Steyn boots Bulls to victory

RYAN VREDE watched Morne Steyn score all the Bulls’ points in their 18-13 victory over the Sharks in a compelling match at Loftus.

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer is a firm believer in Steyn’s match-winning ability with the boot and tonight he displayed his value in tight contests, his five penalties and a drop-goal starting the Bulls’ new era in the best possible manner.

The Bulls started poorly then morphed into their archetypically efficient self, with Steyn’s tactical kicking and goal kicking central to their success. The method is well known and predictable, but when it is executed with the efficiency it was in the second half the Bulls are nearly impossible to beat.

The Sharks, starved of possession, grew increasingly desperate, and that desperation manifested in their attacks becoming progressively more cavalier. One such move late in the piece dragged them back into the match, but the Bulls were resolute in defence under enormous pressure. The nature of this victory will be an important part of this young Bulls side’s education. For the 40 minutes when it counted they conjured the tactical intelligence and granitic spirit of the championship sides that have preceded them.

There was also an interesting sub-plot to emerge. The performances of youngsters Juandre Kruger, Francois Hougaard, Francois Venter, CJ Stander, JJ Engelbrecht, Pat Lambie, Marcell Coetzee and Anton Bresler suggested that South African rugby has a bright future.

The first half was a forgettable affair. There was always going to be energy, physicality and intensity but neither team managed to channel those things to their advantage on attack. A scoreless first half bore testament to this, with a string of fundamental handling errors (the majority committed by the Bulls) and ill-discipline robbing the contest of any flow.

Both sides struggled to control possession through multiple phases. Certainly some brutal defence contributed to their struggles in this regard, but that alone cannot mitigate this shortcoming given the calibre of players on show. They often went wide without earning the right to do so through purposeful phase play. A measure of pragmatism was lacking, with little appreciation shown for playing in the opposition’s territory and backing pressure defence to force errors.

This all changed for the Bulls in the second half and they systematically built a lead after forcing errors from the Sharks in kickable positions. The Sharks will lament three missed penalties, two of which you would have backed Lambie to bank. But overall they were outsmarted by a superior side on the night, with Steyn securing yet another famous Bulls win at Loftus.

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

337 Comments

• 1.IAAS: Reply to this comment

Got Bulls by 12. Conditions will be superb.

Then it’s 3 from 3.

Cool.

• 2.Michael: Reply to this comment

Come on Bulls! Give your pot-bellied supporters a heart attack with excitement.

• 3.YoMama: Reply to this comment

At last, the season gets underway and we can exorcize last year’s demons.

• 4.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

SNOTKLAPPE..!
    “op Loftus,
    waar dit rof is”.

• 5.YoMama: Reply to this comment

All I want for Christmas is a great level of play by old players and new that will have the Shackledraggers and Sheepshaggers wallowing in their tinnies.

• 6.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

just in time to see the boertjies smashing themselves to kingdom come.

• 7.RL: Reply to this comment

I don’t know why the Guppies are consifered “favourites”. It makes no sense at all. So I am going for the Bulls by 5 or more.

• 8.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

Early season rust will keep this game tight but think the Bulls will take it by about 5 or 6. Good luck to both.

• 9.willievz: Reply to this comment

streaming link anyone?

• 10.Tartan: Reply to this comment

The first big win? Somehow doubt it.

Got Bulls by 3 in the Bru and could see arguments for a win by 1-8 for either side.

• 11.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

SHARKSSSSSSS

• 12.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Tacitus will be here if the Bulls win.

• 13.Guns: Reply to this comment

Let the carnage begin!!!!!

• 14.simbachips: Reply to this comment

Finally…

The rugby is here, I can breathe again :)

GO SHARK!!!

• 15.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Watsup guns! No workout today?

• 16.IAAS: Reply to this comment

What’s going on here?

I see Jonathan Kaplan even has a pink wristband.

• 17.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

Good start Bulls…

• 18.RL: Reply to this comment

Does not look like a sell out crowd – someone is confused.

If the Bulls lose this one then expect Loftus to become ‘more blue’ as in ‘chair blue’ as the season progresses.

• 19.RL: Reply to this comment

Mvovo still hasn’t learnt to hold the balls with his left arm – and Guppies punt him as a Bok winger.

• 20.RL: Reply to this comment

and Lambie hasn’t learnt to kick for poles – wth has he been doing in the off-season.

• 21.Atreides: Reply to this comment

Jirre but that Bresler can like to haf one blerrie lekker hairstyle ne!

• 22.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Suurgat.

• 23.RL: Reply to this comment

and Ludik is still the same – very average.

• 24.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-18:
    Ja, lots of empty seats.

• 25.RL: Reply to this comment

papbek

• 26.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Jacques Potgieter is hot hair and all

• 27.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-22:
    absolutely!

• 28.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Jinne you can moan about everything!

• 29.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Bismarck freaks me out, idiot.

• 30.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

boring kicking game!

• 31.RL: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-29: why? it was JPP that conceded the penalty.

• 32.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

sadie,the johnny wilkinson of saffa rugby?

• 33.Guns: Reply to this comment

Basson doing really well under Morne Skop n’ Jag…

• 34.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

Unlucky Sadie

• 35.Guns: Reply to this comment

Nice offload JPP looking the part at Centre!

• 36.Guns: Reply to this comment

say what taking too long to pass??

• 37.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

F**kin Flip!

• 38.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

was talking bout the one before, am on nokia, takes 4 ever to type and send.

• 39.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

chillyboy nearly knocking ludick senseless.

• 40.RL: Reply to this comment

AC joint

EINA!

Sadie is out for a long time.

• 41.Guns: Reply to this comment

ha ha laugh Viljoen gets it!!

• 42.Guns: Reply to this comment

had the distance just little to the right…

• 43.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

poefta spies nowhere to be seen.

• 44.YoMama: Reply to this comment

@CAPECRUSADER(CAPECRUSADER)-43:

That’s because the entire game plan is 9-10-11

No space for 8

• 45.Guns: Reply to this comment

What is going on Morne???? Another miss :O

• 46.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Massive surprise to see Bismark giving away stupid penalties.

• 47.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

steyn,you tosser!what have you been doing in the off-season.

• 48.Guns: Reply to this comment

Solid tackle by Lambie!

• 49.BULLET: Reply to this comment

@Guns 45,
    Just as well he is such a good running flyhalf

• 50.Nils: Reply to this comment

Great stadium but I would be lying if I said this potentially humdinger derby isn’t rather boring. And so much for “the most physical” conference.

Both teams sleeping.

• 51.RL: Reply to this comment

Lambie zero from two

Steyn zero from two

• 52.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

shocking decision!

• 53.RL: Reply to this comment

Pro is as blind as Bryce Lawrence :grin:

• 54.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Dawn, are u posting from yr Blackberry, if so does it go quickly. Reason i am asking i got the new Bold 9900 yesterday.

Unfortunetly it will only be internet connected from 1 March.

am hopeing i didnt get such a pricey phone and it is just as kuk as nokia.

• 55.YoMama: Reply to this comment

PROfessional linesman

• 56.Dawn: Reply to this comment

BB is cool to post from but all phones are foolish!

Congrats you’ll wonder what you did without it.

• 57.YoMama: Reply to this comment

@YoMama(YoMama)-55:

Saved by Uncle Jonathan

• 58.Guns: Reply to this comment

Bismark Power FTW!!!

• 59.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Lol Pro is back!

• 60.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Can’t believe no score in this game yet

• 61.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-50:

You’re looking watching the Bulls looking for excitement?

• 62.Tartan: Reply to this comment

er, watching the Bulls looking for excitement rather.

• 63.Guns: Reply to this comment

Buuutcherd pass! Rushed it…

• 64.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

that’s kak

• 65.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

whitehead:another stormer that won’t be missed at newlands it seems.

• 66.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Dawn, thnx, ja its very different.

• 67.YoMama: Reply to this comment

Is this still pre-season?

• 68.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Guns you excitable puppy

• 69.Guns: Reply to this comment

Farking farward pass… sies man…

• 70.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

bulls scrum turbo-reversed there a bit.

• 71.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

i’ve only been watching the last 10 minutes, this is terrible!! whats going on?

• 72.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Tartan(Tartan)-61: Well, I did expect some excitement from both teams from this deservedly (as it seemed) hyped-up SA derby. The “real rugby”, “the most physical conference”, etc.

I really did expect something reasonably big.

Sofar, Highlanders 6-0 Crusaders a while ago seems like Rolling Stones performance, really.

• 73.Dawn: Reply to this comment

YoMama!

• 74.Nils: Reply to this comment

Ok, there’s still time for something.

Go Sharks!

• 75.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Peterson is styleing at center.

• 76.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Nils, meet RL. RL, Nils.

• 77.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

silly penalty sharks!

• 78.YoMama: Reply to this comment

<3

• 79.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Pre-season!

Best post of the night.

• 80.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

rubbish!

• 81.YoMama: Reply to this comment

A Sweaty palm arm wrestle

• 82.Tartan: Reply to this comment

It’s like watching 30 Pierre Spies out there – has anyone turned up?

• 83.IAAS: Reply to this comment

What a boring, error ridden 1st half. Which is reflected in the score. Sorry to see Sadie go off early.

• 84.Guns: Reply to this comment

@Tartan(Tartan)-82: Yes some of the sharks players sertianly have turned up. Sharks game to win or lose atm. Lets see what bulls come back with in SH.

• 85.Guns: Reply to this comment

Marcell Coetzee having a cracker.

• 86.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@Guns(Guns)-84:
    Don’t disagree with it being the Sharks’ game so far, but they’re making silly decisions at crucial times as well.
    Can see them blowing it open if it stays scrappy though.

• 87.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

if they dish up this rubbish ,then pre-season should be cancelled…..waste of time and money.

• 88.RL: Reply to this comment

What a really boring match – did 52,000 people really pay to watch that kak!

Hell man both these teams are utter kak coached by utter kak coaches.

What the hell are they doing on that field? Lambie’s ankles are too thick and Syeyn is as thick as ever.

Bullies mssing Matfield big time – those locks are kak.

Nooooooo I’m out.

• 89.Transformation: Reply to this comment

no score @ half time :shock: what a snorefest in snorCity

• 90.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

clash of the titans 0-0 after 40 min of flat out massive adrenaline charged power rugby shows how evenly matched these two teams are. Sharks seem to step up for Bulls encounters, they had the better possession and domination of exchanges so far.

Two No.7′s Coetsee and Potgieter both massive.

Viljoen looking solid. Kruger at 5 big contribution

Both teams very evenly matched, top rate rugby out of the highest level, first game of season showing the depth of SA talent second to none.

• 91.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Bring on the Kings!

• 92.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

I am loving the game, it is 2 be expected to play like this, lots of newish players geling.

• 93.RL: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-91: shut it :razz: they were moered by 90 points by my team.

• 94.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Vrek boring match!

• 95.Guns: Reply to this comment

well he cant and wont miss that one..

• 96.YoMama: Reply to this comment

If the Bulls are only going to play that one move all day, then they should stick Basson on the right wing and then have Steyn kick on to mVovo.

Why does it take a doos like me to be smarter than the “brainstrust”.

• 97.Guns: Reply to this comment

0-3 skop n jag

• 98.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Bring on the Kings!

• 99.Guns: Reply to this comment

@YoMama(YoMama)-96: Thank goodness its you and not them! :D

• 100.YoMama: Reply to this comment

Good job Pro!

• 101.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

THis the new Bulls style? Kakker than 2011!

• 102.RL: Reply to this comment

II didn’t mention Keegan Daniel yet – he is having his usual poor match. Forward passes – entering the ruck from the side – pretending to fetch – conceding penalties – not leading the team – running away from contact – etc …

• 103.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

penalty-prone greyling at it again.

• 104.YoMama: Reply to this comment

@YoMama(YoMama)-100:

Now if only the players would up their game, too.

• 105.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-101: they say it will be the blueprint for bok rugby as well.

• 106.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@Guns(Guns)-97:
    Meet the “new” Bulls, same as the old Bulls.

Oh well, least there’s points on the board.

• 107.YoMama: Reply to this comment

Din-dong smashfest….

3-3

• 108.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

great work jpp.

• 109.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Skreeusnaaks!

• 110.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Common SharkieVarkie!

• 111.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Haven’t laughed this much in yonks

• 112.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Lol! Bulls just stole lineout!

• 113.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

I say bring in Ludeke as Bok assistant as forward coach! and Pieter slapchippies as backline!

Maak die hele bleddie land Blou!

• 114.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

stegman anonymous ….as usual.

• 115.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-111:

…..and pink.

• 116.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Wait till HG gets here dan sal julle almal kuk

• 117.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Howzit Jock!

• 118.Canadianboertjie: Reply to this comment

Go Bulle. Luister lekker op RSG hier uit ‘n koue kanada.

• 119.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

woeful stuff from the Sharks

• 120.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-113:

• 121.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

kaplan beginning to frustrate the sharks now!bissy not a happy camper.

• 122.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Pre-season final!

• 123.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

chillyboy off with an injury…..no surprise there.

• 124.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Steyn’s got his kicking boots back on.

• 125.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Whatsup with Pierre Spies headbandage? Its not like he’s gonna get all rough on that Varkies

• 126.YoMama: Reply to this comment

Best part about today…Juandre Kruger

• 127.YoMama: Reply to this comment

Charl McCloed should either get a haircut or call himself Charlize. Long hair just makes him girly.

• 128.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@YoMama(YoMama)-124:
    Truth!

• 129.JockBok: Reply to this comment

Evenin’ Dawn :)

• 130.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

brilliant kick lambie.sharks not out of it yet.

• 131.Dawn: Reply to this comment

They all look tanned or is it my tv

• 132.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Sharks just giving points away, bad disapline, dissapointing play from them.

• 133.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

Venter also showing glimpses to keep Meisiekind on the bench.

• 134.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Charlize!!

• 135.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

spies floating around like a butterfly

• 136.Hondo: Reply to this comment

I put the Bulls to win by 12-15 margin, hope they won’t run away
    Father Altitude caught up with the Sharks, I’ll be surprised if they didn’t catch the Mid day flight to pretoria today

• 137.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Wazzup jock when are we playing this weekend?

• 138.RL: Reply to this comment

With 18 minutes to go and 9 points down – Plum throws in the towel sending Lambie to fullback and the inadequate Bosman comes in at flyhalf.

How nice. :grin:

• 139.YoMama: Reply to this comment

Starting to fell like a rugby game.

• 140.Dazzler: Reply to this comment

So according to the “experts” here on keo this is the best SA has to offer. Interesting…

• 141.YoMama: Reply to this comment

@Dazzler(Dazzler)-140:

No, no – Cheetahs play tomorrow.

• 142.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

blatant crossing ….kaplan!

• 143.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Would give anything for a try from anybody

• 144.Guns: Reply to this comment

Well done Skop n jag wins it for the bulls.

• 145.Dawn: Reply to this comment

YoMama you on point tonight

• 146.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@CAPECRUSADER(CAPECRUSADER)-121:
    Surprise it is, he usually fakes 90% of his tackles and rucks,,,,

• 147.Dazzler: Reply to this comment

@YoMama(YoMama)-141:

Haha… well according to the guys on these forums these 2 are SA’s only hope, Stormers are no hopers, Lions and Cheetahs relegation boys. Just by how garbage the Sharks and Bulls are, imagine how bad all our other teams are! (according, once again, to the experts who preside here)

• 148.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-137:

Ag, struggling with internet so badly these last few months. But otherwise, looking forward to tomorrow and see how the Stormpies go.

Jocks on Sunday afternoon though. Going to give the frogs a PK of note.

Oh yes, believe it is so.

• 149.YoMama: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-145:

Just had lunch. It was awesome.

• 150.Tartan: Reply to this comment

A try!!

• 151.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

great try sharks.initial pass looked forward.

• 152.Guns: Reply to this comment

Boetes!! and that is how you score a Try! Take note bulls..

• 153.Guns: Reply to this comment

eish can they score another that is the big question..

• 154.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Indeed! A try!

• 155.Guns: Reply to this comment

@CAPECRUSADER(CAPECRUSADER)-151: yes may have been. Still a well worked try though.

• 156.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Guppies got belief again.

• 157.YoMama: Reply to this comment

@Dazzler(Dazzler)-147:

Bulls = kick and chase.

Sharks = do nothing but wait for mistakes.

Stormers = Tackle

Cheetahs and Lions = Run, pass, kick, tackle, run, pass, score TRIES.

I just hope that the Lions are off their game tomorrow.

• 158.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Jock looking forward more to scot game than stormers

• 159.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

come on Sharks

• 160.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

it’s now a question of which team is the fittest.

• 161.IAAS: Reply to this comment

Talk about a game of two halves. Sharks have now come alive.

• 162.YoMama: Reply to this comment

Is it my imagination or does Warren Brosnihan have a mancrush on Craig Burden?

He keeps expecting some action from the hooker.

• 163.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Common Varkies…….

• 164.YoMama: Reply to this comment

JPP has also been awesome today.

• 165.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-158:

I must say I can’t wait to see the Stormers. It’s been a longggggggg time since we’ve cheered on the CT boys if you consider the Currie cup is just a training exercise these days.

• 166.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What did Pierre do so far

• 167.kwas: Reply to this comment

@YoMama(YoMama)-164: All those Cape Town locals can’t wait to support the Canes against the Stormers, heh?

• 168.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Lol Bulls steal another lineout!

• 169.YoMama: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-166:

Captain a winning team.

• 170.Tartan: Reply to this comment

That’s game. Second half was a lot better viewing.

• 171.Dazzler: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-166:

Signed a few copies of his book on the sidelines for fans I think… Because I didnt notice him on the field.

• 172.YoMama: Reply to this comment

@YoMama(YoMama)-169:

Just remember, there are more South African fans in Auckland than Kiwi fans in Cape Town.

• 173.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

congrats bulls

• 174.YoMama: Reply to this comment

@CAPECRUSADER(CAPECRUSADER)-173:

Good show.

• 175.IAAS: Reply to this comment

Well done Bulls. But Sharks ran them close.

And this conference is going to be close affair. It’ll come down to home games.

• 176.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

That’s 3 from 3 for the katman.

Well done Bulls. Hard luck Sharks. How good was Juandre Kruger.

• 177.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Congrats Bulls, Sharks dissapointing, didnt ring my bell.

• 178.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Tac you can come back now.

• 179.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Ahem.

• 180.theOracle: Reply to this comment

Don’t know what to make of this game…

• 181.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

” compelling match at Loftus.”

BWahahahahahaha

• 182.RL: Reply to this comment

Well Daniel cost th Sharks that match – his 3 points that he gifted to Steyn and Kruger stealing that last lineout ball from him. Very very nice.

Botes was a mongrel – did in 10 minutes what the skipper Daniel failed to do the entire match.

Of the two captains I would say that Daniel does not earn his position on the field. He is kak but he is the guppy captain and I like it. :razz:

• 183.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

What a cr *p game.

The Bulls didn’t even play rugby. All they could do was up ‘n under. Zero attacking threat.

If the Sharks had been half competitive they would have won that game easily. But they were utter *****. They didn’t even participate in minutes 41 to 70. Last season I said Plumtree must go. He at least picked a more youthful team this year… only because he was forced to by retirements… but my doubts and reservations are still there. Another mediocre season and Plumtree must hop on his bike.

Let’s hope the quality of rugby improves.

• 184.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-181: I was compelled to watch Notting Hill instead … :lol:

• 185.Guns: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-182: You are basing this on what, 1 game and now he does not deserve a place on the team.. Bit much RL. Wait for Alberts and Deysel to come back then it will be harder for him to earn his place if he continues with that form. Stegman had a better game for sure. Juandré Kruger great game!

• 186.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Notting Hill???

Ag nee man

• 187.RL: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-183: how weird hey – losing to a team that doesn’t play rugby – a team that enjoyed 56% posession and dominated territory in the second half. I am disgusted in that Bulls performance!

But my pick was 100% correct – Bulls by 5 :cool:

• 188.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-187: Bulls kicked everything into the night sky. But they caught it well too. Must have practiced that one boring tactic to death in the preseason. Won’t be a surprise to the next team though.

• 189.ufo: Reply to this comment

Congrats Bulls…!!

Congrats Juandre Kruger…!! Brilliant in the air….!

Tough luck Sharks…

Altogether a pretty untidy disjointed game though…

• 190.RL: Reply to this comment

“we won about 3 balls and we kept them under pressure” somebody tell Vic he is no longer the Bulls captain – he can keep the “Vic”tory speeches to himself.

• 191.IAAS: Reply to this comment

Whichever way you want to slice it or dice it, winning ugly is still winning.

It’s still early days.

• 192.RL: Reply to this comment

Anyway hard luck Guppies you won a bonus point.

Bullies well kicked and well contested there – Kruger I take back what I said. You are not kak …… but Flip still is.

• 193.ufo: Reply to this comment

Congrats to all the Bulls fans…

No matter what anyone says…

Your team has got the conference poll position…!! :wink:

• 194.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-191: let’s see how many tries the Bulls score this season… up’n unders will be worked out by the rest pretty soon, then what?

• 195.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Farkit. I’m not used to this kind of stress anymore.

Well done Bulls. You could see that most of their combinations are new and frankly the backline had to be totally reorganized after JP fouled Sadie off the field.

Engelbrecht was game, but so clueless in the midfield that he got in the way of his own players half the time. Not his fault, though. He never trained at centre, and did well on defense under the circumstances.

Also, the Sharks try was very good – if netball passes to your team mate 2 yards in front of you were legal in rugby. Which they aren’t. Hence no try.

In any case, this young Bulls team needed this win, and I’m just thankful they pulled it through.

If they can take the Cheetahs in Bloem, they could be 2 from 2 going into the tough part of the season against the overseas teams.

P.S.

Hope Sadie recovers quickly from JP driving him head first into the ground off the ball.

• 196.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Alright.

Draw a line.

Stormers next.

Here we come.

• 197.charo: Reply to this comment

great start by charo in superbru………not!

0/3

and i’m not too confident for my picks tomorrow either.

eish, must be the doffest rugby supporter in the land.

• 198.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

PS hope Lambie’s ok after a bully boot in the back of the head.

• 199.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

bulls played to their strengt and it worked for them.it might not be pretty but it sure as hell won them the game tonight.guppy supporters just have to take this one on the chin.

• 200.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

JP will be cited for that “tackle” on Sadie.

• 201.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Watching the highlights of Crusaders v Blues, supposedly the 2 best teams in NZ and the stadium is only half full.

Shocking.

Clearly Super rugby has lost its fizz in NZ.

• 202.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

so capo t u r d is back as capecrusader… can’t the t u r d take a hint?

• 203.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

JP was good at 13 tonight.

• 204.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Whitehead had a quiet debut.

McLeod looked sharper than Michalak at 9.

• 205.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Right on cue

• 206.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Juandre Kruger picking up where he left off when he departed Loftus for Northampton 4 years ago. Brillaint player.

Flip not so much. I actually prefer Wilhelm Steenkamp to him now. Wilhelm grew tremendously as a player while getting starting game time at the Cheetahs and is now far better than when he left the Bulls a couple of years ago.

Stegmann immense tonight, as was our front row. Chilli take a bow too.

Now if we can just get our backline combinations going, we could be very formiddable this season.

Still, our youngsters beat the “favourite team to top the SA log this season”. So round 1 mission accomplished.

• 207.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-205:

Indeed Dawn. You know I’m not one for swearing, hence it’s better for me not to post during game time.

• 208.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

Scrappy game by both sides.
    Bulls youngsters would have learned valuable lessons tonight.

• 209.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Apparently the Bulls only practice kicking for 20min each monday. I can only assume that’s because they term the other training sessions chasing, catching and punting.

Seriously though, was a decent enough game once it got going, but real evidence of rustiness from both sides – which was only made more prominent by the impact of substitutes. Neither side really playing as teams yet.

• 210.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Right.

Now I’m waiting for Piranha 3D

• 211.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Pot Blou Gevaar(Pot Blou Gevaar)-208:

Morne Steyn is amazing. Started the game with 0 out of 2 and ended up with a 75% success rate for the night, drop goal included.

• 212.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Scrappy game, could have gone either way. Nothing to really write home about, don’t think this result says a great deal about either of these teams.

In the circumstances, the home team won and that is not surprising.

But at least the Sharks looked like scoring a try (and they did). A bit worrying for the Bulls that they looked so one dimensional. The foreign teams will unpick them like a bra.

• 213.Number15: Reply to this comment

“The Sharks, starved of possession, grew increasingly desperate, and that desperation manifested in their attacks becoming progressively more cavalier.”

This is written as if it a negative. This is what is wrong with rugby for me. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good scrap, and high intensity close test matches, but I would really like it if we could tweak the rules such that playing with adventure was more successful and rewarding.

Anyway, congrats to the Bulls. I don’t think they were necessarily the better team, both were quite even. But you certainly applied pressure at key times and took the points on offer.

• 214.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

**** best writing the bulls off and believes that the stormers will carry the saffa flag.he might just be spot on here.

• 215.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-212:

Except it wasn’t a try. Unless you choose to ignore the 2 yards forward pass-me-the-parcel exchange between Jordaan and the guy directly ahead of him.

• 216.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@Tartan(Tartan)-209:
    Well said.., early days and both teams can only get better.
    JPP showed nice touches at 13.
    Juandre immense in the context of the game.

• 217.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Shark are missing their big carriers. They’re also short a quality lock and a loosehead replacement.

I thought Bosman was great when he came on. One of the best passers of the ball.

• 218.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-215: looked like a try to me and Kaplan agreed.

• 219.Dawn: Reply to this comment

A win is a win. Ask the Crusaders.

• 220.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-217: last season showed us that Bosman is more substitute than starter, but I agree, he added some verve.

• 221.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Pass was miles forward. Kaplan was miles away.

• 222.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-217:

The thing is, this Bulls team has so much improving to do before it reaches its potential, while the Sharks have nowhere to go really other than getting a few big bashers to get them more go forward ball in the loose.

After Sadie went off and Engelbrecht had to go to centre in the 14th mintue, I reckon the Bulls entire backline plan was stuffed and they just reverted to winning the game by any means necessary.

These combinations are so raw they probably don’t know each others names yet.

• 223.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

I guess the Sharks will have a moerse score to settle in Durban…

• 224.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-211:
    IMO, still SA best at 10.
    With Jantjes & Goosen in the wings. Lambie more suited to play 15 IMO. It’s going to be exciting to see how Hougaard and Steyn’s partnership develop.

• 225.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

This Sharks team has so much improving to do – Whitehead, Lambie, Jordaan, JP, Sithole, Mvovo – man those are exciting players. They will gel and they will score tries. And to seal the deal they will have some real star forwards to come back to add to their strength.

Doesn’t matter who the Bulls have at the moment, they play predictable rugby and when they’re on the back foot they stumble. They will be unpicked in the weeks to come.

• 226.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-218:

It looked “OK” to you, did it?

I can only assume you chose that moment to go fetch another Amstel from the fridge.

The guy didn’t pass the ball to his left or right. He ran himself into a corner, with his own player in front of him, so he just stopped and handed the ball to the guy in front of him instead of running into him.

Most ludicrous thing I’ve seen in some time on a rugby field.

• 227.charo: Reply to this comment

jordaan had some zip – didn’t look out of his league.

bosman seems to have his confidence back.

coetzee was isolated too often – when alberts gets back we will see more midfield advances.

not too disappointed – we escaped with a point from an away game at loftus – most teams would be happy with that.

that jpp steal from the mullet was the moment of the game for me.

• 228.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-217:
    Bosman and McLeod completely changed the attack from the Sharks, big impacts from both.
    The real issue with Bosman, for me anyway, has always been how static he is – he finds space well and has excellent distribution from hand, but you always wonder how far away he is from being properly clattered.

• 229.Tjokker: Reply to this comment

Well done Bulls! Not many people gave you a chance to win this game. Shame on Kaplan and the one touch judge. Could they not see the forward pass or did they not want to see it? Hopefully that “illegal” bonus point will not have a negative effect for one of the SA teams at the end of the series.

Kruger was very impressive. I still prefer Vermaak at 9 and Hougaard on the wing. The injurie of Sadie was untimely and the Bulls is in trouble with Olivier and Sadie out. Yes, the skop en storm tactics worked, but I really hope they have a plan B.

The Sharks really missed the Beast, Alberts and Deysel – but that is part of the game. Pieterson did well and Jordaan made a good impression at the end. The Sharks will be back.

• 230.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

durban-born kaplan really tried his best to keep the sharks in the game.on this display i believe the sharks will be 0-2 next week….depending on the ref’s performance.

• 231.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Magtag this is a kuk movie

• 232.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

197@charo…lol…me to, I got 1 right.

• 233.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

The other thing I was slightly wary of was the Bulls relatively light pre season program.

This Bulls A team played only 1 pre season game, and guys like Spies and vd Merwe haven’t played since 2011.

In the last 10 minutes you could see the likes of Stegman, Spies and even Hougaard gasping for air as the lack of match fitness started getting to them.

This approach carries risk in that it makes your early games difficult to win, but your guys will probably be fresher later in the tournament.

The Bulls managed to pull it through tonight and if they can win next week, it’s game on for the rest of the tournament.

• 234.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

What an incredibly boring match between 2 talent-deficient teams constrained by any minuscule belief in attacking rugby. typical

No wonder the whinging Yappies readily produce such Quarterfinal chop suey

• 235.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-231:

What were you expecting. It’s called “3D Pirhanha”.

• 236.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

What an incredibly boring match between 2 talent-deficient teams constrained by any minuscule belief in attacking rugby. typical bonehead bashathon

• 237.Loftus: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-225: Hey mate,you sound like a sour loser…get a grip.Your team has done well but not well enough.Give credit where it’s due,there was a lot of pressure on these Bulls youngsters and they got their win.After the whole new backline was interrupted by Sadie’s injury after 12 minutes, I thought they did well. Let’s not talk about the line judge fault by penalising Kirchner for NOT being out of his 25 and the forward pass try.See you again at Kings Park later the season.

• 238.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Tac :lol:

Waiting for all the spring break tweens to get chowed.

• 239.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-195:
    “Hope Sadie recovers quickly from JP driving him head first into the ground off the ball”
    He will get away with it, wanna take a bet?

• 240.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-238:

Worst movie of that type I’ve had the misfortune to channel hop to was called:
    “Spring Break Shark Attack”

Kak acting
    Kak editing
    Poorly copied discovery channel footage clumsily interspersed with a bunch of bathers at the beach, followed by some weird looking blood floating in the water.

So when I saw the title 3D Piranha I immediately departed from the TV and made sure my PVR wasn’t accidentally set on record.

Looks like you did not have such a lucky escape.

• 241.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Tjokker(Tjokker)-229:

> still prefer Vermaak at 9 and Hougaard on the wing

Same here, he’s a incredible ball player but at scrumhalf he doesn’t get the space or time to do antything with the ball

He still needs to impress at scrummy, he’s very average, his service to Morne was iffy and he was sometimes slow to get to the ball, compared to on the wing where you never know what he’s going to try next

When Sadie went off they should have brought Vermaak on and moved Hougie to centre, he would have been dangerous in the midfield

• 242.Dawn: Reply to this comment

This is along a very similar vein no pun intended. Best part for me is when they all get eaten.

S what I need after long week.

• 243.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-242:

Hehe.

I got my fix a little earlier – between about 7 and 9pm. Only this time it was the Sharks that got bloodied by a bunch of barely tweens.

• 244.Loftus: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok(victoriabok)-241: Yes,that might have worked well,but I think the Bulls want to give Hougaard as much time at scrumhalf as possible.After all,he can only get better at scrumhalf if he gets as much as possible game time there.But he wasn’t very sharp at all today,which was pity.

• 245.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Loftus(Loftus)-244:

I thought his box kicking was actually much improved.

But I agree that him getting the ball from a standing start isn’t the same as him running onto the ball at pace.

I too prefer him as a strike runner, rather than a distributor of the ball.

• 246.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Normally not my cup of darjeeling but not in mood for cerebral!

• 247.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-245:

Since Naas we’ve never had a playmaker flyhalf and all the scrumhalves since were the playmakers

Robert du Preez, Joost and Fourie du Preez all were the generals while the flyhalf just went along

Now while Hougie’s a ballplayer with the X factor, he’s no general, and without a tactical brain on 9 and 10, we’ll have a hard time dominating

Vermaak is more of a general, although no Fourie

• 248.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Sharks played well above themselves for most of the first half they were all over Bulls who had to defend like Trojans to keep Sharkie Varkies out…

It was anyone’s game till Bulls got the momentum going through min 50-70 when the up and under pressure built too much and Bulls took upper hand. Kruger was Sharks nemesis tonight and Basson took some good clean high kicks off Sharks…

Mcleod – Bosman was better combo than Michalak – Lambie

Plumtree got a problem decision because Lambie better at 15 but Viljoen got too much talent to play off bench. JPP had some good plays but tried to dance too much from static positions and only really looked dangerous when running from deep. Whitehead and Jordaan looked a better combo ultimately in my opinion.

Bulls midfield looks a whole lot better without Olivier.. if Sadie injured then they going to have to shuffle around.. pity if all that promising talent gets snuffed out already from one injury so early.

Venter looks the business and Engelbrecht looks better out at wing. Kirchner the usual brainlessness though he might try gamely his decision making is poor.

That was an immense onslaught from two opposition titans from first game up.. remains to be seen how much can be still built on these performances.

Hougaard learned some bad habits from FdP.. hanging around taking ages to clear from base of the scrum is a poor tactic and should be rooted out of his game..; cost Bulls way too many opportunities from static 2nd phase ball.

Impressive performances from following

Both front rows
    Kruger best player on the park, Sykes put in some hard hits and yards early on then faded.. same with Vd Merwe

Both No.7′s were huge, Coetsee and Potgieter put in big games, just need to settle it down a little and channel the intensity towards a more close knit pattern playing closer to their team mates not trying to bust through alone… Botes showed all the high hopes how.. including Kankowski, and Spies.

Daniel – Stegmann was a close encounter, Stegmann doing plenty rough and tumble in the tight loose and Daniel further out.

Bulls might still need a true play maker though if Sadie is out, the Hougaard – Steyn channel will get stagnant once again, and Venter won’t change the one dimensional patterns on his own.

• 249.carol: Reply to this comment

Hooray, Super 15 is back…..

@Dawn(Dawn)-246:
    Dawn, are you doing superBru? If not, why not?

• 250.carol: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-248:
    Thanks Skop, good post there.

I actually got a feeling of what happened at Loftus today!

• 251.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Never done this bru thing!

• 252.carol: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-251:
    Dawn, it is a bit like having a bet on a horserace.
    Makes it a bit more interesting, yet does not cost a penny!
    I will send you details, not too late!

• 253.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Hey Carol. So are the taffs going to slaughter the poms tomorrow?

• 254.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Teen chow time!

• 255.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

I don’t play that bru game.. I tried it one year and realized its a total waste of intellectual energy but I got my calls right so far with Crusaders, Brumbies and Bulls. See how tomorrow goes, I reckon it goes Chiefs, Stormers, Lions – though Cheetahs will put in a big effort for an upset if Lions get caught napping, and Goosen can swing a game on his own.. much like Steyn did tonight with some help from Juandre Kruger.

• 256.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Chiefs, Reds, Stormers, Lions

• 257.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-255: Damn well hope Goosen can swing the game. Could be a huge result come end of season if relegation becomes a factor.

• 258.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-248:

Good review, Skop.

I would move Hougaard to 13 if Sadie is out. He could be a Toieava type of centre.

• 259.blueboy: Reply to this comment

I could`nt wait for the game to start and i could`nt wait for the game to end.The bulls got through in the end and on their 2nd half performance they deserved their win.Morne scored all our points and i am glad he did as tries were hard to come by,even the commentators said how did kaplan or the touch judge miss that forward pass for the guppies try,it was forward by at least 2metres.Awin is a win and it is a pity they got a bonus point as that took the shine of the win,but i will take it any day bye bye guppies,bragging rights for the bulls this week.I said before juandre kruger left to go to england i thought he was the man to replace VM and my opinion has not changed i still think he IS the man to replace victor.It is a pity that sadie got injured,but that is rugby,and sharkies hehehehhehehehehehe.GO BULLS.

• 260.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Goosen is my pick for Boks No.10.. I’m sticking my neck out that far already.. I punt Goosen for Bok’s No.10 from day one already..

Hougaard gonna have to sort out his stupid FdP pranks of hanging about at base of scrum waiting for Godot to arrive… Mcleod looked much sharper than him on the hop plus he looked better than Michalak too. Sharks looked dangerous once Mcleod and Bosman took control of first phase channel. That’s also when suddenly Whitehead and Jordaan came into effect when the ball started hopping out the back of the first and second phases quickly, Whitehead setup the Botes try even though I think was Jordaan who collected a forward pass from broken play.

• 261.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Dearth of ambulances and paramedics at spring break carnage, it seems.

• 262.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-260:

Come now Skop. Don’t spoil your good initial review with these ill considered additional comments.

Of course Mcleod and co would look good – they came on with only a quarter of the game left to play. By that time Hougaard’s tongue was dragging on the ground, and the starting players were struggling to walk from ruck to ruck.

Fresh legs would look wonderful in contrast.

Imagine Hougaard if he came on with 20 minutes to go. An impact player with turbo boosters on.

• 263.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

I still punt Hougaard to stay at 9 and sharpen his service, he played 9 throughout his school years so surely he knows what a good scrumhalf gotta do.. Otherwise perhaps that might be an option is send him out to 2nd center if Sadie is injured, better to have Hougaard there than bring Kirchner into center. Vermaak might have a better thinking brain on him than Hougaard but he got nowhere near the explosive athletic game breaking ability.

Hougaard must get told to clear the scrum base fast and not hang around waiting for defenses to organize in the opposition first.. bad scrum half play that, today momentum and timing is vital.. slowing attack ball down is a big NO NO..!

• 264.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-206:

Ja, we said it, Juandre could become a springbok very soon…back in 2008 before he left. I rate him highly.
    And what’s this “Lwazi Mvovu pace”? Juandre shut him out over 40m pretty much, I though it was one of our centres.
    Chilli I noticed was really doing great work in the friendlies, pity about his blow to the head. I would like to see that fire continue.
    Spies was ok, Stegmann was absolutely everywhere, wrestling everything that moved, no wonder his tongue was hanging on the ground by minute 70.
    He is a luxury that allows some leeway as a platform for slight ineptitudes in our attack. Great especially for the youngster that he is there.
    I feel Kaplan should have awarded that t/o to him at the end.
    Bismarck was huge for the Sharks, really slowed us down all over the field.

And I’m sad to say, but I was really disappointed with Akona tonight, and it seems to be a simple lack of committment, JJ much better just for sheer effort.

• 265.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

Goosen will be Bok 10 at some stage. Just want to see how he does in Super rugby this season first. He is not going to be playing behind the strongest pack so it should be interesting to see how he does.

• 266.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-264:

Was it not Venter who shut him out?

Steggies was ok- but not nearly as good as Juandre, Venter, hougaardt and that flippin bearded prop who looks like an ET (not the blogger) stormtrooper- he was excellent.

Pity that Sadie got injured- he would have made it much more difficult for JPP at centre..

• 267.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Akona did pretty good and collected couple high kicks that no one else could or would, he even beat Lambie to a couple floaters…

Venter had a big game but Bulls half back channels still look stagnant sorry to say.. if its not a kick and chase platform then 9-10 channel still looks too static to be truly effective on the world stage.. We can’t always expect the high kick pressure game to bring home the bacon.. some direct running through first and second channels will have to be organized or antipodean teams can punish there.

Once Mcleod – Bosman started varying the attacking lines then Whitehead and Jordaan looked decidedly dangerous.., and Sharks started prizing open some gaps in Bulls defenses which they couldn’t do with Michalak – Lambie.., and that wasn’t entirely down to Bulls fatigue it was down to a varying game pattern that started working.

• 268.blueboy: Reply to this comment

This bulls team will take a bit of time to settle down but when they do just watch them go,a place in the play-offs is not out of the question and i will be pleased with that,and a good CC run maybe even a final.

• 269.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-266:

It was Juandre Kruger, yes :D
    And sorry Rob, but Stegmann and Bismarck did more work out there tonight than all their peers.
    I feel that there is no player in the country that can protect possession like Stegmann can.

• 270.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-267:

At that point Sadie was off AND Venter was limping and even temporarily off to get blood taken care of.

Heck in some of those moves toward the end Venter was hobbling along trying to keep up with the defensive line.

The Bulls backline was severely disrupted by Sadie’s early injury.

And they were a combination playing together for the first time in Super Rugby to start with. Give them time and they’ll become an attacking force of note.

• 271.Bod: Reply to this comment

Personally I got more excitement out of watching my chilli’s grow than this piece of garbage called a rugby game….

Enter Heyneke….. please!!

• 272.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-270:
    True.

• 273.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-269:

I thought Bismark was one of the Bulls greatest assets tonight.

He gifted us about 3 or 4 crucial penalties with his headlocks, hands in the ruck and offside play.

• 274.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-271:

Ja I was a bit dissappointed too, at the end of the 1st half I got up and made myself a swiss chard and greenbean smoothie :x

• 275.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Bods picking chillis now?

Ai the life of an itinerant labourer.

• 276.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-273:

He forced 2 penalties on us too.
    And disrupted us on numerous occasions, not to mention part of a tight unit that gave us difficulties in the scrum, and the unsettling effect of his intimidation tactics.
    Still, he worked so hard, you need these donkey-work players in your team.

• 277.carol: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-253:

Tomorow at Twickenham will be the turn of the English

By 5 !!

WRS says England by 3 (He is a Welsh Supporter)!!

• 278.carol: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-255:
    If you were using intellectual energy on superBru you were playing the game wrongly!! :-)

• 279.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-276:

I counted once where he forced a penalty, when Stegman was isolated on the ground after the ruck didn’t form properly, and the support arrived too late.

In truth, I’m starting to think that Bismark’s hype was partly exxaggerated by Smit’s lardiness, and partly by him always coming on in the second half with fresh legs when everyone else was tired.

He is a strong *******, but his discipline is up to sh*t, and his “I want to headbutt you” facial expression is starting to irritate me.

• 280.Bod: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-274:

Thats a tad disappointing….. personally I was on my 35th glass of wine

• 281.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-266:

Hello partner..

Got that bike sorted out? ;-)

• 282.Bod: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-275:

Not picking them twat,…… watching them grow

Thank God there is a decent team playing tomorrow…. and no Katjie, it aint that stupid team of yours

• 283.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Louis Fouche is not that far behind Goosen as a decent first 5/8ths so perhaps Bulls can use him at first center and move Venter out one place to 13 and start Engelbrecht and Basson out at wing. But something will have to be tweaked in that first phase channel if Bulls want to get some real attack momentum going, still looks too static to be totally effective, and NZ teams will exploit it.

Otherwise they might consider bringing Kirchner into 13 and play Fouche at 15 which can also work, but I would leave Hougaard at 9 and get him to concentrate on quick efficient delivery rather than waiting for defenses to organize before clearing ball to the line.

• 284.Nils: Reply to this comment

Afer kakkest start it looks like it was a good game after all, shame, could not watch the 2nd half.

Congratulations, Bulls, well done.

• 285.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-283:

Jurgen Visser is a decent fullback, but I don’t think the Bulls can just drop Ndungane and Kirchner without picking up some political flak.

• 286.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-279:

I dont like his attitude, but I also know that you need your young lads to face these monsters at home.
    I didn’t mind when Bismarck was mik-mikking the BIL everying 5 minutes.
    He definitely is the best, and very fit and dedicated. Let’s see what Heyneke can get out of him.

@Bod(bod)-280:
    I don’t drink alcohol, some 109yo chinese dude claimed that he lived so long cos he never hit the booze, vegetables smoothies are also the only way I can stand to eat raw spinache, which is apparently the only thing that delays detrioration of the iris…yes, I’m getting old.

• 287.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-286:

Agree that Bismark is the no.1 in SA. But maybe not by the margin that we all thought he was. The reason is that we were comparing him to Smit, who was himself barely the 4th best hooker in SA.

• 288.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-285:

Make Chilliboy captain, that’s gotta count for the magic 4 votes.

• 289.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-287:

Well we are always capable of comparing players wherever they are, even though rugby in that an individualistic sport. Well, I was impressed with Bismarck tonight. I also appreciated it when he came offside and Stegmann promptly planted his face in the turf. Should’ve been bloodbinned I feel.

• 290.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-289:

*is not
    whoooo, and I’ve not even hit 35 glasses of wine yet.

• 291.Bod: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-286:

No sweat bud…… But I know if I had a choice between a vegetable smoothie and a glass of the Capes finest, there would only be one winner…

• 292.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Aaaag manne en manninne, ek gaan soos n sleg clipper op n tip skuins gaan le, goodnight, have a good evening everyone.
    Blou/Pienk Bulle bo, this is just the beginning, the Bulls have a solid foundation and their team spirit and committment is unrivaled.
    I thought the new jersies looked as though they had cooking aprons on in the player’s profile cards.

• 293.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-278: Its a stupid game where you gotta weigh up too many ifs and buts and on top of it you gotta pick against your team when its called for which is a totally irreverent decision to take.. so who wants to waste a good portion of their thought processes working out if a team going to win or lose based on history or home advantage or which ref has the whistle on a given day, then I find I start losing enjoyment in the outcome.. wishing a particular team to lose because I intellectually picked for the other team to win… though my heart prefers it the other way around..

Like today I would have been happy if Brumbies lost because I don’t particularly like their coach and I think he deserves to get another 49-0 hiding.. but if I were playing superbru I’d likely have picked Brumbies to win through using common sense reasoning.. even though I’m rooting for Force.. so its a stupid game.. why pick against your emotional preference using rational judgment.. thats just stupid..? So I rather not pick against Stormers or my favored teams when I want them to win.. even though in a game like superbru its called on to do so .. hence its a stupid game where you got to take emotional investment out of the equation and apply pure cold hearted reasoning.

• 294.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-291:
    Wine is a mocker, strong drink a brawler, there are no winners in a fight :p night

• 295.Bod: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-287: Finally there is sense.

I have said it all along, Bismark aint the real deal…. in fact Sarel Burden does it more for me than any other hooker we have on show at the moment

• 296.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-286: you sound like you got half your head screwed on straight .. swiss chard and green bean smoothies should set you up for a good 100 plus innings depending what else you consuming in between..

• 297.willievz: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-260: Yep, so do I.

Goosen is my 10 for the Boks, from this year on.

• 298.Bod: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-294:

As they say in Spain…. tranquilo amigo!

Wine does not always equate to anger and brawling….. unless I am thinking of Gunther! that is!

• 299.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-294: good lad.. keep the keel upright and don’t let your sails down for a minute.. even in your dietary intake .. you can apply such good wholesome reasoning there too.

• 300.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-297: what I saw of Goosen in his first stint at Cheetahs last year gave me enough confidence to chuck him straight into the deep end like Wilkinson, Larkham, Carter, O’Connor, Cooper had to do.. Goosen can be better than all of those he got every facet of top flight fly half play covered from big boot through great hand eye coordination and a clear running game brain with a big and strong enough physique to handle the rough stuff if the right confidence and mentor-ship is invested in him…

Since he got concussed when he ran headlong into Taute in the CC he lost a little of his running game confidence.. I hope it comes back in full momentum and he don’t revert back into the usual saffa syndrome of kick first and ask questions later…

• 301.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Might be too soon for Goosen. Let’s see what he can do in Super 15. But he is an amazing talent. Could look like this soon.

• 302.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

what an incredibly boring match between 2 talent-devoid teams, without even a miniscule belief in attacking rugby. A typical bonehead bashathon.

• 303.stormerforlife: Reply to this comment

The s15 will start at 17:00 today.

• 304.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Typical boorish Plum-for-brains performance…

• 305.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-302: I don’t think you think before you talk. “Talent-devoid”. Seriously? Either that or you are just a troll trolling to get a reaction – something you are getting now. But honestly, you should take pride in your opinion. Instead, you choose to insult rather than raising facts. Even your name has to insult. Shame man.

• 306.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-305:

boring

bonehead

bashathon

• 307.stormerforlife: Reply to this comment

Sadie said that,since leaving the Stormers, he was fitter,stronger,more powerful and doing things with his body he never knew he could do.He probably wish now that he had shut his trap.

• 308.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Yip yap.

• 309.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Hey Sucksdix. Is there a team you actually support? You know one you are proud enough to name or are you just a little stand for fokkall, worth even less shoe scraping?
    Prove us wrong. Man up. Nail your colors to the mast. Because we have an intense pride in our teams and our country. You appear only to have resentment, envy and spite.

• 310.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Congrats Bulls! Silent and confident and ignoring all the hype from the Shark supporters. A well constructed and deserved victory – a sign of a great team. The game was dull and boring at times but it can be expected from a derby.

• 311.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@stormerforlife(stormerforlife)-307:

Yeah not the right thing to blurt out and then wobble off injured.

• 312.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

Sharks didn’t deserve the try. It was a forward pass. They have gained a losers bonus out of the deal and that is unfair.

• 313.Suidkapenaar: Reply to this comment

Total rubbish! Worst game possible. Bulls are going to bore us to death this year.

• 314.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Silly twats.

Journalist asked him a question about his fitness.

What was he supposed to say?

I expect JP to be cited for that miserable excuse for a a tackle.

• 315.garth: Reply to this comment

I only managed to see half the game, but heard that Victor Matfield and a few other son this site said that the kick and chase worked for them. How fckn stupid can you be. They kick away all their possession. Every single time they kick they stuffed up. I just lost all respect for Victor. He is clearly the one behind the dumb game plans the books have had the last few years. Now this fool is commentating. Come on MNET, how the fck can this twat and Warren Brosnian be allowed to open their mouths?

• 316.garth: Reply to this comment

Spell check clearly needed.

• 317.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormerforlife(stormerforlife)-307: all he was trying to say was the Bulls’ “juice” potion is more potent than anything they have in cape town. ask the cappie, chili & bjorn :-)

• 318.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Shut up Garfield.

• 319.garth: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-318: Whatever you say Victor.

• 320.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Poisonous little bigot.

• 321.garth: Reply to this comment

I am sure Sadie has now realized he made a mistake by moving north.

• 322.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Swiss chard and green bean smoothie :shock: sounds utterly revolting.

Only way to have a smoothy is with fruit,nuts and icecream, peppermintcrisp bombed in with that also rather nummy. Jeez foodstuffs have to taste like more :roll:

• 323.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

i like it, everyone please keep writing the bulls off because of 1 close crappy game against the sharks.

both sides look way undercooked from what i saw. Sharks will improve and so will the Bulls.

• 324.Dual: Reply to this comment

@stormerforlife(stormerforlife)-303:

Sê die “een oog”

• 325.Dual: Reply to this comment

The s15 will start at 17:00 today.

Sê die “een oog”

• 326.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Guys, stop talking kek.

On a serious note: Is it just me or does Anton Bresler resemble an Afghan hound?

• 327.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

cant pigeonhole, cant thunk

DUH !

• 328.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

cant pigeonhole, cant thunk

DUH !

stupid whinging Yappie

• 329.Charging Rhino: Reply to this comment

Did nobody else pick up the deliberate Bulls knee in the back of Lambies head when trying get up AFTER his tackle on Juandre??!! He was not injured in the tackle and fine until one of the Bulls big men purposefully kneed him in the back of the head on route to hitting the ruck. 99% of eyes wouldn’t have been looking there, I was though :-) . The citing guys should take a look at that. That was bad man and deliberate. Far worse than the perceived “dangerous” tackle on Sadie!!

• 330.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

One game at time boys

Natal same story every year. Overhyped and becoming the Blues of SA Rugby

Morne answerd his critics

• 331.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Jirre maar daar is baie kakpraters op hierdie site.

• 332.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-314:
    He won’t be cited
    You need some reality check, have you spotted Pro Legota on the side line?
    Enough said

• 333.blueboy: Reply to this comment

Just when you think skopshite is bad enough with his moronic comments it seems we have a new skoppie in( piel boks going as far away from this site as far as possible).If you are making these “comments” to get attention on yourself forget it you as you are not in skopshite`s league.

• 334.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Charging Rhino(Charging Rhino)-329:
    The Bulls would not retaliate against JP, you should know that and JP knew it too.
    JP will not be cited either.
    Also the Sharks forwards seemed not brave enough to defend themselves, let alone to defend their FH, surely Vahl Bartman, AJ Ventr or Butch long since gone?

• 335.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Howzit Pops

• 336.Charging Rhino: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-334: Ja Im just asking asking if anybody else saw that because the commentators didn’t even pick it up, neither did my mate who’s a Bulls supporter who was sitting next to me on the couch.
    But for those who have PVR and recorded it take another look. Real Real bad cheap shot in the back of the head by a Bulls knee running full-on about to hit the ruck long after Lambie made the tackle…. that’s what knocked him out. And regardless of which side side they play for….. Stormers, Sharks, Bulls, Blues, Reds whoever…. that type of stuff needs to be picked up, addressed and stamped out because next time it could be a more serious injury. Play Hard but Play Clean.

• 337.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-306: It’s okay my man, I understand.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.