCTV).
The players had some sort of idea who the culprit was and was getting understandably gatvol, so decided to mark their money.
Caught the guy red handed shortly after and this talented player was kicked out of the team never to play for Province again.
11 Jan 2012, 10:17 am
@Jeraldjay-59: Hansie played for OFS you tjop..
11 Jan 2012, 10:21 am
@trupisero-60:
Hansie wasn’t interested in the rands only US Dollars. In the late 90′s, US Dollar was king.
11 Jan 2012, 10:23 am
@ufo-57:
his one saving grace though is that his posts are almost always, without fail, short.
30 to 40 words max when he’s feeling really talkative… 4 or 5 when he’s not…
11 Jan 2012, 10:26 am
@trupisero-60: Very sharp lol
11 Jan 2012, 10:27 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-62:
well as someone who get’s criticized for the occasional long post…
i can only acknowledge nzinchina as the better man…!!
11 Jan 2012, 10:35 am
@ufo-57:
once again you misread the post, I said we dont have corruption but have other MASSIVE social problems how is that trying to get one over SA, was that not admitting NZ’s faults, which part of massive social problems didn’t you understand sir?
11 Jan 2012, 10:39 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-62:
sometimes I keep it really short two words only
11 Jan 2012, 10:42 am
40+..?..
you outdo yourself, sir.
11 Jan 2012, 10:44 am
@NZINCHINA-66:
i troll..?…
11 Jan 2012, 10:44 am
@NZINCHINA-66:
11 Jan 2012, 10:52 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-69:
back to the thread this guy is a disgrace, ban him for life and make an example of him, won’t happen though he’ll pop up in Europe or somewhere down the track
11 Jan 2012, 10:59 am
@NZINCHINA-65:
and now you’re choosing to ignore the first part of your own post…
my post (roughly)… sa is perceived as corrupt by it’s own citizens…
your post (roughly)… well new zealand is the least corrupt country in the entire universe… hands on hips… tongue out… nya nya… nya nya nya…
oh yes… we also have problems but we’re up on you as far as corruption is concerned…
i can’t imagine where i got the idea you were trying to put one over us…
c’mon man… you were just trying to score one more for nz… you do it all the time…
you know it…
11 Jan 2012, 11:05 am
@NZINCHINA-70:
ja, its a shame for him really. he clearly needs help as a person.
my bet is he’ll do a stint in league.
11 Jan 2012, 11:07 am
@Stormer-5:
Did he steal his teammate’s farms?
11 Jan 2012, 11:13 am
the only time im interested in getting one over SA is on the rugby field I couldn’t care less about other things in your country you misunderstood the post
11 Jan 2012, 11:24 am
When he isn’t banging SAA cabin crew our mate in china is Msanzi’s unoffical ambassador.
That’s why he spends all his time on a south african flavoured website.
In truth we are lucky to have him.
11 Jan 2012, 11:27 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-75:
hello mate she was a Qantas hosty based in AKL via Natal
11 Jan 2012, 11:35 am
So it was a bit of a tri-nations effort then?
11 Jan 2012, 11:37 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-77:
lol you could say that
11 Jan 2012, 12:24 pm
Nee man Willie. Wtf! I can’t stand people who steal.
11 Jan 2012, 13:26 pm
Maybe Willie was just practicing his fetching skills as understudy to Pocock!?
11 Jan 2012, 14:53 pm
@ufo-40:
Zuma should use those fat fingers of his to download the Core Values of the United Nations, then give them to his ministers to study and implement.
One is accountability.
Accountability: Willingness to take responsibility for action and outcome
Delivering what you promised to deliver
Accepting good and bad outcomes
Owning up to shortcomings/mistakes and taking responsibility for one’s actions
Honouring obligations, expectations and requirements
11 Jan 2012, 17:46 pm
Jaysus, what is it with Kiwis? If they aren’t running around drunk and naked in public they are stealing from the innocent and vulnerable.
11 Jan 2012, 19:12 pm
@kwas-82: Its amazing hey. Cooper broke into some okes house last year didnt he?
But the cheating and dishonesty extends to the playing field (epitomised by their Capt) is encouraged by the coaching staff and facilitated by the IRB (gave RWC 2011 to NZ. Lawrence reffing QF involving Aus, despite admitting he messed up in Aus v Ire match).
11 Jan 2012, 20:04 pm
83 they gave us the number 1 ranking in the world to 10 straight against Aus you have lost 6 straight now isn’t it, 1 or 2 losses to a NH team since O4′ when you climb into the top 3 in the world let us know
11 Jan 2012, 20:43 pm
@GWS-32: wow thats just down right lazy. generalising is for simpletons. yeah wish we could all live in southAfrica. i’d feel much safer living in a fortress.
@bokfan1-83: get over it WC’s over. AB’s had nothing to with IRB or ref’s decisions. again lazy over simplifying. all the AB’s care about is winning. would’ve been nice to have played aus in the quarters and then boks in the finals. boks couldnt make it past aus so didnt deserve to be in the quarters. serves them right for having PDV as a figure head and the senior players running the show
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All