Chiefs name deadly back division

The Chiefs have assembled a formidable looking backline for their match against the Highlanders in Hamilton on Saturday.

Sonny Bill Williams starts his first Super Rugby match for the franchise and is in good company with All Blacks Aaron Cruden, Lelia Masaga, Richard Kahui, Richard Kahui and Brendon Leonard getting run-on starts. There are also places for the exciting Tim Nanai-Williams and Robbie Robinson, who plays against his old franchise.

Liam Messam has recovered from a calf injury will lead the Chiefs. The Highlanders have delayed naming their team with several of their players having to undergo fitness tests.

Chiefs - 15 Robbie Robinson, 14 Lelia Masaga, 13 Richard Kahui, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Tim Nanai-Williams, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Brendon Leonard, 8 Fritz Lee, 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Messam (c), 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Craig Clarke, 3 Ben Afeaki, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Arizona Taumalolo.
Subs: 16 Mahonri Schwalger, 17 Toby Smith, 18 Michael Fitzgerald, 19 Tanerau Latimer, 20 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 21 Andrew Horrell, 22 Asaeli Tikoirotuma.