Gerber bolsters Bulls’ prop stocks
2 Feb 2012
The Bulls have recruited Rayno Gerber from Stade Francais on a short-term deal.
Gerber won two Super Rugby titles with the Pretoria franchise prior to his departure to Paris in 2009. He has signed until the end of August and will add quality depth in the prop department, which has been depleted with Rossouw de Klerk suffering a long-term injury.
Bulls coach Frans Ludeke said: ‘Rayno has a proven track record at this level and we are delighted to secure his services. He brings experience, stability and ability to one of the most specialised positions in the game.’
Gerber explained his decision to return to South Africa saying that he wanted his children to grow up close to their family. He also admitted that it would be tough to get up to speed after a long period of inactivity. ‘I have not played for around five months now and know that the fitness regime will be brutal, but that has always been like that at the Bulls. It is good to be back,’ he said.

46 Comments
2 Feb 2012, 08:27 am
Good signing… if he’s close to what he was when he left, he’s a heck of a lot better then Werner Kruger.
2 Feb 2012, 08:34 am
So a lack of depth prompted this short term signing.
2 Feb 2012, 08:42 am
@RL-2:
Well all their props are bloody hopeless… only makes sense.
2 Feb 2012, 08:46 am
Good signing by the union.
Now, for an exchange deal between Meisiekind & Fransie Steyn, our Super Rugby campaign can kick off in all earnest
2 Feb 2012, 09:00 am
@Pot Blou Gevaar-4:
that would be awesome.
2 Feb 2012, 09:03 am
Is he LH or a TH?
2 Feb 2012, 09:10 am
@hendrikp-3:
Hennie wat gaan aan ou tjom?
Jy’t so mooi begin so jaar of wat gelede and was “oopkop en unbiased”.
Nou begin ek raai waarvoor staan die “P” in you username.
Relax ou, skryf iets nice.
Gurhtro Steenkamp het bewys dat hy guts het en allround goed is so jaar terug. Werner Kruger werk baie hard, en is nog jonk vir n vaskop, en van ons ander stutte is beseer.
By the way, n sekere oopkant flankie wat jy geen respek voor het nie gaan baie in die Groen en Goud wees met Meyer daarso, maak jouself reg om nog baie meer hier te verskyn met n onsinnige geklaery.
@stormersboy-6:
TH.
He was the Bulls TH before Werner Kruger if I remember correctly…. before going to France.
And before that he was playing for the Cheetahs.
@stormersboy-6:
Tighthead, but I wonder about his fitness….
2 Feb 2012, 09:14 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant-7:
Woke up on the wrong side of the bed this morning? I’m fine, just stating the Bulls don’t have any good props.
Werner Kruger is a joke. You’re looking at it through your goggles my man. Oh well, word is the Bulls aren’t happy with him so are looking for a replacement anyway…
As for Deon Stegmann, I’m sure he’ll make the mistake in picking him, but it won’t take him long to realize the mistake, and then we’ll never have to see him in green and gold agian.
And Gurthro Steenkamp is no longer with the Bulls… though when he was there he was by far their best prop. I’d argue for him to have been very near the best LH in world rugby if he’d stayed.
2 Feb 2012, 09:14 am
@hendrikp-8: @Agile T*t-Tyrant-9: Thanks.
Maybe steggies can play TH this season if required,
He’s starting to look like one.
2 Feb 2012, 09:16 am
@stormersboy-11:
2 Feb 2012, 09:16 am
@stormersboy-11:
haha no the Bulls are a well-oiled and fine-tuned machine, they don’t have to wonder on what side of the scrum the find themselves like certain flanks….:P
2 Feb 2012, 09:24 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant-13:
Agreed, on the occasions I’ve seen Bulls players in Hatfield they were extremely oiled and trying to tune everyone.
2 Feb 2012, 09:25 am
@stormersboy-11:
chop
2 Feb 2012, 09:27 am
@hendrikp-3: indeed, Greyling and Kruger were given Bok caps for reasons we wouldn’t understand
Did you see Guthro playing for 2 lose this weekend … massive loss for the bullies.
2 Feb 2012, 09:30 am
at least there’s no new age hybrid ‘blind-halves’ or ‘open-fly’s’ running around working on their sbw no look offloads and running angles at the bulls.
doubling up deep in the pocket at first or second receiver.
2 Feb 2012, 09:30 am
The issue of quality props seems to be a national problem, especially TH’s. We seem to produce decent LH’s on the regular – Os, Steenkamp, Beast, Heinke (possibly the best scrumager of the lot). This is a pressing issue which should be high in all franchises agenda.
Hopefully there’s a gem out there in the mould of Carl Haymann.
2 Feb 2012, 09:31 am
@RL-16:
Didn’t see it, but always thought he was a heck of a player.
Was getting a bit nervous in the build-up to the WC that they were going to play the Beast ahead of him 0_0
2 Feb 2012, 09:35 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant-7:
” Werner Kruger werk baie hard, en is nog jonk vir n vaskop”
Come now Deon, this is a fabrication! Kruger is one of the laziest props out there, he literally walks to the rucks with his arms akimbo. Useless at clearing rucks and when he tackles it looks like he is about to grab the last bag of charka at the Pink n Pay.
No overrated he is much like Steggie I would say.
2 Feb 2012, 09:41 am
@RL-20:
Will never forget his performances in Australasia, how embarrassing. Him and Stegmann looked like they were competing for who can miss the most tackles.
And him and Dean Greyling spent the entire build-up to the Australia game saying how they were going to crush the Aussies and secure their places in the World Cup squad… only to have their heads shoved up their behinds. A real case of “should’ve rather kept quiet until after the game”
2 Feb 2012, 09:47 am
They Bulls may not do well at the start, Gerber’s certainly out of Super Rugby shape after the lazy good life in Paris and Chiliboi is the ballast weight to drag them down.
The Bulls however have the capacity to make changes if the playoffs prospect will threaten to run away again this season, the Union simply can’t afford financially another year out of the playoffs race
2 Feb 2012, 09:52 am
I like all this chirp from hp and rl.
end of the season they’ll still be wondering how the bulls keeping winning.
2 Feb 2012, 09:52 am
@WP Till I Die-14: Bwahahahahahaha
2 Feb 2012, 09:55 am
@RL-20:
2 Feb 2012, 10:00 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant-13: Touche.
That being said we could use another TH.
If he can turnover the odd ruck that’s gravy
Although the penalties conceded is a bit of a concern
2 Feb 2012, 10:14 am
@hendrikp-10:
Hendrik
Don’t play the innocent today. I’ve seen your posts – including the bitter comments you’ve posted on News24.
No hiding away in the digital era, pal.
You’re as rabid a Bull-hater as one is likely to come across on this or any site.
Just have the balls to admit it.
2 Feb 2012, 10:19 am
@Tacitus-27:
Just because I don’t see the Bulls as God’s gift, does not make me a ‘Bull-hater’.
I support them when they’re playing the Lions, and any overseas team.
But at the moment they have too much say in regards to national selection, FACT.
2 Feb 2012, 10:25 am
@hendrikp-28:
OK. You posting it in caps convinced me. It must be a fact.
2 Feb 2012, 10:36 am
@Tacitus-29:
The Bulls didn’t make the CC (embarrassing) or SR semi-finals in 2011.
Yet the following Bulls players played for the Boks.
Gurthro Steenkamp
Dean Greyling
Chiliboy Ralepelle
Werner Kruger
Flip van der Merwe
Bakkies Botha
Danie Rossouw
Victor Matfield
Deon Stegmann
Pierre Spies
Fourie du Preez
Francois Hougaard
Morne Steyn
Wynand Olivier
Bjorn Basson
Zane Kirchner
Some deserved, many not.
Puts it in perspective when the Lions have barely any, yet they can win the damn thing and finish top of the table.
2 Feb 2012, 10:40 am
@hendrikp-30:
I’ll leave it to someone else to rip apart the (non-existent) logic of that post.
All I will say is that it wasn’t worth the time you spent compiling that list. I suggest you go and double check it to make sure you didn’t leave someone out.
2 Feb 2012, 10:43 am
@Tacitus-31:
You’re an 1d10t.
I tell you the Bulls players are unfairly favored. I provide you a list to prove it (alongside their pathetic results lately)… and you say there is no logic?
Wake up pal.
2 Feb 2012, 10:48 am
tell him tac…
2 Feb 2012, 10:51 am
@hendrikp-30:
hey dumbass…those players all got selected off of superrugby form and even then some only because the first tier players were in rehabilitation camp.
no doubt had there been a year end tour a few lions would have got a look in.
elton janjties by the way was capped before lambie last season even though lambie had turned in more significant performances at the time.
ps, 9 maybe even 10 or 11 of those listed players didn’t play currie cup last season.
2 Feb 2012, 10:55 am
personally, i think werner kruger is a very good player. definately one of the top 3 tight heads in SA.
good gawd, imagine if I supported a side with brock harris?
(heads to the bog to chunder)
2 Feb 2012, 11:40 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-34:
Yes, only 7 of those players played an active role in the Bulls Currie Cup campaign.
They were Dean Greyling, Werner Kruger, Flip van der Merwe, Deon Stegmann, Wynand Olivier, Bjorn Basson & Zane Kirchner.
Since they were all worthy Springboks, they must not be to blame for the Bulls pathetic form in 2011.
So let’s blame Juandre Kruger (who I thought was actually one of the Bulls stand-outs), any number of their loose-forwards, Jano Vermaak, Francois Venter…
If you can’t face up to the Bulls players having an advantage towards Springbok selection for no other reason then playing in Pretoria, then you’re not worth my time, sorry.
2 Feb 2012, 11:41 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-34:
When was Elton capped as a Bok?
2 Feb 2012, 11:42 am
@hendrikp-36:
Btw, only 7….
That means half the Bulls team that can’t make a Currie Cup semi-final went on to play for the Springboks…
Get what I’m saying?
2 Feb 2012, 11:43 am
@bryce_in_oz-37:
He wasn’t.
2 Feb 2012, 11:59 am
@hendrikp-36:
Hehehe
Remember a couple of years back, 2009/ 2010, we had this “debate” where I claimed that Stormers players are favoured for no good reason, the Bok staff were WP supporters etc. all that jazz.
But at least the Bulls have won the Super Rugby competition in the mean time.
Nou maar nou weet ek hoe stupid ek moes gelyk het, haha.
They only fared poorly in the first half of the 2011 S15. Certain players let us down, especially Kirchner at times, but we missed the semis by a tiny 3 pointer. Nothing to really be ashamed of.
@hendrikp-38:
Ag forget about the 2011 CC, there was no EOTY tour anyway.
@Brigadier Van Zyl-35:
AI, I think it’s a pity about BJ Botha, best IMO.
2 Feb 2012, 12:19 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant-40:
Nope don’t remember it
Kirchner was poor yes, and shouldn’t have gone ahead of Taute, or Riaan Viljoen for that matter.
But then we had a number of better loosehead options then Dean Greyling. Coenie went on tour, but may have been injured… he took no part anyway. Heinke van der Merwe was a better option as an overseas player. JC Janse van Rensburg is a better loosehead – 3 options right there, yet the Bulls player got 2 Springbok caps.
Werner Kruger is no good. WP Nel had a good SR campaign, and would’ve made a better option. CJ van der Linde was also in poor form, but still a better choice (he went on tour, but sat on the bench). Yet again, the Blue Bulls option was preferred.
Flip van der Merwe barely got game-time for the Bulls. Rynhardt Elstadt impressed, Gerhard Mostert had an excellent SR campaign (and was only called up later, after injuries)… again they went with the Bulls option in the 4 jersey.
Deon Stegmann has one of the highest penalty counts in Super Rugby… and his turnover stats and so forth were poor. Also misses an incredible amount of tackles for an openside… not many options here, but picking a guy who was completely ineffective made no sense… Flo injured at the time. Personally I don’t rate Keegan Daniel as a 6, but he’s still better then Stegmann.
Bjorn Basson, alongside Sarel Pretorius was right up there with missed tackles %’s. He misses every 2nd tackle he attempts. Not many options though, so I’ll let this one slide… Personally would’ve taken Mapoe but you can’t argue too much with Bassons inclusion as he scored plenty of tries.
End of the day you can’t take the worst of what the Bulls have to offer and still expect to compete at test level. Their worst players aren’t better then the best from other unions, who were not included.
2 Feb 2012, 13:17 pm
Bloody Rayno poachers.
2 Feb 2012, 13:24 pm
@hendrikp-41: The Matfield influence.
2 Feb 2012, 14:27 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-42: LOL!!! Hope they not planning on de-horning him! That will be a mess!
2 Feb 2012, 16:10 pm
@hendrikp-41:
Ag people just disagree.
I also cant take you too serious when you just throw stuff around. Stegmann had a higher tackle efficiency than any of our opensiders, so you’re just talking **** in some cases.
Penalty rate a bit high, yes, but work rate in the most penalized areas was much higher than any player in any position in the land.
Whatever, the Bulls will take their motley crew of substandard bozos and take the trophy again.
3 Feb 2012, 17:11 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant-45: Zane Kirchner was baie gelukkig om later WC toe te kon gaan, al was dit net om duiksakke te dra – as die Bokke gewen het was hy deel van ‘n wenspan
Ek stem saam daar is minstens (op papier) 4 of 5 heelagters wat ek bo Zane verkies
MAAR
As hy nie WC toe is nie, sou hy vir die Bulle teen Griekwas gespeel het. Waarom die Bulle vir Gerhard vd Heever gekies het op heelagter – op ‘n harde en onvoorspelbare veld soos Kimberley – sal net Ludeke & kie weet. Minstens is Jurgen Visser ‘n erkende heelagter. Waarskynlik het Ludeke geglo dat Vd Heever die Griekwas sou klop met spoed. Hy was imo die dag useless en die res is geskiedenis.
Dis interessant hoe die anti-Bulls spul kan kla oor niks. Ek weet van geen speler wat homself kies nie. Die Bokke word gekies deur die afrigter(s) en keurders waarvan niemand ‘n “verteenwoordiger” is vir die Bulls nie. Hou maar aan kla tot die Bulle almal Bokke is