Stormers survive the Hurricane

JON CARDINELLI reports on the Stormers’ unconvincing 39-26 win over an ill-disciplined yet plucky Hurricanes side on Saturday.

A last-minute effort by fullback Joe Pietersen so nearly earned the Stormers a bonus-point try, but it seemed fitting that the Cape side were denied a full-haul of log points. In fact, the Stormers turned in a performance that was at times so loose that they were fortunate to walk away with a win at all.

They dominated the early stages of the first half, their forwards manhandling the tourists at the point of contact and via the rolling maul. The loss of captain Schalk Burger to what appeared to be a serious knee injury did little to stall their forward momentum, and by the 34th minute they had established a formidable 20-9 lead.

It was all the Hurricanes could do to spoil at the breakdowns and at the maul, and by the end of the half they had lost props Tristan Moran and Ben May to yellow cards for professional fouls. Despite the two-man disadvantage, however, the Hurricanes stonewalled the limited Stormers attack and struck with a try of their own right on half-time. Beauden Barrett followed up a cool goal-kicking display with a game-breaking offload right on the buzzer, and centre Tim Bateman finished under the posts.

Suddenly the team that had been on the wrong side of a savage beating was only seven points adrift. The Hurricanes were also first to score in the second stanza when Barrett intercepted a loose pass by Jean de Villiers and raced clear. The young flyhalf showed terrific pace to avoid a desperate Gio Aplon en route to the tryline, and then managed to get up and slot a difficult conversion.

The next 20 minutes was a mixed bag for the hosts, who produced some impressive forward drives but also put themselves under unnecessary pressure with basic errors. If they had been playing a more experienced Hurricanes outfit, they may not have been so fortunate to escape with the spoils.

They were awarded a penalty try after a sustained period on attack in Hurricanes territory, and Pietersen continued to knock the penalties over to generate some breathing room. There were some positives in an largely erratic display, and Pietersen’s goal-kicking under pressure was certainly one of them.

The maul also worked well, but the Stormers still seem to lack that killer instinct on attack. They should have scored a try towards the end of the first half and buried the Hurricanes, but flyhalf Gary van Aswegen eventually opted for the drop goal after it was clear the hosts weren’t going anywhere. This after stand-in captain Jean de Villiers had decided to turn down goalable penalties and push for the try.

There were also a number of youngsters on show for the hosts, but considering their fine start, they should have put this inexperienced and ill-disciplined Hurricanes side away by far more.

319 Comments

• 1.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Go Canes!

• 2.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Go the Canes!I am supporting them today in a show of solidarity for my brother Cane.

• 3.Bagel: Reply to this comment

Wow, first two comments by South African and they’re support for the Canes.

Haters gonna hate, skaters gonna skate.

STOOOOOOOOOOOOORMERS!

If they step up, it’s a done deal. If not…

• 4.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Canes by 10

I was born to hate WP :)

• 5.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Bagel(Bagel)-3:

They will win- I do however expect a few hickups especially as their best player (Bekker) as well as Vermeulen and Duvenhage are coming back from injuries and will be anything but match sharp. Bekker himself has said that even 60 minutes will be tough for him at this stage.

Stormers by 10-13.

• 6.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Bagel it isn’t hate,I just pick the Canes for now and may later pick to support die rug ridders if it will favor my side.simple

• 7.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Gerber wat is jou moeilikheid

• 8.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Dawn my old friend :)

I am Bulls and anyone playing against WP

• 9.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Hoe gaan it!

• 10.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-5: I’ve called us to win by 12. Thing is Rob this is a Stormers backline that makes me very uneasy.

Jean de Villiers – has been past it for years.

Habana – Ditto and at 13? Must admit I think it has some potential if he stays in the line.

Duvenage – Ai but I don’t rate this guy one iota, super average and solid at best. To think Hougaard and Hoffman were in the Cape. Nic Groom was in my year at school and was phenomenal, seems to still have it, will be watching him closely this season.

And then there’s our flyhalf who has yet to impress me but he hasn’t had much of a chance either. Pieterson has been North as well so we’ll see what that’s done to him.

So because our pack is pretty great (imo) I think we’ll beat the Cane cause their pack is super kak.

But when we come up against the Saders, Reds, Tahs and other SA franchises our back line will have to set us apart and that requires the above to raise their game as well as de Jongh to not get injured all the time…

• 11.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-8: Hey I’m the complete opposite so I can’t really blame you. It’s more a general dislike of anything from Tshwane.

• 12.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-8:

You are excused—old habits die hard- as long as you do not spit on us anymore :)

How is the land of the long white cloud treating you these days?

• 13.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Gerber.

The legend rides again.

• 14.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ndeed! He is back with a new phone.

• 15.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

igerber.

• 16.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

I Got a iPad today,very nice I must say.

• 17.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Bagel(Bagel)-10:

I am holding thumbs for van Aswegen at 10- if he fails and AC decides to fall back on Grant we are farked imo.

Re the forwards I read that Ollie le Roux is of the opinion that as long as Brock is playing at tighthead we are going to struggle- he reckons he is too light and not strong enough- according to him a tighthead should be a 120-130 kg’s powerhouse- whatever one thinks of Ollie he might have a point.

I share your views on Duvenhage and Groom.

At least we have one of the fastest back 3′s in the comp- “back 4″ if you include Bryan- so lets see how it goes.

• 18.Bagel: Reply to this comment

Gerber’s spelling has certainly improved that’s for sure.

• 19.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

I have new Apple Lap Computer and I I am also Security Consultant

Still getting use to the locals here in land of the long white cloud throwing their RWC win in my face. But I am happy NTvl favourite son, Meyer is in charge now, future looks good. Habana is pass his peak. Expect him to be shock omission from Bok setup.

• 20.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-17: Ah yes, I’m actually quite excited about van den Heever though it pains me to admit it.

Yeah look I’ve always liked Grant, but the has one massive weakness and has just never improved it although his goal kicking is superb

Hmm so Ollie ‘The face of Spur’ le Roux thinks tightheads should be 130kg’s hey? ;) Surprise surprise.

Brok for me is ok at scrumtime actually, my problem with him is farking up our midfield along with the other usual culprits. I don’t believe scrummagers have to be big, technique is ten times more important and around the park contribution. Kiwi and Aussie props hands are fantastic and make a lot of ground on defense. Brok is solid and while we should be looking for great, I think there are some great youngsters around and just need some time.

Watch out for Carr by the way, absolute unit. Never gives up that guy.

• 21.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-17:

the Kiwis rate this Beauden Barrett – the next Dan Carter.

• 22.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-17: Ah another thing,
    I heard Francis has looked bad during preseason but he was fantastic for Bulls whenever he ran out. If Gary fails then give him a chance I say…

• 23.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Bagel(Bagel)-20:

I have never rated Brok. WP should have brought Daan Human, Faan Rautenbach back. Peter Grant is a poor Schalk Naude.

• 24.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Vok Gerber is moving up in the world

• 25.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@g13g: you and Tacitus it seems :D

• 26.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Bagel(Bagel)-20:

Carr reminds me a lot of of Rob Louw- u probably won’t remember him, bit before your time. Etsebeth is going to be a massive player in the future – they must just manage him properly- 20 years is young for a tight forward at this level- same applies to the prop Kitschoff.

• 27.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-21:

All right, I will keep an eye on him.

• 28.IAAS: Reply to this comment

Both Kobus Wiese and Toks look like they’ve swallowed a weber braai each.

With the lid on.

• 29.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-26:

Rob Louw vs Burger Geldenhuys :)

there is much hype around that Etsebeth boy. Hope Bulls have a look at him

• 30.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-28:

Lol, and Mathew Proudfoot can do the same without even blinking

• 31.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-29:

The rumour is that the Bulls are chasing Kitshoff and the Sharks are chasing Etsebeth. I do not blame the Sharks- their locks are uber kak.

• 32.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Stormers look good on paper. Let’s see if it can be translated into a good result.

• 33.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Stormers always look good on paper

• 34.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

In the old format it was great seeing the other SA sides win against the foreign teams.

But with this silly conference format I won’t cry myself to sleep tonight if the Stormers lose.

I suspect they will win rather comfortably though.

• 35.cab: Reply to this comment

that ginger vlam kitshoff got some serioius strength especially at only 19, lets see if it translated into the rugby field next few years.

• 36.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-35: If he moves to Pretoria it will

• 37.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Why don’t proudfoot and wiese trim down they are sports presenter and coach FFS

• 38.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-33:

toilet paper :)

WP front row still the weakness

Canes to cause upset

• 39.IAAS: Reply to this comment

GO STORMERS.

Just do it.

• 40.Bod: Reply to this comment

That back three look potent…. eventually some decent rugby in store!

Gerber vlieg in you moerin….

• 41.cab: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-36:
    You okes got Greyling, whose pretty damn good too, Coenie and Beast all bladdy LHs, why dont one of these okes convert to TH – we got no THs.

Dagse Greatest, dra jy jou bloubul kouse vandag?

• 42.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Schalk. The red flag to Skop’s bull!

• 43.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Wow Etzebeth is hot

• 44.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Be supporting the Stormers anyway, but now my Bru really needs this!!

• 45.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Joe Dirt at 10 for the Canes.

• 46.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Go my boy Gio! Speedster!

• 47.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Brilliant Aplon

• 48.IAAS: Reply to this comment

Who says the Stormers don’t score tries.

And it took how long?

• 49.Guns: Reply to this comment

Pocket Roket Aplona!

• 50.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Good start

• 51.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Burger with the play maker pass to put Apples away.

Fuckadilly will be choking on his hubbly.

• 52.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Wow Gio has got some pace.

One of the best individual playmakers in the game today.

Digby who?

Corey who?

yawn ;)

• 53.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

The Hawston Express!

Choo, choo!

Stormers being heavily penalised at the breakdown.

• 54.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

But thankfully the tall boys causing all sorts of havoc in the line outs

• 55.Guns: Reply to this comment

lol Burger actually caught the falling ******* and gave him a softer landing.. I see Game is delayed on tv here in Uk few seconds or a minute..

• 56.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Skop is considering Schalk’s highlights and will be here at 19h00 with analysis

• 57.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Guns.

How was workout today.

• 58.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Brock 1 random loosehead 0

• 59.cab: Reply to this comment

this is a big stormers pack, they can maul this canes pack allround the park, not sure about the scrum.

• 60.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Schalk…………hang in there buddy……..

• 61.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

That’s schalks season.

• 62.Tartan: Reply to this comment

kak… not good start now.

• 63.Dawn: Reply to this comment

He’s off

• 64.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

So glad to have Joe back.

Hope Schalla is OK

• 65.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Joe and schalk went to same hairdresser

• 66.Guns: Reply to this comment

Eish not good news Burger looked like he was in plenty pain, could see it was a nasty twist.

• 67.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-61: Looks like it.

f uck.

• 68.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Skop will be pleased.

• 69.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Lots of youngsters on the field now for the Stormers.

Is Bekker the captain now?

• 70.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Joe brought his kicking boots.

• 71.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Don’t they know this bleaching can ruin your hair

• 72.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-69: I think it’s Jean, i saw him taking charge of that last penalty

• 73.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

If the rug ridders win this game their supporters will tell us all that this is their big season.Groundhog Day just like every season

• 74.Dawn: Reply to this comment

WPTID waar is jou maniere

Groet jy nie vir Gerber nie

• 75.Guns: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-57: Lovely thanks Dawn did some chest then made my way back for some vleis & Rugga! :D

• 76.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Steven Kisthoff 1 Random Tighthead 0

• 77.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Indeed Dawn.

Not to mention the starfish bleaching that’s all the rage amongst the stormers backs.

• 78.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Kitshoff is a beast.

Such a promising young prop.

• 79.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-73: Chill out and enjoy the game boet,

Nothing’s over till it’s over

• 80.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Hallo oom greatest13gerber!

• 81.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Guns(Guns)-75: Chest Rockwell?

• 82.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Is Corey on the field?

• 83.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

I am very chilled.

• 84.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Guns has a chest like Schwarzenegger and arms like Vin.

• 85.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Eben Etzebeth, you WILL be a Bok.

• 86.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

I am rather watching the SA hockey ladies vs India in a Olympic qualifier.

• 87.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Eben looking very strong

• 88.cab: Reply to this comment

god gerd that etsebeth is having a stormers, this stormers pack is actually bladdy good. they got great locks.

• 89.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Dawn has not seen what Arnie looks like of late…

• 90.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-85: Yeah, as a Shark.

• 91.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@85 good.

We need more cute guys.

• 92.carol: Reply to this comment

Afternoon Bloggers

I am just settling down to watch the England v Wales pre match waffle!

• 93.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Score is RSA 2-India 0

• 94.Guns: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-81:
    Lol no not blady Chest Rockwell!! ;) Chest as in Pectoralis Major in the gym.

• 95.Bod: Reply to this comment

I woner if Gunther is a Canes man…. they must have the kukkest kit ever imagined or designed

By the way Fern…. enjoying some decent rugby???

• 96.carol: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-91:

I’m all for a cute guy….!

• 97.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Canes look like they went on the razz last night

• 98.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Not a chance, Kleuter.

Siya Kolisi scores on debut!

• 99.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Reckon the canes are going to have to come up with some new lineout tactics…

• 100.Guns: Reply to this comment

Kolisi what an impact after replacing Burger.

• 101.cab: Reply to this comment

stormers pack manhandling canes, guess 1 man out, but quite amazing.

• 102.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Harry Etzebeth won’t allow his son to play for any province but Province.

Neither will Cliffie.

• 103.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Pectoralis Major!!!!!

• 104.Transformation: Reply to this comment

all the way from Zwide Township!!!!

• 105.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Joe is kicking better than Morne.

• 106.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Pietersen kicking beautifully.

• 107.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Viva Zwide!

• 108.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Bod are you not yearning for the orange orchards and your Spanish bf with whom you shared a sleeping bag?

• 109.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Schalkie was fouled, the other guy was yanking him down from around the neck whilst the other guy low down.

• 110.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Bod are you not yearning for the orange orchards and your Spanish bf with whom you shared a sleeping bag?Are you dyslexic?i am watching the hockey.3 zip to SA now!

• 111.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Stormers need to work on their breakdown ball security.

• 112.cab: Reply to this comment

etsebeth clearing out better than bakkies at the moment.

• 113.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Guns don’t let extraball see you talking about pectoralis anything.

He will give you a six page lecture.

• 114.Bod: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-86:

Good on yer son…. I know there is nothing worse than watching the Stormers play some rugga…

Stick to the hockey

• 115.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-104:

Is he from Loyiso High?

• 116.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Where did these props learn to play?
    NRL style high n low tackles and driving down lineouts…

• 117.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Tiaan scored! No fair!

• 118.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Ben May is a big boy.

• 119.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Bod,SA going to the Olympics if they win is more important.It is woman’s hockey so you won’t be interested,watching boys is more your thing.India score 3-1 to SA.

• 120.Bod: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-110: 3-0…. its a whipping

Flick over to the England Wales game…. it might be a tad more interesting

• 121.cab: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-118:
    yeah but reckon young kitshoff drilling him a bit tho, okes getting frustrated, sending off probably overdue.

• 122.IAAS: Reply to this comment

15 against 13 and they go for the drop goal!

Well I suppose it’s points.

• 123.Bod: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-119:

Now you disappoint me…. you didnt use that word…. Brokesomething

Get with it son….

• 124.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

3-1 and say needs to win by a 2 goal margin.

• 125.cab: Reply to this comment

yessus wtf are they droppie for, they got 2 on the bench, and a pack thats all over them, score the drie jou dom dose.

• 126.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Canes back to 14 men.

• 127.David: Reply to this comment

Bloody stupid from van A. when a try is more important against 13 men..

• 128.Tartan: Reply to this comment

And that’s where inexperience hurts… Should’ve had a try.

• 129.cab: Reply to this comment

geez i tell you some poor brains by the stormers here, i mean how the canes are still in this is beyond me. if they lose here, only got them self to blame.

• 130.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Uurrgh

• 131.Tartan: Reply to this comment

kak, that’s why you don’t take 3 when 5 should be available.

Very nicely worked from the canes though.

• 132.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Fleckie is kak, against 12 men in the red zone his team couldn’t score a try & resorted to a drop goal but the Canes tear them apart for a fantastic try…rubbish man!

• 133.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

That try before halftime was unfortunate.

• 134.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Very unfortunate.

• 135.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

SA ladies hockey team win are going to the Olympics!

• 136.Bod: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-129:

Tranquilo cab…. they aint going to lose. a small hiccup at the end that should be sorted out in the change room.

Another 39mins of the same and there shouldnt be a problem…

• 137.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Suitable gravitas, Tac!

• 138.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-137:

Hehe. Jy’s n skerp een.

• 139.cab: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-136:
    hola bodacious, u sound even more chilled out in spain than in the land of boom pipe…

• 140.David: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-132:
    You can’t blame Fleck for Van As decision. With his backs covered he should have gone himself and set up 2nd phase. Just a lack of experience. His second bad decision today.

• 141.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Lol Steve Walsh looking biblical in the england game!

• 142.Guns: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-113: lol really ????

• 143.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Baaaie skerp.

• 144.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Gonna watch Wales giving England a snotklap

• 145.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Game back on!

• 146.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Yes Guns really. Our extraball fancies himself a medical genius.

• 147.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Gary van Aswegen has made some errors today.

• 148.Guns: Reply to this comment

Don’t expect to see any tries till second half unless it’s a welsh one or a Welsh kick Charged down!

• 149.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-147:

Personally I don’t rate him at all.

His passes look like they wobble through the air.

• 150.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Steve or WP, WP or Steve. Decisions, decisions.

• 151.carol: Reply to this comment

Wales are looking rather ‘busy’ !!

• 152.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

I see now that Ben May was born same day I was.

Stormers will need to improve massively if they are to be contenders this year.

• 153.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Stormers side 1000 times better without Burger suddenly this side will now gel. Its a sad way for the balance of the side to come together via an injury, but now Stormers cohesion and combinations will work far better, plus better on field leadership from JdV and Bekker. Etsebeth and Bekker combining well and Koster, Vermeulen, Kolisi better combo with Carr to come into effect as well as Elstadt could go to 7.

Added advantage with no more interference in the back line by Burger means backs well get far cleaner ball to work with a far better overall situation for Stormers notwithstanding the fact that its come about via unfortunate circumstances.

• 154.Guns: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-146: lol great then I’ll keep any eye out for him and ask him a few burning questions about his thoughts on multi level disc degeneration and canal stenosis see if his answers any of any use..

• 155.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-140: van aswegen is not the yster stormers fans made him out to be…he is no better than coleman.

• 156.cab: Reply to this comment

9.9 for habana, dives better than marachuchu that one.

• 157.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ja carol dunno what guns is on about wales nearly scored in the first minute.

• 158.David: Reply to this comment

Looks like Van A still has a lot to learn with his decision making. Not really looking that good at this level.

• 159.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Mullet Rat sticks the knife in.

• 160.Tartan: Reply to this comment

……… no words.

• 161.Dawn: Reply to this comment

No Guns don’t you will regret it I swear!

• 162.IAAS: Reply to this comment

That sucks.

Concentration is the name of the game. Accuracy has got to be pinpoint.

• 163.Bod: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-139:

Si….definitely……. fuuuuuuuuuuuuuck what was that?????????

I think I am going to join my mate Fern watching the hockey!

• 164.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

What have we here?

• 165.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Jissus Jean de Villiers is k@k! What is he doing refereeing or playing? he was watching that guy score the try. Second one he´s let through in the game.

• 166.cab: Reply to this comment

agmefok, hopeless, where is scalk?

• 167.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Oh well better luck next time stormers!

• 168.Transformation: Reply to this comment

aha……now stormers are in the poo…the score was 23 – 9 now they’re tied.

• 169.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

I hope these old timers pi55 off once and for all, De Villiers, Habana, Du Preez, James, Spies, Bakkies etc – Enough is enough.

• 170.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

An interesting game unfolding here.

• 171.Guns: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-153: as much as I’m against Burgers wannabe backline play & yes Kolisi looking good i think your 2 second spitfire posts may be a bit premature.
    1) they are playing a farken noob travelled Caines team,
    2) who’s pass put Aplon away for his try?
    3) they were dominating them in the same manner from
    The start not to mention the later Canes try.

• 172.carol: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-157:
    I am just hoping Wales run out of steam before they inflict too much damage!

• 173.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Tac you the master of understatement!

• 174.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-173:

As long as rugby is the winner here, I’ll be content.

• 175.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Being a Bull for the foreseeable future, ek voel flenters.

• 176.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

terrible pass by JdV two poor lapses of concentration and now another by Bekker putting Hurricanes into this game. Shocking concentration by Stormers this game should have been put away by halftime already.

• 177.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Telegraphing passes is not the way to win games. If I can see what the Stormers are trying to do the minute the ball leaves the flyhalf’s hands, so can the canes :\

• 178.Guns: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-157: I think we all expect Wales to crack through and win the game at some point but “almost” is not good enough. It’s still 0-0 19min.. Weight here comes a penalty.. No don’t worry missed still 0-0 20min ;)

• 179.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-153: Can you repeat that please?

• 180.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

At least the ref isn’t having an undue influence on this game.

• 181.Dawn: Reply to this comment

The stormers never play for 80 minutes

• 182.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Just imagine it wasn’t Jonker swindling the game for the Stormers?

• 183.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Donkey De Villiers his usual “curl up in a ball on the floor and die” self – gimme a break.

• 184.Guns: Reply to this comment

Tuilangi giving the English backs some extra “nibble”..

• 185.Dawn: Reply to this comment

:lol: Guns!

• 186.Transformation: Reply to this comment

jean de villiers is past it…

• 187.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

But they will still play the fool at 12 come Bok time. Arrgh! Makes me want to spit fire.

• 188.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

All these passes not going to hand…oy

• 189.cab: Reply to this comment

drive it up and over with your pack, maul it you pampoene, then release when going over.

• 190.Tartan: Reply to this comment

‘Canes defence is screaming for a grubber kick or a chip to the corners. Not stupid flicks and pop passes.

• 191.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

This Stormers team must be really disciplined – what with the lop sided penalty count and all.

• 192.Guns: Reply to this comment

****** that was Pathetic by Kolisi just drifted along watching only to fall over and fail. Chances are Burgers madness and experience he would have made the hit.

• 193.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

forward pass and lost control of the ball – knock on – no try

• 194.Transformation: Reply to this comment

again the canes tear them to shreds…

• 195.Guns: Reply to this comment

Grounds it before an loses control surely…

• 196.Loftus: Reply to this comment

What the hell are the Stormers doing? This game should’ve been over by halftime already.The only reason I’m concerned is because I need my Superbru points! I wonder if Habana will be playing centre for the Stormers again against decent teams.

• 197.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Forward, never grounded. But they should never be in a position for that call to be made. Awful.

• 198.Guns: Reply to this comment

Need better angle. Maybe be slight downward pressure just hitting line before loosing control..

• 199.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Missed Burger there.

• 200.cab: Reply to this comment

yip theyve given then canes a sniff at half-time, all started from that dom dropgoal, shouldve been 20 pnts up going in, now they in kak.

• 201.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Guns(Guns)-195:

First a forward pass and then he lost control?

• 202.Hondo: Reply to this comment

And Steve Walsh’s doing a diligent work for the Poms, not free of charge I suppose ;)

• 203.Guns: Reply to this comment

lol lost forward pissed Cains time! escaped prison WeePee time!

• 204.cab: Reply to this comment

yessus has jonker been offered a plaas in mitchell’s plain of iets?

• 205.Guns: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-201: and then a sympathy free kick! What did I miss?

• 206.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

very poor decision by AC taking Van Aswegen off, that could actually destroy the boy’s career, poor panic decision by Coetsee this Francis is nowhere near the class of pivot as Van Aswegen potentially and Van Aswegen might not get over the confidence setback. The contrast by Hurricanes fly half is astronomical the young Barret is showing composed class beyond his years.

• 207.Guns: Reply to this comment

Eng 6-3 Wales btw..

• 208.Guns: Reply to this comment

E 6-6 W

• 209.cab: Reply to this comment

hallefknluja now they maul, flinkdink ekse.

• 210.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-206: van aswegen was kak skop take off the blinkers

• 211.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Man, be brave, kick one of these for the corner and push it over, pushing them all over the rest of the park.

• 212.Moerig: Reply to this comment

I am now convinced that when Schalk Burger left the field, the average IQ of the Stormer players actually went *down*.

• 213.Loftus: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-206: Was also surprised they took Van Aswegen off so early,maybe an injury? I still don’t know how the Stormers got themselves into this dogfight.

• 214.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

The Briesies must buy jonker a Breitling if they win…..

Thank **** I am a Bulls supporter. These poefters are pathetic.

• 215.cab: Reply to this comment

Etsebeth MOTM, oke is bladdy brilliant, cant believe hes 19.

• 216.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-204:
    I doubt it
    1 He has his instructions from SARU via Andre Watson
    2. It’s in his bloodline

• 217.Guns: Reply to this comment

@Loftus(Loftus)-213: They lost their enforcer in Shalk. Guess he does not just skip around the park. The second he went off Cains mentally though it was to their psychological advantage.

• 218.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Joker Jonker the worst ref in the hemisphere blowing Hurricanes out the game

Between Jonker, Bryce Lawrence, Craig Joubert, Pyper, rugby refereeing going down the drain.

• 219.Guns: Reply to this comment

Right dear Dawn half time 9-6 no try’s scored. U may now
    Expect things to hopefully open up in the second half. English true test will now start.

• 220.Robzim: Reply to this comment

About time.
    The Canes came out to spoil only and the Stormers nearly fell for it with their wayward passes.

• 221.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Got to keep this a grunt game now surely. These okes are still dangerous with ball in hand.

• 222.cab: Reply to this comment

that kitshoff got krag pure and simple, kiwis looking to scrap, they getting beaten upfront, stormers shouldve been doing this all game, sommer dryf.

• 223.Guns: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-218: The refine association has been on a firm mission ro control the direction of a game since the Dawn of the bookies.. They are obviously making some progress. Di**kneads they are..

• 224.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Fark.

Paddy O’Brien is not going to be happy about this.

Jonker’s inbox going to full come Monday.

• 225.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-218:
    The juries are still out on Peiper, let’s give the guy some break
    Add Steve Walsh to that ‘dubious ‘elite swindlers rugby referees, one has to assume that it all allowed by the IRB for their own reasons.

• 226.Guns: Reply to this comment

Reffing* to*

• 227.cab: Reply to this comment

Vermeulen big game too, got to get Bok call up too with Smith and Burger out.

When stormers get elstadt back, they could go all the way, its a helluva pack, TH a problem but have alot of mobility with brock and malherbe.

• 228.Guns: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-225: They bum chommies with the bookies as I said.

• 229.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-215: He’ll be 21 in October. Means he is 20.

• 230.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

bye bye BB – Bakkies Botha, hello EE – Eben Etsebeth

Move over rover the new 2nd row enforcer has landed

I rather have a misfiring Van Aswegen on the park than a poor journeyman Burton Francis. Van Aswegen will settle down and become a factor in Stormers rugby, Burton Francis is the type player that never will get to that level as he hasn’t done at Bulls or Lions.

• 231.Bod: Reply to this comment

Thank God for Cab and a bit of perspective.

I love this anti Stormers bunch that are just crying out for them to fail…

Hell after I even support the the effing Bulls against any foreign opposition

Its good to be a Stormer…

• 232.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-224:
    Too dumb for that, he just carries out instructions
    It is Joubert who collects the diamonds studded Rolex watches, not Jonker who just happened to be another Tappe Henning/Bzedynhut (1976) swindler

• 233.Tartan: Reply to this comment

This’ll be interesting.

• 234.Pietie: Reply to this comment

Plonker will find a law to blow you up when your boot laces are too long! Jirre, overly technical and irritating.

• 235.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-231: No my man, your fellow Stormers do the same. Don’t act the holy one now.

Great win for Stormers.

• 236.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Got my margins right, thanks Marius :)

• 237.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

This bonus point can come into play later on.

• 238.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Well at least the Stormers DIDN’T get the bonus point.

I saw nothing to worry me in advance of the Sharks’ visit next weekend.

• 239.Guns: Reply to this comment

Whhhat a faarken blind dumbass call that was sooo a try!!! And I ain’t no WeePee faithful but Peterson was in my Fantasy team. **** Call! That **** was clearly grounded as it Maid Contact.

• 240.Transformation: Reply to this comment

the canes got 3 yellow cards but the stormers needed extra help from jonker to win, not impressive!

• 241.IAAS: Reply to this comment

Well done my stormertjies. Good start to the season. Accuarcy was lacking at times. But the Stormers were always in control of the game.

• 242.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-240: First game of the season. Will get better.

• 243.Nils: Reply to this comment

So in a nutshell.

SA finests at home with a homie ref vs 30 mins 14 supposedly worst Kiwiland franchise players. No bonus point.

Well done, Hurricanes!

• 244.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Game over, time to relax and watch Jantjies vs Goosen.

• 245.Guns: Reply to this comment

Blind senile idiots. On the bright side we don’t have to listen to titles of 40point killer Province for the next week..;)

• 246.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-238:

Did you see anything last night from the Sharks that you reckon will make the Stormers have a sleepless night?

• 247.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-243: sorry, “SA’s finest”?! :shock: Whoever said that?

• 248.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-243:

Only one mistake in your post. I’ll give you one guess.

• 249.IAAS: Reply to this comment

Is Marius available next Saturday as well?

• 250.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Etsebeth and Kolisi impressed me today. But fark JDV had a shocker.

• 251.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

Jonker pulled a “Bryce Lawrence” on the Hurricanes. What a disgraceful display
    from this ex policeman, ex private detective. The Stormies probably promised him a cheerleader.

• 252.IAAS: Reply to this comment

Testing testing.

The Stormers were awesome today. Etsebeth was a giant. Bekker looked hungry for action. Aplon hasn’t lost any of his zip. Joe has that class look about him – always seems to have time to do things. The centres were ordinary today – they stood too shallow and couldn’t create space in which to move. They have to stand deeper on attack.

• 253.spartan: Reply to this comment

Would have been interesting to see how went against 15 Canes for the full 80 minutes

• 254.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

a win is a win is a win is a win. End of story.

• 255.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Even ignoring the yellow cards the canes lineout was a mess, forwards never gave their backs a platform at all.

• 256.garth: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-252: What’s the point of putting Brian on 13 and then JDV not ever passing the ball. The only time remember him passing, he gave away a try. He should definitely be dropped. I’d prefer JDJ and Brian sharing the centers. At least then we’ll see what Brian can do at 13.

• 257.ufo: Reply to this comment

The canes thought they’d lose so came to spoil and play dirty… So many tackles around the necks not penalised… Jonker kept them in the game… Penalised gio for not rolling away, when he actually was, then ignoring canes players not getting out the way… and lots of other inconsistencies…

When schalk was moered the canes gained confidence and the stormers lost composure… schalk makes a huge difference and a massive contribution to the team… and his presence was clearly missed…

Our front row did well… their props kept dropping the bind or driving in…

Eben had a great game… Duane very good… Andries eager but rusty and underdone… Kolisi very good… Joe very good and gio has got to be the most exciting attacking player in the world…

Was extremely disappointed with the poor attitude of the canes… a very dirty display of non-rugby…

• 258.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-256:

But with Schalk out for an extended period, JDV will be the captain. And our 12.

• 259.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-257:

Yip, that more or less sums it up- canes played like Boland used to play against WP- they always knew they were going to lose and tried to keep the score down with negative tactics- The Stormers unfortunately played into their hands with some overoptimistic and woeful passing as well as a lack of concentration at crucial moments.

Besides the players that you mentioned i think Koster was also good while van den heever tried hard and did some good work.Jean had just about his worst game ever and Van Aswegen was disappointing – sadly Francis does not have the talent to play at this level and i think we might end up with grant playing at 10 again.

• 260.ufo: Reply to this comment

yeah rob… their tactics worked and made our guys lose focus…

I agree koster was good and I think gerard vdh is going to make the bulls regret letting him go… Very industrious, looked for work and I think playing with gio and joe is going to revive his career…

sure jean and gary were poor… but I don’t think we should turf either after a game such as this… both are intelligent and will learn from today… I’d pick both again next week…

but yes… I fear you may be right about grant.. :wink:

• 261.ufo: Reply to this comment

And rob… their taking out bekker at the line out was obviously a planned ploy to disrupt… even after being warned and yellow carded they STILL persisted with it…

lost all respect for hammert, conrad smith and the canes… what self-respecting rugby team goes into a match planning to foul and play dirty..

disgusting really

• 262.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Hammet played that way when he was at the Saders, no surprise that it’s come out here.

How good was Eben?

Jeez that guy is going to get better and better.

We all knew he had massive potential. Let’s see how he plays out the season.

The question is now, would you drop him for Elstadt?

Tough call.

Maybe Elstadt at looseie? Now that Schalk looks to be out for a while?

Siya was the second best player on the pitch today. How could you drop him now?

Tough decisions come Monday.

• 263.ufo: Reply to this comment

Hehehe… Yip fulfilling his potential nicely on the field…!!!

They can’t drop eben…!!! Or siya…

Bring rynhardt off the bench as cover for lock or loosie… Let him play his way back and earn a starting place…

• 264.garth: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-258: I’d make Bekker captain. I was not impressed by Gary either. He still has some way to go. Goosen and Jantjies are streaks ahead.

• 265.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Burger our for 4 to 6 weeks apparently.

• 266.ufo: Reply to this comment

Yeah… huge loss for the stormers… any slim chance we had of a god season has been seriously diminished…

• 267.ufo: Reply to this comment

Good

• 268.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

Yet another home victory path for the Yappies paved solely by a Yappie referee.

• 269.garth: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-268: So which specific calls do you not agree with?

• 270.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

I was impressed with the Stormers performance today. Yes, this was one of the weakest Hurricanes teams ever to land on our shores but a win is a win and today was a step in the right direction.

There is no doubt that Schalk will be missed but all is not lost. We have the depth at loosie to carry us for the next few weeks until Schalk gets back.

Van Aswegen wasn’t to bad and will improve with confidence. JDJ will be back soon then Habana can move back to wing. JDV had a poor game but you don’t become bad player overnight and we need his experience.
    Joe Pieterson looked composed and is an accurate goal kicker. Aplon is one of SA’s best attacking players.
    And some poephol on the other thread is making a big deal about Juandre Kruger’s performance last night but Kruger’s not half the player Etsebeth is or will ever be.

• 271.Tuna: Reply to this comment

Van Aswegen was kuk imo BUT give him another run. I remember Coleman last year having a shocker in his first outing and then improved for the second game. Back Van Aswegen AC. Habana did zip tonight.

• 272.garth: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-270: Jean’s ego has just got bigger over the years. He is no longer a team player and should go captain the vodacom team. It does not matter how great your backline is if they don’t seethe ball. The Bulls have the same issue with Steyn.

• 273.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-272:
    Jean is not a big ego kind of guy.
    But you right, the ball needs to get to the wings once in a while.

• 274.garth: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-273: He may not be a big ego type of guy off the field, but he definitely acts like one on the field. That’s why JF used to make the calls, else he’d never see the ball.

• 275.Loftus: Reply to this comment

Stormers have big big problems if they struggle to put this Hurricanes team to bed.I have to be honest,this must be the most pathetic Hurricanes team I’ve ever seen.Wooden spoon candidates.But Jonker was never gonna let them ruin the Stormers party.

• 276.Loftus: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-270: Wahahaa,so you must definately be one of those typical Stormers supporters who think your team were decent today!!!!? Etsebeth is a little boy,for now.Tell us,how did these fabulous players of the Stormers struggle to put the Wooden Spoons of NZ away? Jonker saved the Stormers every time they were in trouble against 13 Hurricanes!!!

• 277.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Loftus(Loftus)-276:
    The Hurricanes played like Minnows in a RWC. They used spoiling tactics and were lucky to walk away with only 2 yellows. Jonker was actually lenient on them.
    As a SA Rugby fan I will support the Bulls when they play the Aussie and NZ teams but you Bulls will support any team that plays against the Stormers.

• 278.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

I was disappointed when Van Aswegen took that drop goal when we had the Hurricanes under the kosh. He is lacking some experience. Burton will be better against the Sharks next week.

• 279.spartan: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-269: lets just say
    if you penalise the canes prop for binding onto the stormer props upper shoulder/arm
    then dont let the Stormers props get away with doing the exact same thing

• 280.garth: Reply to this comment

I see Grant is on his way back and will make training on Wednesday.

I’d go for:
    1. Kitsoff
    2. Liebenberg
    3. Carstens
    4. Etsebeth
    5. Bekker
    6. Kolisi
    7. Vermeulen
    8. Koster
    9. Duv
    10.Gary
    11. Aplon
    12. Grant
    13. Habana
    14. VDH
    15. Joe

• 281.garth: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-280: Actually, on2nd thought I’d prefer playing Malherbe at 3.

• 282.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Well it is what to be expected.
    This is a very new and young (putting it nicely) Hurricanes team. Thanks to the Cantabrian coach, our team is in all sorts. But really i think we put up a good fight.
    For those stormer fans who are happy with the win……. good luck cos it really was a pathetic win.
    At home against this Hurricanes out fit that played with 13 players for a bit, honestly you are kidding yourselves.
    Look i know the stormers were the better team especially on paper but if they played like that at Wellington, you would have lost.
    Not a great start for the Hurricanes and i know that and i am realistic unlike some of these stormer fans thinking the stormers played a good game…..they sure as hell didnt.
    The other 4 kiwi teams will eat the stormers.
    As for the ref, it happens. He will miss things,cant dwell on it. Bring on next week.

• 283.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-280: U like the thought of giving Grant a run at 12, anything to keep him out of 10 really.

You can’t play Brock at 1, he’s a terrible loosehead.

Stephen did Ok, He deserves to have another run.

• 284.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-283: I like the thought. Sorry, Typo.

• 285.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Hurricane. Your team will get better and so will ours. Stormers very rarely hit their straps until a few games into the season. We are not deluding ourselves that this was a great or cohesive effort, but we do know it’s points in the bag, a winning start with room for plenty of improvement. I hope the Canes develop into a good side as they have had a lot of inconsistent performances over the years.

• 286.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-284:
    Is this your preferred backline for the season?

9. Duvenhage.
    10. Van Aswegen.
    11. Habana.
    12. Grant.
    13. JDJ.
    14. Aplon.
    15. Pietersen

• 287.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-286: Not necessarily. I would give jean more game time at 12, even though he obviously had a pretty static game yesterday, but his defence was pretty solid,

I’d have Grant as cover at 12, I’d play Brian at 11 and see how he goes, GVDH to come on as cover.

I’d give Gary another run at 10, I also believe that he’s a very talented player and would give him more game time to get over his confidence issues. I think in time he’ll come good,

I really struggle with Grant at 10, there is so much that he does very badly and not just his kicking that it limits our backline so much.’

If Jean continues to struggle I’d even consider playing JDJ at 12 and Brian at 13 and see how that goes,

I thought that GvdH did Ok last night, He’s fitting in well IMO. Hard to drop him.

What impressed me most last night was the forwards. Nice to see them stepping up.

We;ll have to see how they do against better opposition though.

What combo would you play?

• 288.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-287:

Duvenhage
    Van Aswegen
    Habana
    JDV
    JDJ
    Aplon
    Pietersen

Yes, the forwards impressed me as well. But our performance should not be gauged on yesterday’s opposition.
    Gary deserves a run. I believe with confidence he will pull through.

Our centres should definately work on their ball distribution skills.

• 289.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Loftus(Loftus)-275:

Mate one of the weakest Bulls teams came to the party and beat the Sharks who are favourites to win the SA franchise. Your point? Any team can beat any team on the day. For heaven’s sake it is the first round and all teams look rusty. Upsets are caused mostly in the front end of the competition. Being arrogant only makes you look silly.

Well done to the Bulls; Lions and Stormers on great wins this weekend. Let’s hope all our teams do us proud.

• 290.ufo: Reply to this comment

yes… it’s only week one… and things are bound to change in the next few weeks…

for a stormers team that everyone writes off…

combined log has stormers at top and hurricanes at bottom… stammers will not stay at the top… but i hope like hell the hurricanes stay just where they are…

three saffa sides in the top 6… ! sharks will get there too quite soon…

• 291.ufo: Reply to this comment

stammers = stormers…

mobile… grrrrr…

• 292.garth: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-286: I think having Grant outside of Gary will take some of the pressure of him and offer some mentorship from someone that has been there. Jean has not been good for a long time now. My backline for the season would be:
    9. Duv
    10. Gary
    11. Aplon
    12. Grant
    13. JDJ
    14. VDH
    15. Joe

I would not mind seeing how Brian goes at 13 with a decent 12 inside him.

• 293.IAAS: Reply to this comment

Next up for the Stormers is the Sharks at Newlands next weekend. The following weekend, the Stormers have their first bye.
    So the Sharks game will be high intensity stuff as if local derbies aren’t already. This should give us a better indication as to both teams are progressing.

• 294.ufo: Reply to this comment

absolutely iaas…

gonna be a huge match…

concerned we won’t have burger to counter the physical sharks but duane, bekker, etzebeth, koster, kolisi and the rest will man up big time for this…

very nervous about this game… think sharks are gonna be snorting fire and brimstone… they are an excellent side…!

• 295.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-294:

We have a new enforcer on the field in Etsebeth with another on the bench hopefully in Elstadt. The Stormers forwards won’t stand back for any team now. And Kolisi has proven that he can step-up. I’m sorry for Schalk – he’s a massive loss – but then again it’s not all doom and gloom either.

• 296.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-288: That would be the backline I’d pick this weekend.

Grant on the bench if he copmes back in time, GVDH the other.

• 297.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-294: Will Alberts be fit for this weekend? Do you know? That is the key for them.

• 298.ufo: Reply to this comment

i have no idea bud…

not to be nasty… but hoping he isn’t… :wink:

• 299.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

• 300.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

SPARTAN Stormers!

• 301.IAAS: Reply to this comment

The DHL Stormers scooped the prestigious VIRGIN ATLANTIC BEST BUSINESS PERFORMANCE BY A SPORT TEAM award at the Virgin Active Sports Industry Awards in Johannesburg last night.

The VIRGIN ACTIVE SPORT INDUSTRY AWARDS honour business achievement for the sports industry as a whole and cover the business of sport, marketing, PR, sponsorship, advertising, community investment and mass participation.

The DHL Stormers were shortlisted with the Vodacom Bulls and the Chevrolet Warriors in the BEST BUSINESS PERFORMANCE category, edging both out to take the trophy for a second year in a row.

• 302.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-301: Nice man.

• 303.blueboy: Reply to this comment

I wonder how much jonker cost the 2nd raters to ref the game for them for a home win,as he did a good job for them maybe he will even get a bonus.

• 304.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@blueboy(blueboy)-303: Do you have any idea how stupid you sound?

• 305.blueboy: Reply to this comment

#304 2nd rater in a tin can In sport my friend anything is possible,you have a short memory there were similar rumours about bryce lawrence and his performance in the world cup ozzies v boks game.I never said he DID get paid it was only a thought as his refeering performance had the look of home town referee about it,even skopshite mentioned a home town prformance.

• 306.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@blueboy(blueboy)-305: Son, your justification makes you look even stupider, ” I never said he DID get paid”…” I wonder how much jonker cost the 2nd raters”.
    Quit while you are way behind and save what little face you have left.

• 307.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@blueboy(blueboy)-305:

GIRFUY indeed.

• 308.blueboy: Reply to this comment

#307JOCK SOCK,POCH MOHONE.

• 309.blueboy: Reply to this comment

#3062nd rater in a tincan,boy you 2nd raters are easy to win up,it is just like throwing in a line and reeling you in.

• 310.blueboy: Reply to this comment

that should have been wind up

• 311.blueboy: Reply to this comment

If you look at a lot of the posts by different bloggers they mentioned a ref bias for the 2nd raters and they blogged long before i did.

• 312.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@blueboy(blueboy)-308:

Your spelling is as bad as your choice in rugby teams ;)

• 313.blueboy: Reply to this comment

#312 jock sok my choice in rugby teams has given me the PLEASURE of seeing my team win 3 super rugby titles and a few cc wins over the last ten years what have you had the pleasure of watching your team winning F##K ALL,so as the say in afrikaans HOU JOU BEK.Do you know what POCH MOHONE means i hope so.

• 314.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-285:
    And the voice of reason comes out.
    Always a pleasure reading what you write.
    Totally understand and agree with you. Just a few on here seem to be happy with the performance.
    Win is a win but playing like that will no doubt lose you more than you win.

• 315.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@blueboy(blueboy)-313:

Lolz. Sure I do bigboyblue, but I didn’t learn it yesterday as you seem to have.

And about the spelling, it’s pogue mahone. Which you and your rugby team can both do.

Will you be changing your name to pinkboy btw?

• 316.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Póg mo thóin.

Kiss my a ss.

Nice.

• 317.kingcorn: Reply to this comment

The Stormers were absolutely useless yesterday. The were lucky they only played against 13 players. I think they would have had their buts handed to them on a plate had it not been for so many yellow cards.

• 318.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

@kingcorn(kingcorn)-317: was perplexed myself.16-man teams normally don’t play this bad against 13-man teams.

• 319.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

@blueboy(blueboy)-303: I was wondering that
    myself now blueboy.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.