Claiming the spotlight
14 Feb 2012
Andries Bekker is finally ready to succeed Victor Matfield as South Africa’s master and commander.
The 2012 season is Bekker’s time to step into the light as the Boks’ marshal of a set piece all rugby nations revere. He’s ready for the responsibility and ready to put what he’s learned into action.
Click here to subscribe to print edition
Click here to subscribe to digital edition
‘Ever since I was a schoolboy I’ve dreamed about starting at No 5 for the Boks,’ says Bekker, who at 27 has played just 24 Tests and started a mere three in this position. ‘I understood why I wasn’t picked ahead of Victor, but now that he’s moved on I want to be running the show. I want to be playing as many Tests as I can. With Victor gone, international rugby is now my primary focus.’
Bekker also talks to SA Rugby magazine about his battles with injury and his own personal demons, Rassie Erasmus’s resignation as WP senior professional coach, the next generation of locks in the Cape, and why he will stay loyal to WP and the Stormers.
Like SA Rugby mag on Facebook
Follow SA Rugby mag on Twitter
Also in the new issue, on sale this week:
– How Rassie Erasmus was forced out of the Western Province set-up by self-serving elected officials
– Chiliboy Ralepelle wants to produce his best form for the Bulls this season and challenge Bismarck du Plessis for the Springbok No 2 jersey
– It’s taken four years to rebuild the Sharks backline following a damaging player exodus
– Heyneke Meyer has what it takes to get the Springboks back to the top – and keep them there
– The Baby Boks will be well prepared for the Junior World Championship in June
– Percentage rugby is a proven recipe for success, according to Rassie Erasmus and Heyneke Meyer
– For a long stretch they’ve been Super Rugby’s Kiwi doormats, but the Highlanders could be about to turn a corner
– Reds coach Ewen McKenzie joins the SA Rugby magazine team as a columnist
– Teenage flank Liam Gill wants to kick on from his successful first season for the Reds
– Maties are using GPS technology to monitor their players’ performance
– Coaches should be making their selections for the 2012 Six Nations with the 2015 World Cup in mind
– Former Sharks centre Brad Barritt went to London to study and ended up playing for England
PLUS: A GIANT 2012 FIXTURES POSTER!

53 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
14 Feb 2012, 06:34 am
Well not if AC with his poor player management, plays this dragon into the dirt again.
14 Feb 2012, 06:38 am
” – It’s taken four years to rebuild the Sharks backline following a damaging player exodus”
This is going to be a fun read … as if they have rebuilt already
14 Feb 2012, 06:51 am
@RL-2: haha, no news about the lions.
i suppose that can only be considered good news in your train-smash-part-of-the-woods eh rep p u ss y
because every day you better hold your breath, relegation is looming my kukpraating aquaintance
14 Feb 2012, 07:55 am
Andries has been the best SR lock for a few years running…
Overused at line-outs though. Stormers throw almost everything at him, becomes predictable and lose a fair bit because of it.
Got plenty of height so they should use it.
14 Feb 2012, 08:07 am
@hendrikp-4: Best outside centre yes , lock no
14 Feb 2012, 08:09 am
Love the part where it says the Sharks backline is fixed – nearly as funny as the Bulls pink shirt
14 Feb 2012, 08:24 am
you have to step up now andries.
the nation looks to you.
leave that soft capey ways behind.
be a man, my son…
14 Feb 2012, 08:31 am
Victor Matfield is 2.0m – 2.01m tall.
Bakkies is 2.02m tall
The Stormers can ptentially field a combo that has:
Eben Estebeth at 2.03m
and
Andries Bekker at 2.08m
What a lineout!
Now if we can stick with Tiaan as he’s the only hooker who can actually throw in straight then we’ll be the scourge of lineouts in this year’s Super 15.
14 Feb 2012, 08:34 am
@stormersboy-8: Its the size of the heart that counts not his length.
14 Feb 2012, 08:37 am
Comparing Bekker to Matfield is like comparing a Tata to a Ferrari. Bekker will always be 2nd rate if compared to Matfield.
14 Feb 2012, 08:39 am
@capebull-9: ?
At lock? length doesn’t count?
Cough *bullshit*cough
14 Feb 2012, 08:40 am
You can have the tallest locks in the world.
But when you hooker throws like a pregnant schoolgirl….
14 Feb 2012, 08:43 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-12: as per my post above.
14 Feb 2012, 08:45 am
@capebull-9: Oh wait, I have a better comeback:
Wait for it…….
…….
…….
“I’ll bet that’s what your wife keeps telling you…..”
14 Feb 2012, 08:46 am
you already got the spotlight dries, for kissing girls in the park
14 Feb 2012, 08:48 am
@stormersboy-14: that IS below the belt, M
yoh!
14 Feb 2012, 08:49 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-12:
i find that look on her face when she does throw in to be mystifying at times.
14 Feb 2012, 08:53 am
@Transformation-16:
That cape bull dude was looking for it
14 Feb 2012, 08:59 am
@Transformation-16: @Robzim-18: Yeah too easy.
14 Feb 2012, 09:00 am
@Robzim-18: hi Rob, how are you my friend?
this surely has to be Nick Koster’s season, i saw he is mentioned in the Stormers Magazine bench pressing stats. that’s good hey, cos in the past year he’s been getting klapped pap in contact! how do the Afrikaner say it – lig in die broek – i think
14 Feb 2012, 09:10 am
@Transformation-20:
I am good and you?.
Yip, you better watch Nic this season, I heard he ran the Kings ragged scoring a breathtaking try in the process before “taking the foot of the pedal” to save himself for the bigger games ahead. This could be his make or break season- i just hope they give him the chance to settle in at number 8 with Vermeulen at 7 (where he belongs).
14 Feb 2012, 09:15 am
@stormersboy-14: Why insult me,
Point is its heart first then the height,
Elstadt good case in point , Frik du Preez.
Louis Moolman was Shorter than S Burger snr, but he was a better lock. Being tall alone does not make you a good lock.
You understand now
14 Feb 2012, 09:16 am
i rate this guy…
Sa need him to stay of the injury list! Pronto!
14 Feb 2012, 09:18 am
@Transformation-20:
“he is mentioned in the Stormers Magazine bench pressing stats”
Hurdler v Heerdens stats immediately comes to mind….. doesn’t make him a good wing!
14 Feb 2012, 09:18 am
@Robzim-21:
Koster might have impressed at Bishops and against the Kings but he will battle to make any Stormers 22.
Karr and Kolisi IMO, are better prospects with Shalk at 6, but a fit Vermeulen has to start either at 7 or 8.
14 Feb 2012, 09:23 am
@Staal-24: you mean Herkies van Heever?
i know weights don’t push back, but this is a bit of running banter between me & Robzim. he rates Nick Koster highly and he knows i always give Koster a hard time – well because of the over-zealous hype he arrived with.
14 Feb 2012, 09:24 am
SA missed Bekker at the wc.Matfield was a hasbeen ….for the last two years of his career.
14 Feb 2012, 09:27 am
@capebull-22: Relax boet. It’s a joke. You seem a little sensitive.
I’m sure your wife loves your big heart.
And don’t despair
This may help you:
***-positions-for-small-penises-20100428" rel="nofollow">http://www.women24.com/LoveAndSex/SexAndSizzle/***-positions-for-small-penises-20100428
On a serious note, now that I have that out of my system, . the original point that i was making is that if a great lock pair like Bakkies and Victor are shorter than the pair I mentioned, that the potential is fantastic. Victor himself said that Andries is the most dangerous line out threat that he has faced.
Heart will only get you so far at lock.
Elstadt is a perfect example. he is a great player, really makes an impact, but because he is a couple of centimetres below par he does struggle in the lineouts. They like to throw to Andries or the back far more often than Elstadt,
Heart is vital. No doubt. But I would rather say that heart will only get you so far. centimetres is vital.
14 Feb 2012, 09:33 am
@stormersboy-28: Whenever you loose an argument you revert to insult, you seem to know a lot about the topic you refur to , the website everything , that speaks of experience
14 Feb 2012, 09:36 am
@Jeraldjay-25:
Lets see how it turns out- Carr and Kolisi are certainly good prospects but at this stage I reckon Nick has the inside lane (on the 2 of them) and it is up to him to perform. His only real weakness is his tendency to lose the ball in contact and if he can sort that out I reckon he will surprise a few.
14 Feb 2012, 09:43 am
@capebull-29: Boet if I wanted to insult you you’d know all about it,
You obviously have no sense of humour when it comes to your p enis.
It’s a pity.
Because people probably laugh at it all the time.
See what I did there?
And I didn’t think my argument was “loose” at all.
I thought it was pretty tight.
Read the last part of my last post.
And try not to take what is written on this site personally.
I don’t know you and you don’t know me.
Take it as humour.
That’s the way it is intended.
And thanks for pointing out my insulting tendencies.
I’ll take it up with my in-house therapist.
14 Feb 2012, 09:45 am
Stormerboy,
Point is to be tall is good for a lock , but no heart just makes you a tall guy,
Combine heart and length and weight then you have a good lock.
S Sykes compared to Ross Skeat / Hargreaves
Flip v Merwe/ Kruger with Hargreaves
14 Feb 2012, 09:48 am
@stormersboy-31: Good for you now we can move on , I am sorry I am not part of the Cape culture thinking insult is funny, I thought the idea was to be funny not an idiot
14 Feb 2012, 09:51 am
@Robzim-30:
Spies and Koster are similar type of players. Both are athletic, quick off the mark and could fit in at wing. But like Spies, Koster will struggle when the pack has no go forward ball.
I rated Koster when he started his career and would be pleased if 2012 was his break through season.
14 Feb 2012, 09:54 am
Looking forward to seeing Bekker step up.
On a side note, and there may be other chains about this, but what are people’s thoughts on Matfield’s book?
I loved the insight but found the tone and delivery really painful. It felt like I was reading Victor’s Grade 9 Diary…Is that because he wanted to keep it simple and the author portrayed that tone? Or is this really how Big Vic would tell the story?
Even the juicy bits like Os and Jean having a raul, or Ashwin getting stuck into someone. Or even the really personal stuff like losing a friend and team mate in a car accident. Anyone ever lucky enough to hang out with Victor and hear his stories? Does he really speak like that?
14 Feb 2012, 09:55 am
@capebull-33: Ok lets move on.
Next time when the Stormers thrash the Bulls at Newlands I’ll buy you a beer and dry your tears.
OK?
14 Feb 2012, 09:55 am
@Jeraldjay-34: I agree with you add Kankofski in the mix. The question is to play a style that you can use their skills , cause they can win games for you. Play them as tight number 8′s like Vermeulen and you lose their skills
14 Feb 2012, 09:59 am
@stormersboy-36: Depending on if your two 2.5m locks can dominate our two 1.99m locks with big hearts. That will determain who will be crying.
Seriously when are they starting to play , then we will have someting to say now we are just talking nonsense to get time to pass, before they start.
14 Feb 2012, 10:00 am
@jamied-35: I completely agree. I struggled my way through the book.
I really respect the player and the man, and was hoping for it to be a better read,
But it just wasn’t.
Most of the stories are already out there anyway.
So it reads more like “this happened and then this happened and then this…..”
That’s not his fault. The writer should have done a better job.
14 Feb 2012, 10:02 am
@capebull-37: True. It’s going to be a tough year this year, the teams are closely matched IMO.
The Cheetahs against the Bulls would have been a lot closer if Goosen had had his kicking boots on.
But that’s the BMT that Morne has.
And why he’d still be my Springbok 10.
14 Feb 2012, 10:19 am
@stormersboy-40: Yes on Morne but , he still looks funny when he wants to attack the line. Fouche actually spread the ball better.
But it was the first match , so not mutch to read into it.
We have a lot of young talent, I rate Carr of WP some of the best linking play from 8 , Arno Botha Bulls , thought Sadie tried to hard to impress.
Potgieter actually played again , CJ Stander was good.
In the Bulls I like to have Potgier rather thatn Stegman ( Mr penalty)
Interesting that you did not see Brussouw
14 Feb 2012, 10:20 am
@capebull-41: Spelling ///
14 Feb 2012, 10:27 am
@capebull-41: Yes I saw him, he did some strong work in the midfield, but he didn’t dominate as people may expect him to.
I also favour Potties above Stegman, been a fan of his for a few years now. The perfect “hybrid” type of player that people talk about.
Morne isn’t the best line runner in the world.
But at test level you need to bank your points and still at this time there is no one in SA that comes close to Morne in that regard.
You must have a “Morne” somewhere in the team.
The Stormers now have that in Joe Pieterson, who isn’t quite as good as Morne in his percentages, but pretty good.
I’m reserving judgement on Carr, he may turn out to be the business, i hope he does, but we’ll see.
Botha has been coming on strong the past year or so. He really impressed in the junior WC.
I think in a season or so he’ll eclipse Pierre.
14 Feb 2012, 10:51 am
@stormersboy-43: With all the old playersreturning to their roots , Spies could end up at 14
14 Feb 2012, 12:19 pm
If Bekker stays injury free, he will be a greater legend than Victor!!!!!
14 Feb 2012, 14:29 pm
Good luck Bekker, be great if he stays injury free and can improve on the top form we have seen from him in the recent past. Im sure he will get some competition from the Pinkies ag I mean Bulls if Vic does join as a line-out specialist/advisor..
– How Rassie Erasmus was forced out of the Western Province set-up by self-serving elected officials
looking forward to hearing more about this.. Surprise Surprise..
– Chiliboy Ralepelle wants to produce his best form for the Bulls this season and challenge Bismarck du Plessis for the Springbok No 2 jersey
After Bismark has played second fidle to JS all this time?? Good luck Chili it will be no easy task – Purely on Merit, not to take anything away from u Chili, showing good form.
– Reds coach Ewen McKenzie joins the SA Rugby magazine team as a columnist
Sounds like a decent read..
– Maties are using GPS technology to monitor their players’ performance
Who isn’t??
– Coaches should be making their selections for the 2012 Six Nations with the 2015 World Cup in mind
??? Im sure they are, Engleand seem to be building/blooding the youngsters with that obvious intention.. Though this was SA Rugby Magazine??
– Former Sharks centre Brad Barritt went to London to study and ended up playing for England
Hmm not sure a buy that. Im sure it was always his intention once he left..
14 Feb 2012, 15:37 pm
Bekker is a credible replacement for the near-irreplaceable Victor Matfield but he needs an enforcer – step up the incomparable Bakkies Botha.
14 Feb 2012, 19:21 pm
Bekker has been on the cusp of great things for a while now but injury has always stopped him from pushing on to bigger things. If he stays fit, and if big Vic gets involved with the Boks as a lineout coach then we should be fine in the lineout stakes internationally. Vic always said it was his hours of homework on the opposition that made him the great lineout operator that he was. Do agree though, he needs someone nasty playing with him.
14 Feb 2012, 21:42 pm
Matfield dominated lineouts like no other, but did very little else. In that regard, he really wasn’t a very complete player. Nobody can doubt his lineout ability, but really, take away his lineout prowess and what are you left with?
Compare that to Bekker, who, as others have said, is brilliant in open field play as well. He is a much better ball carrier with superb hands. In 2010 he had no equal, but 2011 was his year of injuries. 1 year is a long time in rugby and it seems everyone has forgotten just how good Bekker was in 2010.
Matfield was poor throughout 2011. Terrible S15 campaign and far below his best form in the WC. Bekker should have started the 2011 WC, John Smit permitting, if he hadn’t been injured.
15 Feb 2012, 01:03 am
@lepel-49: That is the best description of Matfield I’ve read on this site. He couldn’t run through a scrumhalf, spent all his time in backline etc etc.
Good hands, but a completely overrated player. Hyped up by journalists.
What did he offer apart from lineouts and kick-offs??
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All