Barritt to make Test debut

Former Sharks centre Brad Barritt will start in England’s Six Nations opener against Scotland on Saturday.

England will field a new-look team, that sees a total of nine changes to the starting line-up that faced France in the World Cup quarter-final.

Barritt, who will receive his first Test cap, will form a new midfield combination with Saracens team-mate Owen Farrell. Interim head coach Stuart Lancaster has interestingly named the 25-year-old at outside centre. For Saracens, Farrell features in the No 13 jersey while Barritt starts on his inside.

‘To pull on a Test jersey is the ultimate for a player, it is something you dream about as a kid. It will be an immensely proud moment for me and my family to represent England,’ Barritt told reporters.

‘We are blessed in the squad with 32 really talented individuals and Owen and I are going to make our debuts together. I am sure he [Owen] will take to it like a duck to water. You have seen in the past 18 months that any obstacle that has come his way, he has embraced it and taken on the challenge.

‘Having Charlie [Hodgson] and Strets [David Strettle] in the backs means it is a great day for Sarries. But if were to be playing with anybody else I would be just as proud and just as content going into the game.’

Eighthman Phil Dowson also makes his Test debut at the age of 30 while Saffa Mouritz Botha is picked in the second row. On the bench, there are five more uncapped players in hooker Rob Webber, lock Geoff Parling, flanker Ben Morgan, scrumhalf Lee Dickson and centre Jordan Turner-Hall.

England – 15 Ben Foden, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Brad Barritt, 12 Owen Farrell, 11 David Strettle, 10 Charlie Hodgson, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Phil Dowson, 7 Chris Robshaw (c), 6 Tom Croft, 5 Tom Palmer, 4 Mouritz Botha, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Dylan Hartley, 1 Alex Corbisiero.
Subs: 16 Rob Webber, 17 Matt Stevens, 18 Geoff Parling, 19 Ben Morgan, 20 Lee Dickson, 21 Jordan Turner-Hall, 22 Mike Brown.

49 Comments

• 1.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

At 13?

Congratulations to him… and Mouritz with another run…

Saracens Saffa recruitment paying dividends…

• 2.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_arse-1: yeah, 4 years later :roll:

• 3.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Congrats Barrit

• 4.Vundu: Reply to this comment

Scraping the bottom of the barell. England are rubbish.

• 5.Michael: Reply to this comment

Well done.

Surprised it’s at 13 but wouldn’t be surprised to see him and Owen interchange during the match. Good distributor in the mould of **** Muir.

• 6.NicG: Reply to this comment

Congrats and well deserved…

I don’t see the logic in playing him at 13 though (mind games I hope as Brad is a specialist inside centre).

• 7.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@NicG-6: “no pace” barritt will find the going hard at 13 vs france…if saint andre selects rougerie, he might embarrass him but defensively barritt has always been decent.

going to be fun :D

• 8.JockBok: Reply to this comment

Well done Brad, just a pity you’ll make a losing debut….

• 9.trupisero: Reply to this comment

13?

Its a pity he never got a look in at the Boks instead of that try machine Meisiekind.

• 10.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@JockBok-8: hey Jocky :D

• 11.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@JockBok-8: Ah, the Scots talk a good talk, don’t they?

• 12.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Do tests against Scotland count as a Cap?

• 13.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Who was the dumb toss here who said Barritt would never play for England. Don’t worry, I don’t expect you to own up but you know who you are.

• 14.Maljan: Reply to this comment

Matt Stephens on the bench – a third Saffa! None of them would make the Boks 3rd team!

12 – gunther – Umm….didn’t the Boks lose to Scotland just over a year ago?!

• 15.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Well done boet.
    Have a feeling that this Owen Farrell will be the future England 10 with Barrit at 12 and Tuilagi at 13. Certainly an improvement on recent Pom backlines.

• 16.Forseti: Reply to this comment

Two home grown Kearsney College old boys featuring for England. A feauture of the modern game, I guess. One I find just a little bit sad. I have always wondered how the likes of Clyde Rathbone, Matt Stevens, Brad Barrit, Mouritz Botha, Kevin Pietersen, Jonathan Trott – born and bred Saffas – must feel representing a foreign nation. I can’t imagine it feels anything like representing your true country.

On another note, I wonder how many more snide comments from Transformation we will have to endure on this thread – he never has like Barrit, has he?

• 17.puff: Reply to this comment

Wow.
    Now that is a real overhaul.
    Don’t know a good bunch of those players.

• 18.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Spare a thought for young Tobias Botes making his debut at scrumhalf for Italy too.

• 19.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-12:

Fair point. I’m pretty sure most of the Boks who played in the last test against Scotland would rather hide their cap and forget it took place.

• 20.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-18: yeah go Tobias :D

• 21.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-11:

Nah, not really Katters. We expect a PK pretty much every game, but we have a hard coded DNA strand that promotes optimism around about this time every year.

A bit like the Stormers in fact.

But anyway, Scotland will win on Saturday ;)

• 22.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-10:

Howzit ;fatboy’ ;)

I see you’ve been keeping Dr Feelgood on his toes during my absence :D

• 23.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Forseti-16: very sensitive are we? :D

this is not a contest of who likes who…whether i’ve ever liked barritt is immaterial.

• 24.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@JockBok-22: yeah Jocky…he’s restorted to LIES now, he who worships at the “alter of truth” :D

gotta love it

• 25.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-24:

Not surprising. He’s never been slow to bend the truth when he’s been shown up as being a fool. I guess it’s a natural progression to just start off with outright lies.

Movin’ on……..

• 26.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Forseti,
    Its can’t be the same, I agree, I also think it must be hard playing against a saffa team if you are born and bred in SA.
    Good luck to Brad though, with frans steyn 23 only, and lanbie, jantjies and a host of others here, he could never be sure of a test cap in SA.

• 27.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Nobody said Barritt wouldn’t play for england,he just took 4years to do it behind likes of Flutey!Tindall,Flood,Tuilagi,Hape etc only a matter of time he would get his chance.Mike Catt also wud hav never played for Boks.

It’s ok

Good luck tho

• 28.Great White Sharks gonna get ya: Reply to this comment

Transformation doesn’t give credit to the pale ones.

• 29.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Great White Sharks gonna get ya-28: kak talk from you, what’s new?

barritt is the 4th non-English player to be selected at cenyre by Pom coaches at some point one of their random picks will stick, hopefully it will be brad :-)

• 30.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

A pity this young man was lost to the green and gold.

Always rated him.

Better than Donkey De Villiers…. maybe not better than Francois Steyn though.

• 31.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

How come Barritt is eligible to play for England?
    According to IRB regulations A Player who has played for the senior fifteen-a-side NationalRepresentative Team or the next senior fifteen-a-side National
    Representative Team or the senior National Representative Sevens Team
    of a Union is not eligible to play for the senior fifteen-a-side National
    Representative Team or the next senior fifteen-a-side National
    Representative Team or the senior National Representative Sevens Team
    of another Union.

For the purposes of this Regulation, a Player is deemed to have played for
    the senior fifteen-a-side National Representative Team or the next senior
    fifteen-a-side National Representative Team of a Union if:
    (a) He is selected for such team to play in an International Match against
    the senior fifteen-a-side National Representative Team or the next
    senior fifteen-a-side National Representative Team of another Union
    (or in a fifteen-a-side international Match against another Union’s
    senior or next senior Touring Squad during an IRB approved
    International Tour) and is present at the Match played by that team
    either as a replacement, substitute or a playing member of that team
    and has, at the time of the Match, reached the age of majority;

Surely the Emerging Boks is our next senior side.

• 32.jacobupstairs: Reply to this comment

@Vundu-4: so are we vundu…England are getting their act together and I hope we can too!

• 33.jacobupstairs: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-15: Totally agree…

• 34.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-29: If his Mum is English, why is he non English? Half English half Saffa. Botha is a different story….

• 35.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Forseti-16:
    Read Kevin Pietersens book. His a d*ck of note.
    Farking tatooed the 3 Lions on his arm. Says that proving the cricket loving public in SA wrong is the driving force in his career.
    He hasn’t had a decent knock for the Poms in 2 years and will soon get the chop.
    Trott on the other hand is cocky but is a freakishly talented.

• 36.Guns: Reply to this comment

Looking forward to seeing how Brad gets on, and at 13.. At least some more Rugga to watch in wait of the Super 15. :D

• 37.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong-34: is his mum english? wel i didn’t know that but as stormer said, barritt in 2007 played for Emerging Boks which is our equivalen to Saxons or New Zealand A.

but hey who cares.

• 38.PaulLondon: Reply to this comment

@37… South Africa A and not the Emerging Boks is the 2nd team?

• 39.Koning_Rassie: Reply to this comment

so quotas claims another victim!! another Kevin P, Trott, etc etc in the making! so glad heyneke (rugby) and gary K (Cricket) were appointed! This k@k will stop now!

• 40.gecko: Reply to this comment

SA has no second string side. SARU disbanded SA A side, started Emerging Boks but never registered it with IRB as SA second string side. Spectacular own goal.

• 41.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gecko-40: how did the Emerging Boks compete in the Nations Cup in Romania without being registered with the IRB? :roll:

• 42.Koning_Rassie: Reply to this comment

sad to think how many players that FAT Wakefield will chase away @ WP … WP will be the new EP … and EP kings will be the pride and Joy of the Eastern & Western Cape !! – no politics ….

• 43.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Great White Sharks gonna get ya-28:

Aaaah shurrrup

• 44.Koning_Rassie: Reply to this comment

Transformation = Chris Mahlangu

• 45.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Koning_Rassie-39: Yes quotas claim another victim, barritt was never good enough to usurp jean de villiers, francois steyn, meyer bosman – who have all played 12 for the Boks since he left for the UK…bloody useless quotas

• 46.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Did Thelo chase him away!

• 47.gecko: Reply to this comment

Trans – Emerging Boks is not registered as the official SA second team. Still a team, but the union has to nominate an official second team. SARU did not. If you followed the recent tug between Wales and Scotland over a player it was same thing. Did Wales nominate their u20s as their officials second team in 2010. Turns out they did.

• 48.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Who can blame him.

I would run away from Thelo as well.

Far.

• 49.Koning_Rassie: Reply to this comment

Prawn he also avoids you! you mos a big hoochie girl in the Cape!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.