Solly satisfied with Kings’ ‘trials’

Kings coach Alan Solomons says their pre-season matches were all about giving players from across the region the chance to stake a Super Rugby claim.

The South-Eastern Cape franchise has fielded two different teams over the past three weeks against the five South African Super Rugby sides. The Kings team made up of EP players lost 16-12 to the Bulls and 38-13 to the Stormers in PE, and will play the Sharks at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Friday night. The Kings side drawn only from Border and SWD, the other two provinces in the franchise, went down 33-20 to the Cheetahs in East London before being thrashed 88-0 by the Lions in George.

‘To play five South African franchises in 20 days is a huge ask, in fact it’s physically impossible to do it with one side,’ Solomons told keo.co.za. ‘Having a combined Border-SWD team helped to break up that schedule. More importantly, it gave us the chance to see all the players in the region play against top quality opposition, which enables us to assess them better. That’s what we wanted to achieve from these five games, nothing more.’

Border players dominated the Border-SWD Kings side and while they were humiliated by the Lions, Solomons says he was pleased with their performance against the Cheetahs.

‘[Border centre] Dwayne Jenner did really well in that game and he’s going to play for us against the Sharks on Friday with Jaco Bekker being out. I was also impressed by [Border flank] Roy Bursey, a young boy from Selborne College who spent a year at the Sharks Academy. [Border flank] Gareth Krause and [SWD No 8] Michael Vermaak also played very well.’

Solomons, though, is realistic and admits the Kings will have to bring in players from outside the region if they are to be competitive in Super Rugby next year.

‘We will be going on a recruitment drive, targeting South Africans in Europe who will be out of contract in June at the end of the current northern-hemisphere season, as well as players from other South African provinces, especially those who hail from the Eastern Cape.’

Southern Kings (to play Sharks) – 15 Tiger Mangweni, 14 Marcello Sampson, 13 Dwayne Jenner, 12 Wayne Stevens, 11 Norman Nelson, 10 Shane Gates, 9 Falie Oelschig, 8 Vleis Engelbrecht, 7 Mpho Mbiyozo, 6 Boetie Britz, 5 David Bulbring, 4 Darron Nell (c), 3 Clint Newland, 2 Hannes Franklin, 1 Jaco Engels.
Subs: 16 Bobby Dyer, 17 Zane Killian, 18 Andre Schlechter, 19 Wayne van Heerden, 20 Reynier Bernardo, 21 Thembelani Bholi, 22 Siya Mangaliso, 22 Danie Faasen, 23 Earl Rose, 24 Matthew Tayler-Smith, 25 Kieran Goss.

By Simon Borchardt, in Port Elizabeth

401 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 » Show All

• 251.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-237:
    Should have played the basics ……. Depeche Mode.

Cullarts dig that band.

• 252.Dawn: Reply to this comment

He knows a lot of people of colour.

Oh for goodness sake

• 253.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Depressed Mode!

Hey. Don’t knock it. Me and depressed mode go back a ways!

• 254.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-250: Vandross, you say? Sounds like it might have been Langers. Did he have wet curls?

Either way, “here we are now, entertain us” doesn’t always guarantee tears of headbanging joy. I guess you already know that.

• 255.clm: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-244: sodomite?easy now katters.a bit rich coming from a grandson whose granny was nothing but a two-slice white bread w hore during her time at her holiday camp.

• 256.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-252: What colour? Cerise? Peach? Mauve? Mustard?

• 257.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

….en die kak sit weer wit innie blom

• 258.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-247:

Be careful of who you regard as friends.

I say this because I care.

• 259.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-244:

he gets a new one for every stolen cellphone.

at last count 41.

• 260.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@clm(clm)-255: I was referring to your canine buggery habits, of course. But classy retort, capo.

• 261.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Dunno who’s worse.

Extraball or sheriff

• 262.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-251:

They were always gagging for RandfuckingB.

My kryptonite.

• 263.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Why should I be careful?

Are they dangerous?

• 264.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-261: Extraterrestrial Toskop by a country mile

• 265.clm: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-258: she is already lost…..way down cunther and katters arse.

• 266.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I consider Tac my friend.

He is not dangerous.

• 267.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

As Capo slowly starts to diappear up his own well-used fundament once again the argument for social darwinism becomes more compelling.

• 268.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Clm

I told you. Klim in jou moer in.

• 269.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I have never been down anyone’s arse in my life and I ain’t starting now.

• 270.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-262:
    R&B and “pink shampagne’s” :lol: just don’t gel.

• 271.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-263:

Here’s a task that you can do as a snack over the weekend:

* Make a list of all your friends
    * Then take them one x one and ask: why do I think this indiv is my friend?
    * Consolidate the list into 3 categories:
    a- Yes ; b – maybe ( actually I’d like them to be) and c – No

Then invest your time in the ‘a’ category ; cut those in category c and let those in category b show their hand

In short, develop a healthy mix of those of who you can trust and those who you cannot

This exercise will make you thirsty so afterwards, pour yourself a glass of Stoney

• 272.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Too much PT

• 273.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@clm(clm)-265:

behave poodlenaaier.

she is a lady.

unlike that two bit circle jerk that shat you out her bumhole.

• 274.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-270:
    champagne.

• 275.clm: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-273: how’s your daddy,the pink wonder ,doing? :D

• 276.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Fukket and I thought the railway stand at Newlands and Oos bo at Loftus was a rough place……..

• 277.clm: Reply to this comment

no need to get angru cunther boytjie.i did not mean to hurt your boyfriend katters feelings but the truth is the truth.you can console katman tonight by looking him behind the head and singing ‘die volle weergawe van die stem uit volle bors’. geniet dit kerels.

• 278.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-249: Ek kan nie wag nie, naweke gaan nou weer ekstra plesier verskaf!

• 279.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-251: Whats wrong with Depeche Mode, love them, and Spandeu Ballet (sp). :roll:

• 280.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-272:

You have been briefed, I did what I could.

• 281.Transformation: Reply to this comment

too much idle time here.

• 282.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@clm(clm)-277: “looking him behind the head”

Oh sweet mother.

Please dont be coloured.

• 283.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Cheers razists

• 284.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Dawn if you keep communicating with clm you going to need a tetanus shot, you dont want that , very eina.

• 285.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-279:
    Depeche Mode is also one of favourites.

Not that keen on Spandeu Ballet though.

• 286.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-282:
    :mr green:

• 287.BWA: Reply to this comment

Sherriff ask your anchestors or ouma grootjie what she said when Baas Jan van Riebeeck came on her t!ts

• 288.clm: Reply to this comment

what happened to uncle tom’s girlfriend,dawn,now?struggling to climb out of cuntherr and katman’s arse?nah,it’s not gonna help ,you way down to deep dawny girl.

• 289.Dawn: Reply to this comment

“Looking him behind the head”!!!!!!

• 290.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-235:
    I do agree with that.
    Except for the Afrikaans music part, but other than that, yes.

Oh and believe me, us Durbanites are exposed to the worst of it when comes to dodgy cars and their personalised number plates.

Not sure what it is with our Indian brethren but whoever told them that having 2FAST4U as a plate on a 1980s golf is cool, is a horrible liar.

• 291.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-285: Must be loud very very loud.

• 292.BWA: Reply to this comment

Sherriff’s ouma sang Die Stem with her mouth full! lol

• 293.clm: Reply to this comment

@BWA(Dusktill)-287: hi there suffer guy.the double r’s gave it away. :D NICE TRY THOUGH!!!!!!!!

• 294.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ag Mr Galt don’t be so!

What would the world be wthout us!

• 295.clm: Reply to this comment

@BWA(Dusktill)-292: jou naam lekker gat gemaak ne.vergeet dat die usernames terug was sedert gister of eergister?

• 296.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Who you gonna laugh at!

• 297.charo: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-290:

my wife’s got an aunt in cpt with the plates “redhotkay” – and she is in her 60′s 8)

some bloke in durbs is trying to sell his car with the plates “4cough” – no takers yet i see

• 298.BWA: Reply to this comment

i always thought Nkosi was that little black dude who had Aids! never knew it was part of our anthem till now!

• 299.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-296:
    The humour and the mauling of all cliche’s ever would be greatly missed Dawnie.

• 300.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-282:

hahahaha

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.