Munster maul Saints

Munster thumped Northampton 51-36 to finish the European Cup pool stage as the top seeds.

Simon Zebo scored a hat-trick and helped the Irish giants to a bonus-point win against last year’s finalists. The result means that Munster have accumulated 25 points and regardless of what happens in Sunday’s games they will go into the quarter-finals at the top-placed side.

Meanwhile in other European Cup matches, Bath ended a disappointing campaign on a high when they beat Glasgow 23-18 at The Rec. Scarlets edged Castres 16-13, Leinster overpowered Montpellier 25-3 and the cool goal-kicking of Ruan Pienaar wasn’t enough to get Ulster over the line in the 19-15 defeat to Clermont. Leicester scored a bonus-point 33-6 win against the hapless Aironi

221 Comments

• 1.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Pienaar still a hot and cold blowing No. 9 should have stuck it out at 10 and gotten braver by keeping is nose to the grindstone and forcing himself to walk the gauntlet at international pivotal duties

Ulster were game but Clermont just provided that little bit of extra spark toward the end to fire up their forwards to score the only try…

Clermont the side that John Smit was whisked away from thankfully for him cause his old plodding stalwart style was way too slow for the flair and frenetic style game that the French like to play…

• 2.Maria: Reply to this comment

well done munster great win, nice time to prove all the critics wrong with a strong win x
    thank you to the saffa props for helping us ***

• 3.Hondo: Reply to this comment

A good rugby to watch
    Munster front row did well against Northhampton, was fascinating to watch Mujati doing the Beast’s tricks of faking tackles and being away from the action constantly, Wiam Du Preez gave him some few honest looks through his own barrel ;)

• 4.jondood: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo-1:

When John Smit looks back at his career as South Africa’s most successful captain he will just have a huge smile on his face. Deservedly so.

You will just always be bitter no matter what direction you looking in.

• 5.grant10: Reply to this comment

i see rapport have the scoop on the new bok coach…..has anyone got it this morning? Suspense killing me here

• 6.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Grant

Ja, they’re milking it for all its worth, saving the big revelation for those who actually buy their paper. Since they’re saying the guy met with Jurie Roux this week to finalise his contract, that probably means it was not Gert, unless Jurie flew out to him, which seems unlikely.

• 7.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-6: Ja I believe they’re talking about HM here.

The real news in his replacement. Apparently the Bulls have agreed a straight swop for PDivvy.

• 8.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Stormersboy

Hehe. You wish.

• 9.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-7: LOL

Tacitus just spat his dummy reading that!

Oooohh liewe Vok….daar gaan die Vaderland !

• 10.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10-9: Divvy and Chilli.

A match made in heaven.

• 11.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

SA rugby (which is HSM, basically Keo) is reporting the HM connection on facebook.

• 12.grant10: Reply to this comment

I reckon Tacitus dropped his koeksister with the Divvy chirp….

man that made my morning….

• 13.ufo: Reply to this comment

Wasnt it reported that jurie flew to meet gert this week but was ‘unsuccessful’ is his bid to convince gert..?

• 14.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@jondood-4: John Smit SA most successful captain.. who you trying to fool here – obviously you

Poor deluded schmucks like you are those who live in blind delusional day dreams when Smit led Boks to the worst spate of Bok losses in succession in history, the only captain to have been nilled by 49 points to zero , the only captain to be nilled at home by 19 points to zero, the only captain to boast a 42% win ratio in the 3 N under his watch in 8 long years of going nowhere fast, with a measly 30% win ratio in 2006 – 2007 (3 wins from 10 starts) and a 20% return in 2010 – 2011 (2 wins from 10 starts)

Had De Villiers left Smit exactly where he should have back in Clermont in 2008 De Villiers legacy would have turned out a whole lot rosier, Smit is the cancer in the cauldron that broke De Villiers back, Smit and his personal ploy for vainglorious ambition is actually what sunk the Boks through 2010 and 2011 through a spate of consistent losses like the Boks have never seen before, and schmucks like you continue to delve in bewildered day dreams thinking he’s the most successful captain in Bok history – oh how deluded are the stupefied hero worshipers who worship hero’s with feet made of clay..

• 15.grant10: Reply to this comment

yes…so it is HM…
    Must say after a lot of thought I actually am very excited at HM appointment….I will firmly get behind him….

I really hope Spies and M Steyn are left at Bulls….but I reckon HMwill do what is best for the boks …strong character….he wont be lead by the nose

• 16.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Now its HM the high flying hero in waiting who gonna pull the magic sword out the scabbard

I doubt Saru know one day to the next who is their new prince on the horizon

Gert / HM much of a muchness … though at least with HM we likely to progress a little while under Gert its back to the garbage we saw under Streauli and White and Smit the last 10 years.

• 17.grant10: Reply to this comment

would have prefeered Mitchell or Mallet….

But really believe HM will be the tonic

Especially if Rassie in the mix as well….

Treu may just be the ingredient to get them backs firing….

HM spoke about a more expansive Bulls….now he must take that mantra to Boks…..crucial will be the 10 selection

• 18.RL: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-7: did you see Divvy and Tightass talking it up yesterday? Seems to me Divvy is warming up as either Rassie’s or AC’s replacement.

• 19.grant10: Reply to this comment

@RL-18: liewe bliksem

dont wish any of those 3 stooges on mr RL

Please

• 20.RL: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-11: but just a few days ago Keo’s sauces said that Smal was confirmed as the new coach.

• 21.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Rassie don’t know whats cooking, HM may be a little more expansive and creative and adventurous in his thinking, but he’ll bring Spies with him for sure, so too M. Steyn, thank the good lord above that FdP has now set sail and stuffed off…

Paul Treu is the tonic that can get some action going, if they use Treu then Boks will eventually break those disastrous shackles that Streauli, White and De Villiers (Smit) got sucked into… at long last

• 22.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@RL-18: Ja, but Divvy’s mos a “local”.

It’s not like he has a job or anything, so he thought he’d score a few free Brannas and Coke from the locals.

@RL-20: Yes that is true, in this case it seems they are only reposting what was reported in “Die Rapport”.

So it may actually be true,

• 23.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Titus and PdV gonna revolutionize the WP lekker ding where lekker dinge gaan gebeur die volgende lekker jare..

• 24.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Titus and Wakefield are skopping gat.. Rassie was the first to get his gat skopped to never never land…

• 25.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Its about f’ng time… turn the rugby revolution on its mystified head — let the manne wat mos gedink hulle het tanne n bitjie agterent titty trek.

• 26.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Heyneke it is then.

• 27.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Heinecke = Pierre Spies and Morne Steyn.

You guys know that, don’t you?

• 28.Durban Dad: Reply to this comment

Meyer is the saviour of Bok rugby. de Villiers was the Boks four years of comedy relief. White was the Boks rebuilding phase after the Straueli fiasco.

• 29.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-27: my shattered nerves

• 30.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10-29: I mean, it’s all good and well saying that HM is the man, compared to Divvy he is, but HM has come out of a very solid and established Bule Bulls setup with a bunch of them “owning” their respective positions in the Springbok camp for the past few years,

There’s no way Heinecke, who is a “structure” fanatic is going to ditch those Blue Bulls players who are left.

And as far as structure goes, no player epitomised that sort of play more than Morne Steyn. Expect him to play a major role in the setup going forward. Pierre too, as Heinecke brought him through the ranks and has made him captain of the Bulls for the year.

Now the Boks may well be successful if those players are still in the mix, but it would be naive to assume that he wouldn’t bring his favourites with him, especially when those favourites are already the Bok incumbents.

Just saying. Don’t get too excited yet,

Each Bok coaching candidate will bring his own set of personal bias that will freak out a certain percentage of the bloggers here.

• 31.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Maybe you guys who don’t rate Steyn and Spies are just wrong. Ever consider that, Einsteins?

• 32.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

In any case, Meyer finally has the position he has wanted for a long time. Anyone who thinks that anything other than winning will be a priority for hom, think again. And if he succeeds in winning with the guys he believes are the best, well, what reason do any of you have to complain?

Similarly, if any guys he believes in don’t contribute to achieving that goal, he will crack the whip. Have no worries about that.

• 33.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-31: I rate Steyn, but not Spies.

Spies is a major disappointment to me on the field.

I’ve read his book, and on a personal level find much to admire in the man. But that doesn’t blind me to his faults on the field. That’s where I find that you and I differ.

• 34.RL: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-30: this news of Heyneke becoming the new Bok coach is exciting! Now as people know, for me it is Lions first and Boks second … I welcome any news that will weaken the Bulls and Ludicrous without Heineken will weaken the Bulls …… which if you think about it is good for the Boks too. How will the inclusion of Spies and Steyn be justified if they are part of a kak setup getting their assses kicked on a weekly basis.

• 35.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-31: no ways Tacitus

The results of 2011 and 2010 are largely due to there and plods presence….

They are not the answer mate.

Now pipe down and go have another koeksister

• 36.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

And by the way, I rate HM too. I was merely pointing out certain likelihoods that come with him, that others seem to have forgotten about,

• 37.grant10: Reply to this comment

by all accounts HM will only get a 2 year performance driven contract?

And he aint no fool…..

• 38.grant10: Reply to this comment

really big tears for AC and Ludecke….they will want to prove themselves capable without Rassie and HM

• 39.grant10: Reply to this comment

TEARS IS YEARS

• 40.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10-39: Might actually be the same thing LOL

• 41.Michael: Reply to this comment

@grant10-37: No one knows for real until the announcement on Friday, imo.

• 42.David: Reply to this comment

I have a niggling worry about HM. He took a few years to build the Bulls with youngsters and create his own “family” culture. His tenure at Leicester was riven with problems, due I feel, to the fact that the English culture is far less accepting of a paternalistic approach to players who consider themselves adults. Also the fact that he took DH with him makes me wonder if he can genuinely forge a team and game plan with players that have their own established identity within a two year period.

• 43.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

In another note, I see the indiginisation programme is far advanced down at Province, much to Skoppie’s delight.

• 44.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

“On”. Blackberry Typo

• 45.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@David-42: Each SA candidate has some disadvantages to me. That is why I haven’t gotten behind any of the candidates as “my pick” on this blog.

Each one, to me, is at best a 80 – 90 % fit.

Which is why i’m not falling over myself to see who it will be.

Unless it’s a rank outsider which obviously won’t happen.

• 46.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Meyer is a 100% fit, pal. There is no better candidate alive. Nor was there, 4 years ago.

• 47.cane: Reply to this comment

indiginisation………………………………….I think you mean digenisation Tac.

But hey…………….whats a vowel between friends.

• 48.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-46: I’ll give HM 90%.

Which is more than I’d give AC.

And a lot more than I’d give guys like Mallet, Plumtree, Venter, etc,

• 49.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Cane. I’m not up to date on all the ZANU-PF catchphrases.

• 50.cane: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-49:

LOL.

Just kiddding Tac.

• 51.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-46: The key to me is who HM brings as his specialist coaches, as they will have more practical, on field influence with HM just really consolidating it all at the top.

• 52.cane: Reply to this comment

Hey hey we’re the Munsters,
    people say we Munster around
    were’re to busy singing ………………………….

hold on …………..I think I got the wrong TV show..

• 53.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-43: The production of a new generation of WP youngsters is well advanced.

• 54.Michael: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-51: Agreed.

@ Tacitus. It took a Kaapie (Meyer) to come to the rescue of the Bulls and now a Kaapie may become the Bok coach :-) Oh the irony of a Bulls supporter supporting a Kaapie.

• 55.David: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-51:
    I think that may be part of a negotiation with SARU. I can’t see them giving him carte blanche.

• 56.Michael: Reply to this comment

As long as Timotei isn’t seen near a Bok jersey again.

• 57.David: Reply to this comment

@cane-52:
    Be carefull, the Leprechauns will get you. Keo doesn’t forget.

• 58.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@David-55: And therein lies the stuff-up.

• 59.Michael: Reply to this comment

One good thing about Meyer is he knows how to rotate players. A problem we have had to overplaying exhausted players on the end of year tours. Those same players then rush into the S12 two months later and we moan about them losing form etc.

• 60.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Meyer has a pemamemt, high paying job at the most professional union in the country where he pretty much has carte blanche, is virtually worshipped and can be close to his family all the time.

If they want him to give that up for a 2 year appointment, with no job guarantees afterwards then they better offer him damn carte blanche or they can kiss the chances of getting him goodbye.

• 61.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Michael-59: Yes, I remember frothing at the mouth when Divvy was asked in an interview about that magical number of 1500 top class minutes played (Victor) and he admitted that Vic had played substantially more than that and then he picked him again the next weekend.

Freaked me out. that was just before that disastrous end of year tour.

• 62.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-60: Yes. He won’t accept anything less. He has seen what happens otherwise and has been round the block long enough to know better.

• 63.Michael: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-61: The days of the “best” playing each and every match for the Boks is long gone, at least while the current rugby structure exists in SA.

• 64.David: Reply to this comment

@Michael-63:
    The problem of overplaying isn’t so much a Bok one, as a franchise one.

• 65.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Well batted Biff.

• 66.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Stormersboy you have mail to put you out of your misery.

100 for biff.

Up yer bum to the haters :lol:

• 67.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-66: Thanks bro got it!

Always been a Biff fan, glad to see him coming back.

• 68.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Cutting loose! 14 off that over.

• 69.cane: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-60:

To be Coach of your Country is not about Job Guarantee’s.

It is something more.

far more.

It is not something that can be quantified is securtity or cash.
    It is about ………………………………………………………………………..Well ……………….something else.

• 70.grant10: Reply to this comment

well done smith….good to see the joy and sense of relief…..geat to see him fight back like that

ab is a genius

• 71.grant10: Reply to this comment

@cane-69: yes….a massive honour…..

I reckon, after much mulling, that HM is actually the very best choice….

• 72.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

indiginization – what does that mean?
    Like demographically representative?
    Or non racially segregationist?
    Or non broederbond boetie bevordering?
    Or maybe it means there’s a new broederbond in town cracking the whip only they paid their dues at the back of the bus and now they occupying the drivers seat, – so which one is better or worse?

• 73.cane: Reply to this comment

@grant10-71:

This is a time of great change for The Springboks.

The important thing is to give the new guy a fair go.
    The New Coach will NOT be inheriting a Team of World Champions. It may take a year or two to settle things down.

You pricks are notoriously short sighted.

• 74.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Caner getting maudlin as the level of the johnnie walker drops.

• 75.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

A rare occasion of Biff getting out forward of square. Can’t remember when last I saw that.

• 76.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

His bottom hand was cramping :lol:

• 77.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

LOL I wouldn’t be surprised.

AB getting some cramp.

• 78.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Seriously

Biff was gobbling salt tablets like they were smarties.

• 79.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

What a way to get to his ton!

Boytjie!

• 80.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

ABieber does it in style.

• 81.cane: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-74:

maudlin……………………………………………………….phcuk………………………..I had to brush the cobwebs off my Thesaurus.

But you are correct cunther. In this period of no actual games being played…………………………………………………………I am trying to be civil.

It’s not easy…………………………………………………but hey……………………………………we can but try.

• 82.RL: Reply to this comment

Siiiiiix and 100 for AB

:cool:

• 83.David: Reply to this comment

Brilliant ton for AB.

• 84.Michael: Reply to this comment

@David-64: exactly.

• 85.Michael: Reply to this comment

@cane-81: I had a thought about Kiwis and pricks but never mind :-)

Yes, we are helluva shortsighted and often cut off our nose needlessly.

• 86.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Will he be able to keep tho?

Hobbling like a man who’s caught his **** in his zipper.

This is the problem with having your best batsmen as keeper.

• 87.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Huge over. 17.

• 88.cane: Reply to this comment

A Saffa getting cramp.

better than the usual………………………………………………… eye gouging, biting, punching, head butting, cheating, lining ther own pockets etc, etc, etc, etc, etc, etc,
    .etc,
    etc.

etc.

• 89.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-86: A good masseuse and a saline drip and he should be OK ?

• 90.cane: Reply to this comment

etc

• 91.Michael: Reply to this comment

A Kiwi talking about cheating is like one of their sheep pleading not to be the wife for the night.

• 92.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Caner no saffa has ever head butted anybody…

On a cricket field.

I demmand a retraction.

• 93.RL: Reply to this comment

Hell man two big sixes from AB and 300 up.

• 94.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Bieber mastering the scoop.

Reminds me of the legendary kiwi batsman brendon maccullum.

• 95.cane: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-92:

okay.

• 96.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

skittle sticks on a Sunday afternoon could there be anything remotely more boring to watch?

Isn’t there some decent Australian Open tennis to whet the appetite instead, or at least some type sport that requires a little tenacity and dexterity and technique and athleticism and courage and skill?

• 97.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

They’ll have to rename that part of the field to AB ‘s Corner.

• 98.RL: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo-96: 313 for the Lankans to win, 11 runs an over since over 40. Admit it you too were chanting AB AB AB. :wink:

• 99.cane: Reply to this comment

@Michael-91:

Don’t knock it,
    till you tried it Mikey.

It’s all love, and that has to be good thing.

• 100.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Stormersboy

Some salty biltong and a beer should see him right.

Extraball will be crying into his nesquik.

Vibe at the bullring is superb as usual.

Silly konts at CSA.

• 101.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-100: Works for me,

Actually, off to take the family for a walk on the beach shortly.

Suck it Gautengers. :D

• 102.RL: Reply to this comment

@cane-99: are your skittle stick players ready for a good old fashioned moering that they will be handed in a few weeks time.

• 103.RL: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-101: rather go for a swim in the sea …. and say to sharkievarkie when you see him. :grin:

• 104.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Durbanville Beach?

• 105.RL: Reply to this comment

Hello.

• 106.cane: Reply to this comment

@RL-102:

I concede already RL.

just try to be gentle on us.

(but don’t get complacent, or we will bite back).

• 107.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

great news!
    its pretty much confirmed that heyneke’s going to be the next bok coach.

• 108.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-104: lol

Probably Melkbos.

• 109.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

So Heneyke Meyer it is.

Could have done a lot worse.

• 110.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

The Irish teams are doing very well. A good Six Nations ahead for them?

• 111.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

this is the end of the fairytale for those naughty kiwis.

its gonna be seven lean years.

maybe more…

• 112.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

After a couple of years of religiously doing Super rugby Superbru, I’ve decided not to do it this year. The new Super 15 format is just TOO LONG and boring. The old format used to be fun. Last year was difficult to get through and by the end I was simply putting in scores without thinking. But good luck to Keo’s muppets’ this year – may the best muppet win!

• 113.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-111: let’s wait and see first. It might take Meyer 7 years to find his feet, like he did at the Bulls…

• 114.cane: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-111:

“” is the end of the fairytale for those naughty kiwis.”"

Yeah Right.

• 115.RL: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-111: how is you basic mathematic skills? HM will only get a two year contract with a clause demanding a 90% win ratio for home marches.

• 116.David: Reply to this comment

@cane-88:
    I remember a certain Kiwi soccer administrator who voted against instructions for the WC for reasons known only to himself and his bank manager. :lol:

• 117.RL: Reply to this comment

matches! damn you autocorrect.com.

• 118.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon-109:
    best news ever…

• 119.David: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-101:
    Just remember to bring them back. :lol:

• 120.David: Reply to this comment

Our bowlers need to slow down their over rate to under 20 until the rain arrives. :evil:

• 121.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon-113:
    i will be here to hear your praises come the four nations…

@cane-114:
    i will be here to commiserate with you and express my sympathy for your loss… cane old friend…
    the death of all black rugby…you read it here folks…

@RL-115:
    i will be here to thank you as you assist me with my basic math skills and help me to count the victories and the number of cups coming my (and by extension yours too) way….

the glory days here boys…

• 122.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Love how Keo’s twitter utterings is making it sound as if Heyeneke’s appointment is old news to him. Meanwhile he was declaring high and low that Smal was already appointed.

• 123.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

grab your specs

shade your eyes

the glory glows brightly

the glory glows brightly indeed

do not fear…do not be afraid….

this is the feeling of being a winner

this is the feeling of being a bull… and soon this will be the feeling of being a bok

its the glory…boys…the glory…

and it is here for sure….

• 124.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

HM will be a good choice – a giant step up from the wheel spinning, clueless passenger we had for the last four years. And just keep P Divvy away from WP please. It is bad enough that we have the likes of Titus and Co. pissing in the soup, thank you very much.

• 125.David: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-122:
    Yeah, I wonder what they’ll say if Gert does get the job? :lol:

• 126.RL: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-123: soon very soon Ludeke will be in his own – without parent supervision expect to see the days of 2008 ………………… again.

• 127.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup-124:
    i wish there was something i could say to make you feel a little better or perhaps change for you the facts of reality for the better… unfortunately there is not..

oh wait! there is something…here goes:
    this year is gonna be your year :grin:

• 128.cane: Reply to this comment

@David-116:

No………………………………………….Charlie Dempsey had the blessing of each and every Member of the Oceania Conferernce.
    Without Exception,
    to dispence his vote as he saw fit.

And true to the man he was, Charlie consuled each and every member of the Oceania Conferance before submitting his vote,

Many things can be said about Charlie. But he acted always in the best interestes of Oceania. As he saw it.

If you are looking for Villian David, look no further than the head of FIFA.

• 129.David: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup-124:
    HM recently said that his tactics for the Bulls would focus on big and fast players, so Lambie and Jantjies might as well start looking for overseas contracts. :lol:

• 130.RL: Reply to this comment

@cane-128: cane your memory is fading with your old age …. Charlie did not vote. The bribe he took was to abstain and good old Helen was forced to go on bended knees and kiss Xhosa arse asking for forgiveness.

• 131.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Thanks for the kind words Touts. I think the Mayans predicted this will be our year.

David, Morne is no giant and neither was lifelong.

• 132.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Thanks for the kind words Touts. I think the Mayans predicted this will be our year.

David, Morne is no giant and neither was liefling.

• 133.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Curse productive text.

• 134.David: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup-133:
    predictive text? :lol:

• 135.David: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup-132:
    No, but neither are quite as small as Lambie and Jantjies.
    Apparently HM has been studying Grid Iron and League, which probably ensures places for Morne and Spies. Morne as the designated kicker who, together with Spies, reduces the number of active players to13. :lol:

• 136.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Fortuner is back.

• 137.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

If it weren’t for Smit, Matfield and FdP calling the shots since 2008 PdV would have been just fine

Now would have been quite interesting to have seen HM take over a WC winning side and PdV a new young side like is about to happen…

I reckon PdV got his timing wrong, 2008 was the wrong time to take a WC winning Bok side over with Smit and his homeboys club running the show… Now would have been a much more exciting and challenging prospect with far less ramming down the gauntlet of ultimatums from the status quo.

• 138.Dawn: Reply to this comment

You all lay off cane he be cool.

• 139.Durban Dad: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo-137:

He got his timing wrong. Huh? Is that your defensive lame brained excuse for an excuse to fall behind de Villiers’ woeful coaching of a senior Springbok team that destroyed the Sheepshaggers in 2009? For taking the Boks from a string of wins in 2009 to rugby hell? I would not normally respond to you because your rugby knowledge is shockingly abysmal but you deserve a PK for ineptitude and stupidity.

• 140.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Cant see anyone really having problem with Meyer being coach, even if an international coach could be chosen he is not a bad choice, but pleeeeeeeeeez, no Spies !!!!!!!!!!

• 141.Michael: Reply to this comment

PdV’s problem was being unable to get rid of Muir. We lost the QFs because of a lack of attacking penetration.

Please no Spies as the starting 8. Pleez pleez pleez.

• 142.RL: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-140: he is actually better than the useless Kankowski :wink:

• 143.grant10: Reply to this comment

no spies

no M Steyn
    nO PLOD….
    tHATS ALREADY A 20 % IMPROVEMENT TO TEAM

• 144.Michael: Reply to this comment

@grant10-143: What about with Spies and Steyn :-)

• 145.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@RL-142: lol not going to get the reaction you want pussycat, Kanko does not rock my world.

• 146.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Michael-144: WE FARKED

• 147.Durban Dad: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-140:

The difference in the team will be how the players are coached. This has always been the problem and never has it been as clear as daylight until the day we saw the Boks go from heros to zeros between 2008-2009 and 2010-2011.

The inconsistencies in de Villiers coaching is unbelievable. Jake White had the harder job to build these players up. Four years is about right to do that. The next four years should have been a case of finetuning. It went so badly wrong and should not have.

Anyway what’s done is done. I would think that Meyer could take a player like Spies and turn his game around. If not then I suspect Meyer would not stick with him unless he performs. I hope I’m right.

• 148.RL: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-145: good to hear, one sharkie down ……. 14 to go. I’ll get you there :razz:

• 149.David: Reply to this comment

@Durban Dad-147:
    Jake actually had the easier job as few of the players were that established. Div tried to employ his own tactics and the players either couldn’t, or wouldn’t change, believing they knew better. Englands 2 coaches had the same problem after 2004.

• 150.GWS: Reply to this comment

Never. White had the most challenging job of all. After Strooli’s tenure the Boks were demoralised and had no proper game plan.

Strooli has been one of this countries single biggest cancers along with SARU. The Sharks would be better off without the hyena. I wish he’d fokkoff back to Pretoria.

• 151.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

This Durbanite Twatass just another one of these closet right wing racists under another guise, as if his new little Colonialist outpost opinion means anything remotely valid and he thinks he can come sidle up here under a new pseudonym with the same racist slant

David is quite correct.. PdV got his timing wrong.. 2008 was the wrong time to come into a Bok coaching job, not after the JW circus got lucky in 2007, now 2012 is far more amicable to coaching a new team at ones own direction and idealism without the over weighted expectations and interference from a senior player caucus stuck under old rule designs and strategies… anyone who tried to take over that lucky packet team that waltzed a nonentity of a WC in 2007 through to 2011 was on a hiding to nothing,.. ultimately PdV got pretty close in spite of it in the end riding out the J. Smit wagon as far as the overrated plodding twatass could take him.. which was not far enough.. same with FdP and couple others including Burger..

the Bok 2011 failure was exactly the same as Australian WC champs in 1991 trying to ride out the same team into 1995, or the NZ team of 87 trying to go too far in 91, or the England team trying to take the 2003 team to 2007, SA tried the same thing in 2011, which bombed… but only just due to just a couple tweaks in team selection, …

one being Smit should never have started over Bismark, neither FdP over Hougaard, nor Spies over Alberts, plus Burger should not have played first receiver ball carrier ( a Rassie brainless strategy if ever there was one), and Brussow should not have taken the field with bruised ribs, Louw should have started … and PdV would now be crowned as WC camp 2011, despite these Durban Dad right wing racists hidden ulterior agendas which never would have given him the credit for it anyway…

• 152.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

make up your mind GWS or Durbanite Dad.. stick with one nick … its far easier than fooling yourself switching identities every other post.

• 153.Michael: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo-151: No what cost us was a lack of bacline penetration, not the forwards.

• 154.David: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo-152:
    GWS = Great White Shark, I think. :lol: Don’t know about Durban Dad.

• 155.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

The SA rugby renaissance in 2007 came down to Australian influence, Tod Louden and David Campese were largely influential in creating a new dynamic rugby culture at both Bulls and Sharks which spilled over through these franchises into the Boks, the final telling influence was through Eddy Jones coaching Jake Whites team at how to play enterprising rugby, after Jake White had bombed through his last 2 tri nations years with a 3 from 10 success rate, and without which Jake White did not stand a snowball’s chance in hell of being successful, beside the fact that France did the unthinkable by putting NZ out in the quarters…

However the real brains behind the SA rugby renaissance through 2007 was the 3 Australian brains putting Bulls, Sharks and Boks on the map via the influence and techniques under Louden, Campese and Jones.

• 156.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@David-154: same same – same diffs.. same closet right wing racist under new different guises…

• 157.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo-155:

You’re talking kak now.

According to you, SA coaches cannot ever claim any credit for anything, can they.

• 158.GWS: Reply to this comment

Timotei still thinks that by repeating his pointless conspiracy theories she’ll somehow convince us he’s onto something.

That horse was shot a long time ago.

• 159.GWS: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-157:

Funniest thing about this idiot is that at the beginnig of the RWC he had lambasting duh Villiers for everything….and then the Boks beat Fiji and all of a sudden duh Villiers was a born again Messiah.

The poopal doesn’t know if he’s Arthur or Martha.

• 160.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-157: Yes, he is talking kak. Meyer brought in Louden. White’s Boks suffered an horrendouse bout of injuries in ’06. ’07 saw mix and match sides for the Tri Nations from the Boks who deliberately sacrificed the prospect of victories in return for the WC.

• 161.Michael: Reply to this comment

@GWS-159: A brikkie or a roofer either :-) Bet he drives a Datsun Dustbin.

• 162.GWS: Reply to this comment

Being a wannabe Marxist he should not be driving. Dikwiel painted in ANC colours for him.

• 163.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Michael-153: there was NO backline penetration because backline NEVER got the ball… Burger got every other 2nd phase ball – and even some first phase ball like the one he spilled into Samo’s hands that resulted in the Aussie try – and did ALL the so called ‘non’ penetration running into enemy defenses and got nowhere, how often did backline EVER get clean ball to at least try running it.. Once JdV got clean ball and almost put Lambie away for a try…

Had Alberts been the battering ram operative and NOT Burger we might very well have breached Aussie defenses, Burger is absolutely hopeless as a ball carrying first receiver, especially playing off open side flank as he does at Stormers…. also Burger was the first receiver who LOST the ball once on our try line and again on theirs, resulting in a 7 point negative start and a non result at the other end… Elsom ripped it the first time resulting in the Horwill try and Pocock ripped it under their posts and once again Burgers solo effort resulted in a NILL..

FdP was a shadow of his prima donna glory boy self, Hougaard should have been at 9, FdP also spilled the ball OVER the try line after Bismark charged down the Cooper drop out…

So between FdP, Smit, Spies and Burger is where Boks lost the 1/4 final vs Australia..

Had Bismark, Alberts, Louw, Hougaard started with Aplon at least coming off bench at some stage through 2nd half Boks would have cleaned up Aussie in 1/4 final and most likely cleaned up AB’s the week after in semis, to IRB’s lamenting woes..

• 164.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Michael-160: is this your wide awake scientific assessment and irrefutable acknowledgement of ALL the facts

The Facts state that Sharks and Bulls were brought to domination of S14 in 2007 under Campese and Louden… not Muir and Meyer… and White was SO f’ng abysmally lost up his own imbecilic non knowing poephol after an abysmal 2006 and 2007 tri nations with a 49-0 loss and a 3 from 10 success rate to show for it… if it were not for Eddy Jones White would have been a total wreck and probably bombed out in the 1/4 final to Fiji… I betcha that White was a goner and he knew it.. Jones saved his lost forlorn stuffed up useless imbecilic soul…

• 165.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo-151:

Ug youre exhausting. Id like to think a decent coach would not be pushed around so much like Divvy was.

What i respect about Divvy is that he took responsibility for what happened with him at the helm. He also said that he would do thinks much differently if he had a second chance. Point is, a good coach would be the one seizing control and making the big decisions. PDV sadly could not do it and that cost the boks, thanks to too many big egos in the team, including Smitty,FDP and I think the big undercover puppet master big Vic.

Sadly PDV was just out of his depth in terms of experience, the poor guy just didn’t have enough experience in any top level rugby coaching…It makes a huge difference and helps you to get respect from the players. He doesnt deserve so much criticism because he never deserved the job. SARU is to blame for what happened the past 4 years. If Jake White didnt win the WC more or less could have been said about him, but he was never shunted around like divvy was and that is the big difference. And JW built something from scratch

• 166.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Seems like the fat lady ain’t sung yet.

• 167.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Skop has an Amarok.

Fortuner beats it hands down.

• 168.David: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-166:
    Amazing game!

• 169.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Magtag how many shots at goal has Arsenal missed

• 170.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@Michael-153: backline penitration
    He he

• 171.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@David-168: To be totally honest I just got back from the beach. Walk at Melkbos followed by a seafood platter (for 2) at the Kliphuis restaurant on the beach with the wife and kids

It doesn’t get much better than that.

• 172.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Well played Sri Lanka. Great way to end a tour, chasing down 300 twice in a row.

• 173.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Finally. Even I could get a ball past a goalie into a net.

• 174.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Just give him the Socrates Brazilian jink

• 175.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo-163:

You are not fair towards Burger- Alberts is not even remotely in his class as a player or leader- burger is a WC winner , a 2x SA player of the year (including 2011), a 1X IRB international player of the year- Alberts is a one trick pony- a slow legged retreaded lock who cannot pass, relies 99% only on power, got just about zero skills and who has not won and never will win anything. No comparison between the two.

A fact is that Australia won 6 out of the last 7 games they played againsty SA.. So,taking into consideration the current form of the teams and the latest history of matches between them, you have no base to be so sure that they would have lost against the Boks if FdP, Spies, Smit and Burger (or anybody else for that matter) did not play- At the moment Australia is just the better team and Deans ” has the bok’s number”, whoever plays, as easy as that?

But you are right about Divvy. he is a great bloke but as international coach was sadly out of his league and SARU is to blame for appointing him – not his fault that they were so stupid.

• 176.David: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-171:
    As a Capetonian in Jhb, I really don’t need to hear that. :evil:

• 177.Michael: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo-163: The backline got plenty of ball but didn’t know what to do with it. Most of the attacking impetus stopped at JdV :-(

SA coaches appointed them as assistants and they operated under instructions etc. One would think they were the head coaches the way you blither on without any insight whatsoever.

• 178.Michael: Reply to this comment

@David-176: Shame. You have my sympathy :-)

• 179.ET.: Reply to this comment

Since when is a Capetonian born in effin Norwich?

Witches, and their male versions, are born in that godforsaken shithole.

The science of ‘demography’ being turned on its head.

• 180.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@David-176: Sorry. :D

• 181.ET.: Reply to this comment

After that glorious 300plus run-chase, for the 2nd. consecutive time, by a cricketing nation mired in huge domestic problems on every level, I just wonder why the ******* is crying in their beer now?

• 182.ET.: Reply to this comment

Should read who the F is crying in

• 183.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

Come in here after 3 months and its the same immature stupidity, why aint i surprised

• 184.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

That’s a hell of a seafood platter.

• 185.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-172: Hiyas bro , hope all is well with you and the family?

• 186.ET.: Reply to this comment

I note on the Sharks thread of the other day that the khaki-clad brigade of the Fantasy World-living boys were hurling the S H I T so much around that much of it hit the fans to cause such a stink and a slip to the lowest levels of depravity I have witnessed here yet.

It was so reminiscent of the decadence witnessed in that entertaining movie Cabaret which dealt with the depraved Hitler culture of that time. But then again is their much or any difference between the present khaki-clads and Gunther Goebbel’s sorry lot all those years ago?
    They are/were all blued eyed ,blond-haired, unquestioning morons.

• 187.David: Reply to this comment

@ET.-179:
    And what idiot supports a second rate english soccer team that languishes in the middle of the championship and is best known for having the most racist supporters in english football.

• 188.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-184: add some sushi :lol:

• 189.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-184: You get the pic?? Another kuk day in Africa LOL.

Die Kliphuis. On the rocks in Melkbos. Highly recommended.

• 190.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts-185: Hey T, long time. We are all well. Sent you an SMS a few days ago, did I send it to the wrong cell again??

• 191.ET.: Reply to this comment

@David-187:

And english racist supporters’ group surely is not my problem but yours. I am dealing with my S.African khaki-clad brand as you can read here now.

But why has your Norwich bought 2 of those Leeds players this season already? Johnson and now Howson.

• 192.ET.: Reply to this comment

@David-187:

Leeds is just 1 pt. of the play-off bunch and the season is long and far from over.
    Why does Norwich not do the real favour and take the other son of Leeds and Bates, namely Grayson to make it 3 for 3 of Leeds’ sons?

• 193.Dawn: Reply to this comment

This is gonna be fun.

• 194.David: Reply to this comment

@ET.-191:
    Because they deserve to play for a successful club, and Norwich is known to assist those in need.
    BTW, the masculine version of a witch is a warlock.

• 195.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I still can figure out if this Inception is the biggest crock of horse manure or an intelligent movie.

• 196.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Can’t

• 197.David: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-195:
    I’m watching Bullseye. which is silly and just the light hearted movie for a sunday night.

• 198.ET.: Reply to this comment

@ET.-186:

What piqued the anger of the s hit-hurling, khaki-clad brigade the other day? Is the news emanating from back home so depressing or is it something that I said to so placate them as Goebbels’ morons?

Was it this perhaps about the pending Lions liquidation?:

{{{ “Guma has consistently indicated the reason/s as follows:

” …. , citing the Lions’ unwillingness to meet the transformation criteria that the group said was central to their decision to invest.”

Please DO NOTE the words “TRANSFORMATION CRITERIA .. CENTRAL …. INVEST.
    Anything which fails that demand is blatant FRAUD then by those who accepted the millions..

The new, non-racial democratic S. Africa in which all you misfits have had a say in creating(except me), has as a majority, democratic decision the accepted policy of “transformation” and further very many of you have openly stated your acceptance of the noble principle of non-racism in S.A.

Whatever else you may wish to say about transformation, hypocritically too, it is definitely a vast improvement on racial whites-only teams of the APARTHEID era.
    In its simplicity, transformation is merely an effort to expedite the non-racial society you all claim you wish to create.
    Because you now all worship at the altar of non-racism you are morally obliged to side with and support the Guma Group in seeking the liquidation of the fraudulent GLRU for not carrying out the wishes of one of its former major owners which it promised to do when it accepted all the millions from the Group.

Nothing,but nothing, must be an obstacle in the daunting march to a truly non-racial,democratic S.Africa and especially its former most racist sporting endeavour, rugby which borders on being a religion among some.

Rugby is not LIFE. It is not even an essential aspect of said life such as n real needs of health,education,food and such are thus it can be said to be expendable.
    Be very careful as you are now living in the age of the non-essentials being simply disposed of.

Think, think and think again. ” }}

What have I so tellingly and damningly written there that you CANNOT manfully CHALLENGE?

If you CANNOT do so, then surely it has to be the truth that placates you sad, sorry Goebbels adherents even in this century?

• 199.ET.: Reply to this comment

@David-194:

Norwich can still be relegated this season and Leeds can still be promoted to the EPL, so do not speak too soon.

If it does happen please be kind enough to wave as I pass you on your way down.

• 200.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Ag jinne Captain Katemba is talking to himself again.

In CAPS nogal,

• 201.cab: Reply to this comment

Janee ET, WTF u got your one big ball in a knot about tonight?

• 202.ET.: Reply to this comment

@David-194:

You do realise that Leeds are unbeaten this year?

Anyway good to banter wrt association football, Davy of Norwich.

• 203.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Maslov says rugby rules

• 204.ET.: Reply to this comment

@cab-201:

I have been living in summer and summer-like weather for too long now and am suddenly plunged into the snow of Philly, so rudely, despite very little snow this winter.

Philly’s fine but it ain’t home

Cape Town’s home but it ain’t mine no more.

• 205.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-200:

And in engrish that’s not too delicious.

Just back from from ct – thanks for the heatwave you guys organised. Returned medium rare.

• 206.cab: Reply to this comment

ET I thought you’d be skiing there in Philly, chasing all the tannies in your loincloth of hoe?

• 207.ET.: Reply to this comment

@cab-206:

After a southern summer who wants to ski in the Poconos?

• 208.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Finally. Now he officially American and can get off our collective backs.

• 209.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@IAAS-205: Anytime boet ;)

• 210.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Heatwave is still on

• 211.charo: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-210:

do you think you’ll be able to get those layabouts, wptid and katman and whoever else to come to firemans first week feb?

been a long time since the last outing.

otherwise a quick after work tipple at forries – we can invite tassies?

• 212.David: Reply to this comment

@ET.-202:
    This year, how many games is that? Anyway, I’m tired since I’ve been up since 3.30 am watching the circus that’s the Republican presidential primaries.

• 213.charo: Reply to this comment

@ET.-207:

what personal connection do you have with leeds?

seems odd, them wearing an all-white kit and all.

• 214.David: Reply to this comment

@charo-213:
    A number of South Africans support Leeds because of Lucas Radebe. It’s quite funny, because a black english Leeds supporter friend of mine has no idea why the Leeds rock group is called Kaiser Chiefs.

• 215.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Charo I have no idea. I suppose we could try.

• 216.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I don’t think he supports leeds cos of Lucas.

Some other dingbat reason maybe.

• 217.charo: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-215:

well otherwise we could set up a “forries” group with real capetonians like tassies and ufo.

not sure i’d be happy with some of your “atlantic coast” capitalistic bastaards

• 218.Dawn: Reply to this comment

How rude!

• 219.charo: Reply to this comment

before i go…

real weepee supporters go to forries before a game at newlands…..

those that go to that wine bar called cubanas (or whatever) simply fall into the captive group of…

the “place to see and BE SEEN”

pretty apt hey

• 220.charo: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-218:

didn’t mean to be.

perhaps should have said “our” instead of “your”.

anyway, off now.

• 221.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Cubanas used to be for people who couldn’t get into Billy the bums.

I have no clue why people go there now.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.