Tuks, Maties remain unbeaten

Tuks and Maties picked up wins over Pukke and Shimlas respectively in the third round of the Varsity Cup.

Tuks cruised to a 40-20 win over Pukke in Pretoria. The match was considered the biggest clash of the round, but the hosts dominated proceedings as they scored five converted tries to secure their second bonus-point victory of the campaign. This sees Tuks hold on to top spot on the log.

Maties also recorded their third consecutive win of the competition as they downed Shimlas 20-7 in Stellenbosch. Hooker Gareth Light and fullback Andre Smith dotted down in the first half to give the hosts a 13-2 lead at the break. Reserve prop Willem Badenhorst completed the win in the second stanza, while the Bloemfontein students grabbed a consolation try via wing Jamba Ulengo.

Defending champions Ikeys returned to winning ways as they thrashed hapless TUT 66-2 in Tshwane. The Vikings have been the whipping boys of the competition this season, and their poor run continued as UCT ran in nine tries in the one-sided contest. No 8 Rayn Smid was the star for the visitors, scoring four tries in the match.

UJ scored six tries in their 48-18 win over the Madibaz in Johannesburg. NMMU crashed back to reality following their surprise away win over Shimlas in round two. UJ speedster Chrysander Botha starred for the hosts with a brace while hooker Shaun Malton, wing JR Esterhuizen, reserve hooker Francois du Toit and flanker Justin Wheeler also dotted down for the bonus-point victory. Flyhalf Guy Cronje added all the extras to complete an impressive kicking display.

Varsity Cup, round three results:

Tuks 40 (24) – Tries: Christiaan Momberg, Clayton Blommetjies, Dabeon Draghoender, Lohan Jacobs, Tobie Verwey. Conversions: Wesley Dunlop (5).
Pukke 20 (10) – Tries: Andrew van Wyk (2), Marius Fourie. Conversion: Gerhard Nortier. Penalty: Nortier.

Maties 20 (13) – Tries: Andre Smith, Gareth Light, Willem Badenhorst. Conversion: Andre Kemp. Penalty: Kemp.
Shimlas 7 (2) - Try: Jamba Ulengo. Penalty: Nico Scheepers.

TUT 2 (2) - Penalty: Ruan van Loo.
UCT 66 (21) – Tries: Rayn Smid (4), Nate Nel, Mark Winter, Liam Slatem, Dillyn Leyds, Digby Webb. Conversions: Nicholas Holton (7).

UJ 48 (24) – Tries: Shaun Malton, Chrysander Botha (2), JR Esterhuizen, Francois du Toit, Justin Wheeler. Conversions: Guy Cronjé (6).
NMMU 18 (5) - Tries: Ulrich Pretorius, Jaco Swanepoel, Roy Godfrey. Conversion: Gerrit Smith.