Solly satisfied with Kings’ ‘trials’
17 Feb 2012
Kings coach Alan Solomons says their pre-season matches were all about giving players from across the region the chance to stake a Super Rugby claim.
The South-Eastern Cape franchise has fielded two different teams over the past three weeks against the five South African Super Rugby sides. The Kings team made up of EP players lost 16-12 to the Bulls and 38-13 to the Stormers in PE, and will play the Sharks at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Friday night. The Kings side drawn only from Border and SWD, the other two provinces in the franchise, went down 33-20 to the Cheetahs in East London before being thrashed 88-0 by the Lions in George.
‘To play five South African franchises in 20 days is a huge ask, in fact it’s physically impossible to do it with one side,’ Solomons told keo.co.za. ‘Having a combined Border-SWD team helped to break up that schedule. More importantly, it gave us the chance to see all the players in the region play against top quality opposition, which enables us to assess them better. That’s what we wanted to achieve from these five games, nothing more.’
Border players dominated the Border-SWD Kings side and while they were humiliated by the Lions, Solomons says he was pleased with their performance against the Cheetahs.
‘[Border centre] Dwayne Jenner did really well in that game and he’s going to play for us against the Sharks on Friday with Jaco Bekker being out. I was also impressed by [Border flank] Roy Bursey, a young boy from Selborne College who spent a year at the Sharks Academy. [Border flank] Gareth Krause and [SWD No 8] Michael Vermaak also played very well.’
Solomons, though, is realistic and admits the Kings will have to bring in players from outside the region if they are to be competitive in Super Rugby next year.
‘We will be going on a recruitment drive, targeting South Africans in Europe who will be out of contract in June at the end of the current northern-hemisphere season, as well as players from other South African provinces, especially those who hail from the Eastern Cape.’
Southern Kings (to play Sharks) – 15 Tiger Mangweni, 14 Marcello Sampson, 13 Dwayne Jenner, 12 Wayne Stevens, 11 Norman Nelson, 10 Shane Gates, 9 Falie Oelschig, 8 Vleis Engelbrecht, 7 Mpho Mbiyozo, 6 Boetie Britz, 5 David Bulbring, 4 Darron Nell (c), 3 Clint Newland, 2 Hannes Franklin, 1 Jaco Engels.
Subs: 16 Bobby Dyer, 17 Zane Killian, 18 Andre Schlechter, 19 Wayne van Heerden, 20 Reynier Bernardo, 21 Thembelani Bholi, 22 Siya Mangaliso, 22 Danie Faasen, 23 Earl Rose, 24 Matthew Tayler-Smith, 25 Kieran Goss.
By Simon Borchardt, in Port Elizabeth

401 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 » Show All
17 Feb 2012, 12:12 pm
Indeed artist.
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-191:
hold your smiley still and let me get my pliers.
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-191: you are nothing but an ‘uncle tom’ character on this forum.
17 Feb 2012, 12:13 pm
I wonder how he and his father-in-law gets along?
17 Feb 2012, 12:14 pm
Despite having the words of Die Stem forced down my gullet by all and sundry as I grew up on a daily mothereffing basis I never got to learn the words.
Never knew em, still dont and never will
Begone you racist infidel….
17 Feb 2012, 12:15 pm
If I was his father in law ek sou vir hom lankal uit die huis uit geskop het.
I think the father in law is offshore.
Bride looks foreign.
17 Feb 2012, 12:16 pm
@charo(charo)-199: So does Katman
17 Feb 2012, 12:17 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-188:
how many BEE points is Omar worth?
I mean what are his struggle credentials?
apart from dropped suspension and freeflow ricoffee exhaust on his man utd mark 1 golf?
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-200: Come on, eerwaarde sheriff, don’t ignore my posts on the subject just because they’re tricksy. Tell me why most coloured people don’t sing either part of the anthem. What kind of racist does that make them?
Also, do you think Die Stem is belted out by black folk across the country when the anthem is played? Be honest.
@clm(clm)-203: It takes all sorts.
17 Feb 2012, 12:18 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-189:
Dawn, you are unknowingly trying to show me that you care about me. Well done.
I have your best interests at heart as well.
17 Feb 2012, 12:21 pm
@Taahirah-Uncle Tom(Taahirah) -210: if you say so tom.
17 Feb 2012, 12:21 pm
I don’t care two jots.
I was pointed in that direction by someone else you are trying to stalk. Unsuccessfully.
17 Feb 2012, 12:22 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-200: Ever made room for the following possibilities:
(1) Not singing the anthem coz I simply dont know it.
(2)Not doing so coz I think its the result of cheap politicking, a laslappieskombers
(3)Not belting it out coz I sound like a poodle being loved by Capo
(4) Not partaking coz I consider patriotism to be the last refug of the scoundrel.
Etc.
Yet. For you its a clearcut case of racism?
@>^..^< katman(katman)-179:
Embrace your own colouredness; are you not of mixed origin?
@Bod(bod)-205:
you have your own anthem in edgemead don’t you?
@Dawn(Dawn)-206:
mail order bride?
on the SACOS expense account.
maybe she is latvian.
we shall ask nils.
17 Feb 2012, 12:23 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-208: He scores big points for regular Galaxy attendance.
17 Feb 2012, 12:24 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-215: Dodge, dodge dodge…
You know, you can just say that you don’t have an answer. No shame in that.
@Dawn(Dawn)-206: Mail order?
17 Feb 2012, 12:25 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-208:
You get so worked up when you reply to my posts; I read yours and just get a sense of anxiety/sweaty palms
Calm down, order your thoughts and then write
17 Feb 2012, 12:25 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-219: Even that was a mistake. He thought it was a male order catalogue.
17 Feb 2012, 12:26 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-206: don’t come here with your xenophobic attitude.
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-216: Yip. Its called something like “10 bullet points on how to avoid inbreeding”
@Dawn(Dawn)-220:
Dawn, have you been to the Galaxy.
17 Feb 2012, 12:27 pm
Clm
Klim in jou moer in
17 Feb 2012, 12:28 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-209:
Mate, I think you drive the dodge
All people of colour I know, know the anthem – you will have to post a clip on youtube to show the contrary
I will concede that some may mispronounce some of the words, but to the best of my knowledge they all sing the full anthem
17 Feb 2012, 12:29 pm
What cullart worth their salt HASN’T been to Galaxy
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-227: Kak.
@Dawn(Dawn)-228:
17 Feb 2012, 12:30 pm
‘The worlds greatest one day machine” has just been hammered.
Luverly
17 Feb 2012, 12:30 pm
Katman drives a Dodge?
Who knew!
17 Feb 2012, 12:32 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-226: why don’t you jump kaalgat into the cabin with uncle tom alias taahira
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-227: How many “people of colour” DO you know?
I like it when I hear Afrikaans music when the guys next door are having a braai.
I like that there are only 3 kids in that house, not 6.
I like that they like rugby and not soccer.
I like that they don’t believe in sacrificing cows in the back yard.
I like that they don’t have regular family get togethers numbering between 20 and 30 cars, all with personalised number plates like “Mr. Cool” or “Jabulani 1″ on their financed-with-a-massive-balloon-payment Beamers and Mercs.
I like that these neighbours likely share a lot of my interests.
And for safety reasons, I like that they will make it easier to identify “suspicious persons” in the neighbourhood.
Now, all of the above mean that I like to live in a comfort zone. So sue me.
@Dawn(Dawn)-213:
Caring is a sign of moral character and strength.
Im comfortable with that. As long as you are not secretly in love with me. That I will not allow or approve.
I used to DJ at a cullart night club in Athlone in the 90′s.
The cullarts loved me so they did.
for about a month.
17 Feb 2012, 12:33 pm
Be carefull folks, Sheriff will psycho analyze your as s, its his profession.
17 Feb 2012, 12:34 pm
what happened to that ***** ‘suffer guy’? typical white scum.when they can’t win the debate they resort to nick stealing.
17 Feb 2012, 12:35 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-237: Should have kept the Nirvana in the box. That sht either works or it doesn’t.
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-214:
You must reflect on the matter privately.
I’ve tabled it, so you can research and draw your own conclusions. See what I’ve done as guidance.
@Bod(bod)-224:
please man.
there are more working class expat poms in edgemead than there are in Marbella.
Southenders.
At last. Toga Tac is back.
17 Feb 2012, 12:36 pm
@clm(clm)-239: That’s rich, sodomite. How many nics have you had here?
17 Feb 2012, 12:36 pm
Nee kyk, dinge gaan weer lekker hier vandag
17 Feb 2012, 12:38 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-234:
A lot
Sheriff. So glad I made your day.
Now leave me and my buddies alone, freak.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-235: Fair enough, but don’t bleat too confidently about the personalised number plates. Your women are very fond of their Bokkie-1 and Koekie-1 plates.
@willievz(willievz)-245:
Almal is gatvol gewag vir die rugby om te begin.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-240:
one particularly aggressive young man (he may have been Omar) wearing a Luther Vandroos T shirt accused me of (joupoes) killing the floor.
In the words of Robin Auld I told I killed bigger floors than that.
The booze was free though and the drugs were better than anything you could get in Sea Point.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 » Show All