Meyer the man to repair Bok brand
24 Jan 2012
JON CARDINELLI writes that Heyneke Meyer will bring a working rugby knowledge, a trophy cabinet of experience and some much needed integrity to the Springbok coaching position.
In a two-horse race where Meyer and Gert Smal were the competitors, South African rugby was always going to be the winner. Both are decorated coaches who have enjoyed title-winning success with their respective teams, and both are renowned for their cerebral approach to the game.
For four years, South Africa has been devoid of a leader who possesses such experience and qualities, and predictably those four years have witnessed South Africa finishing stone last in three out of four Tri-Nations tournaments and exiting the 2011 World Cup at the quarter-final stage.
It would appear that the dark days are over. Until a few days ago, Smal was touted as the favourite for the Bok coaching job, an appointment that should have been welcomed and celebrated as the dawn of a new era. Aside from his stint with the 2007 World Cup-winning side, he has also featured prominently for Ireland as a forwards coach and was rightly lauded following their Grand Slam win in 2009. His views on transformation are well-documented, and had he got the top job, he would have worked hard to influence a greater representation across all levels of South African rugby.
Unfortunately, Saru and Smal could not come to an agreement regarding his salary. There were other reasons that contributed to his decision to remain in Ireland, such as the fact that he has committed to the side until 2013 and his family have built a life in Dublin since settling there in 2008. Just as was the case four years ago, South Africa’s loss is Ireland’s gain.
In Meyer, however, the Boks have another outstanding and potentially game-changing candidate, and so the dawn of a new era should still come to pass. His career at the Bulls remains the stuff of legend, having arrived at the turn of the century and implemented changes and systems that formed the bedrock for a dynasty. If ever there was a man that could take a team that has failed in the past and restore them as champions, Meyer is that man.
The Bulls’ mentor has been offered the job by Saru and is likely to take it. Many felt he was ready for the responsibility in 2008, and only a late change by Saru saw Peter de Villiers walking into the Bok coach’s first official press conference. De Villiers walked into that presser wearing a Bulls blazer, a union synonymous with Meyer, and that should have triggered an alarm. De Villiers never fit that blazer just as he never fit the role. He also failed to grow into it as time progressed.
It could be speculated that Meyer would have avoided the mistakes and built on the success of Jake White’s tenure. It could be said that Meyer would have ensured that some of the best players ever to emerge from this country recorded more than a 62% winning ratio over the course of those four years. If Meyer was instated, future generations may have reflected on a golden age instead of one golden year (2009).
But that time has gone, and SA rugby has to move forward. While Meyer won’t have the benefit of working with a team stacked with grizzled title winners, he is the right man to nurture and develop the young talent that’s set to replace Victor Matfield and company. As his record at the Bulls will confirm, he has an exceptional eye for talent and his man-management is of the highest order.
The appointment will be confirmed this Friday, and all South Africans should mark this as a significant day for Bok rugby. Meyer has the means to restore some pride to a side that exited the 2011 World Cup in humiliating fashion. He will have a plan to bring the Boks immediate and long-term success, as a World Cup should never be the only tournament on which a top nation is judged. The Boks should win 80% of their matches, and with Meyer in charge that goal is certainly attainable.
A challenging yet exciting road lies ahead. Fortunately for South Africa, the right man will be driving the bus.

939 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 … 19 » Show All
24 Jan 2012, 08:43 am
@ufo-545: ja look, i am not trying to be arrogant or stupid about this but i honestly dont think that the conference will be that tightly contested.
the bulls are in a rebuilding phase and will struggle imo, still beating the cheetahs and lions though.
the stormers will be competitive but have lost too much quality to be serious contenders this year imo.
the lions and cheetahs will scare some teams but will wilt when the heat is on as they lack depth.
the sharks look like the saffa conferences best bet imo. depth, experience and hopefully hunger now that the old guard like muller, stefan, smitty have moved on.
sure, center is still a questionmark but not as much of a questionmark as for teh stormers should an injury occur imo.
so i am calling sharks to take the saffa conference.
but you knew that right?
24 Jan 2012, 08:47 am
Great news that Sykes coming back to the Sharks – our lick department was looking decidedly thin. Frans at 12 would be an absolute bonus, but I don’t see that happening I’m afraid.
24 Jan 2012, 08:47 am
@Mr Black-549:
don’t think it’s poppa… one thing he ain’t is a coward…
this guy misspells japie just to make people believe he’s not an ex saffa… all the kiwi, aus and pom bloggers know it’s japie… even if some of them spell it phonetically as jarpie…
@stormersboy-548:
yeah… bonus points will determine our franchise winner and maybe even the comp finalists… stormers will not be good enough this year if we can’t score tries…
and you’re so right about denying opponents bonus points… captains have gotta be switched on to log positions and take that into account when making decisions such as penalties and plays in every game…
24 Jan 2012, 08:48 am
Pissed off about Juan Smith. Was hoping he sacrificed the World Cup because he knew he still had a couple of seasons in him and didn’t want to aggravate his injury by participating.
His one of a few players who can hit the ground running after a long lay-off.
Hope he recovers and last another 2 season just for his leadership during the first 2 years of Heyneke’s tenure.
24 Jan 2012, 08:48 am
@rangerman-551: shhhh…don’t tell anyone….don’t want to be like a Stormer fan were every year is their year
24 Jan 2012, 08:51 am
@Jeraldjay-554: must say, I think Juan’s international career is over, sad as it is. He has been a great servant of the game, and an awesome player commanding respect from all his peers.
I would imagine as seeing Schalla at 7 with Brussouw at 6, and unfortunately Spoes is gonna remain at 8
24 Jan 2012, 08:53 am
@rangerman-551:
hahaha…
right… wouldn’t expect anything else from you bud…
bu that’s what’s great about it… everyone offering opinions and perspectives and seeing how it plays out…
i love it…
i hear what you say… and for sure… the sharks are looking very solid…
but IMO… there are question marks on all the saffa teams… and you know how we always beat each other up on the field… (not always literally but play extra hard against each other)
gonna be an interesting season… it’s about which team is going to be the most consistent… (obvious i know… but not always the case in sa rugby)
24 Jan 2012, 08:53 am
@trupisero-556: noooooooo!
spies must feggenoff.
alberts/kanko (give heem anudda shans!) for bok 8.
ja, i did say i dont wanna be windgat about the sharks but i have to be honest.
24 Jan 2012, 08:55 am
5 words.
Prickbok yaps all night long.
24 Jan 2012, 08:56 am
work to do…
cheers all…
don’t forget to dodge the bullet…
specially if you’re a mad dog or an englishman…
24 Jan 2012, 08:59 am
That should sort him out
24 Jan 2012, 08:59 am
@rangerman-558: would love to see Willem starting at 8.
24 Jan 2012, 09:02 am
anyone but spies at 8
FFS man
24 Jan 2012, 09:04 am
@PrickBoks going South-501:
Name is ironically a good one for you. Your boyfriend must be proud.
24 Jan 2012, 09:04 am
it just feels so good to have faith and belief in the world again.
it was touch and go there for a while and i honestly was close to buying a namibian jersey. i did not actually write it but i did have in my mind the outlines of a letter i was going to pen to saru explaining my reasons why…that the blood was on their hands… that i blamed them squarely and wnd that i would shame them, name for name…man for man…
but its over now…the rain has fallen…i can see cleary.
24 Jan 2012, 09:08 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-565: even clearly?
24 Jan 2012, 09:15 am
@trupisero-566:
yes, sometimes clearly…but mostly cleary
24 Jan 2012, 09:16 am
541 His life has been threatened, have you forgotten Peit Van Fat Belly charging onto the park and attacking a ref you are obviously braver than him.
i see you’re talking the Sharks up again do you ever learn?
24 Jan 2012, 09:16 am
I would play Alberts at 8! Spies has had enough game time to prove himself, yet he fails game after game. I think Heineke will play Spies though!
24 Jan 2012, 09:18 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-565: I am glad for you….
would hate to have had you feeling as bad as I did in 2010 and 2011….
24 Jan 2012, 09:20 am
Who threatened Bryciecunt’s life?
First I heard of it.
That’s usually a kiwi trick.
Ask Wayne.
24 Jan 2012, 09:20 am
@NZINCHINA-568: threatened by who? don’t be a drama king.
24 Jan 2012, 09:25 am
@NZINCHINA-568: Piet’s too old now, need someone younger and fitter to kick his arse.
24 Jan 2012, 09:32 am
Morning folks. Time for a new thread, what.
24 Jan 2012, 09:33 am
morning
24 Jan 2012, 09:37 am
This from News24:
Coetzee wants Aplon to move to wing, and Pietersen to move to fullback.
Says Coetzee:
“I want Gio (Aplon) to establish himself at wing.
“It is important to utilise the speed of our back three. Gio is lightning fast, Joe is relatively quick and then we have Bryan (Habana) on the other wing.
That last bit says it all…
24 Jan 2012, 09:38 am
There could be another 1000 Peit Van Brandy bellies lying in wait outside Loftus ready to have him, I wouldn’t go either. It was reported in the NZ Herald threats had been made against his life and if he returned to SA he would be taken out.
24 Jan 2012, 09:40 am
@Tacitus-576:
In Afrikaans we call it trappe van vergelyking:
Gio is lightening fast
Joe is relatively quick
Pause…..
…and then we have Bryan Habana.
24 Jan 2012, 09:43 am
I hear drums! Sharkievarkies are starting with their annual chest beating ritual.
24 Jan 2012, 09:46 am
@Tacitus-574: ‘sup Frank.
24 Jan 2012, 09:47 am
Well I hope he gets it together…he’s got just under FOUR YEARS to get it together
24 Jan 2012, 09:48 am
Is the AC story true? Wasn’t he the backline coach when Jake White hired a backline coach for the RWC? The headcoach of the Stormers who are one of the lowest try-scoring teams in the S15? Seems like some are more equal than others.
24 Jan 2012, 09:48 am
@Tacitus-576: GVDH?
24 Jan 2012, 09:50 am
Trappe van vergelyking! Lol!
Takes me back to school!
24 Jan 2012, 09:51 am
@Tacitus-578: Morning Tac
Glad to see your sense of humour still working.
Joe has to be in the mix, simple. He’s really a fullback, and Gio can play wing really well, so it’s for the best.
Brian had the most turnovers achieved of all the Stormers players last year, he’s probably lost some pace but is still more than capable of finishing an opportunity.
So this is good news for us, whichever way you want to spin it.
I think that the …..and then we have Brian…. phrase is meant more in the sense of…. he needs no introduction.
But I would expect the non WP okes to see it differently.
24 Jan 2012, 09:52 am
Joke of the hour:
How do they serve drinks on Italian cruise ships?
On the rocks.
24 Jan 2012, 09:53 am
Show me that news report china.
Methinks you are talking out of your noodle hole.
24 Jan 2012, 09:55 am
@stormersboy-585: lol i also see it that way…..I had a vision of Bryan scoring 8 tries this season.
24 Jan 2012, 09:56 am
SO STORMERS BACKLINE LIKELY TO BE
duvenhage
van aswegen
jdv
jdj
aplon
habana
joe
Not shabby…..
Just hope van aswegen fulfills the undoubted potential and can stay injury free….
24 Jan 2012, 09:56 am
@stormersboy-585: since when are wings picked for their pilfering abilities?
we heard this sort of pish all year long last year “bryan has ran more metres than bjorn, bryan has had more handles than bjorn.”
meanwhile bjorn is sitting on 7 tries and habana on 1
how many turnovers did digby ioane make last year?
who cares, he scored tries and the reds won!
24 Jan 2012, 09:57 am
work to do
24 Jan 2012, 09:57 am
@grant10-589: That’s how i saw it too.
I will be watching the flyhalves carefully in the warm ups.
24 Jan 2012, 09:58 am
Bok coach announcement will be live in SS on Friday at 14:00
24 Jan 2012, 09:58 am
@grant10-589: Yip and Gerhard van den Heever on the bench with Bolla and Burton? Is van Aswegen going to play on Friday?
24 Jan 2012, 09:59 am
@Transformation-590: Come now.
Who scored more log points last year in the Super Rugby competition? Stormers or Bulls?
Which team had which player??
I rest my case.
24 Jan 2012, 10:02 am
@PissAnt-593: Great stuff. Will the assistants be announced too or will they wait for a later date? Do you think they will take assistants from the S15 teams? Who is available if they dont use the S15 coaches? Chester Williams? Os du Randt?
Maybe they will go searching internationally for assistant coaches.
24 Jan 2012, 10:03 am
587 was in the hearld only a few days ago, get Tranny to archive I can’t be farked
@Sasuke-594: I’m not convinced about Burton.
As play-making goes I think Coleman has a better all-round game.
If we have Joe as a kicker (which he was before he left) than that becomes less important.
Dimitri must also get some game time before the start of the Super Rugby competition and he may yet force himself in.
Fact is, I’m not holding too much stock in what i saw on Saturday, for me the next 2 games will really shake the tree a bit.
Lets see who falls out.
The depth is encouraging though.
@grant10-570:
thanks grant,
as bok supporters, this is gonna be our year..
24 Jan 2012, 10:05 am
I’m happy Habs is at the stormers.
Its a good fit.
Pages: « 1 … 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 … 19 » Show All