Canes steal it late

RYAN VREDE watched the Hurricanes grab an invaluable 30-28 tour victory over the Lions in an enthralling match at Ellis Park.

The Lions lost this one rather than the Canes winning it, but the visitors won’t care. Four points on the road is precious. Flyhalf Beauden Barrett’s penalty, his fifth of the night, late in the piece edged them ahead. They then held on desperately for a minute and a half and banked their first win of the tournament.

For the Lions to achieve their objective of a mid-table finish they need to win home matches against opposition of this calibre. Make no mistake, this Canes side is weak and will take a pounding from the tournament’s elite, particularly away from home. The Lions can look to conceding two tries in quick succession in the second half as the biggest contributor to the loss. They had the Canes on the ropes and another try would almost certainly have ended their challenge.

The Lions’ game plan was also questionable. Those with a preference for T20-style rugby would have been orgasmic at the fare served up, with expansive attacks the order of the day. However, there was so little appreciation for building a platform through phase play that they never asked telling defensive questions until late in the match. They Canes simply fanned out in defence and waited for the next wave of ambition to flow their way.

In light of this, individual attacking brilliance or defensive lapses (structural and individual) looked most likely to be the main route to breaching the defensive line. You sensed the Canes would be guilty of more instances of the latter as their chests filled with fire from breathing in the thin Highveld air. Indeed they were completely spent in the final quarter but managed to muster the resolve to string a series of phases together and earn the decisive penalty.

The Lions’ attacks often went sideways and took place well behind the advantage line, posing little threat to the whitewash, while the high-tempo approach resulted in a string of handling errors, one such second half error gifting the Canes a try.

The Lions’ cause was seriously undermined when scrums went uncontested following injuries to props JC Janse van Rensburg and CJ van der Linde. Their first try was birthed from a powerful scrum and, defensively, they were diluting the potency of the Canes’ first phase attacks through their ascendancy there. Indeed it was the speed the visitors were able to inject into their attack from the very first uncontested scrum that accounted for their first try, Andre Taylor finishing excellently in the corner.

Barrett missed the conversion but had kicked three penalties to give his side a 14-8 lead at the break. Barrett and Elton Jantjies traded penalties to open the second half before the Lions’ pivot broke brilliantly from deep in his terrritory in a move that culminated in a try for Franco van der Merwe.

The Canes looked deflated but they were galvanised by a double strike in four minutes that took them 27-18 ahead with a quarter to play. The Lions rallied, stretching the exhausted tourists side-to-side. Jantjies banked three points and converted Butch James’ try to take the Lions a point ahead. But the Canes responded effectively and will take considerable confidence from this victory.

The Lions can only look at themselves for butchering the win.

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

192 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All

• 151.cab: Reply to this comment

the former is a probability, a very low one, the latter is a certainty.

• 152.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

nope they both certainties otherwise wtf you doing talking sh’t over here…

• 153.cane: Reply to this comment

So long Skop and cab.

Skop, good luck with the rest of your predictions.

I gotta go too.

• 154.cab: Reply to this comment

u certain of that? what happens if the pseudo-scientists learn how to regenerate cells like those immortal worms, then what?

a certainty is that i am probably alive, but there is no certainty that someone will be born, i.e. that could be predicted prior to the event, whereas we all know we are going to die, less those scientists drive another pilon into watchatutudom, watcha gonna do when they come for u.

• 155.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

Curried Cup Champs tikka masala’ed at home by nobodies.

and they want another team.

• 156.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

you alive you dunce.. that’s a certainty .. it was a certainty before you were born the same as its a certainty you gonna die.. problem with you pseudo scientists is you got fckall reverence even for the gift of life which in your case is a certainty.. and a gift.. whichever way your dumb fck Darwinian dooses can’t see the sh’t for the toffee apples.

• 157.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Saying a team MIGHT cause an upset is predicting.

You have to hang your balls on the line and say that that team WILL cause an upset.

None of this oracle they could win, might not stuff.

• 158.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

“Saying a team MIGHT cause an upset is predicting.”
    Should be: Saying a team MIGHT cause an upset is NOT predicting.

• 159.cab: Reply to this comment

u dont understand the argument.

• 160.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

you wanna be a predictor go ahead and predict and get to the top of the superbru pool.. that is not a means of having fun.. its a means of being a predikant.. and that’s about all its good for..

• 161.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Before the game any dunce could have predicted the Canes MIGHT have won tonight. But you have to nail your colours to the mast, one way or the other.

None of this oracle “watch out for an upset” business. This is Super rugby, there are always upsets every weekend!

Pick the upset fair and square then you can call yourself the big baas oracle fuckadilly foo foo.

• 162.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@BokPrick in the mouth-155:

Go and stand at the door of the mall and collect money for Otago

They need it more than we need the excrement you post

• 163.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

if the pseudo scientists learn how to regenerate any form of life it is within the parameters and the will of the universal causation and effect. They did not determine anything, everything was determined before they were born and before they came into existence, and will exist with or without their influence or design, which is all within the greater design, whether they lived in the form of a lizard or a homosapien all that was determined before the big bang came into being… same as your little insignificant part of the whole was also determined not by you but for you.

• 164.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

I told you wanna be a predikant go be one.. I’m not interested in that superfluous superbru nonsense .. I already said I’d likely have picked Canes and Chiefs this week, but I didn’t and don’t play superbru… you do

• 165.cab: Reply to this comment

who been giving out the gifts of life then? the real scientist got far more appreciation for the low probability of life than your pseudo scientists caught up in all their bullshit emanations for the believers, can i get a hallelulah?

• 166.cab: Reply to this comment

“the will of the universal causation and effect”

whatsafkn klomp kak!

• 167.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-163:

> if the pseudo scientists learn how to regenerate any form of life

In this equation would ET be the pseudo scientist or the form of life

• 168.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

you breathing you dumb fck dunce… you reckon you created your own breath you dumb fck dunce? you are a result of a cause, your breath and your existence is as a result of a cause outside of your determination, you have not determined your breath, nor life, nor the avenue by which you exist.., your insignificant existence is for your benefit only you pathetic ungrateful fckd up ignoramus have not begun to appreciate it..

• 169.cab: Reply to this comment

what kind of a fkd up argument is that who dm twat?!

are u like a fkn 4-year old of iets.

wtf said the scientists created the universe or life? what bee u got buzzing round that pea-brain tonight?

• 170.cab: Reply to this comment

tjessus, you know some oke been posting all about your watchatutu **** online in germany, i actually aint never heard so much religious bollocks before, i mean they describe **** in such detail that they got not one fkn iota of evidence for…u okes are well and truly away with the prairie dogs in cloudcuckoofknland.

• 171.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

whether you think you can know what life is or the cause of your existence is purely your own arrogance and your own insignificance… life will exist whether the pseudo scientists believe they know how it works or they don’t…it will exist with or without them, and if cataclysm wipes every living organism off the face of this planet it can start all over again here or elsewhere .. not by their design or by their creation.. these pseudo scientists better start realizing who is who in the zoo because just like the inanimate amoeba that is about as much say they have got in the nature of who runs the show or where its heading or how much say they have in determining anything relevant to their influence or destination

• 172.cab: Reply to this comment

again, who said i can what life is or the cause of my existence? who?
    which is it arrogance or insignficance? and who said i believe i have either?
    who said the scientists developed the universe or life?

all made up from your own kop of what u think or label others to be.

• 173.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

I don’t know anything about any watchatutu in Germany.. you must have gotten a tokoloshe by the tail now you think you reckon you know how the tokoloshe dances…

You either realize you a nobody that knows fckall and your pseudo science is leading you nowhere in a hurry or else you think you got a clue about what cuts where… I can tell you that you know f’all about how anything actually functions.. but you still got some way to go before you lose this sense of your immaculate intelligence which is as blind as a fcking bat in Disneyland ..

The pity is that its the pseudo scientific make believe stories that everybody believes they got answers, when fact is that the pseudo scientist got no clue whatsoever who he is, where he came from, wtf he’s doing here, and where the fck he’s heading to, and the universal law of cause and effect can wipe him out without a fckng trace tomorrow and nobody in a billion years from now will be any the wiser he ever existed or not…

• 174.cab: Reply to this comment

nah i got no idea about tokoloshe’s all the same kak, regardless of creed or race, the thinking brain gone to sleep, millions of years of evolution, a true gift, squandered by lazy ignorance.

you cant tell me squat, u think u can, but u cant.

no, again, u creating pseudo scientists where there arent any, tell me one fkn universal law your lot have ever predicts, just one, come on spit it out, dont speak in half-truths and maybes and vagueries, wtf has your supposed true scientist ever discovered?

• 175.cab: Reply to this comment

give me the watchatutu equivalent of e=mc2, f=ma or ashampoopoopa=talkmassiveshite?

• 176.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

you either want truth or you want theories and theorems… if you need truth spelled out in algebraic equations then I’m sorry to say you still far from ever realizing what truth actually is.. the written or spoken word.. as is the mathematical equivalent, are very far removed vehicles of comprehending or calculating or verifying any truths.. any bullshitter can talk a whole lot of garbage and tell you he knows what truth is.. if Einsteins theory of relativity equates to the ultimate truth for you then even as Einstein knows he wasn’t even near to the beginning of where truth actually resides, so will all his pseudo scientific disciples be as far removed from it as he was…and further…

Intellect and its lack of insight and clarity can not know truth.. it is not the vehicle nor the attribute by which truth is measured or can be verified… that is a completely different level of discipline and attention,., and intellect is a very poor receptor for truth in its purer form to be able to be grasped through this inadequate means…

keep seeking that avenue where the real mystery of what life is can be sought or attained, that ultimately is exactly and pertinently the sole reason for this life in the first place, the ultimate cause for the ultimate effect is for the being who is in existence to know himself…and become attuned with the core of his true nature.. that is all any true scientist, like Einstein or Pythagoras or Socrates would hope to ever discover, who in fact they are, and what the real purpose of their life and existence is.

• 177.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-99:

What is tough opposition for saffa sides is chicken bones for real sides!

Seriously though this is week 2 ….many more weeks ahead! A team like canes will get stronger.

• 178.cab: Reply to this comment

hey i take the truth (the version according to you or anyone else) anyway u like to express it, feel free to use equations or words, or song and dance.

so am i being unreasonable or arrogant when i say dont tell everyone else what they don’t know, how the hell would you know that, why don’t you simply stick to telling us what you know (or think you know)? Let’s not let get ahead of ourselves here with arrogance, don’t tell us what you think the fakey scientists don’t know, tell us what your real scientists do know.

hell i can give you thousands that those clueless ‘pseudo scientists’ have come up with, even u quoting albert, cant you even provide one measly little discovery from your regte-egte kenners? Just one, afterall your REAL scientists have a so much greater horizons, and yet you cannot even provide one measly fkn example, not one.

what is truth and who said intellect is the only way to know it? these are crazy fkn statement that u pronounce on with certitude, things which you possibly couldnt have any clue about, and yet it dont stop you..

• 179.cab: Reply to this comment

enough kak, gotta be up early tomoro

• 180.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-133:

It’s a numbers game. There are so many black and reds, diamonds, clubs etc etc. it’s a memory game played by people who have nothing else better to do than lose money. They lose heaps of money.

• 181.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

I already told you. any words.. and especially empty words written out here in pseudo arsed avenues such as this one will never give you a hint of a clue about anything relevant to any truth..

You want truth.. if that in fact is what you sincerely want ?? Then go find it.. you won’t find it here, and you won’t find it from my words or my say so…

truth is a complete other kettle of fish from words or mathematical equations written in any book or on any means of pseudo media anywhere.. all anyone can ever do is hint or point away from where its not, towards where it might be …if you sincere and earnest in search of it.. then earnestly go about finding it.. its not something willy nilly spoofed out here on cyberspace… firstly it don’t come that cheaply and secondly it is not so readily available to any tom d’ck or harry who is not in the least sincere about becoming acquainted with it… If you truly are in earnest seeking to know who you are and wtf you doing occupying a human intelligent form of life then better you go about discovering who the fck you are.. because nobody else is ever going to either tell you or give you the answer or discover it for you. Last of all me.

• 182.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

I dont how the lions lost this one. They had 19 people playing for them…..both linesmen, ref and TMO,

• 183.ufo: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-182:

whining wallabie bad sport…
    whining wallabie bad…
    whining wallabie **** sport…
    whining wallabie ****..!

• 184.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-183:

Lol

I am not whining at all mate. Just calling it as it is…i had no allegiances in this game! Just handing your saffa whinging back at ya on a big china plate!

On this site i only read of saffa ref whinging against their sides!

• 185.ufo: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-184:

jaaaaaaa boet…!!

i see you cherry-pick your reading selections very carefully then….

• 186.Guns: Reply to this comment

WTFFFAARK is happening over there with the times! Stadium time shows over 80min what ****!

• 187.Guns: Reply to this comment

Eish Highlanders being sold down gutter here…

• 188.Guns: Reply to this comment

pass looked forward to fruan at restart.

• 189.Guns: Reply to this comment

Thats the game.

• 190.Guns: Reply to this comment

lol interview with Highlanders cappie Jamie Mackintosh “Once we in the ****

• 191.Shark: Reply to this comment

Roooooaaaaar!!!!

• 192.cab: Reply to this comment

182 wallabie, must say I had a laugh at that chirp.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.