Munster maul Saints

Munster thumped Northampton 51-36 to finish the European Cup pool stage as the top seeds.

Simon Zebo scored a hat-trick and helped the Irish giants to a bonus-point win against last year’s finalists. The result means that Munster have accumulated 25 points and regardless of what happens in Sunday’s games they will go into the quarter-finals at the top-placed side.

Meanwhile in other European Cup matches, Bath ended a disappointing campaign on a high when they beat Glasgow 23-18 at The Rec. Scarlets edged Castres 16-13, Leinster overpowered Montpellier 25-3 and the cool goal-kicking of Ruan Pienaar wasn’t enough to get Ulster over the line in the 19-15 defeat to Clermont. Leicester scored a bonus-point 33-6 win against the hapless Aironi

221 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

• 1.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Pienaar still a hot and cold blowing No. 9 should have stuck it out at 10 and gotten braver by keeping is nose to the grindstone and forcing himself to walk the gauntlet at international pivotal duties

Ulster were game but Clermont just provided that little bit of extra spark toward the end to fire up their forwards to score the only try…

Clermont the side that John Smit was whisked away from thankfully for him cause his old plodding stalwart style was way too slow for the flair and frenetic style game that the French like to play…

• 2.Maria: Reply to this comment

well done munster great win, nice time to prove all the critics wrong with a strong win x
    thank you to the saffa props for helping us ***

• 3.Hondo: Reply to this comment

A good rugby to watch
    Munster front row did well against Northhampton, was fascinating to watch Mujati doing the Beast’s tricks of faking tackles and being away from the action constantly, Wiam Du Preez gave him some few honest looks through his own barrel ;)

• 4.jondood: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo-1:

When John Smit looks back at his career as South Africa’s most successful captain he will just have a huge smile on his face. Deservedly so.

You will just always be bitter no matter what direction you looking in.

• 5.grant10: Reply to this comment

i see rapport have the scoop on the new bok coach…..has anyone got it this morning? Suspense killing me here

• 6.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Grant

Ja, they’re milking it for all its worth, saving the big revelation for those who actually buy their paper. Since they’re saying the guy met with Jurie Roux this week to finalise his contract, that probably means it was not Gert, unless Jurie flew out to him, which seems unlikely.

• 7.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-6: Ja I believe they’re talking about HM here.

The real news in his replacement. Apparently the Bulls have agreed a straight swop for PDivvy.

• 8.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Stormersboy

Hehe. You wish.

• 9.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-7: LOL

Tacitus just spat his dummy reading that!

Oooohh liewe Vok….daar gaan die Vaderland !

• 10.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10-9: Divvy and Chilli.

A match made in heaven.

• 11.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

SA rugby (which is HSM, basically Keo) is reporting the HM connection on facebook.

• 12.grant10: Reply to this comment

I reckon Tacitus dropped his koeksister with the Divvy chirp….

man that made my morning….

• 13.ufo: Reply to this comment

Wasnt it reported that jurie flew to meet gert this week but was ‘unsuccessful’ is his bid to convince gert..?

• 14.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@jondood-4: John Smit SA most successful captain.. who you trying to fool here – obviously you

Poor deluded schmucks like you are those who live in blind delusional day dreams when Smit led Boks to the worst spate of Bok losses in succession in history, the only captain to have been nilled by 49 points to zero , the only captain to be nilled at home by 19 points to zero, the only captain to boast a 42% win ratio in the 3 N under his watch in 8 long years of going nowhere fast, with a measly 30% win ratio in 2006 – 2007 (3 wins from 10 starts) and a 20% return in 2010 – 2011 (2 wins from 10 starts)

Had De Villiers left Smit exactly where he should have back in Clermont in 2008 De Villiers legacy would have turned out a whole lot rosier, Smit is the cancer in the cauldron that broke De Villiers back, Smit and his personal ploy for vainglorious ambition is actually what sunk the Boks through 2010 and 2011 through a spate of consistent losses like the Boks have never seen before, and schmucks like you continue to delve in bewildered day dreams thinking he’s the most successful captain in Bok history – oh how deluded are the stupefied hero worshipers who worship hero’s with feet made of clay..

• 15.grant10: Reply to this comment

yes…so it is HM…
    Must say after a lot of thought I actually am very excited at HM appointment….I will firmly get behind him….

I really hope Spies and M Steyn are left at Bulls….but I reckon HMwill do what is best for the boks …strong character….he wont be lead by the nose

• 16.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Now its HM the high flying hero in waiting who gonna pull the magic sword out the scabbard

I doubt Saru know one day to the next who is their new prince on the horizon

Gert / HM much of a muchness … though at least with HM we likely to progress a little while under Gert its back to the garbage we saw under Streauli and White and Smit the last 10 years.

• 17.grant10: Reply to this comment

would have prefeered Mitchell or Mallet….

But really believe HM will be the tonic

Especially if Rassie in the mix as well….

Treu may just be the ingredient to get them backs firing….

HM spoke about a more expansive Bulls….now he must take that mantra to Boks…..crucial will be the 10 selection

• 18.RL: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-7: did you see Divvy and Tightass talking it up yesterday? Seems to me Divvy is warming up as either Rassie’s or AC’s replacement.

• 19.grant10: Reply to this comment

@RL-18: liewe bliksem

dont wish any of those 3 stooges on mr RL

Please

• 20.RL: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-11: but just a few days ago Keo’s sauces said that Smal was confirmed as the new coach.

• 21.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Rassie don’t know whats cooking, HM may be a little more expansive and creative and adventurous in his thinking, but he’ll bring Spies with him for sure, so too M. Steyn, thank the good lord above that FdP has now set sail and stuffed off…

Paul Treu is the tonic that can get some action going, if they use Treu then Boks will eventually break those disastrous shackles that Streauli, White and De Villiers (Smit) got sucked into… at long last

• 22.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@RL-18: Ja, but Divvy’s mos a “local”.

It’s not like he has a job or anything, so he thought he’d score a few free Brannas and Coke from the locals.

@RL-20: Yes that is true, in this case it seems they are only reposting what was reported in “Die Rapport”.

So it may actually be true,

• 23.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Titus and PdV gonna revolutionize the WP lekker ding where lekker dinge gaan gebeur die volgende lekker jare..

• 24.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Titus and Wakefield are skopping gat.. Rassie was the first to get his gat skopped to never never land…

• 25.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Its about f’ng time… turn the rugby revolution on its mystified head — let the manne wat mos gedink hulle het tanne n bitjie agterent titty trek.

• 26.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Heyneke it is then.

• 27.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Heinecke = Pierre Spies and Morne Steyn.

You guys know that, don’t you?

• 28.Durban Dad: Reply to this comment

Meyer is the saviour of Bok rugby. de Villiers was the Boks four years of comedy relief. White was the Boks rebuilding phase after the Straueli fiasco.

• 29.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-27: my shattered nerves

• 30.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10-29: I mean, it’s all good and well saying that HM is the man, compared to Divvy he is, but HM has come out of a very solid and established Bule Bulls setup with a bunch of them “owning” their respective positions in the Springbok camp for the past few years,

There’s no way Heinecke, who is a “structure” fanatic is going to ditch those Blue Bulls players who are left.

And as far as structure goes, no player epitomised that sort of play more than Morne Steyn. Expect him to play a major role in the setup going forward. Pierre too, as Heinecke brought him through the ranks and has made him captain of the Bulls for the year.

Now the Boks may well be successful if those players are still in the mix, but it would be naive to assume that he wouldn’t bring his favourites with him, especially when those favourites are already the Bok incumbents.

Just saying. Don’t get too excited yet,

Each Bok coaching candidate will bring his own set of personal bias that will freak out a certain percentage of the bloggers here.

• 31.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Maybe you guys who don’t rate Steyn and Spies are just wrong. Ever consider that, Einsteins?

• 32.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

In any case, Meyer finally has the position he has wanted for a long time. Anyone who thinks that anything other than winning will be a priority for hom, think again. And if he succeeds in winning with the guys he believes are the best, well, what reason do any of you have to complain?

Similarly, if any guys he believes in don’t contribute to achieving that goal, he will crack the whip. Have no worries about that.

• 33.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-31: I rate Steyn, but not Spies.

Spies is a major disappointment to me on the field.

I’ve read his book, and on a personal level find much to admire in the man. But that doesn’t blind me to his faults on the field. That’s where I find that you and I differ.

• 34.RL: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-30: this news of Heyneke becoming the new Bok coach is exciting! Now as people know, for me it is Lions first and Boks second … I welcome any news that will weaken the Bulls and Ludicrous without Heineken will weaken the Bulls …… which if you think about it is good for the Boks too. How will the inclusion of Spies and Steyn be justified if they are part of a kak setup getting their assses kicked on a weekly basis.

• 35.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-31: no ways Tacitus

The results of 2011 and 2010 are largely due to there and plods presence….

They are not the answer mate.

Now pipe down and go have another koeksister

• 36.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

And by the way, I rate HM too. I was merely pointing out certain likelihoods that come with him, that others seem to have forgotten about,

• 37.grant10: Reply to this comment

by all accounts HM will only get a 2 year performance driven contract?

And he aint no fool…..

• 38.grant10: Reply to this comment

really big tears for AC and Ludecke….they will want to prove themselves capable without Rassie and HM

• 39.grant10: Reply to this comment

TEARS IS YEARS

• 40.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10-39: Might actually be the same thing LOL

• 41.Michael: Reply to this comment

@grant10-37: No one knows for real until the announcement on Friday, imo.

• 42.David: Reply to this comment

I have a niggling worry about HM. He took a few years to build the Bulls with youngsters and create his own “family” culture. His tenure at Leicester was riven with problems, due I feel, to the fact that the English culture is far less accepting of a paternalistic approach to players who consider themselves adults. Also the fact that he took DH with him makes me wonder if he can genuinely forge a team and game plan with players that have their own established identity within a two year period.

• 43.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

In another note, I see the indiginisation programme is far advanced down at Province, much to Skoppie’s delight.

• 44.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

“On”. Blackberry Typo

• 45.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@David-42: Each SA candidate has some disadvantages to me. That is why I haven’t gotten behind any of the candidates as “my pick” on this blog.

Each one, to me, is at best a 80 – 90 % fit.

Which is why i’m not falling over myself to see who it will be.

Unless it’s a rank outsider which obviously won’t happen.

• 46.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Meyer is a 100% fit, pal. There is no better candidate alive. Nor was there, 4 years ago.

• 47.cane: Reply to this comment

indiginisation………………………………….I think you mean digenisation Tac.

But hey…………….whats a vowel between friends.

• 48.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-46: I’ll give HM 90%.

Which is more than I’d give AC.

And a lot more than I’d give guys like Mallet, Plumtree, Venter, etc,

• 49.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Cane. I’m not up to date on all the ZANU-PF catchphrases.

• 50.cane: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-49:

LOL.

Just kiddding Tac.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.