Kings’ inclusion forces Super shake-up

JON CARDINELLI examines the ramifications of the Southern Kings’ guaranteed entry into the 2013 Super Rugby tournament.

For better or worse, there is going to be change. Saru has confirmed the Kings will join the Super Rugby family next year and that one way or another the competition is never going to be the same.

Discussions around next year’s format are ongoing, and the final decision on the format as well as the total number of participants in 2013 will only be announced by Sanzar in March. What’s guaranteed is that the Kings will feature, meaning there’s a possibility one of the existing franchises will be excluded or that two teams could be forced to unite under one banner. Saru CEO Jurie Roux said there was another option that would see all six South African franchises playing in 2013.

The problem with the first option is determining who should be relegated. Is it the team that has struggled in recent years or is it the side that finishes at the bottom of the South African conference in 2012?

Another thing to consider is that the Super Rugby competition will be underway by the time Sanzar announces their decision. How will that alter the strategies of weaker teams like the Cheetahs and Lions, who will be effectively scrapping for survival in top-flight rugby?

If it’s a realistic option at this stage, the clash between these two teams in Round 1 could be vital. The Cheetahs and Lions may also look to rest their best players for matches against Australasian opposition, as they would know that success in the SA conference would be influential to their continued inclusion in Super Rugby.

Is it the right call to combine the two franchises? A lot of people claim the Cats concept didn’t work, and yet the Cats qualified for the Super Rugby play-offs in 2000 and 2001. The best finish for the Cheetahs since they split from the Lions is 10th (in 2006 and 2010) while the Lions are marginally worse with a best finish of 12th (in 2007 and 2009). Since 2006, both teams have failed to finish the league stage in the top half of the table.

The question that needs to be asked is whether either of these teams will ever challenge for a play-off place. It must be part of the deliberation process, although Saru will have other things to consider.

Where do they base the amalgamated franchise, Bloemfontein or Johannesburg? The Cheetahs’ administrators have also argued against the mooted reunion for many years as they feel the loss of a Super Rugby franchise will result in the death of the Free State Union. And considering the importance of this union in terms of the young talent it nurtures at age group level, the continued survival of Free State and Cheetahs rugby is important for South African rugby.

But including all six franchises in the 2013 competition could present a further problem. It would necessitate the revision of the league format, as it would be unfair for South Africa teams to play two extra games in their conference because of the impact it would have on the combined log and because of the toll it would take on the South African players. The Kings will play in 2013 and if Sanzar insists on keeping the Cheetahs and Lions too, they will need to come up with a new league format.

Going back to a round-robin system could have multiple benefits. This would require that each side plays 15 games during the league stage, just one less than is currently played under the conference-based league format. The play-off round would fall away and the best four sides would advance to the semi-finals. Overall the competition would be shorter allowing the best players to balance their Super Rugby obligations with Test commitments in June and in the Rugby Championship.

The conference-based format currently in place is flawed from a commercial and rugby view point. New Zealand especially is struggling to sell the derby concept to the Kiwi public while the dilution of talent in Australia means top teams like the Reds and Waratahs pick up easy five-pointers whenever they play the Melbourne Rebels. South Africa is at a disadvantage because they effectively play a mini-Currie Cup in their conference, and these games are typically physical and can result in injuries.

There are other reasons to celebrate the Kings’ inclusion pertaining to transformation and the further development of the South-Eastern Cape. But with regards to the format, their inclusion could force a change the competition certainly needs.

431 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All

• 401.cab: Reply to this comment

@ET.-397:
    membership? what has my subscription to virgin active to do with the broeders?

• 402.ET.: Reply to this comment

@cab-395:

Jou Baaskap dring deur weer jou vuilhond

F O K K O F nou.

• 403.Forseti: Reply to this comment

@ET.-400: “Then STFU ,as you are not relevant to the discussion and have no right to call it ****. Why do you think I ignored you wrt a serious matter for me and many S.Africans?”

Seriously, the tannies still take the evil broederbond seriously? Jirre you know how to chew a bone, most spat it out 30 years ago oom.

• 404.Forseti: Reply to this comment

My casual observation is that Cab seems to have ET’s measure.

• 405.cab: Reply to this comment

@ET.-400:
    christus, u being serious, u greaving for the ghost of greyvenstrein’s broeders of wat?

besides what discussion u having, i mostly see u and brother spazz shabazz on some some of trolling exercise.

• 406.ET.: Reply to this comment

Yes, and it 10 inches by 3 inches.

Keep flying you lipsticked,pink pig.

• 407.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-398: “guaranteed to be kak”? who is making guarantees here?

some of u okes live in a different dimension really. the bulls were allowed to be kak, the lions have been allowed to be kak but noone else is allowed to develop while playing in super rugby and enjoying the financial rewards that accrue from being part of the competition :roll:

there are no unions that should see themselves as more equal than others in SARU. everyone can build structures it is not the sole preserve of some…

anywho i’m tired.

• 408.cab: Reply to this comment

lol @ lipsticked pink pig

fk me this is one funny bugger, not operating with a fully firing engine under the hood.

• 409.ET.: Reply to this comment

@cab-405:

Why not address the GLRU transformation failure to honour to acquire the Guma millions or the lack of non-racial teams in the total Tvl region and elsewhhere.

Why ignore too the existence of the Afrikanerbond which is the re-incarnated Afrikaner Broederbond as my posts show having the same aims and goals and whose top boy was Louis Luyt’s spokesmman recently still? :

• 410.Forseti: Reply to this comment

oh no, don’t start the Philly brown rat off on the Afrikanerbond theme again.

• 411.ET.: Reply to this comment

@ET.-409:

Why is there a need for the existence of the Afrikanerbond.?

Are they doing anything in rugby or possibly nothing? Do you know as you so categorically deny activity because of your impendinng membership.

Or are you waiting for me to expose some new revelation 20- 60 years from now?

• 412.cab: Reply to this comment

@ET.-409:
    cos its late and i actually dont care, totsiens.

• 413.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@man1a-396: yeah you’re going to be lost because these are inherently saffa issue that you know nothing about, your stance is based on ‘i like the cheetahs the DESERVE to stay’ um, sorry pal that doesn’t wash around here.

• 414.ET.: Reply to this comment

Did not last long enough HG?

Just a pitiful fool are you. I told you yesterday, Helen, I knew who you were/are

• 415.ET.: Reply to this comment

@cab-412:

Typical coward after being exposed as a fraud again, ” Blackie” se neef of is dit niggie?

• 416.man1a: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-413: you havent given a reason why its a good idea to have the kings included. I’m open minded enough to be educated with reason and i may be slow but i do learn
    i dont see any advantage to rugby including the kings.
    if i’m wrong then point out why. i know there are sht loads of inherent saffa issues, no way will i be really able to appreciate all of them. but my stance is from my observations, cheetahs play good rugby so should stay. my motives are purely rugby motives. what are your arguemnts for the kings being included?

• 417.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@ET.-411: Why is there a need for BEE?

• 418.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Afrkanerbond?

Agent khakiballs is on the trail again.

Keep up the good work.

I’ll let Noakesy know that his former cleaner is doing great things.

• 419.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Once again like little Lulu Twatson and his Bok Blaser, his team is now a forced inclusion in something they do not deserve.

• 420.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

@ET.-414:

You sound like Shaunie, big boy making threats on a website……when confronted in real life that yellow stain down your back looks like a baby that shat down his back

• 421.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@man1a-416:
    A fledgling Democracy has to take bold steps to be inclusive of all its peoples. Rugby is not the end all,be all. We have to take affirmative action to help those who are disadvantaged through no fault of their own. Long Live The Kings.

• 422.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

What utter nonsense Cardinelli writes here.

This is a ridiculous charade by SARU. How is it that the Australians and Kiwis get it every single time and the journos here are so wide of the mark and eat up a BS release from SARU.

For what it is worth people – read this and see what the real situation is:

South Africa pushes Southern Kings’ bid into Super Rugby
    BY:BRET HARRIS From:The Australian January 30, 2012 12:00AM
    Increase Text Size
    Decrease Text Size
    Print
    SOUTH Africa is strongly supporting the Southern Kings’ bid for admission to Super Rugby next year, but further expansion of the competition is unlikely to occur for a few years.

The South African Rugby Union has re-affirmed its desire to see the Kings become Super Rugby’s 16th team and will discuss the issue with its SANZAR partners, Australia and New Zealand.

The South Africans are keen to use the Kings, based in Port Elizabeth in the Eastern Cape, as a vehicle to promote black rugby, a strategy that is heavily endorsed by the South African government.

But it is difficult to imagine SANZAR bringing in the Kings in the middle of a five-year broadcast agreement.

The addition of the Kings, which would result in South Africa having six teams to Australia’s and New Zealand’s five each, would necessitate the dismantling of Super Rugby’s conference system, which was hailed as a success last year.

If South Africa wants the Kings in Super Rugby next year, it will probably have to accommodate them in its five-team conference, which includes the Bulls, Cheetahs, Lions, Sharks and Stormers.

The only way the South Africans could achieve this would be to introduce a promotion and relegation system or for two existing teams to merge.

If the South Africans are patient, there could be an opportunity for the Kings in 2016 after the current broadcast deal is renegotiated. It is possible SANZAR will look at expanding to a Super 18 competition, but without additional teams from Australia and New Zealand. Australia does not have enough depth of talent for a sixth team, while New Zealand lacks another city large enough to accommodate an additional franchise. As a result, SANZAR would almost certainly look to Japan and the US.

When the Kings competed with Melbourne Rebels for the 15th Super Rugby licence, they proposed to play as the fifth team in the Australian conference rather than as the sixth team in South Africa to retain the five-team balance in each of the three conferences.

On this basis, a team located in Tokyo could play in the Australian conference and a team from the the US could play in the New Zealand conference along with a new team from South Africa.

An 18-team competition would appear to grant the Kings automatic entry to Super Rugby, but the South Africans may face stiff competition.

Argentina will compete with Australia, New Zealand and South Africa in the new Rugby Championship this year.

Rugby in Argentina is still amateur and the vast majority of the Pumas play professionally in Europe, mainly France.

The presence of a Super Rugby franchise in Buenos Aires could help to professionalise the game in Argentina, which could see more of Argentina’s top players playing in their own country.

While the Kings would be the firm favourites for any future expansion, Argentina at least offers another potential option.

“The conference model does provide flexibility, which could involve North American, South American or Asian teams in Super Rugby,” ARU chief executive John O’Neill said.

“We can examine options to see what can be done. You could have a Super Rugby team out of San Francisco, Buenos Aires or Tokyo.

“There would be logistical issues, but as long as the integrity of the competition is maintained and the teams are competitive . . . it’s exciting what the conference system presents us with.”

Amen.

• 423.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Fear and Loathing in Las Keo…

Schweet…

• 424.ufo: Reply to this comment

Have to laugh at Extra-testicular and Chairman of the Bored…

These guys are stuck in a time-warp of irrelevance and trying desperately to get back to the future… which has passed them by…

These Armchair Faux-Revolutionaires left the country and got left behind by the revolution… they have absolutely no relevance, recognition or credibility in their adopted countries and none whatsoever in South Africa either…. and the only way they can force anyone to listen is by trying to hijack a rugby blog and preach to a ‘captive audience’… but they are too thick skinned and thick-skulled to realize that virtually everyone sees through their emotional-stupidity, sub-intelligence, dishonesty and cowardice…

You have to feel sorry for Extra-Testicular when they only media that covered his recent state visit to South Africa was a journalist called Extra-Testicular who published his eagerly awaited press releases (not) on the SA equivalent of the Huffington Post… keo.co.za…

These guys are so dof they can’t even articulate any original thought or debate of their own and are reduced to cutting-and-pasting hackneyed decades-old philosophies and constant repeats of information published elsewhere as if they have just discovered google and are so impressed with their ‘advanced’ abilities and think no one else has ever heard of the information age and the internet…

They display their cowardice above all else by preaching from the comfort of their soft, warm lounges secure in their Philly Freedom and call for others to rise up and join them… how…? By running away too..? Like tin-pot wannabes they shout from a safe distance when if they had any integrity or sincerity they would not be wasting their breath or finger muscles beating up their keyboards, if they were not the liars they are they would be working in places like Masiphumelele, Dunoon and Khayalitsha doing all they can to uplift these communities and help them attain the economic freedom for which they still wait…

But it’s way more convenient, easy and safe to stroke their own egos in farsical yet sickening displays of ego masturbation in the safety of their wealthy homes overseas…

How that helps anyone but their own self-satisfaction only they will ever know…

Revolutionaires Extraordinaire…

Hehehe…

• 425.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-422:

Are they crazy! More teams=more rugby + crazy travel schedules ! This super rugby tournament is starting to pisss me off. Test rugby is much more important to rugby supporters. They are killing it by super sizing the rugby season. Its going to be everybody’s excuse when we see mediocre Tests from fatigued international players. Every year we are told not to expect the boks to win much of the end of the year tour games, because the players are dead tired after a long season!

Its total bulll (no pun intended) for HM to be expected to train a bok team in a week. And its totally unfair to expect super rugby coaches to release players for bok training/rest for tests. In order to have tests, a realistic space should be made for them to take place in. SANZAR’s hand is getting stuck in the cookie jar and someone should stop them!

The IRB should step in and tell these greedy SANZAR buggers to cool it! Rugby fans who would rather see their players protected from too much rugby and see the quality of test matches protected should boycott or sign a petition or something. Id be happy with a 4 month super tournament, a decent full strength (boks included) currie cup and test matches.

And I dont support conference games. Why would we want to play a mini currie cup? The point is to test ourselves against nz and au clubs! If they cut out the conference games or make local teams play against each other once, there will be a lot less unnecessary games and less rugby.

Boycott/ Petition !!!!!! WHERE DO I SIGN????????

• 426.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

@Jeez-425:

JEEZ my good man, this is the way it is.

The words to look for here are, “the television schedule is set through till 2015″.

How does SARU in their one cote to the two votes of Oz & NZ sway this?

They don’t, they just bend down and take it again from O’Neil.

Did you not know that SARU is O’Neils & Tew’s *****?

• 427.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Jeez-425: this is the legacy of one greedy aussie doos, his filthiness john o’neill :D

• 428.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

meant bee-atch!

• 429.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Capo hasn’t left the country.

His parole officer won’t even let him leave Cape Town.

• 430.ufo: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-429:

oh… thanks…

by their rhetoric they all look the same to me…!

• 431.ChairmanShabazz: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-417: in 1948 the national party practised a very similar system when they got to power.in 1948 english speaking south africans were replaced by afrikaners in all major government and private institutions.afrikaner companies got promoted to levels not yet seen in south africa again.it could be worse ,so in that respect the anc government has done quite well.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.