Stormers survive the Hurricane
25 Feb 2012
JON CARDINELLI reports on the Stormers’ unconvincing 39-26 win over an ill-disciplined yet plucky Hurricanes side on Saturday.
A last-minute effort by fullback Joe Pietersen so nearly earned the Stormers a bonus-point try, but it seemed fitting that the Cape side were denied a full-haul of log points. In fact, the Stormers turned in a performance that was at times so loose that they were fortunate to walk away with a win at all.
They dominated the early stages of the first half, their forwards manhandling the tourists at the point of contact and via the rolling maul. The loss of captain Schalk Burger to what appeared to be a serious knee injury did little to stall their forward momentum, and by the 34th minute they had established a formidable 20-9 lead.
It was all the Hurricanes could do to spoil at the breakdowns and at the maul, and by the end of the half they had lost props Tristan Moran and Ben May to yellow cards for professional fouls. Despite the two-man disadvantage, however, the Hurricanes stonewalled the limited Stormers attack and struck with a try of their own right on half-time. Beauden Barrett followed up a cool goal-kicking display with a game-breaking offload right on the buzzer, and centre Tim Bateman finished under the posts.
Suddenly the team that had been on the wrong side of a savage beating was only seven points adrift. The Hurricanes were also first to score in the second stanza when Barrett intercepted a loose pass by Jean de Villiers and raced clear. The young flyhalf showed terrific pace to avoid a desperate Gio Aplon en route to the tryline, and then managed to get up and slot a difficult conversion.
The next 20 minutes was a mixed bag for the hosts, who produced some impressive forward drives but also put themselves under unnecessary pressure with basic errors. If they had been playing a more experienced Hurricanes outfit, they may not have been so fortunate to escape with the spoils.
They were awarded a penalty try after a sustained period on attack in Hurricanes territory, and Pietersen continued to knock the penalties over to generate some breathing room. There were some positives in an largely erratic display, and Pietersen’s goal-kicking under pressure was certainly one of them.
The maul also worked well, but the Stormers still seem to lack that killer instinct on attack. They should have scored a try towards the end of the first half and buried the Hurricanes, but flyhalf Gary van Aswegen eventually opted for the drop goal after it was clear the hosts weren’t going anywhere. This after stand-in captain Jean de Villiers had decided to turn down goalable penalties and push for the try.
There were also a number of youngsters on show for the hosts, but considering their fine start, they should have put this inexperienced and ill-disciplined Hurricanes side away by far more.

319 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All
25 Feb 2012, 15:27 pm
Go Canes!
25 Feb 2012, 15:39 pm
Go the Canes!I am supporting them today in a show of solidarity for my brother Cane.
25 Feb 2012, 15:51 pm
Wow, first two comments by South African and they’re support for the Canes.
Haters gonna hate, skaters gonna skate.
STOOOOOOOOOOOOORMERS!
If they step up, it’s a done deal. If not…
25 Feb 2012, 16:00 pm
Canes by 10
I was born to hate WP
25 Feb 2012, 16:02 pm
@Bagel(Bagel)-3:
They will win- I do however expect a few hickups especially as their best player (Bekker) as well as Vermeulen and Duvenhage are coming back from injuries and will be anything but match sharp. Bekker himself has said that even 60 minutes will be tough for him at this stage.
Stormers by 10-13.
25 Feb 2012, 16:04 pm
Bagel it isn’t hate,I just pick the Canes for now and may later pick to support die rug ridders if it will favor my side.simple
25 Feb 2012, 16:04 pm
Gerber wat is jou moeilikheid
25 Feb 2012, 16:08 pm
Dawn my old friend
I am Bulls and anyone playing against WP
25 Feb 2012, 16:09 pm
Hoe gaan it!
25 Feb 2012, 16:11 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-5: I’ve called us to win by 12. Thing is Rob this is a Stormers backline that makes me very uneasy.
Jean de Villiers – has been past it for years.
Habana – Ditto and at 13? Must admit I think it has some potential if he stays in the line.
Duvenage – Ai but I don’t rate this guy one iota, super average and solid at best. To think Hougaard and Hoffman were in the Cape. Nic Groom was in my year at school and was phenomenal, seems to still have it, will be watching him closely this season.
And then there’s our flyhalf who has yet to impress me but he hasn’t had much of a chance either. Pieterson has been North as well so we’ll see what that’s done to him.
So because our pack is pretty great (imo) I think we’ll beat the Cane cause their pack is super kak.
But when we come up against the Saders, Reds, Tahs and other SA franchises our back line will have to set us apart and that requires the above to raise their game as well as de Jongh to not get injured all the time…
25 Feb 2012, 16:11 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-8: Hey I’m the complete opposite so I can’t really blame you. It’s more a general dislike of anything from Tshwane.
25 Feb 2012, 16:12 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-8:
You are excused—old habits die hard- as long as you do not spit on us anymore
How is the land of the long white cloud treating you these days?
25 Feb 2012, 16:15 pm
Gerber.
The legend rides again.
25 Feb 2012, 16:17 pm
Ndeed! He is back with a new phone.
25 Feb 2012, 16:20 pm
igerber.
25 Feb 2012, 16:22 pm
I Got a iPad today,very nice I must say.
25 Feb 2012, 16:22 pm
@Bagel(Bagel)-10:
I am holding thumbs for van Aswegen at 10- if he fails and AC decides to fall back on Grant we are farked imo.
Re the forwards I read that Ollie le Roux is of the opinion that as long as Brock is playing at tighthead we are going to struggle- he reckons he is too light and not strong enough- according to him a tighthead should be a 120-130 kg’s powerhouse- whatever one thinks of Ollie he might have a point.
I share your views on Duvenhage and Groom.
At least we have one of the fastest back 3′s in the comp- “back 4″ if you include Bryan- so lets see how it goes.
25 Feb 2012, 16:23 pm
Gerber’s spelling has certainly improved that’s for sure.
25 Feb 2012, 16:26 pm
I have new Apple Lap Computer and I I am also Security Consultant
Still getting use to the locals here in land of the long white cloud throwing their RWC win in my face. But I am happy NTvl favourite son, Meyer is in charge now, future looks good. Habana is pass his peak. Expect him to be shock omission from Bok setup.
25 Feb 2012, 16:28 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-17: Ah yes, I’m actually quite excited about van den Heever though it pains me to admit it.
Yeah look I’ve always liked Grant, but the has one massive weakness and has just never improved it although his goal kicking is superb
Hmm so Ollie ‘The face of Spur’ le Roux thinks tightheads should be 130kg’s hey?
Surprise surprise.
Brok for me is ok at scrumtime actually, my problem with him is farking up our midfield along with the other usual culprits. I don’t believe scrummagers have to be big, technique is ten times more important and around the park contribution. Kiwi and Aussie props hands are fantastic and make a lot of ground on defense. Brok is solid and while we should be looking for great, I think there are some great youngsters around and just need some time.
Watch out for Carr by the way, absolute unit. Never gives up that guy.
25 Feb 2012, 16:29 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-17:
the Kiwis rate this Beauden Barrett – the next Dan Carter.
25 Feb 2012, 16:30 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-17: Ah another thing,
I heard Francis has looked bad during preseason but he was fantastic for Bulls whenever he ran out. If Gary fails then give him a chance I say…
25 Feb 2012, 16:32 pm
@Bagel(Bagel)-20:
I have never rated Brok. WP should have brought Daan Human, Faan Rautenbach back. Peter Grant is a poor Schalk Naude.
25 Feb 2012, 16:33 pm
Vok Gerber is moving up in the world
25 Feb 2012, 16:33 pm
@g13g: you and Tacitus it seems
25 Feb 2012, 16:34 pm
@Bagel(Bagel)-20:
Carr reminds me a lot of of Rob Louw- u probably won’t remember him, bit before your time. Etsebeth is going to be a massive player in the future – they must just manage him properly- 20 years is young for a tight forward at this level- same applies to the prop Kitschoff.
25 Feb 2012, 16:37 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-21:
All right, I will keep an eye on him.
25 Feb 2012, 16:38 pm
Both Kobus Wiese and Toks look like they’ve swallowed a weber braai each.
With the lid on.
25 Feb 2012, 16:40 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-26:
Rob Louw vs Burger Geldenhuys
there is much hype around that Etsebeth boy. Hope Bulls have a look at him
25 Feb 2012, 16:40 pm
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-28:
Lol, and Mathew Proudfoot can do the same without even blinking
25 Feb 2012, 16:43 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-29:
The rumour is that the Bulls are chasing Kitshoff and the Sharks are chasing Etsebeth. I do not blame the Sharks- their locks are uber kak.
25 Feb 2012, 16:49 pm
Stormers look good on paper. Let’s see if it can be translated into a good result.
25 Feb 2012, 16:53 pm
Stormers always look good on paper
25 Feb 2012, 16:53 pm
In the old format it was great seeing the other SA sides win against the foreign teams.
But with this silly conference format I won’t cry myself to sleep tonight if the Stormers lose.
I suspect they will win rather comfortably though.
25 Feb 2012, 16:54 pm
that ginger vlam kitshoff got some serioius strength especially at only 19, lets see if it translated into the rugby field next few years.
25 Feb 2012, 16:57 pm
@cab(cab)-35: If he moves to Pretoria it will
25 Feb 2012, 16:59 pm
Why don’t proudfoot and wiese trim down they are sports presenter and coach FFS
25 Feb 2012, 17:01 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-33:
toilet paper
WP front row still the weakness
Canes to cause upset
25 Feb 2012, 17:04 pm
GO STORMERS.
Just do it.
25 Feb 2012, 17:04 pm
That back three look potent…. eventually some decent rugby in store!
Gerber vlieg in you moerin….
25 Feb 2012, 17:05 pm
@Kleuter(Kleuter)-36:
You okes got Greyling, whose pretty damn good too, Coenie and Beast all bladdy LHs, why dont one of these okes convert to TH – we got no THs.
Dagse Greatest, dra jy jou bloubul kouse vandag?
25 Feb 2012, 17:06 pm
Schalk. The red flag to Skop’s bull!
25 Feb 2012, 17:07 pm
Wow Etzebeth is hot
25 Feb 2012, 17:07 pm
Be supporting the Stormers anyway, but now my Bru really needs this!!
25 Feb 2012, 17:08 pm
Joe Dirt at 10 for the Canes.
25 Feb 2012, 17:10 pm
Go my boy Gio! Speedster!
Brilliant Aplon
Who says the Stormers don’t score tries.
And it took how long?
Pocket Roket Aplona!
25 Feb 2012, 17:11 pm
Good start
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All