Sanzar stands firm on Super Rugby format

Sanzar CEO Greg Peters dealt South Africa’s hope of gaining an additional Super Rugby franchise a hammer blow by insisting the format will not change until 2015.

In January the South African Rugby Union (Saru) committed to the Kings’ Super Rugby inclusion in 2013 but conceded that they did not know how they would be accommodated. They then rejected a relegation match as an option of trimming a franchise and also said a merger between two franchises was not an option.

Weekend reports indicated that the South African franchises had resolved to boycott the tournament in 2013 if they were not awarded another franchise. Saru quickly moved to dismiss those reports as false but did issue an ultimatum to their Sanzar partners saying: ‘… the franchises have made it plain that the only option to them is the expansion of Super Rugby. They also pledged their support for the Kings’ inclusion in 2013 as well as for Saru’s efforts to persuade Sanzar to include a sixth South African franchise.’

A letter from the five franchises to Saru president Oregan Hoskins stated:

* That such inclusion will benefit South African rugby in general;
* That none of the existing franchises shall be prejudiced by such inclusion in any way whatsoever;
* That none of the existing franchises shall be eliminated from the tournament in 2013 or at any stage thereafter as a result of the inclusion of the Kings;
* That Saru, as custodian of the South African leg of the tournament, will ensure that the Kings are included without prejudice to any of the existing franchises.

However, Peters insisted that no such concession can be made in light of the current tournament model being sold to broadcast and commercial partners until 2015 and the conference system being unable to function with an uneven number of teams.

‘The reality is that expansion of Super Rugby is not possible at this stage,’ Peters told keo.co.za. ‘Before their inclusion, the Kings’ aspirations were discussed in detail. How they are accommodated is a domestic issue for South Africa. And while we are always open to dialogue on this issue, it is incumbent upon them to make the necessary adjustments to facilitate the Kings’ inclusion.’

Peters added that they had explored a wide range of format options prior to settling on the current model and that there simply was no viable alternative to it at present. He added that New Zealand and Australia, the latter recording a 41% increase in television viewership in 2011, were opposed to any change in the format.

‘The Reds won the competition last year and I know other Australian franchises feel confident they can replicate that success, so it is understandable that there would be resistance to this idea from them. New Zealand are pleased with the model. They are realistic about the number of franchises they can field before the quality of those franchises is compromised,’ he said.

‘Also, we’re in year two of Super Rugby. The tournament in this guise is still in its infancy. It is nonsensical on a number of levels to alter its form.’

A final decision on the matter is expected on 31 March once all discussions have concluded.

Read Mark Keohane’s view on this issue here

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

370 Comments

• 1.Staal: Reply to this comment

The King Dragon saga ….. hier kom n ding! Hou dop!

• 2.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Well Peters is 100% correct.

It’s a domestic issue for SA Rugby, up to them to sort it out.

• 3.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Great. I don’t want 6 teams in any case, as it will just dilute our strength.

Sorry Kings. See you in 2016…Maybe.

• 4.rangerman: Reply to this comment

cheers kings, see ya wouldnt wanna be ya.

• 5.Staal: Reply to this comment

First lesson in economics…

some things aren’t “economically” viable….

but they are politically…..

geuss what will be the outcome…..

• 6.patch: Reply to this comment

I still believe there is going to be a massive issue. I still cannont believe how SARU would come to a decision with out discussion it with SANZAR. Did they really believe that they will say what a great idea. I am sure we can fit another team in the tournament. While we at it why not promise Limpopo a rugby team also and include them in too.

• 7.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Staal-5:

Se maar? Wat dink jy gaan die uiteinde wees, Staal?

• 8.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@patch-6:

I reckon the original press release was deliberately misleading. They said that all 14 unions had agreed to the Kings inclusion, butthey left out that all 14 had agreed PROVIDED that a 16th team was included.

• 9.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

i’m betting on the lions/cheetahs merging or one falling away.
    to shaft the kings again will take some balls and will carry with it some pretty serious blowback down the line.

• 10.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-8: of course tac, because if they had put that in there would have been wailing and gnashing of teeth.

the wailing and gnashing can begin now.

• 11.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-9: i am betting the kings get screwed like a two dollar hooker.

• 12.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-8: i fail to find the “misleading” or ambiguous bit.

SARU’s official statement

The Southern Kings’ place in the Vodacom Super Rugby competition in 2013 was reaffirmed at a Special Council Meeting of the South African Rugby Union (SARU) in Cape Town on Friday. Proposals on mechanisms to identity the four other South African entrants will be considered at a SARU Special General Meeting on March 30.

“The decision to include the Southern Kings in the 2013 Vodacom Super Rugby tournament was unanimously confirmed by the members,” said Jurie Roux, CEO of SARU on Friday.

“We will now look at the options to identify the other entrants to the competition, which will include further discussions with our SANZAR partners on the possibility of including a sixth South African team in the competition.

“The Unions will also be making their own recommendations and the outcome of those discussions and other proposals will be tabled for the Executive Council and ultimately a General Meeting to consider.”

so the unions have tabled their “recommendations”, now to hear the “other options” jurie was talking about.

• 13.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-12:

Well then I just fail to understand what went on at that meeting. I remain convinced that there is something big we don’t know about, else why would Harold Verster and Kevin de Klerk vote in favour of there being only 4 other SA entrants joining the Kings?

They knew their unions are the ones in the firing line. What’s cooking?

• 14.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Staal-5: Correct. In this Country political expedience has long since taken over from good sense.

• 15.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-12: i also find it hard to understand how kings fans can punt their inclusion and moan about exclusion previously whilst accepting that some other unions will be excluded if they are to enter?

or is it “our turn to eat”?

• 16.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-11:
    yes, this is possible but the blowback will hurt either springbok rugby or the franchises/provinces further down the line, perhaps even both.
    besides, if saru holds the rights to this comp and gets to decide who participates in the comp its not inconceivable they could force someone’s hands. they did it with the cats as well the structuring of franchises comprising different unions lumped together.

• 17.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-13: i also have no idea.

my pervading gut-feel in this whole saga has been that the Kings won’t be playing Super Rugby next year or even in the near future.

• 18.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-11: I’ll take that bet.

The kings will be there I fear.

The real question is at who’s expense?

Just because it doesn’t make any sense doesn’t mean they won’t do it.

• 19.patch: Reply to this comment

It just seems a bit strange all of this. But maybe its the calm before the storm. Maybe the unions just want to have some calm at the start of the competition and no other added pressure. once the tournament is up and running then they will bring out the knives for SARU

• 20.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-7: Bulls & Lions.

Ek weet jy wil dit nie **** nie maar dis soos ek dit sien gebeur.

• 21.Staal: Reply to this comment

van wanneer af is h o o r ‘n vloekwoord? :shock:

• 22.Staal: Reply to this comment

maybe not close in the future but it is on the cards.

• 23.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

I am quite happy to see a promotion/relegation fight. At least if we do not win the Super 15, we’ll have some exciting games. I am tired of seeing **** coaches like Naka Drotske given an extended run. When the Stormers got relegated in the late 1990s they came back with a bigger brand and a better team. Maybe teams will not think about giving their loyal supporters value for their money instead of dishing halfassed attempts at entertainment.

• 24.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-18: we shall see but its a catch 22 imo.

law suits from existing franchises, sponsors, players etc.

or blowback from politicians?

i say screw the politicians.

imo the kings will be admitted to cc premier div rugby and maybe bribed with a fat paycheque to “allow them to build the requisite depth for their imminent inclusion in superrugby in 2016″.

but lets see.

• 25.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Just imagine a relegation scrap between The Kings and The Bulls…Man, now that will be entertaining…

• 26.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Staal-20:

Dit sal die Bulle oornag ruineer. Want dan kry ons net helfte van die Super Rugby geld wat ons voorheen gekry het, met die ander helfte wat Ellispark toe gaan.

En Loftus kry net helfte van die wedstryde.

So ons gaan nie meer ons top spelers kan bekostig nie, en daar gaan ons drome van “die beste provinsiale span in die wereld” aan skerwe op.

Dit is onwerkbaar, en die Bulbestuur sal nooit daarvoor gaan nie. Alles wat in die laaste 10 jaar opgebou is sal vernietig wees.

• 27.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Is this an episode of Game of Thrones?

• 28.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-24:

And who did the Cheetahs and Naka Drotske payoff to deserve a spot in the Super Rugby competition. They certainly aren’t their on merit.

• 29.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Staal-20: so an amalgamation of the bulls, lions, leopards, pumas and valke?

thats a lotta slices in just one pie.

@RugbyStudent-23: why is naka a sh i t coach?

imo the cheetahs punch above their weight when you consider what they have to work with?

• 30.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-15: no rangerman, don’t come with your lame diversionary tactics here.

in 2005 the Presidents Council resolved that it is imperative for SA rugby that the South Eastern Cape be included in Super Rugby and reap the SAME benefits that the rest of them were enjoying. what happened since 2005 and 2012 is well known, the fact still remains though that SIX years later 3 unions are STILL excluded from benefitting from Super rugby largesse.

if it is about “eating” as you suggest, then some unions must look like khulubuse zuma right now and they’re think they’re immovable from the trough. :D

• 31.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-13:

some nasty BEE poitje.

• 32.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-24: I’d prefer that SARU tells the Kings to take a hike until 2015.

But as Keo himself said yesterday, the Kings’ inclusion next year is a “given”.

I’m not sure if that’s the same as “it’s a FACT that the Kings will play next year”.

• 33.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-29:

Well the Lions have no money and still won the Currie Cup? What has Naka done besides get a free ride?

• 34.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-26: ek verstaan maar glo my dis waaraan gewerk word. Ek dink ook die dae dat die “oud CC unies” die wedstryde ” finansieel deel” gaan nie meer van toepassing wees nie…

Maar almal is baie “oopkop” insake die implikasies.

Miskien gebeur dit nooit.

• 35.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-15:

hawu.

you are very counter-revolutionary.

if you are not careful you will get a goodyear necklace for valentines day.

• 36.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Staal-34:

Ek verstaan nie mooi wat jy bedoel nie. Wat bedoel jy met oud CC unies wat wedstryde finansieel deel?

• 37.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Staal-34:

I don’t mind if we absorb the lions.

But we wear blue and all home games are at loftus.

And the lions must learn the words to at least 5 steve hofmeyr songs.

• 38.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-37:

Those are my sentiments exactly. And we get to keep all the cash.

• 39.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-37:

You are condemned to pink.

• 40.capebull: Reply to this comment

Saru must be the biggest bunch of idiots .

“Kings will play in S15 in 2013″
    “We don’t know how to do it”
    ” You the 5 teams that stands to lose ou out, plase advise us how”

• 41.Dawn: Reply to this comment

This story has been haggled now since Sunday

I never knew men were capable of re-hashing goeters for three days straight.

No wonder some women go bedonnerd!

• 42.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

SARU are so amateur.

Our NZ and Aus counterparts are just so much smarter than them.

SANZAR’s response is entirely predictable. OF COURSE they were never going to change the format mid contract.

Australia will NEVER agree to a change of the boring conference format anyway.

This was an extremely telling statement from Peters: “New Zealand are pleased with the model. They are realistic about the number of franchises they can field before the quality of those franchises is compromised,’ he said.

It’s obvious to everyone that 6 teams will not be good for SA rugby. We already have 2 bottom feeding teams, why would we want another?

SARU are thick as planks. Now what are they going to do.

The only solution is to apologise to the Kings for getting their hopes up, and tell them to fark off again.

• 43.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-36: in short.. Sarfu will decide who the conferances/franchises will be…..

Those conferances/franchises will then get the income…

remember that this hasn’t got a lot to do with rugby…. actually nothing at all.

I might not be economically viable but politically it is… (as they tell me)…. :lol:

• 44.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

ASA face liquidation hurdle
    2012-02-14 09:01Email | Print

Related Links
    SA athletes build on form Caster to run less in SA Powell headlines NY meet Johannesburg – Athletics SA (ASA) could face liquidation if it failed to repay a R7 million debt to a sports promotion company, Beeld newspaper reported on Tuesday.

Chairman of the promotion company, Accelerate Sport, is Gideon Sam, who was previously chairman of the SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC).

Rian Oberholzer, previous executive head of the SA Rugby Union, is also a director of the company, Beeld reported.

According to Oberholzer, there was a strong possibility ASA would be liquidated if the debt was not repaid.

Oberholzer said all avenues were being considered to recover the money,

“We came to an agreement on several occasions, but ASA never keeps its word. Our legal representatives are in discussions with the ASA’s legal team.”

According to Oberholzer, ASA owed Accelerate Sport a commission for the Yellow Pages and Nedbank sponsorships, and for television broadcasting rights.

ASA chairperson James Evans denied the organisation owed Accelerate Sport any money. According to him, contractual obligations were suspended in 2008.

These moges are as bad as the highlife lions.

******* broederbond.

• 45.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@RugbyStudent-33:
    in case you have not noticed, this is not about the cc comp and is instead about the sr comp. a comp in which the lions have come last 10 out of 16 times on the sa log. not to mention the overall log.

• 46.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-41: No multi tasking

• 47.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Staal-43:

But the 14 unions control SARU, and the Big 5 stand united. And their little partners in their regions – the Leopards, Pumas, Falcons, Griquas, Griffons will vote with them.

So there’s your majority deicision right there. The allocations remain as they are. Cheers Kings.

• 48.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-39:

indeed.

I am secure enough in my masculinity to deal with it.

Happy Valentines day my lovely.

• 49.sonofgun: Reply to this comment

The Kings haven’t been able to qualify for the top level of our own Currie Cup yet, and Saru is not giving them free passage into that competition, so why should SANZAR change the format of Super Rugby for their inclusion? It seems clear to me that the Kings idea needs some fundamental changes. First of all, there is no point in adding the financial burden of an extra union, administrative team, management, coaching staff and player contracts to an area that already had 3 unions struggling to survive financially. The Kings should have been birthed through Border, EP and SWD all voluntarily merging into one streamlined union, at least at professional senior level. If all of the resources spread across the current 3 squads were instead focused on one Kings squad, plus u21s and u19s, they would be able to invest far more deeply into the top tier of rugby in the Eastern Cape, and attract/retain better players.

If the Eastern Cape wants collective Super Rugby, then the 3 old provinces should throw their lot in properly with the Kings, instead of trying to have the best of both worlds. It also seems logical to me that the Kings calls for inclusion in Super Rugby should never be at the expense of a union currently more successful that they are. Either they need to build strength and be ready in 2015 to give a good account of themselves in an expanded format, or they need to deliver on the field, get promoted to the top level of the Currie Cup and finish a season ahead of one of the 5 incumbents. At the very least we’re looking at 2 years before the Kings have a valid claim for inclusion ahead of an existing team. In the meantime, they should be doing away with the minor failed unions, and putting everything they have into making the Kings one of the top 5 sides in SA.

• 50.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-47: Cheers Kings… hoop jy’s reg!

• 51.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Staal-50: Let the Kings play cc this year , but no they can’t they have just been included in T20 as Impis

• 52.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-30: “lame diversionary tactics ” :lol:

@Transformation-30: the point is you are punting for inclusion NOW for the kings bunch of incompetents at the expense of other incompetents?

hypocritical much?

@RugbyStudent-28: the cheetahs and naka drotske?

no bud, they won a bunch of cc’s.

you know, those things that ep hasnt sniffed in about 50 years and the stormers either for that matter :lol:

what now?

@stormersboy-32: haha ja they are being given things they dont deserve.

@the artist formerly known as gunther-35: haha, make it michellin then i can look bloated like a saru pig.

• 53.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-52:

Magtag when did you get so moeilik

• 54.patch: Reply to this comment

Instead of being included into the super rugby tournement they should first be included in the CC. That would be the rugby decision but what it seem to have happened is the inclusion to super rugby was more of a money decision. Thinking that even if they in the competition and come stone last lose every game. the return for just being in the compo will be great, ppl will come far and wide in the eastern cape to watch this might team who last major performance was in the first division of SA rugby.

• 55.capebull: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-52: Name the Kings team that will do better than any of the current teams

• 56.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Keohane you misery

Choose another topic already

• 57.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-53: :lol:

ag this is my stress outlet.

as you know, i am actually a far more pleasant oke than i come across here :lol:

• 58.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-56: Kokane?

• 59.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-57:

Indeed

I hope all you people sorted the ladies out today

Otherwise you all be in a world of trouble later.

• 60.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@capebull-58:

Ja.

The stuff that Kirchner takes.

• 61.iamthebear: Reply to this comment

I for one think there are already far too many teams in the Super Rugby tournament. There are too many games and too many weak sides playing. I for one want the tournament to revert back to a Super 12. How the three countries award franchise spots in the tournament will be their own problem, either by relegation matches or a simple worst performing team replacement system.

Does anyone remember how long the tournament dragged on last year? Too many games. Too many empty stadiums as a result.

• 62.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-59:

That we did, Dawn.

• 63.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-59: haha, done deal.

who is this man you woke up next to btw?

is it serious?

• 64.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-63:

Moi?

Where? Who?

• 65.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@iamthebear-61: i for two!

• 66.rangerman: Reply to this comment

you said on yesterdays thread that you had a hangover and had to sneak out to not disturb the oke sleeping in your bed?

• 67.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-52: no, that is for SARU to decide, they’ve had since the British & Irish Lions tour in 2009 to discuss, decide and recommend HOW this will go down.

you can afford to be smug and facetious your home union is currently “eating” alone uninterrupted at the trough :lol:

• 68.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-66:

That was an imposter!

Ek is nie so nie!

Nic stealer.

• 69.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

I will put R100 on the fact that the Kings will not see SupeRugby in 2013.

So rest easy folks, your teams are safe.

• 70.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-47:
    you must remember tac that the unions control only saru (the amateur arm) and not sa rugby (pty) ltd (the commercial/professional arm), per se, which in turn controls the super comp. so, while they may be able to easily force changes to the saru board or its operations they will/are not as easily able to force changes to sa rugby (pty) ltd in terms of its members or operations.

not quite so simple after all.

• 71.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-67: and whose fault is that transie?

your own people sold you down the river pal, no one forced ep to take the money.

@Dawn-68: oooh, ok, didnt have much time to read yesterday.

nic stealing swine.

• 72.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-68:

shame really.

we were rooting for you to come right.

• 73.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-69:

Pissant

How about settling on the next best thing – guaranteed participation in the Currie Cup premier division for the next 3 years.

Getting Premier Division Currie Cup rugby in PE will generate a lot of income, plus sponsors will climb onboard due to the TV exposure the team will be getting.

That can be the springboard for eventual Super Rugby participation.

• 74.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-59: where is Skop? since he’s already rubbished Christmas I want to hear his take on Valentine’s Day :D

• 75.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-73:

Absolutely, in fact there was even a better proposal on the cards than that – and that was the Kings participating in an international competition until 2015 similar to a SupeRugby competition between them and the USA (top Eastern and Western Conference).

If you are really brave include an Argie team in there too!

What pisses me off Tac is this Kings issue has been an issue since 2005, we are in 2012 already for goodness sake and still no solution has been found. SA Rugby has wasted 7 years on this issue and in the end RUGBY suffers.

Don’t forget, Hoskins was there in 2005 already, he has been part of this debacle since the start.

• 76.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-71: it’s the snivelling sneaky guppys! it’s their fault. in a corrupt relationship there’s a corruptor and a corruptee :lol:

there were serious kickbacks to the then EP management from the KZNRU for them to take the cash, this is well known buddy!

• 77.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

And what does Hoskins do now?

Uhm, okay here you go 14 unions – we cannot sort this **** out, you sort it out….

• 78.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-73: Have you had any top flight domestic rugby in your neck of the woods since Danie Gerber?

• 79.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-75:

Personally, I love Hoskins. He is the perfect man for maintaining the status quo, while still making all the right noises.

But coming back to the Kings, I think we should give them Currie Cup rugby. But that might require an 8 team Currie Cup again, as it will prevent any of the other smaller unions from ever participating in the Premier Division.

• 80.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Ag man, let them play promotion/relegation. If the Kings are so **** then they won’t qualify right? I’m saying it will be more interesting if they do qualify.

• 81.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@RugbyStudent-80:

Well that’s the problem. They will never qualify on their own. And then we’ll get Keo bombarding us with King’s lamentations until we all go mad.

So just get them into the Currie Cup to stop all the moaning.

• 82.Transformation: Reply to this comment

go Madibaz!

the Shimlaz got to cape town and moer the Ikeys and our boytjies go to Bloem and smack the Shimlaz :D

Madibaz shock Shimlas in Varsity Cup
    Sapa | 14 February, 2012 08:271 Comments

There were three away wins in the second round of the Varsity Cup, with two dramatic victories coming in the final seconds of regulation time in Potchefstroom and Bloemfontein on Monday night.

In easily the biggest upset in the five-year history of this rugby tournament, the Madibaz beat the Shimlas thanks to a last-second André Goosen try in Bloemfontein, as the visitors scored two tries in the final three minutes to pull off an unlikely victory.

The Shimlas, who led 18-5 at half-time, would have been very confident heading into this encounter against a team they had never lost against before and after their first-round triumph over The University of Cape Town (UCT) last week.

But the Madibaz showed great spirit and resolve throughout and when replacement Bradley Kretzman slotted the winning conversion from the right-hand touchline — the new points-scoring system no doubt playing into NMMU’s hands here! —the Men from Port Elizabeth pulled off easily the greatest Houdini act in the history of this tournament.

• 83.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-79:

Maintaining the status quo is exactly why I think he is a poor leader for the organisation.

SA Rugby has screwed itself 10 times over in the last 7 years because no-one is capable of making decisions.

• 84.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-82:

Amazing. Those guys are usually utterly useless.

• 85.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-83:

What if you’re in favour of the status quo? Then Hoskins is just what the doctor ordered.

Not everyone’s a revolutionary, PA.

• 86.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-76: well known eh?

sounds like the loch ness monster.

anyway i am pleased as punch we got rid of your bunch of anklebiters years ago. thanks for stefan though.

@Tacitus-79: i agree. an 8 team cc . big five with griquas, the kings and boland.

let that group play til 2015 and then expand the s15 comp or promo/relegation time on a year by year basis.

• 87.Jeez: Reply to this comment

“They are realistic about the number of franchises they can field before the quality of those franchises is compromised”

HAHA! That was a nice little jab at the Lions,the Cheetahs and the Kings.

So what is SARU going to do? Break a promise to the Kings or break their promise to the franchises?

What a Fup. No-one wants to budge an inch. Somethings gotta give. What will it be?
    I say tell the Kings to keep their pants on for another year or two, they sure as helll still need a year or to to get better structures to nurture and develop their apparent colossal pool of young talent.

• 88.SHARKattack: Reply to this comment

Chabal heading to Super Rugby

14th February 2012 08:27

Sébastien Chabal: In need of a new club

Former France forward Sébastien Chabal has declared his intention to ply his trade in Australia after parting ways with Racing Metro.

Chabal is a free agent after he leaving Racing earlier in the month following a fall out with president Jacky Lorenzetti and a reported bust up with manager Pierre Berbizier.

It had been believed that the former Sale man would look to stay in France, with a move to a Paris-based club his preference. However, it now appears he may be heading in a completely different direction.

“I’m going to play in Australia soon,” he told French TV channel RMC, refusing to add any further details.

The signing of Chabal would appear to be the kind of move that new Brumbies boss Jake White would engineer but having already brought in three new loose forwards, he appears well stocked in that department, especially as captaincy contender Ben Mowen is a number eight.

The Rebels are another possible destination, with the Melbourne outfit offered a special dispensation that allows them to carry more foreigners than the other Australian franchises.

The Force, Reds and Waratahs all already have a Wallaby packing down at the back of the scrum. However, Chabal’s versatility and a star power would make him a valuable addition to any squad.

• 89.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-83: Correct. Any successful organisation has this in common.

Decisive leadership

• 90.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-82: yup, andre goosen and bradley kretzmann.

two shining examples of the hotbes of black talent in the ec.

gotta go, have a good day trans!

• 91.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-73: I like this idea id they are going to get special treatment, why not start with the currie cup….

• 92.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-86: Stefan Terreblanche?

He was ours. But didn’t get picked in the 30 man squad and was put in the “pool” for the rest of the country to make offers on.

And the rest is history.

He’s not the only guy that we’ve done that to.

Cabous
    Noble

the list is long.

• 93.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-84: you need to move from the EC Tac, what a self proclaimed elite afrikaner like you doing in this “corrupt” place? you should be hobnobbing with the other well-to-do people in Kaapstad or Joberg. :lol:

• 94.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-93:

Someone has to fly the flag!

• 95.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-93:

forced removals?

I didn’t realise that was your style.

• 96.Jeez: Reply to this comment

If the SA teams did boycot the tournament it would be pretty cool. SARU always says ja and amen to SANZAR, why? They always have the last say! Screw those Nauzzi pricks.

• 97.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Man, at this stage the Kings haven’t even qualified for the proper Currie Cup yet, let alone Super Rugby. Why should they even be gifted a spot in the former at the expense of, probably, the Pumas, Griquas or Boland? I say Cheeky should put his dirty money where his big mouth is. Qualify properly in this year’s CC premier division for inclusion in 2013. Then end up one of the top 5 CC unions and be admitted to the S15 in 2014. Wouldn’t that be fair? And considering their staggering 200 000 player base, they should hardly break a sweat.

• 98.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-85:

The status quo has allowed for Australia to screw us into a Super Rugby conference system which has zero benefit to the game in SA – in fact, in a competition where SA contributes 70% of the television viewers the Newscorp Broadcast Profits or funds are shared evenly between all three partners.

The status quo has all but destroyed the oldest domestic competition in the world, one I know you love – the Currie Cup.

The status quo has allowed board members to select a Springbok team to appease politicians. I can point you towards the comments on this site when Luke Watson was forced onto Jake White by Hoskins.

The status quo has downgraded the Springbok emblem from the left breast to the right breast and now to the sleave of the shirt. A move given comments on every social media blog drew the ire of the average rugby supporter.

The stauts quo has allowed for political interference to take precedence of performance in selecting the national coach in 2008. This is from you personally.

Should I go on?

• 99.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-95: you’re taking that line because you secretly don’t want Tac in Cape Town to embraboer you :lol:

you like him, but only from ver.

• 100.dizzy1273: Reply to this comment

Reguit Rugby
    Hi ouens. Episode 5 is nou beskibaar. Daar is wel ‘n verandering aangebring. Die episode is in 3 dele geskiet. Hier is hulle en geniet.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VJkK1LsdLV0 (Deel1)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uKJPN-CVdpg (Deel2)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuO0xpZEoVI (Deel3)

Hi guys. Episode 5 is now available. We have made a few changes. This episode was shot in 3 parts. Here they are and enjoy.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VJkK1LsdLV0 (Part1)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uKJPN-CVdpg (Part2)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuO0xpZEoVI (Part3)

• 101.SHARKattack: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-74: Skop is a Jehovah’s Witness:-)

• 102.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-98: all of what you said is fine as long as cheeky watson and his perceived ANC mates stay out of rugby, plus the blue bulls have won 3 super rugby titles while hoskins was at the helm, so who is complaining?

also, hoskins has just been elected into the IRB big league

• 103.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-102:

• 104.Train: Reply to this comment

Believe a bit of hatchet job is being performed on the Super Rugby teams. SARU Without the Boks and Super Rugby is a non entity.

SARU as custodians of the SA game should of thought of this before confirming the Spears’ super rugby participation….. Jeepers what are those guys paid to do if it’s not to sort these things out.

I feel particularly sorry for the Lions. There is no coincidence in the pressure Creditors are putting on them ( in particular the neg publicity) and the emergence of the Spears.

I in particle

• 105.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-102:

“perceived ANC mates”

hahhaha

like it’s a perception.

I see what you did there.

You are like PE’s answer to Chris Rock.

• 106.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@SHARKattack-101: I think they put him in the Jehovah’s Witness Protection Programme for his own good.

• 107.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

The biggest mistake anyone could make is to think that the Watson cartell is in this for altruistic reasons.

• 108.Train: Reply to this comment

The SA teams should boycott Super Rugby. SARU is patently spineless and the Aussies (in particular) and the Kiwis need us more than we need them. In relative terms our domestic rugby is a much stronger brand than theirs and we can fall back on it while this mess is sorted.

Keo says we should call the Super Rugby teams bluff. I say they should call SARU and SANZAR’s bluff

• 109.cane: Reply to this comment

I do hope the existing SA Big 5 boycott the Super Comp in 2013.

Newscorp, and Sanzar will drag their sorry sad arses through every Court from the Veld to the Sea. Sucking millions and millions out of their coffers.

And new Teams will emerge stacked with SA talent. Boland, Griqualand West, EP, Border.

This just keeps getting better and better.
    Go on Bullies, Lions, Cheats, Brokebacks and Guppies…………………………………………….make my day.

• 110.RL: Reply to this comment

It does not take an Einstein to work out why the 16 team format was rejected. The only thing that makes sense with the conference system is the guaranteed 8 home matches for each team. So did Hoskins really think that half the teams were going to settle for 7 home matches, sacrifice a home match just to accommodate his political promise?

What a doff kop he is and Jurie Roux went with this plan. No s.crew those Kings … turns out those pricks rejected the notion of playing a promotion relegation match against the last placed SA team – I wonder why.

What gives them the right to try and take from the haves for their have-nots to have. Crazy stuff I tell you, just crazy.

• 111.cane: Reply to this comment

@Train-108:

“and the Kiwis need us more than we need them”.

Lets wait and see who needs who come the Boycott shall we. A boycott would be devesting financially for all 5 existing SA franchises.

• 112.Train: Reply to this comment

So Cane, once they dragged their sorry arses through the courts what will they have to show for it? Even if they take everything they’ve got they won’t recoup their losses.

Notwithstanding this point I do believe this announcement and it’s implications have a material impact on their ongoing business prospects

• 113.Train: Reply to this comment

So dragging their sorry asses through court may not be so straightforward

• 114.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-105: get it straight G, in 2005 when the Presidents Council resolved that the South Eastern Cape have to be represented in Super Rugby Cheeky Watson was nowhere near the management of EP Rugby, he wasn’t even a non-executive member. i find it humourous every time this thing is linked to Cheeky & the ANC as if it was his brainchild. :roll: :mrgreen:

• 115.Train: Reply to this comment

Cane
    SA has a sustainable domestic competition. The Aussies don’t and the NPC as a brand is weaker than the Currie Cup.

Ultimately however this is something for SARU to sort out as they created this mess but SANZAR should realise on which side their bread is buttered

• 116.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-114: Fukkensemantics, bro. Either this is a politically meddled decision or it is not.

And if it is (which it most certainly is), then it is no doubt under ANC-led instructions.

And Cheeky has been hand om die blaas with his strugglebuds ever since he started eyeing this vacant kingdom.

You can’t bullshit a bullshitter.

• 117.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

The boycott idea is stupid, and was in fact never on the table.

The 5 SA franchises never threatened SANZAR. They simply told SARU to back off.

• 118.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-103: i can’t wait ’til we get back to headlines like this :D

Spears claim R14.9m from Saru
    18 Sep 2006

Spears CEO Tony McKeever has slammed Saru’s move to buy controlling shares in the franchise, arguing they are owed R14.9 million by the national body.

In a strongly worded statement McKeever explained what was going on behind the scenes to ensure that the Lions would take part in next year’s Vodacom Super 14.

“The latest SA Rugby wrecking ball tactics are being driven by Koos Basson and Basil Haddad (acting managing director and CFO and past CEO of Border and previous MD of the Despatch newspaper), who tabled this proposal to the three presidents of Border, Eastern Province and SWD, the day before the Springbok Wallaby Test at Ellis Park and are using their ‘inside’ mole and contact of acting CEO of Border, Syd Loubser, to be their foot soldier and Judas within Border and the Spears,” said McKeever.

“This is intended to derail the Spears High Court hearing for a Rule 49-11 on 26 September for the enforcement of 4 August order and compensation for the substitution of 14 games from the 2006 Absa Currie Cup. This is R7.5 million, plus the R6.4 million still owed by SA Rugby till December 2006 is R14.9 million.

“[These are] reasons why SA Rugby are scrambling. It also screams that SA Rugby have no confidence in their court application on the 26 September.”

• 119.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-116:

Speaking of fingers in pies, I reckon Keo is up to his neck in some serious conflicts of interest with the whole Kings story.

He and his cronies are honing in on the most vulnerable of the Big 5 – the Lions – like a pack of hyenas targeting an injured buffalo, but if the Lions weren’t going through financial troubles he would have picked whichever other franchise he perceived as most vulnerable.

Anything to get his pal Cheeky and his political buddies a share of the rugby pie.

• 120.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-116: speculate all you want, WHERE was cheeky watson in 2005 when the Presidents Council made the resolution and mandated SARU to form the SPEARS franchise?

where was he? :lol:

• 121.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-120:

Busy getting fat on BEE deals in other spheres of society. He has now just moved his greedy sights on to target the rugby pie.

• 122.zoo cleaner: Reply to this comment

Maybe this will force the entire structure to become professional.

Too many blazers, not enough professionals.

We need to be realistic. Super Rugby is the top competition. Therefore lets just be frikken honest with ourselves and accept that. Stuffing S15 and Currie Cup with 10 Tests in one “season” is way too much rugby for the players and also the fans.

Its not a “season” its a year.

Check the Superbowl. The two finalists played 19 games the entire season. 19 games!!! But please see the viewing figures. Fans are so hungry for the season that they lap up each and every minute of it, the gate takings are almost guaranteed to be full and TV viewership is immense.

But rugby, bless its amateur socks, just thinks more equals better. Now our teams play what, 45 games a season – almost every weekend. Sometimes I couldn’t be bothered to watch a minute of S15, when in the past (like the S12 days) a 5-game Saturday was a special day.

My solution is simple. The tournament of the future (we’re stuffed with this rubbish till 2015) is one with 6 SA franchises. CT, PE, Durbs, Bloem, JHB and PTA each get a team. They play at one stadium each – no more of this trekking to outlying areas. That’s for amateurs.

After that we have international season and then a break from the end of 4N till the start of the Super Tournament. This way we could also get an international season by playing from late Feb to August.

Fans are not as hungry for rugby as they used to be. Players are playing for an enormously long season so they don’t commit as heavily as they used to. Thus the rugby is a little more like touch rugby.

Make us hungry again. The last great rugby we’ve seen was the 2009 Lions Series, what a bash-fest!!!

If the Currie Cup is deemed unmissable then Super Rugby must be left to the Aussies and Kiwis and SA goes it alone like in the old days.

We simply cannot have both anymore. Besides, too much of a good thing makes it boring and stale.

SARU have to sit down and realize that less rugby equals hungrier fans, which equals bigger viewing figures, which equals bigger money. Just check the Superbowl.

• 123.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-116: between yourself and Tacitus, you clearly find comfort in speculating about the goings-on during President Council meetings :D do you okes have “impeccable sources” in SA Rugby?

surely you can’t expect us to believe your speculative bullshit about “political meddling” just because YOU have come up with it :D

• 124.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-123:

Hang on, are you saying the Kings are being pushed for NON-political reasons?

Are you seriously suggesting that?

• 125.cane: Reply to this comment

@Train-112:

SA will still field 5 Teams.
    5 New Teams.

I think the paying public in NZ and Australia would like this. A kind of revitalisation.

And Aussie do have a domestic Comp. It’s called the Super 15 Australian Conference…………………………………………………….and you Okes gave it to them.

And they love it.

• 126.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-121: so in your mind, the idea that the Presidents Council had in 2005, loses credibilty as soon as Cheeky gets involved? :D

• 127.Dawn: Reply to this comment

WE HAVE BEEN THROUGH THIS, PEOPLE

• 128.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@zoo cleaner-122:

Don’t come with logic and practical examples now.

Rugby okes reckon they are thinking out of the boks, meanwhile, they are thinking like one.

• 129.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-124: what political reasons did the Presidents Council have, tell us? :D

• 130.Train: Reply to this comment

Cane
    Glad the Aussies and Kiwis will love them but at the end of the day they don’t have the same kind of money as the average saffer rugby supporter. There are less if them, they spend less on watching the game and don’t have the same kind of disposable income as the Saffers. Pity really

• 131.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-129:

Listen to me veerrryy carefully. I’m gonna say this only once.

Your posts will carry much more weight and be taken far more seriously IF YOU LOSE THE FECKING STUPID IDIOTIC SMILEY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 132.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-127: what would you rather we talk about Dawn, Valentine’s Day?

• 133.zoo cleaner: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-128:

Sorry, should have known better!!!

• 134.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-131: :mrgreen: niiiiicceeee

• 135.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Trannie

Is your memory that short? They voted for it at various times to avoid amongst other things losing the Bok emblem, quotas at Bok level or losing their passports to Butane Compellor.

Don’t come and play the innocent now.

• 136.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-134:

Man I’m being serious.

I’m trying to help you get keo cred here.

That smiley aint helping your cause.

Do you see Gravitas Tacitus putting smiley at end of every post.

No.

• 137.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-135: so it was never their intention to include SWD, EP & Border in Super Rugby, those unions can just stay playing craven week and churning out talented school boy players for the “elite” to swoop them up and offer them lucrative contracts faciliated by Super Rugby participation? ahhhh i get you now :D

• 138.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-123: So, if not the Sports Ministry and the usual connected school of sucker fish that follow such decisions around, then WHO insisted on the inclusion of a team from the Xhosa heartland, regardless of whether they can beat anyone?

• 139.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-136: like i give a f(uck about gravitas :D

• 140.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@cane-125:
    you insufferable git.

• 141.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-139:

I know you don’t.

But Gravitas aside.

I am being serious.

As someone I once knew so famously said: “Farking smileys”!

• 142.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-138: was the fact that they’re the only unions not participating or benefitting not reason enough that SARU should consider including them? :roll:

• 143.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-142: And why were they not benefiting?

Come on, Transie, let’s not get caught up in ANC mediaspeak here, with selective memory and careful omission. They were not participating because they took the cash and rand when the Sharks offered them a well-earned divorce settlement. No one else kicked them out.

• 144.cane: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-136:

A strategical place “smilie” can intimate that the tone of your post is casual, engaging and non-confrontational.

I suspect this is Transie’s intent.

Tac is a Bully Boy…………………………………and an all together different beast. Embrace them both.

• 145.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-143: rand = ran

• 146.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Valentines day far more interesting and relevant to talk about than the 16 franchise bubble that gonna burst when rugby per se run’s out of money..

Lions may be the first to feel the big freeze busting their balls but they certainly ain’t gonna be the last

Somebody better start getting a little real because seems most are simply dreaming in dayglo multi coloured technicolor delusions.

• 147.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cane-144: Come on, it’ not that simple. Most people’s smileys here are the cyber equivalent of punching someone square on the nose and then saying “ha, just kidding”.

• 148.cane: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-140:

The only thing that would make me happier than seeing a Big 5 Boycott…………………………………………..would be to see Bakkies in Pink.

• 149.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Ok. So the consensus is that basically we have 2 camps here:

One camp that sees the Kings inclusion as politically motivated, quota inspired and excused by the myth that millions of people in the Eastern Cape play rugby with a fanaticism that would make Che Guevara look like a Sunday school teacher, even though they cannot make the premier division with said player base, losing out to the Boland (even though any time a player with a glimmer of talent pops up in the Boland team they are snatched up into the WP structure) in the last season but if they get chosen they will then have the money to stock their team with players from other provinces and compete. See the irony of the last part?

The other camp consist of Keo, who had an obvious interest and will start to punt this agenda even harder in the future, and Transie, who appears to be in this club but hasn’t come out and explained his point of view explicitly, preferring to rather hint at things through cleverly aimed questions directed at other bloggers’ posts.

Do I have it right?

Missed out on anyone??

• 150.cane: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-147:

Well yes ……………………………………there is that to.
    it’s a rough and tumble world here on Keo.

I’m surprised you Saffa’s have not invented the Eye Gouge icon.

• 151.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Cane,

SA currently brings in about 70% of the broadcasting revenue generated by Super Rugby.

Explain to me how NZ & OZ can continue to function without that kind of money?

If the SA franchises walks, you guys are deep in the 5h17 pal.

Boland, Griquas, Border… You think anyone in SA will want to watch them play?

If Hoskins grows a pair of balls, SANZAR will have no choice but to include the Kings.

• 152.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-119: Yep, keo and HSM are wading in murky water here.

Through sheer repetition they hope that this constant conflating of the Lions financial troubles with the Kings’ dirty promise will somehow convince people that one somehow involves the other.

Kicking the Lions out at a time like this almost certainly spells their death. But keo will have us believe that their financial misfortune is linked to the Kings inclusion.

• 153.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

• 154.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Ok. So the consensus is that basically we have 2 camps here: One camp that sees the Kings inclusion as politically motivated, quota inspired and excused by the myth that millions of people in the Eastern Cape play rugby with a fanaticism that would make Che Guevara look like a Sunday school teacher, even though they cannot make the premier division with said player base, losing out to the Boland (even though any time a player with a glimmer of talent pops up in the Boland team they are snatched up into the WP structure) in the last season but if they get chosen they will then have the money to stock their team with players from other provinces and compete. See the irony of the last part? The other camp consist of Keo, who had an obvious interest and will start to punt this agenda even harder in the future, and Transie, who appears to be in this club but hasn’t come out and explained his point of view explicitly, preferring to rather hint at things through cleverly aimed questions directed at other bloggers’ posts. Do I have it right? Missed out on anyone??

• 155.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-151:

Oh yes,

And while SA brings in near 70% of the broadcast revenue, they are forced to share it equally with NZ & Australia.

Now the Australasian teams want to take it even further, by wanting to share the revenue generated from ticket sales. Want an even bigger share of the pie because they can’t get people to watch, unlike SA, where supporters actually turn out to watch their respective teams play (excluding the Lions & Cheetahs).

Super Rugby won’t last forever. SARU would be better off teaming up with Europe where they could make more money.

I long for that day.

• 156.RL: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-154: I see that the Keo dwarf is putting all of his spin into the Kings … he is having a Twitter war with Lions fans. Little does the little man know he is in danger of a moering of note – next time he steps off the Gautrain.

• 157.Michael: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-154: Not quite. There is a history of Black rugby in the Eastern Cape which is largely unknown by the white population in SA.

• 158.Michael: Reply to this comment

@RL-156: Pfft. He’ll merely step through everyone’s legs and they won’t spot him at knee height.

• 159.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-142:
    i for one agree with you on this issue. the spears should get a shot at super rugby and whether they do well or not in at least the first 5 years is immaterial. this may very well either strengthen or weaken eastern cape rugby in the long run so lets go through the process of finding out.

an unintended consequence is that it may also in the long run strengthen and improve the health of the big five unions as a whole (i really just mean the lions and cheetahs when i say this) if they have to deal with the threat of relegation at the end of a season as opposed to just happily rueing the fact they did not win the title (again).

sure, there will be the pain of sitting out a year for one of the unions but the gain will be four very, very hungry unions doing all they can on the field every season to avoid going down. this should make them competetive as ffuck against the oz and nz teams as much as they get their backs up for the local derbies.

who knows maybe the format will even be extended in the future to accomadate six sa teams, so the danger years may only be about 4 or 5.

• 160.cane: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-151:

SA brings NO revenue to NZ or Australia.

NEWSCORP does.

And yes NewsCorp makes many millions on-selling TV rights to SA broadcasters. As it does on-selling rights to the USA, Japan, Europe etc…………..

SA also take a larger slice of the pie than their other two Sanzar partners.

Now a smaller pie……………………………………..with a 50/50 split may not be a totally bad option.

• 161.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-137:
    Transie, even if the Kings did play super rugby with these talented schoolboys that the region apparently keeps churning out, how long will it be before the players get tired of getting dicked every weekend and want out of the Kings setup anyway?

The most talented of them will want to move and will get snapped up by one of the bigger unions anyway. a) for the quality of rugby and b) for the bigger paycheck.
    Labour Economics 101

• 162.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Michael-157: Oh ok. So then it would be fair to say that they are fanatical, but just not very good at it??

Isn’t sport a meritocracy?

• 163.cane: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-155:

Do you really think the Euro Trash would want to Team up with the SARU, given the current and almost continuoues state of flux that SA Rugby is in?

• 164.XV: Reply to this comment

NZ and Aus need SA. Its about time we pushed our weight around. Greg Peters is a muppet. If the Kings cannot be incorporated then I am all for a boycott. At long last all SA teams are standing together. Why continue in a competition when it benefits NZ and Australia at the expense of SA? Anyway there is more money in the Northern Hemisphere….so maybe its time we looked north.

Guys stop bitching about the Kings. If given the opportunity to compete then they will be competitive. Sport is a business now…..the teams that get the business end right thrive. That is why the Bulls excel and the Stormers do not. And SA has more than enough talent to sustain 6 teams.

• 165.Nils: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-155: “SARU would be better off teaming up with Europe”

Sounds like Europe waits with open arms to add into their own crammed season and packed, well established competitions another participants from other part of the globe.

And then SARU would tell them to include Cheeky Kings into Heineken cup for good measure. ;)

Do not get me wrong, I would love to see best SA teams competing with the best of Europe on regular basis, to see how the likes of Toulouse or Munster or Leicester would fare at Loftus or Kings Park, or Bullies at Thormond Park etc. etc. I really would.

I just do not see on what is based that nude optimism that Europe are waiting and all that is required for eternal happiness is to arrive up north and announce here we are, welcome us. I’m afraid they ain’t waiting at all.

Except for fresh valuable imports for THEIR OWN teams.

• 166.Nils: Reply to this comment

@XV-164: “Anyway there is more money in the Northern Hemisphere….so maybe its time we looked north. ”

Ditto.

• 167.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@cane-148:
    i dont think bakkies will ever play for the bulls again. he will see out his rugby at toulon or perhaps japan or somewhere arbitrary if not toulon. you must remember he had a shaky love/hate relationship with the bbc and was forced to see out his contract in court at one stage.

i do however believe he will play for the springboks again. i believe this in my heart of hearts.

• 168.XV: Reply to this comment

@Nils-166: as I say Sport is big business now. If SA’s participation makes more business sense than they will be incorporated by the North. Simple economics.

• 169.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

I don’t care as long as luke gets to play super rugby.

• 170.Michael: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-162: There is no level playing field at the moment, including comparative access to facilities. The steps being taken in the Eastern Cape by Cheeky and Solomon are in the right direction and will pay dividends in the long term. What’s needed is more cash and what better way to attract crowds and sponsors than playing in the Super competition. The Kings will come right and their player base has the potential to be bigger than any other region. What’s happening now is protectionism by other provinces.

• 171.Michael: Reply to this comment

@XV-164: Stormers have thrived despite the best efforts of the administrators.

• 172.cane: Reply to this comment

@XV-164:

Keep pushing XV.

This could well be a very good thing for World Rugby.

“Legal Isolation”.

• 173.charo: Reply to this comment

the english version of this would be for accrington stanley to be promoted to the premier division simply because most of the tory cabinet come from there.

and newcastle to be demoted.

• 174.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

I see Keo’s twitter page is a veritable bukkake fest. The little guy, on his knees, taking shots from all comers, and gleefully gobbling it up. He is so full of it when it comes to the Kings’ inclusion that no rational person would question his dodgy motives.

• 175.cane: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-167:

Your devotion to The Thug a beautiful thing au revoir.

(and without being callous, trite or sarcastic……………………………….I can partially understand your admiration).

• 176.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@cane-163:

Keep telling yourself that bud.

@Nils-165:

It would mean changing the structure of the European season, but something that could easily be done.

Can’t see the top European clubs declining an invitation to play in a tournament featuring the best they, and SA have to offer. More money for all.

• 177.XV: Reply to this comment

@Michael-171: fair point Michael. Imagine if they were properly run?

Cane sadly geographical location and numbers will always be a liability for NZ sport. Think with your head and not your heart.

In addition, did the NZ rugby board not threaten to boycott internationals based upon what they deemed their fare share of the pie? kettle black?

• 178.Nils: Reply to this comment

@XV-168: Right. Of course, SARU may try this and let’s see what happens.

• 179.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@cane-160:

Have fun trying to get big money out of NewsCorp when SA no longer participates.

NZ domestic rugby will go down the drain.

• 180.Nils: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-176: I just haven’t seen any indications in Europe about willingness changing things to acommodate guests from the south, they look pretty comfortable in status quo.

Let’s just wait for that SA offer and see what happens.

• 181.XV: Reply to this comment

@charo-173: what about the American version of the Green Bay Packers? Small town and it won how many Super Bowls? But then again Americans know how to run professional sports.

• 182.itsamyth: Reply to this comment

That the Kings proposed inclusion is politically motivated and driven is a given unless you happen to live on the far side of the moon and have only just started receiving news from Earth. Whichever way you look at it, it is so straight-forwardly wrong on so many levels. To those Kiwis and Aussies who comment on this site and who seem to be supporting this move even if it means that one of the other 5 established sides miss out altogether, just how do you justify your thinking? Would this be tolerated in your countries? Would YOU tolerate such a ridiculous situation occuring in your countries? Surely, the first step must be for the Kings to enter the Currie Cup and prove themselves there before moving to the next level. All decent South Africans no matter what colour should strongly be opposing such unfair practices in the not-so-new-SA.

• 183.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Michael-170: Boet you’re an educated man.

Stop reading the Watson family website.

• 184.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

I just heard Keo on Radio 702, quite vocal for a little man. Not quite sure what he has against the Lions . He talked to the presenter like a charna and used words like “screwed” etc. What a tosser!

• 185.RL: Reply to this comment

Tonight my beautiful Lions will feast on Kings……………

The Lions will use their friendly match against a team made up of South Western District Eagles and Border Bulldogs players in George on Tuesday to give some players valuable game-time.

With less than two weeks before their first Super Rugby clash Lions coach John Mitchell will use this match to give some of his his frontline combinations an opportunity to gel as well as taking a look at some fringe players.

Flyhalf Elton Jantjies and inside centre Alwyn Hollenbach, who were so impressive in the Currie Cup last year, are both fighting fit and ready to go with Butch James on the bench and Doppies La Grange playing at outside centre.

Jantjies will be expected to resume the combination with scrumhalf Michael Bondesio and captain and No.8 Joshua Strauss that yielded such rich rewards in the Currie Cup while elsewhere in the team other players will be fighting for a place in the Super Rugby squad.

With the first-choice lock pairing of veterans Franco van der Merwe and Wikus van Heerden being rested for this match Ruan Botha and Hendrik Roodt will get a chance to start this game, with Stephan Greef on the bench, and all three will be hungry to make an impression on the coach.

In the front row former Maties captain Callie Visagie will want to show that he can slot in well between first-choice props Pat Cilliers and JC Janse van Rensburg, while current UJ hooker Francois du Toit is likely to be given a chance to show what he can offer off the bench.

Johan Lerm will be coaching the Eagles/Bulldogs combination and he is well aware that his side are up against a formidable outfit.

He told this website: “This is a great opportunity for our guys to play against the best in the country and we know that we are in for a serious test.”

Lerm has picked a side that is very similar to the team that ran the Cheetahs close in East London a couple of weeks ago and he is confident that they will step up to the challenge once again in George.

“We are playing such a strong team that there is no need to motivate my players. Hopefully we can build on the performance against the Cheetahs and improve on that.

“As long as we stay positive and play as a team rather than a group of individuals then we should give a good account of ourselves against the Lions’ stars,” added Lerm.

Lerm explained that on top of being familiar with each other from the Cheetahs game the team has been training together for a week, and are hoping for good support from the locals in George who he is sure will be out in force to see some of the big names in the Lions team.

The teams:

Lions: 15 Jaco Taute, 14 Deon van Rensburg, 13 Doppies la Grange, 12 Alwyn Hollenbach, 11 James Kamana, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Michael Bondesio, 8 Joshua Strauss (captain), 7 Derick Minnie, 6 Cobus Grobbelaar, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Hendrik Roodt, 3 Patric Cilliers, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg. Replacements: 16 Francois du Toit, 17 Jacobie Adriaanse, 18 Stephan Greeff, 19 Doppies le Roux, 20 Tian Meyer, 21 Butch James, 22 Lionel Mapoe.

Eagles/Bulldogs: 15 Mzwandile Stick, 14 Vuyo Mboto, 13 Kempie Rautenbach, 12 Elrich van Vuuren, 11 Alshawn Bock, 10 Cecil Dumond, 9 Johan Herbst, 8 Michael Vermaak, 7 Gareth Krause, 6 Lindon Hartnick, 5 Grant le Roux, 4 Lubabalo Mpyanda, 3 Dean Hopp, 2 Matthew Taljaard, 1 Jean Rossouw. Replacements: 16 Ruan Roberts, 17 Byron Schmidt, 18 Renier Schoeman, 19 Nonani Tonga, 20 Lubabalo Mzwakali, 21 Renier van Rooyen, 22 Monty Dumond.

Date: Tuesday, February 14 Venue: Outeniqua Park, George Kick-off: 18.00 (16.00 GMT) Referee: Marius Jonker Assistant referees: Cobus Wessels, Dilbert November

• 186.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Very funny column by Gary Boshoff on Sport24 on how similiar Heyneke and Divvy are as coaches.
    Scary thing is, I dont think hes being even remotely sarcastic. He actaully believes they are similiar.

• 187.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@cane-175:
    thanks cane… :grin:

• 188.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-186:

Relax and have a read.

I wouldn’t put them in the same boat, but some of the things he says are true.

Meyer is in danger of putting too much trust in senior players… As a representative team, all players in SA should be rewarded for their performance, and that alone.

I do think a player like Morne Steyn has a part to play though, and am reasonably confident that if he doesn’t take it too far, literally making all the Bulls into Springboks, then he should be successful in implementing a game plan that will have us playing rugby in the right areas and winning more often then not.

• 189.RL: Reply to this comment

@Lions_Soutie-184: really now.

• 190.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@RL-185:
    is it being televised?

• 191.Nils: Reply to this comment

@XV-181: Packers are unique team and they had the luxury of once-in-a-lifetime Lombardi. :)

• 192.Nils: Reply to this comment

@RL-185: Could you please keep us updating about Golden Lions v Cheeky Kings game?

• 193.RL: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-190: nope the carnage will not be televised.

• 194.RL: Reply to this comment

@Nils-192: I’ll do what I can. :cool:

• 195.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@RL-193:
    thats too bad. it takes on a whole new dimension in light of these super rugby shenanigans going on.

• 196.Nils: Reply to this comment

@RL-194: What is the kick-off time?

• 197.David: Reply to this comment

@cane-160:
    Do your sums. One third less games = 2/3 revenue divided by 2 =? Your cut doesn’t get any bigger except as a percentage of a smaller pot. That’s not counting the loss of the biggest market, SA..

• 198.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Gary Boshoff is almost as big a tosser as Mark Keohane.

• 199.RL: Reply to this comment

Date: Tuesday, February 14 Venue: Outeniqua Park, George Kick-off: 18.00 (16.00 GMT) Referee: Marius Jonker Assistant referees: Cobus Wessels, Dilbert Novemb

• 200.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-198: Nonsense. Keo’s at least a foot shorter.

• 201.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Dilbert November?????????????

seriously?

LMAO

• 202.clm: Reply to this comment

@Michael-157: wrong,they conveniently don’t wanna recognise it,because,if they do,it will go against their god-given belief that rugby can only be played in sa by the afrikaner.

• 203.Train: Reply to this comment

I am suprised no journalist has yet confronted the Lions creditors with questions or done a bit of digging.

Do you guys think GUMA will get a stake in the Spears and if so at what price? Do you think the spears will play games at Soccer city?

• 204.clm: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-195:how come?the kings are playing their b or c team.yes,if the lions don’t beat them convincingly then we might just have to wonder…….

• 205.clm: Reply to this comment

@Train-203: i am surprised that sars haven’t investigated them for tax fraud.how is it possible for two or more companies,connected to the lions,share one tax or vat number?

• 206.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@clm-205: Sheezus…. Capo with this comment you prove yourself to be one special kind of invalid…. I couldn’t insult you intelligence better if I tried…. Farken idjit of note

• 207.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@clm-204:
    lets be realistic about this.
    as bad as the lions have been in super rugby they would still make rude love to the kings under any and all circumstances irrespective of the teams fielded from now until jehovah comes.
    you saw what they did to the sharks’ super rugby outfit in the currie cup final.
    as well wp in the semi.

• 208.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…-207:

don’t talk to him about rude love.

for the sake of the poodles.

• 209.willievz: Reply to this comment

I am very interested in how SA Rugby will deal with this mess.

• 210.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Keohane on Twiiter is smugness personified. Stuff like “Lions fans better get used to their last season in Super Rugby” and more in that vein. He’s gloating like some little office brown-noser who just got promoted to stationery cupboard supervisor against all odds. If anyone has contact with him, tell the little urchin that 500 of the katman’s SA Ront say that the Kings will not be playing Super Rugby next year. If he has any balls and conviction, he can find me here and put his Watsondollars where his big mouth is.

• 211.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-210:

Mail him!

Follow him on twitter!

Tweet him!

• 212.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-210:

Keo’s tired old strategy is to repetitively state something as an established fact, in the hope that it will then become reality.

Butch James for starting World Cup 10 ring a bell?

Gert Smal a certainty for Bok coach?

Keohane says it in that indescribably irritating smug little way of his, which at the same time tries to convey the idea that he has inside konwledge that no one else has access to and that you’re an idiot for daring to dispute his omniscience.

Then when it doesn’t happen, he continues as if he never made an utter fool of himself. Or he tries to pretend that it DID in fact happen, but for the fine print. Again, recall the Butch-the-staring-Bok-flyhalf saga.

He’s a plonker. Just gotta accept it and read his posts in that light.

• 213.RL: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-210: that wee little man stole our Keo dollars – he and his leprecheaun mates will not think twice of robbing your house of all its valuables while you sleep. Beware the dwarf man.

• 214.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-212: He thinks that posting a banner ad here telling us about some journalism award he won makes him absolutely right in everything. The way he conflates the Lions’ financial trouble with the Kings’ so-called claim to Super Rugby is just baffling. What does the one have to do with the other? Yet he states over and bloody over that the one justifies the other, finish en klaar. My bullshit detector goes beserk when he starts making claims.

• 215.clm: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-210: well,he is perfectly entitled to his opinion …..and he might just be totally right.the pride will be no more after 2012 imho.

• 216.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-214:

Wasn’t he claiming at one stage that JWWW was cheap at twice the price?

Only to do an about turn once that relationship soured?

At the moment the Kings are his JWWW and every word he writes is of course absolutely unbiased and without any hidden agenda. He is just doing his civic duty, fighting in Cheeky’s corner.

• 217.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@clm-215: No one asked you.

And what’s more, many posters here have pets. So that restraining order the SPCA has against you should also prevent you from logging on here and entering our homes virtually.

Do the right thing and piss off.

• 218.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-216: Although it’s a tiny pond here in SA, keo reckons he’s the best spin money can buy in the sports marketing game.

• 219.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

What odds on Keo being paid by Cheeky to drive the nail into the Lions coffin?

• 220.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-218:

As I posted yesterday, I predict a massive “Racist expose” on the Lions or some other SARU affiliated organisation, to weaken SARU’s position utterly and basically force them to bend over and accept the Kings’ terms or else.

With Cheeky’s pals in parliament making big noises on cue, threatening armageddon-like investigations into whatever “claims” the expose supposedly unearthed.

That’s the type of dirty tricks I associate with these “spin doctors”. Just wait and see.

• 221.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-219: I’m sure Cheeky is fighting this on many fronts. It’s called a 360 degree strategy. Keo is probably one of many channels.

• 222.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-149: before you get yourself in knots making Kamps and making laagers so that you can easily deal with comments that you don’t agree with, this is what i said on the day of the announcement. :D

149.Transformation:
    27 Jan 2012, 13:15 pm

i don’t know why you lot are so worked up, this is how SARU strings the Eastern Cape along, how come if they can vote unanimously on the fact that the Kings should participate they can’t decide there and then how it will go down?

the Spears were ALSO promised that they were definitely going to play super rugby and what followed was Regan Hoskins using R10 million rand of SARU money in legal fees to get rid of the Spears.

this is what they did with the Currie Cup too, they decided 6 teams will make up Premier Div and only after the competition was done did they tell us, there will be no promotion/relegation games, so Boland’s win of the 1st Div is WORTHLESS

remember this post, the Kings won’t be playing Super rugby next year!

• 223.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-220: I wouldn’t be at all surprised. And keo will stick around with his new friends like a dog at a braai as long as the going appears to be good. But at the first sniff of the Eastern Cape ostracising itself again, and its rich benefactor pulling out like a fast-sobering groom on his stag night, then keo and HSM will turn tail and head for the next “sure thing”.

• 224.ET.: Reply to this comment

And so it goes on day after day, week after week, month after month and season after season for years upon years now. This one problem is fast approaching 10 years now.
    The same old cycle, the same old s hit, recycled and presented as if it is new.These dishonest misfits, kith and kin of the Kloppers,Naudes, Du Plessis, V.d Merwes(the founders of the Broederbond) go on and on about nothing in their religion of ugly rugby(or would thugby be more fitting).
    The cultural interferences and subsequent sins of the founders(they have given us S.A.rugby in its present, reformed, neo-racist format) being visited upon the children.
    The response of the children to all of this is merely to behave like sickly ‘manged’ dogs chasing their tails furiously cycle after cycle and getting just ‘f o k k en’ nowhere very fast.
    Stop your maddening cycle of dishonesty and move forwards. Even backwards to naked RACISM is better than this demeaning behaviour of supposedly ‘mature men’.

• 225.clm: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-217: this is an open forum and if you don’t like it you can always go and post on the koeksister website where you have to provide your id number for acceptance. :D

• 226.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-174: Thank you for that nauseating mental image.

• 227.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@clm-225: I don’t know that site. So why don’t you go there and I’ll stay here?

• 228.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@ET.-224:

What

the

F&^%!

are you doing here?

Get back to your kennel. Dimwit.

• 229.Jeez: Reply to this comment

How do you get fired from SARU? Or how do you get appointed to be one of the big guns at SARU??

• 230.clm: Reply to this comment

@ET.-224: i believe that this race-based entitlement comes down to that vow the plonkers made at bloedrivier.

• 231.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-222: I’ve stood on record stating that the inclusion of the kings would probably be to WP’s benefit.

What is unclear to me, and that’s why I mentioned it, is where you stand on the issue.

I know what you think will happen. That the Kings will probably get shafted (I personally am not sure)

But what I’m keen to hear from you is what you would like to see happen and why.

I.e. I think that the Kings should/shouldn’t (delete whichever isn’t applicable) be included next year and why/why not.

Really keen to hear your thoughts.

• 232.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-226: I aim to please.

• 233.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-228:

• 234.clm: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-227: i am not eligible…..you have to pass the pencil test and have a ox-wagon license.

• 235.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-233:

Sorry about that. It was uncharacteristic of me. I’ll switch on the ignore function again.

• 236.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-235:

No problem.

I see you are human after all.

• 237.ET.: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as Cun.t(her)-48:

” I am secure enough in my masculinity …. ”

WHAT? Really now?
    Do you not truly mean that shameful ‘shemalinity’?

Surely even you know the essence of “masculinity” is the pitter-patter of children’s feet scurrying across the floor. Wonderful sound even on a Valentine’s Day.

How many pairs of feet has this ‘shigolo’, Cun.t(her), blessed S.A. with? Is it 10?
    Is that figure one misplaced in front of the zero(0)?

Have you used the ‘mielies en hoender ‘ remedy yet?

Have you unravelled the wise use of the magical “haploid cells”? Do you even know that it has the ‘n’ number of genes and not the ’2n’ number?

You have dug this hole so call it what you may,

• 238.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@clm-230: Nope, more from not f ucking up pretty much everything we touch

• 239.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@ET.-237:

nope read it again.

you impotent old cape spanish troll.

• 240.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@ET.-237: I believe you are very sort after as a spelling teacher?

• 241.clm: Reply to this comment

@ET.-237: i understand he is the pink bunny at mavericks.

• 242.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-240:

Indeed. his sort is sort after.

• 243.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@clm-241:

And how would you know that.

• 244.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-231: all i want is for all the unions affiliated to SARU to be included in Super Rugby so that all the benefits that accrue from that competition are shared EQUITABLY.

• 245.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-240:

whenever he isn’t quirping.

he’s a regular corpus our khakiballs.

• 246.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-244: Is it shared equitably in NZ? ;)

• 247.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-154:

Careful now, just now Ryan Vrede will come on here and tell you to dry your ******* tears and that they have very good reasons to post 5 Kings articles in 2 days which is none of our business to know why!

• 248.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Tactless-228:

The heroism of your pedigree getting to you?

And now with your post 228 another LIE being exposed as you try to recover in post 235 with yet another lie?

It all comes very easy to you broeders, as it was all set in play by the founding fathers of Kloppers,Naude, Du Plessi and V.D Merwe all later joined in ‘broederskap’ by all those Malans(Avril, Abe etc.), Verwoerd,Vorster,Anton Rupert, Botha etc., etc.

Another one bites the dust.

• 249.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@willievz-246: well i wouldn’t know what the NZRU is doing mate ;)

• 250.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Pissant

See what bedfellows you have in this dodgy cause you’re backing?

• 251.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-250:

Don’t confuse my ’cause’ being that of backing the Kings along the lines of what is generally said in the media.

My cause has always been for a professional approach ahead of an amateur one and ensuring that all unions and regions benefit rather than just the privileged few (read big 5).

• 252.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-251:

Bravo.

• 253.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-251:

That said, the Keo crew’s motives are embarrassingly clear.

• 254.ET.: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as Cun.t(her)-:

That ALL you can muster, boytjie, that faulty too vivid imagination and all that so stale, musty ‘claptrap’?

Jou etniese uitspraak is maar lam.
    Gee ons die waarheide en waardevolle feite vanjou saak, daardie sogenaamde manheid van jou.
    Hoeveel ‘tjinders’ het jy hierdie planeet gegee?

Wie noem jou ‘pappie’? Waar bestaan en woon hulle? Het hulle twee voetetjies en handtjies en tien vingers en so voort?
    Was hulle ook in ‘n mandtjie beskerm en Australia toe gestuur?

Verstaan jy nou mooi seuntjie?
    Dus jou gaat daai en jou gat.

Loop versigtig nou vandag. Die S E X Y Boys het ‘n oog op jou daar by Mavericks.

Tot ons weer mekaar sie!! Daai ‘shebeen’ uitnodiging bestaan nog(SA Kultuur is belangrik) maar nou moet jy wag tot ek weer beskikbaar is.

• 255.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-247: hahahaha As long as he doesn’t send me a private email and say “check yourself” or something like that.

@Transformation-244: I agree with that.

It’s in the how really that the issue becomes contentious.

Because if you kick the Gauteng Lions out (and their feeder unions with them) then that doesn’t solve the problem

Not sure what the solution is.

I would welcome an additional franchise, in the proper way and without prejudicing an existing one. SARU has known about this for many years and has had ample opportunity to negotiate the expansion in the appropriate way.

I’d be inclined to actually shrink the setup and consolidate into 3 or at most 4 Unions at most the old Super 12.

• 256.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-251: come on dude, be original!

244.Transformation:
    14 Feb 2012, 16:46 pm @stormersboy-231: all i want is for all the unions affiliated to SARU to be included in Super Rugby so that all the benefits that accrue from that competition are shared EQUITABLY.

• 257.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-255: everyone talks about things being “contentious” but it is a little different when all the contention is happening with you outside in the rain while the other unions are cosy inside debating how to let you in hey :D

anyway gym calls (no peter davies or brown floaters)

• 258.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-256:

Huh?

• 259.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-257:

Just don’t scream ‘yebo’

• 260.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Broeder Totdie dood

Ou wit “gam” is hier.

Die skurk met die siek en onmenslike woorde.

“gam = low class coloureds

Despite his even more depraved ” my understanding” attempt to sound worse than smartarsed, the irony of his original “gam” comments is typical of the so many Afrikaner posers here.

Those words “gam = low class coloureds’” can only come from a racist of ‘verkrampte proportions.

They flowed from a empty discussion and an even emptier question from his ‘black buddy’ where no anger was being displayed.
    Those words are clearly inflammatory, insensitive, derogatory and meant to be ‘down-putting ‘ and destructive to a large sector of genuine S.Africans and especially in Cape area.

It clarifies his chosen racist position and emphasises that you just cannot legislate what is in people’s hearts and minds, but nowhere else in their worthless life. No Afrikaner has ever or will ever be for ‘apartheid’. It is all ghosts-like now. But it existed and is still alive and very well.

Ou wit ‘gam’ dis jou gaat en jou gat daai! Maar ek hey altyd geweet.

Wie was jou ouers se BAAS nou weer?
    Die Broederbond of die NP? Een ding is dit nie?

• 261.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Speaking of low class cullarts how are you et buddy?

• 262.David: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-255:
    Nobody, except the ones backing relegation, are suggesting kicking union out, just rearranging the current groupings that constitute a Franchise.
    Relegation would be the worst option as it would gut the Franchise/Unions of their core players who the SANZAR agreement specify must play in the S15. In fact it would put those unions in exactly the same disadvantaged position as the Kings unions are currently in.
    Geographically, the Kings make sense, as does awarding a franchise to region make sense from a rugby marketing perspective.

• 263.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-261:

I beg your pardon. Rude.

• 264.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

I’m just quoting khakiballs dawnie.

Don’t hate the player.

• 265.Dawn: Reply to this comment

In your eye you sod.

• 266.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-257:

But you cannot, or not be able to, swim according to the understanding of your buddies here.

So you have to be chocolate “brown floaters” then right there in your not-so-comfort zone.

Tot ons weer mekaar ‘sien’.

• 267.ET.: Reply to this comment

I am the sophisticated S.African that cannot be handled.

Gee ons die ware feite, klein seuntjie-in-’n-mandtjie en probeer tog die feite beantwoord.

Verstaan jy mooi nou of het jy iemand om dit vir jou te verduidelik?

Kultuur, ‘n ware Suid Afrikaanse een is belangrik.

• 268.Hondo: Reply to this comment

A while ago, EP rugby Union was a viable operation
    In 1996, caders of the ancyl took over and in no time ran it to the ground. Then they took a rest
    The Super Rugby is a good source of revenue, the looters smelled it and want their share, which they will get!
    ANZAR stance is against it due to sure losses to incure for the already stretched financial Super Rugby structure but if the farce will take place they may try to look for a Argies replacing the SAs teams, it’s a possibility

• 269.ET: Reply to this comment

In truth I am quite insane. This does not make me stupid. It only means I have the ability to argue incoherently about issues that go completely off topic. You are all so gullible.

• 270.David: Reply to this comment

@ET.-260:
    Looks like Leeds are being thrown to the Wolves.

• 271.David: Reply to this comment

Are Glasgow Rangers the Lions of the North. :lol:

• 272.IAAS: Reply to this comment

In summary, the Super 16 it will be. But only in 2016.

The Kings will have to wait a wee while yet.

• 273.IAAS: Reply to this comment

ET

No joking you’re quite insane.

In fact you’re barking mad.

• 274.ET.: Reply to this comment

@ET-269:

The utterly unique E. and the T. says

Clearly this is only the most recent name-stealer humbly addressing you for he has tremendous pity for the beatings you have taken over such a long period now.

I do commend his being quite even-handed for both sides of the aisle.
    Needless to say I know who he is and has had a number of AKAs, already

I could suggest that he joins me in handling the louts but then we will kill this site in a matter of days.
    Also I do not have the time

@I Am A Stormer-Moffie-273:

Sorry for your stunning disappointment but as always you never are quite awake from you slumbering life of nothing but making money.

• 275.clm: Reply to this comment

@ET.-274: the work of gunther the pink mavericks bunny?

• 276.clm: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-268: hoe oud is jy seuntjie?

• 277.clm: Reply to this comment

how can the keo boys run a website where you can use your fellow bloggers nicks?

• 278.ET.: Reply to this comment

@clm-275:

No he is totally incapable.

Someone truly much smarter than the Cun.t(her) will ever be.

• 279.Transformation: Reply to this comment

hey ET, am about to take a dip right now, 15 quick laps and i’m off to some revelry :D

• 280.Nils: Reply to this comment

As I see, Cheeky Kings are 0-40 at HT.

• 281.Nils: Reply to this comment

Likely Crusaders will play junior reserves versus them.

• 282.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Nils: behind the Sharks, the Lions are favourites to win the Saffa conference!

Currie Cup pedigree!

• 283.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-282: oh, so Pink Bulls are in danger now?

• 284.Nils: Reply to this comment

0-47. Yesterday watched NZ v Japan of WC1995, it was 77-0 at HT and a ton before an hour. Not that far away today.

• 285.Nils: Reply to this comment

0-52. Cheeky Rubble Kings

• 286.Nils: Reply to this comment

0-54. Lions roar.

Later gents.

• 287.RL: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-282: your Kings are being moered …….. right now by the Currie cup champions.

• 288.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Sheesh who is stealing my name!

• 289.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@ET.-274:

But you’re still barking mad.

That hasn’t changed.

• 290.allblacksaregods: Reply to this comment

One thing I know is that the imposter can’t be a boertjie…. they are not that clever between the ears.

• 291.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@ET.-274:

That’s the ET we know.

The other ET’s command of English and sentence construction is a lot better than yours. :D

• 292.Dawn: Reply to this comment

This is irritating

• 293.allblacksaregods: Reply to this comment

Absolutely.I wonder now whether this is the real IAAS.I wonder about myself now.

• 294.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@allblacksaregods-293: so do we

• 295.man1a: Reply to this comment

i’m glad some sanity has prevailed and kings told in no uncertain terms that they’ll not be included next season.
    but what makes everyone think that they’ll be included in 2016? unless the kings become better than they currently are theres no justification for letting them entry.
    come negotiating time for the 2016 i still dont think Kings should get in. why should SA get a 6th team? how will this make super rugby better? it wont even make SA rugby better.
    all this sabre rattling is immature

• 296.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

Lions 88-0 Kings
    Stormers 38 – 13 Kings
    Bulls 16 – 12 Kings
    Cheetahs 33 – 20 Kings
    Sharks ( I going out on limb here, and predicting they are going to win by a large margin :) )

Kings dont belong in Super Rugby yet!!! Enough Said!!

• 297.Dawn: Reply to this comment

If I know who this nic stealer is I will tear him limb from limb and feed him through my wood chipper

• 298.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@allblacksaregods-293:

Well I won’t die wondering.

About you behaving like a ********, that is.

• 299.IAAS: Reply to this comment

sorry about the shorthand.

******** actually spelt d.i.c.k.h.e.a.d

• 300.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

Must be fancy a chipper you got :)

• 301.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

Must be a fancy chipper you have :) (Sorry the English got away from me there)

• 302.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Enough of this nic stealing

Will mail the moddereater

• 303.whatever: Reply to this comment

@man1a-295:

Get your facts straight before you blog doos!

• 304.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@zoo cleaner-122: I have to agree with this person. Wholeheartedly. Too much rugby. Way too much. I mean, since when did we miss a SR game in the past. Its now becoming the norm. Who the hell has the time to spend the entire saturday watching rugby? Or much of friday for that matter. Get real. Some folk actually have a life, apart from being a coach-potato. Then there’s cricket, which overlaps the rugby season these days, measured in months. I say less is more. Here’s a hypothetical example of choices to be made: The Lions are on tour in New Zealand. They’re playing the Blues. They stand more chance of fathering a three tentacled octopus than beating the Blues at EP. Its a lovely summer’s day. The more sensible among us would rather ride a bike up a mountain or hit a wave than witness another oh so predictable thrashing of a hopeless SA franchise on tour. So we give it a miss and read about it in the Sunday Crimes over sunday morning coffee.

• 305.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@whatever-303: don’t be so ambiguous. :)

• 306.man1a: Reply to this comment

@whatever-303: as stupid as ever. how do you not kill yourself in traffic everyday? your a futre darwin award recipient dmfk

• 307.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-304:
    In August its 4 Nations, Protea’s in England and the Olympics.

• 308.man1a: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-304: yet another valid point. we enough Sr and SA wants to add another hohum team. next team that should allowed into SR shouldnt be from the 3 SANZAR nations. thats just being lazy and uncreative.
    open SR to another team from a whole nother country. inject something different into SR instead of the same old ho hum teams.
    pacific team based in japan or hong kong and get the argentinians to submit a team. please no more of the same old same old

• 309.whatever: Reply to this comment

@man1a-306:

Tell me brain surgeon, will the Kings play super rugger next year or not? Yes or no

Simple question.

• 310.David: Reply to this comment

@man1a-295:
    @KingTJ-296:

This was Border and SWD without EP. A bit like the Leopards and Pumas playing against the Stormers as the Lions.

• 311.Nils: Reply to this comment

Glad for the Lions especially for that big fat zero, ffs.

Namibia would do better.

• 312.Nils: Reply to this comment

@David-310: How about this game, Cheeky Kings were at full strenght, fielded reserve team or what?

Just curious.

• 313.man1a: Reply to this comment

@whatever-309: no

• 314.allblacksaregods: Reply to this comment

Why don’t the lions play a pumas/leopards combination against the big 3 saffa franchises?

• 315.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

88-0? Sounds like the Kings are ready to enter Super Rugby. Cheeky must be chuffed with his boys. And SARU can have no regrets now. Relegate those Lions. Couldn’t even score a hundred.

• 316.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

@David-310: for every game?what happened to EP?

• 317.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Um because they are looking for match practice ahead of super rugby.

You fuckingknob.

• 318.allblacksaregods: Reply to this comment

The lions will not win one overseas game….and that’s a fact.

• 319.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@David-310:

I just think that the Kings are trying to prove too much of a point here and are not doing themselves any favours by playing so many matches against the bigger unions.
    I mean, they’ve still got the Sharks this Friday after having played the Bulls, Cheetahs, Stormers and now Lions in such a short space of time. This to me is rugby madness gone off the charts.
    I’m in favour of a competitive Kings taking their place in an expanded Super Rugby tournament from 2016. But not 2013.
    This is not doing their cause any good.
    Cheeky’s lost his marbles.

• 320.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@David-310: Not quite the same. The Lions make up 95% of the S15 squad. Not so for the Feeble Elepharts. I reckon if the full Kings squad took part the score would have come down to around 70. And maybe the Kings would have made it onto the board. Just.

• 321.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

Dear Cheeky and the Kings.

If you want to piss like a puppy, stay on the porch !!

Kind Regards

Kevin de Klerk

• 322.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@allblacksaregods-318: How’s it a fact when you are clearly thumbsucking a fanciful prediction?

Do you even know what “fact” means?

Are you soft in the head?

• 323.XV: Reply to this comment

@David-310: why the resistance to the Kings? Tonights game was a 3rd rate Kings team against a first rate Lions team. A Lions team that is well coached. Jeez guys…..think outside the box a bit here…..the Kings should be included in an expanded tournament. There is no ways any team will be ‘relegated’ ….. SARU have no option but to force the issue….something the Aussies and the Kiwis do not want. read between the lines…..

• 324.allblacksaregods: Reply to this comment

Alan Solomons said that the weaker squads will play against the lions and cheetahs…at least that’s what I remember from earlier articles on here.for lion supporters to come out from their hiding places and do cart-wheels over this result smacks of the bizarre.

• 325.Nils: Reply to this comment

@allblacksaregods-318: Bolloks really.

• 326.XV: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-315: not very sharp are you? The Kings lost to the Bulls 12 – 16. Not too bad hey? Take your blinkers off.

• 327.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@XV-323:

The Kings should be included in an expanded tournament, you say.

From when?

SARU is contracted to Sanzar in the current format until 2015.

Sorry for the Kings.

• 328.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

@XV-323: the only thing they have to force, is for the Kings to wait until 2016. Let them prove themselves in the Currie Cup first. Once they have done that, then let them come and play with the big boys.

• 329.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@XV-326: Are you seriously suggesting the introduction of the EP players would have accounted for the 80 point margin? Seriously?

• 330.XV: Reply to this comment

@IAAS-327: all contracts are renegotiable. The current system is abysmal at best. Its an opportunity to better a dreadful format. The problem lies when SA got screwed over when the melbourne team was added.

• 331.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

It’s so bloody obvious that the Kings would never send their full strength team out to face the Lions because that would only prove, irrefutably, what we already know.

Chicken Watson.

• 332.David: Reply to this comment

@IAAS-319:
    As I pointed out, this didn’t include Watsons EP. Just Border and SWD. Besides, if the Kings get a franchise they’ll be able to attract far more top players than they can at present. Of course there’ll be the usual accusations that these players would be white and somehow different than the Bulls or Lions acquiring players from other provinces to strengthen their sides.

• 333.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@XV-323: because they wont be there on merit. Its become acceptable for local teams to be selected on the basis of qualities other than merit but when international people are paying hard earned cash to watch a competitive sporting event, they do want a proper contest, otherwise they reject the idea. Probably like what is happening in this case. Simple economics.

• 334.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

@David-332: Like they did during the their heydays in the CC?

• 335.XV: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-329: its irrelevant. There is a big gulf between the Kings first team and a Border SWD combination. When at full strength the Kings are not that far off the pace. With Super Rugby inclusion they will attract even better players. And will therefore be even more competitive. Its quite simple. For what it is worth I think the Lions are doing a terrific job and no ways am I promoting the Kings to replace any other SA team. In my opinion the best that Greg Peters can expect is to offer SARU a promotion relegation home and away games with the Kings playing the bottom S15 team. Just a thought.

• 336.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-333: it’s like somebody getting hired to do a job before you even though they are less qualified then you……it just ain’t value for money

• 337.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@David-332: well…… yes. But they’ll still lose all their games by a country mile. Melbourne Rebels on reverse steroids. One might draw a crowd of free entry school children to games at the Mandela Bay stadium but only the linesmen and ballboys will be watching the thrashings on the away leg.

• 338.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@XV-330:

Sanzar in turn are contracted to Newscorp under the current format until 2015. We are about to start year 2 of a 5 year contract. Newscorp are the cheque book for the whole Super Rugby shebang.

Read my lips. No expanded Super Rugby in 2013.

• 339.XV: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-333: well in that case then the Sharks are not there on merit. By the way I am all for merit based sport…and abhor reverse apartheid practices.

• 340.allblacksaregods: Reply to this comment

The kings don’t respect the lions,why should they.the lions have ended last or second last for the last 13 years.if you have to play 5games in a short space of time then it’s only right that the stronger kings squad is reserved for sa’s big 3 franchises.unlike the mentally deprived on here Alan Solomons is just applying simple logic here.have to say that being English probably helps him in that regard.

• 341.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

@XV-339: I think you have lost it XV? Sharks not there on merit? please explain?

• 342.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@David-332:

Yeah,I know they’ll try and recruit new players. Solomons said as much that they’re looking at overseas players who want to come home. And local players who can’t yet get a playing contract with an existing franchise.
    They’re not exactly chasing the cream of the crop.

• 343.Nils: Reply to this comment

@allblacksaregods-340: “The kings don’t respect the lions,why should they.the lions have ended last or second last for the last 13 years”

and your okes lost to those miserable ones 0-88, could not score a point. Nice one. Welcome to Super rugby.

I guess, Crusaders can roll out their U18 team and whip Cheeky Kings anyway.

• 344.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@XV-335: If there was any fairness and common sense in this mess, the Elephants would qualify, on merit, for the CC premier league. Then they would finish amongst the top 5 teams to justify the Kings being granted a spot in the S15 (i.e. 2015 at the very earliest).

But no, we are told they must be included, and that this inclusion would somehow make them the team they need to be to compete. That’s like saying Namibia should have a team in the S15, because once they do, they will have the resouces to buy a team.

Which is a pot of poo when you consider that the sole reason for their inclusion has always been the 200 000+ homegrown rugby warriors waiting for their chance to take over the world.

Anywhere else in the world this would have been laughed off as insanely stupid. It’s just here, in this abnormal reality, that we are meant to go along with such rubbish and not question it.

Fck that a thousand times over.

• 345.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@XV-335: that may be….but there remains a very large gulf between a CC side and a SR franchise. The Stormers would thrash the pants off WP for example, accounting for the sides as they were chosen during last season’s competitions. EP would stand little chance against WP. By that simplistic measure, how large then is the gulf between EP and the Stormers or any other Super franchise for that matter?

• 346.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

@allblacksaregods-340: The Kings need a win desperately ……all they are showing is that they are 4-0 and they are about to get another *** kicking from the sharks, making it 5-0. Surely they should try and win 1 or 2 games even if it is agains the Lions and the Cheetahs. That will say a lot more about them being the Kings, at the moment they are looking like the Kings’ fools.

• 347.XV: Reply to this comment

@KingTJ-341: in the Sport Pienaar days Natal were granted CC status…and the rest is history. Fact.

• 348.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@XV-339: Coming from a non-Sharks supporter, I’d have to disagree. They most certainly are there on merit.

• 349.allblacksaregods: Reply to this comment

I am not a supporter of the kings nils.I only deal in facts.the lions gravy train ride. needs to come to an end.

• 350.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Who says the kings need to play super rugby to attract high priced talent?

The are able to pay Luke 3 bar a year to play vodacom cup.

• 351.XV: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-344: what about the Melbourne Rebels? I sense that SARU were hoodwinked over their inclusion….and this is their way of forcing the issue?

• 352.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

@XV-347: But not at the expense of another CC side…..

• 353.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

look I have nothing but goodwill towards the E Cape. Would be great to see a team from that neck competing for honors. But lets be real….they are not going to be competitive in my life-time. Who the hell is going to bank-roll this thing. Its not like PE is a Melbourne FFS. PE would fit into the Yarra River and there’d be room to spare. And look how competitive Melbourne isn’t and wont be for quite a while, despite the dollars being thrown at it.

• 354.XV: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-348: they were not originally……but don’t get me wrong … of course they should be there now. But they did get a helping hand. Similar to what the Kings are looking for now.

• 355.allblacksaregods: Reply to this comment

I believe that the natal rugby union was vote into the top structure(currie cup) of south african rugby because the saru felt that the natal region should not be excluded from playing rugby at the highest level.true or false?

• 356.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

@XV-354: Wouldn’t it be better to give them a helping hand to the CC?….then they got exactly the same as the Sharks did.

• 357.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@XV-351:

But the ARU were punting for a while to get a 5th Aussie team in the comp. But they targetted 2011 as their entry and were instrumental in getting the format changed to the new conference format because they wanted more derbies.

Which is more than can be said for SARU.

• 358.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

The sharks went up only 1 division….it did not jump 2 ranks like some police officers in Cele’s army or like what the Kings want to do.

• 359.Nils: Reply to this comment

@allblacksaregods-349: After first season they did really well for a long time? Weird logic.

• 360.Nils: Reply to this comment

@allblacksaregods-349: And cmon, if Lions are that bad to be put out of their misery how farken good must be Cheeky Kings to replace them. 0-88.

Look, I would love to see Cheeky Kings inclusion, after all 5 points, easy ride and some 50+ points for my team is always welcome. I am not happy that SA teams will meet them twice thus gaining unfair advantage.

• 361.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@XV-354: this is the professional era. Read: money + resources. Aside from a portion of the motor industry, with respect, there is little by way of resources in the EC to build a professional franchise rugby team from scratch and become competitive. This is the point I’m trying to make. At R100/ticket Newlands packs in 35,000 plus for a game against the Highlanders. Many more than that for a derby. The Cheetahs has been going for years and they struggle financially. How the hell is little EC going to cope against these odds?

• 362.allblacksaregods: Reply to this comment

Nils,I support the crusaders and basically just getting pidsed-off when the crusaders pencil in a guaranteed 5 points against the lions at the start of every super season.the comp needs variety

• 363.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@allblacksaregods-362: well exactly. I don’t even watch those games. The result is a foregone conclusion. Who the hell sets one’s alarm for that? Prefer to hang out the ‘gone surfing’ sign.

• 364.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I am now a ghost and I am in some person’s bed.

• 365.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Sheezus I have to clean up my act as I always feel dirty these days.

This apology, to all those Kiwis and Stormers I have insulted and everybody else for that matter, should go some way in cleansing me.
    I am very sorry and hope you forgive me.

• 366.Nils: Reply to this comment

@allblacksaregods-362: IMHO, the main reason is Crusaders being that good rather than Lions being that poor. Crusaders use to cash in 5 pointers frequently from the Pink Bulls/Sharks/Stormers, too.

Lions should do ok this time. No stars from heaven and no utter embarrasment either. They should aim to be in top 3 of SA conference and the top 8 at the most modest.

• 367.clm: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-365: what thge fok are you on about?we all know your style ….and nobody really takes you seriously.you are nothing but nice entertainment.

• 368.clm: Reply to this comment

@clm-367: the

• 369.GreenFan: Reply to this comment

I have little sympathy for SARU for painting themselves into this corner but at the same time the current Super Rugby format is ridiculous. No serious sporting competition should have ever resorted to the gimmicky scenario thats in place now where sides supposedly in the same pool dont even play all the same set of opposition. And as for the 6 team playoff format – well – thats just a money generating gimmic and not something I am a fan of. I found last years Super 15 very uninterersting.

I think the long term future of the competition probably lies in a 16 team format. Two pools of 8 with home and away fixtures followed by semi finals and final.

All that said – in the meantime, while we wait, I think a promotion relegation system is the way to go. In fact I think the whole franchise concept was a mistake and the top 5 currie cup sides should get to play S15 every year. They could still loan / draft players from other sides. I don’t think there is another way. Obviously the problem is that EP (Southern Kings) cant make the top 5 in the Currie Cup so maybe they should be given special exemption for a year but thereafter need to defend that position as any other side would.

• 370.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Farksakes, there are some real prize retards on this thread….

Lets have a roll call of fuckwit stupidity. Top to bottom:

1. XV
    2. Allblackaregods
    3. Clm
    4 Mania

And by the way, Capo, I am farken telling you not to fraudulently use my nic, dumbfck offspring of a down syndromic nymphette of a mother….

@Heavens Game-365: THIS IS NOT ME.

Please, MODERATOR – SORT THIS NAME STEALING BULLSHIT OUT!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.