Disgraced Ripia leaves Force
11 Jan 2012
Willie Ripia has quit the Force after allegedly being caught stealing from his team-mates.
Ripia, who has previously undergone counselling for a gambling problem, was reportedly caught on CCTV taking money from players’ wallets and bags at the team’s Perth headquarters. The 26-year-old flyhalf offered his resignation on Tuesday when confronted with the footage.
In a statement the Force said: ‘The club wishes to stress that the matter relates to an internal incident at the club and does not involve any member of the public or public property.’
With James O’Connor switching to the Rebels, the Force now have a shortage of pivots, with Australia sevens star James Stannard likely to fill the berth.

85 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
11 Jan 2012, 08:01 am
Hectic – disgraceful thats all you can say , good team mate
11 Jan 2012, 08:01 am
dragons ***
11 Jan 2012, 08:06 am
the grim ripia loses the force…
hope the guy gets the required help and can somehow turn this around in time…
11 Jan 2012, 08:17 am
@ufo-3: It is a disgrace to any NZealander – drown the guy
11 Jan 2012, 08:28 am
wasn’t Brian Mujati caught doing the same?heard that somewhere! – but he’s from ZZim so go figure!
11 Jan 2012, 08:30 am
@stew-4:
it’s not a disgrace to new zealand at all… i’m sure he didn’t put a flag over his face and do it for his country…!!
all nations have their hoodlums, thieves, murderers, thugs and all manner of assorted nasties… who are usually way in the minority in their countries… even in south africa…
we should all stop judging each other by the (relatively) small number of bad people, bad points, bad attitudes and extrapolate those over an entire group of people… and rather judge each individual for his or her own actions, words and thoughts…
grouping people into any group… national, religious, racial, cultural or whatever… is the single biggest problem with humanity and the world… IMO
when things are done for the group… the individual is not respected or cherished and can be sacrificed for the ‘good of the group’… and even easier to kill individuals of another group…
if however, the individual is respected and each and every life is seen as sacrosanct and revered… and efforts are made to ensure the good of each individual… that will truly be for the betterment of not only whatever group he or she wishes to associate themselves… but humanity and the world in general…
here endeth the lesson…
11 Jan 2012, 08:30 am
If I was Burton Francis, I would send my CV over to the Force and see if they are interested. They have a spot open for a developing foreign player (someone without international experience), and he isn’t likely to see any Super 15 game time at the Lions, or Stormers or wherever he is.
11 Jan 2012, 08:36 am
@Stormer-5: wow…could u be more racist. have never heard of mujati doing the same, but i suppose on a blog we can just throw around accusations or rumors we conjured up because one can hide behind their username and they’re no repercussions. and why not, after all he’s black.
11 Jan 2012, 08:39 am
@WOLFMAN21-7: smart idea. the force have been searching for a 10 for years now and were so desperate that they had andre pretorious the other year. did he even make it onto the field for them b4 he tore some other muscle. they happily paid for his 6 month holiday in perth though. poor o’connor has had to plus their holes for so long but ja, young talented flyhalves need to make an international call to perth.
11 Jan 2012, 08:39 am
nothing to do with race … al i said is that mujati did the same … no reason for ripia to feel disgraced, stuff like this happen… … now take that chip off your shoulder you youth league member you! – its been 20 years boet …
11 Jan 2012, 08:40 am
plug their holes* i meant to say
11 Jan 2012, 08:44 am
@Stormer-10: So you assume I’m black or an ANC youth league member because i simply told u that you can’t randomly accuse someone of theft based on absolute thin air? If u posted a link or even gave reference to a writer who did the article, or hell, even said where u heard the rumor from then i wouldn’t have even called u out. but to say “i heard that somewhere” is simply kak man.
11 Jan 2012, 08:47 am
@ufo-6: just feeling sensitive this morning – lol
11 Jan 2012, 08:48 am
@stew-4:
Just following Bryce Lawrence’s lead…….
heheheeh
Just some light humor!
11 Jan 2012, 08:48 am
@Stormer-10: if anything your immediate reaction to call me an ANC youth member or 20 years blah blah says more about you than me boet
11 Jan 2012, 08:50 am
it was said here on keo! a blogger mentioned it under the article where mujati claimed that some South African players called him a ****** – which also was not true! can’t remember if that blogger gave a link … but i remember him saying that it was commen knowledge in rugby circles
@Stormer-10:
Your words were : “but he’s from ZZim so go figure!”
In any book thats quite racist. Its been 20 years boet…
Grow up and talk rugby why dont you
@flanka-12:
JUJU said whites are also welcome in the ANCYL…..\
So no reference to colour there my boy!!
11 Jan 2012, 08:53 am
What is it with these Aussie 10′s
First the house burglar Quade Cooper and now Ripia the bag gym taker. Hell man talk about being a convict, literally!
11 Jan 2012, 08:56 am
@flanka-9: Mitch cut him from the squad saying that he is not good enough to play Super rugby – well according to the interview that JC had with him.
11 Jan 2012, 08:58 am
@Stormer-16: oh, another ‘open secret’ hey? i guess considering the way KEO and co have encouraged the use of making blind accusations and veiling them as “open secrets” i can’t blame bloggers for doing the same. so u know what, whatever, maybe ur right. im not a politician, just a rugby lover who thinks as bloggers we have to be held accountable to the things we say seeing as we’re not bound by the same plagiarism laws as actual journalists
11 Jan 2012, 08:58 am
@flanka-9: They have in the past tried to contract Peter Grant (I think his parents live in Perth, or at least in Australia) aswell as Sias Ebersohn, who didn’t want to leave his brother.
The Force will have a decent forward pack and some good strike-runners this year, but will be very limited due to the lack of decent 9 or 10.
11 Jan 2012, 08:59 am
@RL-20: mitch cut pretorious from the force? i thought he got a pre-season injury which ruined his season? and wasn’t mitch already in SA by then?
11 Jan 2012, 08:59 am
@RL-19: Both were born and raised in New Zealand…
11 Jan 2012, 09:00 am
@flanka-23: He ripped his hamstring off the bone in a preseason game. He wasn’t dropped from the squad.
11 Jan 2012, 09:04 am
@WOLFMAN21-22: they are basically a team that’s played without an out and out 10 since giteau left. and gits was arguably not even a proper 10, more a 12 like JOC. so in reality they’ve had 12′s playing makeshift flyhalf since their inception. and now stannard will be starting and he’s a 7′s player who’s more suited to scum half than flyhalf. it’s seriously a great opportunity for a young SA flyhalf to learn his trade
11 Jan 2012, 09:06 am
@RL-19: they’re both kiwi boys…..too much money too quick. which is ironic coz you’d think that would make u steal less haha.
11 Jan 2012, 09:09 am
thieving, drinking, gambling, assaulting keewee’s at it again…tsk, tsk…
11 Jan 2012, 09:16 am
@Stormer-5: what a terrible thing to say so flippantly . you should be ashamed …really.
11 Jan 2012, 09:19 am
@Stormer-5: are all Zimabweans thieves? HG will have a thing or two to say about that.
you’re out of line!
11 Jan 2012, 09:20 am
put him in the naughty chair and make him face the corner grant…hehe
11 Jan 2012, 09:22 am
Once a Convict, always a Convict. It’s the nature of the beast.
South Africans once again show that we are decent and well bred…with the odd headbutt and eye gouge but it’s all in the heat of battle.
We do not steal and slap kids around at parties and we do not parade around streets in nothing but a pair of shoes while blind drunk.
If they paid their players a decent wage I’m certain there would be less inclination to steal money or laptops. Auatralia and New Zealand you need to keep up with this Third World country.
11 Jan 2012, 09:24 am
@Transformation-30:
what about nigerians..?.. :grins:
i’m kidding.. i’m kidding..
11 Jan 2012, 09:27 am
11 Jan 2012, 09:28 am
@GWS-32:
NZ was not a penal colony, his behaviour was disgraceful but lets not turn this into a kiwi/aus bashing thread we’ve been there before and there are plenty from all countries who act like this.
11 Jan 2012, 09:29 am
@GWS-32:
in the words of the honourable bakkies botha:…’we don’t eat our kids’
11 Jan 2012, 09:31 am
Is Ripia a klepto?
At least you can take something for kleptomania.
11 Jan 2012, 09:33 am
@grant10-29: and he’s had the nerve to pull out the “chip on the shoulder” line simply coz i told him what he said wasn’t right. what really saddens me is the fact that he assumes i have to be black for telling him it was a kak post. no wonder when im overseas people jump to conclusions about the kind of person u are simply because ur a south african. our own worst enemy sometimes. anyway…back to rugby
11 Jan 2012, 09:35 am
@GWS-32: eish….
11 Jan 2012, 09:37 am
Before we get too smug… as a nation we are corrupt… and it’s us who say so…
From media24…
Corruption is a way of life in SA – survey
2012-01-10 22:34
Johannesburg – The majority of urban South Africans feel corruption has become a way of life, according to a survey released on Tuesday.
“Eighty-three percent of metro adults feel that corruption has become a way of life in South Africa,” said research company TNS South Africa in a statement.
Eighty-five percent feel there is corruption in senior levels of government, the survey found.
“Only 11% and 8% respectively disagreed with these perceptions,” TNS said.
Six percent said they did not know if corruption had become a way of life, and 8% said they did not know if there was corruption in senior levels of government.
“What is notable and deeply concerning is that these figures are largely unchanged since 2005,” TNS said.
It found similar results in 2005 and 2008.
The latest survey found little difference between demographic groups.
“What is also of concern is that these perceptions are held equally by young people as well as older people, suggesting that they are becoming completely entrenched – this is ‘business as normal’.”
Pretoria residents had the highest responses, followed by Durban.
About 2000 adults in South Africa’s seven major metropolitan areas were surveyed in late October/early November 2011.
TNS compared the results of this survey to one they undertook in September in which they asked what South Africa’s most pressing issues were.
This survey found corruption was in the top tier of the most pressing issues across all race groups and demographic groups.
“The fact that crime is also in this top tier suggests that South Africa is perceived by metro adults to be a relatively lawless place,” TNS said.
“Poverty and unemployment [are] also in the top tier whilst social and well-being issues such as HIV and Aids, housing and service delivery are in a second tier.”
It was concerning that there had been no major shift in the perception of corruption over six years, TNS said.
“It suggests that, where there has been success in rooting out corruption in either the public or private sectors [it takes two to tango], perhaps these success stories should be more widely publicised.
“It also suggests that efforts to attack this scourge need to be re-doubled and that, where officials are suspended on corruption allegations, these investigations need to be speeded up so that people can see the consequences of engaging in corruption.”
And all this while south africa assumes the presidency of the un security council…
11 Jan 2012, 09:38 am
@flanka-38: “chip on the shoulder” and “race card” are the de facto defences when some saffas are made aware that their slip is showing
11 Jan 2012, 09:40 am
@ufo-40:
At least corruption isn’t a problem in NZ, regularly voted one of the least corrupt countries in the world to do business in unfortunately we have other massive social problems though.
11 Jan 2012, 09:44 am
Does stealing from convicts still count as stealing? I mean, isn’t that like defrauding J Arthur Brown?
11 Jan 2012, 09:48 am
@NZINCHINA-42:
you’re absolutely correct nzinchina…
you guys are amazing… your country is amazing… your rugby players are amazing… your referees are amazing…
we as worthless, evil, stupid south africans can only aspire to be new zealanders when we grow up…
if i may have the temerity to make one suggestion…??
at least in south africa we can acknowledge our faults and weaknesses…
one small step…
11 Jan 2012, 09:50 am
@NZINCHINA-42:
Didn’t they count the rugby refs?
11 Jan 2012, 09:50 am
@grant10-29: plot thickens…
Cotter for England?
Wednesday, 11 January 2012 8.17 a.m.
New Zealander Vern Cotter has been touted as a leading contender for the role of permanent coach of England.
The Daily Telegraph noted that a report presented to the Rugby Football Union by the employment headhunters looking for a successor to Martin Johnson as England coach had Cotter as one of the leading names under consideration, along with former South Africa and Italy coach Nick Mallett.
Cotter, 49, who was a contender for the All Blacks job claimed by Steve Hansen, took Clermont Auvergne to France’s Top 14 last season also has coaching experience with the Crusaders and Bay of Plenty in New Zealand.
Meanwhile, former No.8 Lawrence Dallaglio believes the role being taken by caretaker coach Stuart Lancaster in the Six Nations, starting next month, is a risky one.
Dallaglio believes England could miss out on a top four ranking for the next World Cup, to be staged in England, ahead of the draw in November.
That gives England 12 Tests, five in the Six Nations, three in South Africa and the four Autumn Tests in November to lift itself from the fifth place it holds in the rankings now.
11 Jan 2012, 09:51 am
@ufo-44:
sort yourself out son you were so quick to respond did you not read the 2nd sentence? clown
11 Jan 2012, 09:51 am
@NZINCHINA-35:
you are quite right of course.
but this aus/kiwi bashing has evolved on keo over the last few years.
perhaps in reaction to the saffa/bok bashing that seems to have become the norm from most kiwi bloggers (baxxies, eye gougers, aids etc – you name it)
in my early days here on keo, it was mostly light-hearted ribbing but seems to have become more intense lately.
perhaps we have poepa69 and blackpantie to thank?
11 Jan 2012, 09:53 am
eish…this kiwi trying really hard to fit in in Oz….
11 Jan 2012, 09:53 am
@Transformation-46:
wow… have quite seriously never heard of this guy ever…
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All