Meyer the man to repair Bok brand

JON CARDINELLI writes that Heyneke Meyer will bring a working rugby knowledge, a trophy cabinet of experience and some much needed integrity to the Springbok coaching position.

In a two-horse race where Meyer and Gert Smal were the competitors, South African rugby was always going to be the winner. Both are decorated coaches who have enjoyed title-winning success with their respective teams, and both are renowned for their cerebral approach to the game.

For four years, South Africa has been devoid of a leader who possesses such experience and qualities, and predictably those four years have witnessed South Africa finishing stone last in three out of four Tri-Nations tournaments and exiting the 2011 World Cup at the quarter-final stage.

It would appear that the dark days are over. Until a few days ago, Smal was touted as the favourite for the Bok coaching job, an appointment that should have been welcomed and celebrated as the dawn of a new era. Aside from his stint with the 2007 World Cup-winning side, he has also featured prominently for Ireland as a forwards coach and was rightly lauded following their Grand Slam win in 2009. His views on transformation are well-documented, and had he got the top job, he would have worked hard to influence a greater representation across all levels of South African rugby.

Unfortunately, Saru and Smal could not come to an agreement regarding his salary. There were other reasons that contributed to his decision to remain in Ireland, such as the fact that he has committed to the side until 2013 and his family have built a life in Dublin since settling there in 2008. Just as was the case four years ago, South Africa’s loss is Ireland’s gain.

In Meyer, however, the Boks have another outstanding and potentially game-changing candidate, and so the dawn of a new era should still come to pass. His career at the Bulls remains the stuff of legend, having arrived at the turn of the century and implemented changes and systems that formed the bedrock for a dynasty. If ever there was a man that could take a team that has failed in the past and restore them as champions, Meyer is that man.

The Bulls’ mentor has been offered the job by Saru and is likely to take it. Many felt he was ready for the responsibility in 2008, and only a late change by Saru saw Peter de Villiers walking into the Bok coach’s first official press conference. De Villiers walked into that presser wearing a Bulls blazer, a union synonymous with Meyer, and that should have triggered an alarm. De Villiers never fit that blazer just as he never fit the role. He also failed to grow into it as time progressed.

It could be speculated that Meyer would have avoided the mistakes and built on the success of Jake White’s tenure. It could be said that Meyer would have ensured that some of the best players ever to emerge from this country recorded more than a 62% winning ratio over the course of those four years. If Meyer was instated, future generations may have reflected on a golden age instead of one golden year (2009).

But that time has gone, and SA rugby has to move forward. While Meyer won’t have the benefit of working with a team stacked with grizzled title winners, he is the right man to nurture and develop the young talent that’s set to replace Victor Matfield and company. As his record at the Bulls will confirm, he has an exceptional eye for talent and his man-management is of the highest order.

The appointment will be confirmed this Friday, and all South Africans should mark this as a significant day for Bok rugby. Meyer has the means to restore some pride to a side that exited the 2011 World Cup in humiliating fashion. He will have a plan to bring the Boks immediate and long-term success, as a World Cup should never be the only tournament on which a top nation is judged. The Boks should win 80% of their matches, and with Meyer in charge that goal is certainly attainable.

A challenging yet exciting road lies ahead. Fortunately for South Africa, the right man will be driving the bus.

939 Comments

Pages: « 19 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] Show All

• 901.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-900:

so they rounded them all up an took em to aussie…!!?? :lol:

surely they’d have been happier in cape town…!! ??

• 902.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

All South African men are married to super models, at some stage emmigration to SA is going to SA is going to explode you guys have done well keeping it a secret for so long I wouldn’ want to share all those super models either.

• 903.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-900:

sure had me fooled… :wink:

i thought every woman in new zealand was a hottie… forget their ‘beautiful’ country… i wanted to go to the land where the streets are lined with beautiful ladies…

guess i can scratch that one off my list…!!

• 904.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo-901: Maybe. Probably.

Actually definitely.

@NZINCHINA-902: Not all South African men are married to supermodels. We would never be as arrogant as to suggest that.

But all the Local supermodels are married to South African Men.

• 905.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

I thought Australia was the lucky country, SA best looking ladies 4th best rugby side can’t have everything

• 906.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-904:

and there sure are enough ladies of supermodel standard in cape town…!

for a good indicator… just pop along to newlands when the stormers play…

i actually have to go home to watch the game after the match… there are that many distractions…!! :wink:

• 907.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo-903: Nope. Not sure where you got that from.

I know a South African Model who has just emigrated to new Zealand.

She’s pretty.

Rather annoying, but she’ll fit in quite well over there I expect.

• 908.ufo: Reply to this comment

cape town has the most beautiful scenery in the world…

the mountain’s not too shabby either…

• 909.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo-906: Yeah. That’s why I don’t take my wife any more.

Too much staring.

• 910.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-907:

she’s bound to become a supermodel there…

and be rounded up with the other 11 good looking ladies in the country and shipped off to that little aussie village called toohellengong

• 911.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-909:

maybe that’s the secret to the constantly high crowd attendance at newlands over the years…?

• 912.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo-910: :D

Toohellengong.

Very funny.

• 913.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-905: have you been here over the whole off season making comments like these? your dedication to your craft is admirable, but really man you must draw a line somewhere

• 914.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-912:

they all sound the same… :shock:

• 915.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell-913:

comments like what, that Bryce isn’t a match fixer?

• 916.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-915: dude, you’re a kiwi and your team just won the RWC, and yet you still hang around here (even when there is no rugby on) making sure the Saffas don’t hold any incorrect opinions… i’m exhausted just thinking about it.

• 917.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-907:

why did she leave?

• 918.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-912:

there’s another aussie village called…

weegongtoshaggawoolywon…

• 919.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell-916:

its quiet in the desert and Chinese TV ain’t that good, I would have thought accusing somebody of match fixing, corruption is more than an incorrect opinion but each to their own

• 920.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

I have to go enjoy the libel.

• 921.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-919: there are greater tragedies in this world, i can assure you. in any case, i don’t mind having the kiwis here stirring things up, just surprised that it goes on throughout the off season, thats all.

• 922.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell-916:

our buddy in china is a serial moper.

he’s as sour as last weeks milk.

• 923.man1a: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-606:
    for the record i’m not a supporter of bryce. sure he’s a kiwi but thats embarrassing to admit. just keep in ind that we put up with his shoddy reffing for a decade before he became an international ref. he’s ruined many a game in nz. however threats against a ref over a game is out of hand. barnes never feared for his life and when he turned up in nz to touchJudge a game the following season, nz collectively ignored him

http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/5977267/Lawrence-speaks-about-South-African-hate

this one however is rich. AndreWatson complaining about bryces reffing and threatening to take him to court. as it turns out andre was all talk.
    http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/5778252/Bryce-Lawrence-copping-it-from-all-quarters

• 924.man1a: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-551: stormers will be up there but they just lack strike power in attack. other than the cheetahs, stormers are most likely to throw the ball around. but its still a developing mindset for them and the little things need to gel for their collective attack to be potent. cheetahs throw it around but thats more otu of desperation. think cheetahs should do well enough for goosen to make the boks
    bulls cant see them getting past the rebuilding stage at the mo. halfway thru the season will tell whether they’re contenders or not. they’re still superRugby champions though so u can never turn your back on them
    not sure bout the sharks, will have to wait n see
    huricanes are going to suk majorly this season. still gotta support the boys
    chiefs, cant see them being all that competitive. they have a great backline but lack in the forwards
    blues and crusaders to contest the nz conference. blues have all the players but crusaders have the systems in place.
    reds in theory should be better as they’ve retained most of their players. but if i had to guess i reckon they’ll be shown up as pretenders. i have no basis for this thinking but its just a hunch. still brumbies and reds to contest the aus conf
    brumbies will be most dangerous. they have nothing to lose and with jWhite as coach he wont put up with any player power BS and get them running as a team
    force and rebels to finish bottom of the table

@rangerman-558: fully agree spies is a waste of space. lazy, doesnt ruck or maul, slow off the base of the scrum, never seen him put in a bone crunching tackle and never seen him do a decent run where he links with his backs. alberts is easily the better 8…most anyone would be a better 8, but wilhem shows he’s got mongrel in him. in the quarters, aus vs boks, i remember spies touching the ball twice and each time he got carried out to touch.

good luck SA. new coach new era. the boks deserve to be better than they have been in the past 4 years

• 925.man1a: Reply to this comment

another one
    http://www.planetrugby.com/story/0,25883,16016_7452362,00.html

“Bryce Lawrence (in South Africa at least): The controversial Kiwi referee, who became public enemy number one in South Africa after being blamed by more than a few for ending the Springboks’ reign as World Champions, will not travel to the Republic to officiate Super Rugby matches. It’s understood that SANZAR are fearful that fans might take matters into their own hands if he controls any games in the Rainbow Nation. “

• 926.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-889:

have the whinging Yappies – ever- been beaten by a ‘better team’ ?

they were lucky Lawrence was so lax at the breakdown vs Wallabies at RWC, otherwise they would have been blown off the park by countless penalties with Pocock playing virtually uncontested. The lobotomized losers were going to be sodomized the minute Brussow-sicknote went off. Wallabies scored the only try, PrickBoks too dumb to know how to use the ball. The winning penalty came not from Lawrence but the linesman. Why dont they blame that bonehead for taking the man out in the lineout ? The PrickBoks select singular-braincelled 2nd-rows like Roussow and Botha and then point the finger and blame others when they kick/bite/gouge/headbutt the opposition and get caught. And, then for good measure, the referee gets called a cheat. After every loss.

The Wallabies have beaten PrickBoks 6-donut. And then they blame the ref.

The whinging Yappies never blame themselves, its always someone elses fault.

yap yap yap

• 927.itsamyth: Reply to this comment

To the yapping bigot: You know F…all about rugby (926 above confirms it) so F…off and spew your hatred of white South Africans elsewhere or is it the attention that you are after? There are many of your types across the UK who have no qualms about denigrating Saffas due to a deep-rooted prejudice. The positive influence of Saffas in teams like Saracens, Ulster and several others must really burn an ulcer through your biggoted, hate-filled gut. Therapy is what you need, you F….wit.

• 928.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@itsamyth-927:

yap yap yap

you must be another lobotomized loser whinging Yappie type, then.

I aint no Pom

but the desperation to pigeonhole me as a ‘sheepshagger/Aussie/Kiwi/Poepal/Pantie’ sure is funny. And now Im a Pom ?

got nothing against your lady folk, sonny, theyre so awfully willing. How revealing, though, that you have relate the whinging-Yappie to “white South Africans”.

Funny too that you mention Saracens. Didnt they have that whinging whining Yappie, Venter, as Head Coach ? Wasnt he – repeatedly – fined for whinging and whining and disrespect too ?

yap yap yap

• 929.itsamyth: Reply to this comment

OK, you are a whitesaffamalehatingbigot. Happy? Now grow a pair and admit it you loserwhoknowsfallabout rugbybigot. Oh and enlighten us, just out of worldly interest oh precious bigotted fool, which lovely country has the misfortune of having you as their clueless citizen..

• 930.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@itsamyth-929:

Yappie

I know more about rugby that your lobotomized lobe could retain in 50 of your sad little lifetimes. Y’see, I use 2 eyes.

keep whining and whinging tho, its ever so entertaining.

yappity yap

• 931.itsamyth: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South-930: Well I suggest that when you eventually find enough sense to seek therapy for your totured bigotted soul, that you use both of what remains of your cerebral hemispheres not just your 2 bigotted eyes. Now stop w—-ing at your bigotted self in the mirror and go home to mommy so that she can make that psychologist appointment for you. I wish you a speedy recovery and I am sure all on KEO will more than welcome you back when you have finally fully recovered and are ready to engage in proper bigotless rugby discussions. Till then, look after your sorry self. Goodnight, goodmorning, wherever you may reside on our beautiful planet.

• 932.Esoteric: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South-930: It would be easier to take you seriously if you could spell “Japie” properly.

As for whinging – your lot have been 20 year champions of whinging about premature world cup exits.

Tell your story walking…

• 933.man1a: Reply to this comment

@Esoteric-932: he’s not a kiwi, or so he says

• 934.man1a: Reply to this comment

@Esoteric-932: and your wrong about the whinging. it was 24 years

• 935.Esoteric: Reply to this comment

@man1a-934: 1991-2011 is 20 years.

• 936.whatever: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South-930:

doos troll………….go back to your ga y lonley hearts club site!

• 937.maximus1: Reply to this comment

Ah shame little prick must have a little prick, who gives a **** about the shackledraggers, convicts, let me guess little prick, you don’t get out much.
    Wobblies won a tri-nations in 10 years that nobody gave a **** about, end of story.
    I couldn’t give a **** where you from, you are can of hotair.

• 938.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

That’s a laugh.

Barnes never feaed for his life?

What about the death threats from kiwis after 2007?

Stop talking kak bud.

• 939.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

the bonehead Yappies lobotomized without a pigeonhole to work in. Too much inbreeding. Suspect lots of monobrows and inverse thumbs.

yappity yap go the whinging Yappies

Pages: « 19 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.