Erasmus wants ‘more stability’
12 Jan 2012
Rassie Erasmus says he wants a more results-driven job than his position at Western Province.
Erasmus’s shock resignation from his director of coaching post at Province was officially announced on Monday. He has agreed to work with the union until the end of January, after which time he’ll pursue a coaching job elsewhere. It’s believed the reason for his departure is because of the failed relationship with the WP board and administrators.
When keo.co.za contacted WP vice-president Thelo Wakefield on the matter, he refused to comment. Erasmus also avoided the reasons for the break-up, but indicated that he wanted a job with more stability.
‘I want to work for a boss or owner who’ll give me certain directions on how I can improve the structures I find myself in and who will measure my progress by results,’ Erasmus told this site. ‘I think emotional results have been running my career at Province over the past four years and I’m looking for more stability.
‘I’m definitely looking for a coaching role. Something that will offer me fresh challenges.’
Erasmus departure for Biarritz on Thursday sparked rumours of him joining a European club. There is also talk of him joining England’s management team, should Nick Mallett take over as head coach after the Six Nations. However, Erasmus confirmed that he’s keeping all his options open as he has to consider his young family.
‘I’m not going to Biarritz specifically,’ said Erasmus. ‘I’m going overseas to show this player programme I’ve developed – it has to do with involving the players more in team meetings and allows them to assist in building a game plan instead of them just listening to the coaches. From the 31st January, my contract expires at WP, so I also want to put my name out there and decide on the best options.
‘I do have a young family, my twins are seven and my baby is eight months, so I have to make sure I make the right decision. If I find something suitable in Europe for me and my family then that will be fantastic. If I find a suitable thing in South Africa, that will be great too. I just have to sit down with my wife and discuss what’s the best decision.’
Despite his shock departure, Erasmus believes the Stormers should still do well in the upcoming Super Rugby tournament under current management.
‘People forget Allister Coetzee was named Coach of the Year before and he guided the team to several semis and finals over the last couple of seasons. Even Currie Cup structures looks solid, so everything is in the correct place. I think the union is in a better state than it was four years ago when I first joined. With the structures and current coaching staff, I think all bodes well for the future.’

33 Comments
12 Jan 2012, 12:21 pm
complex oke this Rassie
12 Jan 2012, 12:24 pm
pity ….we just seem unable to retain our best anymore
12 Jan 2012, 12:35 pm
go well rassie. he never leaves amicably does he?
it was widely rumoured here on keo that his depature in the free state wasn’t so lekker with some farmers happy to see the back of him as apparently he was more than busy on the training fields but was putting some of their vrous through the paces too
is this new “programme” the intellectual property of WP of rassie erasmus, i mean, considering he probably used WP’s facilities to develop it?
12 Jan 2012, 12:38 pm
I guess Rassie and I are not in the same financial boat. I too have young kids. And I certainly cannot afford to ditch my job, no matter how “unworkable” it might become, until I have something else lined up and signed off.
12 Jan 2012, 12:59 pm
Rassie, stop talking k@k and give us the real reason you leaving.
It will come out soon.
12 Jan 2012, 13:39 pm
More stability?
Is he talking about the stormers scrum?
12 Jan 2012, 13:44 pm
@Transformation-3:
good point on the intellectual capital.
but wouldn’t wp have to prove it is indeed theirs?
perhpas the nature of the contract would determine his and their rights.
12 Jan 2012, 13:49 pm
“‘I want to work for a boss or owner who’ll give me certain directions on how I can improve the structures I find myself in and who will measure my progress by results,’ Erasmus told this site. ‘I think emotional results have been running my career at Province over the past four years and I’m looking for more stability.”
Really not difficult to read between the lines here … and this guy like Mallet know his worth…
12 Jan 2012, 13:55 pm
Just has to be the scrum he is referring to, for you certainly do not give up your home with the young family in it and trek across Europe in a trailer looking for that replacement job you do not yet own.
Everything about this geyser is selfish and cowardly.
Good riddance even from all of geographical S. Africa.
12 Jan 2012, 14:03 pm
@ET.-9: I don’t blame anyone for refusing to work with Wakefield.
You on the other hand would probably get on famously with him. You both see racists around every corner, in the process completely missing the irony of the situation.
12 Jan 2012, 14:05 pm
Wakefield, who just the other day was a mere on-field manager(meaningless, glory job), is now titled as vice-president?
Clearly then even the PUPPET barrel is empty in good old Cape Town.
Also not unexpectedly so for that Afrikaner rugby guru, Craven, and his disciples such as Morne, Dawie Snyman and more were gloriously given the run-around all those years ago already.
12 Jan 2012, 14:11 pm
And you clearly know F O K K O L about anything outside your ivory tower.
A PUPPET is just a despicable thing and Thelo is a PUPPET even today.
Public pressure is causing him to shift uneasily in his musical chairs.
Slow poison is what awaits you all in the Cape. Years of it lie ahead.
12 Jan 2012, 14:12 pm
@mvk-12:
He is so rotten he cannot even rot anymore.
Off to the airport now.
12 Jan 2012, 14:36 pm
Thelo is too fat to be a puppet.
Break you arm right in two.
12 Jan 2012, 14:52 pm
@ET.-13: The Tower of Power Captain Katemba. The Tower of Power,
You get yourself a second job driving people to and from the airport I see?
Beats washing Petri Dishes I guess.
12 Jan 2012, 14:59 pm
Feel sorry for Rassie. I’ve been on his case ever since the 2005 Currie Cup final, but truth is, he is a good rugby man and deserves better than WP.
12 Jan 2012, 15:12 pm
@ET.-9: Who are you to talk about trekking off without security? You who went to freeload off Uncle Sam on a Green Card Lotto with little more than 3 PEP underpants and a couple of vacuum packed egg sandwiches in your suitcase.
12 Jan 2012, 15:29 pm
@>^..^< katman-18: haha, dont forget he steals bandwidth from his neighbour so he can talk with the poor lazy africans on skype
12 Jan 2012, 15:36 pm
@Tacitus-17:
eina!
@Transformation-3: the coach and tannies rumours were about naka werent they?
12 Jan 2012, 15:40 pm
@ET.-13: werent you on your way to the airport?
good riddance uitlander, fokkoff!
12 Jan 2012, 16:07 pm
Seems like the job was too big for him. A director sets the direction for the company, and sells his strategy to the board. The board do not come up with the strategy.
At least that’s how the real world works.
12 Jan 2012, 16:07 pm
Seems like the job was too big for him. A director sets the direction for the company, and sells his strategy to the board. The board do not come up with the strategy.
At least that’s how the real world works.
12 Jan 2012, 16:08 pm
Perhaps that was just his party line.
12 Jan 2012, 17:15 pm
Rassie’s hit on larkam http://youtu.be/OblFcmKuUMg
12 Jan 2012, 21:39 pm
jeez guys we ***** so much with one another. The real debate should be what is happening with SA Rugby? We are losing so many players and management to Europe. And before we know it we will be Division 2. Look we did not even get past the quarter finals at RWC 2011. Rugby in the Western Cape seems to be run by amateurs. I tell you what…if the Saracens Management was running WP rugby then you will see results. But for some reason sport in SA is mismanaged. Its time that people were put in their respective roles based upon results and not on any other reasons. So much talent….but completely mismanaged by muppets. This is a generalisation. Seems that the Bulls and Lions are well run. Sorry guys…just my opinion.
12 Jan 2012, 22:52 pm
@XV-25: YOU ARE CORRECT.
I HAVE NO DOUBT OUR DAYS ARE BASICALLY NUMBERED AS A TOP TIER NATION…..WE ARE FARKING UP 6 LOVE 6 LOVE
12 Jan 2012, 23:22 pm
The City of Angels, where more than most other places on this globe even the angelic truths are somewhat given more mileage, despite capitalism.
A long night of restful cricket(Aus. versus India) awaits as it starts at 18.30 PST. and ends at about 01.30 PST.
12 Jan 2012, 23:49 pm
It is with much amusement that I note that the jealousies of the khaki-clad, english-speaking chapter of the ‘Boeremag’, the whole wolf-pack of four, have once again found the need to rely on entering the “World of Fantasy” to concoct a balm to soothe their sorry souls(see up to post 20).
Well what can they expect to do and achieve if they avoid fighting the facts and truth manfully but except with mere emotional outbursts?
‘Slaap en spyker maar lekker klonkies’.
13 Jan 2012, 00:01 am
If ‘verkramptes’ on this site say Rassie is “talking ‘kak’” then the stench of his rants must truly be overwhelming.
In his time with the Stormers, he alone has dealt with the hiring and firing of personnel, so direct all your pent-up anger at the spineless wonder.
13 Jan 2012, 01:04 am
@XV-25: welcome to nz rugby. we’re constantly losing coaches and players to europe.
matfield late last year stated that boks shouldnt allow over seas players, and he’s right. as soon as u let overseas players be eligible u wont have anyone left to play in SA. players will play currie cup to make a name for themselves and then sign when they get the first good offer. meanwhile european players will be playing and learning vs your players while those at home play against mediocre tier 3+ players.
cannot ever see the boks being a 2nd division team tho
admin team is just like picking a rugby. u need your best and have to tweak the make up to get it to work. unfortunately a good rugby side doesnt automatically translate into a good amangement team.
13 Jan 2012, 01:22 am
@grant10-26:
Jeez grant you are a drama queen……….do you have monthlies?
13 Jan 2012, 07:33 am
@man1a-30: So NZ Rugby constantly lose players and coaches to Europe and they don’t allow overseas based players to play for the ABs. By my calculations either way this does not make any diffs as it has not stopped Kiwi or SA players leaving.
14 Jan 2012, 01:02 am
Rassie Erasmus for Bok coach job???? Things are falling into place maybe.